"Everything for me is excellent, thumbs up!"
December 24, 2016
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
|Value for money||6.9|
|Distance to city center||1 km|
|Nearest airport||Bohol–Panglao International Airport (TAG)|
|Distance to airport||33.4 km|
"Staff were very friendly and accomodating."
September 3, 2018
"Food is delicious and affordable, with big servings might I add."
August 13, 2018
"I would say impressive clean rooms & surrounding, warm & competent personnel, large comfortable yard/grounds to roam, interesting beach to explore."
December 1, 2018
"The very good attitude/regard of the resort information empl..."
December 1, 2018
Ocean Bay Beach Resort is a family-oriented resort that’s quiet, cozy, and surrounded by natural and beautiful scenery. This hotel offers guests en-suite amenities like private balconies and terraces, air conditioning, kitchenettes, televisions, and refrigerators. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner outside in the open air at the Gazebo Restaurant. There are plenty of leisure activities to partake in such as lounging by the pool, diving, snorkeling, and even creating your own picnics. Send the kids to the Children’s play area before going to the spa. Car rental is available for exploring the Guiwanon, Poblacion, and Dlaguete area. Be sure to stop by the gift shop for last minute souvenirs and gifts before checking out of this comfortable and relaxing accommodation.
"Staff are also very warm."
December 30, 2018
Children and extra beds
Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.
Minimum age of guests is: 0 year(s).
|Guest's age||Extra bed|
Infant 0-2 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
Baby cot/crib may be requested directly from the property.
Children 3-8 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 9 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Show reviews that mention
Very responsive on inquiries. Staff are also very warm. Beach front is not clean (I thinks due to design, you placed a barrier, thus dirt is trapped) not recommended for swimming. But they do have a mini pool. Recommeded for scuba diving enthusiast.
Hi Juanita, Thank you very much for leaving us a review and rating, I really appreciate the time it took you to do so. We do try our very best with the beach and have housekeeping clean it at least once a day, providing the tide is out. The biggest problem we have is the sea current that brings a lot of garbage from the north of us. Many towns and cities use their rivers as garbage cans and this then ends up in the ocean and the tide brings it south. Plastic is the worst. Some days we have no garbage on our sandy shore, but other days it can be overwhelming. We can when it is stormy fill up 5 to 10 bags of garbage a week from our sandy shoreline. One day maybe people will realise that throwing away waste in the rivers and seas is destroying the natural beauty around the coastline of the Philippines, one can only hope. Thank you Juanita and hope one day you will come back and visit us again. Best Regards, Matt, Ocean Bay Beach Resort.
Book only if you dare!...dirty.. and run down
Hi Leslie, Thank you for your rating and review. It is a shame that you felt that the resort only deserved such a low rating by yourself and again it is a shame that you did not stipulate more on the reason why, apart from one sentence. The room you stayed in ( Room 76) has recently been redecorated and refurbished (December 2018)so I am unsure how you came to the conclusion that it was run down and dirty. It has a fresh paint job, all the fixtures were replaced with new fixtures in the bathroom and CR, the light fittings are all new, you have new mirrors, TV and even modern art paintings on the wall. The curtains are also new. So I am confused to how you saw the room in the state you described. If you had such an issue with the room you could have walked to receptions (2 Min walk) and we would have happily dealt with any concerns you had with the room or transferred you to another room altogether, if we felt you had a valid complaint. Thank you, Matt. Ocean Bay Beach Resort.
Very ideal 1 night stopover ”
The accommodation and facilities are good and so is the staff the only thing is the waterfront was messy dirty and polluted all around Distant view of sea great Nearest view terrible The hotel management could clean up the pollution it’s easily the sore point
Hi Ismail, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time it took you to do. Also that you gave us a 10 point review that was really nice of you too, so thank you. The beach unfortunately was a bit of a mess when you were here, this was because we had been having some very bad weather and large waves, this in turn was dragging up the seaweed from the depths and depositing it on to the beach, that coupled with the fact there was a strong current at the time which brought down a lot of garbage with it, and as our private beach is like a cove, the garbage and seaweed has no where to go once it hits the sandy beach. We had to wait for the storm to pass before attempting a clean up, as within 12 hours after the next high tide the beach would have been in the same state. It is now though cleaned up and we have removed all the seaweed and garbage that was dumped on the beach during that storm. It is all part of living in the Philippines. I do thank you though for your rating.
Had an awesome time at Ocean Bay Beach Resort with my family”
Choosing Ocean Bay was primarily due to its accessibility to my daughter's workplace with LandBank Dalaguete. We didn't expected much because some baseless assumption of the place suggested we choose other place to stay, but out of curiosity, we chose Ocean Bay, anyway. We did online booking but called through phone for onset information. The very good attitude/regard of the resort information employee over the phone was so courteous & impressive. I called 2 times (evening &daytime), the 2 incharge were consistently kind and welcoming each time I call. Anyway, after our 3 days and 2 nights stay, I would stay, the resort is under-rated. It's much better than what you read on the reviews. I would say impressive clean rooms & surrounding, warm & competent personnel, large comfortable yard/grounds to roam, interesting beach to explore. Value of charge/cost reasonable. Needs improvement aspects: 1. TV sets in our 3 bedrooms, malfunctioning 2. No room phone to contact front desk
Hi Joselito, Firstly let me thank you for taking your time to leave a good lengthy review of our resort. I really appreciate that and so will the staff. Most people who leave lengthy reviews are just complaining about one aspect during their stay, so it is very nice of you to actually leave a positive review. Though we do not mind the negative reviews, it is nice to get an honest impartial review like yours too. I will inform the reception staff of your kind comments of them and hope that you will come by and visit us again when you decide to visit your daughter again at Landbank here in Dalaguete. Thank you Joselito, Ocean Bay Beach Resort, Matt.
it’t could be better”
By checkin the receptionist told me that the room that i have booked the shower Don’t have hot water.She try to help me upgrade to another classes hotel rooms but i have to pay 1750psp (30eurs)extra per night.that is to much for an simple room with hot water. in general all the resorts in Philippines are very simple.i stay often in the resort in Thailand and Malaysia ,it was always amazing.
Hi Quoc, Thank you for taking the time to review and rate our resort. I am sorry to hear about the difficulty that you experienced with the hot water. After speaking to our reception staff, I learnt that you were upgraded from a Standard Room NO Sea View (Room 71), to a room with a Sea View (Room 78) for free and nothing extra to pay so as to resolve the issue with hot water. You were never asked to pay an additional PHP 1,750.00 a night. I think there must have been some misunderstanding with communications on that point. As you had already paid a certain amount a night to stay with us, why would we then ask you to pay fully for another room. As I said though I think there was just a misunderstanding over that. You have my word that I will investigate what happened to the hot water in your first room (71) before we transferred and upgraded you for free, to enjoy the remainder of your stay with hot water. I hope the rest of your stay at the resort was OK and thank you once a
The studio room that we stayed on is noticeably a bit old, but recently restored and newly painted. Air-conditioning works great. The staff is very accommodating and restaurant breakfast is great and served fast. Pool is clean, but I think they put too much chlorine into it during the time of our stay. Beach however is not so nice, we instead went swimming in another beach (Dalaguete Beach Park) around 10mins away. All in, it is a great place to stay.
Hi Niño, Thank you so very for your in-depth review of our resort, we really appreciate the time you spent writing it. Our studio rooms are one of our oldest rooms in the whole resort, they were the first ones to be built but as you mentioned we do try and keep them in good condition with regular updates and new paint jobs. The beach is being a bit of a problem at the moment, so much being washed up on to the beach with every hightide, so apologies for that. I will also inform the pool guys to double check their test results for the water PH to make sure we are only putting in what needs to go in there and not too much. I am happy though that you found your stay good and hope one day you will come back to visit us again. Thank you, Ocean Bay Beach Resort. Matt.
Right on the beach, decent wifi. Good but expensive restaurant, nice rooms, very good staff.”
Beach itself is pretty bad, but in Dalaguette this is the best resort.
Hi Grigoriy, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our resort. We really appreciate it whenever someone takes the time to do so. We do take on board everything that is said whether good or bad and to make the experience of our guests better. We have been having problems recently with the beach, in recent months we have seen an increase with waste in the sea which unfortunately washes up on shore, we do have our staff out there which you may have seen cleaning the sand and beach area daily (Tide Permitting) and they do try there best. I will inform management in the restaurant to check their prices against other local resorts, to make sure they are in line. The chef does cook all the food from fresh when it is ordered. He does not agree in storing food, then heating it up before serving. Thank you for the kind comments about the staff, I will be sure to let them know. Thank you Grigoriy hope one day you will visit us again. Best Regards Matt. Ocean Bat
nice beach resort”
stayed here couple times = its good resort with great staff & nice food not expensive-good swimming pool. good stopover place between cebu city & dumaguete. easy to get to dalaguete town on trike only 10p will stay again nxt time
Great Small Hotel With Excellent Food ”
This hotel while far from a luxury resort is quite pleasantly nice and also very self contained. If you are looking to get away for some easy going relaxation you can have the pool, the beach and all your meal without leaving the hotel. If you want to venture out the village is very small and does not have too much to do or see but is very nice and the people are great. I think this hotel is a great option if you want a place to rest relax and have all your meals on site. The staff tries very hard to please and are very nice.
Beautiful Ocean Resort”
My Girlfriend and I enjoyed 6 nights at the Ocean Bay Resort. The staff were all friendly. Boat rides and Snorkeling were awesome. Rooms have air conditioning and TV. The location is 2 hour bus ride from Cebu city ($80 Php) or you can have the resort arrange a driver to pick you up at the Cebu airport for about $1,600.00 Php. The owner is a foreigner and is a valuable resource for any persons thinking of relocating to Philippines.
My Stay At Ocean Bay”
I stayed for a week. My room was good, neighbors were quiet, and I usually had the pool to myself. Was nice to swim even when we had rain showers. The covered pool allowed that. The covered seating in the courtyard was near the grills and we used them every night. Short trip to public market allowed easy access for fresh fish and fruits daily. Owner was great, I moved to a bigger room to be closer to new friends we met there.Our move was hassle free.
Ocean Bay Beach Resort”
I was totally delighted to discover this out of the way Ocean paradise. A gazebo restaurant jut out over the water to create a sense of floating. The staff was friendly and their service superb. An on site dive shop provided for snorkling or diving directly from the hotel. The food service was tasty and the service friendly.
Enjoyed our stay.”
The resort was nice, and the staff was really accommodating and pleasant. The restaurant was really relaxing since it had the full view of the ocean, but it was a little too pricy and the current staff they had was not really trained properly. The food was good, but was expecting more from what we paid. Our overall experience was good and we were comfortable.
Hi Sabrina, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our resort, I really appreciate that. I am glad to hear that the staff made you feel welcomed and that they had good mannerism. The staff at the restaurant as you rightly pointed out do need more training, they are all recently employed by the restaurant, but given a bit of time they should get better. I will pass on your concerns about the food and its price to the restaurant management, though I do know it is very competitively priced for our area. Thank you Sabrina and hope to see you back again one day, Best Regards, Matt, Ocean Bay Beach Resort.
Pools good, on main highway so easy to wave a bus over or stop right outside, clean, the beach isn’t swimmable- and I’ll swim almost anywhere.. it’s just to shallow and full of debris. There’s 2 beaches around 8km either way from the place u can easily bus down too.. ten min? Walk to main shops I’d say..
Hi Kent, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our resort and leave us a review. We really appreciate the time it took for you to do this. The beach or the sea is not in a good condition at the moment, this was because of the recent storm that went past us, this makes the waves big and the current strong which in turn pulls all the seaweed up from the depths and lands it on the beaches along the island. We also get all the garbage dumped further north of the island being brought down the coast and as our beach is like a little cove it catches a lot of the garbage. We try and keep it as clean as possible but during a stormy period it is a waste of time, as in 12 hours we are back to where we were again. Also yes when the tide is low which has been during the day recently with high tide late in the evenings and early mornings you do have to walk out about 30 to 40 meters at low tide to get to a depth to be able to swim. Thank You Kent for your time.
The restaurant was outstanding. The food was great and reasonable. Chef was awesome.”
The property was kept in disarray. The beach area was dirty. Wouldn’t even approach the water. Had to go to a public beach Tingko). The staff was lazy. Nothing would get done unless you asked. The room was not prepared when we arrived (no towels, toilet paper or toiletries). The manager was lazy, bosy and arrogant. If i owned the place he definitely would not be there. The staffs answer to everyone of our requested was no. I will never stay here or advise anyone else to stay there unless they fix the deficiencies.
Hi Daren, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our resort. I would like though to tell people the real reason why you are now complaining and not just complaining but outright lying about the state of the resort and staff, which is just a wrong thing to do and very spiteful. On the morning you were leaving you asked reception to order you a taxi from the city, our reception staff rang on your behalf a taxi firm who quoted you PHP 3,500.00 to come and pick you up and take you back to the airport. You started complaining to OUR staff that you only paid PHP 2,500.00 on the way to the resort. Our staff tried to help you by ringing a taxi firm, you started getting angry because it was not the same price as before which is not our problem, we do not run the taxi firm. But you still got angry with our staff who were just trying to help you. I then stepped in on hearing the commotion and being the manager, and you said that "we should have told you that you needed to book
location is good along the highway easy to find. facilities look a bit tired and need some maintenance. staffs and overall is good.
Hi Siau, Thank you so much for taking the time to review and rate our resort. Its an honest review and those are the ones we like. We agree that the resort at the moment looks a bit tired but in the last 3 weeks we have been going from room to room redecorating the rooms from top to bottom, adding new paintings, renewing all the bathroom fittings and generally modernizing the rooms and resort. We have also started to add our new key card system too all our guest room doors. Our schedule to complete all the rooms will be November. So I hope you will come back one day and see all the improvemnets and updates we have made to the rooms and the resort itself. I really appreciate the positive comments about our staff and I will sure let them know. Thank you again Siau, for your review and rating. Ocean Bay Beach Resort. (M)
The room and facilities were not that impressive but this hotel is descent and convenient enough for those who came just for Osmeña Peak. Staff were very friendly and accomodating.
Hi Jeremiah, Thank you so much for taking your time to rate and review our resort, we do appreciate every guest that does so. I am sorry that your room and some of the facilities were not up to your expectations, but we are doing a full overall of the resort at the moment, you may have seen painters and decorators at the resort, but these things do take time to complete. Most rooms are already done, so I am assuming you may have stayed in one of the rooms that we have yet to get too. But again we thank you for your time. Hopefully you will come back again and see the improvements that are being continually made at the resort. Ocean Bay Beach Resort. (M)
Better place to stay!”
Reception staff were friendly unlike the bar staff who never smiled once and made you feel like they were doing you a favour to serve you. Bought drinks first night at 8.45pm and at 9pm without saying anything they put the shutters on the bar and closed, even though earlier saying food was served until 10pm. Room and bathroom were old and not very clean with towels that were hard an worn. I would recommend for only a one night stop over if nowhere else available, Much better hotel's close by.
The bed squeaky, bed sheets and pillows seems worn out including the bath towels, room has dim lights. Since it is not expensive there's nothing to expect. They have restaurant but a bit pricey though servings are big but nothing special too. Overall it's just okay if you want somewhere that's near the Osmeña Peak but about more than an hour away from Kawasan.
Awesome place to stay in Dalaguete!”
A really nice place to stay in Dalaguete! Has wonderful snorkeling in front of the resort, good food, comfortable rooms, near to town, beautiful sunsets! And a great location if you want to explore the Osmena Peak Hills!
Ocean Bay Beach Resort