Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 32 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.0
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 7.0
Sort by

Steven from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Great Location Good service
The location is great!! its near the beach and around resturaunts and bars
The Protea sea point is a modern hotel that has good service and customer care. the location of the hotel is easily assessable by public transportation and private taxi cabs. I enjoyed my stay at the Protea Seapoint.
Reviewed November 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

clarens from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in December 2011
pritty simple but well located
intenet available
The hotel was very outdated and need a revamp otherwise its well located and would make sense to sport and business travelers.Me personally was looking forward to a more relaxed room apart from the one we received.But over and above my comments the hotel are well managed.
Reviewed January 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Beth from South Africa
Group
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Great location but small rooms
Location
room smelt of smoke even though we requested a non smoking room. staff were helpful and friendly. the room was tiny and it was difficult to fit 2 adults and a baby into the space, but we managed. spent very little time in the room itself as the weather was amazing.
Reviewed January 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

eric from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed one night in January 2012
better than sleeping in a tent under an overpass
safe parking lot (?)
-reception initially provided me a room that I went to only to discover that the room's door was open, the bed unmade and there were towels on the floor. -the hallways are lit with this amazingly awful green light. I guess this is an attempt to look "hip" at the lowest possible cost and effort, and then still failing entirely -the room service food is basically burgers, fries and wings … you know, healthy stuff -the info provided in the room says that room service closes at 11pm, but it actually closes at 10pm … or whenever they feel like it, I guess. -the bar doesn't accept your room # to charge a drink to, so you have to pay cash -no minibar in the room -there's honestly like 10 tv channels, 5 of them are football or rugby, and 1 of them is currently playing a Jack Black movie. I append no further comment. -I have to call reception in order to get a user/pass for wifi, as the system where I have to enter last name, room # and requested user/pass doesn't work - the phone was kind of like a rotary phone -- you know, they type from the mid-1980's where there's a dialpad but you still here the 'clicks' after you touch. I'm an international traveler and wanted to make an international collect call, a task which proved all but impossible ... but none of that matters, because: - woke up this morning and the phone is dead (so I can't call reception to get more wifi allowance) All this amounts to an experience I would describe as being pretty craptacular indeed. I've stayed at other Protea hotels and not had nearly this level of disappointment.
Reviewed January 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

ellen from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Great location , but hotel stuff not so good.
Not satisfied!
Very small room ... Need to be renovated...beds are very uncomfortable. Very good food in the restaurant . I do not recommend this hotel.
Reviewed January 07, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Anthony from South Africa
Couple
Stayed one night in December 2011
Great practical room with a nice view
price and location
was a little surprised i had to pay extra for parking when leaving, but would happily stay there again.
Reviewed December 20, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

stephen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011
Well located, clean, comfortable and reasonable.
Stainless steele shower, clean room, pleasant amenities
Well located in vibrant Sea Point close to seawall and waterfront. Hotel was spotless throughout and I loved the stainless steele shower. Staff were all welcoming and helpful and the garage was easily accessible and manned 24 hours. Breakfast was reasonably priced(continental)and extensive. I would definitely stay here again. My only hitch was at check out; agoda had already charged me and the hotel saw fit to do so a second time...maybe not so reasonably priced after all? I am sure this will be rectified as I have all my receipts and agoda has been fantastic in helping me sort this error out.
Reviewed August 04, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Izaan from South Africa
Couple
Stayed one night in April 2011
Great views strange Bathroom and bit small
Central located warm welcoming staff
We loved our stay at the Protea Hotel SeaPoint it was my 5 stay at this hotel and enjoyed it alot!
Reviewed May 16, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

erlank from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 12 nights in December 2010
great location
close to ocean
room was spacious and clean. within walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach. short commute to the city. tv broke but was fixed on the same day. the breakfasts were filling and delicious. the pool deck was lovely with a view overlooking the ocean. we would definitely stay at the protea hotel in sea point on our next visit to cape town and recommend to our friends and family.
Reviewed March 18, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

David from
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in January 2011
Lovely hotel in a great location
Location, professional & knowledgeable staff, good facilities, great breakfast
very good,safe location only 2 mins walk to the sea front and surrounded by lots of good cheap international restaurants,bars & shops. local bus,50 yards from hotel,takes 10 mins to v&a water front. staff are just fantastic,very friendly and professional...nothing is too much trouble. very clean & good facilities. great breakfast!
Reviewed February 02, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: