Very good 7.4
Based on 384 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 384 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

Lariane from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Twin
Stayed one night in March 2014
COMFORTABLE AND CONVENIENT
LOCATION, ROOM SIZE, COST
THE STAY WAS EXCELLENT - HOWEVER THE EXPERIENCE LATER SPOILED BY THE DISCOVERY OF AN INAPPROPRIATE CHARGE ON MY CREDIT CARD. AFTER FOLLOWING THIS UP I WAS TOLD IT WAS FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE THAT WAS MISSING. I EXPLAINED THAT IT WAS CERTAINLY NOT OUR DOING. IT WAS AGREED THAT A REFUND WOULD OCCUR - HOWEVER 3 DAYS LATER I AM STILL CHASING THIS UP. I AM ANGERED BY THE FACT THAT MY HONESTY WAS NOT RESPECTED - A PHONE CALL COULD HAVE BEEN MADE TO CHECK AGAIN IF I HAD INCURRED THE EXPENSE. I AM NOT SURE THIS PRACTICE OF CHARGING THE CARD IS ACCEPTABLE AND I WARN FUTURE GUESTS OF RYDGES TO CHECK THEIR CREDIT CARD STATEMENTS OR AVOID STAYING THERE...PITY.
Reviewed March 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

kerry from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
hotel was very dissapointing will not stay there a
none
not happy with the hotel would have prefered to pay extra in another hotel. I t is old
Reviewed March 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen Twin Bed
Stayed one night in February 2014
very, very, disappointing
the staff tried their best
The worst hotel in our three weeks stay in Australia. From the moment we approached the hotel and saw the filth around the entrance we had that sinking feeling which was not helped by the antiquated lift system. Again dirt all around the lift access and the single lift was so slow you could have read War & Peace whilst waiting. Our room was described as being refurbished so we dreaded to imagine what the other rooms were like. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the food was OK. Not an experience to repeat.
Reviewed March 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Park View King Suite
Stayed one night in February 2014
Poor, poor and poor again
There were none
Very disappointing from the moment we arrived. The front steps were disgusting with cigarette butts everywhere and much detritus around. The one lift is archaic and again filthy. We had a refurbished room which was far from desirable. We were on the third floor with the gym above us!! Unbelievable as we had to endure the thumping of the treadmill for hours. The only plus was the restaurant staff who tried their best under poor conditions. We will never stay at a Rydges again.
Reviewed February 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Shelley from Australia
Business traveler
Executive Queen
Stayed one night in February 2014
sub-standard
nothing much
fire alarm went off at 5am in the morning, all visitors had to come outside the building until cleared by fireman. i almost slept through it as there was no voice-over that says 'evacuate now' with fire alarm. didn't realise what it was until later. manager ' was very unhelpful. we wanted to double check if a shuttle bus to airport was booked properly as we explained there were problems booking in the morning but the manager told us to just wait and didn't want to help us until we had to really ask and force for it. the pillow was very high and uncomfortable, builiding was very old. it felt like motel rather than hotel. the conference was held at this hotel, and food was suboptimal as well. i strongly do not recommend this hotel for any business/conferences.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Jia from Australia
Couple
Queen Spa Suite
Stayed one night in February 2014
worse hotel experience
checking out of there
Staying at this Rydges made me thank again about staying at Rydges in general. I was there for a surprise proposal. I booked an extra room in order to surprise my fiance, and I told the reception to contact her room in order to bring her down - their response: "Sir, you know that the other room is not refundable." Not only was it insulting to me that I was even suggesting for a refund, but they made absolutely no effort to acknowledge this occasion for me. And it doesn't end there... On the first night, they have false fire alarm at 5:19 AM, with no instructions on how to evacuate. There was no evacuation meeting point, or even a head count. They were clearly not concerned about the patron's safety at all. The next morning, there was no apology - in fact, the staff in the morning did not even know about what happened the previous night until about 10am. Other things I should mention are: the pool was closed without notifying us; they were not concerned about our Skybus back to the airport running slightly late and casually said "if we have booked it, it will come". Yes, duty manager, key word is 'IF'. Checking out of there was the best thing of the trip. Melbourne is a great city, I haven't been there in 10 years and it's a shame such a large name hotel had to ruin the experience.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

winnie from China
Couple
Executive Queen
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
NEED IMPROVE
RECEPTION OK AND THE ROOM IS BIG
Some of room cleaning staffs are unprofessional for example, they forgot to dispose the rubbish after cleaning the room. 2 - The design and construction of bathroom is bad as shower area is NO DOOR. So after the bathing, the floor of the bathroom is all wet. We will not come again.
Reviewed February 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Adele from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Good value- great facilities
Pool spa and gym
Yes enjoyed the roof top pool and spa and deck area. The bathrooms were a bit outdated but were clean.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

YING from Australia
Group
Deluxe Queen Twin
Stayed one night in December 2013
Pleasure stay
large beds, free wifi, close to public transport
Reviewed December 23, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Jennifer from Australia
Group
Superior Queen Twin Bed
Stayed one night in December 2013
Easy Melbourne stay
location, room, pillows
fine. we are from Melbourne and just wanted an easy stay in the city as we were attending a concert and didn't want to drive all the way home. Great room and walking distance from Lygon street was a bonus
Reviewed December 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: