Excellent 8.6
Based on 2066 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2066 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 9.0
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food and dining 8.1
Sort by

Wayne from Australia
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in October 2012
Great hotel, perfect reception staff
Room size and staff
be aware this is not near the beach. great place to chill, the reception staff amazing, however the restaurant staff were not either chatting or not there. worst service ever, all they wanted to know was your room number!. the hotel is perfect if u want to chill. nice pool and facilities. if you are above 50 unless u are super fit you will struggle with the hill. a note to the management the courtesy bus to patong is a joke. too infrequent and too small. if you are really wanting to give service you need to run this all day, a13 seat bus that you have to book the day before is pathetic. it should be running continuous as they do in vietnam or thailand.
Reviewed October 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Karl from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Hotel situated on a hill otherwise we'll placed
Good pools, reception space and restaurant
We had a good stay here,very friendly staff with well facilitated guest rooms.
Reviewed October 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Teo from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Lovely Hotel and Service with Smile
Service with Smile
Service is all good and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Spacious room with nice decoration.
Reviewed October 23, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Wai from Malaysia
Family with older children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Not a good place for old folks / family
The pool
this hotel is up to the hill (15min walk), if you need to go to anywhere you will need to walk down to the hill, not a good place for family with old folks. this hotel has free shuttle bus to kata beach (5min) and potong beach (20min) but not down to the hill, you need to pay & take "tuk tuk" when it’s supposed to be free!?!? it’s a 4stars hotel!! how can they expect an 83years old folks to walk down and up just to get back to the hotel? i recommended staying near potong beach, many attractions and nice food around there. this hotel is surrounded by tourist trap (expensive food and everything for malaysian), bad experiences to me!!!
Reviewed October 22, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

john from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012
Great hotel for both solos and couples!
the room/facilities/the food/ all good
overall very nice hotel only it is located on a hill top so access to the beach is short walk but tiring. they have rules on bringing dates back for male travellers which is insulting and not appropriate- just check with the duty manager. overall i really like this hotel and it is really was value for money, i will definitely stay again.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

James from Australia
Family with older children
Stayed 8 nights in September 2012
Perfect Holiday Spot
Everything
this is the second time we choose the avista in kata beach and it was just as good as the first time we stayed there are year ago. the resort hotel is clean, staff are good, breakfast is great, the rooms have free wifi, good tv channels, good views with balcony, and are pretty big in size. we are 2 adults plus a 13yo boy. the resort had great pool and games room, plus there were other kids there too of my son's age. the good thing about this hotel is that it is in a safe area, and high up on a hill with good views and no street noise. also because the rooms are big, we had a twin bed share and still lots of space in the room. it is also just a short walk to kata beach and surrounding resturaunts / mini golf / shops etc. making it an ideal location. i recommended this place for couples, or families. we will definitely come back again.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Yiping from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
very close to kata beach
best location to beach, warm hostpitality, nice room
The avista is a very nice hotel, with good facilities and best location to Kata beach. But there are many Chinese and Russian families with children here also, so it's little bit noisy.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

BEI from China
Couple
Stayed one night in October 2012
Nice Hotel with good location
Very close to the beach and kata center
the room is big with nearly everything necessary. the location is also good, just 5 minutes walking distance to kata beach and kata center with many choice of restaurants and shopping market. the breakfast is also good, however, the hill to hotel is a little bit difficult to child and old.
Reviewed October 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Chonticha from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Good location, clean and big room
Good and convenient location, nice swimming pool
We stayed in Avista club room. The room is big and clean but the view from balcony is not as good as expected....we could see some parts of the sea but most likely we saw more the roofs of other buildings. The swimming pool is nice. Breakfast area and food is excellent with various options. Staffs are friendly and helpful with great service. The location is good. It was convenient to reach convenient stores, restaurants, etc. Kata beach is nearby ~10 mins walking. As the hotel is on a small hill (~150 m. uphill walking), it might not be convenient for wheelchairs or people who can't walk uphill well.
Reviewed October 12, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Glenn from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Decent with large rooms
Large rooms
Having spent 2 nights at another hotel in Surin, the first thing we noticed stepping into Avista was a sharp dip in service standards. The Russian lady at front desk was very nice, but her colleague was terse and seemed annoyed at our simple questions. We thought little of it, until the bellboy came to take our bags and show us to our rooms. He wore a scowl and also seemed annoyed at being asked questions. Most of our other encounters with the staff over the next 2 days were better, but don't expect to greeted with smiles. Or at all. I can live with that, especially when Avista's rooms are clean and very spacious. The interior design is a little dated, but very decent. Unfortunately, the room has a strong smell of mildew - something other reviewers have pointed out. Also, the water in the shower would go from hot to cold and back. Then there's the intermittent internet connection which is at least free of charge. The hill's been talked about from every possible angle, so i won't say more other than - expect to break a sweat. To get to the beach you will have to walk down the hill and through the streets for a little over 5 mins, holding your beach gear. It is closer to the quieter side of Kata and a bit of a walk to where most of the shops are. Not far away, you'll find Starbucks and a good tailor called Monty's Rich Collection. For the price, Avista is a very decent place to stay. But because of the location, I may choose to look elsewhere in Kata for my next trip.
Reviewed October 12, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: