Book Now: Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa

2016

Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa Reviews

Excellent
From 1770 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 90% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1770)Booking.com Reviews (804)
8.2
Excellent
From 1770 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.5
Location7.3
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.6
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
简体中文
Deutsch
more
Room type
Hanuman Deluxe
Ravana Resident Suite
2 Bedroom Family Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1608 verified guest comments
3.2
Christopher from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
For New Year totally over priced far better options in the area ”
Dirty bathrooms virtually no staff can communicate with one, in 5 days at breakfast no brown bread/bacon/cheese the garden and pool is the only thing this Hotel has going for it
Reviewed January 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Hans from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
nice place”
beautiful garden but a bit far from the beach
Reviewed December 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Norbert from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Great place to relax with all the amenities for a great stay. ”
Well, to sume it up, it's a great budget resort. It's a tasteful resort, very affordable including restaurant and bar. The stuff are great, very helpful and friendly, in fact so friendly and open that we actually became friends. We truly enjoyed our stay and had quite some fun but the rooms could do with a little makeover. Everything is there but it's a bit on the modest side. Nevertheless, thanks to all the great people that work there and made our stay a great experience.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
6.4
Good
Paul
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Good”
lovely big clean room with a balcony for £45. the hotel is isolated but has a shuttle to the beach hourly. unfortunately the last bus back is 1815. the free breakfast was really good except for the coffee. the staff were all friendly but it was that fake corporate training friendly. i'm sure they would have been much nicer naturally. the food was average at best at the restaurant. though the prices are surprisingly low for a 4 star hotel. 80 baht for a big Chang!
Reviewed November 28, 2017
5.2
Bruce from United States
Solo traveler
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Above average”
It’s a 3km shuttle to the beach!
Reviewed November 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Matt from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
Everything was Brilliant, specially for family.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
5.2
Lalita from Thailand
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Above average”
Definitely not 4 stars hotel as indicated. Aweful breakfast. Overall maybe about 200THB overpriced. Staffs could have been more professionally trained if you aim to have that much stars. Not too bad. Just not as good as expected.
Reviewed October 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
glenn from Australia
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
Quite hotel, lovely gardens, great pool and jacuzzi, food good, and staff very friendly
Reviewed October 24, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Stephen from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017
Consistently excellent”
I have stayed at the Ramayana several times over the past few years. It is exceptional value considering the quality of the rooms, beautiful gatdens, and very good breakdast. While it is not beachfrony, there is an excellent pool, as well as a shuttle to their sister resort the Dewa, where guests are able to use their access to the beach, and deckchairs. The Dewa has a good Happy Hour in the afternoon. The staff at the Ramayana are well trained and friendly. I regularly eat at the restaurant at the resort where the food is delicious and inexpensive.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Kate from Thailand
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Simply gorgeous”
Super staff, beautiful room (we stayed in a family room which was a detached wooden house with two separate bedrooms). The garden and swimming pool were lovely. This is a very tastefully designed hotel with fantastic staff - so attentive. A really lovely retreat.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Surat from Thailand
Group
2 Bedroom Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
unique characteristic, friendly staffs & great facilities ”
We stayed for 4 nights, the room was very unique and charming in Thai style. We really like it. The staffs were amazing friendly and helpful. The ABF was delicious! Organic vegetables, homemade jams!
Reviewed October 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
YungChang from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Nice villa to stay in Koh Chang and never forget”
I spent two nights in this villa when I travelling in Koh Chang; garden is well maintained and villa house is clean & neat. Booking is without breakfast so that I did not know the quality of breakfast, Duration I traveled in Koh Chang is excellent and I will go back again.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Anthony from Australia
Couple
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
Value for money, food and drinks very competitive .
Reviewed October 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Glen from Australia
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Nice place ”
Very nice place to stay. It is quiet and relaxing...just what we wanted.
Reviewed October 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Anne from Denmark
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Like Living on the countryside ”
Very friendly staff Good breakfast Nice pool. Elephants to ride nearby
Reviewed October 01, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Claes from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Nice place”
Good value for money Nice staff Nice pool.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Valentina from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in August 2017
A gem at affordable rate”
I stayed here with my toddler son for seven nights. We loved everything about the resort as it's very child friendly and the staff were always kind and friendly. I had a few massages both at the spa and by the pool and they were all outstanding. I highly recommend the spa treatments at Ramayana. We also enjoyed the food. We enjoyed having dinner/lunch at the restaurant and also in our room in the veranda. Breakfast was amazing...lots of variety and they also have very tasty organic salads that they grow within the resort. The coffee was very good and fresh fruit too. I would come back to this place a million times. The only thing I didn't like was the very smelly bathroom and the poor cleaning. The rooms don't get cleaned thoroughly with detergents. The bathrooms wouldn't smell like that if more cleaning took place and also no point in having mosquito nets if they've got holes everywhere. No use. This would easily be a four/five star place if the cleaning could be done more deeply.
Reviewed September 05, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Yonghwan from South Korea
Solo traveler
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
very good”
good resort hotel
Reviewed July 07, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
gerardus from Netherlands
Family with young children
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Exceptional”
We had a great stay here. There was a problem with the family room (leaking roof above bathroom facilities) but they changed us to new rooms and we even got a free dinner. The pool is among the best we've ever encountered for kids. Very accessible and easy and plenty of room to play. Jacuzzi was a favourite with the teenager.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ratchada from Thailand
Business traveler
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
It's nice to stay here.”
The hotel is located on the main road, it's very easy to find. The bedroom is big and also in a good condition, but the restroom is a bit small about 2.5x2.5 m. and quite old.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
3.2
YU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
worst reception I have ever had”
It located in a remote area, so you pretty much have to spend whole time there if you don't want to rent a bike. room is specious and clean but facilities are old. overall is ok resort, but the reception has terrible English and no service mind. not helping with the transportation to the pier and asked me to wave the taxi on my own under the heat with no knowledge of which taxi rout I should be on, after got serveral rejection from the taxi drive finally got the correct one. I am a independent traveller, i do some research before i get there. resort advertises that they can arrange transportation, but how come they fail to do so once the guests checked out?
Reviewed May 06, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ken from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Hit with a SURPRISE. Didn't get what I thought I was getting, GOT 10 times more!”
I was quickly surprised once I got to the hotel. Beautifully landscaped, super nice welcome and a amazing discovery on how impressive the room was. Beautiful terrace encased by a terrific garden setting. Elegant room too. Morning breakfast was outstanding and well presented, they even have their own garden filled with mother earth's own delights. Super friendly staff and General Manger that went out of their way many times for me. I'll be back in a heart beat, booked three days stayed five, wish I could have stayed longer. Don't miss this gem. Only downside not on the beach but they shuttle you there. Ken Vancouver Canada
Reviewed May 05, 2017
6.8
Good
michelle from United Kingdom
Family with teens
2 Bedroom Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Good”
Our visit did not start well when we had to wait 1hr 30mins after our check in time to gain access to the room. We were not even offered a free drink to compensate. There seemed to be a lot of older single men in large groups with younger thai girls. Enough said on this subject. The accomodation was ok, cold shower in the family suite was not great and we had to ask for mosquito nets. The pool are was nice and the massages were great. Food was of an ok standard but there was plenty of selection at breakfast. The free shuttle to the beach was great.
Reviewed May 01, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Nattawadee from Thailand
Couple
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
First time at Koh Chang”
Nice staff but not various of breakfast
Reviewed April 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chotiwat from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
i hope to stay there again.”
i hope to stay there again.
Reviewed April 09, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Malisa from Thailand
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
2nd time staying at Ramayana”
I already wrote the full review for this hotel here, but this is the continued stay. My friends and I were very pleased with this resort. Garden/Lake view bungalow and very friendly staff that helped us check-in late at night. Awesome resort!
Reviewed March 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Malisa from Thailand
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Girls trip”
We traveled to the island late in the evening without a booking and while driving along the roads decided to just book this hotel for one night first. Turned out, this was a great choice! If you book on agoda, the room price is cheaper than the walk-in price. My friends and i got a small bungalow with a "garden/lake view" (this was unexpected). The pool was awesome, they even have a seperate jacuzzi area. If you dont have a vehicle, it would be quiet hard to get around from there since it's on the hill, but if you dont decide on leaving the room theres a restaurant area at the hotel. All in all a great place - we continued our stay here until we left the island.
Reviewed March 29, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Yi from Australia
Couple
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Exceptional”
the only downside is that... there is no atm nearby.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Daniel from Netherlands
Couple
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 9 nights in February 2017
Great Resort”
This is a great resort with a laidback atmosphere. Wonderful well kept gardens. Our suite was comfortabe. good bed, amenities. Tasty (asian) breakfast, with enough variety from day to day. Very friendly staff overall. Also convenient was motorbike rental at the resort (although you will pay more than market price). We liked the location of the resort as it quite central to reach different parts of Koh Chang, especially if you use motorbike. Small points for improvement are the bathrooms (dark and a bit outdated) and the closing time of the pool (8 pm is too early). But all in all, we really had a good time at the Ramayana resort.
Reviewed March 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Nayada from Thailand
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Good ”
Stay many times here. Love the atmospheres.
Reviewed March 01, 2017
4.8
Suparnee from Thailand
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Poor service and bad food”
We stayed during the new year holidays and the hotel made it compulsory to buy their gala dinner tickets which cost us THB 1,500 (USD 40) each. The food was terrible and I got diarrhea the next day. The location is not good since it was far away from everything. We had to take the local mini bus to the main shopping area of the island to get food. Also, my girlfriend is a vegan and we specifically asked the hotel to make her a vegan dish at the gala dinner and at breakfast but our request was ignored completely. Besides, the walls were very thin as we could hear what people in the room next to us was doing and it wasn't very pleasant. All in all, we had a very bad experience there.
Reviewed January 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Maetinee from Thailand
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Impressive”
If the hotel connects to the beach, the score will be all excellent. As we have to take a taxi, or a shuttle bus to get to the beach, which leaves every one hour during day time and one time at night, it's not really convenient. However, the overall experience here is great.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Nuno from Portugal
Family with young children
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
More than a 3 stars resort”
Rooms are big, but they have several issues, like washing basin with no place for toiletries, low-pressure and lukewarm shower, very loud air-conditioning, no blackout curtains and a dark décor with insufficient lighting. Surroundings almost make up for all these problems, with luscious gardens and great pool. The friendly staff, tasty breakfast and well-priced meals at the restaurant also help balance things. Add the cheap motorbike rental, good fitness room, affordable massages by the pool, ignore the almost empty mini-mart and you'll still have a nice time here.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jim from United Kingdom
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 11 nights in December 2016
Fantastic resort with great facilities and amazing staff.”
Great rooms. Great staff. Great prices for any extras. Moped rental necessary to get to beach and restaurants but well worth it.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jariya from Thailand
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
great services and hospitality”
Beautiful resort, delicious breakfast, smiley faces, great services and very helpful staffs, It's greatly recommend for those who are able to ride the bike, so you can go anywhere with it. This place answers all tourist needs except the location is quite from the beach, if you don't mind shuttle to the beach operated hourly.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Josipa from France
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in November 2016
beautiful garden”
beautiful gareden and friendly staff
Reviewed December 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
andy from United States
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Excellent choice for a night or two”
This is my first time in Koh Chang for a weekend of getaway. I stayed at three hotels under the same company, Ramayana, Dewa and Awa . Ramayana is the first stop because we arrived late. There is three types of room at Ramayana, Family suite 4 to 5 occupancy, Resident 3 to 4 occupancy and delux allowed 2 max. We travel in a group of 3 and only room was available was the delux, we took it and also paid extra for the crib. Really want to check out the family suite and resident because is a private unit suited with traditional Thai style housing. Turns out the delux room wasn't too bad. It came with a private patio, King size bed and all the standard amenities same as other hotels can offer. The only thing was bad on that night, is the television wasn't working. Other than that, everything turns near prefect. Make sure if you're the type that hit gym in the morning or planning for the spa, you can request a room located near the gym. Ramayana resort is quite big and you might get lost. All the rooms come with flash light, so make sure to bring it with you when you planning to take a walk after dark.
Reviewed December 03, 2016
8.8
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Great pool ”
food very good and friendly service
Reviewed December 02, 2016
6.4
Good
Hans from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
needs a renovation”
over the years my favourite. management should urgently start thinking of doing up the rather old bathrooms
Reviewed December 02, 2016
6.4
Good
Hans from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 9 nights in November 2016
Nice place but needs some doing up”
A bit overated
Reviewed November 30, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Basheer from Oman
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
koh chang is heart of thailand”
it is the place of peace and love
Reviewed November 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
WEIFANG from China
Group
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Ramayana like a family”
What you offer is excellent but the room sevice clenliness should be improved.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Nice place for quiet stay and relax”
Very nice balcony and swimming pool
Reviewed November 14, 2016
8.4
Excellent
zbynek from United Kingdom
Couple
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 7 nights in October 2016
Quiet spot on Koh Chang (except loud cicadas)”
Great spot, but maybe not so great for young couples with little bit sense of adventure. Problem of the quietness of the resort can be easily sorted by moped, but still it's maybe too quiet. But this can be another big plus for different type of people.
Reviewed November 07, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
glenn from Australia
Couple
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 8 nights in October 2016
friendly staff”
Big breakfast selection, and breakfast staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful, we enjoyed their welcoming smiles and helpful service every morning
Reviewed October 24, 2016
6.0
Suwat from Thailand
Family with young children
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Good”
Good
Reviewed October 16, 2016
5.6
PRAPHA from Thailand
Solo traveler
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 7 nights in September 2016
NO BEACH”
THERE IS NO BEACH IN THE HOHEL BUT THERE IS A SHUTTLE TO THE BEACH TROUGH DEVA RESORT .
Reviewed October 05, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Lee from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
A delightful rare find.”
A combination of great value, friendly well trained employees and neat spacious accommodation in beautiful surroundings. The general manager obviously manages this facility well and it shows. Room service, in room drinks and motorcycle rentals were all well priced and convenient. I will highly recommend this to friends travelling to Koh Chang.
Reviewed October 02, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Sutee from Thailand
Family with teens
Ravana Resident Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Nice hotel in the garden”
To stay at the hotel was great except the bathroom in the room is too small.
Reviewed September 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
MRS from Thailand
Business traveler
Hanuman Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Very comfortable ”
Very good hotel
Reviewed September 24, 2016