Book Now: Power Hotel

Review score
From 82 reviewsSee what guests said
5.2
/
10

Reviews of Power Hotel Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
5.2
Review score
From 83 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (82)Booking.com Reviews (1)
Rating via Agoda5.2
/
10
Review score
Cleanliness4.8
Facilities4.8
Location5.5
Room comfort and quality5.9
Service5.7
Value for money4.7
Rating
9+ Exceptional (3)
8-9 Excellent (3)
7-8 Very Good (7)
6-7 Good (12)
<6 Below Expectation (57)
Time of the year
Mar - May (19)
Jun - Aug (4)
Sep - Nov (7)
Dec - Feb (52)
All guests (82)
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 82 verified guest comments
9.0
Exceptional
Otgonbaatar from Mongolia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Mr. T is the man! ”

Managing and working staff

Mr.T who is the general manager of this hotel. If you are lucky like us, he may change wonderfully your stay in Mandalay and even beyond the city. Because he is a such caring person that who were able to help me and my travel mate to organize a package tour Inley Lake trip in the high season at very very very reasonable price. The hotel itself was under renovations, but they are trying their best to meet a sudden demand as country gradually has been opening to the world. Reception desk staff were helpful, honest and lovely, was really fun to talk with them.

Reviewed February 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Andrea from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Great service, good location”

The staff was amazing!

had a hard time finding a room, but came across the power hotel. with the ever charming a consultant overseeing renovations, you can't go wrong with this hotel. he, and e staff which he has trained to understand customer service, make you feel like it is a home away from home. the rooms are a decent size, clean, and well maintained. the renovation is going to make this a really smart place to stay. i would highly recommend this hotel. and ask for the management consultant, he is the best and can help recommend restaurants, travel arrangements, basically anything you need while visiting myanmar!

Reviewed February 25, 2013
7.7
Very good
Kristin from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Nice location, excellent manager”

the rooms are quite simple, but adequate. the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the air conditioner worked quite well. there was a small tv and mini-fridge with drinks. the hotel has a generator for when the power goes out. the small restaurant below the hotel is convenient, and the hotel is in a good location for visiting the mahamuni pagoda and for going out of the city towards amarapura and u bein's bridge. the manager of the hotel is excellent - very helpful and friendly. although the cost might seem high for a two star hotel, this seems to be standard in myanmar right now, so most of the places i stayed seemed to have high prices. unfortunately, some of the women who worked at reception during the day were not very well-informed. when i asked if they exchanged money, they seemed to be guessing at what their exchange rate was. they offered me a horrible rate, well-below what any other place had offered me throughout my trip. when i said that i would find another place to change money and that this was not the rate i had found in any other location, they kept raising their rate, until i agreed. it would have been not to have to bargain, and for them to have known the going rate in the first place. they also booked a bus for me, and told me that i would be picked up at the hotel and taken to the bus station. but after waiting for 20 minutes to be picked up, i asked a different staff member to call and confirm this information and was told that the bus company does not pick up customers at the hotel and i would have to take a taxi. i'm not sure why the woman would have told me this if it wasn't true, and because of her, i almost missed my bus. luckily, the manager had another staff member drive me to the station so that i made it to my bus on time. excluding the uninformed women working at the reception desk, it was a fine place to stay and i wouldn't mind staying here again.

Reviewed February 25, 2013
6.7
Good
christopher from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013

Adequate hotel, very helpful staff”

Not a lot of choice in Mandalay

i actually had a lot of trouble finding any hotel in mandalay, that i could book through agoda anyway. (this is very useful, since hotels in myanmar do not take credit cards, only cash or pre-paid vouchers such as from agoda). i guess there must be a shortage and maybe a lot of rooms are blocked by tour companies. however i was able to find the power hotel. perhaps a little expensive for a two-star. the rooms were clean enough with some new furniture and some very old, and the bathrooms were very old. the manager said they plan to do some reservations, but not able to because of their high occupancy rate. the staff were just wonderful. always friendly and there to help with whatever you need. location is a little far from the main sightseeing, but there are restaurants and shops nearby and a taxi stand out front of the hotel with drivers there 24 hours per day. advice: take shared taxis where possible, to the airport and other cites - much cheaper but you have to call them.

Reviewed January 30, 2013
7.3
Very good
Aung from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

We "heart" Mandalay”

The best things about this hotel are the staff, the location and the local people

Nice friendly little hotel in the heart of Mandalay and we both felt at home there. I arranged for drivers at all locations in our tour of Burma. How much did you spend to get from the airport to Power Hotel (USD)? I put over $30 as my total for all drivers I booked was obviously higher. I don't really know how much it would cost to get to this hotel from the Airport.

Reviewed April 21, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Kuok from Malaysia
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Great responsive staff I that I enjoyed very much”

Responsive staff and generousity of their services

I wasn't expect too much on this Hotel while I booked, especially after I found out it was under renovation the time I check-in. But its was to allow earlier check in early around 4am that I was tiring on long hours bus from Bagan to Mandalay. The staff there was the most satisfying part for me, as they could assist us what we really need.

Reviewed October 27, 2013
6.7
Good
GANG from China
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Not so bad”

Old hotel, but not so bad

Very old furniture in the room, hot water is not hot enough for showering in the Winter time of Mandalay. Considered having fast wifi at lobby and restaurant area, but no signal in the room. Very helpful staff.

Reviewed February 12, 2013
6.7
Good
Jonathan from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Ok hotel. Have their own taxi service.”

Nice bed area room.

So So. The original price was listed at ~$150+ but on limited sale for maybe ~$40 at the time. So i thought it was a steal but seemed to just be a average hotel honestly. Nice bed room area.Included Breakfast-Hot food.(e.g. noodles rice toast coffee juice vegetables eggs) Bathroom were rather below average. No hot water in bathtub/shower. There was a bowl by the sink ( I wasn't sure why it was there). Ended up using it to wash myself with warm water from the sink and the bowl. They also have their own taxi service in the front of the hotel. But to be honest I'm not sure of the rates they were telling me. But seemed same as other around town. Overall. I've been in worse by far. Bed area was nice and plenty of plugs to charge things. Downside bathroom.

Reviewed February 05, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Yap from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

a hotel undergoing change ”

it takes no more than 15min walking to jade market. The room is clean. The hotel crews are excellent. there is also spa and foot massages. the hotel manager can speck mandarin.

Never expected I actually spent longer time in hotel compound relaxing than I used to find time exploring outdoor. Overall the hotel is worth staying .

Reviewed October 19, 2015
7.0
Very good
Anneli from Estonia
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

could be nice after reconstruction is finished”

friendly staff

Nice enough to stay 1-2 nights but rather far from the sights so you need to order taxi or motorbike each time you want to go out. Sometimes no motorbike drivers waiting outside the hotel. There was a funny smell in our room that didn't go away. It was only possible to stay in the room with the window open. Moth detergent or something like that. The were sighs apologizing for inconvenience during renovation so I guess things will look better after a while. The staff was friendly.

Reviewed February 12, 2013
6.0
LEONG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013

Bad bad bad”

Good location with WiFi

Hotel named "The power hotel" but no electric power supplier almost 5times a day although only few minutes. Location not in centre of downtown

Reviewed January 19, 2013
3.7
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

no upside”

it may be your only choice

Sadly, Power Hotel is old, run down, and smells like it. There is a sincere and very genuine effort towards customer service from the staff, as the Burmese are extremely friendly and gracious as a culture (in my experience), but unfortunately after that all else falls short other. My room was standard size, smelled dingy, and had cigarette burns in the dank carpet. The AC worked fabulously- so long as the power didn't go out (which it did). Bedding and towels were clean, room and bathroom were not very clean. The sink leaked. WiFi did not work at all on the 5th floor even though it was supposed to be available in my room. I had to go down to the lobby in order to conduct business by email, which was a drag compounded by the cloying stench of incense. I had a remarkably delicious dinner of a malay-style chicken curry in the restaurant, which resulted in horrific food poisoning shortly thereafter. Fortunately the nearby pharmacy is prepared for this. Location has no advantages, and the cab stand out front is set up specifically to prey on the prisoners trapped at Power Hotel. In the big picture, there's a heavy influx of tourists going through Burma and not enough hotel rooms, so this may be where you land due to limited options. Manage your expectations and operate accordingly and you'll survive the overpriced circumstances fine.

Reviewed January 21, 2013
4.0
Angelina from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Reasonable value but not ideal location and noisy”

Free wi-fi in lounge, friendly welcome from staff, complimentary water in room

We found it very difficult to book any recommended hotel in Mandalay in advance and eventually settled for this one as seemed good value. On a map it looks not too far from the centre but it is in fact at least a half hour walk and there are no decent eating options nearby. Staff are friendly and efficient though and were happy to change our room when we felt the air-con in our original room was not functioning properly. The generator can be very noisy and we found the bed quite hard but the room was clean and serviced daily.

Reviewed March 12, 2013
4.3
Antony from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Probably for Chinese and other business travellers”

Rooms OK, friendly staff

OK, but this hotel is not targeted at tourists. They have little travel information, and attempts to get it fall far short of dedicated hotels in the centre of town (which are often cheaper). Nowhere in Mandalay is particularly convenient, but this hotel is off the beaten track for tourists. Poor English

Reviewed March 30, 2013
3.0
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Poor value and a bad experience”

Linen was changed daily

A Guest House at a third of the price would have provided better accommodation. The only positive was that the linen was changed daily. No complimentary water was provided as in other hotels. The room was beyond tired. There is a programme of renovation though this appears to be progressing slowly – it would be better to close the hotel and get the work done. The shortage of hotel rooms in Mandalay is being exploited to wring cash out of visitors. The location is not very handy for visiting the Palace or Mandalay Hill. Breakfast was in the basement Café Ritz and the choice of fried rice or fried egg, sausage and ham were always served cold, and usually only coffee was offered though they had orange juice and tea available.

Reviewed March 03, 2013
3.7
NGWE from Myanmar
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Condition and Facility”

Nothing special.

I did not realize that the cleanliness was terrible. There were cockroaches running around when checked in. Rubbish bins were not empty with unpleasant smell. Breakfast was just sake of it, that there was no choice. Parking area was limited that most of the time it was fully occupied. I do not prefer to stay next visit. There is "Hotel Mandalay" on 78 Street where we moved and it was much much better and enjoyed staying the rest of our journey.

Reviewed April 06, 2013
4.0
dietmar from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

out of power”

it has aircondition, hot water and a fridge

like so many mandalay hotels this hotel is way overpriced. you get a rundown room, the internet does not work most of the time and eat breakfast in a dark and dirty basement that used to be a bar/pub.

Reviewed November 25, 2013
5.7
kathleen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

friendly”

the friendly staff helpful easy access to sites

the previous reviews were not wonderful but i enjoyed my stay there they are decorating the hotel and replacing the worn carpets etc but the friendliness of the staff and their efforrts to help made up for some of their upgrading problems always hot water This was my second time and i was pleased to come back

Reviewed March 25, 2013
6.0
Annie from Canada
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

Good size rooms”

Friendly, attentive staff. Managerial staff excellent. Impressive foyer/lounge - huge, bright, lovely wooden furniture, large TV

Front counter staff need more language proficiency, more professionalism - too much chatting esp. when in presence of guests. - Dining area/bar - dark - Need better menu Bedroom - somewhat clean. smell of mothballs - carpets a bit tired, needs cleaning, - windows no insulation - hears everything. - bathrooms need updating - one did not have hot water in tub - bathroom ceiling, doors, etc. - mouldy, stained - leaky plumbing - Give Guests privacy esp. when dealing with payments - quite uncomfortable with busboys, staff close to person and staring at what's in your wallet!

Reviewed February 18, 2013
7.7
Very good
Lam from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

good location and service”

big room

It is a good location for sight seeing. The staffs are very helpful. The price is very reasonable.

Reviewed February 19, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Kyle from United States
Family with teens
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Great stay at the hotel ”

Good locations walking distance to many attraction places. Staffs were friendly and helpful to navigate around.

Reviewed September 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Great location ”

Walking distance to Mahamuni pagoda, jade market, Mustance brother, and gold leaf workshop. Warm and friendly staffs.

Reviewed September 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Daung from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Very Convenience and will stay there again”

Walking distance to Mahamuni Pagoda, Mustance Brother, Gold Leaf workshop, and Jade Market.

Reviewed June 18, 2016
6.3
Good
Saudi from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

.”

The staffs are attentive to assist me

It was OK.

Reviewed June 08, 2015
2.7
joshua from United States
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Not so good”

Four walls, roof, and bathroom

Wifi will not work in the rooms near the elevator. Wifi antenna is at the opposite end of the hall. The room was fairly quiet and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom needs a remodel; there was no hangar for the shower head so had to sit down for a shower. On the plus side there was hot water.

Reviewed January 24, 2014
2.3
ivar from Sweden
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

This place is no good - choose something else”

Nothing

NO wifi, a mess at the front desk where they said Yes to everything but nothing was done, early breakfast promised were met by a closed restaurant door at 6AM - we woke up staff who actually slept on the floor to make them serve some coffee.. And on top of all - this place is expensive!

Reviewed January 03, 2014
7.3
Very good
daniele from France
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

correct hotel”

staff,city center,many restaurant about

Good. Place in the city ,staff ok, speak french , the price is good

Reviewed December 12, 2013
3.0
Emmanuel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Very poor quality and service”

There is nothing I can praise on this hotel

I only stayed 2 nights in this hotel and can only describe it as very poor quality. Hot water was only available in early morning 6am to 7am. Breakfast was very very poor. The location is not all that great either. Total score: very disappointing

Reviewed November 19, 2013
6.0
Thi from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

It's just okay”

Great owner, friendly and helpful staff, very close to go to the centre
Reviewed June 11, 2013
4.3
Kattapa from Thailand
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Best thing is allow early check in”

Early check in, close to Mahamuni Image, not far from local market
Reviewed May 09, 2013
7.0
Very good
TADAKUMA from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Good Hotel for sightseeing”

kindful staff, manager arrangement for sightseeing, dinner(cheap price)

I soon talked my trip schedule with hotel manager. He could smoothly arrange the taxi to airport and next stay. It was reliable for me.

Reviewed May 07, 2013
5.3
Perrine from France
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

ok but not amazing”

nice staff, big room
Reviewed April 17, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Quoc from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Recommended Hotel In Mandalay”

Good Service, Confortable Room, Friendly Staff
Reviewed April 13, 2013
6.0
Bjorg from Norway
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Right place for seeing Mandalay”

Central situation, price and good service
Reviewed April 11, 2013
5.7
viriya from Thailand
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

this hotel is under construction. Overall is OK. ”

it's closed to Mahamuni temple. You can walk to this temple to hotel for 10-15 mins
Reviewed April 10, 2013
4.7
Miriam from Belgium
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Too long”

Staff were great
Reviewed April 06, 2013
2.3
philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

I regret choosing this so called 2 star hotel”

Had a new toilet in the bathroom

It was not very good from the reception desk to our room with stained sheet.

Reviewed April 06, 2013
5.0
Tulatat from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

budget hotel”

staff freindly and taxi services were great

We are traveling in group of 6 people and just have landmark and places that we would like to go in mind. The staff of hotel were great and freindly.

Reviewed April 03, 2013
6.3
Good
Pawel from Poland
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Hotel in need of renovation but have great service”

The manager was very helpful in organizing our stay in Mandalay
Reviewed April 03, 2013
2.0
Thipphawan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Dirty Hotel”

Bad service

This hotel is very old room is very dirty, staff can't speak english, internet full signal but can't use and price very expensive for this hotel. Everything have to pay no complimentary drinking water.

Reviewed March 24, 2013
2.0
ivar from Sweden
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

The worst hotel in Mandalay!”

No thing at all

Before arriving at this hotel which cost around this is not a problem though if you only want to stay there overnight when they are not working. Internet, d, does not work, which was actually confirmed by the manager. The same man also recommended not to change money in his hotel since they were to expensive. The room, corridors, breakfast bar etc are shabby and dirty. The hotel is full of staff who says yes to everything but do nothing. Manager promised early wake up call and breakfast on departure day, in the reception the night before with 5 staff listening. NO call was produced and breakfast bar was closed when we had to practically run to taxi and boat when waking up late. Avoid this place at all costs.

Reviewed March 21, 2013
5.0
Barry from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Reasonable”

Breakfast available, comfortable rooms, fairly handy to central
Reviewed March 19, 2013
2.7
Hoe from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Badly maintained Hotel”

Helpful manager, location and nothing else

This hotel did not have internet for the 2 days we were there. Hotel is not clean and everything is very old. Breakfast was terrible. Not a recommended hotel as it is expensive for a 2 star.

Reviewed March 14, 2013
6.3
Good
Edoardo from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

old fashioned hotel in the south of the city”

no traffic to airport, staff

Hotel in the process of renovation, rooms a bit vintage. Works not noisy and only during the day. Breakfast a bit poor, close to gold shops, some malls.

Reviewed March 09, 2013
6.3
Good
Edoardo from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

well positioned in south of the city”

traffic to airport, close to malls and gold leaf works

Breakfast a bit poor, close to gold shops, some malls.

Reviewed March 09, 2013
6.0
Terence from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Great advice on onward travel to Lake Inle”

a great source of information

Even if you do not choose this hotel, to make easy and effective arrangements for other parts of Myanmar, especially Lake Inle. I had problems with noise (pagoda chants all night/traffic), which was outside the hotel's control. Hotel has no experience of western food preparation.

Reviewed March 09, 2013
3.0
Robert from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Old hotel with overpriced rooms”

Close to moustache Brothers

Filthy carpets. Staff sleeps in hallways. Messages left at desk not passed on. Free WiFi all but non- existent. Had a plaque on the wall saying it was a 2 Star Hotel. It might have been 20 years ago but now is a Minus Star that charges 4 Star rates because of the tourist boom. Would not recommend.

Reviewed March 08, 2013
3.7
peter from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Try to find somewhere else”

Friendly owner with great language skills. Friendly staff.

When the owner tells you that his hotel is not very good and is overpriced you start to ask questions. There are no marked fire exits or obvious fire alarms, not good especially when a small room at the end of the corridor was full of empty plastic bottles and rubbish. The rooms were very basic and unfortunately not very clean, dust and dirt on many surfaces and around the fridge. The redeaming feature was confortable beds. The bathroom wasn't well cleaned. It featured wood rot in the door, a flaking mirror, a toilet cystern held together with gaffer tape and a few cockroaches roaming around the room. There was no shower curtain so the floor got fairly wet. Breakfast was uninspiring, one day just a couple of slices af buttered bread, they must have forgotten to prepare the rice that day. The reception area had wifi. This lead to many guests chatting, mostly about the quality of the hotel. It seems that the reason most people stay in this hotel is because they couldn't get in anywhere else. There are a few decent places to eat and drink within a 10 minute walk.

Reviewed February 26, 2013
2.3
Fermin from Mexico
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

horrible! Avoide this nightmare at all costs”

none

I've done my fair share of staying in cockroach infested hotels, especially in India, so I'm not too squeamish. But those places cost $5 dollars. For the price I expect at least for the shower to not be mouldy and stained. So was the carpet and the walls in the room. Disgusting & unsalubrious. The wifi works one day yes and 2 no, and they blame the provider... while every other place has a working connection. Breakfast is served in a cavernous restaurant in the basement, is cold & meager even by Myanmar standards. Nobody speaks any western language except for the manager who does a little french. It's poorly located and a 3 km walk just to reach the corner of the walled city. (Another 3km to the gate). You can do better, a lot better!

Reviewed February 26, 2013
6.0
Siu from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

poor location, rooms pretty basic”

staff friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast good for the price of room.

stay only for transit purpose, but not for sight seeing

Reviewed February 25, 2013
4.3
Erland from Denmark
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Dated hotel with friendly service”

Nothing to mention

The hotel lack of almost everything and needs a lot of investment to justify the price of the room.

Reviewed February 23, 2013
5.7
Jacqueline from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Needs some work”

Good location near the Moustache Brothers show

Interesting staff and people, but the hotel is under renovation and it really needs it!

Reviewed February 10, 2013
5.3
Suradett from Thailand
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

A Simple Hotel”

Cheap

Nothing is good. Kind of dirty. You should wear your shoes all the time until you sleep. However, the wi-fi signal is ok and can use it all the floor, except the 6th floor.

Reviewed February 02, 2013
4.7
MR.KAMPHOL from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

good service but room dirty”

staff are good

Hotel is not too big too small but rooms dirty and bad smell. The carpet is too old and very dirty with bad smell, TV is too old and can use only half utility. To compare the price & quality & lacation is too expensive & unresonable.

Reviewed January 29, 2013
4.7
Elizabeth from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Bathroom was in very poor condition”

People were very friendly and laundry was reasnable

the room was clean, but the bathroom is old, tired and no amount of cleaning it up will help. the staff was helpful. two spoke english very well. all the staff were friendly.

Reviewed January 27, 2013
6.0
sardha from United States
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

modaret hotel. out dated”

Location is convenient.

The Hotel features were out dated.Not the best for the money.Staff was friendly and honost. Area was okay but not the best. Breakfast was Mediocre. I would give 2.5 stars not three to the hotel.

Reviewed January 18, 2013
5.3
Ling from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

A Laughable One”

Cannot Think of Any

Beg the cleaner to get a roll of tissue. The towels are colourful - grey background with large black and brown spots. Hot water wouldnt work. Apart from the manager, the staff cannot speak English. They claimed to be under renovation at this moment and promised a Hyattesque environment afterwards. Sad that we will refrain from getting in again.

Reviewed January 12, 2013
3.3
Deborah from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Very disappointing”

The staff were friendly and helpful

This hotel was somewhat lacking in cleanliness. The towels and linen were grey and very worn out. The carpet was filthy and there was no hot water. It was also very noisy with chanting broadcast continuously from the nearby monastery between the hours of 6pm and 6 am. We got virtually no sleep at all.

Reviewed January 06, 2013
4.7
Megan from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Staff eager to please, but room very run down”

Courteous staff, eager to please, wifi in lobby, walking distance to gold workshops

Although the room was clean, it was very run down. I understand that they're in the midst of renovations, though, so maybe soon the rooms will be all redone. The free breakfast left much to be desired.

Reviewed December 31, 2012
4.3
SALVADOR from Spain
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

realmente no merece la pena estar en este hotel ”

ninguna en àrticular

mi estancia un solo dia y por suerte, ni internet en lobby ni en la habitacion cuando se anuncia con internet en la habitación

Reviewed March 14, 2013
3.0
Teresa from Spain
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Una estafa”

Servicio de atención al cliente bueno

El hotel dice estar de reformas para justificar sus condiciones (viejo y ruinoso) pero recorrimos todo el hotel sin encontrar ni rastro de obras o similar. Tuvimos que cambiar la habitación porque había una plaga de hormigas hasta en la cama y no había agua caliente. El desayuno consistía en un café de sobre (no hay opción a tomar té u otra cosa) y un huevo con una tostada. Algo que no se puede justificar dado el precio de la habitación y el precio de la comida en el país. La única razón para ir a este hotel es que no haya posibilidad de alojarse en otro lugar (cosa que nos pasó a nosotros).

Reviewed February 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
OLIVIER from France
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Intéressant pour une visite d'étape.”

Grande chambre, situé en ville pas loin de la gare et des marchés de rue aux alentours.

Séjour agréable dans une grande chambre qui mérite tout de même d'être rafraichie. Le personnel est agréable et attentif.

Reviewed July 16, 2013
3.0
valerie from France
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

rapport qualité prix nul”

personnel gentil

hotel cher par rapport aux prestations données. Aurait besoin d un bon coup de peinture et de travaux. Loin du centre, le prix est cher par rapport à ce qu'il peut offir.

Reviewed March 06, 2013
3.3
joseph from France
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Si rien d'autre”

Bonne volonté

L'hôtel est loin du centre et les taxis voraces. Les chambres sont vétustes et le petit déjeuner déprimant. Rien d'intéressant autour. Ceci dit le manager francophone se met en quatre pour arranger les choses avec le personnel inexpérimenté, à l'anglais minimal. Paraît que des travaux de rénovation sont prévus, à suivre !

Reviewed February 25, 2013
2.7
Jacques from France
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Hôtel ordinaire prétentieux”

Aucun

Ancien hôtel au luxe prétentieux complètement décati. Personnel gentil comme partout en Birmanie mais peu professionnel.

Reviewed February 13, 2013
4.3
Rolf from Germany
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Gut für einen Stadtaufenthalt”

Lage, Preis, Leistung.

Wir hatten einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. Das Frühstück hat uns nicht gefallen, da es sehr schmal ausfiel.

Reviewed December 01, 2013
6.3
Good
Michael from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Einfaches, billiges Hotel”

billig, zentral gelegen
Reviewed May 03, 2013
4.3
Margrit from Germany
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Hotel steht zurecht kurz vor der Instandsetzung”

Hotel war per Internet buchbar, vor Ort kostenfreies WiFi

Das Hotel wird jetzt grundlegend renoviert, insofern wird sich vielleicht einiges ändern, z.B auch der Preis - die ziehen überall fürchterlich an. Wir haben die Unterkunft der Not gehorchend gebucht. Das Zimmer stank fürchterlich nach Mottenkugeln und war schrecklich laut. Gleichwohl gibt sich das Personal viel Mühe, was vielleicht auch daran liegt, dass der chinesische Chef oft vor Ort ist.

Reviewed February 18, 2013
3.0
Peter from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

gut für ein sauberes Bett...und nicht mehrf”

freundliche junge Leute an der Rezeption mit sehr mässigem Englisch

Zimmer mehr als verwohnt, Bad sehr dreckig, Fussbodenteppich sehr fleckig mit Löchern, Frühstück das Sclechteste, was ich in meinem Leben serviert bekommen habe. Hatte keine Wahl.

Reviewed February 13, 2013
5.0
Martin from Germany
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Zu Teuer für die gebotene Leistung”

warmes Wasser

- in Ordnung, aber eben nicht das Geld wert. Es gibt in Mandalay genug Unterkünfte die wesentlich günstiger sind, jedoch aber nicht wesentlich schlechter sind.

Reviewed February 10, 2013
null