Book Now: Pousada De Sao Tiago

Excellent
From 284 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (284)Booking.com Reviews (37)
8.4
Excellent
From 284 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.5
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service8.7
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (香港)
简体中文
日本語
more
Room type
Suite
Harbour View Suite
Family Room with Extra Bed
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 272 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
Terry from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Service supports in a decent hotel”
quiet environment for relaxing, excellent facilities and setting in the room
swimming pool not really good for kids Weak wifi signal Unfriendly 24-hour advance notice for car pickup and delivery service
Reviewed August 03, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Kevin from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Awesome place!”
Comfort, steam room, pool
Relaxing!
Reviewed August 03, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Diamond in the rough”
Amazing bath, delicious meals and great service
Our stay was delightful. The hotel is well refected in the online site, with well appointed spacious suites. Added touches included a complementary mini bar for non alcoholic drinks and good quality bathing products. Highly recommended
Reviewed July 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Peter from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Privacy”
Privacy, good food, location
Reviewed June 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Dirk from Singapore
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Staycation for non-Gamblers”
Heritage, Spacious Suites, ease of access to old town
We did not regret having chosen this place. The Suites are huge, and very modern. At the same time, the heritage of the place has been left intact. Dinner was nice although not as fantastic as some have described it here. Breakfast was disappointing: very limited choice, staff not forthcoming at all (maybe due to language limitations); no Mocca, but also not mentioned that they have Chocolate. Although some distance away from town, very easy to get there by bus.
Reviewed May 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Boon from Singapore
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Wonderful relaxation place”
the decorations, the staff, the room
the services I receive from the staff was fabulous.
Reviewed May 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Jeannette from Singapore
Family with young children
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
FABULOUS stay at a historic site”
the room. the food. the nostalgia.
This place is terrific. I wanted to stay longer. The staff is warm and friendly. The hotel oozes with charm and history. The food was excellent. The bathroom has everything you could ever need/want. The location is great. We could do the historic walk just by walking out the door and turning right. We were there on 15th birthday of Macau and were treated with fireworks we could see from steppong outside and turning left. Sure there is no elevator here. But it is full of charm and class and they carried my heavy monstrous bag for me so enjoy the stairs fkr the exercise and appreciate the history of all those walls have seen and heard before you. I dont know why anyone would want to stay at a casino if they could pick this place. It is worth coming back to Macau just to stay at this hotel!
Reviewed April 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sze from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Good hotel”
Room, Staff, View
Good experience and nice trip
Reviewed March 20, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Unique Macau Hotel”
1) located inside a historic fort. 2) near Maritime Museum 3) great restaurants: Paloma, A Lorcha
Wonderful
Reviewed March 17, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Boris from Germany
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Great, quiet and unique get away”
Rooms / Service / Privacy
Great boutique hotel in Macau and not too close to the casinos, can get a glimpse of the real macau. Great service, check-in is completely in the room. Suite rooms consist of 2 large rooms, two toilet, main bathroom with shower and bubble bath tub. When we came back at night, tea water was cooked and cookies provided in the room. We didnt have breakfast but lunch in the restaurant downstairs. Spanish/portuguese tapas, qute good but a bit expensive for lunch, dinner might be a better choise for this resto.
Reviewed March 04, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
YEUNG from United Kingdom
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Peaceful and histrorical stay”
Professional and friendly staffs, meals, peaceful
Reviewed January 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Bruce from Australia
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Unique Experience”
Historical building. Very well appointed. Excellent service.
For us this was a unique experience to actually stay in a little bit of history. The room was excellent and service from all the staff equal to the best we experienced in our 2 week visit to Hong Kong.I would highly recommend this establishment.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
ISABELLE from France
Family with young children
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
quiet retreat in busy Macau”
the architecture, the lay out, the food
We really enjoyed being away from the big casinos area, and the over crowded city center. This is the true Macau.
Reviewed November 12, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Lovely weekend stay”
Swimming pool, rooms, location
Reviewed November 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Gary from Australia
Solo traveler
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Refined Elegance”
Beautifully appointed rooms. Beautiful, historic building. Quiet but convenient location
This was my first visit to Macau and I decided to treat myself to the three nights at Pousada de Sao Tiago - and very glad I am that I did. The Pousada is situated away from the hustle and bustle of both the old town and the casino strip, on the picturesque south west corner of Macau Island. But it also has a bus stop located right outside the door and as the bus network is efficient, quick and extensive, has easy access to the whole of Macau. The building is an old fort, several hundred years old but completely renovated so that inside is both historic and modern. Very tastefully decorated. It has only a small number of rooms, all suites. Stunning. My room had a bathroom mirror TV, a shower steam room and a jacuzzi. The only strange detail missing was the makings for coffee - there was a kettle, and Chinese tea, but no coffee, sugar etc in the room. Also an excellent restaurant. Chocolates, biscuits and fruit were provided in the room. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, even if the English of some was limited. On leaving it was impossible to get a taxi and they drove us to the ferry terminal free of charge!
Reviewed October 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Natali from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Good and Comfortable”
Food, Staff Courtesy and Room Design
Reviewed October 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
WAN from China
Family with teens
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Good stay”
stayed in Suite 322, excellent
Very good, gave me a good memory again for a revisit after some 15 years.
Reviewed September 29, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
JoungHyun from South Korea
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
awesome exprience !”
uniqueness luxury rooms friendly staffs
It was hard to find the hotel even for a taxi driver but this place is simply awesome! Very old and unique..it was worth it except location is a bit far from casinos and so on.
Reviewed September 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Very decent place for new wedded”
Quiet environment, nice room, good restaurant
Love the jacuzzi and steam shower, will definitely come back
Reviewed September 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Gu from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
great one of a kind hotel in Macau”
1. feels great to stay in a hotel built in the 17th century! 2. far away from casinos 3. nice room, especially the huge balcony!
Reviewed August 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
leung from China
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
great food, cozy lodging”
great food, cozy lodging, spacious suite
Reviewed August 13, 2014
7.0
Very good
Chan from China
Group
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Spacious Room”
Rooms are spacious; no casino; quiet
Quiet enviornment with historical traces. However, staff on the day of our stay are not particularly friendly or welcoming. Swimming pool is small and no facilities at all to hang around withinin the hotel. Suitable for more mature couples without kids looking for a quiet excursion in Macau.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Wai from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Excellent Services, Value for money”
Decoration, Services, Away from Noise
Reviewed August 04, 2014
8.7
Excellent
laurent from Germany
Family with young children
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Great Boutique Hotel”
excellent location, away from the hussle and bussle of the mega-casino-hotels.
Reviewed July 14, 2014
5.3
Shih from Taiwan
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
special ”
special decoration
Reviewed June 01, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
QIAOQIAO from China
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
good experience ”
historical castle hotel, big room , luxury decoratons
it worths the price, hope to try again when next time in Macau
Reviewed March 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Rudie from Ireland
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Boutique luxury in a quiet corner of Macau”
Quiet area, comfortable suites, friendly staff
We had stayed in this hotel around 6 years ago and returned to find that it hadn't changed much since then -- a good sign. The hotel is very comfortable with luxurious and well-equipped suites. It is, however, in a historic building and , so, doesn't have lifts or escalators to get you up stairs, for example. That doesn't put me off but it might be a problem for some. I have seen the area described as "remote" by some reviewers. I find this strange as Macau is tiny. A short walk from the hotel will bring you to the A-Ma Temple, the popular A Lorcha restaurant and the narrow lanes of the historic Inner Harbour. It is, however, not walking distance from the gambling action and taxis are not that easy to flag down here. But when we asked reception to call one, it was at the door in 2 minutes. We found the service to be very natural and friendly. Perhaps not as polished as one might expect from this caliber of hotel -- some of the younger ones seemed a bit nervous and some of the older ones had patchy English -- but, again, this is not something I had a problem with. Everyone was friendly and helpful, which was the main thing. The only thing I found disappointing was the breakfast. Not that it was particularly bad; it's just that for this standard of hotel I thought it was a bit too average.
Reviewed February 24, 2014
6.3
Good
yan from New Zealand
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
quiet surrounding, nice room size, and nice garden”
quiet surrounding, good room size, and nice gardening
Reviewed February 11, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Tam from China
Family with young children
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
No complaints”
peace, relax, antique
To recommend everyone I knew. Stay Macau, Stay San Diago
Reviewed February 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
ali from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
One of the best hotels in Macau”
large room, excellent service, great views
I think this is one of the best and most romantic hotels in Macau. Its a beautiful setting (some of the trees are over 400 years old) and the gardens / surrounds are beautiful. The rooms are stunning and the place is quiet, set away from the crowds and tourists. There are several local restaurants just 5 minutes away along a tree lined street. Just ask at reception. Food at the hotel (and wine) is superb but expensive. Worth every penny with well informed staff. My only complaint (and in fairness this applies to all hotels in Macau) is that taxis are hard to come by as this hotel is out of the way. That said, the peace and quiet more than make up for this.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
kaiyuan from Taiwan
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
The hotel you never forget ”
Room, Food and Feeling
Wonderful, the place you will gather your wonderful memory~
Reviewed January 06, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Delightful hotel on the edge of the old town”
Charming, friendly, comfortable
Very enjoyable stay - will definitely recommend and return.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Alex from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Very relaxing and comfortable”
History, comfort, jazuzzi
My wife, daughter and I had a lovely stay here, for just one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. The 17th century building offers something very different to the enormous and glitzy casino hotels. Here it is very quiet, off the beaten track and relaxing. There are only a dozen or so suites so it is very quiet, and all the rooms are very spacious. The bathroom has a jacuzzi which our daughter filled up with bath foam and absolutely loved. As did we. There's a good local restaurant called A Lorcha just around the corner by the temple.
Reviewed December 11, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Eric from Philippines
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Highly recommended”
Manager was very hands on, beautiful hotel & excellent restaurant, good service
memorable my only complaint was the toiletries ~ they only give out maximum 2 sets of toiletries i love taking long baths and for me toiletries are very important they wanted to charge me for an extra set of toiletries i was turned off by this the first night we booked and paid for the hotel but ended up staying at my sister's room since it's closer to the pacquiao fight so we didn't use the toiletries. i asked for extra set since we weren't there anyway and they gave me a hard time in providing me an extra set. another drawback is the location if you want to be in the heart of all the action stay at Venetian or Wynn or a different hotel. this hotel are for honeymooners not kids.
Reviewed December 07, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Cheng from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Paying Homage”
Ambience, Class, tranquility
This hotel is a legend in Macau. When I was young she was so prestigious and expensive that it was simply out of my reach. Now circumstances have changed for both, and I just had to fulfill a wish to pay homage to an old dame. We chose the Da Barra Suite just to go for the jugular. The occasion was the 46th Macau Grand Prix. Because I had to work late, I missed the motorcycle Grand Prix which was the main draw for me. We arrived at the Hotel in early evening. Because it used to be a fort and was built on the hill side, allowance of course was given for there being no lift or escalators. The walk up the stone stairs with water sipping down the stone wall next to it reminded the visitors to adjust the mental clock back a couple of hundred years. The Hotel has been refurbished. The results are only mixed. While there are most modern luxury appliances, the efforts to integrate them with the old style furniture were not seamless. One has to decide whether to embrace the old or the modern. The balcony overlooked a beautiful swimming pool. The weather was a bit too cold for a dip, but the urge to just jump from the balcony into the pool was hard to resist. We arrived just in time for the sunset. But the hazy sky and the constructions going on across the road and in the distant dampened much enthusiasm. Sitting on the spacious balcony was nice nonetheless. The atmosphere just invited you to relax. The big tree with overgrowth in front blocked much of the view. But given the constructions I mentioned, it might not have been a bad thing. The bay view was not exhilarating because of the traffic and (again) constructions. I could imagine how enchanting the view would have been in former times with only a few quiet fishing boats doting the scene. The dining was great. The restaurant was well decorated, the food and service were good. And it was not expensive.
Reviewed November 29, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Lai from Hong Kong
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
A 384-year-old Fortress Hotel”
Tranquility, Historic, Free from Casino,
It's my first time staying at Tiago Hotel but my significant other did once in around 2004 back then there were 24 rooms about half size of today's cos they converted them into 12 room suites. The design used to be classic with a character. Today the rooms are double the size in modern upholsteries and design. The same is the tranquility and high privacy you can enjoy, you can totally stay away from the noisy and crowded casino hotels and mainland chinese. Just like Hotel Lisboa, Tiago is managed by the Lisboa - HERMES toileteries, same set of drinks in the fridge for free, same trash bins and wardrobe hangers, etc. However, Bang & Olufsen TV can only be found at Tiago. As far as we learnt from a over-20-year staff that a Hollywood superstar from Hong Kong is a regular patron of the room we stayed (he designates it) that made us feel being with that superstar. Upon check-in, we were greeted by the Portuguese manager with smile. The Receptionist assisted us complete the check-in process in our room. Yet we were a little depressed by the waitress (we believed a local person) over breakfast which is included in our room rate. She didn't indicate the food we were entitled to in the menu, and she kept looking so miserable as if she'd been long deprived and abused. Another waitress we met at evening came from mainland China. She is very polite and kept smiling but a little careless. One thing I tried to put at the end of this review is that, on the day we took a taxi to check in this hotel, the driver told us a checked out passenger told him he saw something MPU (Mysterious Phenomenon...); fortunately we didn't see anything during out stay, so that person must be too tired and got illusions.
Reviewed November 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Hanneli from Australia
Family with young children
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Ultimate old world luxury”
Interior design, breakfast, child friendly
We got whisked straight to our suite. No need to hang around in the lobby for check-in. The rooms were gorgeous and the bathroom was everything you could wish for. Gorgeous views from every room. Loved all the small details and the high quality fittings. The TV and the surround system were such a great detail. Staff is very attentive. High speed internet.
Reviewed October 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
jing from China
Family with teens
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Large room with great food”
Nice view , gourmet food, close to attractions
A bus station is 10 meters away and within 7 to 8 minutes walk. We took mt 4 to Macau Tower and we also took mt 4 to Venetian.
Reviewed October 06, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
jing from China
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
goumet hotel”
easy access to local attractions, rooms are large and food is great
The restaurant provides great spanish food. There is a bus station only 10 meters away and A MA temple is only about 9 minutes walk.
Reviewed October 05, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Matthew from United Kingdom
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Classy, friendly hotel”
Staff, Rooms and Location
Pousada De Sao Tiago is really an oasis of class, calm and tranquility in the hustle and bustle of Macao. I cant reccoment this hotel highly enough if you are looking for a way to escape from Hong Kong. The staff there are fantastic, with the Manager - Jose being exceptionally helpful and friendly
Reviewed October 02, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Kwong from China
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Excellent 5 stars hotel”
Professional staff support with excellent environment and facilities
Although there is no shuttle at the pier for picking up service, the hotel is extremely perfect, the outlook is like an ancient castle with great interior design! Staff are nice and professional, fluent English or Chinese speaker, even they can provide you the baby cot (I had a new born baby with me). Swimming pool is very deep that is the thing I like, and the toilet has steaming function which is unexpected!! And I personally love the massage bathtub as well. Overall, there is no criticism for me, and the only word that can describe this hotel is OUTSTANDING!
Reviewed September 24, 2013
7.0
Very good
lau from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
nice environment”
room comfortable, room is clean and room facility is good
Reviewed September 20, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Xu from China
Family with teens
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
nice, everything ”
Location, design, service
Good for everything, nice service, beautiful hotel, with a quiet sea view
Reviewed September 09, 2013
5.7
FAN from Central African Republic
Group
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Good hotel experience, but disappointing breakfast”
Clean, nice staff, big room
Room is clean, the staffs are friendly and helpful, breakfast not up to standard.
Reviewed August 28, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
yin from China
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Good for short trip.”
1. Food especially self-baked bread. 2.Bath and bedding. 3.Tranquility
The hotel is suitable for people who want to have a retreat from city life but has reasonable access to city centre (10 minutes) if they want to. Our room, though named as harbour view, is barred from easy seaview because of the plants in front of the window.
Reviewed August 06, 2013
7.0
Very good
Yin-Chu from Canada
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Quiet city escape”
Limited rooms, quiet surroundings, historical building
The hotel is well equipped with a nice restaurant, pool and large suites - the small number of rooms makes this hotel feel very exclusive. I am sure many folks will be surprised to find the bathroom amenities are Hermes which offers a nice touch of class. Only down side is the service is below that of large five-star hotels. Overall, exactly what we were looking for - a nice quiet getaway while still minutes from the city.
Reviewed July 31, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Excellent Environment & Facilities”
Excellent environment, facilities and services
Spacious room, great facilities. High quality of tv set, bathroom with jacuzzi and steam, free mini bar,comfortable mattress, nice and quite environment.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Wan from Hong Kong
Couple
Harbour View Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
very special castle feel, quiet, comfortable”
castle design, large room size, hight quality B&O TV system
castle design, large room size, hight quality B&O TV system, quiet place, bathroom with steam and spa, multi choices of breakfast, good service
Reviewed July 11, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Kwok from China
Group
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
wonderful stay”
spacious room well facilitated, very attentive staff
Reviewed June 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Kwok from China
Group
Family Suite (1 Double Room and 1 Twin-Beds Room)
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
wonderful stay”
extremely beautiful hotel attractive swimming pool and attentive staff
we enjoyed the natural environment as well as the stylish decor. we will definitely come back to this hotel.
Reviewed June 30, 2013