Book Now: Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartment Shanghai

Good
From 355 reviewsSee what guests said
6.5
/
10

Reviews of Rayfont Hongqiao Hotel & Apartment Shanghai Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (355)Booking.com Reviews (3)
6.5
/
10
Good
Cleanliness6.1
Facilities4.0
Location7.1
Room comfort and quality6.3
Service6.3
Value for money7.3
All languages
All guests (355)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 351 verified guest comments
8.3
Excellent
Lee from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Hassle free stay in a city hotel in a large room”

Cost effective, centrally located and comfortable

This is probably the most economical business suite/apartment room you can find in Shanghai with 2 large beds, a kitchen and a sitting room and the room is just 1/4 the price of a 4 star bed room. Cheap, comfortable and clean, the check-in was fast and polite and within no time I was fast asleep and ready to catch my plane the next day. Will return soon!

Reviewed December 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in February 2012

Great for getaway ”

Big Rooms and good bathroom

This hotel is great for family and couples. Location is great and getting a transport is not to difficult. The kitchenette is well done and with a washer. The balcony is spacious and overlooking the neighbourhood.

Reviewed June 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Jolene from Singapore
Business traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Great location but small rooms”

Location

i was happy with my stay at the 1st rayfont hotel situated at yuan road. it was very convenient for food and the also the metroline. tho maybe they should have at least one channel on english on the tv jus like the 2nd rayfont hotel i stayed. was a bit disappointed at my 2nd rayfont hotel stay near the nanpu area. thos the nearest metroline is the nanpu bridge station but food was not easy to find and the shopping malls were far away. tho good was they had a english channel on tv. i must compliment on the staff od both hotels as they have been very helpful even tho there was a a little barrier in the language between us.. on the whole, i enjoyed my stay and definetaly will stay at rayfont again the next time i come by shanghai.

Reviewed February 28, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Sam from Singapore
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2010

Value for money, clean, comfortable and accessible”

Value for money, close to train station
Mediocre food at the cafe at hotel lobby

Very nice apartment, in my point of view, it's really value for money compared to staying in a hotel, apartment comes with a living room, kitchen and a huge bedroom, relatively near to the metro station, JiangSu Road station on line 2 is a 10-15 minute walk away, and only 3 stops to the city centre at Nanjing Road. If you're too lazy to walk to the train station, taxis are always abundant and would not cost more than the flag down cost of 12 RMB to get to the metro. Beds in the room are comfortable and bathroom comes with a bathtub. Would highly recommend this apartment to anyone.

Reviewed June 25, 2010
4.0
Astrella from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

disrupted sleep at night”

Security access, location and prompt in service

We stayed in this hotel in Deluxe Room for just 1 night before transferring to another hotel. The room is quite spacious but somehow looks run down and needs slight renovation. The window and air con are full of dust and when my husband wiped them off with a paper towel it was black. We brought our baby along for this trip and this room is certainly not suitable for young children. They left a note on the table stating that there will be power interruption at 12 midnight. We were awaken by the loud sound of the TV which was switched on by itself after the power interruption at 12.30am and 3am. Our baby got scared and cried after these incidents too and his sleep was interrupted. Other than that, service is alright, location can be considered not too bad and security is good.

Reviewed September 11, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Zayed from Saudi Arabia
Business traveler
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 8 nights in May 2015

Very nice place to stay. ”

Location, beds and air conditioning

I staid there 9 days. It was fantastic. I just don't like the smel of the chicken at the lobby. I brought toilate refresher, but it was remover the next day. I actually got mad, but i cant day anything. Second thing is the internet is very bad. So I had to buy a sim card (new number) in order to have an internet. Other than that, it is not bad at all.

Reviewed May 10, 2015
8.7
Excellent
raksha from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013

comfortable and spacious”

Location, staff and value for money

Overall the hotel was nice and big but on the first day it took over 1 hour for running hot water even after we had spoken to the staff. They asked the cleaning staff to come and solve the problem but they spoke no English. Even after this we only had luke-warm. Other than that the hotel was ace!

Reviewed October 11, 2013
4.3
alex
Family with teens
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

disapointing”

high level floor

This is by far nothing like the photos. We had a 2 bedroom suite and this was by far the most run down place we have ever stayed in. Need to catch a cab to the train station and back every time. Food places around are pretty slim choosing so just be aware and then decide if you really want to stay here.

Reviewed July 06, 2013
6.0
Carmelo from Australia
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

Good hotel for transit from PVG to SHA airport”

Location (airport), value for money, rooftop restaurant

I wouldn't say my stay was excellent but it was okay for the reason for my stay in Shanghai. I had an overnight layover and an airport transfer from PVG airport to Hongqiao. Getting to the hotel was a bit inconvenient but manageable. I took the metro from PVG airport to Jiangshu Road station which is in the same Line 2. From Jiangshu station, I had hoped the hotel would be walkable with my 1 luggage but it wasn't. I ended taking a cab instead and have reception talk to the cab driver for translation. Reception was helpful and pretty friendly. The room was a spacious 1 bedroom unit which was good. I'd say it would work really well for individuals on a business trip, given the space and the decent workspace available. Location wise, it only took me about 20 minutes from the hotel to SHA airport by cab with traffic which perfectly suited my purpose. Going around to sight see wasn't as handy as I expected it to be though. The metro is a good 10 - 15 minutes walk which is okay for people staying for a long time but not when you are trying to make the most of the trip and when it is raining. In the end, I took a cab to the Bund area which was cheap and quick so still okay.

Reviewed June 12, 2013
6.0
sunghoo from South Korea
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

good location”

location, clean, cozy

This hotel is located in the center of city area. Traffic is very busy. It is noisy of many cars. However it is convenient to come to city center for travel and business. Its room is clean and water is strong. Even room is not so big, it is comfortable.

Reviewed April 01, 2013
7.7
Very good
sunghoo from South Korea
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

VERY GOOD LOCATION NEAR CENTER OF CITY”

LOCATION IS CONVENIENT TO COME TO CITY CENTER, ROOM IS COZY, SERVICE IS GOOD

IT IS IN THE NEAR CITY CENTER. WHEN YOU WANT TO SEE VIBRANT SHANGHAI SCENERY, IT IS USEFUL. ROOM IS NOT BIG BUT COMFORTABLE. EVEN IT IS NOISY BECAUSE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC, IT IS TOLERABLE. ROOM STAFF SERVICE AND CLEANESS ARE ALSO OK. IT IS WORTH OF STAY OVERALL. I ADVISE YOU TO HAVE NEW EXPERIENCE.

Reviewed March 18, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Dandan from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Good choice, convenient, cozy, cheap”

convenient, cozy, cheap

There's no mentro station near the hotel, but still it's very convenient to take taxies. The room is great with such low price. Everything is clean, bright, and neat. I love the wooden floor. The most importantly, there's no strange smell! So, I would recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed December 31, 2012
6.0
Tiia from Finland
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

good basic hotel”

good location for shopping and sightseeing

very big hotel with rooms with varying standard, we stayed two times and changed room first time as the room was so badly worn out, the second room was very good standard. the staff at the reception was not specially friendly or helpful except for one person. there was no wifi in the entire hotel, only in the fastfood restaurant in the same building.

Reviewed October 10, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Sansern from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Fully furnished apartment and helpful services”

Large and most comfortable rooms

The available apartment was great for the money, surprisingly how it is possible in such a big city. There are a few restaurants on the same building where one could find variety of food. Also a local fast food restaurant and a family mark make it convenient to get meals. The hotel is located in a busy area of the city, there is no subway station nearby. It takes 15-20 walk to the nearest station, however taxi is always available there. The staff could speak good English and give helpful services.

Reviewed September 06, 2012
6.0
Laura from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 9 nights in August 2012

Great location, Not so friendly staff”

Location, big rooms, convenient to get a taxi

The check in experience was less than memorable with staff being extremely curd and rude. They initially refused to give me 2 room cards, which was absolutely ridiculous as I obviously had a travel companion with me and the room was in fact for up to 3-4 occupants. There was No Wifi, the broadband internet however was sufficient for basic surfing purposes. My room came with the washing machine and dryer which I initially requested (which was however informed during the check-in process that I was unable to get one). Room cleaning was provided everyday, however I did notice that my towels were not changed everyday. The 2-bedroom suite was big, however.. it was not as big as it was described. The airconditioning worked fine, and I was able to get hot water in the shower as and when I wanted. Overall, it was a decent stay. But nothing luxurious thats for sure!

Reviewed August 23, 2012
6.0
Jolene from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Great location but small rooms"”

Service is goods

it is located in shanghais changning district, on yan an road, near the busy yan an highway. it is 3km from downtown nanjing road, 6km from hongqiao airport, 45km from pudong airport, 6km from railway station more

Reviewed February 28, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Xoan from Spain
Group
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011

Best location for price range”

Excellent location, couldn't be more central

If you want to see the sites this is the hotel to pick. It couldn't be more central. Don't however eat any meals here. Very overpriced and extremely sub par food. I ordered a meat sandwich and it came with stale bread, a piece of yellowing lettuce and 1 slice of processed meat.

Reviewed February 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
MASAKI from Afghanistan
Solo traveler
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Great service!”

good location,confortable services.

This is my 2nd time to living in this hotel. I choose this hotel because location and service. They serves great service such as When I need can opener. They open it with theier knife for me at the front desk. It impress me alot! Thank you!

Reviewed January 26, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Ng from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011

Good hotel but moderate service”

Location

rayfont is a money worth and affordable hotel. service is ok and hotel rooms are clean. washroom is spacious and clean but interior is old fashioned. 15 mins walk to the mrt. there is a 24 hour minimart next to the hotel. overall, had a good stay.

Reviewed November 25, 2011
8.3
Excellent
edul from India
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 8 nights in August 2011

Great Location - Two bed room suits are really big”

Excellent location, clean, frendly, etc

Was a really good place to stay 20 min in taxi to most places, 20 min walk to metro line 2. But heard that the single rooms are very small. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suit which was really big with a kitchen 2 bathrooms a 50 inch TV.....

Reviewed September 28, 2011
8.3
Excellent
edul from India
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

Great Location - Two bed room suits are really big”

The twin bedroom suit

Was a really good place to stay 20 min in taxi to most places, 20 min walk to metro line 2. But heard that the single rooms are very small. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suit which was really big with a kitchen 2 bathrooms a 50 inch TV.....

Reviewed September 28, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
edul from India
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in September 2011

Right in the center”

Excellent location, big rooms, 24 hour family marts all around the hotel

Was a nice place to stay we stayed for almost a month there, they finally begged us to leave cause we kept extending our stay. Hotel is nice and clean, the house keeping girls do a great job to clean the rooms.

Reviewed September 28, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Vivien from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011

Good location, clean room ”

Reasonable price and spacious

good location, there are restaurants and convenient shop around. reasonable price for long stay with family. there's a washing machine with dryer in the suite room,you can have your laundry done. the rooms are clean but it's bit old. have to wait for the elevator they are bit slow.

Reviewed June 25, 2011
8.0
Excellent
MASAKI from Afghanistan
Business traveler
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011

pretty new and clean hotel ”

Very clean

This is a pretty new and clean hotel and deco is very contemporary and chic. Rooms are spacious with high ceiling with full amenities you need. Beds are firm and pillows are very comfortable. I loved the Wooden floor.

Reviewed May 07, 2011
8.7
Excellent
MASAKI from Afghanistan
Business traveler
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011

Confortable and convinient hotel”

great servece especially at room cleaning

I was travelling shanghai for more than 3 years. When I go back to hotel.it makes me like go home.very warm and claen hotel. But there internet and hotbath are the big probrem. We've changed the room but these probrem still excists. Internet connections are slow and hotbath takes 5mins to become hot water.

Reviewed May 05, 2011
8.0
Excellent
man from China
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in April 2011

Good services ”

Convenient for food and budget price

I book six night hotel in easter holiday about one month in advance at about 38% reduce price for a twin room. upon check in, i was upgraded to bigger room. The room is clean and spacious. Air conditioning is ok. The hotel is conveninet as there are shops and all kinds of restrauant around. The subway is about 5 to 10 mininutes walk and is ok in April 2011. The location is ok for going major city spot, taxi is within 20 to 30 dollar for many locaitons. Both local food and western food are ok in the area.

Reviewed April 29, 2011
4.7
YUEN-FUNG from Hong Kong
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

Average hotel, a bit overpriced”

unless they upgrade you to bigger room, there is no "pros" for this hotel

in fact i stayed more than 1 nights. i stayed on 22-26/4 also for 4 more nights, booked by my friend. the overall experienced in these 5 nights were so so. the hotel is in fact transformed from a normal residential building. the first night we arrived very late and the manager upgraded us to a 2-rooms suite. the room is big, but a bit old. the toilet is clean but a bit shabby. water pressure is low but hot enough as the big room is using gas heater. the 2nd night we changed to a very small room, in fact they called it a queen-bed single room. the water heater is not gas heater but just water-tank type of heater so it claimed you have to wait for 30 minutes between baths. the bed was too hard so we asked for a room change but the staff refused and we had negotiated for a long long time at midnight over the phone! finally they called their duty manager to decide and we asked for our original room on the fist night. he finally agreed but for just one night. anyway in the 3rd night the duty staff allowed us to stay in the big room until check-out. overall the service is not really satisfactory, although my friend felt that it's ok on this price tag. by the way my friend had a very bad experience on their smoke-free floor where some really bad guys opened their room door and speaking loudly, smoking heavily and you can smell the smoke in every corner on that floor!!! seems that the hotel can do nothing with them and just changed the room of my friend to another floor upon request. the hotel is located between 2 underground stations, at least with 15 minutes walk to either on of them.

Reviewed April 28, 2011
5.7
Kam from Indonesia
Business traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010

semi old hotel with good kind service”

good rate
quite far from tourist sites

my first time, i choose it for its rate, room just ok, quite clean, good staff, not easy to find taxi, not much to remember. no specific interest. there are 2 rayfont hotel, make it clear in advance or taxi driver will take u to the other rayfont. room quite clean, bathroom expect cleaner.

Reviewed December 08, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Virgil from Romania
Business traveler
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010

perfect location for leisure and business”

swimming pool and music bands

The location on the hearth of holiday beaches in Penang made the hotel perfect choice for high end customers that want to enjoy an unforgetable vacation and be connected to daily business in the same time. As a improvement to the hotel, the lobby bar must be phonic isolated not to disturb the room accomodation area and in the same time to give the band the oportunity to perform late in night at a affordable volume.

Reviewed November 03, 2010
2.7
Wei from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010

poor hotel”

not recommended
poor condition, poor service and poor food supply

this is a worst hotel i have been staying in shanghai. hotel facility, service and cleanness are poor. comparing the price, it may be little bit cheaper than others during shanghai expo. however, it is definitely not a 4 star hotel. i am not satisfied with all conditions of the hotel. i'll not stay this hotel again .

Reviewed October 13, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Anne from Denmark
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2010

rejsene”

beligenhed
ingen

centralt hotel i Shanghai beligende i den vestlige ende af Nanjing Road, hvor man nemt kan komme til de forskellige områder af Shanghai. Fra turist området i den østlige del af Nanjing road til bare 15 minutters gang til gadehandel med masser af liv, der bor omkring 20 mill. mennekser i shanghai og bare på Nanjing road besøges af ca. 1,5 millioner mennesker om dagen

Reviewed June 29, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Min from Australia
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2010

Rayfont Shanghai Hotel & Apartment, Shanghai”

-Self contained apartment. -High Rise, city view. -Resonable Transportation access.
-Says its a four star apartment, but lots of things are broken. -A little bit of noise from maintainance people. -No cooking utilities other than 2 mugs. -Payment required for cooking facilities. -Service is not so sufficient, disorganised. -Took me 20 minutes to check in.

My stay at Rayfront Shanghai Hotel and Apartment was resonably okay. They had a self contained apartment and I was positioned in a high rise, city view. At night the city was bustling with life, the view was great. I had reasonable transportation access, although the positioning could be better. Despite these Pros there were also Cons. When I booked my stay with Rayfront Shanghai Hotel and Apartment it said that it was four star hotel, but lots of things are broken. Due to broken goods maintainance people could be heard and I did wake up early in the morning because of the noise. Another thing was that the service was no so sufficient due to lack of organisation and it took 20 minutes for them to check me in at first. They made up for it with a quick sign out. As for the cooking side of the hotel, only 2 mugs were provided and when confronting the receptionist about more cooking facilities, requested payment due to hotel policies. Overall, I would rate this hotel 7 out of 10, largely due to the impressive scenic views it provided.

Reviewed May 07, 2010
5.3
Keisuke from Japan
Business traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2009

I don't recommend to stay at this hotel”

The location-wise, it is next to my customer's office, so, it was convenient and on the following day, I had to go to Hongqiao Airport and it costs about RMB30.- from the hotel, so, it was o.k..
The hotel is old.

This is not my first experience to have not smooth check out, like in other countries. Near this hotel, there are a few new hotels belonging to the well known hotel chains in China. I do recommend that in this location, theses hotels of the chain would be much better. The room is old and the water heater of the bath room is very poor (Once you take shower, you have to wait for 30minutes more to get it ready).

Reviewed March 15, 2009
8.0
Excellent
agus from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

its ok”

clean neat close

Its an ok hotel.. its closed to tourist attraction and shopping center

Reviewed May 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
KER from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012

Lovely hotel with great location”

Huge rooms

Centrally located for business trip. The hotel staff speaks little english but very helpful. The rooms are big and clean, kitchen comes with utensils and fridge. Good for long term stay.

Reviewed February 08, 2012
6.0
Clarise from United States
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Rayfont Review”

Good price, great location and good food delivery.

The hotel is unclean. There were roaches. Some of the rooms smelled like sewage, and we had to ask to be moved to another room. The hallways filled with piles of old furniture, and prostitutes are not an uncommon sight to see coming in and out of the hotel. You get what you pay for in this hotel. Don't leave your bags unzipped or on the floor, otherwise you might risk taking little critters home with you. The staff is rude and deeply resentful of being pulled away from their phone screens

Reviewed May 14, 2015
6.3
Good
ellys from Indonesia
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013

it was a pleasant stay”

the space, the value and the staff

the stay was ok, the room are spacious and equip with the basic necessity kit but the cleanliness was ok only. i recommend this hotel for group traveller and people who will be out during most of the trip.

Reviewed June 26, 2014
6.7
Good
Pimnaree from Thailand
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

satisfy but don't expect for good service”

convenient, close to city area, nice vietnamese restaurant on the rooftop

we stayed 3 night at this hotel, the room was really big with large area of living room. however, the housekeeper was somehow not really nice. And we booked for a family room which 4 people can stay but they provided us only 2 set of towels so we have to ask more. they provided us only land-line for internet, but we can ask wifi router from the reception. the vietnamese restaurant was pretty good comparing to others in town.

Reviewed August 02, 2013
7.3
Very good
anurag from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

great location with clean rooms”

location, size of deluxe business suite

We had a really nice stay with no problems whatsoever. The hotel is within walking distance to Jiangsu Road Metro Station on Line 2. It is located in the city centre, quite close to Jingian Temple and not so far away(15-20 min. by taxi) to Nanjing Street, The Bund, Yu Yuan Garden etc.

Reviewed December 22, 2012
6.0
Zainul from India
Solo traveler
Deluxe Business Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Big rooms with service not fully satisfied ”

Big rooms

service not satisfied. tv and internet not working. they send somebody to check, but couldn't make it work and he coolly said , the technician off, will b back tomorrow . so i was very disappointed. but the apartment spacious were well satisfied.

Reviewed December 18, 2012
5.3
Lai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

clean old aptment service hotel ”

good location for local food , massage centres are nearby

it is an old but relatively clean service apartment , dont expect much . lazy but still cooperative staff , small but clean room , far from subway , need to call taxi. about 20 mins taxi to hong qiao airport . you can find cheap food around

Reviewed November 28, 2012
7.3
Very good
Tiia from Finland
Group
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Good hotel good location”

good location

good rooms but very uneven quality, we stayed two periods and had different rooms. the front desk staff was not friendly or concerned, they cared more about the chinese guests than they did about us, one time i waited 5 minutes to be served when 3 front desk persons all were occupied ith looking something on the same computer screen and served chinese pushing to the desk despite me standing and waiting there to present my question. one concierge was nice and service-minded and fluent in english. there is only cable internet access in the rooms, no wifi in the entire hotel, you have to go and sit in the restaurant in the basement in order to access internet if your laptop has no ethernet cable port.

Reviewed September 02, 2012
6.7
Good
Yuan from Canada
Group
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

Decent hotel, decent location, nothing surprising.”

Location, Price

the hotel room was fine for the price. the lock on the door was somewhat flimsy, and bathroom was somewhat rickety, but otherwise it was a fine, decent hotel. not overly dirty, but not grandliving as well, don't expect too much! there is a cheap breakfast place right beside it, and the 7/11 has wireless. the hotel is near a very busy street but there are a number of restauarant nearby and its near the shanghai train station.

Reviewed June 15, 2012
7.0
Very good
Sukhumarn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in April 2012

Good hospitality”

Nice location

this is my 2nd time to stay here and my room is pretty good. they do cleaning but i don't know why it still have lots of dust in the room. hot water is not work and it take for an hour to fix it. some reception has to improve the service as i tod them to fix the hot water dispenser in my room in the morning but when i'm back at night it hasn't fix yet. overall is fine. in the budget.

Reviewed April 21, 2012
7.3
Very good
Sukhumarn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

Have to improve the facility”

Close to the elevated road

The conceirge is really good maybe better than the front desk. I went to another province and leave some of my luggage at the hotel. The conceirge is cery nice to help me carry the bag that really heavy. They might need to add more facility such as hair dryer in the room. It also has the new coffeeshop at the lobby.

Reviewed April 21, 2012
6.0
Chia from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012

The room is very spacious”

The room is spacious and clean.

We checked in a 2 bedroom suite and stayed for 3 nights. The dining room was very spacious and we highly appreciated the sense of space. It was good as family members could gather together for breakfast and chatted over at night sitting on the sofa.

Reviewed April 09, 2012
6.0
HWEE from Singapore
Business traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2011

Great Location”

Nice and Clean

Stayed for 1 night and found it ordinary but sufficient for travellers who need a short stay before moving off elsewhere. Loved the location, easy to find food and move off to the city. Room Size is ok and customer service is ok also. Not a bad selection for business travellers or holidays-tourists who need a hotel that can provide a safe and clean, comfortable environment to stay

Reviewed March 21, 2012
7.0
Very good
Sukhumarn from Thailand
Business traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 13 nights in February 2012

Good location”

good location near restaurant.

some of the staff can speak english so do not worry for the traveler who can't speak chinese. the hotel locate in a good place if you want to travel by taxi but quite far from subway. have to walk around 20 mins to jiangsu station. the deluxe queen room is quite old but the facility include hot water, tv, air condition still work. they also have the restaurant in the lobby and on the 34th floor, nearby building have family mart, pharmaceutical shop, starbucks and the bakery shop.

Reviewed March 01, 2012
5.7
Ala from Sweden
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011

Big room/apartment (Deluxe 2 bedroom suite)”

big living room

The deluxe 2 bedroom suite was big, but I doubt that it was 102 square meters as it was given on the website. it was more like 70-80 meters. Even though the website clearly stated that there is wifi in the rooms, there was no Wifi in the hotel. They only had cable internet so we couldnt access the internet with our Ipads.

Reviewed October 11, 2011
6.0
Shintaro from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Good location and bit dirty room”

breakfast place is in right behead of busilding

there is subway station about 15 mins walk. if you have a big luggage, it is bit far for you. if not, it is easy walk. there is a breakfast place right behind of building so you do not not want to go to 34th floor vietnum restaurant. it is expensive, dirty and not taste good. the first floor chain restaurant is not too bad. and lunch time is too clouded. internet did not work. room is kind of dirty, usually this price range is like that. i would not complain for this deal.

Reviewed August 05, 2011
6.0
Jayaram from India
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011

Good location, helpful staff”

Location

the room was rather small with the cot occupying most of the space, leaving little room to move about.but ideal for people who wants to stay longer as the room has an electric cooking range and the hotel provides utensils. communication was a problem, like elsewhere in china, as few speak english. but the staff, particularly the concierge, was very helpful, arranging for taxis etc.

Reviewed July 27, 2011
6.0
Federico from Italy
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Budget, gloomy well-located Hotel”

Price, Location

Had to spend just one night and needed an hotel in that area. Very cheap considering Shanghai prices. but also below the average of quality standard. I wouldn'd recomend for couples or families, it is really too depressing and old. A couple of ladies tried also to approach me offering "massage"; someone might like the situation, but is not my case, and of course is not the case of families or couples.

Reviewed July 15, 2011
7.7
Very good
LIM from Singapore
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011

Great location with spacious rooms”

washing machines & refrigerators

i book a 2-bedrooms service apartment with a living hall, dining hall & a kitchen, at rayfront shanghai hotel. the apartment is of comfortable size. only problem is to run water for more than 10mins for hot water to shower & the air-con is dusty with mouldy smell. however, the air-con problem can be settled after request for clean up. always choose a higher floor to stay at shanghai hotel, as the drivers are impatient and like to horn.

Reviewed July 01, 2011
6.3
Good
romuald from France
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011

Not luxuary but good”

Location interesting

1. The hotel is in a special location, with taylors factories arround. It’s not too far from major places to visit, and the subway is at around 8-10 minutes walk distance. It has a lot of different kind of romms, so make attention about it: the budgets one’s are really small, the bathroom is in fact like a wardrobe opening directly on the room… impossible to close the slipping door when you re at toilets… The deluxe is just a normal one, not so large, but enough for 2 peoples The suites are really good and confortables. Even it has a kitchen, nothing to cook… but fridge is there to keep your foods fresh  Swimming pool is in fact for all buildings around (it’s a gym club), convenient but not luxuary at all ! But, for this price, is already not so bad , isn’t it ? Internet is really slow…

Reviewed June 24, 2011
6.3
Good
romuald from France
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

good value for money”

price and location

1. Don’t be surprise if you can read my review lot of times, I always go in this hotel !!! The hotel is in a special location, with taylors factories arround. It’s not too far from major places to visit, and the subway is at around 8-10 minutes walk distance. It has a lot of different kind of romms, so make attention about it: the budgets one’s are really small, the bathroom is in fact like a wardrobe opening directly on the room… impossible to close the slipping door when you re at toilets… The deluxe is just a normal one, not so large, but enough for 2 peoples The suites are really good and confortables. Even it has a kitchen, nothing to cook… but fridge is there to keep your foods fresh  Swimming pool is in fact for all buildings around (it’s a gym club), convenient but not luxuary at all ! But, for this price, is already not so bad , isn’t it ? Internet is really slow…

Reviewed June 24, 2011
6.3
Good
romuald from France
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011

good hotel for this price”

price, location

1. Don’t be surprise if you can read my review lot of times, I always go in this hotel !!! The hotel is in a special location, with taylors factories arround. It’s not too far from major places to visit, and the subway is at around 8-10 minutes walk distance. It has a lot of different kind of romms, so make attention about it: the budgets one’s are really small, the bathroom is in fact like a wardrobe opening directly on the room… impossible to close the slipping door when you re at toilets… The deluxe is just a normal one, not so large, but enough for 2 peoples The suites are really good and confortables. Even it has a kitchen, nothing to cook… but fridge is there to keep your foods fresh  Swimming pool is in fact for all buildings around (it’s a gym club), convenient but not luxuary at all ! But, for this price, is already not so bad , isn’t it ? Internet is really slow…

Reviewed June 24, 2011
6.7
Good
anurag from India
Business traveler
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

good location but very small bed rooms”

location, good living area space in suite

we had a good stay in the hotel with good location of the hotel as it was easy to travel to the various areas in shanghai. the hotel has a bakery(good breakfast with coffee) and a good store "family mart" downstairs.

Reviewed June 09, 2011
6.3
Good
Norbert from Germany
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011

location was ok, small rooms, not very quiet”

location in SH

at the first night I got a different room (basic, standard); when I arrived it was very late, so I kept it; at the second night I got a bigger room - it might have been really a superior room - it was a big problem to get any refund for the lower class room; it took at leas half an hour and lot of discussions with the manager of the hotel - finally they gave me a refund of 50 RMB!!!

Reviewed June 08, 2011
6.0
JOONSEOK from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011

Good location but the room was not ideal”

Hotel location was real close to downtown.

This hotel has a very good location to approach downtown and main metro transportations. The rate was reasonable too. However the interior is a little bit old fashion and some places seem to be fixed. Generally it is a economy accomodation place near the downtown in Shanghai.

Reviewed June 04, 2011
7.7
Very good
Yi from Belgium
Couple
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011

Decent hotel with a good price/quality ratio”

Clean, good service

The hotel is situated about 10-15min walk from the nearest Metro station : Jiangsu lu station on line 2. Location is not to far to nightlife, but u need to take a cab. Restaurant and shopping are within 10-15min walk. Hotel is clean and service is not bad. This hotel have a good price/quality ratio, i recommend it.

Reviewed May 30, 2011
7.3
Very good
GREGORY from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

location ok , room small”

price good for 1 or 2 night stay

it was hard for taxis to get to - busy road . The price is good for short stay - Room small - wash basin is blocked . The staff are helpful- got information to take shuttle to Bund and organised taxi for airport . A few shops nearby and hawker food opened late into the nite .

Reviewed April 18, 2011
6.3
Good
yuan from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011

Convenient location but very small rooms”

A hotel for those just looking for a place to stay, nothing more

The room I first got was a studio with a stove. But. it was very small and even did not have a space for a large suitcase. Then,I asked to change for a larger room with 2 beds. Everything else was just ok.

Reviewed April 03, 2011
7.0
Very good
Keith from Singapore
Group
Superior Family Suite
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011

VALUE FOR MONEY”

English speaking staff (at least one per shift)

it's definitely value for money - the two delux bedrooms were okay, and the living room was spacious. it was fortunate that we managed to get a high floor, cuz the hotel was just next to a busy highway.

Reviewed April 02, 2011
5.7
wu from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in March 2011

Location is good”

Located next to the viaduct, the traffic is very convenient, but noisy street of the cars late at night can still hear the traffic noise, the only advantage is easily accessible, near the function of life is also good, there is a family convenience store next to each NT is only approximately per night, so be very cheap.

Reviewed April 01, 2011
6.3
Good
Bernard from France
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2011

Good hotel but noicy”

the location where you can have continental breakfast just in the corner

Cozy hotel in good surrounding. not much restaurant around other than chinese. The staff is very friendly.managers are very dutyfull. Very clean and whyat I like very much is the coffee shop where i could drink good black coffee. Very happy and coool.

Reviewed March 31, 2011
6.3
Good
Simon from Germany
Group
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010

okay”

after complaining about no non-smoker-room, free upgrade
very less non-smoker-rooms

The location is not to bad. Although you have to walk to the next train station about 10-15 min, it is not to far if u have time. The staff was sometimes very helpful, sometimes ignorant. Overall the stay was okay for 4 nights.

Reviewed January 12, 2011
6.3
Good
JAMES from Singapore
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011

Small room (3 star hotel)”

Cheap
Small room

Rayfont is at most a 3-star hotel in the Changning district, adjacent to the CBD, Jing'an. Price is cheap so bound to have some trade-off. Shower tap was crap, air-con not working most of the time during winter. Good grief. If u're just looking for shelter, this is the most ideal choice for you. Thank you.

Reviewed January 12, 2011
7.0
Very good
yu from United States
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in November 2010

Good Service (Specialy the house keeper)”

No flat screen TV. Free internet.
Too noise in the moring, right next to the high way.(You know... Chinese love using horn when driving)

When i first get into the room, i was shock because it was totally not what i expect, totally different from the picture of the web shown. I was wondering is that what they call "Deluxe Queen" Then i go online immediately with the free internet service,(The speed was decent) open up Agoda web page with the picture of the room. And i ring up the front desk tell them there is something wrong with the room. After 15mins pass, the guy show up and i show him the picture. I request to change to the room that show on web. Wait another 10mins, and other guy show up and bring me to check out another room. That is the room same as the web show. I was happy cause i stayed at that hotel for 7 night. i can t stand to stay at the first room for even one night. The window was so small that makes the room dark(you will have to turn on the light even at the day time) The door of the bathroom and closet was broken. That was Room 2213. And the room i stayed was 2116. Later i found out the first room was the cheapest standard room, not even standard. I don t understand why front desk has this arrangement. Anyway the hotel hot bath system is a individual system, not central system, so you will have to wait for 30mins in between. Easy to hire taxi but 15mins walk to metro line2.....

Reviewed November 23, 2010
7.3
Very good
Wayne from Canada
Solo traveler
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in August 2010

Hotel for Expo”

Reasonably priced, not bad location, free Internet
Internet is so slow (I had work to do online, almost impossible), another Rayfont is much closer to Expo

I live in Singapore and decided not to miss another Worlds Fair by taking in Expo 2010 in Shanghai. The hotel is not badly located, with about 7 metro stations between it and Expo (after a 15 minute walk). Of course taxis are available. I found out that another Rayfont is much closer and I wonder if I made a mistake booking...or the system did. Nevertheless, not bad. I had to do some online work which was difficult as the Internet connection is terrible. Otherwise, a nice hotel, with helpful staff, though not terribly strong in English.

Reviewed August 09, 2010
7.3
Very good
Harvey from United States
Group
Premier Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in July 2010

The Price is Right!”

Good location; clean, friendly staff; good price
Beds a little hard

This hotel is priced right, and I consider it a good value for the money. It is located in a good area, with easy access to taxi's, and 10 minute walk to Metro Station #2. The rooms are clean, and a friendly staff available to answer questions, and provide any essentials you need. Fresh water, and coffee maker in room. I would stay here again.

Reviewed August 05, 2010