Book Now: Pencil Guesthouse Hongdae

Excellent
From 582 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Reviews of Pencil Guesthouse Hongdae Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (582)Booking.com Reviews (220)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities7.9
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.9
Value for money8.7
All languages
All guests (582)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 355 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Kyle from United States
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 10 nights in April 2019

Great location, great value, English language friendly environment”

Simple accommodations with some nice perks that made our stay enjoyable, like full size fridge, hot water pot, and en suite bathroom in our room. Each room has a keypad for privacy and security which worked well, but the keypad to get into the building could be a little frustrating to operate. If you have issues with stairs, make sure to request a lower floor (we were on the 4th floor and it was a bit much after a long day of sightseeing to climb that many stairs). Simple breakfast each day (toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs) was great to have access to and everything was labeled with multi-lingual signs. Loved the location in Hongdae and being so close to a metro exit.

Reviewed April 30, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Osbert from Philippines
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Good stay”

It was just a one-night stay and we were assigned in the fifth floor; the only problem is they do not have a lift; hard to carry luggages using stairs. There was breakfast included (bread, cereals, juice, coffee/tea and milk). Location wise, it is a walking distance to the train station and shopping area at hongdae. The account handler in agoda does nott reply to queries via agoda messaging.

Reviewed April 23, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Janice from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Worthwhile choice”

Very close to Hongdae station, around 5minutes walk from exit 3. Nearby environment is unexpectedly quiet when locating in the city center. It's my 4th time staying here, not the cheapest choice among all the hostels in Seoul, but if you are looking for a quiet, clean, convenient and safe hostel. This is it!

Reviewed July 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mathew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Private Single Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Love this place”

I have been coming back here for about 3 years now when I travel to Seoul. Great place and really really nice staff. Location is perfect

Reviewed April 23, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Pei from Singapore
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017

Excellent”

Room is nice and the staff onsite are great. We have definitely enjoyed our stay especially with the close proximity to the metro station. However one thing to note is that there's no elevator in the building so do take note when one is checking in and out. Other wise, all's great.

Reviewed March 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Nicole from Philippines
Group
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Exceptional”

Great location, just a short walk from the subway exit. Abby was very accommodating from the time i made my booking until I left. They give clear directions on how to get to the hotel, self check-in and also give suggestions on where to eat. Room is clean, warm and comfortable. Downsides: 1) No elevator so pack light. Lucky we were on the 2nd floor and 2) Towels provided are too small. I suggest to bring your own.

Reviewed March 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
FANYI from Taiwan
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017

Good location”

Booked double bed ensuit, room is small couldnt make 2 luggages opened at the same time, and our room is in 5th floor but there's no lift, all is well excludes these 2 comments, staff is friendly, helped us to call for chicken delivery, free brekkie, food stores are near by, location is 5 min to station which is nice.

Reviewed December 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lai from Taiwan
Group
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2017

It’s a good guesthouse ”

The location is very very great and very convenient ���. Near the subway station,shopping districts, restaurants and clubs. � Subway station:walking about 5 mins � Shopping district/ �restaurants/ �clubs:walking about 10mins The staff is very sweet. The day I check in is very late, no staff can help me, I need to check by myself. The staff leave a note on the door and send a email including the vedio about how to check in to me. I feel good!!!��� The rooms is not big but really clean and is pink! I love it �. Actually it’s really a good guesthouse I will choose next time~but no elevator in the guesthouse so if you have a heavy luggage you have to be strong ������. Thanks to Pencil guesthouse Hongdea, we have a nice trip in Seoul����.

Reviewed September 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from United States
Couple
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Clean and simple room with the added benefit of a fridge in a great location. ”

The desk, fridge and in room bathroom stood out as major pluses for the double twin room I booked. A simple breakfast is served in the mornings. Water cooler available for refilling bottles downstairs . There were no big downsides as far as I am concerned. Great value especially given the location, staff friendliness and the cleanliness of the place.

Reviewed July 05, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Elaine from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Mini guesthouse with very helpful staff who speak korean/chinese/english”

2 nights at pencil guesthouse which i booked 15min before popping in. The 4 pax female dorm is small and some beds do not have power sockets accessible from the bed. Common areas are also small. Other than that, good shower with heater. Free wifi and good security (ie safe). They also have very helpful staff. The helpful crew is the best plus point of this mini guesthouse.

Reviewed November 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Sze from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Nice place”

Hostel is close to Hongtik University station. Room is clean. Nice coffee shops are around the hostel. Surrounding environment is good too. Although there were some noise from people at street in night time (I opened window in night time), I can slept well as the bed is good. I will introduce to my friend and I will stay again if I go to Seoul again.

Reviewed October 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yuen from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Good service”

We have a late night flight (4am). Before we flew off they contacted us on the check in instruction as there was no staff on duty. Check in is easy. The hostel is also close to Hongdae shopping and restaurant area, close to metro. Super convenient.

Reviewed October 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yuen from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Very convenient, nice choice for shopping and dining ”

Hongdae is a nice shopping and dining area. Pencil guest house is a great choice of all. We arrived by late night flight. Before we board the guest house has already contacted us on how to check in as they do not have overnight staff. But it's really easy to check in. The guest house doesn't have an elevator but it's still alright. Many cool restaurants and cafe are around. Metro is just 5 mins away by walking. I highly recommend this place. If the guest house provides more towels will be better.

Reviewed July 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Liew from Malaysia
Family with teens
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016

Near to subway, clean room, simple breakfast”

This is my 2nd times staying at Pencil guesthouse. Still feeling good & comfortable. 5 mins walk to subway line 2. Very convenient to go any places. A lot of restaurant, cafe & shopping street just in walking distance. Thanks Abby & team for the hospitality. Will stay here again on my next visit.

Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.3
Excellent
CHACKY from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

cute hotel”

n/a

room is comfortable. only offset is sheets used as blanket (too thin). my room are on 4th floor. no lift. check in/check out will need to carry big luggage up/down (with help from the friendly staff - who speaks perfect English!) Though address is in Hongdae, but will need to walk about 10mins to reach Hongdae. having to walk past metro underpass. area relatively safe even with 2 girls returning back to hotel past midnight. Self help breakfast is provided at lobby. unfortunately unable to wake up for it. Wifi speed is fine. Quaint check in area.

Reviewed August 25, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Selena from Philippines
Group
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2014

It has all the things that we need in a hotel”

Affordable but has all the amenities that we need and has great staff

Out of all the hotels we checked, we were so happy to find Pencil Mini as it meets all of our group's "requirements" - our own TV so we can watch all the Korean shows we want, free breakfast, hi-speed wifi that is available anywhere within the hotel, private and clean bathroom, good and clean interiors, close to the train station with no transfers to/from the airport and close to the tourist spots, a suitable space for our luggages, a bed for each of us and, of course, the price should is within our budget as we were staying for more than a week. Not all budget hotels were able to meet our checklist. The owner, Abby, and the staff are very kind and helpful. They have initiative to help us, speaks english very well and very attentive to our requests. This has been the best stay so far compared to other 3 hotels I've been to :).

Reviewed April 18, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
KIN from Hong Kong
Group
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 9 nights in March 2014

Excellent services from staff^^”

1. Extreme friendly 2. Whole hostel and room are clean & tidy 3. Locate closely to subway. Convenient!

It was a great experience that we can stay in PencilMini in this Korea trip. My friends and I totally enjoyed to stay there! The main reason was the staff are extremely nice and helpful! Before we go, we requested a room at lower floor, they made fast response. As they can speak fluent English, everytime we met, we chatted so happily! They were active to introduce us somewhere famous to visit. I still remember Abby helped us to call the takeaway service, so warm :) Besides, the room was clean and tidy. So we felt very comfortable. Also, if you have need, you can ask staff to tidy up the room. In addition, PencilMini have a common area on ground floor, we can have meal in there. Especially they provide breakfast service, my friends and I were enjoyed to have breakfast there everyday! At last, PencilMini is close to Hongdae metro station, walking about 5-7 mins. It is so convenient. Since our lugguages were so heavy, that why we felt lucky that the hostel is near to the station! Therefore, if we visit Korea next time, we will try our best to back PencilMini again!!!! ^ ^

Reviewed April 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ashley from Singapore
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Wonderful! Will definitely go back again!”

Awesome Staff! Clean place! good location!

It was good. My flight was supposed to reach Seoul at 12midnight but the manager (Abby) checked with me beforehand so that she would be there to welcome us. Unfortunately, our flight got delayed four hours, but she was still there to welcome us at 4 am. We did keep her informed about our flight delay. The mini hotel is slightly difficult to find in the dark even in the cab as it is around the corner. However, in the daytime, we noted that it is very close to the train station (Hongik Uni). It is also about a 10 minutes walk to hongdae street which has many local food and shopping and stays open late in the night. As the only available twin room upon check in was at level 6 (there are no lifts), Abby offered to let us stay in a four men bunk at level 2 instead. We did note that the beds in the four men bunk were slightly lacking as you can feel the strips of wood attached to the thin bed. The beds in the twin room were definitely more comfortable. The rooms and toilet were very clean and Pencil does provide for soap, shampoo, toothpaste, hairdryer and even a fridge. There is also breakfast provided in the morning (bread, cereal, milk, orange juice, and eggs (you get to cook the eggs yourself)). They also maintain a delivery book where you can get to choose many different types of korean food to be delivered to the mini hotel, and the managers are more than happy to help you with the delivery! Last but not least, the managers (Abby and Pei) are awesome people to be with. They are very friendly and helpful, and makes you feel at home. Abby even accompanied us to the train station on the last day to bid us farewell. You will also get to meet other travelers in the building if you're lucky. I will definitely come back again!

Reviewed March 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Amelinda from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013

comfortable, friendly, and feels like home”

staff's quick help and hospitality, well prepared facilities, high internet speed.

It was great and really nice. Highly recommended for those who expected new friends and warm hospitality. I love how they always try to offer helps to me. I will surely be back if I visit Seoul again. Thanks Abbey and Antone.

Reviewed October 11, 2013
4.0
Eddie from Australia
Business traveler
Family Triple
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Terrible organize website”

I only book one room, recived two booking message with two different booking code. Is the web site error or other, and also can't cancel one if them booking, arrived had to checkin both room or no room for me. So I need to pay on my credit card for one room , and pay cash on the other room.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ratih from Indonesia
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 8 nights in October 2018

Pleasant stay! Love the guest house :)”

We love love love staying at Pencil Guest House. Clean, cozy, and it has perfect location (very close from Hongdae Station Exit 3). The staff was so helpful and super nice. Be prepared if you have big luggage because they have 5 stories-building ;) Thank you Pencil! ❤️

Reviewed November 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Nuke from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Good location and nice staff”

It was my 1st time staying here eventho i have been to Seoul many times (and mostly stay in Hongdae). I like the room, it was dormitory but with bathroom inside the room (so only shared with room mate). The staff was nice and friendly, and she helped me to bring my luggage to 4th floor (unfortunately no lift haha). Thankyou, and maybe i will comeback again next time.

Reviewed March 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kwok from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Really price to their value. Good location is closer to Hongdae entrance Station and room is clean”

Sue is very helpful even the room is not occupied by me and I am booking for my son and his girl friend. I ask Sue for requesting some bubble bags to pack my wine when I pick up the baggages during my son checking. One lady search the packing materials in their store room and then give me. This lady look like Sue's elderly sister but Sue told me that she is her mother. I'm stunned because she looks so young and didn't like her mother. They are very nice and much helpful during my son's and his girl friend's stay. We are surely come again when we visit Seoul in future.

Reviewed February 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
NORALIE from Philippines
Group
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

Excellent location, just a few minutes walk to subway exit 3 of Hongkik University and Bus Stop. We stayed here from Dec 4-8 and the staff is very helpful esp when we ask about locations. The room is cozy and clean. Toilet is a bit small but is complete with bath soap, shampoos, toothpaste, hot shower. will stay here again if I go back to korea.

Reviewed December 13, 2017
7.6
Very good
Yuen from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

nice”

pros: good location, convenient and reachable from arex, nearby shopping area in Hongdae, nice cafe around. cons: bad sound proof, noise from staircase and hallway disturbing, room was too warm that we need open window at night, but too noisy outside especially during weekend nights

Reviewed April 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
WAI from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Convenient guesthouse close to subway”

The guesthouse is close to subway and airport railway which is very convenient. The shopping area of Hongdae University is also 5 min walk from the guesthouse. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended

Reviewed October 27, 2016
4.4
Yenling from Singapore
Solo traveler
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016

No housekeeping done for the 4 days i stayed there”

This is my 2nd time to this guesthouse. I feel that the service isnt as good as before. The location is good which is near the Hongdae station. However the room was not as clean as the previous trip. There is no curtain - every morning, the sun will shine into the room. There is also no housekeeping for the 4 days i stayed there. Wont go back again

Reviewed June 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Nurashikin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016

Overall excellent!”

This is by far the best guesthouse I've stayed. Less than 5mins walk ( you will walk pass a beautiful park) from Hongik station and connected to AREX Incheon airport which is very convenient. The place including toilet is also very clean. Will definitely stay at Pencil guesthouse again when I'm in Seoul. Thanks for providing a comfortable stay for me. Thumbs up! :)

Reviewed March 27, 2016
6.8
Good
ornwanya from Thailand
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015

Good location”

The room is comparative good size. The location is good u can walk through out hongdae, and quite close to subway. The hostel location is not crowded (which is good). But if u come alone don't choose this hostel because it's quite lifeless. But if u come with the group and can join within ur group, it's good.

Reviewed January 24, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Yining from Australia
Group
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 8 nights in December 2015

Welcoming cozy stay!”

Location, Staff, Cleanliness

Myself and three other female friends were traveling to Seoul for one week and found Pencil Guesthouse online. It seemed rather quaint and friendly so we decided to give it a go! During our stay we were definitely not disappointed. Abby and her 3 staff were so helpful and always responded quickly to queries or if we just needed some assistance. Pencil guesthouse also provided some amenities, and also a nice basic breakfast each morning (think toast, eggs, tea). Pencil is a cozy little hostel which attracts a lot of other friendly travelers :) Pencil is also located on the edge of hongdae making it a prime location for shopping, cute cafes and with only a short 5 minute (possibly less) walk to the train station, making it convenient if you also want to visit other suburbs. I would definitely recommend Pencil to any young single or group travelers.

Reviewed December 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Janet from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015

Great accommodation, perfect location”

location, cleanliness, affordability

I had a pleasant 7 nights stay at Pencil Guesthouse. The location was superb, just 3 minutes walk from Hongdae exit 3; the dorm rooms were very clean -- complete with bathroom inside, television, and refrigerator; the staffs were helpful; and the owner was accommodating. It was a no-frills stay! Will definitely go back again.

Reviewed December 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Janina from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015

Pleasant stay”

value for money, staff, location

I had an enjoyable stay at Pencil Guesthouse. I will definitely comeback. It was hard to find at first but it is very near the subway. Also near a lot of cafes, convenience stores and restaurants. Also the price was worth it.

Reviewed October 10, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Jeevan from Australia
Group
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2015

Perfectly positioned Guesthouse did not disappoint”

1. Affordability; find a mate and pay 30 bucks a night. 2. Location; right in the clubs district with plenty of food joints and a metro just there. 3. The DIY eggs at breakfast

Incredibly enjoyable hostel with all the essential as down to a T: water filters, toilet paper, juice, comfortable beds, TVs. And then you can fill your days with sight seeing and nights with partying - I can't think of a better position in Seoul to make that happen

Reviewed July 30, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Antti from Finland
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Great location, awesome people ”

Location, staff, value

The best thing about Pencil is the location. The guesthouse is located near the Hongdae area but not in the loudest part, so you can get a good night's sleep. Lot's of dining options nearby - check out Bob's Barbie for some great hot dogs! The staff is great, the rooms are clean and you can share your stories with other travelers while enjoying the free breakfast.

Reviewed July 09, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Yin from Singapore
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Really good stay & worth the money”

Convenient location, comfortable, clean :)

Its really near the subway station so its a very convenient location. Furthermore, from incheon airport, there is a direct airport express subway line to Hongik University (where Pencil Guesthouse is located). The room is really clean, comfortable bed and sufficient space with private bathrooms. The bathroom is quite small though. The guesthouse is also near to a lot of cafes

Reviewed May 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Michelle from Philippines
Family with teens
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015

Pencil Guesthouse Hongdae highly recommended”

Location, cleanliness, and staff.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse, especially to first-timers in Korea. It is near a lot of restaurants, cafes, commercial establishments, bus stops, a money changer, and train station exits, so meals and transportation are not a problem. The staff are courteous, helpful, and speak excellent English. The rooms are clean, well-kept, and just the right size. Will I stay in this guesthouse again if I come back and visit Korea? Oh yes, definitely!

Reviewed April 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Edward from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Great place in Hongdae”

clean/comfortable room, kind staff, convenient location

I had a great stay at Pencil in a private room with en suite bathroom and would book again. Nice location -- on a quiet side street very close to Hongdae Station exit #3. Staff was warm and receptive. Room was bright, clean, and comfortable (though the mattress was a little hard for my taste). Breakfast is self-serve and decent (eggs, toast, cereal).

Reviewed April 08, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
KA from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

What a lovely & warm guesthouse !”

Clean, Secure & nice location

I stayed 7 days with my fiance in Seoul, when we step in, we feel that this is a warm guesthouse like home ! We prefer to live on high-rise, so we accept 5th floor which is the highest floor. Though the double-bed room is not very big, everything is of value in spite of its small size ! Lovely bed, fridge, TV, washroom & balcony ! And this guesthouse is near the subway station only around 2 mins walk, very convenient ! what's more, i love the security system, make me relieved. In a word, we do enjoy our trip in Seoul! Thanks to Pencil Guest House !

Reviewed March 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Group
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015

Good stay in Seoul”

Location, Staff, Price

This Guesthouse is clean. Location is very good. Airport subway line can go directly to Hongdae. Only a short 2 minute walk from the subway station to guesthouse. Although Seoul subway stations' are a little bit weird, one station can have two separate buildings connected by a tunnel. You gotta walk from one to another. But still a very nice location. GS25 is right around the corner. Staff are friendly. Speak good English and also Cantonese. Room is clean. Everything is good. One thing that I will say is that the water for shower is "warm", not "hot". Maybe just because I like very very hot water for shower (maybe 40 degree). It's not cold it wont cause you to be sick, just in my opinion is not hot enough. Also recommendation, bring your own towel. They do provided towel but its kinda small. These are just really small things I am just being too picky. =P Thank you for helping us to order fried chicken delivery.(MUST EAT IN KOREA) I like this guesthouse and I will stay here next time again. THANKS =DD *I went to Seoul in January, very very cold weather. This guesthouse provided enough heat. Its always warm. Also, WIFI signal is STRONGGGGGGGGG. haha =D

Reviewed January 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Nadia from Canada
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Great little hotel!”

Location staff and easy to find

This is a great little hotel in a cool neighbourhood! Abby pei and ken are all very friendly and helpful!!! I really appriciated it! We were a couple and this hostel was quiet and clean! If you're a partier I wouldn't stay here since it's a very calm place! Enjoyed my stay! Would come back 😊

Reviewed January 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Phimphisa from Thailand
Group
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Recommended! , Very nice hostel”

Friendly staff, Good location and Privated bathroom

It was very good overall. The staff are so very friendly and helpful. They helped me when i asked the food :D . And, the room was clean and it was so good that there was a privated bathroom. Also, it was really a good location and very near to subway Hongik University Station that i could take directly to the ICN airport. It was so convenient. And there is a GS25 shop near to the hostel. So, we are happy to stay in Seoul!.

Reviewed January 06, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Karen from Singapore
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014

Overall very good...”

Room is clean and staffs are helpful

Happy to choose this guesthouse for our 7 nights stay in Seoul. Very comfortable.. just that lift is not available in this guest house. Be prepare if you have bulky luggage. You will need to carry all the way up just like us.. (><)

Reviewed December 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Wong from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014

Home away from home”

Staff, location, cleaniness

I was hving great time in pencil mini hotel. Price is adorable and affordable as it got an excellent location and a simple breakfast. The dorm is clean with making up every 2 days. Tv, private toilet, towel, hairdryer, heating floor which is extremely important for winter are all provided in the dorm. Of course, the staffs are too nice and helpful! Especially abby, lisa and ken! Highly recommended for those budget travellers and talkative :P you will meet lots of friends during breakfast time!

Reviewed November 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Shady from Philippines
Group
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014

Best guesthouse in Seoul! Will stay here again!”

Location, staff and room.

Location: The Pencil Guesthouse is tucked away in a residential place with quirky and interesting shops and cafes around it. It's very near the Hongik University area (walking distance around 3-5 mins) and restaurants, shops, convenient stores and entertainment there are open 24/7. It's a 3-5 min walk from Hongik University Station Exit 3. It's also very quiet here and the neighborhood has a good chic environment. Rooms: We highly recommend the en-suite bathroom since it's the one we stayed at. We stay at the 5th floor and take note: there's no lift. But the staff will help you carry your luggage. The room is very clean and the mattress quality is good. The hotel is also fairly new. Food: Breakfast is from 8:00 am - 10:00 am. You can cook your own egg, toast & jam and there's cereal, milk, coffee and juice. You can have coffee (Maxims) and water anytime you want. It's just out there for grabs. :) Staff: Thank you so much Abby for being a very kind and accommodating host! She helped us a lot and gave us directions to tourist spots and even helped us about something that's beyond what a hostel service would give. I've been recommending this to my friends and will stay there again when I go back to Seoul. :) P.S. Abby, let us know if you ever visit Manila! - Jade and Celina :)

Reviewed November 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Grace from Singapore
Couple
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2014

Good location and friendly staff”

Location, staff, cleanliness

The location in hongik was great for shopping and nightlife. The hotel was located only 5 minutes from the train station and this made it easy to visit other places. Only downside is the hotel has no lift so carrying luggage to top floor (5) might be an issue. Staff were friendly and helpful and they top service on this point

Reviewed November 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Gan from Singapore
Solo traveler
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

1 night stay ”

Cleanliness, en-suite bathroom, multiple power socket in rooms

Stayed at pencil hotel for 1 night only thus unable to provide a detailed review. However, it was a comfortable stay. Guesthouse is located in a quiet neighborhood but near metro station. Cleanliness of room was commendable.

Reviewed October 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sean from Ireland
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Cheap and cheerful”

Location, friendly staff, value for money

I booked very last minute, and this was conveniently located in Hongdae / Sincheon. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave useful travel advice to the group checking in ahead of me. The room was small, but the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed October 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Carmen from Canada
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 6 nights in May 2014

The best hostel I've stayed at”

Staff, Location, People

This is the best hostel I have stayed at. Abby and her staff were absolutely amazing, and I can say without a doubt that our group would not have enjoyed South Korea as much if we had not stayed in this hostel. Accommodations were great, the staff was just so accommodating and they were helpful in every sense. I can't rave about them any more. Abby helped me book a haircut and they took us to a great place for food.

Reviewed July 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jessica from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014

Nice place and will come again ”

Room is very clean , can borrow the bicycle at free . Comfortable environment

I am really enjoyed staying here for four nights. The staff is very helpful. As there is no lift, they will help u to take the luggage to the room. Don't worry. They can help to have food delivery service!

Reviewed June 07, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

AWESOME AND INFORMATIVE”

Good Location, Amazing Staff and A Great Deal

Short stay but really amazing. Staffs are really helpful and they provide tour information if you need any. Easy to access as the Airport Railroad stops in Hongdae area. It is near to Hongdae area where can enjoy the nightlife and also can find unique cafe everywhere.

Reviewed May 16, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Amy from United States
Group
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Amazing location, clean, and highly recommended! ”

Great location, clean, and offers rooms that are ensuite!

I love staying at Pencil Mini Hotel. I always stay here every time I come to Seoul and recommend it to my all friends. I love Pencil because it is located 5 minutes away from Exit 3 of Hongdae Station, which has an escalator (easy for those with large or heavy suitcases!) and is directly connected to the airport railroad subway line as well as line 2. My favorite part of Pencil is that it has private ensuite rooms, so each room has its own bathroom! Pencil provides everything! You get a towel, hairdryer, shampoo, body wash, toothpaste, refrigerator, TV, and hot water boiler/kettle! There is no need to bring any toiletries! Pencil also has air conditioning and a heating system for every room. The cleanliness and quality is superb. I highly recommend Pencil Mini Hotel for solo travelers, groups, couples, and families.

Reviewed May 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Xiaoyu from Singapore
Couple
Double Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2014

Enjoyable Stay”

Room is clean, staff is friendly, near to subway.

It was enjoyable, all the staffs were nice and friendly. Bringing us to the nearby restaurant and helping us order as we could not read Korean words. Thumbs up for the extra services. Also, they are attentive too as they did realise friends were sick. Nice concept. Great place for budget.

Reviewed April 15, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Chelsea from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Visiting Seoul on a Budget”

Friendly and welcoming staff, located close to the subway station, clean and orderly room

I really enjoyed my stay at the Pencil Mini-Hotel! Although we arrived late because we were visiting the Seoul Lantern Festival, the staff was welcoming and friendly and even stayed in contact with us via e-mail as we found our way to the hotel. Although the rooms and bed were small, they were very comfortable and clean. It was much nicer than staying in a hostel where we would not be guaranteed our own room or breakfast in the morning, yet still affordable. :)

Reviewed November 20, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Rachael from United States
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

The best place to saty in Hongdae”

Design, Friendly Staff, location

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times so far and have never been disappointed. The staff speaks impeccable english and are super nice. The design is like an old comic book which makes you feel happy just as soon as you enter. They are always more than accommodating and I would recommend them above any other hotel/hostile in the area.

Reviewed November 08, 2013
7.3
Very good
Sarah from Singapore
Group
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Great service level from the staff”

Attentive staff, Clean room, Quiet surrounding

Lady boss could speak good command of english and there was few helpers as well whom can speak good english. Surroundings was quiet however from the exit of the train station there was not a long distance but there was no proper road to lead to the guest house which made us need to carry our luggage by hand on a bumpy short cut to the guest house.

Reviewed October 23, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Le from South Africa
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Just what we wanted”

Great location and the the staff are really friendly and very accomodating.

The hotel is very easy to find and the staff were very helpful. The place was very clean and it was a great value for money. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a place to sleep and drop your bags off. Also, it is very close to the subway station.

Reviewed January 31, 2013
6.0
quincy from Malaysia
Group
Family Triple
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Acceptable ”

There’s no elevator so please get prepare to carry your baggage by stairs. Toilet is small, room overall acceptable, good location, near to subway station

Reviewed September 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Pavich from Thailand
Family with teens
Family Triple
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Excellent”

Good location, nice staffs, clean

Reviewed February 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
DINH from Vietnam
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 8 nights in December 2017

Good choice, especially for youngster”

The hostel locates in Hongdae area, which is extremely energetic and interesting, you will never get bored here. Moreover, a lot of good places to eat.

Reviewed January 08, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Phatsorn from Thailand
Group
3 Person's Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017

Exceptional”

I stay on 27/10/2560 - 1/11/2560 5 nights 6 day The stamp is The staff were friendly smile. I'll be back to stay here again. I'm very impressed. Thank You Pencil Guesthouse.

Reviewed November 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Yimmy from Indonesia
Group
Family 1 Double and 1 Bunk Bed
Stayed 5 nights in July 2017

Nice place and good location”

This guesthouse is really good in location and value of money.

Reviewed July 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
yee from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016

80”

Warm and leisure stay

Reviewed October 25, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Tsui from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016

Nice”

convenience

Reviewed October 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
cheung from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

good ”

good

Reviewed October 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Soo from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016

Good place.”

Will consider for a next trip to the same hotel.

Reviewed May 23, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Nur from Malaysia
Family with young children
4 Beds Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Great stay”

Service, cleanliness, location
Reviewed December 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Denis from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 11 nights in April 2015

Good valie”

Convenient location. Helpful host. Located close to eating establishments.
Reviewed May 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Janice from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Good as ever”

Hygiene, atmosphere, location
Reviewed February 17, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Yenling from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Nice hostel”

Location, clean, quiet

It may be a bit confusing to find the place initially. But just follow the directions. The rooms are clean and there are a lot of food places nearby. Very friendly staffs

Reviewed February 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Janice from Hong Kong
Group
Twin Bed Private En-Suite Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Choose it! You won't regret!”

3 best things: convenient, clean, cost worthy
Reviewed November 23, 2014