Book Now: Pung-waan Resort

Very good
From 576 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (576)Booking.com Reviews (125)
7.1
Very good
From 576 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities6.6
Location7.4
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service7.2
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Standard
Deluxe Cottage
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 492 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
Ray from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Getting a bit tired”
Huge area with massive swimming pool restaurant had good food, beer was a bit warm and expensive All in all its getting a bit tired but does the job when visiting Hell fire Pass
Reviewed April 04, 2016
7.3
Very good
Luksawee from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Good environment”
breakfast, view, and safety
My mom and I booked this hotel one night. It was great experience. Staffs were friendly and helpful.
Reviewed February 10, 2016
8.0
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
An extremely pleasant 3 day break ”
Apart from the less-than user friendly booking process,this is very quiet, restful, attractive spot for a break. We ended up in the 'upper part' of the location which is not very suitable for disabled or elderly people because of the vast number of steps to and from the dining area - some with unsuitable handrails. We really wanted accommodation on the river, but the booking process did not make this very clear. We also had a last minute 'extra' who had his sleeping gear with him an were surprised to be charged 1400 bht for the 2 nights (by the hotel; not Agoda) whose accommodation charge was very reasonable.
Reviewed January 27, 2016
8.0
Excellent
chanipha from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Love the food here ”
Great food , clean and nice view
Reviewed December 09, 2015
6.3
Good
Witoon from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Huge resort. They have many activity.”
Huge resort, many activity, nice river and mountain view
The resort quite huge. They have a lot activity. But you can pay less for activity if you go outside ;) Good food at river side plus mountain view. Inside the cottage have big bathroom. They have bathtub for inside roof. You can shower out roof also. But be aware for peep show Opp! For the service mind is good. The room a bit old. The bed's not soft. It's make me hard to sleep at night.
Reviewed December 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Nat from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Good and quiet location”
Near river quiet and nice room.
Comfort and peaceful
Reviewed October 21, 2015
6.7
Good
Melchor from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Nice bungalows and amenities.”
Location, good amenities and convenient room
The resort was convenient for visiting erawan falls and away from city noise. Good location for honeymooners. The area secluded and far away from restaurants and stores. Car is a must when staying at the resort
Reviewed September 07, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Good value secluded riiverside resort”
gardens, pool, quiet
This place is not to everyone's liking but it's for you if you appreciate a calm, quiet, fairly isolated location with extensive and attractive grounds along the river and a very large swimming pool. The staff are freindly and helpful but are not fluent English speakers, it's not that sotrt of place.
Reviewed August 25, 2015
6.7
Good
Waleewan from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Room a bit old but good surrounding”
Location view food
Reviewed August 23, 2015
5.0
suwat from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
big resort ”
big room but very old
i stayed at river villa and my room is 1st floor. bed room and toilet was clean but everything such as table , desk , TV , shower were very old. there are some broken at wall and color painting peel off from the wall.
Reviewed June 22, 2015
7.7
Very good
Nattabhon from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
A nice one-night sneak out”
The secluded location, the vast swimming pool, the river
Too bad I arrived quite late with a heavy rain and then it got dark. I only used the pool but there are many more promising activities that i would love to give a try. May be next time. Oh, the breakfast was a bit disappointing. It's ok as a matter of fact but I hope it would be better. Salad looked miserable with those withered veggie and they are the cheap types - too cheap for a 3-star hotel. I would also love some Milo in addition to coffee and tea.
Reviewed June 06, 2015
4.7
Ross from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Long way from anywhere”
???
The Pung-waan is remote, and I'm not sure how it attracts guests. Proximity to Hellfire Pass was my excuse because I needed to be at HFP at 2.00 the following morning for the dawn service. PW is a huge place, but first impressions weren't good, an unsealed dusty car park, and overgrown gardens didn't present well. My room wasn't riverfront. The room was just OK, but large, bathroom barely adequate, and the 'on the wall' instant hot water system took some figuring out until I realized that the water into it had been turned off at a stop cock. The people in the room next door didn't get that, so had cold showers. Room cleanliness was adequate, the bed comfortable and large. There was a thunderstorm during the night, and when the rain stopped, the frogs started, making sleep impossible. It's difficult to describe the noise, but I suppose disco level would approximate it, and I recorded the noise on my camera because I was sure friends wouldn't believe me. I suppose that's country Thailand though, and frogs are part of the environment?? I had to leave at 1.30 am for the ride to Hellfire Pass, so had almost no sleep as a consequence of the frogs' noise. I went alone to the restaurant for dinner, and the top level was well patronized, but not full, and I was told I'd have to wait for a table. I found it curious that there were 28 tables on the lower level unoccupied. The waiter offered the excuse that if I was given a table on the lower level everybody would want to go down there. Why anybody would want to move with their meals is quite beyond me, but that's what he said. I guess having to walk up and down stairs to serve meals didn't appeal?? Based on my experience, I wouldn't be prepared to recommend the Pung-waan.
Reviewed May 01, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Hung from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Comfortable.”
Nice weather and nice view.
Good environment, nice weather, nice view and quiet. Good for family
Reviewed January 09, 2015
5.0
Chuthathip from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
service was acceptable, prices too high”
service, employees, and great pool
The room was quite old. There were problems with water heater and lights. The prices for activities on site were not reasonable. On a positive note, the employees were nice.
Reviewed January 01, 2015
7.7
Very good
Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Quiet riverside resort”
Gardens, pool, river view
This is a quiet resort away from any town, they provide free transfer to / from Nam Tok railway station and the Kanchanaburi bus stop if you ask, otherwise you need a car to get around, or buy one of the several tours offered. There is a large swimming pool and big well maintained gardens along the river frontage.
Reviewed January 01, 2015
8.3
Excellent
regan from Canada
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Regular vacation spot from Bangkok”
beautiful location, great swimming pool, relaxing location for kids
Have stayed here with family three times and will continue coming back.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jongrak from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Overall is GREAT”
Greenary hotel , Many outdoor activities and Friendly staffs
Nothing to complaint about. Of course , we will come back to stay at Pung Wan Resort (Sai Yok) again in our next trip.
Reviewed December 10, 2014
5.7
Kittisak from Thailand
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
information for others ”
Pool, Activities, value for money
good and value for money
Reviewed December 10, 2014
7.0
Very good
Michael from Switzerland
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Spacious grounds”
Facilities and large park/ground. Next to river
Ok but not very impressed. A bit run down
Reviewed October 29, 2014
5.3
Norma from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
bad luck there where a group tours”
deer feeding, the river, the garden
I was not able to sleep till 2 am. It was so noisy. So many mosquitos and ants in the room. The bed sheets are not so clean. The jacuzzi pool is very dirty
Reviewed October 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Araya from Thailand
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Best time with family@Pung Waan”
Best location / A lot of activities for guesses / They serves fantastic foods
Love the place so much. Will go back again for sure.
Reviewed July 31, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Theeda from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Large with many activities nice food”
Activities, food, garden
Got upgrade to the room that next to the river which was very nice. The floating house was noisy with large group of adults so please avoid. Many activities for you to enjoy like biking, horse riding, etc. Near several waterfalls. Nice food at restaurant. The room was large but a bit old but acceptable. Found big spider in the room but we were ok with that.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Peaceful stay in riverside resort”
Gardens, location, swimming pool
Extensive well kept gardens sweep down to the river with views of mountains beyond. Very big outdoor pool. A mid range resort favoured by independently travelling Thais, and not dominated large tour groups as some places are. Very quiet and peaceful setting away from the town and main road. They will pick you up (and take you back), at no additional cost, from Nam Tok train station or from a bus stop. Very good value.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Theerapon from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
A hotel with nice staff services”
Riverfront room, nice breakfast, nice staff services
Acceptable
Reviewed May 07, 2014
7.0
Very good
Yasuo from Australia
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
relaxed atmosphere ”
Close to river, nice dinner (thai food), many activities
It was pleasant stay to get away from it all. We stayed there with a group of 8 (4 rooms) and every one of them enjoyed and had so much fun !! Rafting was most exciting experience for me that I won't forget for long time. There are so many other activities like riding horse, elephant, buggies and things you can do with nature. Things I struggled a bit are air-con which was not working perfectly and mosquitoes at night, but who cares things like that too much in the middle of the forrest ?? Over all, it was fantastic and we'll definitely come back again.
Reviewed May 06, 2014
7.7
Very good
Herve from France
Group
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Nice activity hotel in Sai Yok”
Fun, activities and rest
If you are looking for some fun, there you go. A lot of activities in this hotel : too bad we stayed only one week-end and that we did not have time to try them all. A very nice swimming pool, some activities for youngs and olders (horse riding, canoes, rafts, plays for yongers, ...) everything is there for families and groups. But the hotel fortunately still remains calm. I can recommand the floating houses : they look nice but not suitable for kids = too much dangerous for them : the river is quite stronger and it was not rainy season. Please also note that food is just OK : nothing exceptional there.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
7.7
Very good
Herve from France
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Nice Activities close to Kanchanaburi”
Fun, River, Activities
If you are looking for some fun, there you go. A lot of activities in this hotel : too bad we stayed only one week-end and that we did not have time to try them all. A very nice swimming pool, some activities for youngs and olders (horse riding, canoes, rafts, plays for yongers, ...) everything is there for families and groups. But the hotel fortunately still remains calm. I can recommand the floating houses : they look nice but not suitable for kids = too much dangerous for them : the river is quite stronger and it was not rainy season. Please also note that food is just OK : nothing exceptional there.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Kellie from Australia
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
beautiful, fantastic ”
location, beautifully maintained, lovely atmosphere
Everything was fantastic but there could be a better service for ordering drinks and food around the pool.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
4.7
Ye from China
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Good place for taking time escape from city”
Guest service,natural view,activities
It's very far from town,better to go there with own car,otherwise,u will spend a lot of money on transportation.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
Siriorn from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Clean, quiet, nice place”
Clean, quiet, nice place
Reviewed March 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Pakin from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
good ”
food room romantic
Reviewed March 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Manopporn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Pung-waan Resort”
Isolated, but a jewel
it's not a bad place, but management does not seem to have enough experience on how to run a resort and how to advertise it. the location makes up for a lot however.
Reviewed March 03, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Adrian from Israel
Couple
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Very quiet relaxed comfortable spot by the Kwai”
Comfortable clean accommodation, quiet, central to all attractions in the region good restaurant
Enjoyable. Comfortable, beautiful gardens, right on the River Kwai, clean accommodation, quiet, central to all attractions in the region, good restaurant, great staff.
Reviewed February 07, 2014
7.3
Very good
Anuphong from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Good view.”
Quiet, Good View, Fair Services
It's quite good scenery, quiet and private. The hotel is located not too far from attractions anyway you need to use your own car.
Reviewed January 30, 2014
5.7
Wissawat from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Old room but activities is OK”
Activities Location View
The room was old but the location was OK and activities was a lot. Suit for family trip
Reviewed January 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Anna from South Africa
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
delightful stay in comfortable hotel”
room size, gardens, restaurant
Pung Waan was great. We loved the rooms and the big veranda that we could visit our friends on, yet be private in our own rooms. The rooms are big and spacious and the gardens are immaculately kept. Peaceful and green. This was a lovely stay in a hotel that will definitely see us again
Reviewed December 29, 2013
4.7
Yossawut from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
nature”
nature
close to the nature but inconvenience about the room. Shower wasn't good, only cold water and very weak. Breakfast was okay.
Reviewed November 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Peaceful Riverside Setting”
Riveside setting, gardens, large swimming pool
The hotel has a quiet riverside setting, well away from any main road and potentially difficult to find though they will collect you from, and take you back to, (at no cost) either Nam Tok railway station or the main road bus stop by Sai Yok waterfall. Large well kept gardens run down to and along the river. Transport is difficult without your own car but there is a wide variety of excursions on offer.
Reviewed November 03, 2013
6.3
Good
dueanpen from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
nice garden hotel”
nice garden , near the river, nice staff
was ok but too noisy because have party untill midnight
Reviewed October 08, 2013
5.0
Vaughan from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Was ok but nothing to do in the evenings ”
Sports facilities
Reviewed June 08, 2013
7.3
Very good
tanarat from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
location”
peace
we spent 3 nights here, and it very quiet and peaceful. staffs are nice but looked grumpy most of the times.
Reviewed March 02, 2013
7.0
Very good
abdullah from Kuwait
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Very big resort with lots of activities ”
Pleasant scenery
The resort is very big with lots of activities such as biking kayaking football play ground its the ideal place for big groups non the less for any one who enjoy the nature and get couple of days out of the city. the place is at least 1km away from the main road and there is no restaurant or any thing round so if u need any transportation contact the reception the restaurant is good the staff is super nice.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ian from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Good hotel in extensive grounds”
Quiet and many activities available
very large grounds in a secluded riverside area. resturaunt was good considewring the remote location.
Reviewed February 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
WATTANAPORN from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Romantic hotel”
Nice location and romantic
This is a gift for a couple who go for honeymoon. The hotel is nice and located at the nice place and romantic. Hotel is clean and I will recommend friends to go there when they go to Suan Phueng
Reviewed January 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Farheen from Singapore
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
peaceful and idllyic setting”
The roomsan cottages are situated cleverly to allow for privacy yet giving a lovely view of the nature around. I loved the lotus pond in front of our room. the patios provided for quiet morning an evening spots. I also liked the various benches and pagoda like shelters which provided vantage view points. if you book the accommodation on the floating raft on the river, you will enjoy the fact it's away from all the other accommodation.
the resort is fairly big so it takes a while for things to happen but for me it suited fine as i was having a slow lazy non paced holiday. being away from k'buri town also worked in my favour as a certain type of traveller will head out 65km to pung waan and not your average noisy backpacker groups. transport is an issue and it would be good to consider hiring the bikes and riding out to enjoy the local food instead of being restricted to a fairly western dominant menu with some thai dishes. having said that, the food was good.
Reviewed January 19, 2013
8.7
Excellent
chayathorn from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
good”
location
beatuful location and good air I like very much
Reviewed January 17, 2013
5.7
Iain from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Good location and good for children”
The sporting . leisure facilities
The hotel is a long way from any town or city so a car is necessary to get around. and We found that the hotel was good for children with a good swimming pool cycles and other things to occupy them. however I thought that the cost of such things eg bicycles was relatively expensive. The room was ok but there was a poor shower which required two requests and visits to correct - which is not ideal when getting young children to bed
Reviewed January 08, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Attractive Riverside Setting”
Gardens, swimming pool
Although they don't seem to advertise the fact the hotel will pick you up and/or drop you off at the bus stop on the main road or at Nam Tok railway station, useful as the hotel is a little isolated in its peaceful and very green riverside setting. The swimming pool is large and clean. Ice cream fans should not miss the separate, and not always advertised, ice cream menu.
Reviewed January 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Christopher from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Cottage
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Nice Bungalows, close to the river”
Nice surroundings, close to the river
The resort is pretty, with a lot of land next to the river. It is a relaxing and picturesque place to be. The staff were helpful and friendly and I felt relaxed during my stay there. The restaurant area is nice too with a lofty view out toward the river. On the downside, though, the resort is a long way back from the main road and you really need your own transport to get in and out. There was a resort van that ran trips once a day but there were no motorcycles for rent so I felt a little stuck arriving via public transport.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
6.7
Good
Chintana from Thailand
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Comfortable hotel with relaxing atmosphere”
Close to nature
Good atmosphere hotel with friendly staff. Standard room that meet expectation and clean
Reviewed December 27, 2012