Book Now: Phurahong Homestay

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (273)Booking.com Reviews (46)
7.8
Very good
From 273 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities6.8
Location6.4
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service8.7
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
简体中文
English
Français
Deutsch
more
Room type
Buddy Room
Standard Room
Family
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 264 verified guest comments
8.3
Excellent
kamonlak from Thailand
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
pleasant stop over”
friendly attitude, nothing too hard for them, helpful
We arrived quite late because half our luggage had been lost at the airport, The lady still was able to feed us at nearly midnight. In the morning the man was on the phone tracking down our luggage and he arranged for it to be delivered. Then they organised a taxi to the airport. We slept well in a comfortable bed and was very happy with everything.
Reviewed November 07, 2014
7.3
Very good
Carolyn from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Lovely spot, nice people, noisy rooster”
Owners were very helpful, nice secluded place when you get there, good food
Trying to get there at around 6.30-7pm is a bit of a nightmare with the traffic, and I think the cab driver took an especially long route to get there and eke out the fare. You pay 150 baht to come back (a much less tortuous journey). It was a nice homestay except the mattress had wires in it that dug into my ribs and kept waking me up (a mattress protector of some kind would help) and this incredibly noisy rooster started crowing at 6am and just didn't stop. What I longed for most when I got there was a good sleep and that just didn't happen. But if you're not fussy about mattresses and roosters, then it will be fine. Lovely big pond outside full of fish is nice to eat beside
Reviewed November 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jakob from Germany
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Once there, a great place to be”
Service, Hosts, Moat
We chose Phurahong Homestay because of its supposed proximity to the airport. Little did we know that getting there was almost 3/4 hour due to the streets that did NOT go through the MANY large campuses (Army, University, Hospitals - or so we took them to be). The Soi was also difficult to find (Taxi driver had no idea) and yet we got there. Once there, and collected, we enjoyed our stay. The hosts organized the taxi to get us to the airport early the following morning. If we had more time, I believe we would have enjoyed walking the Soi - it was very lively even at the very early hour! In the end, we enjoyed the stay - though not the commute.
Reviewed October 23, 2014
7.3
Very good
Niracha from Thailand
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
friendly ”
friendly
we stayed just for a night . it was good , local area, far from every thing
Reviewed October 01, 2014
5.7
Martin from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Basic budget guest house, very friendly staff. ”
Friendly and helpful staff. Low price. Limited menu but delicious food.
Basic budget guest house with limited facilities.
Reviewed June 22, 2014
6.0
Loren from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
late night cheap hotel convenient to Don Muang air”
nice little oasis
Pleasant. Under 200 baht taxi from airport. Next to a wat. Basic clean rooms. Koi ponds with nice dining next to it. Very attentive staff. Mediocre breakfast included.
Reviewed March 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
gmail from France
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
for airport transfer”
cheap, very nice staff, good breakfast
Reviewed March 02, 2014
5.0
Geoffrey from Australia
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
poor location, basic rooms”
cheap
This homestay should not sell itself as an airport hotel. It is still half and hour from the airport and taxi drivers just can not find it. They will have to telephone in order to locate it as it is up a small alley off a small alley. Too much junk in the room so that you can hardly get in and close the door. I would never recommend this place.
Reviewed February 24, 2014
7.3
Very good
Trudy from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
good, cosey, owners fantastic, breakfast included!”
owners, room,
good, we used it as a airport hotel, but is was quit far away from don muang. De owners were fantastisc. They offered us a breakfast and arranged the taxi to the airport.
Reviewed February 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
XIA from China
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
very nice host and nice hotel”
nice hostress; near to airport; near to local market to buy local food
Reviewed February 04, 2014
6.3
Good
Alex from United States
Group
Buddy Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
God awful beds and the room was infested w bugs”
Great service, kind of close to airport, dinner was from a. Lose food cart that was tasty
God awful beds, the springs were literally sticking out, no flat sheets and just a tiny fleece blanket! We were there for a quick night of sleep between trips, we would have been better off staying at the airport at least then we wouldn't have left with giant mosquito bites all over our faces and a sore back from the beds!
Reviewed January 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Charles from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
An excellent stopover near the old airport”
English speaking, clean & safe
Very good! The owners are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Virginia from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Welcoming staff awaits my arrival near midnight”
Friendly family owners, attentiveness, easy check in
Thanks to a review I stumbled across on Internet last month, I had the fortune of staying at this friendly family guesthouse. The taxi driver called them from the airport for directions and upon arrival 20 minutes later, the mom and kids came out to greet me and carry my suitcase upstairs to my room. They were expecting me, and check-in was simple. Great wireless connection; free wi-fi; delicious Thai breakfast; good advice on how long it would take me to return to airport in a.m. traffick; the mom went on motor scooter to fetch a taxi for me after breakfast. If your there in daylight, walk down the road (facing the guesthouse straight on, go to your left) about a block, and you'll find yourself in the middle of an intriguing large Buddhist Wat complex. I'd return to Phurahong Homestay in a flash when I travel next time to Bangkok!
Reviewed December 13, 2013
6.7
Good
Yeo from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Clean room, close to airport but hard to find”
clean room, nice garden and close to airport
First time staying in hotel. Hard to locate even with a map. The fact that we arrived late at night makes it even harder to find but when we check in, everything was good. Clean room, nice bathroom but the room is a bit small. The dinner we had was simple and not so good because the kitchen had close for the day and they just cook whatever was available. Left early the next morning, so can't comment much.
Reviewed November 13, 2013
7.0
Very good
Matthias from Germany
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Very friendly owner, a bit out of the way”
Clean Room, Friendly Owner, Good Food
The hotel is clean and simple, the owner is still available until late night and tries to help with everything (even cooking up some food after 11pm when we arrived). The hotel is a bit far away from the airport, taxi took nearly 14km to get there.
Reviewed November 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Joy from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
It was like staying with our own Thai family”
Friendly, comfortable, the half moat filled with fish
We had a 1 day layover at DMK airport and wanted to stay somewhere that we would get stuck in traffic on the way back. This fit the need, though it was difficult for the taxi driver to find -- he had to stop several times to ask the motorcycle taxi drivers in the area. Upon arrival they provided us with a map and directions to give to taxi drivers, which turned out to be handy when we decided to venture into the city. In reality we should have just walked to the nearby restaurants, and enjoyed the local area. We enjoyed feeding the fish in the moat, watching the chickens run around further afield, and the resident dogs and cats were friendly, but not too friendly. Air conditioner worked, wifi was fast, and bed was comfortable. The Phurahongs took us in like family, and we and other guests enjoyed chatting and hanging out outside near the fish. It was a very peaceful setting in such a busy area.
Reviewed November 02, 2013
6.7
Good
Fiona from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
perfect for a night in transit - not near airport”
staff were very friendly, and efficient, quiet area for a good sleep
I was only there for one night. Room was clean and a good mattress. Quiet area. I arrived quite late and they still cooked for me which was nice. also arranged for an early morning taxi and packed me off with a free 7/11 breakfast. only downside is the location it is listed as near the don mueng airport which it is not!! still took 20 - 30 mins at 3.30am and no traffic, so would have been an hr easily if in the daytime, even with the toll road.
Reviewed October 28, 2013
6.7
Good
LAN from Australia
Solo traveler
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
good for the price”
close to airport, friendly staff and tuktuk just outsdie homestay
good and foods stalls close by. Short stay is OK. Big room can accommodate quite a few guests good if you have a large family or group
Reviewed October 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Brian from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Very quiet Thai village atmosphere, closeto market”
Friendly people who speak English very well and the really quiet atmosphere where there is a big fish pond with free food to give them, great for the kids!
My stay was very enjoyable as I like the peace and quiet. The hotel is only 50m from the town central market place and big temples. I arrived very late at 3AM and there was someone to greet me and would not go until I was settled. Very helpful after a long flight. All meals are cooked to your liking at street prices as well!!!. The hotel is clean with a family run atmosphere. Very happy and I would recommend this one for a short stay in Don Meung. Less than 200b to the airport by taxi.
Reviewed October 24, 2013
6.3
Good
brian from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
cheap and friendly place to stay”
staff, breakfast and use of internet
The hotel was ideal for a cheap one night stay. It was not very close to the airport and so i question the airport hotel label. Taxi ride was over 20mins
Reviewed October 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
HAIZHEN from China
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
nice people,good service,clean room”
nice people,good service,clean room
The people is very nice,cook special dinner for us as I told them we are vegetarian.They always make you feel relax and have a good time there.I really enjoy the night there. It's a quiet place but my partner said there are noise from the near temple in midnight,so she didnt sleep well.install soundproofing window would be great. Thanks again for the nice service.
Reviewed September 21, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Colin from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Great place for a short stay, particularly if you ”
Staff, comfortable room, lovely garden
This is a lovely relaxing spot that we found good for relaxing for a day or two before taking an international flight out of Don Muang. The staff were a lovely Thai famiy that did everything they could to help us, including breakfast that cost us nothing extra, coffee, juice and rice one morning (to the reviewer that didn't like this you have to understand it is a traditional Thai breakfast and some of us non-Thais really like it!), eggs and toast the next. They even organized a very early taxi & got up to cook our breakfast beforehand! Not a lot of English at the food places around close by, but we managed to get what we wanted. Good for a couple of days in transit. Would stay here again.
Reviewed September 09, 2013
6.0
Meifeng from China
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
terrible location”
Friendly stuff
hard to locate this hostel by our taxi driver! after 10-20 zigzag turns we finally arrived at this family owned hostel!!! they serve simple thai style breakfast with local fruits
Reviewed September 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ying from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Excellent host”
Great service, local neighbourhood
We decided to stay here after reading all the good reviews and we had to catch an early flight out of DMK airport the next day. The service here was amazing, we got breakfast at 5am and when our taxi didnt show up, our host took us to the airport himself and didn't charge more than a taxi would have charged. The room was comfortable and the neighbourhood was full of local shops and eateries. We found some excellent street food and a massage parlour. It was a great stay and we can't thank our host enough for his service.
Reviewed August 15, 2013
4.0
Todd from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
This place does not live up to the high rating”
Quiet location, friendly staff, free WiFi in room
Bed mattress was very hard (harder than most of the 30+ hotels I've stayed in in Thailand). Breakfast was a mound of rice with a few scraps of veggies pressed in. Cats sleeping on dining tables on the outdoor patio. Room was small and cramped. Slow/intermittent WiFi. There is nothing special about this hotel, other than its slightly rural feel within Bangkok. I fail to understand the good reviews given by others. Taxi drivers at Mo Chit BTS station asked for 400 baht to go to this hotel. We walked down the road a bit and finally found a taxi willing to accept 200 baht to go to this hotel. Drivers know about this place and would prefer not to go there because they know they will be riderless on their return trip, so they refuse to use their meters. Another 200 baht charged to go from hotel to Don Muang airport. Will stay closer to the airport next time.
Reviewed July 28, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Madeleine from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
A magical oasis in the middle of Bangkok chaos”
Surroundings, staff, service
We arrived for an overnight stay at a homestay in Bangkok. But everything seemed to be absolutely chaotic and we even wondered whether we should turn around and sleep at the airport. But after the taxi had taken 1/2 dozen twists and turns, there we were in this little piece of paradise just one road back from the main chaos of Bangkok. We were greeted like returning family. A superb meal was served in beautiful gardens and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. All the arrangements were made for us to return to he airport the next morning including breakfast at 4am. Nothing was too much trouble and all was as tho. we were family. Just make sure you tell your taxi driver to ring Mrs Phurahong for directions to make things easy.
Reviewed July 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Jiraporn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Good”
Easy to take a public bus and taxi
I thinkg it is very reasonalble price for 1 night stay to connect me flight to India. The hotel service is good. Easy to get to the hotel and I can find a public bus to the palace. If you want to stay here, you have to take a Song-taew car to the main road and take a public bus to the town. I found it not much difficult, but it is depending on your life style because some may need all conveniences. For me I am ok.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Martin from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Great stopover”
Close to airport, nice ambiance clean room
This was a great place for a stopover. It is located next to a fabulous Hindu temple that we enjoyed exploring. The bed was comfy, place very clean, quiet room,  nice breakfast, excellent internet. We had a meal beside the large fishpond with lanterns surrounding. Pleasant hostess. Taxi driver had no problem finding the place after he phoned. Make sure when you leave the airport,  that you get the driver to use the metre.
Reviewed July 07, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Trinh from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Quiet and Simple in BKK”
close to DMK airport, friendly staff, and nice neighborhood
I stayed in Phurahong Homestay for one night waiting for my next morning flight to another country. The place is simple but comfortable. The staff is attentive and quite helpful when it comes to your needs.
Reviewed July 06, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Beautiful house”
Staff, room, food
Great staff, super clean room with fridge and internet, secure, close to Don Muang by taxi.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Terrific hotel”
Cleanliness, security, staff
This is a beautiful place with a great family. The rooms are spotless and the food is good and affordable. It's on the northside of Bangkok, so of course far from the major attractions, but if you're looking to get away from the tourist madness of Khao San, or you need to be by Don Muang Airport, you can't do better.
Reviewed July 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Claudia from Indonesia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
pleasant and friendly staff”
the clean bathroom, helpfull and friendly staff
My family and I really enjoyed our stay in Phurahong Homestay. The room and especially bathroom are very clean. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpfull especially because most people in Bangkok can't speak english yet. There are many shops like seven eleven and so on around the homestay so it's very easy for us to buy our daily needs. I'm sure you won't regret staying there if you need a quiet, cheap, clean and comfortable motel. Phurahong also prepare pick-up service to and from the airport with reasonable price.
Reviewed June 29, 2013
7.0
Very good
Yi from China
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
very nice, attentive staff”
attentive, willing to help staff, quiet environment, beautiful pond
I select this hotel based on high review scores on websites & coz I arrive airport mid night & need to flight transfer next morning. The hotel owner are very nice. He waiting for my arrival till mid night(1:30 am or so). Since I have to catch the next morning flight, I got up early. They even prepared quick breakfirst for me & run outside to call a taxi. Due to no taxi at that time,the Boss drove me to airport by himself with no more charge than taxi fee(same as 100b) ! I paid him more with great thanks! Next time, I will stay few more days to enjoy their beautiful pond surounding the hostel & quiet environment with a cup of coffee,,,etc. They are really nice people and customer oriented ! Love them!!!
Reviewed June 14, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
x from China
Solo traveler
Buddy Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
A little far from the airport, but really homelike”
service,surrounding,food
Host and hostess are very friendly.we reached the hotel late in the night,but were warmly received.Our airplane took off early in the next morning,Thanks to they helped us to hail the taxi.We all like the food,including the free fruit and the delicious breakfast.
Reviewed June 12, 2013
6.7
Good
LAN from Australia
Group
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
good value for money”
price and cleaniness
Reviewed June 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
couldn't find the hotel. no cabby could either. :(”
i couldn't find the hotel so i had to book another hotel. so i don't know much about it
Reviewed May 25, 2013
5.3
Egon from Norway
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Cheap”
Friendly staff Cheap.. Small rooms, too far from airport
Reviewed April 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Andreas from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Lovely atmosphere with nice garden!”
Friendly staff, good English, quick check-in
It was a lovely stay, though short to catch a taxi for the following morning. The taxi got organized for me and I got even brought to a massage-place by the staff. Thanks for everything!!
Reviewed April 12, 2013
3.7
Jacob from Netherlands
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Hotel don't reflect to the information!”
There no best things!
t's over valued regarding the recommendtion ! Distance to Don Muang airport is 4 km as the crow flies but by road more than 15km by terribly traffice jam!
Reviewed April 12, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Thuy from Vietnam
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Feel like our new home in Bangkok”
Clean, comfortable room, very good, helpful staff
Our family stayed here for 1 night only and then move to the central of Bangkok. I regret that I didn't know the location was near to all the places we wanted to visit in Bangkok like Dream World, Safari World, and Impact earlier. Though the owner has emailed me and told me not to take the airport taxi (at the taxi service), just go straight to outside and take a taxi there, it was late and I was so confused that I came to the taxi service and paid 900THB just for sure that we could arrive ASAP. We arrived very late at midnight after a long drive through dark and small streets. But the hottest appeared and took us directly to the room without a question.It was family room with 3 double beds. My 4 year-old daughter loves the room so much. She talked about it even a few day after when we moved to another hotel . The Homestay is very near to a shrine where we came in early morning to watch local people wandering around. 7/11 is all around, so we easily got a sim card and top up. The owner prepared breakfast for all of us even my little 2 year olds girl had her all dish and a dish of delicious fruits. After breakfast we went to Dream World. For my mom felt sick, she stayed at the hotel. After check out time, they let her go to a single room and even prepare lunch for her without any more charge. They called taxi for us and did everything to support our family sincerely. The first night with whole family in another country was peaceful and comfortable as just we had stayed in our own home thanks to the staff of Phurahong Homestay.
Reviewed April 11, 2013
7.0
Very good
Stephen from New Zealand
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Clean and comfy”
clean room, comfortable, nice quiet garden with water and waterfall
Reviewed April 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
AUGUSTINUS from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Nice,lovely hotel with good food and staff!”
Nice,clean rooms and very good staff!
Good,small hotel with good food and nice ,friendly staff!
Reviewed March 11, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Attila from Hungary
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
simple place but lovely staff”
lovely staff
We are a jung couple from Hungary. We arrived there very late time but the owner wait for us with great smile in her face. There are lot of cute animals (dog and cat). The room price do not include the breakfast but the lady served us a tasty breakfast at very early morning. It was a short but very nice stay. They also organized us cheap taxi.
Reviewed March 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
YAN from China
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013
Quite place to stay and clean room and nice host”
Near Impact chanllenger
I had very good time in Phurahong Homestay. The hostel was quite and the room was clean. The owner helped a lot. The staffs were nice. The hostess cooked very well. Though the location is far away from the centre of Bangkok, but it is near Don Meaung airport and the exhibition halls, both 20 mins by taxi if you are not in a traffic jam, taxi charge is about 120 Baht for one way.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
AUGUSTINUS from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Nice,lovely hotel with good food and good staff!”
Restaurant on the water,good place to stay
Nice,lovely hotel with good food and very helpfull staff!!
Reviewed March 03, 2013
7.7
Very good
ZHAO from China
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Nice service but location isn't convenient”
Good service and food
The service is very good but we took 4 hours to arrive the hotel from airport because the terrible traffic in Bangkok. But the hotel is near Don Meung airport and the hotel could help to call the taxi. Good food and the hotel is clean.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
A gorgeous little oasis near the domestic airport!”
owners lovely, nice room, great surroundings near hotel
I loved it here, off the main road and fantastic owners. The couple really went out their way to make you feel like your staying in the house. Little moat around house, small menu but good food. Recommend!
Reviewed February 18, 2013
8.0
Excellent
henry from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
a very nice establishment with helpful owners”
being hot weather, the owners had switched on the air conditioner to cool the room - a very nice touch. A comfortable room with suitable and adequate facilities will recommend it to friends
Beware of the taxi service. I was charged 300bahts plus 60 baht toll fee by using the to; road and 1.5 hours. If you are asked to pay the toll fee trhen you are being cheated The actual cost should be 110 bahts and the journey is 20 minutes, no need to go through the toll road.
Reviewed February 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Huixia from China
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
convinient transportation but small room”
clean and cozy
small homestay, far away from mochit station, but near the donmuang airport. the host and hostess are nice, offering waking up, free breakfast and taxi servise. the superroom is very small but cozy and clean.
Reviewed February 15, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
DENG
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
excellent service!!”
Good Homestay and very nice people!
The houses were very clean with many lovely dogs and cats in the yard.The boss speaks English very well.Food cooked by proprietress were delicious and the price was cheap.Breakfast was free.Eight of us are satisfied with the service.The homeguest is near airport,but maybe it's difficult to reach there.It's better to call them and ask them to e-mail a map in English and THailand.
Reviewed February 12, 2013