Book Now: Ocean @ Livingstones Hotel

Good
From 559 reviewsSee what guests said
6.5

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (559)
6.5
Good
From 559 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.0
Facilities5.1
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality6.2
Service6.8
Value for money6.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Français
한국어
more
Room type
Deluxe Room
Superior Room
Executive Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 553 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
pran from Thailand
Couple
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
value for money”
good place
Reviewed April 15, 2016
7.2
Very good
xiangtong from China
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016
Good location,clean room”
Closed to everything,and room is big and clean.
Reviewed April 14, 2016
7.6
Very good
Thomas from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Nice facilities”
The room was still be renovated that I was in and the pillows were kinda old. The location was good and the pool looked really nice.
Reviewed April 12, 2016
2.0
Melanie from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Worse hotel I've ever stayed in.”
I will contact customer service with photographs.
Reviewed April 12, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Robin from Belgium
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Excellent hotel”
I was not looking forward to this hotel as there are a lot of bad reviews about it. But in facts I was pretty amazed. The receptionist is very friendly and kind. The rooms are clean and comfy. The locations is near the BTS and the park. It seems the hotel have had its best time and there is a missing piece to the atmosphere. But it is definetly value for money. The pool is clean and refreshing.
Reviewed April 09, 2016
6.0
Anthony from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
Below par”
Staff tried hard but hotel is run down and heard it will be demolished soon to make way for condo development.old and tired hotel but thanks for trying to the staff.
Reviewed April 06, 2016
2.0
Will from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Nothing like the photos”
This is basically false advertising. It's nothing like the photos. It's run down, dirty and empty. I spent 15 minutes in there before walking out and booking somewhere else.
Reviewed April 05, 2016
2.0
Charles from United States
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
I want my money back”
I booked two nights on 2 seperate reservations that were non refundable but this place was a lie. Money back now!!!
Reviewed April 01, 2016
2.0
Charles from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
No lights in hall way. Hard to find. Sign is faded”
This was the worst hotel I ever stayed at in Bangkok and I've stayed at over 50 hotels here. Do not ever stay here.
Reviewed March 31, 2016
6.4
Good
Justin from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Used to be nice but now run down”
It looks like this place used to be very nice and popular. But now it's half shut down, hasn't been repaired for a while and looks deserted from the street. However the room was very clean and had the most comfortable bed we've slept on in Thailand. But the night staff lady at the front counter was disinterested in us and never smiled. All of the pictures were either photoshopped or taken years ago when this place was nice. For the price it's a decent deal, but don't be fooled thinking it's very nice.
Reviewed March 31, 2016
6.3
Good
Mr from Germany
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016
This hotel could be a nice Place to stay ”
Location, Swimming pool, Room Size
It's what you pay for however it used to be a great place in the past. It needs to be redone. Rooms are comfortable and good size just the communal parts require upgrade
Reviewed March 30, 2016
6.4
Good
JOEY from Philippines
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Not good but not bad”
Dont expect much. Money wise, ok!
Reviewed March 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
JOHN from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Excellent value for money ”
Very big rooms, helpful staff, well located
I can not understand some of the other negative reviews the staff could not have been more helpful Yes the hotel is a little different to the photos but l though it was excellent value for money big comfortable rooms with jacuzzi and big TV and an excellent location close to the sky train station
Reviewed March 23, 2016
4.4
Philipp from Germany
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
It's not worth the 4 stars at all!”
Hello, i was staying in the hotel for four nights. When we arrived the hindu-staff was nice in the beginning but then not anymore, if you need to get informations. The pool is broken and does not look like on the pictures anymore. We had no water sometimes to shower and had to wait a long time, so we were not able to take shower or even go to the toilet - awful! The television was not working and the showerhead was broken. Summarized: it's not worth the 4 stars at all. I cannot recommend this hotel. For this prize you will find way better and more friendly hotels.
Reviewed March 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Nikki from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Excellent budget accommodation”
Comfortable bed. Good sized room. Good location. Generally very quiet on pool side, but many disrespectful customers slam doors. If you're here to watch TV, forget it, some rooms have 2 channels, my room had no channels, even after retune. I advised a staff member of 3 issues, no TV channels, kettle not working and shower head faulty, a note was made but nothing fixed. Would I stay again? Most definately at the bargain price I paid.
Reviewed March 14, 2016
2.0
Faisal from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Mosquitos in room”
Room is really big
It's really bad
Reviewed March 12, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Cory from United States
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
It Really Depends What You are Into ”
The hotel is a little outdated, but what they have managed to do is make it enjoyable, livable and rememberable at the same time. It's in a very "out of the way spot" being behind a bar, but once you do find it you are greeted by friendly staff, and taken to a large room that has everything for you. It's located next to a Family Mart, a great Thai restaurant and Starbucks. It's also located near a much frequented Tattoo Parlor, which is why I stayed there. I really didn't have nothing to ping them on, except the limited channels to watch on TV. As I stated before the staff was friendly, the dog was not annoying (yes there is a pet there hehehehe), and I had some of the best sleep there.
Reviewed March 10, 2016
5.0
Didier from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Average place in a boring area”
quiet, quiet, quiet
As one traveler pointed out this hotel definitely needs upgrading and cleaning. Back to the sixties: TV has only 2 channels !! No WiFi in the rooms as well....
Reviewed March 10, 2016
4.4
Nathaniel from United States
Business traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
State of Disrepair.... Keep low expectations”
This hotel is very poorly taken care of. The pool is not usable and never cleaned, the floors are very dirty, half the lights are burned out in the common areas, the AC barely worked (Needs recharged), they don't clean your room unless you ask the front desk, and breakfast is very slow in the morning. The location is good though...This could be a great little hotel if they would invest some money into repairs and maintenance.
Reviewed March 07, 2016
5.0
Neal from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Such a shame”
Free breakfast was Ok, great location
Once would have been an amazing hotel but it's completely run down, don't let the pictures fool you as they were probably taken 5 years ago. The Indian owners just sit around all day. If they cleaned the pool up, put some paint on the walls and repaired the damages they could charge more than double what they do now and would be booked up all year round. Locations very good and the breakfast was worth getting out of bed for but apart from that not much else positive to say. Also be warned they have no hot water
Reviewed March 02, 2016
6.0
Suzanne from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Nice staff downtrodden hotel ”
Receptionist was really helpful, but that couldn't make up for the smell in the room, leaking bath, no bar, not even any juice for breakfast. Place is run down. Also requested a twin bed but got a double.
Reviewed February 27, 2016
3.3
michael from Denmark
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
A Hotel that need a huge makeover”
Location
Did not feel welcome, poor standard.
Reviewed February 26, 2016
7.0
Very good
Ronald from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
Needs a makeover”
location. soft bed. service
A hotel with a lot of potential buyers at present needs refinishing in some areas. Entrance badly lit at night so care meds to be taken to avoid trip hazards. Swimming pool, water is clean but has a problem with leaves from a tree not being cleared, boarding around pool requires sealing and old carpets trailing in the water cleared. Corridors badly lit at night combined with steps made walking to our room dangerous. Electronic door cards not always working. Safety deposit box not working and not secured. Good room and soft bed but only 2 working channels on TV .Breakfast best eaten out. Laundry takes 3 days to return. Staff friendly and try to help. Top end 2* would be appropriate at present but when problems sorted out could be a very nice boutique hotel. Paid 1000baht per night which at present is value for money.
Reviewed February 26, 2016
6.0
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Ok-”
Location
Ok-
Reviewed February 26, 2016
5.3
Jiko from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
The hotel is an old building, they didn't clean”
Not too far from MRT, lots of place to eat, comfort bed
Reviewed February 18, 2016
4.7
Van from Canada
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
very disappointed”
besides good location, nothing i could be happy about. hotel is much worse than it posted (looked) on website. no daily cleaning-room service unless requested.
Reviewed February 15, 2016
4.0
kevin from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
disappointed disappointed disappointed ”
Deeply disappointed by the condition of this hotel. Does not live up to the photos. Most of it appears vacant. I think they just reopened the old hotel under a new name sort of. Anyway. Terrible. Go elsewhere. Worst conditions in a hotel in 3 months on the road.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
7.3
Very good
Kyoungah from South Korea
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
soso”
swimming pool
swimming pool is very nice. but not clean, so many bug, leaves, sand in pool. room is good. not bad. kind employee! agoda map had a little trouble finding,,
Reviewed February 11, 2016
6.8
Good
Sonia from Switzerland
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Central location, good for a night stopover ”
The hotel is well located, near the main Sukhumvit boulevard. The pool water was not so clean but it was ok for us cause we just went sightseeing all day and only stayed for a night. The room was clean and had the minimum amenities, and we slept very well.
Reviewed February 10, 2016
6.4
Good
Rebecca from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Nothing like the photos - the place needs some money sunk into it!”
We arrived at night - the lights around the pool make it look very nice! But in the harsh light of day, you can see how dilapidated the property is. There were rugs covering rotting boards around the pool, and the rugs just dangled into the water. There were so many leaves in the pool that one lady requested a net and began cleaning it herself! Even the plants around the pool are dead! The shower in our room was clogged, so the whole bathroom flooded, especially because I had to run the water for 10 minutes before it got even warm. Pluses: very nice staff, willing to help in any way they can; about 3 minutes walk to the closest Skytrain station; excellent wifi connection throughout the property (the best we found in all of Asia!); cheap rooms. The potential is obvious, but the French owner needs to invest some money into cleaning it up. Some paint and lush plants would go a long way.
Reviewed February 06, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Wilbert from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
For the cost, relatively excellent location and facility”
Operations could be more efficient - towels were late , but only by an hour. The staff does their best to be very helpful.
Reviewed February 03, 2016
5.6
Craig from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Ok”
Friendly staff. No in room safe. No lights outside at night leading to the hidden entrance. Not easy to find and no signage on street. No cable or local tv. 2 channels Big room old furnishings. Room old but clean. Very friendly staff and good breakfast. For location and private room great price for location. I would return as a solo traveler for price and value for location again but have better expectations now.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Nikola from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Very Good Staff”
I stayed there just one night, because I had to go back home. All staff members was really friendly to me and tried to help me. I will remember this place for the next time when I come to Bangkok. ;)
Reviewed January 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
wangsoo from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Good location”
Good location, easy to finding, big room
I expected the standard room good condition. But when i arrived there it seem like just for only sleep room nothing to do in the room. So i will book the biggest room Thank you for lived there for three days in ocean@ocean living stones hotel ^^
Reviewed January 20, 2016
6.0
Ameen from India
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Worst Experience”
Nothing, except the hotel staff and location
Rooms are very small, the receptionist would look after everything in the hotel from the point of check-in to room cleaning to serving the breakfast in the room which means there is no room service in the hotel. However the staff was so polite and cooperative but no cleanliness in the hotel. Don't recommend it at all.
Reviewed January 17, 2016
6.7
Good
joel from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Ok could be better ”
Location
Stayed here few nights nice location for food massages the hotel seemed a bit cluttered with empty rooms being used as storage near the pool no laundry facilities like they stated in their facilities staff were polite pool was ok the furniture could do with a overhaul room was ok tv reception not good bed comfy shower ok not bad bit of a walk into the hotel from the street then dragging your case upstairs ok for a short stay but I wouldn't stay here more than 2 to 3 days
Reviewed January 16, 2016
6.7
Good
Tan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
keep improvement”
Customer services, staff,responed
So far so good
Reviewed January 15, 2016
2.0
Juraj from Slovakia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Its not 4 star hotel !!!”
It sais that is a 4star hotel but its a LIE. It has 0 stars. I booked this hotel becouse it looked very good on the pictures and was discounted. So I tought its a last minute deal. But everithing was a lie. The pictures and the star rating didnt meet the reality at all. I can understand the pictures can be made to make a hotel nicer then it is but to lie about the star rating is unacceptable. Please do something with this to prevent future travelers victims of this hotel lies. Thank you.
Reviewed January 12, 2016
2.3
Alex from Thailand
Family with young children
Executive Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Do NOT stay here.”
-
We stayed one night and left. The place is abandoned and no one should stay here. needs to remove this hotel immediately. The hotel has been abandoned. It was sold several months ago and has gone into complete disrepair. really let us down with this and may get others into trouble by representing this hotel.
Reviewed January 09, 2016
5.0
Nantita from Thailand
Couple
Executive Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
what you pay is what you get. dont expect too much”
location and price
my reservation was for 2 nights. although i stayed for 1 day due to their problems, but here is my review: 1. the location of the hotel is placed well in central bangkok near the bts station in sukhumvit, but it was very difficult to find! there are no proper sign showing where the hotel is. the sign board is very faded so hard to see. and also the sign board does not show the name of the hotel as ocean@ livingstones hotel, but it is written as ocean bangkok. which every customer who would walk by would get confused! 2. there should be proper staff in the hotel!, when arrived there was nobody at the reception. i had to wait approximately 10 minutes for somebody to come to the reception. 3. they could not provide us a room! they told us that the room we had booked they could not give to us.they said there was a problem with the door which they tried to fix, and could not fix it. made us wait for a long time. in the end they booked another hotel for us. but the quality of that hotel is worse, so we rejected their offer and we booked another hotel by ourselves which is closer than what they had offered, and it was better even though we paid around 500 baht more. but most probably they had over booked the hotel because they booked the other hotel for another customer as well and gave excuses to us saying that the door is broken. 4. the second day i arrived, they had a room available for me. they were nice to me, the room looked okay. not so clean, as there were dusts and pieces of hair on the bed and bathroom. the aircondition was not so cool especially in bangkok heat. not recommended for people with allergy, because i sneezed alot due to the dust. i cant complain too much because what i paid for is what i get. for a good location in bangkok the price is okay for the hotel. the staff tried to be very accomodating.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
4.7
Sarah from Denmark
Family with young children
Executive Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Good location, but the hotel lacks maintenance”
Location is the good thing about this hotel.
Our stay was OK, but the hotel lacks maintenance and is not clean. Dirty pool, dirty room. You get what you pay for. NOT a 4-star hotel.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
3.0
neil from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Xmas 2015”
Location
Below standard hotel in poor condition no electricity when I arrived also room not cleaned for 3 days. Breakfast below standard no way is this hotel 4* it is 1-2* at best. Location good for bts but that is all.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
3.0
Roy from Sri Lanka
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Spend your money somewhere else.”
"Terrible"... How the total experience can be described in one word. The hotel is nothing like the images, from the common spaces to the bedrooms. Not sure how they managed to ever obtain a 4* rating in this great city is a total mystery to me.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
4.3
John from United States
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Poorly managed”
Room size, room quality, location
Showed up for the first night of a 4 night stay and was told they had no room for me so they booked me into a cheaper mini-hotel nearby for the first night. Next day I checked in; the room looked nice but the key required dozens of tries to turn on the electricity. This was never fixed. The owners apparently have no money to take care of the property. Electricity was off some of the time due to local work on power lines, in other words, they don't have a generator. They apparently also don't have, or don't use, a water tank as on the morning when I was getting ready to leave there was no water and no electricity. I had to jump into the swimming pool for a bath. The pool wasn't clean either. The place has potential but without some capital investment you should stay away.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
4.0
Pimchanok from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Old”
So so
Reviewed December 30, 2015
5.3
Tore from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Good location, not cleab”
Good location, frendly staff, soft bed
I only stayed one night but my impression of the hotel was not good. Not like the pictures at all. Seems old and it was not well maintained and not clean. There were bugs in my bed, some light did not work, the shower water disappeared in the morning. I will probably not stay here again.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
5.0
Mohammad from Bangladesh
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Location is good”
Location
ok
Reviewed December 29, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Salman from Pakistan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Its good”
Cleanliness , location, staff
Fantastic
Reviewed December 24, 2015
5.3
Muhammad from Singapore
Family with teens
Executive Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Breakfast was bad. Swimming pool,jacuzziwas dirty.”
Staff is friendly.
You get what you pay.
Reviewed December 23, 2015
4.7
Dean from United States
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Hot location. No hot water. ”
The staff, the bed, and location.
You get what you pay for so don't expect much.
Reviewed December 10, 2015