Hotel Reviews of Pandan Laut Beach Resort Merang Malaysia - Page 1
Book Now: Pandan Laut Beach Resort

Very good
From 243 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (243)Booking.com Reviews (215)
7.5
Very good
From 243 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.2
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.5
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Malaysia
Nederlands
Français
more
Room type
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Senduduk - Superior Room
Senduduk - Superior Room (Triple)
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 185 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Riza from Malaysia
Family with young children
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
good place for family with kids”
If you want to relax and have a peace of mind, this is a good place to check in.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jacqueline from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Natural getaway”
Small cozy resort. Clean and quiet. All working amenities for city folk. Long stretch of beach. Small swimming pool. Not for parties but good to catch up on reading and appreciate sea, sky and kampung life.
Reviewed March 06, 2017
4.8
David from Canada
Solo traveler
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Falling apart”
I got the room closest to the road, which meant the noisiest. In that room the key slot was hanging off the wall by its wires. When I pressed the button for the soap dispenser, the casing fell off. So...that's what you're getting.
Reviewed February 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
ANG from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Nice resort beside the beach”
Far from town, room and facilities are good
Reviewed December 15, 2016
6.8
Good
AHMAD from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice place to stay. Cats were friendly.”
Never go during monsoon. U cant swim at the beach. But the places were great!
Reviewed November 14, 2016
7.2
Very good
Mohammad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Quick Stop ”
This place served me for my need of a quick overnight stop.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
3.2
Foozi from Malaysia
Couple
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Location is good but the place is well kept and not well maintained. Toilet looks old and dirty.”
The workers did not service well. They did not service full heartwdky. What a waste ...a nice natural place but overestimated and exploited customers priviledges.
Reviewed November 09, 2016
7.2
Very good
Sho from Malaysia
Group
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
okay”
friendly staff and nearby beach but quite far to city & less place around to hunt more food..
Reviewed November 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Fong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Best for Vacation”
I was going up North to K.B as already late in the Evening in K.T, i found this, so i pack my own breakfast and it is out of town When i reach already 10pm and the Person In Charges drive out to give me key The place really so comfortable and cosy with nice smelling in the room, it is quite and got a very nice clean beach The Place full of tree and a very nice place to have a vacation here
Reviewed October 04, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Norfariza from Malaysia
Couple
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Beautiful ”
love the view and the place
Reviewed September 28, 2016
6.0
Ruzzakiah from Malaysia
Couple
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Nice”
Just nice stay here...
Reviewed September 28, 2016
6.8
Good
WAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
SATISFY....”
Very good place to have rest
Reviewed September 17, 2016
4.4
Frank from France
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Isolated far from services no restaurant there or elsewhere! Unhelpful staff!”
No breakfast served there with no other alternatives in the area. Staff told me I could get breakfast over the road when in fact that greasy spoon coffee shop had closed years before. Staff gave me the keys at night and said go straight ahead when there were 8 separate buildings, no lighting to show the way the path was not flat so tripped up, not possible to roll a heavy bag in gravel. Having booked and paid for a large bedroom with 2 Queen size beds I received a small single bedroom. Not only were there no shops in the vicinity but the closest was 3 kilometres on a busy main road with no footpaths on either side. The beach was over the road part of a 50 kilometre stretch of coast with as much character as a McDonalds.
Reviewed September 11, 2016
7.6
Very good
see from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
value for money”
Quiet beach front stay
Reviewed September 07, 2016
5.6
Intan from Malaysia
Group
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Very Basic ”
Stay at the backpackers room. Mattress really awful. The owner/manager not very friendly.
Reviewed September 06, 2016
7.2
Very good
Amirthavel from Malaysia
Group
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Nice staff and near beach”
Nice staff and near beach
Reviewed August 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Nani from Malaysia
Family with young children
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
More than expected”
Value for money with priceless sea view. The beach is beautiful, the water is clear and shallow - safe for children. It is also private. It was a wonderful experience and definitely will come back.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Radin from Malaysia
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room (Triple)
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Value for money, Better than Expected!”
This is the best value for money resort i have had the pleasure to stay in; and i have been to many island and beach resorts, including pulau perhentian, pulau tioman, gem island, pulau lang tengah, tanjong jara, and gold coast sepang. None come close the value for money that Pandan Beach resort offer. The beach view is breathtakingly beautiful, but what surprised me was that there no people at all on the beach. Privacy at the beach is great. You could spend at RM700 per night(including boat ride fee) to not-so-clean island resorts room OR you could spend RM150 per night for a very clean and well maintained family room here at Pandan Beach Resort. For the cheap price, I expected a run down resort. Man i was so wrong. Trust me, you wont regret staying here
Reviewed August 15, 2016
6.0
Lay from Malaysia
Group
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Nice chalet, but lots mosquito ”
Near the beach, garden view is good, overall is not bad, but the mosquitos are really fierce.
Reviewed August 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Alya from Malaysia
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room (Triple)
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Pleasant stay! ”
Nice view, nice room, nice people.. surely will come back!
Reviewed August 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Liza from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Small Town Great Resort”
On our way to lang tengah island and spent 2 nights here. Beautiful beach was steps away. Had no complaints with clean rooms, cold AC, clean working bathroom with cold/hot shower but a lot of mosquitoes outside the room. They provide bug sprays and mosquito coils. A family owned resort very friendly staff and helpful with local info. Has an outdoor cooking/BBQ facility.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
SYAFIMAZLY from Malaysia
Group
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
VERY GOOD !!”
GUD LOCATION TO JETTY, PANTAI RHU BEACH, AND LOCAL FOOD RESTAURANT....
Reviewed July 03, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Daniel from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Pleasant stay”
The room was very clean and cozy, owner was very helpful and responsive, he even fetch us to Merang jetty the following morning. Location wise it's very distant from shoplots so for those who do not have your own transport it's recommended to have your meal before you come here.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
7.6
Very good
SYAFIMAZLY from Malaysia
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Nice stay, good sea view... easy access to nearby seafood restaurant and to mutiara beach resort jetty”
In syaa Allah, will be here for the next trip
Reviewed June 12, 2016
7.2
Very good
Rune from Denmark
Solo traveler
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Not bad”
Nice staff, room ok, near a really excellent beach...
Reviewed April 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sharifah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Perfect place for backpacker”
Room for backpacker value for money.
Reviewed April 20, 2016
6.8
Good
Yan from Malaysia
Group
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Very Good Staff”
The resort is just across the beach, very serene in the morning. The chalet cleanliness is satisfactory. What makes this resort stands out is the staff, who exceeded our expectation. There is no eateries within walking distance, but the staff would drive us to the nearby eateries. Happy tummy, happy people ;)
Reviewed April 18, 2016
8.4
Excellent
MOHD from Malaysia
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Great location, very clean room but smelly toilet”
Near to main road. Room very clean and bedding smells good. But the toilet need to be repair as the stinky smell really disturb us.
Reviewed April 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Munirah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Perfect location, a hidden gem of Terengganu!”
Long stretch private beach, crystal clear blue water, peaceful environment..We love everything about this resort. It's a small resort, family oriented resort. They don't have restaurant onsite, but there're small local restaurant nearby-walking distance. They can arranged small fishing trip, bbq, island hoping..but you'll need to inform them earlier. Perfect place to hide out from hustle and bustle of the city. We tried fireflies watching tour with them, and it was amazing! The cheapest in town! Less light pollution in the area give a starry dark sky, good for the stargazers. Will come back for our next trip..:)
Reviewed April 11, 2016
3.0
BASIR from Malaysia
Group
Senduduk - Superior Room (Triple)
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Worst resort with unfriendly manager i have come a”
Worst, no food and poor pr
Reviewed March 10, 2016
7.2
Very good
aizadshah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
A place to unwind ”
clean room, near beach . Worth it.
Reviewed February 13, 2016
5.2
Azizul from Malaysia
Business traveler
Senduduk - Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
One noche mas”
To stay over near Setiu are, for just 1 one stay is okay. This resort can cover your basic need for accommodation.
Reviewed January 26, 2016
7.7
Very good
Francois from France
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great location”
Great location in the nature
We had a great time with our family as the beach is in front of the hotel. It is very quiet with trees around and is nice for a break. The room was large with three queen beds. The fridge and the kettle were convenient especially as there was no restaurant in the hotel so we prepared our own breakfast.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Yong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Hotel owner very nice”
Nice staff n boss, clean room, near beach
Reviewed November 23, 2015
7.0
Very good
Fitri from Malaysia
Group
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
clean and comfortable”
clean, quiet, near beach
good
Reviewed November 23, 2015
5.3
Sharifah from Malaysia
Group
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Not bad”
Quite beach right at the back of hotel, nice outdoor environment
Good place for those who want to travel to redang, very close to jetty, but far from city. Room condition not bad, rooms a bit close to each other so maybe others voices can be heard.
Reviewed November 09, 2015
7.0
Very good
Teoh from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
a nice village house stay ”
clean bed sheet, original wooden kampung house, near sea side
it's a big wooden house w big out side balcony, its not easy to maintain this wooden house, appreciate it, but those city folks like shining concrete/tiles room will not appreciate it... the extra point is the perfumed clean bed sheet even my wife love it, but the lighting is too dim esp toilet, its a hard feeling dull night, fortunately we got a nice movie to watch, its only <10min drive to merang jeti. u can try a fry seafood 5min from resort, w coconut drink
Reviewed October 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Chea from Malaysia
Group
Jambu Laut - Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Affordable price”
Affordable, Near merang jetty, Facilities
Overall not bad. 15min driving distance to merang jetty, 1 hour+ driving distance to shahbandar jetty. Coffee maker provided. Near beach.
Reviewed September 27, 2015
7.3
Very good
Elizabeth from Australia
Couple
Senduduk - Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Great stay -Excellent staff and amazing beach!!”
Very accommodating staff, beach, peaceful setting
We had a great 3 night stay. We had no car and the owner was extremely accommodating getting us to a restaurant each night for dinner. He definitely went above and beyond our expectations. Most places to get a bite to eat were a couple of kms up the road, but there are also small basic restaurants right near the hotel. Either way it's all within walking distance on a barely used road which runs parallel to the main road, so you're not walking with the traffic. The chalets are extremely comfortable and this made for a relaxing stay. We took a sea view chalet which put us away from the main road and towards the beach. The beach is stunning, a great beach for kids to swim and play as it's very calm and safe. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience quiet town life in Malaysia by a beautiful beach. FYI. If you don't have a car the public bus running from KT to kuala Besut will stop On the main road right outside the resort if requested.
Reviewed August 27, 2015
7.0
Very good
Zoel-Fazlee from Malaysia
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Near to the sea”
Beach, surrounding and next to the main road
Reviewed August 10, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Chong from Malaysia
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Peaceful and Tranquil”
Clean, cozy and near beach
We enjoyed the time star gazing by the beach at night; watching sun rise by the beach early in the morning and relaxing during sunset time.
Reviewed June 15, 2015
7.0
Very good
TUNKU from Malaysia
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Nice accommodation, clean & next to the beach”
Very close to the beach, good accomodation
We enjoyed our stay throughout and wished we had stayed longer. Near food stalls (can walk but better by car)but dead at night. Nothing much to do except enjoy the beach which people do when going to this part of Penarik/Merang.
Reviewed May 14, 2015
7.0
Very good
NITIN from India
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good hotel near Merang Jetty”
Location
Very good for a night stay, perhaps extend till afternoon. Excellent location in terms of beach and near to Merang Jetty
Reviewed May 04, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Erika from Malaysia
Group
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
clean room clean environment”
room, price , location
Reviewed April 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Ahmad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Pandan Laut Beach Resort”
near beach, fisherman village and merang jetty(go to redang and lang tengah island)
Reviewed April 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Norbaini from Malaysia
Group
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Cheap, comfy, nearby beach, friendly staff/owner”
feels like living in the woods, cityscape
Superb!!!Recommended for backpackers, families, organize your meetings while enjoying the sea breeze....
Reviewed March 23, 2015
4.3
KAMARUZAMAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room (Triple)
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Experience in Pandan Laut”
only location
We were welcome with stink toilet where they have to pump it out regularly else the smell very very bad. We just about to check out on the same day however due to non availability on other hotel we continue to stay. Toilet door were not having lock from inside. Location wise quite okay as there are many option to have good seafood. No pool and no breakfast provided. For family with kids not really suitable. Just to have mind relax just fine
Reviewed March 17, 2015
8.7
Excellent
SYED from Malaysia
Family with young children
Senduduk - Superior Room (Triple)
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Great”
Great
Reviewed March 08, 2015
6.7
Good
Sri from Malaysia
Group
Kemunting - Backpacker Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Little Peaceful Get-away ”
Beautiful beach, spectacular view of sunrise, peacefu and quietl environment
This is a budget accommodation, i only paid RM60 per night for a basic chalet. No complaint on the chalet itself. The only fall back of this place is there are not much activities can be done. But for a peaceful get-away weekend, it is a heaven for me.
Reviewed March 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
MOHD from Malaysia
Group
Pandan Laut - Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Pleasant stay”
near to secluded beach
Pleasant stay, quiet n privacy. Clean beach.
Reviewed March 01, 2015