Book Now: Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Reviews

Excellent
From 675 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 82% of guests

Reviews of Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (675)Booking.com Reviews (250)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.5
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.2
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (675)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 626 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior 1 Double Bed
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Xmas holiday”

Hotel is in a great location just out of the main bars and shopping area of Chaweng Beach. We stayed on the hill side which was quiet. Room was big and comfortable. Very clean. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. The pool on the hill side was quiet and refreshing. It was only a short walk to the beach side where the pool, restaurant and bar area are very good. A few steps to the beach with stunning views of the beach front. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed January 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Family
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Palace-like Resort with Friendly Staff”

The building of the resort made me feels like I am in a palace. Our family room was so spacious & luxurious. The staff were just great! The breakfast spread was very good and not salty as compared to other resorts which was ideal as my hubby has hypertension. The free flow coffee maker was another plus point. The beach was very interesting as certain part was with shallow water while other part was deeper. Crystal clear water and finer sand could be found further out about 50m for a greater swim. We were fascinated to find corals, black sea cucumber & lots of small fishes. There are a few local restaurants nearby to get cheap food. We enjoyed our meals at The Dusk Restaurant just next to Novotel. We hope to be back again!!

Reviewed June 14, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Lucy from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015

Great family Holiday”

The staff were friendly and the rooms very large! Fun kids club and happy hour for the adults!

We had a fabulous holiday! The staff friendly and welcoming. At one point the bar staff were keeping the kids entertained whilst we sunbathed. location was perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel to young couples with family.

Reviewed April 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Dennycia from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Spacious hotel room with great food”

The room is big and spacious, clean. The swimming pool is nice with immediate link to the beach and pool restaurant. Breakfast was overall satisfy.

Check-in process taking a little bit longer time, but the hotel staffs are friendly. The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes drive to the Chaweng shopping area, taxi is around 200baht per person from the hotel to the shopping area. You can drive yourself and the shopping mall does provide parking lot for free. Overall I am satisfied with the hotel, the only disadvantages is that the hotel do not provide free wifi.

Reviewed July 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Scott from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Awesome Room - but there's a catch”

room, pool, location

This hotel is located either side of the main road, so half is beach side, the other half is hillside. The hillside can be a bit of a pain as it's up the hill and you have to cross the road each time you want to go to the beach, but we got upgraded to a "seaview" room which was huge and well appointed so made it worth it. The bathroom was massive and it was nice coming back to that each day, however most rooms are not this big. The location is just north of the central shopping area in Chaweng, a bit of a walk when it's really hot. we hired a scooter for $7/day so this wasn't an issue and being a bit further away from the hustle and bustle ended up being better for us. Chaweng is really starting to get over developed so being right in the middle of town is no longer a good thing. Kandaburi is just far enough away to still be convenient, but far enough away to be peaceful.

Reviewed August 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Zehra from Pakistan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Great hotel for relaxing”

Very relaxing

the hotel was great. very relaxing. the room as a good size and the bathroom was massive with a double sink and a very nice bath. the bathroom is open and only has curtains and no doors. the hotel is non smoking. the location isn't too bad even thought there isn't much within walking distance but everything is quite close in a tuk tuk. the weekend market is only 10 mins ride in a tuk tuk. the food at the hotel as great and so was the staff.

Reviewed December 28, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
derek from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in December 2011

great location loveley rooms”

beach friont location lovely pool great rooms

easy to get to the centre along the beach or using the regular transport outside the hotel. sunbeds comfortable staff attentive rooms spacious bathroom is huge and plenty of hot water for the bath tub.pool is lovely downsides are lots of steps and drinks were pricy on site easy to walk along the beach for a drink and there is a good selection of restaurants nearbye though! we were very sorry to leave this hotel.

Reviewed December 11, 2011
8.3
Excellent
CHI
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011

location is a bit far to walk to shopping”

big room and comfortable toilet

for honey moon and relaxation, this hotel is highly recommended. But for family who is always looking for activities, this hotel is abit too far from the actions and shopping, better to choose a hotel in Chaweng beach for maximum convenience. Koh Samui is extremely easy to get around and it is cheaper if you rent a car and do your own sight seeing.

Reviewed April 20, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Cheng
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

nice pool view”

'private' pool out of my balcony
nil

was a great stay. nothing complaint on the hotel. reminder to everyone that, be carefull while crossing the road. i think the hotel management noticed n alert it therefore, there is a 24 hr traffic helper. but very unlucky that, my husband was bang by a motocyclist, lucky thing is, nothing serious.

Reviewed September 01, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
gal from Israel
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in November 2009

Great Value for money”

Great location smack on the beach. Excellent service and attitude. Spacious and elegant rooms
Nothing really

Kandaburi Resort has lived up to all our expectations and more. A very nice 4 stars property in great location, nice beach front and great service attitude by all staff. Rooms are modern, elegant and very functional. Deffinately recommended !!

Reviewed November 27, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Jeff from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June 2009

A great place”

Hiuge bathroom Quality fittings Nice syle Well maintained
A bit of a walk to town

I think it was great value hotel. Even though the hotel was a way out of town, it was in a good location on the beach. Great bed, awesome bathroom really nice lotions, Cant fault i really was a lovely place

Reviewed July 09, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Chin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2009

Nice bathrooms”

Love the two pools in the resort.
Had to bring the pool towels (placed in your room) to the pools. Also, it was a hassle during check out from the regular rooms (mountain view room). I had to drag my suitcase from my room, and cross a road just to get to the lobby of the resort. Internet access (wireless) is available for a fee at this resort.

The rooms were very nice. And the bathrooms had a full bathtub as well as a shower area and was extremely luxurious. The buffet breakfast that was offered on the "mountain view room" wing had a lot of variety and was sumptous. The pool nearest to the beach was very popular in the resort, and all the deck chairs were taken very quickly. The resort was a little ways from the main drag. You can walk (along the beach) to get to the main drag in the evening. But be prepared to walk at least 20 - 35 minutes each way if you're planning to trek into town for dinner, bars, etc. The resort also provides a free shuttle to the main drag, but only limited times (something like 11am, 3pm, and 9pm). You can also pay for the shuttle if you want a ride at other times. The airport is less than 15 minutes away from the resort.

Reviewed June 08, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
Marc from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2009

Wonderful hotel!”

Very beautiful environment. Two nice and large pools. Very large room and bathroom even for the basic deluxe hillside. Very kind people at the reception, smiley and very helpful. Good restaurants.
Pub should be changed in an English style pub in order to attract more customers. It didn't bother me much as the center of Chaweng with its exciting nightlife is not far away.

I really enjoy my time at Kandaburi. This hotel is very beautiful, the service is top, it is clean, the rooms are very large and comfortable, well I have to say it is a very good hotel I would highly recommend to anybody and will definitely go back!!

Reviewed March 24, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Phetchara from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2008

Great Service ”

Great Service with lovely hotel, pool and private beach.
Hard to think of but would like to mention the bathroom for Premire Room. It was right at the entrance. So basically, when you open the door, you will see lovely big bathroom then next door is your bedroom. Make sure you lock it every time you get in otherwise their staff might come in while you are doing your business. They sometimes want set your bed ready for your sleep.

The service is very nice, I would give it 10/10. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked Deluxe and got upgrade to Premier Room. The room was very big with DVD player. You can get movie from the market and watch it in your room. It is located in the North of Chaweng, can walk to Central for 5 mins. Hotel has free shuttle bus 3 times a day, only from Hotel to Central. Or you can walk along the beach, it will take about the same. There are many beach restaurants with fire show. The drinks were a little expensive but try to go there on Happy Hour, which is normally last until 9 PM. You can get good deal for THB 100 cocktail or THB 50 local beer. Hotel also provides a very good break as well. This is suitable for all travelers.

Reviewed December 19, 2008
9.0
Exceptional
Pippa from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in September 2008

Very helpful and friendly staff”

Lovely hotel, good breakfast and nice swimming pools. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay there again.
The beach was very shallow so did not make for good swimming.

The hotel was very attractive with the new section and breakfast located on the hill on the other side of the road to the main resort. This did not cause any issues though.The resort situation was at the top end of Chewang beach, which is walking distance to the town with all the shops you could need whilst on holiday. good location for a holiday if you do not want to be limited to your hotel only. Very nice stay.

Reviewed September 23, 2008
8.7
Excellent
Rob from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 3 nights in September 2008

Kandaburi, Chaweng”

Size of room Cleanliness
Bit of a walk up the hill from the beach to half of the resort and have to cross a main road.

The staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating, 24 hour security and there are two big pools due to the resort being situated 2 sides of the main chaweng beach road. Nice little area of the beach and the staff at the pool bar were very friendly and entertaining. Can't comment on the restaurants as we didn't eat there but there are so many places in Chaweng that would no doubt be a lot cheaper and better value for money. Also ample car parking which was useful as we had hired a pickup truck.

Reviewed September 17, 2008
10.0
Exceptional
Manuel from United States
Couple
Deluxe 1 Double Bed
Stayed 7 nights in April 2018

Koh Sumui 2018 (Song Kran)”

A good hotel, very clean and fresh, private beach right next to the pool. Rooms were very clean and I was surprised with a up grade to the honeymoon suite as my booked room was not available. This was a great gesture on Managements part.

Reviewed May 15, 2018
5.2
Thapanee from Thailand
Group
Superior 2 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

It should be better”

It should be better since we chosen the hotel in a standard of Accor group but i don't know in which system they use for screening their customers. We are 2 ladies and they have add us to the room which is very far away to the back side of the hotel. And since the building have many level with at least 4 elevator with different kind of floor. First arrived they took us to the room by the 3rd elevator which we have to go up to 4 floor then take Tehran half floor by stair. But when we have to come back to the room by ourself we took the 1st elevator and the top floor we can press is 4 floor but we came off seem to be in a different floor of our room then we walk up by stair for 2 more floor. Basically it is too complicate and to far for the woman walking back to the room. Especially if it at the night. Then at the beach side there is not enough towel and no refill. We have been waiting until we finished and i end up by sharing the towel with my friend. The staff at the check in didn't inform us for any of hotel information, we have to ask from one of the expat staff for the breakfast place and he was informed us we can have breakfast at both side. But when we arrive on the beach side for breakfast the other expat staff told us this side is reserve for the customers that stay on this side. This is quite impolite for my opinion to reply to your customer in this kind of way. So we have told her that one of the staff told us to come here or should we walk back, and at the end she allow us to have the breakfast there. There is many way to handle this situation, you should check with your front desk first if they have inform to all the customers or not. However the other day we stay on the other side but overall the breakfast here is not a Novotel standard at all. Asian side boil rice not hot not even warm. Breakfast station dirty, not clean, not fill up the food. even fried is very bad, i wish i can show you how is look. Fried rice same color as stream rice. 2 kind of fri

Reviewed March 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Carolina from Azerbaijan
Family with young children
Deluxe 1 Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Very relaxing stay...”

We were very happy when we arrived to the hotel, very tired. So the bed was the perfect thing waiting for us. Super comfortable hard bed. Very spacious room and bathroom. The room was clean but the bathroom (shower and tub) were both dirty, that was a bit disappointing. We had the breakfast included and it was a good buffet but nothing amazing, all 3 days we ate there it was always the same thing... the pool was fantastic, we really enjoyed it with our son. Also on the street of the hotel (specially to the right of lobby entrance, same side of street) there is a great Thai food restaurant for lunch and dinner. Overall we had a great experience at the hotel, very comfortable and clean. Do recommend it!

Reviewed November 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe 1 Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

Novotel Samui”

Great location, on the beach and close to the airport. Room was good size although bed was a little hard. Buffet breakfast had good variety. Shuttle bus to centre Chaweng was only 3 times daily but you could always get tuk tuk at reasonable price. Internet was a bit slow, but overall I would recommend the Novotel to friends.

Reviewed May 04, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Grant from New Zealand
Couple
Superior 1 Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

Should be 5 Star rated”

Far exceedes the likes of Hilton Hotel chain which I have stayed at extensively over the last year in Asia Great staff and service , the friendly staff go out of their way to help and assist, always with a genuinly friendly smile . good food and value for money, spacious rooms and great facilities. As a regular patron of hotels in Asia for business and pleasure this is one of the best Great location on the best beach ( in my opinion) in Samui, reasonably quite area however close enough to Chawamg town ( 3-4 minute motorbike ride or 30 m walk) for shopping and dining . Highly recommended, I will return on my next trip for sure.

Reviewed May 01, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Sarin from Thailand
Group
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015

Loved it, but would be better if it's closer to...”

Amazing Room, Amazing beach , Amazing breakfast

I loved my time at this hotel. Very relaxing and peaceful. If you are looking for a nightlife, this is not the place to be. For me, I wanted a perfect quite and relaxing luxurious time , and I got it here :)

Reviewed August 06, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Paul from Australia
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in July 2015

Restfull Holiday”

large rooms, hotel right on the beach, buffet breakfast

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kandaburi Resort, would definately recommend this hotel, right on the beach, they run free shuttle buss down town three times a day, staff all very nice, large rooms and nice buffet breakfast.

Reviewed August 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Liam from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

Luxury stop”

Location - close to town but not too close .beach- amazing .great value for m

We were backpacking and chose this hotel as our most expensive place to stop. My boyfriend and I were so pleased we decided to splash ou( even though it was not that expensive). Excellent. We loved it here and stopped another night than originally planned. Staff could not do enough for you, drinks were excellent. Pool and the facilities are brilliant. Wish I was back here.

Reviewed July 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Couple
Stayed 12 nights in May 2015

We had a great time at the Kandaburri Resort ”

The rooms are very large and I would recommend the ocean side room as there are a lot of steps to the hillside. The location is quiet and beach is clean at this end. Shuttle buses provided

Our stay was very relaxing and we enjoyed the pool and beach. Room are very large and clean,staff are very happy and pleasant.Short walk 10 mins to main shopping/party area or shuttle bus but lots of places to eat and drink along beach. I would recommend this resort and we will be returning.

Reviewed June 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Nicholas from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015

Nice place to stay but lacked the small touches”

Nice large rooms, beautiful pools, nice location.

Overall we had a great time in Kandaburi, however we thought the resort lacked the small touches we expected for the price we paid. The rooms and hotel presentation were beautiful. We were concerned about buying rooms on the hillside section, wondering if it would be separated too far from the main area, however the hillside section had a great pool and wasn't too far to go down to the beach. The hotel is in a great location at the very north of Chaweng beach. It's about a 10-15m walk into the main part, and is away from the series hustle and bustle, just right for us. Note - we realised when we arrived that the location indicated on Google Maps was wrong and showed Kandaburi more central in Chaweng than it was. The service was OK, which is about all we came to expect from SE Asia, however I would have expected more at a four star resort paying the price we did. The security staff out the front were really friendly! The included breakfast was really nice, however the rest was quite expensive and average for the price, so we ate out mostly and bought our own drinks to bring back to the hotel. Also, this was the most expensive place we stayed in our travels through SE Asia (20 hotels), however it was the only one without Wifi in the rooms!

Reviewed January 17, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Reina from Lebanon
Group
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

A nice resort right on Chaweng Beach!”

Big Rooms, directly on the beach, good food

All in all we had a pleasant stay at Kandaburi, the rooms were nicely organized. Room service was kind of slow tough, and despite several requests the minibar was not filled day to day..I would recommend that it be clarified that hillside rooms are at the opposite side of the resort and not by the beach.

Reviewed January 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
SHWU from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Location, location and location”

Great rooms, great views, great service

Excellent. Hillside room was immense overlooking the pool. Beach side was a short walk across the road. Beautiful, hard packed, white sand area with seafood eateries up and down the rest of the beach. Beach bar/restaurant allowed uninterrupted view of the scenery.

Reviewed December 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Curtis from Australia
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in October 2014

Great Location”

We were given a great room! Quiet location, but not far from Chaweng Beach. Good value.

We were given a spacious hillside room that had direct pool access shared between only four rooms, and close to breakfast area. Location was perfect for us. A 15-20 minute walk along the beach or the road to the centre of Chaweng. but far enough away for a peaceful night's sleep! Staff were friendly and obliging.

Reviewed October 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
tony from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014

QUITE,PEACEFUL,GREAT BEACH FRONTAGE,CLOSE TO SHOPS”

BEACH,PRICES,RESORT

COULD NOT FAULT VERY PEACEFUL,WE VENTURED DAILY TO 'YOUR PLACE' CLOSE BY ON BEACH FOR NIGHTLY FOOD & ENTERTAINMENT AT HALF RESORT PRICES.OVERALL EXCELLENT RESORT FOR COST & AMENITIES. WILL BE RETURNING

Reviewed June 14, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Lauren from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

Beautiful hotel, great location and staff ”

Large modern rooms, beautiful grounds, beach location

I stayed as a group of 4 female friends in our 20's. The hotel is fabulous, staff polite and helpful upon arrival. It is only a short distance from the airport if you get a taxi from Samui airport. We had 2 rooms on the hillside part of the hotel. The rooms are very large, especially the bathrooms! One small problem with the air con leaking but staff were quick to attend and resolve this. Buffet breakfast is lovely with a great choice. The concierge arranged several trips for us and also some dinner reservations, always happy to help and get the best for you. We ate lunch several times at the poolside by the beach, great location, great choice of food, reasonably priced. The beach is beautiful although if you arrive later in the day you are unlikely to get a sun lounger in the sun. Walk along the beach for lots of Thai massage on the beach for reasonable prices and restaurants on the beach. You can walk into town, nicer to go along the beach or the hotel run a free bus every hour. In summary an excellent hotel, brilliant facilities and beautiful setting.

Reviewed May 03, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Valma from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in March 2014

Definitely A Memorable Stay. We will be back.”

The Staff. The Meals, The Accommodation

Our stay at the Kandaburi Resort was one we will have many fond memories of and will definitely be back. The staff, meals,accommodation and amenities were awesome. Thank you to John and the wonderful staff at Kandaburi who made our stay so enjoyable.

Reviewed April 14, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Louise from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014

Fabulous. Beautiful location for relaxing.”

Peaceful, nice beach, great breakfast.

Beautiful hotel. Far enough away for peace but only a 15 min walk into town (they also have a shuttle bus 3 times a day). My room was hillside and it was perfect, spacious, lovely bathroom. Would definitely recommend this place.

Reviewed April 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
RAJ from India
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

Peaceful and Serene Abode”

Room was very spacious with special mention for the bathroom which was very big; swimming pool was very clean and the beach was very enchanting

The Hotel/Resort was very beautiful with very spacious rooms and an excellent location next to the beach. Although we didn't use much facilities of the resort, as we were generally outside exploring Samui, but We will definitely miss the morning breakfast and swimming. The only problem I faced was communicating with the staff over the phone, as they don't understand English. Otherwise, the stay was very comfortable and We had an amazing experience holidaying in Koh Samui!

Reviewed February 03, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Husniye from Turkey
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

Great Stay,Great Staff”

Large Rooms, Friendly Staff & Fast Service

We stayed 4 nights with my two children. The hotel is spread out over two sides of the main road and we stayed across the road away from the beach which was quiet and had it's own beautiful pool and breakfast area. The other pool and access to the beach was only a few minutes walk. First I booked Hill Side room but after seeing the road between beach and hill side parts change our mind and asked the beach side room. Hotel staff was very friendly, smiley and helpful. They arranged for us ground floor beach side room which was very convenient for my energetic boys in and out from beach and pool all day long .The room was a huge and still had a space after a huge kingsize bed + day bed (my 11year old slept, very comfortable) + an extra bed for my 8 year old. The bathroom was enormous and there was a lovely balcony too. Everything was provided, the breakfast buffet was great. Morning\ afternoon happy hours was very refreshing and service of the restaurant was very fast with lots of smiley staff. The hotel is close enough to Chaweng but far enough away to avoid any noise. The beach is really nice and safe for small children as the sea is shallow for at least 200m out. The staff were friendly and efficient we had no issues as all. Overall this is great hotel in a good location close to restaurants and bars along the beach. We would come again and definitely stay here again.

Reviewed January 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
CHEE from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Large Room, Comfortable, Clean”

Large Rooms and bathrooms, Comfortable bed, Clean

It is fantastic when I walk into the room.The bathroom is so big.A big mirror and clean bathtubs. Floors is clean and the bed was comfortable.But the minibar have nothing.The location is very good because need to walk to chaweng beach road need 10-15mins.The breakfast is quite good.Totally the room is Comfortable.

Reviewed December 28, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Fiona from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

Lovely relaxing Hotel”

Enormous rooms and bathrooms, lovely garden settings,nice swimming pools and easy access to the beach. Very quiet position eventhough it's 5 mins from the middle of Chaweng.

I stayed one night on my way back from Koh Phangan with my two children and was thrilled with the quality of the hotel. I had requested an extra bed for my 7 year old and the room we were given was in a beautiful quiet position overlooking the gardens with bunk beds and a huge kingsize bed. The bathroom was enormous and there was a lovely balcony too. Everything was provided, the breakfast buffet was great and there were two lovely swimming pools. The hotel is spread out over two sides of the main road and we stayed across the road away from the beach which was quiet and had it's own beautiful pool and breakfast area. The other pool and access to the beach was only a few minutes walk. I'd definitely stay here again. A great position with access to the lovely beach but very quiet eventhough it was only minutes from the centre of Chaweng.

Reviewed October 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
sammantha from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Good location”

Lovely hotel

The rooms here are nice and spacious we were in the hill side rooms which were across the rd but still very nice. Bathroom was massive. There were two pools both nice Pool area by the beach weas nice as was the breakfast. Drinks were a bit expensive at the bar ie water etc. not far to walk into centre of chaweng and up the quieter enc of the beach which was great. Even had a gym

Reviewed March 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Yoad from Israel
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013

Great Hotel, Great Service”

Room Interior Design

i have very few negative things to say about kandaburi. the location was perfect (at the north side of chaweng, close enough to the center to talk to but not too close to hear the noise), and so was the splendidly decorated room and great breakfast. one thing i do want to complain about, however, is the lack of wifi in the room, which i found puzzling for a four star hotel. we had to go down to the beach restaurant (a long walk, as it happens, since the hotel's design is extremely long and narrow)every time we wanted to correspond with friends and family. apart from this, i can think of very little we didn't like in the hotel.

Reviewed February 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Nadejda from Uzbekistan
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in August 2012

Lovely hotel with very nice and large rooms”

Piece and quite walking distance to centre

We stayed in the hill side room facing the pool and 2 minutes walk to the beach. We were wery impressed by the size of the room which was about 50 m2 Room with nice balcony. Very friendly and attentive service. Free wify was available by the pool side which great. Defenly will come back in few years.

Reviewed August 27, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Paul from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 9 nights in July 2012

Great resort, huge rooms, fantastic service.”

Quiet location but close to all your needs. Clean & tidy. Rooms were large with a balcony. Breakfast was very comprehensive to suit all tastes.

Our daughter got married on the Saturday and they had a torrential down pour and hour before the ceremony and for two hours after. The wedding was to be a beach wedding with monks performing the ceremony. Well that was all washed away but the lengths the resort went to to make sure everything went ahead was nothing short of a miracle. They had to basically redo everything and nothing was too much trouble to make sure the occasion was a success. From the day we arrived to the day we left ALL staff were pleasant, cheerful and full of smiles. The swimming pools were excellent never over crowded even though the resort was full. Many eating places within walking distance of the resort. Transport was very accessable no waiting and very cheap. The resort is split into two the beach side and the hill side. We stayed on the hill side adn our daughter on the sea side. We found the hill side to be cooler as it was more elevated. The hill side was quieter and more private. The design of the rooms are such that when you are on your balcony you don't look into your neighbours.

Reviewed July 15, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Phoebe from Australia
Group
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012

Amazing rooms and service”

Rooms, Service, Facilities

i stayed here with a friend for 7 nights in total. we spoke to the hotel about leaving for koh phangan full moon and they looked after our luggage with no complaints. the rooms are amazing and the pool and breakfast area. there are two pools and two breakfast options and the rooms are spacious, clean and very nice! the location is good for shopping if your willing to walk 10 minutes to the shops, or 15 minutes along the beach to the restaurants that overlook the ocean. perfect hotel if you don't mind walking a little or taking a tuk tuk / taxi.

Reviewed July 12, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Marilyn from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012

Lovely location right on the beach!”

Best resort pool, poolside massages and great location for those not wanting to be right in the strip.

This is my second visit to Kandaburi and we stayed at a hillside room as it was getting built the last time we were here. The beachside rooms are better, even if it is older but no complaints really. Breakfast was tasty with great variety and the option of having two pools to choose from was a nice touch too. Overall, great location, good value and I recommend a sunset stroll along the beach to Chaweng Centre.

Reviewed July 05, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Andy from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in June 2012

Great location and excellent rooms.”

Pool Bar, gardens, pools, service - just about everything

Wonderful place to stay - great location just five minutes walk from the shopping area but far enough away to enjoy a bit of piece and quite. The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom amazing. Nice little verandah to sit and have a drink although you had to make sure you kept the door shut to keep the mozzies out. Room service was a bit slack forgetting to replace soap, teabags etc but rooms were very clean and well maintained.

Reviewed June 23, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Ong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Great hotel but average breakfast ”

Spacious and great room

location is great which not far from the hot spot in chaweng.staff are friendly and try to assist even lack of proficiency in english... however our last day of request to extend our check-out to 4pm was abruptly rejected on the ground it was fully booked (which is not convincing and we thought the occupancy was probably below 80%). shuttle services to chaweng town was provided but only one way... transport was easily available along the road during any time of the day... beach is clean and clear but a bit shallow. the breakfast was quite bored and lack of variety(same food was served during our 4 days stay).. overall it is still value for money and i will surely come back again.

Reviewed June 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in April 2012

Nice beach, good service”

Great beach

Hotel is a about 10minutes away by foot from the Chewang shopping mile but sports a great beach (even though a little bit shallow). We stayed on in the hillside rooms which is across the street but that wasn't a real inconvenience. Rooms are quite big but with a bit of an unfortunate layout - bath room is way too big. They actually have 4 rooms with a "private" swimming pool directly in front of the balcony. We upgraded to that room for the last two days for about day - pool was a bit cold though since it is most of the time in the shadow. Main pools are very nice though and prices of the facilities are reasonable. It is very adviseable to rent a scooter for about day so that you can easily explore the island (Waterfall was beautiful) and also get easier into the downtown are for dinner and shopping. All in all an OK hotel but I wouldn't stay there a second time. Cons: - Internet is a bit expensive ( for unlimited access) and very slow and sometimes unusable so not very reliable - If you leave the room after 1pm chances are your room will not get cleaned unless asked for specifically - Transfer to the new room (we upgraded) took quite long and they dragged their feet a bit so we lost some time on the day of the move that could have been spent on the beach or the pool - only old CRT TVs

Reviewed May 21, 2012
8.7
Excellent
MARK from Australia
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in April 2012

Beautifull Hotel”

Large room, firm bed, well air conditioned, excellent housekeeping, good breakfast and service

Really enjoyed the quiet location. Both pools were well maintained and serviced by staff for food/drinks with plenty of seating and umbrellas. Plenty of seating on beach as well. Beach very shallow so preferred swimming in pool which was close to beach. Deluxe room was excellent, quite large and tastfully decorated. Water pressure in shower was very good however shower head was quite high on wall. Airconditioning was excellent as weather around 39 degrees most days.We both have bad backs so really appreciated the firm mattress. Breakfast and restaurant service was very good and catered to all tastes. Lunch menu was the same everyday so some variety would have been a welcome change. Overall we really enjoyed our time at Kandaburi and would definitely stay there again. All staff were very helpful, pleasant and professional.

Reviewed May 05, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Anne-Maree from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in April 2012

Great Hotel, with awesome breakfast!”

large clean rooms, best breakfast buffet ive ever had overseas..

down point, they dont offer pick up service from hotel. (we did request it but nobody was there, so we took a taxi (only 15min from airport) but taxi charge single price of ($13)and they are expensive for wi fi! other than that the hotel service was outstanding. i wouldnt book any tours through them (full moon or safari) they charge you than the travel agents do. and there massage are very expensive. but feels like a 5 star room, aircon was perfect, room was huge and so clean and modern enough... my fussy fussy parnter and i were extremly happy and will defiantlya stay here again. location is good if you dont mind driving about 5-10min to get to the action. we prefered that so we were able to get a great night sleep as there was no noise. (our bed was so comfortable as well) - more comfortable than my own! oh

Reviewed April 21, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Donna from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in December 2011

Fantastic Hotel, Great Location, Brilliant Food!”

Location, Cleanliness, Facilities, Staff, Food and Service

We stayed at the Kandaburi for the majority of our honeymoon in Samui. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The location on Chewang beach is brilliant, just far enough out of the town to enjoy the quiet, beautiful beach, but not too far to go into town in the evening. The buffet breakfast is incredible! Rooms are lovely and the resort is very clean and well kept, with beautiful water gardens. Would definatly return.

Reviewed January 02, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Fabio from Italy
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Nice hotel and nice location”

huge, clean and nice rooms; great pool; great and quiet location; nice hotel design;

We stayed at Kandaburi after having spent 3 nights in another resort and my first impression was that here the staff is less caring, they are kind but less caring, no fruits or particular welcome in the room when we arrived. Our room was a Deluxe Hillside and this means you have to cross the street to go to the beach that is not a problem because is not far and there is always a man helping you with the traffic... The room was huge and nice (more a hotel style than a resort in the hillside), our only problem was the noise from the next room: our neighbors were young and they were partying so it happened we were awoken at 3:30am by loud talking. This was not a hotel fault of course but I was really disappointed when we called the receptionist and nobody answered us...I know it was 3:30am but I think a 24h receptionist service it could be helpful...what if I have had health problems? Another negative aspect of Kandaburi is that you don't have free wi-fi connection. That said, we have enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Great swims in the beautiful swimming pool or in the ocean that is quieter here than in the South because of the reef (I mean: if you walk for 2-3 km South on the same beach you can enjoy, or not, bigger waves because there is no reef as protection). I loved the location of this hotel(quiet, lovely, not far from shops), the ocean view, the palms while you are sitting on the sunbed, there was no beach in front of the hotel at that time (around 20-Dec-2011) where you could lie...maybe high tide.

Reviewed December 29, 2011
8.7
Excellent
irina from Israel
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011

Very nice hotel”

The best servise!!!

We came to this hotel on our first week in Tailand. It is very nice place. Very good servise. Good food! It is not in the center, but it is 10 minutes by walk from center. We recomend everyone on this hotel. The price is nice!

Reviewed December 22, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Wai from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2011

Amazing hotel”

Beautiful, large and clean rooms

upon arrival, staff took a little too long to check us in. however, upon doing so, it was all smooth sailing from there! the room was huge, and the interior was absolutely beautiful. we were provided with all the amenities necessary. staff were very attentive and strived to help us with everything we needed. that also included helping us get some last minute boat tickets to the fullmoon party! the resort as a whole also did not disappoint. buffet breakfasts were served daily at the restaurant by the beach. however, although that was an amazing atmosphere, it was quite far from the deluxe rooms (as we had to walk down, cross the road, and keep walking to practically the other side of the hotel). if they had opened up both restaurants to serve breakfast, life would have been a lot easier. the beach by the resort was beautiful. however, there was only a minimal amount of sunbeds available which was a little disappointing. in terms of location, i would not say that kandaburi was the most central to everything. if you wanted to get anywhere, you will need to go by car/tuktuk. however, the hotel does offer two rounds of free travel per day so that made things a little easier.

Reviewed November 29, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in November 2011

Good service, high standard”

Size of room, best breakfast i ever had in a hotel, nice and service minded staff, close but not to close to night life and shops

Rooms were very clean and fresh, you have all towels, soap oils, slippers and bath robes you need for a pleasant stay. Late check in and transfer is handled very nice and smooth. Staff was excellent with good service and friendy faces. I recommend this hotel to any kind of traveller. Hillside vs Seaside doesn't matter much, it's very close to the beach from Hillside also, 2 min walk. Nice and clean beach at the hotel and you get to start a nice beach walk from there if you like. If you prefer to relax close to the hotel just take one of the sun chairs and enjoy, great pools also.

Reviewed November 20, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Sirene from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

Good, quiet location, nice staff”

large rooms

We stayed here with 2 young children, nice shallow part of the beach, clean and tidy. nice kids pool, lovely staff. I recommend staying the beach side as the hillside is just that little bit further with kids. The family suite is huge and suitable for a traveling family, 3 T.V's, nice large balcony, lounge, 2 bedrooms and kitchen with dining table. (although it's on the top floor and there's no lift). However, the stairs are not that bad.

Reviewed October 22, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Ron from Israel
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

One of the best places in the island”

Nice place to stay in

We stayed for couple of days in the island and unfortunately we had only one night in this hotel. it is a quiet, well clean and inviting place. It was our first but noot last time in this hotel. The only complaint we have is with Wi-Fi. This should be free of charge like many other places.

Reviewed October 19, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Dawn from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011

Fantastic hotel!”

Rooms, service, 2 pools, luxury!

Loved staying here, fantastic rooms, big with baths and what you would expect from 5 star. Graet hotel with 2 pools, different restaurants, a fantastic place to relax. Great for couples as well as families, an easy 15-20 min walk along the beach to the centre of Chaweng - great to be on the outside of the Chaweng chaos, so its peaceful and quite. Would def recommend.

Reviewed September 19, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Fei from China
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in August 2011

Great location but small rooms"”

best features of the hotel, selling points, things you liked

Try to make your review as thorough as possible and include any authentic experiences you had or odd quirks you found that you wouldn't know unless you had visited the hotel. These lesser-known tidbits of info aren't published in guidebooks and are often the most interesting things for potential customers to read.

Reviewed September 08, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Nir from Israel
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Lovely hotel - great service”

food, pool

the hotel is very beautiful. the room is big, comfortuble, has everything we needed. has an in room safe! very important. the breakfast and the resturant are very good. the employes are very nice and always helped out in everything we needed. in summrry, very good hotel for 97.5 $ a night.

Reviewed August 17, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Kasper from Denmark
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011

High priced luxury”

Good service and nice staff

we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a hillside deluxe apartment. the distance to the beach was a bit long (5 min walk) and the waters are very shallow at this part of chaweng beach. however, very nice sandy beach and pool area. if you are looking for luxury you have come to the right place, but you also pay for it. restaurent and massage prices are about 2-3 times higher than at nearby places.

Reviewed August 15, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011

Fantastic hotel,excelent service very friendly ”

Very lovely rooms. very roomy ,very friendly and professional service. very good location.

I booked a hillside room as I had stayed there before on a previous trip and was very impressed with the hotel,however when I arrived at the reception they informed me that they had a vacancy on the beach side (the hotel is on two sides of the road) and they upgraded me for no extra charge. Whether you stay on the hillside or beach side you will be impressed.

Reviewed August 08, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Yuliana from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Decent hotel with Huge Rooms”

Nice rooms, comfy bed

the hotel is a short distance away from the busy area of chaweng beach where all the action is. if you don't want to be right in the action all the time then this hotel is in a great location. we rented a scooter from a place right next to the hotel. the buffet breakfast was awesome. the room was actually a lot bigger than i expected and the bed was very comfortable. staff were always happy to help you and greeted you with a smile. the deluxe hillside rooms are across the street, so a 30 second walk to the beach. not really a big deal. wifi is very expensive at this hotel. if you want internet in your room be prepared to pay a lot.

Reviewed August 07, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Benjamin from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Beautiful spacious rooms, helpful staff”

Location, last minute agoda 55% discount

we didn't mind that there was a road separating the 2 sides of the hotel. deluxe hillside was the away from the beach but still an easy walk to the beach. the breakfast was great. happy hour at the bar on the beach was good value too. location is nice, about 10min walk to the main shopping area. shuttle bus only 3 times per day one way to shopping area. they could offer the return shuttle at the same times. but it is easy to walk if it's not wet. we had great weather for july.

Reviewed August 01, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Dawoon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011

Very nice resort but no expensive!!!”

Nice chaweng beach and variety breakfast

Chaweng center is so far...walking is impossible But everthing is perfect Especailly big pool and easy approach beach Clean and big room But hillside deluxe room is a little far from pool and beach so I change premier room ( night)

Reviewed August 01, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Gabriela from Romania
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in July 2011

Great location, hotel&service if at the beach side”

Great beach location, great pool, good size rooms with comfy and clean facilities

we enjoyed five days at the resort, making best use of the great beach facilities they offer. their location on the beachside is idea offering a blue sandy beach with both shallow and deep water spots. they offer comfy beach seats and a close by pool area as well as a range of spa services around the pool and beach. rooms are quite large and very comfy. it's however important you choose a beach side room rather than a hillside one (as the latter are a 10 min walk to the beach). also premium rooms offer much the same as deluxe ones, the only difference being the location (beach vs hillside). the hotel is a 15 min walk on the beach from the central bars, pubs and markets. however there are plenty of good options for eating and partying around the hotel too.

Reviewed July 31, 2011
7.7
Very good
LEE from China
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Room was big and beautiful”

convenient to the beach

It was very impressive that to choose aroma oil upon check in; although we stayed in hillside room, it was convenient for us to walk to the beach for few minutes. Room was beautiful and big but the service was a bit lousy. It don’t have Housekeeping service after midnight.

Reviewed July 31, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Antonio from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011

Great location with big rooms”

Big rooms, friendly staff, quiet place, close to centre

The rooms a a big plus, the way from the upper side of the resort to the beach is far enogh. Nice swimming pool. Appreciated the searoses close to the breakfast restaurant. The gym is at the borderline. Its much to hot inside the gym when you make work out.

Reviewed July 29, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Brian from Denmark
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011

Lovely resort at the beach”

Nice room and bathroom, great staff and facilities

lovely resort right at the beach. nice and quiet surroundings. good service from staff and a great poolarea. delicious breakfast buffet. had a good relaxing time as i expected. one downside is that the was a breakdown on the internet connection the first night, which was a problem for me when travelling alone. overall a good stay.

Reviewed July 27, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Carly from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in July 2011

Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms”

Close enough to the night life and markets but far enough for peace and quiet

We really enjoyed our stay! Didn't want to leave! The rooms were beautiful! So spacious and had great views! The staff were always friendly, happy and helpful! Perfect location for a quiet get away as it is peaceful but still close enough to duck to the markets and a busy bar! Would definitely stay there again!

Reviewed July 26, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Ricardo from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011

Lovely hotel”

Relaxing poolside by the hillside pool

lovely,spacious room, huge bathroom. great variety breakfast.dining with a view facing the beach. 2 pools within the resort and the beach on its doorstep. they have a shuttle bus service to chaweng 3 times a day which was only one-way otherwise its about a 10 minute walk.

Reviewed July 06, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Darren from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011

Great stay”

Beach Front dining, large rooms

Great Hotel, large rooms, hand held shower sucks, but bathroom nice and big. Didn't have lots of staff interaction, but what we had was pleasant. Pools and dining close to beach and hotel good distance from Airport and Shopping strip.

Reviewed June 28, 2011