Book Now: Opera House Hotel

Very good
From 5438 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (5438)Booking.com Reviews (1082)
7.2
Very good
From 5438 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.3
Facilities6.5
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality6.9
Service7.2
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
简体中文
日本語
more
Room type
Standard Single
Superior Double
Deluxe King
Family Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 4946 verified guest comments
4.8
Milo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Acceptable”
Only good thing is location.
Reviewed May 06, 2018
5.6
Ant from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Cool building and decor but that’s about all ”
Loved the building, loved the decor - but my room was dirty under the bed, the bathroom was so small I couldn’t sit on the toilet and it was so dark I couldn’t see what I was doing in my room. Needs a bit of investment and some TLC. Wouldn’t go back.
Reviewed May 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Bill from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Cosy”
Ok, the room was quite small but the location and price were excellent and the staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. Really, they were delightful and the foyer and whole story of the hotel is enchanting.
Reviewed May 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sami from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Simple, clean, great location. ”
Although the rooms were small (for a solo traveller, I couldn't care less), the room/hotel had all the required amenities. Room was clean. Hotel located in the heart of Chinatown, and within a few minute walk to the MRT. All kinds of food stalls nearby, and a 7/11 right next door. Staff was friendly. Would definitely recommend!
Reviewed May 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Paraschaya from Thailand
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good location with reasonable price”
All are around the hotel such as street food, MRT, Food center, Mall and Temple. But the bathroom is quite small.
Reviewed May 03, 2018
6.8
Good
David from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe King
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018
Budget Traveler”
I only got two rooms at $100 AUD per room through a deal in Agoda, I would not pay there normal rate , the only advantage is that deluxe and superior room has balcony don’t get the deluxe as bed to big and u can not move around in the room
Reviewed May 01, 2018
6.0
YUI from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018
Above average”
Small and a bit noisy
Reviewed May 01, 2018
6.4
Good
Khee from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Room extremely small”
Location though good but room noisy as it is right in the midst of a food street
Reviewed April 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Diệp from Vietnam
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
good location and friendly staff”
I like this hotel , Have good location and friendly staff.
Reviewed April 23, 2018
7.2
Very good
Himanshu from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 6 nights in March 2018
Very good”
Value for money
Reviewed April 21, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Thomas from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
gREAT”
great location, rooms a bit small and noisy during the day time.
Reviewed April 19, 2018
6.8
Good
John from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Tired looking place but good themes”
Need S good spruce up. Good potentials
Reviewed April 19, 2018
6.4
Good
Azuza from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Location is great. Just 5mins walk to MRT Chinatown”
Housekeeping entered when I am in the room. She should wait for a while before entering after pressing the door bell.
Reviewed April 17, 2018
5.2
Lim from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Nice to see but not nice to be staying in ”
The room is too small. And the staff let me wait for so long. She just doing her own task and let the customer waited.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
5.2
David from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Room is too old”
The toilet is too old. Toilet bowl is broken and rusty.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
4.0
Mona from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Bad urine smell each night”
Each night, the bathroom will be filled with very strong urine smell and I believe the smell came from the ventilation. I complained it to reception and they said they will look into it but there was no difference. They didn't offer any further explanation or change our room. This incident marred our experience and the only advantage this hotel offers was the location.
Reviewed April 15, 2018
5.6
Amit from India
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Only go for one thing : Location Location and Location”
The hotel is very well located , very close to MRT and lots of food joints. The reception looks amazing and impressive when you enter. The staff at the reception would not let you check in before 3 even if they have the room. They would want you to pay extra SGD 50 for an early check in. The room I got was window room facing the street down that has music blaring till 11 in the night. When the shutters go down at 11 the floor under the room vibrates. The housekeeping is not good at all. The floor is wooden and you have ants walking on it. The bathroom was clean. They do provide you with water and towels, I wasn’t provided towel for the second day. The size of the room is very very very small so do not expect anything much here. There is no way to contact reception from the room and you need to go down if you wanna ask for anything. I had a delivery made and they politely accepted the courier and gave it to me. Good location and that’s about it.
Reviewed April 15, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Edgar from Philippines
Group
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Great location”
Very affordable and convenient location. Chinatown food scene literally at your doorsteps. Con: liquor served until 11pm only.
Reviewed April 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
loke from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
LOCATION ”
Right in the heart of Chinatown. Room is small but clean. Good WIFI connection. 5 mins walk to Chinatown MRT station
Reviewed April 14, 2018
7.6
Very good
Andrew from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Convenient hotel”
Chose this hotel as it is near to the marinas / on Sentosa and Keppel - room was tiny but it served a purpose. Bathroom contortionist skills required to use the WC ( only a couple of inches between the seat and the wall ) outside the hotel plenty of the expected food stall and shops if you need.
Reviewed April 14, 2018
6.8
Good
Tammy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Too noisy!”
The room was basic and small but this wasn't a problem. The noise from the street was. Very loud dance music from dawn to dusk followed by street cleaners. Hard to get any sleep and was sending me a little crazy by the end.
Reviewed April 13, 2018
7.6
Very good
Nga from Vietnam
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Very good”
I been here with my mom and my cousin, for thier frist experience travel in Singapore. The location is in heart of China town food centre, very convenient for foodie like us, also nearby the MRT. The staff very nice, very helpful but the things Im not really happy that they asked for the 50$ deposit, they will return back when check out but I never have to deposit when I already paid off for accommodation before I checkin. Anyway, that still fine. We’re 3 peoples so we booked the deluxe queen room, and the room quite smell and not really clean. But we just stay only 1 night so that not really affect our satisfaction.
Reviewed April 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ichtus
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Family traveling”
Good place, strategic location with good cullinary, the staff welcome and very helpful for us. We want to stay here again in our next trip.
Reviewed April 12, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Son from Vietnam
Family with young children
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Very good”
Excellent location, near Chinatown MRT Station (DT19), market. Except for noise at night as we stayed during Chinese New year Festival (there is night street market, food street that open until 11:30 pm, and their advertising music are so loud)
Reviewed April 10, 2018
2.0
Maddie from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
DISGUSTING HOTEL.”
I opted to spend a bit more and stay in this hotel to avoid staying in a hostel. However my stay here was FAR WORSE than my experience in any hostel I have ever stayed at. My room looked like a prison cell complete with dirty sheets and hair all over the bed and floor. The towel provided was ripped up and may as well of been a dish rag. The shower head was conveniently placed above the toilet, which by the way you could not sit on because its front touched the wall (see attached photo). Anyone who is thinking of staying in this hotel... DO NOT! Other than the location I do not have a single good thing to say about it.
Reviewed April 10, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Maneerat from Thailand
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Excellent location”
The location of the hotel is excellent, just few minutes away by walking from China Town station. Many lines of metro are there and you can connect to other places very easily. Food is nice with reasonable price. It was a bit noisy in my room but it was quiet after 11 PM. I stayed on 3rd floor so I recommend you to ask for high floor room.
Reviewed April 09, 2018
7.2
Very good
Samy from Germany
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
very small rooms”
Location very good, friendly staff but rooms are extremly small.
Reviewed April 07, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
katherine from United Kingdom
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
heart of chinatown, tiny bathroom”
i liked the lobby and the seating space on the different levels, main problem was the bathrooms... were a terrible design, you couldn't even sit properly on the toilet!! and im only 5ft 3 inch (162cm)
Reviewed April 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
thean from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
nice hotel , great location”
avoid the rooms facing the food street, lots of noise till past midnight. . otherwise, great location in chinatown, near MRT, lots of food N shops downstairs.
Reviewed April 04, 2018
6.8
Good
WINSTON from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Good”
front desks were very helpful and friendly. male housekeeping very helpful. unfortunately, he wasn't the one cleaning my room. the older cleaning lady comes and cleans late in the day after I came back from my trips. knocks and opens door at the same time. there were long hairs on the bathroom floor that stayed there all thru my stay. other than that, place is very nice and accessible.
Reviewed April 02, 2018
5.6
Ng from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Paper thin wall without any soundproof!!!”
The walls are paper thin and you literary know what your neighbors are doing, such as taking shower, watching TV, talking (can hear their conversation very clearly). The nonstop pop music from the shops at ground floor is also very annoying. I will never consider this hotel in the future.
Reviewed April 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kai from Singapore
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Good”
Good for family to stay
Reviewed March 31, 2018
6.4
Good
kenny from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
internal too dark”
matress not clean
Reviewed March 28, 2018
7.6
Very good
lynette from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Very good”
the best thing about the hotel is the location. it's very near the mrt. there's also lots of food just outside. in that location, there are mostly dorm type hotels where you have to share the bathroom so finding one that's private is really great. the not so good thing about it is they don't clean the room everyday unless you tell them or maybe they just forgot. and they don't have windows so you can't tell if it's daytime already unless you check your watch.
Reviewed March 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
catharina from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe King
Stayed 7 nights in June 2017
great location, great value”
great location, you just need to going down to reach food court and 7eleven, and also chinatown market. take a walk in a minutes to reach MRT station.
Reviewed March 25, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Paveeporn from Thailand
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Excellent”
Good location, Center of Chinatown Close by Subway Easy to find good restaurant nearby. No elevator Restroom is pretty small.
Reviewed March 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jillian from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Best location”
Safe, reliable, and very convenient place to stay at Singapore because it is next to a Hawker, and Chinatown is filled with the best food in Singapore. We've stayed here before but with a different management (I guess). We arrived early on the first day, and we were so tired we had to sleep in the lobby before they allowed us to do an early check in with extra 45SGD. Sad because I knew their rooms were not fully booked, and i had to ask twice. The first concierge was cold, the 2nd one was more accommodating. (maybe because she felt sorry we looked so tired after a rey eye flight). Overall though, would still stay here again and again and again because of the convenience of the hotel.
Reviewed March 23, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Meili from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Oriental chinese hotel at Chinatown ”
Opera House Singapore located at Chinatown. Very close to MRT station. Near to cheap souvenir shops in town. And close to many delicious food. Recomended and will come back for sure.
Reviewed March 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
jaturon from Thailand
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Good location , a lot of food around”
One of disadvantage is deposit , no one told me that i have to pay 50 sgd for deposit . But good luck i prepared the money enough
Reviewed March 19, 2018
6.0
Wasin from Thailand
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Nice location, cheap, nice looking room, but with some cleanness problems.”
## Eng We stayed in two rooms, me (1 room) and my parents (1 room). The hotel is located in the center of Chinatown. It is actually in the Chinatown Food street, so it maybe too noisy for some people. The hotel is ex-Chinese Opera house. It maintains the atmosphere of the Chinese Opera house, nice looking room. Staff is nice. But there are some negative experience that we have found 1. I found a live big cockroach in my room's toilet 2. The hotel's cleaner discarded my parents person toiletry on the 2nd day. The hotel reception said he will contact his supervisor, but nothing happened. ## ไทย ไปกันสามคน ผม , พ่อและแม่ พัก 2 ห้อง โรงแรมทำเลดีมาก ออยู่ตรง Chinatown Food Street เลยข้างหน้ามีของกิน ข้างๆ มี 7-11 แต่กลางคืนเสียงดังนิดหน่อย ตัวโรงแรมเคยเป็นโรงงิ้วเก่า ห้องสวยดี พนักงานก็นิสัยดี แต่มีเรื่องที่ต้องให้ติดลบอยู่ 2-3 เรื่อง 1. ผมเจอแมลงสาปในห้องน้ำห้องผม 2. พนักงานทำความสะอาดเก็บเครื่องอาบน้ำส่วนตัวของห้องพ่อแม่ผมทิ้งในวันที่สอง พนักงานบอกจะโทรหาผู้จัดการให้ แต่ก็ไม่ช่วย
Reviewed March 18, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Aline from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Good choice”
Pros: excellent location, staff. Con: everything is red, carpet, ceiling and walls (reception and corridor) my room was black and white.
Reviewed March 17, 2018
6.8
Good
Owen from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
Good”
Good location. Close to Chinatown MRT. Many food options. Room could have been a little cleaner. Had to ask for a "do not disturb" sign and more toilet paper. Otherwise fine.
Reviewed March 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Exceptional”
Rooms are a little on small side, but still very comfortable.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
6.0
Evan from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Great Location”
Stayed here for 5 days & 4 nights. Overall stay is good in terms of location. Need to improve facilities as they are quite outdated.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
6.4
Good
Evan from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Great Location”
Location is very ideal, just 5 mins away from Chinatown Station. Very near to pasalubong shops and food market. However, rooms are small and bathroom facilities are quite outdated. Need to have some facilities improvement. But, staff are approachable and helpful.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
2.4
Siti from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Not happy”
Operator did not pick up dispite calling multiple times. Did not like the smell of the carpets at ground and 1st floor. Lights were too dim. It felt more ‘scary’ than comfy. Not worth it . Room was ok but a little small.
Reviewed March 13, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Roland from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
great!”
nice location, near the Chinatown mrt. the entrance is on Smith Street.
Reviewed March 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Daisy from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018
Excellent”
Best Best place to stay in SIN. The Location is Great, near in MRT station. The Back door is already chinatown street Food. The cleanliness is 3/5 but still ok for place to sleep after long day in SIN.
Reviewed March 11, 2018
7.2
Very good
Katrina from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 5 nights in April 2017
Dark and a little old”
The hotel sits in Chinatown which is a plus for some. Very near a train station but not very accessible to Uber rides. A bit of walking if you’re taking an Uber. The hotel is a bit run down with very slow escalators, which was shut down several times in my stay. Chipping paint and very dark bordello style rooms. Okay if you’re busy the whole day and just looking for a place to just put your head down. Okay for budget travelers.
Reviewed March 08, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Seokho from Japan
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Receptionist Kassandra is awesome,really helpful ”
Receptionist Kassandra is awesome,kind and really helpful
Reviewed March 06, 2018