Book Now: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Very good
From 11365 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (11368)Booking.com Reviews (4115)
7.6
/
10
Very good
From 11368 reviews
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.4
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.5
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
ภาษาไทย
简体中文
more
Room type
Deluxe
Premier
Premier Club Room
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 10014 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
Tourino from Indonesia
Family with young children
Premier Club Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
It's OK”
Need to refurbish and work on old carpet smell, avoid turning off corridor lights at night, the rest is ok
Reviewed September 26, 2018
6.8
Good
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018
Great location for the F1 Racing. ”
I picked this hotel for it's F1 circuit location and It was excellent for that purpose. That said, it is in an excellent location for a trip to Singapore given that many attractions, bars and restaurants are only a short walk away. The pools offer a welcome and relaxing spot away from the rush of the city and the gym is equipped well enough for a short stay. With the City Hall MRT station only minutes away, travelling around couldn't be easier.
Reviewed September 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Aditya from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
NEAR TO MY OFICE”
ITS A EXCELLENT PLACE WALKING DISTANCE TO MY OFFICE. GOT A FREE GIFT ON MY BIRTHDAY AND FREE UPGRADE.. TO THEIR MOST EXCLUSIVE ROOMS ON THE TOP FLOOR
Reviewed September 23, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Zhi from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Excellent”
Room is clean. However, front line staffs are not friendly.
Reviewed September 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Nhan from Vietnam
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
nice location”
highly recommend
Reviewed September 20, 2018
6.0
Kim from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in September 2018
Above average”
Overall the stay was satisfactory. If the room keeping services could be more consistent even better, e.g., no hand towels or lacking tissue on some days...(i was staying for 10 nights, gotta call and ask for 'em!!)
Reviewed September 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Jamie from Australia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018
Fair value, great location”
Good service, great location, breakfast quality was poor, otherwise decent value overall
Reviewed September 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Handy from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
singapore”
Good value, and near from marina bay sands, suntec, mrt city hall, its a good location.
Reviewed September 19, 2018
8.4
Excellent
TSUTOMU from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Stay for F1”
Very convenient and high cost performance. Particularly it is best choice to watch F1 at reasonable price.
Reviewed September 18, 2018
6.0
Heather from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Too expensive for senior travellers”
The foyer of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel is spacious and well appointed. However I cannot say that of the room which i would rate as a 3 star room for the quoted price. disappointingly, breakfast was not included in the price, and on enquiry, it exceeded our budget. Thankfully the cafe on the sidewalk beside the hotel was clean, pleasant and meal was appetizing for S$8. When we asked about access to the F1 race track, we were told it was just across the road. Yes, the track was across the road, but it was a train ride and long walk away to the entrance gates. The reception staff we spoke with were too self important for their guests. We usually seek 4-star hotels, so it is with sadness that we had a dissapointing stay and negative opinion.
Reviewed September 18, 2018
7.2
Very good
Indira from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Old hotel in Excellent location”
Pro: Excellent location Excellent pool Excellent lobby area Breakfast choice just OK Cons: Dirty room Unhelpful staff Dirty carpets
Reviewed September 17, 2018
6.4
Good
FRANK from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Good”
Great location, but bathroom was so dirty , and so much dust under bed
Reviewed September 17, 2018
6.0
Jasie from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Too old”
Lamp and tv control are out of order Facilities quite old and kind of dirty Though location is quite convenience, there’s lots of choices nearby
Reviewed September 15, 2018
7.2
Very good
Surachai from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Good hotel”
First !,I have to wait for a room without notify me when the room available. The reception guy is not in the mood that I can feel when I requesting a non-smoking rooom. The room is good ,cleanliness. It's not so far from any other attraction place. You can walk to many place.
Reviewed September 07, 2018
6.4
Good
Wayne from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in July 2018
Location and cheap”
Cheap compared to other surrounding hotels. My favorite Park Royal was booked full so chose this hotel as it was close to my office. Good location to station and there are a few indoor food stalls nearby, but the hotel was old, but satisfactorily clean. Asked for ice first night. Took 40 minutes so couldnt shower until it came! Hot water pot had a funny smell. Morning elevator crowded as everyone was heading to breakfast.
Reviewed September 05, 2018
7.6
Very good
Robert from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in August 2018
my experience.”
breakfast was all the same, no variation during the entire time of stay. housekeeping tasks are not consistent, like used mugs not cleaned, coffee were not replensihed... rooms are ok but not spectacular. location is good. concierge staffs, cafe staffs and reception are great.
Reviewed September 04, 2018
5.6
Mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in August 2018
Old Facilities ”
When you first enter the lobby you get the impression that the hotel is new, but once you get into the room you will be disappointed. The facilities in the room show age. The rolldown curtain in the bathroom (that covers the window) is corroded and is halfway not stable, you can't open or close it since any force might bring it down. The bath curtain also shows age, it is discolored with some areas that are clearly dirty. We also spotted some bugs in the bathroom, none in the bedroom but I wouldn't be surprised if there were some. The positives of the hotel is the nice location and the helpful staff. Otherwise it is pretty old disappointing hotel compared to the stars rating/price. Definitely wouldn't visit again.
Reviewed August 31, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jocelyn from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Exceptional”
Very good location. Around 5minutes walk from the nearest MTR station. The staffs were friendly and accommodating. Would stay again if I were to come back to SG.
Reviewed August 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ramlah from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Club Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Very good”
very nice place, you can see marina sands bay view from hotel,
Reviewed August 29, 2018
5.6
Sze from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
2 day 1 night B-Day staycation ”
I indicated in my booking non smoking room, king bed and my booking is for a deluxe room. the hotel checked me in to a smoking room, 2 single beds and superior room which looks so different from the picture indicated in their website for deluxe room. I have to bring all my stuffs down to the checked in counter and wait for them to rectify the checked in! I asked them was the room they 1st gave me is a deluxe room which I had booked for? they still say yes! in their official webpage that room is a superior room!
Reviewed August 26, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ingrid
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Comfortable and central located hotel”
Comfortable hotel, central located near Chinatown. The underground, shops and restaurants are just around the corner.
Reviewed August 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Misun from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in May 2018
good location”
good location, convenient
Reviewed August 20, 2018
6.8
Good
Wifanto from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Good location and near MRT”
Staying in Peninsula look like old hotel, location near City Hall station, can reach within 5 minutes walk. It's also conneted to more shopping mall in City Hall, Suntec etc.
Reviewed August 20, 2018
6.0
Anuar from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Functionable hotel”
this was a functionable hotel. Cleanliness wasn't the best and there was a smell in the corridor. Breakfast was pandemonium - too many PRCs. But you get what you pay for.
Reviewed August 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ms. from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Such a wonderful stayed”
Thank you for your warm welcome and kindly service since concierge , front desk , housekeeping, all staff and warm greetings letters from Management team. We can say is such wonderful stayed for our first time in Singapore memorable people there very kind the room very nice view, clean room, good location and really close to attraction places in Singapore. We are recommended may definitely returne back here again.
Reviewed August 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
christine from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Upgrade , clean , convenience and friendly staff ”
Is so great that the hotel management upgrade to a premium room for us . The room is very nice and clean . And this hotel location is very good and near to the mrt is just a 5 minutes walks only . I would definitely come back to this hotel again
Reviewed August 06, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Stephane from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Great location”
The hotel is very well located, near the City Hall MRT station and within walking distance from main places to go to in Singapore downtown (marina bay, national gallery, ...) We had a good discount “only” 140€/night, but it was probably because of the huge and noisy work that is ongoing on beside the hotel. A new building is being build, and constant work and noise day and night. Not that disturbing but one must know before booking. For us it was fine, and these works didn’t prevent le from sleeping at night.
Reviewed August 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Chandan from United Arab Emirates
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Excellent”
The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was very good.
Reviewed August 02, 2018
4.4
Wai from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Disappointed and not recommended”
The maintenance of room was not good and disappointed. The refrigerator was out of order. Noisy because near the building site. The noise isolation was bad. Only one advantage was location. It was near MRT station. Overall, it was disappointed and not recommended.
Reviewed August 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jeremy from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Exceptional”
Very nice rooms, location, and staff. Very happy
Reviewed August 02, 2018
6.8
Good
Michael from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
One of the best locations with good staff”
Rooms need renovation and some parts of the property as well. Cleaning of rooms could use improvement as well. But staff were fantastic and helpful. Overall satisfied and recommended due to the great staff as well excellent location.
Reviewed July 27, 2018
6.0
Stella from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Above average”
If you don’t want to sleep ..... stay there. There is construction on the go 24/7. And the noise is UNBEARABLE!!! The beds are hard as rocks. Not a comfortable stay at all.
Reviewed July 24, 2018
6.4
Good
Jason from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Super Rude Staff”
1) Ordered room service and was repriminded that I had no small change. 2) Requested for a bottle of mineral water and was told off that I should not have the "do not disturb" sign turned on when I made a request.
Reviewed July 23, 2018
7.2
Very good
Gerard from Netherlands
Couple
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Not a bad hotel location ok ”
To bad currently too much construction going on around the hotel location is nice close to some nice entertainment and airport. Breakfast could be a bit better room small but have what you need and good bed. Staff helpful and overall a clean place.
Reviewed July 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Andrew from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
amazing stay”
stayed for 1 night. they just renovated(per my cousin who is a local) and their interior is very good. truly befitting of a 4 star hotel. close to a 7/11 down the street. got gym, pools, etc. a lot of complaints about the noise from the construction but i slept just fine and barely noticed any sound during the night.
Reviewed July 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Yohanes from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Great Hotel”
Everything was perfect !!
Reviewed July 18, 2018
5.6
Kittisak from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Only location that we choose”
We stay for 3 night, after we arrived the room that we got is full of smoke smell. And i juz shock when i openedy room. The bedsheet wasn't clean and tidy. Look like the cleaner doesn't clean this room
Reviewed July 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
MUHD from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Exceptional”
great view of clarke quay. spacious room but the beds are to hard for my liking.
Reviewed July 17, 2018
4.4
Crissel from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Acceptable”
Room is very very old, not clean. Staff at the check in counter is very rude.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
7.2
Very good
Gary from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Construction”
There is a building being constructed next door so it is quite noisy during the day. There are many tour groups so it is fairly chaotic at breakfast. Otherwise a good hotel (older in style with small older style bathrooms) in a great location one block from the City Hall MRT and shopping malls nearby.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Romet
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Good location”
Overall hotel would need some renovation, but rooms are big and clean.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jacqueline from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Nice clean rooms, great location ”
Good variety in breakfast buffet, very pleasant staff, room amenities very good especially the complimentary water!
Reviewed July 15, 2018
7.6
Very good
Sidapan from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Good location and big room”
Convenient store and food plaza in walk distance
Reviewed July 13, 2018
5.6
Ming from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Above average”
The room that I booked is Deluxe Room via Agoda, but the room that I stayed in was very small and located at the corner of the hotel. I doubted it is Deluxe Room. 1st night I have experienced bed bug and so itchy, requested the hotel to change to another room. The changed room was much more bigger compare to the first one.
Reviewed July 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
Peik from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Very good”
Clean. Near MRT. Near shopping area. Near recreation park. Near churches.
Reviewed July 09, 2018
4.8
Cleotilde from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Internet is NOT WORKING”
I HAD A HIGH HOPE THAT THIS HOTEL IS GOOD BUT ITS A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. I WAS IN SG FOR 2 DAYS BUSINESS TRIP AND I'VE WAITED FOR WHOLE DAY TO FIX THE INTERNET CONNECTION, VERY POOR SERVICE. I WENT OUT AND LOOK FOR STARBUCKS JUST TO GET MY WORK DONE.
Reviewed July 09, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
lita from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Great hotel, very near to mrt, def will come back for sure”
We stay 3 nights, great location!
Reviewed July 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ferry from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Exceptional”
Our room arrangement was perfect. We got corner room with a very nice view. The service was great especially by the the Guest Relation Manager.
Reviewed July 06, 2018
6.4
Good
pongsatorn from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
bad service, good location”
The reception was unfriendly. The hotel needed deposit of 150 SGD, we didn't prepare cash for this. Also don't know why they need deposit. is this 4 star or a hostel.
Reviewed July 03, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Trina from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Great Location and accommodating staffs”
The location is great! Staffs are accommodating and helpful. Although it is an old hotel building, the room was kept clean and tidy. If you are wishing the Marina Bay view, the pictures seems misleading in terms of the Marina bay sands view, Guest should book Peninsula Tower instead of Excelsior Tower, since the Peninsula Tower blocks the view, I may be mistaken or our room just being blocked by the next tower, however, i can still see the Big Ferris wheel and City View. but Over all experience is great.
Reviewed July 02, 2018