Hotel Reviews of Plantation Island Resort Mamanuca Islands Fiji - Page 1
Book Now: Plantation Island Resort

Very good
From 112 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9
Recommended by 83% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (112)Booking.com Reviews (235)
7.9
Very good
From 112 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.7
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.7
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Français
한국어
Room type
1 Bedroom
2 Bedroom
Beachfront Bure
Poolside Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 86 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Kristina from New Zealand
Family with young children
Poolside Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2017
Great holiday ”
We had read so many poor reviews but were pleasantly surprised by this resort. Sure it could do with a little tlc compared to some places we've been but it's clean, has excellent facilities, heaps to do and the perfect place to take kids of all ages. The resort is massive. We had a poolside room which was by the pool that is best for young children, therefore our 10 and 12 year old preferred to swim in one of the 2 other deep pools or in the sea on the water park. Next time I'd go for one of the garden rooms because the neighbors are not so close and many of them were in better more central locations. We purchased the meal plan which was free for all 4 of our children when we paid for the adults. Each night was a different buffet or you could go to the restaurant as well. Dinner starts at 6 which was a bit late for my 2 year old so I was pleased I had some food in the room to give him. The buffet breakfasts were excellent. I would have liked to be able to have a cocktail at the pool but it wasn't really set up for that sort of thing so we mostly had our duty free drinks outside our room! We had heard that drinking water was expensive but it his was not the case $1.50FJD for a 1 litre bottle at the resort shop or bar. The bicycle hire was great - given the size of the resort and it also meant we could easily go to musket cove for lunch or supplies- this is about a 10 minute walk away, or less. Lots of activities offered if you want to get out of the resort or off the island. Kids club was popular with the 3-8 year olds so our kids we too young and too old for us to make good use of this.
Reviewed July 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Angela from New Zealand
Family with young children
2 Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Recommend for children ”
Bit expensive getting there and back on boat loved the 69 sqm garden accommodation rather than the m ore expensive beachfront 50sqm staff at kids club amazing
Reviewed June 29, 2017
7.6
Very good
fu from Australia
Family with young children
Poolside Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Lots of activities but too crowd”
Plantation is a very popular island for families with all different age kids, it is very kids friendly resort, all the furnitures are no sharp corners and secure, lots of activities for kids and adults. It is a huge resort with lots, lots, and lots of rooms, we picked poolside room, which has high capacity but it has joined walls with other rooms ( very thin ones), easily can hear the kids running around and screaming in early am and bedtime. It is a three star resort, so all the facility is old and bit dusty, no tooth brush and tv in the room ( but it has a mini mart sales toothbrush and other things with reasonable price) . The kids club was really great, lots of things to do for all age of kids, under 4 will be charged for hiring a nanny. The activities for Plantation worth 5 stars. If you don't mind much about the facility, plantation is a great choice for a family trip
Reviewed April 28, 2017
3.6
Ishizaki from Japan
Couple
Poolside Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Not for adult”
Expensive foods and drinks, a room is 80's
Reviewed April 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Marj from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
Enjoyed our stay very much. Ravin and Katalina (Lina) most helpful.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mark from New Zealand
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 7 nights in February 2017
Great Week at Plantation Island Resort”
After 40 years of never being near the place, it had changed very little in style, other than a new reception update pool, and expansion in various other ways. I enjoyed going back to it, and seeing how it had lived up over time from cyclones and storms. As it's a family destination they cater for children, and in parts the place is showing ware and tear, and could do in part, with a lick and polish, but all the good qualities of a Fiji holiday were displayed to us by their friendly staff and clean rooms, (we had an ocean view in the 200 section). The boys at the sports area were great, lovely to see them enjoying their work and playing at the same time, the various food outlets delivered good food, (a little costly I felt but overall good quality). A good wee coffee lady in her area had excellent coffee each day, she made as good a coffee as anywhere upmarket in NZ or Aussi that I've experienced, , After all its an tropical island, so there are bigger costs associated to providing on an island food of a good quality. Years ago I use to visit the many island on a regular basic as a NZ rep for a company, so I knew many of the engineers and managers and even the owner at one stage. (sadly, he died a couple of years back) For us seeing the Fijians live, love, play and sharing their paradise was part of our holiday. if you want more up market Lomami resort is 100 mtrs up the path, Lomami is an All Adult Style facility, we were very happy with Plantation and would return someday, (but not in 40 years from now). I did read some reviews of having had bad experiences over time, we certainly had none, we had 7 days there, and enjoyed it immensely. Thank you Plantation for a great week on your island resort Mark
Reviewed February 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jamie from New Zealand
Group
2 Bedroom
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Vinaka Vakalevu”
We had a great time at plantation Island with a wedding group. Awesome customer service, great value for money, very friendly employers always there with a smile to greet you. We totally loved the atmosphere of plantation island is absolutely amazing and so welcoming. I would highly recommend anyone to come here and take a slice of paradise with them
Reviewed February 07, 2017
6.4
Good
Brianna from Australia
Family with young children
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 8 nights in December 2016
not the best”
kids club was miserable, staff were bot very friendly and the food situation needs addressing
Reviewed January 10, 2017
6.0
Cassie from Australia
Family with young children
Studio Garden View
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016
Could do soooo much better”
Poor food quality despite the ludicrous expense. Nearly everything is additional in cost on top of the accommodation expense. Muscat Cove is only 300m up and has amazing food, friendly staff and many more inclusions for your accommodation cost. The staff at Plantation Island Resort don't seem to enjoy working there (on the whole) and could be rude at times. Which surprised me because I have always found Fijians to be extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Would not stay here again and recommend you spend the money and go to Muscat Cove instead - they even have their own organic farm that they harvest from daily for the restaurant (and you can taste the freshness!)
Reviewed January 08, 2017
5.6
Peter from Australia
Family with young children
2 Bedroom
Stayed 7 nights in October 2016
Great resort expensive meals friendly staff”
Food was pricy shower slippery welcome cocktails very expensive staff friendly and understanding picturesque location warm clear water very enjoyable
Reviewed November 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Selena from Australia
Family with young children
Studio Garden View
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016
Nice location but very expensive!”
Great if you have kids aged 4 plus. No good for people without children! Very expensive for a 3 star resort. Location is beautiful but food is average and very expensive.
Reviewed August 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Junlin from Australia
Family with young children
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
good location”
good
Reviewed July 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Junlin from Australia
Family with young children
Poolside Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
very good for kids”
good
Reviewed July 21, 2016
4.0
Seraaj from Australia
Family with teens
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Over priced and tired”
Staff are tired and place looks tired. Not value for money and very expensive food and drinks.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kristen from Australia
Family with young children
1 Bedroom
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
Great family holiday destination”
The abeles with my parents and my 3 year old daughter and had the most amazing time! It is catered towards kids and is also the most beautiful setting ever! We hired the Bula bikes for the duration of our stay to get around and rode them all over the island to check it all out- I'd highly recommend getting them. There's loads of activities to choose from or you can just find yourself a hammock on the beach or a lounge by the pool to relax in paradise. We would go back to plantation island in a heartbeat and highly recommend it to others. We've been to Fiji a few times and this is the best place we've stayed. LOVE IT!!
Reviewed July 06, 2016
4.4
Veena from United States
Family with young children
1 Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Unfortunately Dirty Rooms in a Great Location ”
The rooms and bathrooms were not clean at all. There was blood on the bathroom wall, roaches in the bathroom, dirty towels, and smudges of brown stuff on the wall above our head. Gross! Ananda'so restaurant had a friendly staff, but the food lacked flavor. Great location with dirty rooms.
Reviewed July 04, 2016
7.6
Very good
Kaylynn from New Zealand
Family with young children
Studio Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in June 2016
Excellent location, terrible slow service”
I've been to Fiji before and get the concept of "Island time" so we enjoy slowing down and do expect everything to run slower that at home. However the service at PIR was mostly terrible. The staff at Black Coral restaurant were not attentive, brought us special cocktails as a welcome (pink sugar water) made it seem like a complimentary drink then tried to charge us $40!! We were the 2nd family to arrive one evening and it slowly filled up and as other tables received their meals ours way still M.I.A. After 45mins I went to the hotel manager to complain that the staff couldn't give us an eta on our meals. We had an 11 month old with us so waiting patiently while starving isn't possible. The hotel manage came over to speak to the duty manager. Our meals arrived shortly after. The restaurant manager asked us not to speak to the hotel manager because then the complaint would go higher up. (Isn't that the point?). When settling the bill we were charged for the yuck cocktails which I had spilled mine and hubby couldn't drink his because it was sickly sweet. We refused to pay for them as they were described as a "welcome gift". There was no extention of a discount for our late meals or for being forgotten. When I later told the hotel manager about the attempt to charge us for cocktails we didn't ask for he just shrugged! On our departure the ferry was to leave the port at 8.45am. At 8.45am our luggage hadn't been picked up by hotel staff! Definitely a stress for us on our last day. Sadly we didn't get to take one last beach walk with an iced coffee like we'd hoped to. Instead hubby and baby were at the pier making sure the ferry didn't leave without me and our luggage while I waited for over an hour for our luggage to be collected from our room. The buffet staff, cleaning staff and babysitter (Bulo) were amazing. The staff at the Black Coral were "tourist tired" and seemed to disliked their work and we're generally rude. The facilities are wonderful for families with you
Reviewed June 14, 2016
4.8
HYE from South Korea
Family with teens
Poolside Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
terrible service”
dishonest employees
Reviewed May 17, 2016
5.6
Sunita from Canada
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Fun in fiji”
I was disappointed with service n over priced food at plantation island and also with the rooms. Did not like the bure style rooms felt like a jail. Didn't feel we got our moneys worth at this resort. It was kid friendly and had lots of stuff for them to stay busy. Views sunset was amazing. Which was free! I would not return.
Reviewed April 06, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
bronwyn from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
Always a pleasure going back. However I did notice the changes new management have made”
The new policies need a review. But an absolute paradise. People and atmosphere ...wonderful
Reviewed March 18, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Amy from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Lovely Staff”
Location, beaches & friendly staff
Reviewed November 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Rusiate from New Zealand
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Very nice”
Staff rooms activities
Very pleasant
Reviewed October 27, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Jacob from Australia
Family with young children
Poolside Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Good”
Staff were great with kids, beautiful location, good activities
Good
Reviewed September 13, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Leeana from New Zealand
Family with teens
Studio Garden View
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
Plantation island”
location, friendly staff and families
Reviewed August 31, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Gemma from Australia
Family with young children
1 Bedroom
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
We love Plantation Island”
The weather, location and people
Reviewed August 21, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Kimberley from Australia
Couple
Stayed 13 nights in May 2015
Fiji Fun”
The location, the staff and the activities
We've stayed at plantation 4 times now. Whilst some of the rooms are getting tired they are going through a revamp in the very near future. The location is fantastic. Snorkel straight off the beach. The best part of plantation is the staff. They are friendly, helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay awesome
Reviewed May 31, 2015
6.3
Good
Simon from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015
Go for the location!”
Location Location Location
We already knew what to expect... great beaches, swimming, sunsets, lazing in hammocks... but very average food, drinks, and quality with not cheap prices. If you go prepared it's a great holiday location!
Reviewed May 29, 2015
7.3
Very good
Kevin from New Zealand
Couple
Studio Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Pleasant resort”
Mostly friendly staff. Clean and tidy grounds. Nice beach.
Our stay was pleasant, we did receive a room upgrade to a beach bure, that was very nice. We were there for a wedding which went very well. The resort does this well. They are renovating the accommodation so the noise in certain areas could have been annoying. All in all a pleasant time if s little overpriced.
Reviewed May 25, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Rick from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 7 nights in March 2015
Gotta love PIR”
People, Location, Weather
Our stay was fantastic. We had 20+ ranging from 3 to 63, in our group and 99% said they would go back again tomorrow if we could. Loved it and was very relaxing. The resort itself could do with a bit of a upgrade. Wewere lucky enough to be in brand new rooms so no complaints there. Buffet could be a little better but I thought a la carte was good value for money. Prices for drinks were a bit higher than I would of liked but not extreme.
Reviewed April 03, 2015
5.3
Lennart from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
We had bedbugs”
beach dance
Relaxing and see above
Reviewed January 11, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Nick from New Zealand
Family with young children
Poolside Room
Stayed 12 nights in May 2014
Great family holiday again”
Great staff, fun for kids, great diving!
Reviewed July 09, 2014
7.0
Very good
Lisa from New Zealand
Family with young children
Studio Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
Great Island Beaches”
Beach, activities and friendly staff
Reviewed June 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Alda from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Just fantastic!”
Location, the setting and lovely staff
I had a wonderful time and wish now that I had booked to stay longer. Beautiful surroundings and the beach is gorgeous. The staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you.
Reviewed June 01, 2014
5.7
Robert from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014
Great location,room was huge,staff are hopeless”
Location Location Location
Amazing location and the room was very spacious everything is in a cash card which is a bit of a paid check ur bill and stock up on food and beverage before u go, beachs are like something straight out of a movie only downfall is some staff are extremely lazy u ask them something at a counter then literally 2 minutes later they ask if they can help u they cant even remember serving u 2 minutes ago hahaha maybe too much carva
Reviewed May 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
Mary from Australia
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
Relaxing.”
Beach, Pools and weather.
Very relaxing stay with good beaches and pools.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
7.3
Very good
Dimitrios from Australia
Couple
Poolside Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014
Nice family resort with lots of fun activities.”
Beginner Snorkelling, Beach, Activities.
Overall it was a very enjoyable experience. The room had a couple of issues and I feel that some of the rooms are probably due for a bit of a renovation. The beach and activities were a joy, and most of the food and drinks were really nice. The swimming and snorkelling were the highlight. The staff were also very friendly.
Reviewed March 31, 2014
5.3
Jaroslav from Czech Republic
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 7 nights in January 2014
average”
location. sea
acceptable
Reviewed February 12, 2014
7.7
Very good
Chen from China
Family with young children
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
safe, friendly, relaxed”
beach, people, garden
the beach front bure is very family-oriented with great view. Convenient for jumping to the sea for all kinds of activities. Kind staff and neighbours. Food is so so and pace is slow. But that's a relaxing holiday.
Reviewed February 07, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
QI from China
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
nice environnement”
servce breakfast garden
Reviewed November 22, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Gemma from Australia
Couple
Poolside Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Friendly staff and snorkelling off the beach!”
Incredible snorkelling, good rooms and friendly staff
Amazing staff, perfect weather and water for snorkelling and amazing sea life to see.
Reviewed August 27, 2013
7.0
Very good
PRETESH from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Really good for families . Wide variety of food . ”
Char laundry , adventure sports activities . Good food
Reviewed August 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Peter from New Zealand
Family with young children
1 Bedroom
Stayed 7 nights in July 2013
Fijian Family Island Holiday Resort”
Three pools, two for children including a waterslide, snorkel from the beach or take a boat to very clear water on the outer reefs, lots of dining options and a shop.
Malolo Cat from Denerau is a nice modern fast cat to get to Plantation. Nice Fijian welcome. The Garden bures are nice and large and have a seperate bedroom - good for families. Also have good sized fridges - bigger than a bar fridge to keep plenty of food and drinks cool. The three pools keep things interesting and snorkelling from the beach is good and a boat trip to go further out is worthwhile. Buffet is reasonable value and the al carte restaurant has good variety. You can also visit Musket Cove resort or Lomani (over 16 years only)for a change. Beaches good and nice lagoon. Bigger resort than some of the coral cays.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Windy from Australia
Solo traveler
Studio Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
luxury, great resort, beautiful beach ”
great access to beautiful beach
it's the only resort available on the island- i travelled by myself and didn't meet any other single travellers, there were many families travelling to the island so i recommend the island to families- young and old. when you walk outside the resort you get to see clear water, amazing views to the beach, it's walking distance to a few restaurants, has activities for everyone including massages, golf, swimming etc. great service too
Reviewed June 12, 2013
4.7
Bernadette from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013
Great location, average resort”
Beach location, clear water, can access other resorts for better quality food and service.
I was disappointed with our stay at Plantation as the resort was very ordinary and run down (eg. main pool had rotten pool decking with weeds growing through the cracks with obvious maintenance required. Customer service was average and the food was basic at the buffet and other two restaurants in the resort. Two other resorts exist on the island which was a bonus as we were able to dine at their quality restaurants. We also stayed on another Island and a resort on the Coral Coast and both these places met my expectations of a Fiji holiday.
Reviewed June 03, 2013
7.7
Very good
Selena from Australia
Couple
Poolside Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013
Relaxing”
Affordable for Fiji as most resorts on the islands are too expensive. Nannies for young children. Range of activities.
Reviewed June 02, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ellen from Australia
Couple
Poolside Room
Stayed 7 nights in May 2013
Great location but the resort could use facelift”
the location is amazing, the free activities are great, the staff are helpful
The hotel is all about the location, although its a hassle to get out to the island. our flight was too late int eh day to go that day so we stayed at the Raffles Gateway Hotel in Nadi, which has great food and service. so we went out the following morning and there was a confusion with our transfers but it was ok in the end. the food is good however there is not enough variety. we ate at the buffet one night, and never had lunch there as its pretty expensive for what it is. The snorkelling is amazing and a trip out to the sandbar is a must! however to do any activities they require a minimum of 6 people, so unless you go in a family/group you may miss out and not know until you turn up to leave, this happened twice for us! The hotel is ideal for people who plan to go surfing at Cloudbreak, etc as its only 20 min by boat and goes a few times a day. I would definatly stay here as a family although maybe not again as a couple.
Reviewed May 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Island fun”
Snorkelling, kayaking and other activities included, good snorkelling with tropical fish and coral directly off of beach, choice of restaurants and shops close by
Reviewed May 02, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Elsa from Australia
Family with young children
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 9 nights in April 2013
Incredibly awesome place!”
Bure was 10m from the water, cleaned daily, staff were really friendly!
This was our second time back here and we loved it so much we chose to get married here and bring along 40 of our friends/family - They impressed everyone - The rooms are huge, even the hotel ones, it is an ideal location for families and couples - The staff were really friendly & helpful - The staff in the beauty salon did an awesome job with hair & makeup for 6 of the bridal party and me.
Reviewed May 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Esther from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Stunning location, perfect relaxing holiday spot”
Friendly staff, always happy to help. Wide range of fun, relaxing holiday activities
Beautiful resort, very relaxed and family friendly. Reasonable priced menu options, and delicious food. There was a wide range of sport and tourist activities to participate in, but we enjoyed most of our time simply taking in the beautiful surroundings.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
5.7
Shae from New Zealand
Couple
Studio Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Nice location, poor service”
Nice location with a large beach and a variety of activities
Rooms and quite large but kinda old. Everything works I guess. Beach area is great and hammocks are always nice to chill out in. Many activites to choose from. The thing that let it down for me was a mixture of average service and bad food. The main restaurant needs a revamp. There are also lots of families, kind of feels like your at a school camp a lot. Other than that it was still a nice place but I would try something else next time.
Reviewed March 06, 2013