Book Now: Rama Shinta Hotel Candidasa

Excellent
From 142 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (142)Booking.com Reviews (168)
8.1
Excellent
From 142 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.8
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.0
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
Français
Nederlands
more
Room type
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 138 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
ROCHELLE from Philippines
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
A quiet getaway from Kuta”
Quiet location, nice pool, and efficient service
We had an enjoyable stay in this hotel. The location is good. The surrounding is perfect for absolutely doing nothing! 😄 The room is clean and has a huge bathroom. However, there is this certain fishy smell once you enter the room, which I think is caused by the lagoon next door. The room's AC is blocked by the mosquito net, thus making the room a bit hot. The beach is within walking distance but it is not swimmable because of the strong currents. The hotel's location is near to some points of tourist attraction like the floating temple, the oldest village in Bali, and the chocolate factory. Overall, we had a wonderful time in Candidasa. :)
Reviewed July 11, 2013
7.0
Very good
David from United States
Business traveler
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Poor staff performance, ordinary food”
Proximity to a beautiful pond, quiet rooms, quaint doors
We arrived at 10pm and all English-speaking staff had left the hotel. A security guard with terrible English skills led us to our rooms. I had requested 2 twin beds and an extra bed in one of the rooms to sleep three men, and we were given a double bed with an extra bed. The guard couldn't understand us to fix the problem, and all other hotel staff were gone. The breakfast was small and plain with limited selection. The pool and grounds looked nice, but we weren't allowed to use the pool because it was too late (10 pm)!! I wouldn't stay here again.
Reviewed July 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Laurence from United Kingdom
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
lovely relaxing hotel overlooking waterlily lagoon”
staff, pool area, room
We had a lovely relaxing time at Rama Shinta hotel. The young girls in the restaurant were really pleasant and took the time to ask about your day and were very attentive. I really loved the beautiful swimming pool surrounded by lovely gardens, though there isn't enough room for many sun lounges. The breakfast was lovely and always cooked from fresh produce. All the staff were very friendly. There are a couple of guys down by some fishing boats by the hotel, they offer snorkelling trips and boat trips, very friendly and my husband did go out on a snorkelling trip with them, which he really enjoyed. There is a small primary school nearby and it was lovely listening to the children playing and enjoying themselves. There are a number of restaurants and bars in the local area, most of which were really good. Vincents restaurant comes to mind we had a lovely meal in lovely surroundings.
Reviewed June 25, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kirill from Russia
Couple
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 19 nights in April 2013
Good location”
Location, food, room
Reviewed May 26, 2013
7.7
Very good
John from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Relaxing time in an out of the way part of Bali.”
great open air bathroom, good airconditing, good wifi.
We enjoyed our stay but would not have booked if we knew there was no telephone or TV in the rooms.
Reviewed May 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Gary from Australia
Couple
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
NICE FRIENDLY RELAXING HOTEL”
Quiet not on main road relaxing friendly
A very pleasant experience close to port for your trip by boat tp Lombok
Reviewed April 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Vaidotas from Lithuania
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Perfect for few days stay”
Cozy and nice decorated rooms, open air showers in rooms, excelent staff
We stayed only for overnight of our trip round Bali and it was perfect value for money stay. Ver cozy all hotel, rooms have nice design, very welcoming and taking care staff. Pool small, but nice. Very clean. Breakfast a la carte menu with deacent choices and prepared very well. Restaurant is small and cozy, food quality very good. Beach near hotel very poor and not so nice to swim.
Reviewed April 12, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Vladislav from Serbia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
wonderful garden, openbathroom serves as a terrace”
Garden, Open-space-bathroom and Cat clinic !
We enjoyed our stay very well, our hosts were very nice Germans, with a lot of explanations what to see and experience. The garden is so wonderful, and of course there is a cat clinic next door to hotel where you can chat with little cats . We would like to come back and enjoy ourselves in hospitality of hotel Rama Shinta again, and would recommend it to anybody !
Reviewed March 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Holly from United Kingdom
Group
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Beautiful rooms in a quiet town”
Near to nice restaurants, quiet, clean, lovely pool
We spent 3 nights in Candi Dasa, a very small and quiet town in Bali. There were a few nice restaurants near by but not really anything to do or see here. The hotel was clean, accommodating and relaxing. The pool was lovely and the resturant was good. Would recommend if you're staying in Candi Dasa.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Evelyn from Germany
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Great hotel, good location”
Clean, tidy, big rooms and nice breakfast
had a had time deciding if to stay here for a week or just one day. This hotel came a close second. Restaurant to left facing hotel is very super cheap and awesome!
Reviewed February 18, 2013
7.3
Very good
DALER from Russia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Nice bungalow hotel”
Quiet
For those who wants to experience village style of living. Simple and Quiet. Huge rooms, you can even play football in the bathroom. Better to have a room on the second floor, less lizards in you bathroom. Don't be scared, they don't bother you, in fact they are almost everywhere in this island. If someone interested in swimming pool, it was clean and clear. Breakfast is very basic, although I liked it, very simple, clean. No beach close by, you need to rent a car or a boat to go to the White Sand Beach (60 000Rp - car, 100 Rp - boat, one way. Put your stuff in plastic bag, it's gonna be all wet) Orange bus can take you back to Candidasa from the white sand beach, no bus stops, you need to wait until it comes on the main road, 10 000 per person. If you go alone, it's almost impossible to find the beach, it's hidden in the forest. The first impression was not good but I liked this hotel at the end.
Reviewed January 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
uku from Estonia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Spacy”
Big rooms
The hotel has tide and spacious rooms. Every room has a balcony. Swimming pool was small but clean and pretty. breakfast was good. the hotel restaurant is normal, not bad. There is a small beach next to the hotel. You can swim there, and there are some people to lend small boats for snorkling.
Reviewed January 10, 2013
7.7
Very good
NICOLAS from France
Solo traveler
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Tres sympa”
Sejour calme et tranquille
Hotel tres agreable, sa petite taille garde une certaine intimite. Personnel serviable.
Reviewed January 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
See from Singapore
Family with teens
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great location and clean rooms”
Location which is right by the Candidasa lagoon
Room is a little small but very clean. Toilet is open air type. Right by the Candidasa lagoon. Step right out of the back gate and you are at the lagoon. A short 100m walk will take you to the main street where the restaurants and shops are. Breakfast is a choice between toast/eggs and fried rice/noodles/pancakes. Welcome drink was a nice surprise. Overall, value for money.
Reviewed December 23, 2012
6.3
Good
Seth from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2012
You could do better”
Clean
This hotel states it is within one minutes walking of the beach but don't expect a swimming beach. This "beach" is about a ten metre wide stretch of sand and dead coral that allows fishing and tourist boat accesss to an artificial harbour. A swimming and relaxing beach it definitely is not. The hotel consists of two, two storey wings with a small swimming pool separating them. There is not much space around the swimming pool. Despite the air conditioner going our ground floor room was very hot. This was because there were openings above both windows that whilst fly screened could not be closed. In the November heat the air conditioner could just not cope. We complained to the owners ( a German couple) who moved us at no cost to an upper floor room in which the window openings could be closed. In this the air conditioner worked as it should. The owners explanation for this weird ventilation system was that in winter some guests liked to turn of the air conditioner and have fresh air. This may be so but it appeared to me that air conditioning had just been added to fan only rooms without adding shutters to the open spaces. Rooms are smallish but adequate but there is no bench for luggage so the floor has to be used.
Reviewed November 21, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Cynthia from United States
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Comfortable rooms on beautiful grounds”
Beautiful garden and pool
Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff were pleasant. We enjoyed our stay at this quaint boutique hotel.
Reviewed November 16, 2012
3.0
Frank from Netherlands
Family with young children
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Service was very bad”
No recommendations
Our last days in Bali we stayed at the Rama Shinta Hotel. The owners of this hotel is a German couple, they are not friendly. The hole day they sit on their bungalow and keep an eye on there staff. Simple rooms, not clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very disappointing! We will certainly never go back to this hotel!
Reviewed November 13, 2012
7.7
Very good
Nandita from United States
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Beautiful gardens and pool”
gardens, pool, view from upstairs rooms, helpful staff
Very helpful staff and beautiful gardens and pool.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Ceara from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Hidden beauty”
Lagoon, quiet
The hotel was in a quiet location just off the main road right next to a lagoon. It was lovely except the shower was a bit funny at times
Reviewed October 16, 2012
7.7
Very good
Anne-Marie from Netherlands
Group
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Nice little place ”
tropical garden and swimming pool
This hotel is a nice little place with a beautiful tropical garden and a pleasant swimming pool. The rooms are good and clean with an outside bathroom. My room was a bit noisy as it was next door to the reception. Wifi is great throughout the resort and they have a small restaurant with good food. As everywhere on the island the breakfast is pretty standard and simple but good enough to start the day. We only had a lunch here and the food quality was very good with many fresh ingredients. Drinks will be served at the pool upon request. The staff is friendly but do not expect any help to get a taxi for your next destination without paying ridiculous high rates; they will call a driver for you and you have to negotiate with the driver on the phone yourself; a bit more service in this field would be appreciated but apart from that our stay was a pleasant one.
Reviewed September 25, 2012
6.7
Good
Ian from United Kingdom
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Basic, clean, quiet”
Friendly staff
Very simple layout, tucked being the front row of buildings the sea and a pretty freshwater lake ( locally called a lagood, but that is poetic licence!) The room is large, simply furnished and basic. Breakfast is very limited, ok if staying for a short brek and you are ok with eggs. Staff are very plasant and helpful. Have stopped in many similar rated hotels in Bali that offered more for you money. Candidisa is a typical Bali one street town. Plenty of places to eat, a few shops, several small supermarkets.
Reviewed August 25, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Lindsay from United States
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
nice hotel right on a lake”
good pool, rooms with private balconies
the hotel provides good breakfast, nice room with an outdoor bathroom.
Reviewed July 20, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Thomas from Germany
Family with teens
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Charming Little hotel ”
Pool, nice rooms Indonesian style, beautiful garden, little beach for snorkeling near the hotel.
Price and service fit perfect. The members of staff are friendly and helpful both at the Desk and in the Restaurant, which offers a good variety of food in good quality. The rooms are cozy and it's nice to sit at the spacy balcony. Our son liked most the cats.
Reviewed July 07, 2012
7.7
Very good
Martinus from Netherlands
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Lovely small hotel, nice saff.”
Restaurant, surroudings (mountains)
Nice hotel, good start for mountain-trekking, fine food.
Reviewed July 03, 2012
7.7
Very good
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good location”
Good transport links and friendly staff
Room functional but small but no complaints as it was only for one night
Reviewed June 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Gail from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Nice small hotel in great location”
The room was very clean and comfortable and had its own safe. The resataurant and staff were very good. The pool although small was quite adequate
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rama Shinta. The staff were always helpful and the restaurant food and service were excellent. We enjoyed the included breakfasts and also dined there one night. The location was central but close to the beach and away from traffic noise.
Reviewed May 25, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Dragan from Switzerland
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Idyllic hotel, frendly service and very good food!”
Hotel areal, nice pool, nice room, cheap and excelent pool!
we spent two nights at rama shinta and it was just a good experience. the hotel location is on a natural "lagoon", it's more a small, small lake with water roses, very nice, however there is no "useful" beach. there is one indeed but not really good. nevertheless, the hotel self is excellent. very nice service, clean and nice rooms, doesn't matter which room you get, all of them look good. the food is very good and cheap. everything was clean and tidy. yes, we would command this small and nice hotel.
Reviewed May 23, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
sola from South Korea
Solo traveler
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
good location, kind staff, wonderful sea”
location is very good. you can go to many famouse restaurant on foot in candidasa.
I stayed at this hotel for 3days. It was really comfortable and convenient. The hotel has tide and spacious rooms. Every room has a balcony. Swimming pool was small but clean and pretty. breakfast was good. the hotel restaurant is normal, not bad. There is a small beach next to the hotel. You can swim there, and there are some people to lend small boats for snokling. You have to use the boat for snorkeling. lental pee is reasonable and White sand beach is so beautiful. snorkleing at the white sand beach is awesome.
Reviewed May 19, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Kaye from Australia
Couple
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Small friendly hotel with beautiful lagoon outlook”
Central location, lots of nearby restaurants
we found rama shinta perfect for our stay of 4 nights. our upstairs room was extremely comfortable, clean, and had a lovely view from the balcony. the building is very solid so no noisy neighbours, and even busy road 100m away was not a problem. breakfast was a little basic, but there are so many very reasonable restaurants nearby you don't have to walk far to find something else. check in and check out with a breeze.
Reviewed April 30, 2012
7.0
Very good
Erick from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Good hotel with good service”
good service, clean room, nice pool
Have clean room and a nice pool. The service is really good and their staffs are helpful. I stay there for 4 nights and quite enjoy my stay. It’s a good place to relax for a while. The downside of this hotel is their food is just not good. But that’s not a problem as there are many good food around this hotel.
Reviewed April 19, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Benjamin from Australia
Couple
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Great Place”
Great location and friendly staff
Very friendly and honest staff. Lovely pool surrounded by nice garden.
Reviewed April 18, 2012
6.0
Susan from United States
Group
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Sketchy electricity”
The bed was comfortable enough.
Traveling mother-daughter team. The room was adequate and the bed comfortable enough, but the intermittent electricity both nights made reading in bed and doing computer work impossible. The food in Candidasa is mediocre at best.
Reviewed April 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
Jayne from Australia
Couple
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Lovely Hotel, friendly service”
Swimming Pool, close proximity to town
manager was very helpful. arranged a scooter for us to hire and helped barter a rate for the trip back to the airport. didn't eat in the restaurant, plenty of restaurants around. there wasn't a tv in our room. good for relaxing and taking time out. free wifi. shower did not have any pressure. breakfast was great. close to diving
Reviewed April 15, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Law from Singapore
Solo traveler
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Better than expected”
Good view and comfortable
the hotel was well managed with lots of plants & flowers, swimming pool and the room was clean and comfortable. the bathroom design was special, part of it got open roof and with plants there. the breakfast was good but a bit slow. the service was fine and the staff was helpful. the location was close to the sea and got lots of dive shop nearby. however, it was very far from the airport and took about 3 hours.
Reviewed April 12, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Kirsten from Netherlands
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Good location, beautiful garden”
Clean big rooms
Nice bungalows with big rooms and bathrooms. Beautiful garden with a nice swimming pool. Rooms are clean and in good condition. Good location.
Reviewed April 04, 2012
7.3
Very good
Keithlyn from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Small, nice hotel with average rooms”
Nice pool, nice gardens, good location
My partner and I only stayed for one night during March 2012. It is a little confusing to find, but all the locals seem to know where it is. However, it is a perfect location in Candidasa. The property itself is very small but lovely. We stayed in one of the rooms on the bottom floors. Our room was very average. The bathroom is an outdoor one, with a good shower. We had no TV, but we did have air conditioning.
Reviewed April 02, 2012
7.3
Very good
Jessica from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
A comfortable place to stay”
We like the owners who made themselves available and checked to see everything as satisfactory. A bonus is that Anke likes cats, and it trying to rescue some, which we appreciated.
This place is a little tricky to find. While the large sign shows you where the hotel is but finding the little road to the hotel is a bit tricky. Take the first right after the lake. Grounds - this is a small, neat and tidy property that is well maintained. There are twelve rooms in two rows with a small courtyard in between. The five upstairs rooms have a sea view while the downstairs rooms front onto the small garden/courtyard. The rooms edge the property so there isn't a lot of roaming space however just out the hotel gate is a very large lilly strewn lake which is nice to walk around. It is a 1 minute walk to the small bit of beach nearby. Rooms - the rooms have recently been refurbished, are clean and have all new, basic western furniture. There isn't a lot of balinese character but they are comfortable and the air conditioner is sufficient for the room if you close the doors. All rooms have a small outdoor space in front with a couple of chairs and a table where you can relax and catch up on your diary/letter writing. The bathrooms are spacious and have a small open air component which is nice. The towels are a brilliant white. Facilities- there is a small pool in the garden sufficient for cooling down but not big enough for lap swimming. The restaurant will bring you pool side drinks if you wish. The restaurant is small and serves Indonesian and German style foods. The ayam lalapan and the mahimahi with coconut sauce are fabulous. The pork steak is a treat (in Indonesia) though a bit tough. The hotel can organize laundry and snorkeling at nearby reefs for reasonable prices.  While there isn't a spa massages can be organized in your room by reception. Service - the staff are friendly and eager to help and provide good service.  Value - we booked through Agoda and paid about per night which was ok for the area which has a lot of accommodation available.
Reviewed March 13, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Nina from Germany
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Small and lovely hotel with clean rooms ”
Clean rooms, very friendly personal, a location with a family atmosphere and a excellent restauran
We really liked the pool with the table and relaxing area inside!
Reviewed March 07, 2012
6.7
Good
Anna-Lina from Germany
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Lovely Garden, nice Bungalow buildings, feels cozy”
Good breakfast, the location is near to the beach
we liked to stay 1 night more outside far from the drunken bikini szene kuta. if somebody is searching for a place with much nature around candidasa is a nice visit!
Reviewed February 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Gerd from Sweden
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2012
Lovely garden, nice staff.”
It was very good placed near to beach and willage.
the room were clean and comfortable. the pool were small but nice and warm. the restaurang were very good and not expensive.
Reviewed February 24, 2012
6.0
Norman from Australia
Couple
Shinta Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Out of the way hotel”
Very quiet
older style balinese hotel. while the room was comfortable it does need a good sprucing up.the rooms don't have tv's. the staff were helpfull in organising a car and driver for a day of sightseeing.there are a few good restaraunts within easy walking distance, but not an awful lot else to do in candidasa.
Reviewed February 23, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Stacey from United States
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Nice hotel, pleasant staff, weird owner”
Great staff, large rooms
overall,we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the staff is so accommodating and nice. the food at the restaurant was surprisingly good. the rooms were spacious and clean. having said that, the closest beach is a 15-20 min motorbike ride away which is slightly inconvenient. also, the woman roaming the pool area to ask people if they want a massage was a little uncomfortable. in addition, the owner is a strange german fellow with a gruff, unwelcoming demeanor. since it was low season during our stay, we asked if we could move to a room with a balcony. the owner's response was that they were fully booked and it was not possible which we were fine with. but over the next two nights, it was apparent that over half the rooms were empty. it was disappointing to be lied to in such a manner; we would have preferred to be told that they just don't give free upgrades. but other than that unfortunate incident, we had a very quiet, restful stay at rama shinta.
Reviewed February 18, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Delys from Australia
Group
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012
Great location, friendly and fun.”
great location aand the staff were just fabulous.
it was a great place to stay. the staff loved their jobs and it showed in the way they treated us. we love the pool and gardens. it was nice to be in a small complex. the other patrons were good to talk to. there is no tv so we socialised with each other. the location was good too. we had close access to everything we needed. all in walkign distance. the massages were great and very good value at $8 aud for a full body massage. some great restaurants close by.
Reviewed February 18, 2012
5.7
Asfriyono from Indonesia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
rama shinta”
garden , clean , pool
Drove long the way from denpasar and bit hard to find the hotel (no sign). The room is clean with new furniture , but the bathroom inside is "open" and can easily peek from the window upstair . Try to complain and ask to move to other room , but they gave me no solution (not flexible). Not so good impression after long driving and found this !
Reviewed February 14, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Cool rooms!”
True Bali
This hotel was situated about an hour and a half by car from the airport and it is definitely worth it! Candidasa has some of the best food in Bali and great people! The hotel staff was great, though the owners didn't seem to want to have much to do with the hotel overall. The room was great though!
Reviewed February 12, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Donna from Australia
Group
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
relax & enjoy but bring mozzie spray”
Right next to lagoon, peaceful & Friendly staff, 'you're welcome' every two seconds!! Rooms clean but basic, no tv or DVD, pool excellent, breakfast cooked fresh as ordered.
Very quiet, only few ther people there, virtually had pool to ourselves. No tv or DVD so teenage daughter bit bored, lucky I had the iPad, bonus free wifi on rooms & round the pool. Clean basic rooms, outside bathroom/shower & doors that didn't fully close allowed bugs, mozzies in so take plenty of spray.
Reviewed February 09, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Martin from Switzerland
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in January 2012
Home away from home”
Lovely staff and owners
we had a great time at the rama shinta hotel. the rooms are spotless and the staff were very friendly. the garden and pool area is also lovely and a great place to relax. the hotel is very well run by the german owners anke and rolf who were extremely kind and welcoming. with their many small kindnesses, treats and helpful tips they really made us feel like guests and not just customers. we can wholeheartedly recommend the rama shinta hotel and can't wait to come back as soon as possible.
Reviewed February 02, 2012
7.7
Very good
Marianne from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
nice hotel and friendly staff”
swimming pool, staff, quiet area
i have booked just one night in that hotel, but i felt so comfortable, that i decided, to stay one more night. the only disadvantage was the breakfast, it was a bit to small and they put a glass of jam with a spoon on the table, that was a bit strange and the other day i arranged my own jam.
Reviewed February 01, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Paul from Australia
Couple
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Quiet small hotel in great location”
location, price cleanliness
Rama Bungalows as they are now called are situated adjacent to the beautiful lake filled with water lilies. It is a small hotel of 12 - 13 rooms, quiet and well cared for. The rooms are in an older balinese style but very clean with quite new linens and towels. Air-conditioner worked wonderfully well.Breakfast was ample, either eggs toast and fruit of balinese pancakes, all freshly cooked. It was a great location to reach tirtagganga and amed on a day trip. Would recommend the rama,would definitely stay again if i could book thru agoda at a discounted rate
Reviewed January 27, 2012
7.0
Very good
Neil from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Rama Superior Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Nice small hotel, good location”
Cosy bungalows, nice outdoor bathrooms, close to restaurants
Rama bungalows and Shinta restaurant are in the centre of Candidasa, next to the small lake and Le 48 restaurant. Don't confuse the bungalows with Hotel Rama, a much bigger place about 2km west of the centre of town. There's a small harbour next to the lake with boat trips to the islands offshore for snorkeling and it's ok for swimming at low tide. The nearest decent beach is about 20 minutes walk east of the centre. The restaurants on the main road are just a couple of minutes walk away.
Reviewed January 26, 2012