Book Now: Ramada Katunayake Hotel - Colombo International Airport

Ramada Katunayake Hotel - Colombo International Airport Reviews

Good6.6
Based on 243 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (243)
Booking.com Reviews (101)

6.6

Filter by guest type:
Good
based on 243 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.8
  • Location 7.0
  • Room comfort and quality 7.0
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 6.4
Good
based on 38 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 6.8
  • Room comfort and quality 6.5
  • Service 6.4
  • Value for money 5.9
Good
based on 111 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.4
  • Location 6.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.0
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 6.4
Very good
based on 41 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.2
Review score
based on 22 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.0
  • Location 6.5
  • Room comfort and quality 6.0
  • Service 5.8
  • Value for money 5.1
Very good
based on 16 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 6.5
Good
based on 15 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.2
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 6.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • Deutsch
  • 简体中文
  • Português (PT)
  • Norsk
  • Italiano
  • Nederlands
  • Español
  • Français
  • العربية
  • Suomi
  • Svenska
more less

Room type
  • Standard Twin
  • Standard Queen
  • Deluxe Twin
  • Deluxe Queen
  • Super Deluxe Double Room
more less

Sort by
Showing 228 verified guest comments
  • clear all

6.0
Jhesilda from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Near airport, facilities and service satisfactory”
Good location - near the airport especially for those who arrive late at night or for transit travellers. No Wi-Fi in rooms. Check your booking if its included as they charge per hour. Room smells damp and musty. Breakfast is expensive at USD10 for bacon and bread.
Reviewed November 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.6
Darshini from India
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Convenient but only for short stays”
Conveniently located near the airport, it makes for a good location to spend a night between flights or if you're waiting for day break to travel out. While the location is convenient, the hotel itself is quite rundown and smells many years old. The rooms are filled with smoke dust, the carpets and curtains are grimy, and the smell of smoke is overwhelmingly strong. Lighting is poor. Had to wait to checkin before the air conditioners were turned on. Room size is decent and there was warm water in the taps.
Reviewed September 09, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.8
Mudrikath from Maldives
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Just ok hotel”
Near to airport
Reviewed August 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.2
Diemo from Germany
Family with young children
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Basic Hotel not close to the Airport”
Not sure why this Hotel calls Airport Hotel since it is not that close. Being in a few Ramada Hotels before, this one certainly should not have this name. Hotel in general is ok, staff friendly and attentive, however Lobby with very poor aircondition which makes the checkin/checkout unpleasant. Room are big but worn out and stained floor carpet and chairs. Breakfast very limited. Won't neither recommend this hotel nor come back.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Rami from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Good stay”
Value of money
Reviewed April 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
Wim from Netherlands
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Disappointing experience”
Old rooms with dirty carpets and even cockroadges in the bathrooms. The restaurant is very mediocre. The hotel is within 10 minutes reach from the airport and from that point of view convenient.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
Shihoko from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Your Hotel is horrible!! ”
Your Hotel is Filthy dirty! There were so many amenities in the room that ere broken. There were light bulbs missing in the room, The bathroom was something that resembles a filthy animal enclosure!! The other travelers at your hotel were very low class people. You all should be ashamed at treating your guests in such a terrible manner!!! We will not recommend your hotel or stay there ever again!! You are horrible people and I cannot believe that this hotel is part of the Ramada Hotel chain. I guess I should not be surprised. Your government is corrupt and your people are in poverty.
Reviewed March 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Jayatilake from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
good hotel for airport transit”
friendly staff
Reviewed March 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.8
YU from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Near airport”
Location is good, near airport, room is OK
Reviewed February 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Taryn from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Amazing Staff - Terrible Buffet”
Staff, Room size and cleanliness, location
Good stay, the buffet was terrible though - food wasn't very nice and not much to choose from. The staff were exemplary!
Reviewed January 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Gerlie from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
bfast buffet selection can be improve.”
location, good staff, and nice room
we enjoyed and comfortable. Nice and hospitable staff are the asset of any hotel. Keep it up.
Reviewed January 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Fiona from New Zealand
Family with teens
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
welcome 1st stop in Sri Lanka near the airport”
quiet, large rooms, nice pool
Reviewed January 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Rilwan from Maldives
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Nice location”
FOOD LOCATION SHOPPING
good
Reviewed January 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Rilwan from Maldives
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Good”
Normal
This is a normal hotel
Reviewed November 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
RUBU from India
Business traveler
Super Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
too bad”
I didn't find any thing best sorry
I had booked the super deluxe room and that too at the booking time it was shown that the super deluxe room had a balcony. And at the check in time the bell Boy bring us in a room when I ask the bell boy he said it was a deluxe room . I came down and ask the front desk.they again look into my voucher and said they will change the room . Nothing big has happened changed to an another room in the same floor. . What's this ?? Then why they are showing an option of super deluxe room with high range of money. When I ask in the front desk the guy told me there is no room with balcony . One who is using the swimming pool can understand if they have balcony room or not. And in the booking time agoda has shown super deluxe room has balcony. And the next thing the location is also not good. We cannot find a small shops near by.
Reviewed November 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Rajesh from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Food not good stay is for businessman”
Good staff
Average
Reviewed November 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Ihithisham from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Superb”
Location. Services. Rooms
Lovely
Reviewed November 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
kate from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Easy Airport stop”
This hotel was a massive treat after backpacking and we thought it was great value for money. The breakfast was abundant and tasty. The pool was nice. The room was huge and had everything we required
Comfortable, clean, welcoming. Could do with free WiFi at least in the bar area. Gym cardiovascular machines need updating. Overall great though nice end to the holiday.
Reviewed November 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.3
Ekta from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
REALLY BAD”
Stay was extremely disappointing. on checkin they could not find my booking, made me wait for 30 mins to prepare the room. Wifi was BAD and once you connect in night it disconnects and they do not issue new username as once disconnected wifi cannot use same details: BAD no phone were working, for anything you had to come down to reception to ask. rude staff.
Reviewed November 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.3
NARAYANAN from India
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Room service very poor,and maintenance very bad”
Reception good, near airport
Ok, not bad
Reviewed October 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Jeffrey from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Overnight stay for airport”
Location, staff and room
OK for an overnight but the food was very poor
Reviewed September 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
HONG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
close to airport”
close to airport, average service & room
Reviewed September 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Marian from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Not as good as previously rated ”
Staff, location, reception
Food was terrible I was violently sick after the one and only meal had at the hotel. There were ants all over the bathroom vanity basin. However the staff were lovely, great location and the room very comfortable. I had the impression it was under new management,
Reviewed August 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.3
Richard from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Not a four star hotel”
Nice kitchen staff. Good breakfast.
Rubbish gym. Wifi not working. Dirty and poor quality. Very old and need of refurbishment
Reviewed August 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Osada from Sri Lanka
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Good rooms closer to Airport”
Food, Room services, Location
Located on the main road and easy to travel from airport. Comfortable rooms and food is tasty. Outside View from the rooms is not so nice as buildings are all over. Orientation of the hotel makes very difficult to find the room at once. Elevator is too small, but the staff is friendly enough to stay happy
Reviewed August 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Jakub from Poland
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Close to the airport and that's it”
Location
10 minutes from the airport. Whole lobby and pool were under renovation so unusable. Breakfast decent. They couldn't find the wifi password for an hour.
Reviewed July 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Saada from Maldives
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Not very clean.”
Excellent Staff
Only thing good was the staf and location.
Reviewed May 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
stuart from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
perfect for landing spot”
location service room
ideal, off the flight and straight into lovely hotel with super helpful staff to help us get to our final destination in sri lanka. Hazzle free to just arrive, wash and relax before heading onto holiday proper
Reviewed March 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Ali from United Arab Emirates
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Good location ”
Staff , location, food
Reviewed March 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Keith from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
No up to Ramadas standard”
Staff performance
We booked at the Ramada Airport because it was close to airport and we were leaving next day.Since we were driving a rental car. When we first pulled in to the Ramadas entrance we knew that this was a old rundown hotel. Not what you would expect from Ramada. Since we were stuck with the prepaid there was no option at that point. The rooms are old, probably 1970's decor. Noise in hallway, old slippery bathtub. Stained carpets and a pervasive odor in room and hallways of some cleaning product that smelled like Listerine. I will say that the staff was well trained and tried hard.
Reviewed March 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.3
Mattia from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
old”
close to the airport
expensive , old structure, wifi not free, ugly rooms
Reviewed December 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Nozomu from Japan
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Good for a simple stay ”
Location, ambience, trouble free
Used the hotel for transit purpose as we reached the airport late night and wanted somewhere to stay near by to get up early the next morning.
Reviewed October 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Mila from Brazil
Family with young children
Super Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Close to the airport”
Not worth
We chose to spend some hours before our night flight in the hotel. The experience was awful. We would definitely not recommend. It is very expensive for what it offers.
Reviewed October 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Bunchird from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Nice hotel in Colombo ”
Clean and nice room. Good Breakfast.
My flight arrived at the airport almost midnight. Here is a great place spending one night before my trip to Kandy.
Reviewed October 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Mohammed from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
convenient location to the airport”
staff friendliness, location to the airport and food selections.
Very pleased with the service provided. However, the room needs maintenance due to wear and tear.
Reviewed September 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Yan from China
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Small hotel,just stop for catching flight”
Good stuff,just that
We'll,very small hotel,a little bit old.not very clean,nor dirty.close to airport,and has a bus to terminal for free
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Susan from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
convenience”
Close to airport. Good sized clean rooms. Pool.
We only stayed at the Ramada as a convenience as we had to leave early for the airport. The room we had-a delux queen-was huge clean and comfortable with a view over the pool. The food was goid and not expensive. The pool area had some shade and was clean with an attentive staff member but the view of the back of the building is third world( cracked, mouldy abd with several extraneous doors left ajar). The one area that could improove is reception. Some staff were good and helpfulbut some quite off hand and almost rude. Having said all thus .We would definitely stay again should we arrive late or leave early.
Reviewed August 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Dr from Sri Lanka
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
The view out side of the room is not good. ”
Food, Welcome & Price of food
It is not bad. My Door card could not be used at one time...and staff informed that it may be due to the card & phone were kept together. I request, that Hotel must issue instructions that not to keep the card with phone that was not properly mentioned on the card.
Reviewed August 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
James from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
OK for a night near airport”
Close proximity to airport
Reviewed July 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Kiran from Australia
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
convenient and comfortable”
close to airport, clean, fast check-in
I only spent one night, after a very long trip and it was a very comfortable stay. The room is a bit old but very clean, nice bed and a nice garden with pool. The staff were efficient and helpful.
Reviewed July 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Manique from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
plesant”
Helpful staff, close distance to air port, excellent service
Restful and plesant
Reviewed April 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.7
Janace from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Terrible experience. ”
None
Terrible. They did not respond to any of my advance emails for my late arrival. My room was so hot I had to change rooms three times to be able to sleep. There was no internet connection for wifi and since I was just laying over I had not purchased this country. The 1.5 k taxis trip was an additional $25 US dollars. This entire experience was ridiculous. My advise is to avoid this hotel
Reviewed March 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Ryan from Ireland
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
convenient, friendly, but pretty shabby”
friendly staff, good breakfast
the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was unexpectedly good. the room was a decent size, but smelled badly of stale smoke. the bathroom was not particularly clean and the shower/bath drain was clogged with hair and other matter. not great! it was a convenient place to crash after a 2am arrival, but it wasn't a wonderful option.
Reviewed February 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
DARICE from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
excellent place to stay near by airport.”
customer service, easy access to the airport, near by the shopping centers. (k zone. negombo, jaela)
the manager the customer service rep & the restaurant crew made our stay pleasant one. we were tryingto find a transportation for a large crew to attend our daughter's wedding and made it happened within the seconds. the restaurant crew were really nice to all of us. they had different menus that you can choose.
Reviewed February 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Alexandra from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Decent option near airport”
clean, comfortable room
We stayed here for one night as our flight into Colombo arrived late at night and we wanted a hotel near the airport. We got off to a bad start as our pre-arranged airport pick up did not arrive, leaving us stranded at the airport! However a staff member arrived about half an hour later to pick up another guest and was very helpful and apologetic and arranged for someone to get come get us. The hotel itself is a bit dated but the room was large, clean and comfortable. All in all a decent option near the airport.
Reviewed January 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Nicola from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
great for airport”
nice food helpful staff
Great for an easy access to the airport, nice room bed not huge but comfortable, staff very helpful and good choices in the restaurant
Reviewed January 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Richard from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
More than just an airport stopover”
Helpful and friendly staff. Good pool. Good restaurant.
Pleasantly surprised by reception and service at this hotel near the airport.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Tham from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
For a transit hotel, it's satisfied ”
Hair dryer, water system
The only thing that is not satisfying is there is no free wifi. That's would be a competitive advantages if the hotel can provide free wifi.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
POJEN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Some change is needed to carry its big name”
Spacious size of room. Nice design of room. It takes 15mins to reach airport by tuk tuk
I enjoyed the huge spacious room. The bed was pretty comfortable, so this is a nice option for transit stay or for someone who arrived at Colombo at very late hour of night. But I don't know why, I hardly see smiles on staffs' face. I took a tuk tuk to this hotel and no one came to help carry my bags. I thought they must be busy somewhere else, the I dragged my 3 heavy bags into lobby and the two staffs were just watching me without coming to help carry, nor giving me warm greeting smile, which did not feel cool at all. And as for the room, although it looks really nice, as a Ramada room should be, the smell did not really hit that standard. Smells were from bathroom, and probably AC too. Speaking of AC, it is old machine and very loud, works only ok. The carpet is suspicious too, not sure if smells came from it. But for sure it is not clean, cause you feel itch on your feet if you do not wear any shoe or socks. The Wi-Fi is expensive. 2000 rupees for 20 hours online, but the signal in my room was pathetic. So, other than the good looking room and satisfactory size, there isn't much to praise about. I read reviews about this hotel, and several have suggested the hotel to do renovation. I think it is true. The AC noise and smell issue must be solved, it is a shame to see a Ramada room at this condition. Renovation might take a lot of time and cost, but it should be easier to train the staffs to show more hospitality, having more welcoming smiles, and being more attentive.
Reviewed December 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Monica from Singapore
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Just a place to rest after landing late to Colombo”
Access to airport, comfortable bed and large room
Nothing great, just that we need a clean room to stay over beofre heading to the rest of the provinces.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: