Book Now: Oriental Riverside Bund View Hotel

Very good8.0
Based on 772 reviews
93% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (772)
Booking.com Reviews (542)

8

Filter by guest type:
Very good
based on 772 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.9
Very good
based on 339 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.6
Very good
based on 193 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.8
Excellent
based on 123 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.4
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.4
Excellent
based on 43 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.5
Very good
based on 46 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 8.1
Very good
based on 28 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • 简体中文
  • 한국어
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • Deutsch
  • Русский
  • ภาษาไทย
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Español
  • Italiano
  • Français
  • Język polski
  • Dansk
  • Tiếng Việt
  • Suomi
  • Nederlands
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • Svenska
  • עברית
  • Slovenski jezik
  • Čeština
more less

Room type
  • Superior Garden View
  • Superior River And Bund View
  • Deluxe River View
  • Executive Deluxe River View Suite

Sort by
Showing 739 verified guest comments
  • clear all

9.2
eunju from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
goood choice!”
i enjoyed stayed here! good location and staff very nice!
Reviewed September 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Nianli from United States
Family with young children
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Perfect location for short stay in Shanghai ”
Perfect location at affordable price. Especially if you don't have lot of time to spend. On the east bund of huangpu river, in the center part of mordern shanghai. Easy access to couple of landmarker attractions and commercial services. Con: hotel breakfast service is overpriced, no traditional shanghai style small breakfast providers around.
Reviewed July 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
Jung from South Korea
Family with young children
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
very good location!”
good location with river view. able to walk Oriental Pearl Tower, IFC, subway station and big shopping mall. indoor swimming pool on top floor. very satisfied. recommandable.
Reviewed May 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
Ming from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Nice View”
Room with nice view, need maintenance though
Reviewed April 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Stephen from Australia
Couple
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Short Stay in Pudong”
I've stayed at this hotel many times and it is well placed for The Bund (via the Sightseeing Tunnel) and the Pudong area (Pearl, Jinmao, SWF & Shanghai Towers). The staff are excellent and rooms clean & well serviced, although the fixtures & fittings are now suffering from ageing. One slight glitch, the booking was for a "Superior River and Bund View", Room 382 isn't! No view of the bund and virtually no view of the river, the odd large boat transiting the river "gives the game away". Local amenities are great, try the Blue Frog Bar & Grill, it's still there but now located opposite the Super Brand Mall.
Reviewed April 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
diane from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
great location ”
Have stayed here many times for business, this time just a quick stop on route to Japan. Great location and right out next door is the tourist tunnel for a couple of dollars to takes you to the heart of Shanghai. Ask for river view room if you can, you won't regret it!
Reviewed March 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
Nguyen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Great location near river, large comfortable room”
Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Great location in Pudong near major attractions and mall.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
TSAN from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
very good”
very good
Reviewed February 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Saxon from Australia
Group
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Shanghai 2015/2016”
Great Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff
Oriental Riverside Bund View Hotel was in a great location with modern clean rooms and friendly staff that spoke a small amount of English (enough to get you by)
Reviewed January 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Johnny from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Very decent Chinese hotel”
The view, the cleanliness, a very comfy mattress
Slightly more awkward location than I expected, but not bad. I was there for one night only, after a 14 hours flight so probably could have slept on marble, but i remember the bed as being really good. I paid extra for the view and it was classic! It was a fairly anonymous hotel, everything I used, which was not much, worked. There is probably slightly better value and for a longer stay I think the convention thing would have been unwelcome if you were not part of it. I did not like Shanghai, but no reason to dislike the hotel.
Reviewed January 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Pornsak from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
u should issued the tax invoice immediately”
lication
very good
Reviewed January 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Mark from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great location and view”
Location and view
My family and I like that it's a 3-5 minute walk to the Disney store, Oriental Pearl Tower and Super Brand Mall. Lots of restaurants close by. Staff weren't welcoming or friendly at all. Sat down on the lobby lounge for a bit while carrying my baby and I just got cold stares from the waiters and waitresses.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Kwok from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Very good location and nice view”
Good location, good service and nice view
only stay 1 night and the river view is good. walk to subway only 10 mins.
Reviewed January 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.7
Wanchai from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Very Good Location ”
Good Room, Good Location, Good Rate
The hotel located in central near to Shanghai Tower and a lot of shopping malls. The room is perfect.
Reviewed December 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Soon from Malaysia
Couple
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Convenience & Excellent”
Services, Location & View
Reviewed December 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Shu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Good location, friendly staff”
Location, nice gym, bed is comfortable
It has great location with several spots near by. The gym has good view with nice equipments.
Reviewed December 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Stars from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Nothing to shout about”
N.A
Reviewed December 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
He from China
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Service not 5 Star”
Location, Cleanliness
Hotel is at a convenient location for meetings. Facilities and rooms are okay but service is disappointing. We ordered the same in-room breakfast for 2 consecutive days but the food portion was very different. On the second day we were served without plates, forks & spoons. When we requested for it, staff arrived just with 2 forks for us. Cleaners were very eager to clean our rooms everyday at 9am in the morning. On the second day I left the 'do not disturb' light on but Cleaner still came to ring the bell. We expect much better service from a five star hotel.
Reviewed December 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Pornsak from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
near the river and pearl tower .calm pkace”
location
good
Reviewed December 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
DR from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Nice and Comfortable”
comfortable, clean and nice....
Reviewed November 13, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Dongwon from South Korea
Family with young children
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Cheon”
Very good place for river view, good location near the river, department store.
Reviewed November 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Ben from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
Nazi style service”
Gym, Gym, Gym
Front counter staff were so unhelpful. There was a young guy who saved someones life. He was able to sort out our check in, took 3 hrs for them to find us a non smoking room (as per booking) and in the configuration that we requested. The breakfast staff were terrible. Ripped off for the breakfast Buffet. Watched like a prisoner by prison guards to ensure that we only ate what we paid for and were questioned on multiple occasions what we were doing eating what we were. Harassed to say the least. The gym was second to non. Excellently run and had excellent equipment and was exceptionally clean. Will not be going back nor will i recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Shanghai.
Reviewed September 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Ah from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Comfortable stay next to shanghai landmarks”
Comfortable and clean room with a good river view of shanghai. Tourist attractions and city landmark within walking distance. Green surrounding with nice park and ample parking.
Very comfortable. We arrived late and were upgraded to small suite. We were so excited and have sound sleep.after a long and late journey. We will certainly stay here if we visit shanghai again.
Reviewed September 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Holly from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Good location. Good service.”
Friendly staff. Easy check in/out. Clean and stocked rooms.
Reviewed August 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Chine will never change”
Location cleane good value
Staff have a long way to learn Not every customer is a thieve
Reviewed August 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Tailin from United States
Family with teens
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
The amenities are bit old. The service is poor”
Location
The service is poor, not very accomandating
Reviewed August 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Robin from China
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
good location hotel with nice services”
location, services, food
very nearby to the WaiTan Channel, and easily accessable to subway system. hard to get taxi
Reviewed August 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Christina from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Very polite staff, clean and spacious room”
Price, room space, free wifi
Reviewed August 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.0
Lindawati from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Not a 5-star hotel quality”
location
Our stay in Oriental Riverside Bund View hotel was very bad. The hotel is really like a run-down hotel that do not deserve a 5-star hotel rating. From the first time we stepped into the hotel front entrance, we already got a bad experience. The staff didnt greet us and didnt offer us any help to bring our luggage. He even asked us to bring the luggage our self. Then it got worse when the staff gave us with lower level floor rooms that do not have any river view. We booked more expensive rooms to get the river view, but it turned out that the staff gave us rooms with a building view (this building blocked the entire river view). After we argued for a long time, he finally gave us rooms in level 5 with a river view, but, it didnt stop there. He told us that he only has 1 room, for the other two rooms, we need to wait for one hour. Then, he told us to just bring all the luggage to the first room and didnt offer any help with the luggage. The bad experience was still continued in level 5. After we got out from the lift, there were some renovation works. We almost tripped because they didnt put the rug properly. Honestly, the only good thing about the hotel is the location. But with the price that we paid, we can get much better rooms in another hotel in the same area.
Reviewed July 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Kuan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Reasonable price for decent accommodation”
Location that near to tourist attraction and shopping mall, clean room and comfort bed
Choose this hotel for its location and reasonable price and indeed the location is very good. Conviniently access to attractions, restaurant and shops. Room is clean and comfortable. The hotel is big so you may need to walk along a long corridor if your room is at the end of the hotel.
Reviewed July 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
JIYEON from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
fair price”
night view. near the riverside.
stay was comfortable. hard to use wifi. wifi connection in the room is not good. U need to use wifi in the lobby. night view was great
Reviewed July 09, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Carol from Taiwan
Business traveler
Executive Deluxe River View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
good place for business in SH pudong”
location, environment, spacious
reasonably comfortable
Reviewed May 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Carol from Taiwan
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good hotel but a bit old”
location, environment, spacious
reasonably comfortable
Reviewed May 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Noel from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
cvn”
vnb
vnb
Reviewed April 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Sucharat from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
good location”
location standard safe
i will be back :)
Reviewed April 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Seng from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
great location across from bund, strange layout”
Convenience, location, and great price
The hotel was across the river from the Bund so you are looking away from the Skyline. The room was huge; however, the layout was long and odd since the hotel is part of a convention center and in the circular part of it. less than a 5 minute walk to the metro. the tour buses stop right across from the hotel so you can hop on and off there pretty easy.
Reviewed April 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Sucharat from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
good location and nice to stay”
location view safety
Reviewed April 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Kok from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Improvement In Service Performance Needed”
location, good view, reasonable room rates
Overall fair. Staff services and attitudes were poor.
Reviewed April 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
HO from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
very Close to city,”
very Close to city, food attraction point, close to station
very Close to city,next to convention center, good for event. food attraction point and tourist point, close to station, walk only 5mins to station and plaza.
Reviewed April 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
TRACY from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good location with nice view”
Good location, nice view, good service
The location is very good. Very close to the Oriental Pearl Tower. Room is big and clean. Attentive staffs. Have free wifi. But the carpark is not so convenient. We parked our car in the basement and then need to walk a long way to the lobby.
Reviewed April 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Frank from Canada
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Amazing place ”
The staff were super friendly and the place was kept very clean, did not try the food, but someone made a comment about breakfast being really good..
I would go back for sure
Reviewed April 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Mark from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015
Not a bad place ”
good location, nice bund view and spacious
Reviewed April 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Yee from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Great hotel for event in Shanghai Exhibition cente”
location, service, food
Very enjoyable with good service, excellent location as it is beside my exhibition centre, Metro station was a short walk, shopping centres all within 10 mins walk.
Reviewed April 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Terence from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
comfortable stay. highly recommended ”
location location location
Reviewed April 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Rowan from New Zealand
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
4 nights in Shanghai”
location, presentation, service
The only criticisms I would have is the price of food and beverages in the bar/restaurant. I opted to eat and drink elsewhere. Also despite the allocation of 1 free small bottle of water per person per day in the room, I think the price to buy more water is over the top. Unless the hotel can guarantee drinking water quality and make that statement to guests on arrival, then additional bottled water should be free or absolute minimal charge. The bottled water at the airport shop is only 3 yuan per 500mls, whereas in room it was 35 yuan for about 350mls.
Reviewed March 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Paola from Mexico
Couple
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Great staying ”
Location, friendly staff, nice view
Amazing, the staff was really friendly and the surroundings are just great
Reviewed March 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Tarik from France
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
as expected”
Good facilities for gym and heated pool, excellent well-furnoshed and large room
Arrived on saturday March 14 5pm left on monday 16 2pm. As expected, very confortable, well-furnished room. I took a river-side view room but unfortunately, I had only the 3rd floor, which is not enough for enjoying the view.... Excellent facilities in the hotel, especillay the gym + heated pool on the 9 th floor. I had the buffet dinner in the hotel on the first day but the restaurant was then closed on sunday evening, therefore, I had to go outside. There is a mall with many restaurants within 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel is very-well located, near the line2 metro station.
Reviewed March 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Steve from United States
Business traveler
Superior River And Bund View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015
Oriental Riverside Stay”
location, staff, room
My stay was nice. the location, staff and room were great. The breakfast / lunch buffet is pretty lackluster. There are plenty of staff around and they are in no hurry to refill / replenish the items. It's an ok value if you want to throw down some food before starting your day. Otherwise, it's a short walk to starbucks or other restaurants in the area.
Reviewed March 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Juyeon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Great hotel”
Reasonable price but great condition. Good Location and Perfectly clean staff was kind
I'd definitely stay here again Would recommend anyone
Reviewed March 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Roland from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
great hotel at fantastic location”
design, location, view
Great interior design, great views across the river and a fantastic breakfast buffet. Only staff could be a bit more friendky but a tendency to rudeness may just be a general Shanghai i/ China ssue.
Reviewed February 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: