Book Now: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel

Excellent
From 346 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 86% of guests

Reviews of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.0
Excellent
From 3401 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (346)Booking.com Reviews (1095)
Rating via Agoda8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.1
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.1
Value for money7.8
Rating
9+ Exceptional (64)
8-9 Excellent (86)
7-8 Very Good (91)
6-7 Good (37)
<6 Below Expectation (26)
Time of the year
Mar - May (90)
Jun - Aug (74)
Sep - Nov (62)
Dec - Feb (78)
All guests (346)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 304 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Andreas from Austria
Family with teens
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2019

Lovel staff”

We were travelling to Rotorua for two nights with two school kids and the hotel was fabulous. Clean room with two comfortable beds. Only trouble was a thin wall to the room next door, where some American youngsters seemed to have a good laugh till midnight. But they were friendly and left for the lobby area when I (politely) asked them to shut up. Staff was great. Breakfast absolutely delicious with everything from continental to Asian and Indian. Kids loved the juice maker the most. Quite a treat. Free parking, free use of thermal pool. We will be back!

Reviewed July 21, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Nurliza
Family with young children
City View Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

Comfortable Stay”

Smooth check-in, comfortable stay. Will come again

Reviewed July 16, 2019
6.8
Good
Da from South Korea
Family with teens
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

Over priced ”

I booked this one because of Novotel’s reputation, however this one charged similar amount but very outdated, smoking smells, waste of money

Reviewed July 15, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
matthew from United States
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

great find under pressure”

My wife and I got this hotel last minute in the busy season--what a find! They have a stellar location on the lake, are a 5 minute drive to the Catholic Church, a 2 minute walk to the restaurant area, they have geothermal spas at the hotel, the bed is VERY comfortable, staff was extremely polite and accommodating--super place all around! Oh, and it is within a 30 minute drive of most every activity in the area.

Reviewed January 05, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Hoong from Malaysia
Group
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2019

Super big size of bed for twin roo.”

Super big size of twin bed

Reviewed July 16, 2019
7.2
Very good
lya from Australia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

Very good”

Good location. Comfy bed. Very dated bathroom and terrible shower. Felt it was very overpriced.

Reviewed July 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
James from Australia
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Great location. Great breakfast. Free parking.”

Really enjoyed our stay here as a base to explore the region. The hotel is situated right at the end of 'eat street' - with excellent food options. Free parking let us come and go with our rental vehicle as we pleased when not on foot. The buffet breakfast was high quality. The thermal spring water piped in house to their pools is distinctive and you feel great after soaking in them. You will smell like sulfur afterwards though - rinse off well!

Reviewed August 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Alicia from United States
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Great location, great staff!”

Thank you Marni and the asst. manager on duty for making our bumpy check in smooth! Great location next to eat streat, lake and all amenities within walking distance. I enjoyed the sauna, poola fitness center. Breakfast was good. Best part of our stay was the absolutely friendly and helpful staff!

Reviewed January 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Madonna from New Zealand
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Fantastic hotel with awesome staff!”

Perfect location by the lake, very friendly and accomodating staff, hassle-free check-in and check-out, very clean and tidy room, good size too!

We had a pleasant stay at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel. The staff at the front desk is so friendly, accomodating and very pleasant. The process of checking-in and checking-out is very easy. The size of the room is really good, clean and tidy with good amenities. My husband liked the gym inside the hotel. We will definitely suggest this hotel to our friends. And will come back the next time we visit Rotorua.

Reviewed October 06, 2015
8.7
Excellent
HAO from Taiwan
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Good experience with Novotel Rotorua”

Location, staff performance and value for money

The location is very good, at the center of the city. The view is fantastic as well, you will be able to see the lake if you choose the right side of the hotel room, the staff is also nice and friendly.

Reviewed September 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Arnont from Thailand
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Great Location”

Great location, room comfort and worth price

The hotel is very close to Lake Rotorua, just few minutes on walk. The room condition is quite old but still clean, meet the standard of chain hotel. The staff was a bit confuse during check-out. I've to remind the reception that this booking was from agoda to prevent a double charge through credit card.

Reviewed July 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michelle from New Zealand
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Fantastic location by the lakefront”

private geothermal pools

Central location with private geothermal pools available for use on site. Would definitely stay here again. The place wasn't noisy at all and the staff were really lovely. Didn't have dinner here so can't comment on the restaurant. Make sure you book one of the private pools with reception and use the sauna afterwards!!

Reviewed November 01, 2012
8.7
Excellent
KAR from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

great hotel with good restaurants around”

good restaurants with walking distance

the hotel location was much better than i expected. it was so handy to go around the town by walking. the town is small and even the hotel is near to lake rotorua (which consider not in the central of the town), it still easily can reach by walking. this is a quiet place to rest and a couple of geothermal pools to dip in after a long day of sightseeing. the location was good and near to a lot of great restaurants. the room was a bid old but neat, tidy and big. other facilities like gym, pool and sauna were much smaller than i thought. the room and bathroom were clean, bright and quiet. no problem with the broadband connection. the hotel spas were nicely heated with natural geothermal water. the hotel has only one restaurant but there are numerous restaurants in town which is just 2 to 3 minutes away. overall an excellent hotel.

Reviewed September 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
KAR from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

great hotel with good restaurants around”

The hotel location was much better than I expected. It was so handy to go around the town by walking. The town is small and even the hotel is near to Lake Rotorua (which consider not in the central of the town), it still easily can reach by walking. This is a quiet place to rest and a couple of geothermal pools to dip in after a long day of sightseeing. The location was good and near to a lot of great restaurants. The room was a bid old but neat, tidy and big. Other facilities like gym, pool and sauna were much smaller than I thought. The room and bathroom were clean, bright and quiet. No problem with the broadband connection. The hotel spas were nicely heated with natural geothermal water. The hotel has only one restaurant but there are numerous restaurants in town which is just 2 to 3 minutes away. Overall an excellent hotel.

Reviewed September 27, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Clarence from Singapore
Group
City View Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Excellent Hotel, very accessible!”

Free Carpark

we had an excellent dinner. it was most enjoyable and the servers were very attentive to patrons' needs. unlike other hotels i've encountered, the conceirge wasn't very helpful with helping out with bookings or other personal services. however they do make very nice recommendations. for example, when i asked for a hangi meal recommendations which included a geyser, i was told to seek out te puia. they gave the exact driving directions too! car park was free! so thats good, after a long drive from waitomo.

Reviewed June 24, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Thanakorn from Thailand
Business traveler
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Good”

Good place

Reviewed April 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Vicki from Australia
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Great location ”

Worth the 5 minute walk to St. Faiths church to see the window with Jesus etched into it, take a seat and it looks like Jesus is walking on the lake. Located at the end of Eat Street makes it easy to find a meal. Good buffet breakfast with eggs and omelettes prepared for you and the juice bar is a nice addition. Staff and cortous and helpful.

Reviewed May 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rowena from Australia
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Very nice clean hotel and nice view.”

I would recommend this hotel to my friend due to the staff are so nice and friendly. The room was big and loved the view. The hotel itself is close to all the different restaurants and the breakfast , yummy.. I would love to come back with my whole family next time. We only stayed for one night , we could have stayed longer but our holiday was so short. Anyway, when we comeback, we will definitely go back to novotel hotel. Thanks.

Reviewed June 21, 2017
7.6
Very good
Kristina from New Zealand
Group
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Good stay”

Great room and close to restaurants. Only thing that was disappointing was at the time of stay there was a fire alarm that went on at 1am in the morning, no staff or fire wardens that showed us where to go or when to go back in. In the middle of winter and of the night it wasn't a good experience. Other than that it was a good stay. Breakfast was great also.

Reviewed December 27, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Abhishek from India
Family with young children
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Location best / beds uncomfortable”

2 adults & 5 year old. best location in rotorua. near to eateries and the best restaurants in Rotorua. beds were very uncomfortable. we just couldn't sleep. less tv channels. room service was good. Breakfast was good too. we will stay back again but will request for slightly better beds. This time we stayed in 515 from 28th to 1st Dec 2016.

Reviewed December 03, 2016
7.2
Very good
Siu from Hong Kong
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Good Location, assess of food”

Location is excellent. The street nearby is full of decent restaurants. The in-house breakfast is quite good with many choice of juices being put in nice glass bottles. However, the toilet facilities are very basic.

Reviewed May 31, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Anh from Australia
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015

Love the breakfast buffet! ”

Breakfast, location and facilities

Everything was generally good but the first room we stayed in smelt like mould and we had to move to another room during our 7night stay. Also the key to our room didn't work a lot of the time so we have to keep making trip down stairs to change it.

Reviewed September 05, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Melanie from New Zealand
Family with teens
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Well located to restaurants , shops and the lake.”

Nice comfortable room, good location, friendly staff

Really good over all, one thing that was disappointing was there we're no sky movies in the room, you had to pay $15 to watch a sky movie. I would have thought on a 4 star hotel you wouldn't have to pay extra to watch a movie on sky.

Reviewed May 03, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from New Zealand
Family with young children
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Christine's review”

Room comfort, breakfast restaurant, proximity to entertainment

We had a good weekend in a nice environment. Great staff, spacious room and bathroom. We were so lucky it was the Lakeside outdoor concert and fireworks in the park opposite the hotel. And Eat Street was a close walk for dinner. Excellent hotel breakfast restaurant. But the bed was hard. The pool and spa area was lovely to use however there were missing tiles on the inside of the pool with exposed concrete bits.

Reviewed February 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Lisa from New Zealand
Group
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Waitangi weekend last minute booking”

Location, comfort of room, doing room

The staff were friendly, their service was excellent. The beds were very comfortable as was the room. The location is central , very close to "Eat Street". Happy to recommend this hotel and would be very happy to stay here again.

Reviewed February 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
XIAOJIA from Hong Kong
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Nice stay and high value-for-money”

Cleanness, location, hot pool.

When we arrive in the evening, it was raining. We can't see the surrounding environment and it was about 8 min walk from iSite to the hotel. Until the next day, it becomes sunny : ) We found the Eat Street is just next to the hotel! There are many good restaurants there. It is very convenient to walk from the hotel to iSite and to other sight seeing places (government garden, museum...) . It is also nice to walk along the lake side - yes, this is a lakeside hotel! There are free wifi in the lobby and each device gets 30-min free access each day. It's enough.

Reviewed July 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sonny from Philippines
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Great place for the price”

Location, Breakfast, proximity to lake

Overall it was great. clean room - quite basic though, as extra things like toothbrush, buds - you have to pay for. and wifi should really be free! and just limited to 30min in the lobby. free parking too

Reviewed May 23, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Angela from New Zealand
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

pleasant and totally relaxed”

close to the lake and city centre, friendly staff, restaurants and bars close by.

very pleasant and totally relaxed, the hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful, the room is comfortable and in good size. loved the big window which faces the carpark and have extensive city and mountain views. the famous polynesian spa is just a stroll away and there is a newly opened little market called Eat Streat just outside the hotel which includes all sorts of restaurants and bars with various types of foods. and also the ice cream shop across the road is my favourite.

Reviewed January 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
Siang from Malaysia
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

a good location hotel with nice facilities”

comfort, clean, free spa pool

we had a great night stay in Novotel Rotorua, especially for their InBalance Spa facilities, it is free to all guests. Since they provide free parking to all guests, this caused everybody also park their vehicles into the hotel even for outsiders as well, you may not able to get a car park nearby hotel lobby at night time. The hotel is closed to Lake Rotorua and good for morning walk.

Reviewed December 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
PUNEET from Australia
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Superb and very generous hospitality”

Customer service, friendly atmosphere and facilities

We were on our honeymoon and the friendly staff looked after us the whole time on our stay. We were upgraded into a very comfortable and roomy suite. The catering staff and manager were very helpful and gracious. We couldn't fault your staff or business and it is the first time we have been to a hotel which has demonstrated an outstanding customer service level. My husband and I have travelled all over the world and we will definitely be booking our future accommodation with Novotel

Reviewed November 30, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
WONG from Malaysia
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Relaxing and exciting”

New, clean and modern

Check in and check out was extremely simple and fast. Room was clean and modern. For internet access, advisable to buy a prepaid package at the airport. Bought Vodafone. Starter package was thirty dollars for local calls and five hundred MB of data, which was enough for our whole driving trip using Google map and for some local calls for tour confirmations. Room was clean with full kitchenette and utensils. Located close to many restaurants including Asian and Western.

Reviewed August 12, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Shou from Malaysia
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

It was awesome”

location, bed, comfort

i like it very much, walking distance to restaurants, spas and lake. the staff is very friendly as well. check in and out was fast. Ventilation is good especially it is because it is a hot spring area, and the room doesn't smell like rotten egg. All my request was taken care of, and they staff is very helpful, then only part i dont like is they trying to sell me their membership and i am not really interested in it.

Reviewed June 24, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Paul from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Impressed!”

Spa , Room, Hangi

We toured many places in NZ in the three weeks avaialable and the hotel was a lovely way to finish - comparable to the best of the dozen we experienced.Likely to look at European hotels in the group in our summer vacation.

Reviewed April 11, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Professional staff at front d good local knowledge”

Room bar staff

Great And thanks Agoda for your booking I got there all the paper work was in order which made for a great stay the reason I say this is that I am deaf and the less fuss the easier it's for me.

Reviewed April 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Aundrea from Singapore
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Great location overlooking the Lake”

Lovely views, Clean comfortable room

We only stayed for a night. The 2 double beds were very comfortable. Room is reasonably sized and hotel is located conveniently by the lake and lots of eating establishments around. Huge carpark for those driving in.

Reviewed February 12, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Aundrea from Singapore
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Lovely hotel with a view”

Clean comfortable rooms, Convenient Locations

Located conveniently close to the main street, the lake and many local establishments. A short drive to Rotorua's main attractions. Rooms were comfortable and clean, nothing special but great for a good night's rest.

Reviewed February 12, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Suzy from New Zealand
Group
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Great location ”

Close to shops and restaurants

No need for a car here - walk to shops, restaurants, the Polynesion spa or to the lake within minutes. Room clean and comfortable. We didn't eat here so cannot comment on the food. An 11am check-out was a bonus.

Reviewed February 08, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Sharon from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Great location, nice hotel. Modern rooms”

Location and decor.

great place to stay. room service to clean room could be a bit later on checkout day. wouldn't expect them knocking before checkout time or checkout confirmation. minor issue. all in all great stay and front desk staff excellent. didn't dine there or use pool/ gym but have to rate so given 'good'rating as they were at least available including indoor pool. restaurant looked good but without eating there can't comment on food.

Reviewed January 16, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Choi from Malaysia
Family with young children
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Great location”

Great location, big room and very clean

Excellent location, on right is a street full of good restaurant - must try the Indian star restaurant - good Indian food and good service. On the lift is a lake - good view and relax. Near by many attractions. Highly recommended.

Reviewed January 15, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Kasipale from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Excellent location and great customer service ”

Location, friendly service

having no idea how far away we were from the family attractions. novotel was excellent being that it was only 5-10mins away from all the places we wanted to take our children. we were across the road from the carnival and the markets. not to mention being on eat street was a bonus. the customer service was second to none, the staff went over and above the call of duty. we liked the fact that they were very family orientated and great with our young family. god bless you all, thank you for the wonderful stay. we all thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, staff and services that it provided. the faapues.

Reviewed January 01, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jacqueline from New Zealand
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

lovely hotel with great location”

location is great close to the city centre

booked a 3 night stay, the hotel lobby was undergoing renovations so first impression was very disappointing. Check in and the staff at the front desk was fast and efficient. Swimming pool facilities along with the spa is 1st class. Our room was on the top floor and we had a great view. As it was my wedding night on the 2nd night when we returned to the room it had been valeted and a beautiful bottle of wine was gifted to us. the staff are so friendly. location is very close to town. we will definitely stay again

Reviewed November 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
nancy from China
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

lovely hotel”

good service

Everything is very good. Good location,good sevice,good environment and nice people. Furthermore, the location is very good, it is very convinance for shopping and go to city centre. However, one thing need to mentioned that the network speed is slow.

Reviewed October 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Wing from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Great location, friendly staff”

nice view of the lake

The staffs are very friendly and helpful, you can ask them almost anything and they will try to help. Our room is on the top floor and has a great view over the lake. overall, it is a nice hotel to stay, and is walking distance to the visitor center and main bus stop.

Reviewed August 26, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Jim from Australia
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Posh and conveniently located”

free thermal spa and internet service

We enjoyed a stay for two days here in central Rotorua. Our room was a lakeside view with modern tv facilities, tea/coffee amenities, a clean and modern bathroom with an interconnecting door to our relative's room. This hotel has a good breakfast menu and coffee service with another bar attached to it. The lobby is large enough for meeting friends and the spa pools both chlorine and thermal were a wonderful treat at the end of the day. There is also a family swimming pool. A real treat for families and business people at the end of the working/sightseeing day. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed August 11, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Jim from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Convenient to town and spacious rooms”

Thermal spa

We enjoyed our lakeside room view with modern tv and spacious room. The rooms were naturally heated by thermal activity and needed cooling down by air conditioner. The bathroom was modern and clean with frequent servicing. Atlas was a spacious restaurant which we found suitable for morning tea coffee and muffins. The lobby was roomy and great for accepting guests as well as using the free internet service. The hotel is positioned looking out to the lake and only a short walk to the weekend markets.

Reviewed August 10, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Emma from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

Comfortable and central hotel, with thermal pools”

Thermal spa and gym in-house, big rooms with lake views, complimentary wi-fi in lobby, friendly/helpful concierge, great location

Just what we wanted in Rotorua! A central location just a few seconds walk from "eat street" where all the best restaurants and bars are situated. Very easy to find from the main transit centre in Rotorua. Really liked the hotel's own thermal pools and sauna, a great touch. I can't really think of any drawbacks for this hotel - it was good, clean, comfortable accommodation within the price bracket.

Reviewed June 20, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Stewart from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012

Chain hotels do it best”

Rooms, heated geothermal pools, location

glad to have a bit of downtime from the dodgy motels in new zealand. of course, the service is impersonal (as with any large chain hotel), but nothing beats having a quiet place to rest and a couple of geothermal pools to dip in after a loooong day of sightseeing. the location was terrific and the main street, which is lined with great restaurants, is practically hop and a skip away. my only complain: the gym was rather small for my liking but at least there's a gym!

Reviewed March 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Leah from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012

Clean and tidy hotel with great service”

Location great walking distance from "Eat Street"

Really enjuoyed staying at the Novotel Rotorua, staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and tidy, would stay there again. Staff gave us excellent advice on places to eat, food on Eat Street is amazing!!

Reviewed January 23, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Mere-Roti from French Polynesia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011

Great Location”

Lovely staff

This hotel is well situated. As you walk out of the reception, on your left you have the Rotorua lake within 3 minutes walk and on your right the cafe's and center town of Rotorua. Five minutes walk to the Information center where you can buy tickets and catch the Inter-City bus back to Auckland for a very reaseonable price. Beautiful mountain view from our room and very correct.

Reviewed October 30, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Kelvin from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in August 2011

Great location, very clean rooms”

Excellent location and facilities

The hotel was very near a lot of amenities and facilities, just a walk down the road and we reached a lot of great restaurants. Parking was limited though and we had to park in a public car park about a five minute walk away. Rooms very spacious, clean and well furnished

Reviewed September 05, 2011
7.7
Very good
Shawn from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Good hotel in a central location”

location, free parking, helpful staff

one of the better hotels in rotorua and well-placed in a central location within the city. staff were helpful, knowledgeable and ever ready to provide travel tips and ideas within rotorua. free parking was a welcome respite from the high costs of overnight parking in new zealand. rooms were clean, tidy and relatively cosy by hotel standards. overall, a really enjoyable stay.

Reviewed July 19, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Peng from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011

RE : Great Location”

Clean and spacious

Nice and clean hotel. Spacious for a Queen size room. Car Park is free and plently. There is also a free 20mins Wifi. Near to the sea. A 5 mins walk only. There is a lot restaurant near the hotel. A lot of choices to choose.

Reviewed May 09, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Tanya from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011

Great location but staff need an eye for detail.”

Location, Room size and comfort, Service
Cot not in room on arrival, toilet blocked, Hairs in bath

staff were friendly and location was very convenient. right by 'eat street'filled with great restaurants. although staff were very friendly and promptly dealt with issues, they lacked the eye for detail to prevent them from happening in the first place.

Reviewed January 10, 2011
8.0
Excellent
NG from China
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010

Great location with spacious room. ”

Comfortable, clean, two good twin beds, good for family stay, good offer of cultural program
There should be help on helping the guests to unload the luggages

great location, right by the lake. ample parking spaces. driving to the centre or nearby tourist spots are well within 15 minutes. good for family stay as the twin beds are big enough for 4 people. the hotel offers a great cultural package including the dinner, cultural show, gondola, luge, discount at the restaurant and bar - a very good deal that one should consider.

Reviewed January 05, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Siu from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010

Lovely relaxing hotel”

Spacious room, good housekeeping
linited time for free wi-fi

Novotel in Rotorua is excellance! We have a very memorable experience for two days stay. Good location ,close to the lakeside and not far from town center. Spacious room gives you enough space to walk around even in the room! Great place.

Reviewed December 24, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Janice from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2010

Good Hotel in a great location”

Great Location
Take too long tyo come and clean rooms

Enjoyed our stay at the Novotel, only small problem was that it was wet while we were there, so I had to stay in my room whilst my husband worked. I went out in morning to allow cleaners in, came back after lunch and room still not cleaned. Had to go out again when they arrived. Not a problem on a nice day.

Reviewed December 20, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Wilson from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010

Novotel Totorua”

Very large room, close to lake and main shopping
N/A

Stayed 3 night in this hotel it was very enjoyable. Location is very good, the lake just acreoss the rood, vey handy to get to the restaurants and shops. Hotel lounge is very large and has a vey internet access. Overall it is a good hotel and fair price.

Reviewed September 27, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Hong from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010

Great stay”

Very near to happening places and next to the beautiful Rotorua lake.
so far so good

This is the best hotel I ever stayed in so far for booking done under agoda. The hotel was located near numbers of restaurants and a good walking distance to the town and information building where we can make all the enquiry of trips. Most of all the hotel is just located next to the Rotorua lake and the lake front and also with free internet at the lobby. Staff we encounter also very helpfull and recommend to friends too who like to visit and stay in Rotorua.

Reviewed April 16, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Fraser from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010

Novotel Rotorua”

Location
Corporate

We stayed at the Novotel in Rotorua for 2 nights and the location of the hotel was perfect. Really easy to find and not too far away from where the bus dropped us off. We found that the hotel made great use of their conference facilities, so be prepared for plenty of guys in suits, and had a pretty decent outside space for their bar and restaurant.

Reviewed March 08, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2010

Modern, up to date hotel”

Large reception area, attentive staff, free limited (Apple Mac) internet use.
No dislikes

Hotel very clean and well staffed. Use of internet in the foyer very useful - free use for a limited amount of time. Experienced a problem with the computer and was directed to the Business Centre with free use for half an hour. Didn't use the restaurants or the gym facilities but thought they looked appealing.

Reviewed February 22, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
GRANT from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009

Funtime in Rotorua”

on the lakeside
Didn't have any

Very happy with room size and fixtures. Always kept clean and tidy. Staff were attentive and helpful. Great view over the lake from our room. Shops and eateries a short walk away. Hotel food was delicious and reasonably priced. The big attractions are a little way away, but options available on getting to them. Free car parking around the hotel a bonus.

Reviewed November 23, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Thomas from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2009

Exceptional service and accommodation”

Locality- the hotel is very centrally placed
N/a

I arrived late(early evening) and to my surprise had my room upgraded. The room was very modern, well presented and spotlessly clean. I found the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and professional in every way.I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for quality accommodation and service.

Reviewed October 30, 2009
7.7
Very good
Teoh from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2009

Novotel Rotorua”

Clean room, Good position near lake and restaurants, good internet connection, clean geo-thermal spa.

The room and bathroom were clean, bright and quiet. No problem with the broadband connection. The hotel spas were nicely heated with natural geothermal water. The hotel has only one restaurant but there are numerous restaurants in town which is just 2 to 3 minutes away. Don't forget to go to the Blue Bath and the town museum. Both are housed in beautiful renovated buildings.

Reviewed April 09, 2009
9.6
Exceptional
julius from Singapore
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Great hotel ”

Very Cosy hotel and good location. Love to come and stay again.

Reviewed June 05, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Yasmin from Philippines
Group
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Great location”

Close to shops, great view of lake rotorua, and comfortable room

Room was comfortable and had a great view of Lake Rotorua. Breakfast is good and staff was friendly and very helpful. I would love to stay in this hotel again.

Reviewed September 21, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Man from Hong Kong
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Good Stay. Recommeded.”

Free parking. Lake view.. Next to "Eat Street"

Clean and good staffs. Parking lot was big.

Reviewed August 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
vuthichai from Thailand
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

good hotel”

Location, name and price

I was a good experience

Reviewed December 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Tirdsak from Thailand
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Standard 3 and a half hotel”

Breakfast buffet, location and dinner option

Nothing out of ordinary hotel stay, breakfast buffet was great opt for that, you won't regret. only suites get the full fronting lake view though.

Reviewed July 23, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Yip from Hong Kong
Couple
City View King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Excellent hotel beautiful view friendly service”

friendly staff, beautiful view and nice breakfast

Excellent and the best hotel in Rotorua, we will choose again definitely

Reviewed May 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Fiona from China
Couple
City View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

beyond my expectation”

Great lake view, great location and variety of buffet breakfast

It's really a good deal to stay in this hotel in Rotorua.

Reviewed April 23, 2014