Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 446 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food and dining 7.9
Sort by

Alvin from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed one night in December 2013
Solid hotel with old world charm
Location, character & comfortable
My partner & I stayed here for one night. The best thing about the Windsor is it's grand, old-world charm which gives it a lot of soul & character. The location is also good being in the quieter part of the city & close to parks and not too far from the center. We ordered in-room dining and the food was ok. The menu was not extensive though. The negatives were: - the noise coming from the hall. The room door did not block out enough noise. - Paying $15 for 24hr internet (2mbps). Wifi should be free in this day and age - 11am check out - one of the earliest check outs I've ever experienced. When asked if we could get an extension to at least 12pm, we were denied.
Reviewed January 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Stewart from Australia
Families with older children
Superior King or Twin Room
Stayed one night in December 2013
Great location, large rooms but needs renovation
Large rooms, location, history
We had a great stay and were seeing the cricket at MCG. Hotel is in good location, service excellent, but rooms could do with some updating particularly the plumbing as showers were terrible, hot and cold very difficult to adjust and terribly low water pressure. Except for that we had a great stay.
Reviewed January 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Justin from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed one night in October 2013
old world charm
location, decor, service
Fantastic location to explore the sights of Melbourne. Room was very small but the decor was beautiful. Staff were very attentive.
Reviewed January 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Susan from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed one night in December 2013
Good location, comfortable room
Location, atmosphere and service
We enjoyed our stay at the Windsor but felt for the price paid the room was quite small.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Andrea from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed one night in December 2013
The hotel Windsor is beautiful
It is in a wonderful location and the staff and service is superb. I would definitely go back there to stay.
We had a lovely stay at the Windsor. The staff were wonderful. We were asked on arrival why we were staying and I told them we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. On returning to our room after shopping we found a beautiful bottle of French champagne and a card left in our room. . It was so unexpected and se very special. A lovely reminder of a special occasion for us.
Reviewed December 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

ian from Australia
Couples
Superior King or Twin Room
Stayed one night in December 2013
Out of thid world
Grandeur History style
Thoroughly enjoyable a pleasure to enjoy such early Australian Grandeur in Melbourne
Reviewed December 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Philippa from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Traditional Queen
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Good hotel but unattentive staff
Location, transport and price
Unfortunately no reception staff were available on arrival at 10pm. This was disappointing and not what you expect from a 5* hotel. Apart from that, a good price for the hotel.
Reviewed December 21, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

NATALIE from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Convenient & comfortable
Location, Cricket Club downstairs, transport
Really nice and easy to get around Melbourne. Great restaurants nearby, Cricket Club downstair for sport and beer, very very nice holiday.
Reviewed December 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Yu from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Very fair and disappointed
Cannot think of
Reviewed December 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Marion from Australia
Couples
Traditional Queen
Stayed one night in December 2013
Quiet
Beautiful building, good quality food and its central location
It was peaceful but I was disappointed that my room was not up to the standarded I expected. It was very shabby and felt dirty. Also the chandaliers in the front lobby were dusty which is a shame since they are so beautiful.
Reviewed December 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: