Port Arthur Villas
HD Image
 Port Arthur Villas
Lobby Port Arthur Villas
Balcony/terrace Port Arthur Villas
See all 28 photos
Removed from saved list
9.0
Exceptional
/10
(353 reviews)See what guests said
Housekeeping5
Breakfast1
24-hour front desk1
See map
9.0
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location
Parking
FREE
4-star Resort villa
Free Wi-Fi

Port Arthur Villas

52 Safety Cove Road, Port Arthur, Port Arthur, Australia, 7182 - See map
"The country setting is beautiful and the villas were reasonably clean and comfortable."
Anna - January 27, 2016
Excellent cleanliness
8.7 rating for cleanliness
Excellent service
8.7 rating for service
Excellent facilities on premise
8.4 facilities on premise
Excellent comfort
8.0 room quality and comfort
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Bar

  • Garden

  • Ticket services

  • Smoking area

Cheaper than 93% of all properties in Port Arthur in the last 24 hoursCompared to 15 Port Arthur properties at Agoda for various dates
Value for money7.9
Location rating9.0

Rooms available at Port Arthur Villas

8.0
Very good
Room comfort & quality
Two Bedroom Villa (4 People)
Two Bedroom Villa (4 People)
...
  • Room size: 55 m²/592 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Two-Bedroom Large Family Villa (5 People)
Two-Bedroom Large Family Villa (5 People)
...
  • Room size: 49 m²/527 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 1 bunk bed an...
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Queen Room
Superior Queen Room
...
  • Room size: 33 m²/355 ft²
  • 1 single bed and 1 queen be...
Enter dates to see prices
Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 People)
Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 People)
...
  • Room size: 55 m²/592 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Two-Bedroom Large Family Villa (2 People)
Two-Bedroom Large Family Villa (2 People)
...
  • Room size: 49 m²/527 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 1 bunk bed an...
Enter dates to see prices
One-Bedroom Villa
One-Bedroom Villa
...
  • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Studio (3 Adults)
Studio (3 Adults)
...
  • Room size: 33 m²/355 ft²
  • 1 single bed and 1 queen be...
Enter dates to see prices
Two-Bedroom Villa (3 People)
Two-Bedroom Villa (3 People)
...
  • Room size: 55 m²/592 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Two-Bedroom Large Family Villa (4 people)
Two-Bedroom Large Family Villa (4 people)
...
  • Room size: 49 m²/527 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 1 bunk bed an...
Enter dates to see prices
Two-Bedroom Family Villa (3 People)
Two-Bedroom Family Villa (3 People)
...
  • Room size: 55 m²/592 ft²
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 queen bed & 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices

What people love about Port Arthur Villas

  • 8.8
    Excellent
    Staff 

    "Nice reception staff and nice place to stay."

    fun H.

    |

    December 24, 2018

  • 10.0
    Exceptional
    Location

    "Great location on the Port Arthur circuit."

    Ian

    |

    January 5, 2018

  • 10.0
    Exceptional

    "Comfortable accommodation."

    Jarrod

    |

    January 14, 2017

Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:

9.0

Exceptional
353 reviews
Cleanliness
8.7
Facilities
8.4
Location
9.0
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
Walk to Port Arthur, beautiful garden, friendly owner.
Anna from Australia
Couple
More about Port Arthur Villas

More about Port Arthur Villas

If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Port Arthur, look no further than Port Arthur Villas. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer.

Port Arthur Villas offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.

All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Port Arthur Villas is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort, and convenience in Port Arthur.

Show less

Most talked about facilities

Housekeeping
7 mentions
Breakfast
2 mentions
Internet
2 mentions

What they offer

10.0
Exceptional

"Great atmosphere also created by regular guests."

Ian

|

January 5, 2018

View all reviews
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Reviews of Port Arthur Villas from real guests

Overall rating
9.0
Exceptional
From 353 reviews
9.4Location
9.2Service
9.0Cleanliness
Agoda Reviews (43)Booking.com Reviews (310)
Rating via Agoda8.4
/
10
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.4
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.7
Value for money7.9
High score for Port Arthur
Rating
9+ Exceptional (11)
8-9 Excellent (5)
7-8 Very Good (3)
6-7 Good (2)
<6 Below Expectation (4)
Time of the year
Mar - May (5)
Jun - Aug (2)
Sep - Nov (8)
Dec - Feb (10)
All guests (43)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 25 verified guest comments
12
8.8
Excellent
Heidi from Australia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 2 nights in February 2020

Excellent”

Nice location rooms were very clean !!

Reviewed February 24, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in February 2020

Exceptional”

Very comfortable and walking distance to the historic site. Very friendly staff

Reviewed February 23, 2020
9.6
Exceptional
Chi from Singapore
Family with young children
Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2019

Fantastic room and location”

We enjoyed our one day stay in the clean and spacious room. The staff was also friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed November 09, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jane from Australia
Family with teens
2 Bedroom Villa
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Great stay in Port Arthur ”

Fabulous service by Deb the operations manager. Great value for money. There is even a separate entrance into the Port Arthur Historical Site just across the road.

Reviewed April 10, 2019
8.8
Excellent
fun from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Excellent”

nice reception staff and nice place to stay.

Reviewed December 24, 2018
3.6
Farina from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Have let me down”

Staff was super rude! I requested an early c/in but something came up on the way and she was on & on & on the whole time during my c/in time that she had to wait. — Room is too old fashion. — Cleanliness, even the bed were dusty. I personally won’t recommend this but a last resort to go.

Reviewed April 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Derek from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Very friendly and helpful management who even dropped us and our luggage at the Historic Site. ”

Hadn’t realised that they also provide BBQ packs and breakfast packs at a very reasonable price as well as selling some very good local wines. An extremely pleasant stay and would definitely come back again. Thank you.

Reviewed January 07, 2018

You are welcome and thank you for taking the time to review our property and thank us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Port Arthur Villas.

Responded January 14, 2018
Port Arthur Villas
10.0
Exceptional
Ian from Australia
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Villa
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

New Year brought in with cheapest mini bar ever”

Great location on the Port Arthur circuit. Informative staff even helped by children light their sparklers. Great atmosphere also created by regular guests.

Reviewed January 05, 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to review our property and we are always here to help. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Responded January 14, 2018
Port Arthur Villas
9.6
Exceptional
Bernardo from Venezuela
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Exceptional”

super helpful staff; clean and functional 2 bedrooms appt, best location, highly recommended!

Reviewed July 11, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Vernia from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Port Arthur for those with Gammy knees!”

If you are very mobile, Port Arthur Villas are within walking distance of your accom - you even get a key to enter via a back gate and not have to worry about parking your car. If you need to drive, like we did, then be there at opening time so that you can get in the closest car park to the Visitors Centre. For the very infirm there is a Commandant's tour in the buggy, costs an extra $30 per head . This was not available on the day of our tour because of a cruise ship with 2000 bodies being on site. However we somehow lucked out and scored a buggy which was only meant to go from A to B but was driven by a frustrated tour guide and he let us stay on board for an hour while he drove us everywhere Amazing! Back to Port Arthur Villas - very helpful with their advice etc. Booked us into Gabriel's for first night's dinner which was excellent. However, they warned us that dinner at the Port Arthur Lodge would be rather lacking - and it was. Service was non-existent, food was very basic BUT the bread was excellent!!

Reviewed February 17, 2017

Thanks for this review, glad you liked the bread. That restaurant is better now, but the site is spending $12 mill on their restaurant and will be amazing. Our new product for Apartment Motel, backpacker and Lodges will be online by March 2018 - Tony Park

Responded May 18, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
9.6
Exceptional
Michelle from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Very Nice ”

Good size and clean

Reviewed January 23, 2017

Thanks for this review - New owners in 2016 and ready for a $ 8 million expansion - Tony Park

Responded May 18, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
10.0
Exceptional
Jarrod from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Great Location”

So close to the Port Arthur historic site - if you're travelling to the area for this reason it is a great choice. Comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed January 14, 2017

Thanks for this review - New owners in 2016 and ready for a $ 8 million expansion - nearly time to come back again. We will have a range of accommodation including Motel Apartments, backpacker and family lodges. Tony Park

Responded May 18, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
10.0
Exceptional
Shane from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Cant get any closer to port arthur”

Excellent place. Very clean an so close you can walk to port arthur in 5 mins so font have to drive. Perfect

Reviewed January 01, 2017

Thanks for this review - New owners in 2016 and ready for a $ 8 million expansion - nearly time to come back again. Tony Park

Responded May 18, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
4.4
VG from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Customer service was highly disappointing; Even after paying a hefty amount, being told that wifi does not work properly because of the hills around was a lame excuse. On top of it, how would the rec”

I would never like any of my friends to visit this place because of such poor customer service. I stayed in five different places in Tasmania but this was the only place where the receptionist treated us with scant respect and suspicion even after I agreed to pay extra for the two children that came along with me. Egoistic and slightly arrogant responses provided by the receptionist made my whole family feel bad about the stay there. A BIG NO TO ANY FUTURE TRAVELLERS SEEKING ACCOMMODATION IN THIS PLACE.

Reviewed December 23, 2016

Thanks for your response. It does concern me that you felt uncomfortable when you were found to try to have extra people in the room than what you had paid for. We have a 4 star property and run it very professionally - I cannot talk for the other properties that you were able to get your older children in as free - some cheaper places do that to get clients in, as the property is a lesser grade and see that as a benefit, however we don't. We advertise a separate rate for adults on all sites - including Agoda,'s and that you were made to feel disrespectful - when you were trying to not pay for your children, is a normal reaction. Yous is the only time that has happened and I hope you understand that we advertise and charge for Adults and Children - that's the norm in Australia. We were very helpful for a number of things at that time - internet and other assistance to try to make your holiday great - as we have to all the others who come and stay with us. 8 mill expansion has started

Show more
Port Arthur Villas
7.2
Very good
Wong from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Good place”

We stayed 1 night for sightseeing in Port Arthur Historical Site which is within 5 mins drive from the Villa. The place is good yet the bathroom needs to be cleaner. It seems to have been used for many years and the surface looks rusty. Also stains can be seen on the toilet lid. Also free wifi access is limited to 1-200 MB depending on the wifi pass given by the reception. Except those mentioned above it is quite a good place to stay in Port Arthur

Reviewed July 01, 2016

Thanks for the review. There are new owners noe at Port Arthur Villass - and way better WiFi. New $ 8 million development under way, so be great to see you again when you return. The water has tannin in it - same for all the water in the area, we are connected onto mains water and its a challenge. Part of our redevelopment is a system that will take this natural and safe particls from the water and this will take away the stainiung from the showers and loos. Thanks again

Responded April 19, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
7.2
Very good
HUISHAN from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

1 night stay in port arthur”

we reach the accom after dinner and it was pitch dark enroute to the accom. host was thoughtful to left us a note for instructions to our accom. place was clean with facilities that suffice for 1 night stay however my friend and i had a "scary" night. the oven light lit up of no where and "clicking" sound started to come on without either of us touching it. we went to inform the reception lady the next morning on the incident and she was kinda shock to hear that as well.

Reviewed May 09, 2016

Thanks for this review - New owners in 2016 and ready for a $ 8 million expansion - We chased up what that could be and we found that at that time there was an issue with power being unreliable. If the power had been disconnected then when it came back on line, there would be small noises from the oven and fridge as it all corrected itself. Not an issue now as the power to the area has been upgraded. nearly time to come back again. Tony Park

Responded May 18, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
8.8
Excellent
Anna from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Nice villas in beautiful garden setting”

We only stayed for one night but were happy with the accommodation. The country setting is beautiful and the villas were reasonably clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that the bedside tables were very, very dusty. I was glad to see a real hairdryer in the bathroom, not one of those small, white, wall mounted ones most places have. Walk to Port Arthur, beautiful garden, friendly owner. You must clean up or will be charged a cleaning fee. Not a big deal for us but when on holidays, most people don't want to be stuck cleaning dishes etc. We would come back again.

Reviewed January 27, 2016

Thanks for your review. Yes crazy notices put up by the previous owner. You will glad to know after we have purchased it we have taken down all those negative things as just want visitors staying with us to have a great time. We take the good with the bad as most times people are great. New $8 million development now with Council and starting very soon. Thanks again New Owners

Responded April 19, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
8.7
Excellent
Cheng from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Comfy stay at a good location”

Location, bed, kitchen

We had a comfy stay there; the surrounding environment is beautiful and it's only 10 mins drive to the White Beach and Port Arthur. We enjoyed our time cooking at the kitchen with almost every equipment needed. It's a nice place for small group or family. The only bad thing is there is no wifi in the room.

Reviewed October 30, 2015

Hi Cheng, you wil be glad to know - albeit a bit late for you, that after purchase of this great location in the last few months we have awesome WiFi - in every room. Running on the new 4GX band its stable and fast - best in the area until NBN Wireless broadband comes next year. Its something that we all expect - and its now free at Port Arthur Villas. New Owners

Responded April 19, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
9.7
Exceptional
Victoria from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Lovely place to stay when in Port Arthur”

Friendly host, clean rooms, great location
Reviewed November 01, 2014

Thanks for this review - New owners in 2016 and ready for a $ 8 million expansion - nearly time to come back again. Tony Park

Responded May 18, 2017
Port Arthur Villas
5.3
Frank from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

A clean but average motor in for the price of a 5*”

Location

We only stayed for one night but paid a fair amount of money for a 3* star type accomodation. It is certainly not the touted 4* that it pretends to be. Wireless was only available if you stood still in a little corner of the room. Bathroom was very nice and renovated. The rest felt very late 70s, early 80s. The location is right next to Port Arthur jail and you will be woken up by the cows, but by traffic. Reception will call you at 10 to remind you you have to check out... Even there are only 3 rooms occupied like the night we were there. Basically it is an very clean and decent motor inn. If that is what you are looking for you will be ok.

Reviewed September 29, 2014

Thanks for the review while under the management of the previous owners. While the AAAT 4 star rating is awarded by the independent judges from the Automobile Clubs, we agree that some areas could do with an upgrade to meet the current needs of the travelling public. As new owners since Nov 2016, we have announced an $8 million upgrade of the current product, as well as the development of new Apartment Motel units, backpacker accommodation and Family Lodges., along with a range of activities to develop a Tasmanian Resort atmosphere . One of the areas we upgraded very quickly was the internet, with a substantial investment of over $10k so that it s faster, broadly available over the entire location and in all rooms. Port Arthur is a difficult area and in 2017 you still cannot get any signal from Optus or Vodaphone - all internet is via 3g/4g. A new NBN wireless system will be in place by early 2018 and this will assist the development of this important infrastructure.

Show more
Port Arthur Villas
12
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

Port Arthur Villas
|Excellent 8.4
×
Check in. Step out.
Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

  • Exceptional location