Book Now: Ren I Tang Heritage Inn

Exceptional
From 99 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Ren I Tang Heritage Inn Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (99)Booking.com Reviews (404)
9.0
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.3
Facilities8.6
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality9.3
Service9.5
Value for money8.7
All languages
All guests (99)

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 77 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
TongMing from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Very friendly staff and very nice family room”

We will stay here again for the next visit.

Reviewed July 11, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Barry from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Great”

Great location very friendly staff the food is the healthiest I've had while travelling

Reviewed July 02, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Just Great”

We were a little concerned about being somewhere without a pool with two small children. The staff are so nice and the cafe is such a great place to hang out... we really couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks to everyone at Ren i Tang. I'm sure we'll be back.

Reviewed April 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
donald from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Back Again”

Authentic ambience, attention to detail, and sincerely caring management.

The second stay in less than a year, and a joy to return. The stairs may reflect back on the bound feet of the original occupants which can be challenging to large footed western males, but after years trying to shave in poorly lit bathrooms all over SE Asia there is no such problem at Ren I Tang. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained.

Reviewed March 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Melissa from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Exceeded my expectations of the place. ”

Location, helpful staff, design

Heard rave reviews from friends about this place and finally had a chance to stay and chose the air well room. I like places that are well-lit and this was just perfect

Reviewed November 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Li from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015

Vintage inn with an awesome location”

Ambience, location, friendly staff

Ren I Tang is located at an awesome location in Georgetown. Great for travelers who love vintage and antique furniture! Karen was very friendly in providing necessary information for me! Will return back! :)

Reviewed November 10, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
MOHAMMAD from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Friendly and clean”

Cleanliness, strong WiFi and friendly staffs
Reviewed October 21, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Subatra from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

family room is great”

great location, helpful staff, heritage charm

Really nice two nights with a group of friends

Reviewed October 12, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Subatra from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

wonderful location and service wt heritage charm”

friendly staff, great location, heritage architecture

Awesome family room for a group of friends.. Only thing is walls are thin so limit loud conversation after midnight

Reviewed October 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Adri from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

The Title of My Review”

Friendly, Clean, Nice Looking
Reviewed October 01, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jimmy from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

A classic heritage hotel”

Heritage, location, food

A rather unique location in yet another heritage spot in Georgetown. Lovely, cosy and nice bed. Stairs can be kind of tricky and not friendly for elders and kids. Tang Bistro was not bad and convenient. Highly commendable.

Reviewed September 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Melissa from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

You make me wanna come back for more”

Staff warmth, great location, Super clean

It was a great stay for me and my husband. The owner Karen was so great. Honest, warm and really passionate about what she is doing. The food in the bistro is great too. Not too pricey. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Only thing is the scary stairs. *NOt COMPLAINING* But they were so smart to have a great way of having the luggages transported up the various floors. Not gonna reveal it here, check it out when you get there! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and I would definitely be back for more!

Reviewed August 11, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Bryn from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Heritage balanced with progress; Relaxed”

1) Heitage Building, Conservation 2) Cafe / Restaurant 3) Staff and Management

Great stay, will return. The management have done a great job of balancing the needs of keeping the architectural heritage of Penang whilst complying with stringent building and safety regulations; an old shop house with character. In a bustling part of town you get the experience of everyday street living whilst at night the location affords a comfortable quiet sleep. Enjoyed the restaurant and menu blended with Asian and western dishes. Good coffee too. Well done to the great management, hard work paid off... Thanks for a great stay.

Reviewed July 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Kim-Yie from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Living history ”

Room, bathroom, staff

Excellent and would come back again and again.

Reviewed July 13, 2015
7.7
Very good
Koh from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

Amazing looking hotel with a good location”

Firstly I like how the hotel looks and it's pretty chill out. You can spend hours just hanging in the hotel room. Secondly, the location is pretty good. Third, I love their Shampoo and Body wash.

It will be a very memorable one as my fiance proposed here.

Reviewed June 22, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Anthony from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

Awesome place for a weekend. ”

1. Great loft with spacious interior. Very thoughtful to have 2 -
Reviewed June 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in January 2015

Great find”

location,helpful staff, heritage building
Reviewed February 08, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
YEE from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Beautifully Restored building”

Location, Historical, Comfortable

Excellent stay, the building is beautifully restored. Friendly Staff and very helpful. Nice to hangout at the courtyard. Rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. Love the wooden tub in the bathroom.

Reviewed February 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Michelle from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

another great stay”

airwells, friendly staff, a nicely preserved building

the rooms have a WOW factor - comfortable and really loved the fact it's smack in the heart of Georgetown - makes walking all the easier!

Reviewed January 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
LE from France
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

A place not only to stay but to share ”

the hosts, the restaurant, the location
Reviewed January 19, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Vaughan from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014

Nice heritage hotel in a central location”

Comfortable bed, friendly staff, convenient location

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to attractions like the clan jetties, Peranakan museum, and Armenian Street. The room is great for those who love old heritage buildings.

Reviewed January 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
DAISUKE from Japan
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Want to Stay Again & Again”

Kind and friendly staff, nice atmosphere, location

Staff is very kind and friendly, and of course, very professional. You can ask the staff any advice on your trip plan. The hotel is clean and has a nice atmosphere. Every tourist spot is in walking distance. Excellent stay is guaranteed if you decide to stay here. For the elderly, only one consideration is needed; the hotel is ex-warehouse and stairs are a little steep.

Reviewed January 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Min from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

quiet oasis amidst the colourful street”

staff is friendly, the property is nicely done up and the location is so interesting

I spent 3 nights in room 19 and I like the place a lot. The room is comfy - I don't quite mind the stairs at all. :)

Reviewed December 28, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Mai from Vietnam
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Nice boutique hotel!”

Refer below

There was a slight confusion moment when we stepped into the hotel. We went in from the café entrance. Since all staff were occupied with other customers, we tried to look for anything that resemble a hotel check-in counter by ourselves. Couldn’t find any, until we walked past a section on the left. Then a very friendly staff approached us. She greeted us well and apologised for not able to welcome us earlier. After checking us in, she took us to our room, on the first floor. Taking the stairs was a bit challenging at it was rather steep and skinny. To our surprise, the room was really nice, as nice as shown in the pictures. The staff then left after explaining every single functions and facilities in the room. The bed, omg, was the best. Never experienced anything like this in a small hotel. Although the lack of sound proofing, this was the most comfortable hotel we’ve ever been in it class. Kudos to the people of Ren i Tang!

Reviewed October 30, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Cheng from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Plesant, Inspiring and definitely will come back!”

1. The Amazing Staff - always with a smile. 2. Great job preserving the heritage building. 3. Heart of the Heritage area.

A weekend in Penang made special with my stay at Ren I Tang. Reading it on Agoda already created much anticipation about how beautiful this restored heritage property is but staying there made it all more amazing, especially with the amazing staff who are ready to make the stay even more magical. The place is definitely world class, as it serves to both preserve the heritage and reputation of Penang, as a holiday destination of choice. I will definitely come back for more stays here. To the owners and staff, keep up you good work. I am truly inspired by your passion!

Reviewed October 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Sze from Singapore
Group
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Great location, rooms and friendly staff”

comfortable, cosy and homely room. alot of effort to maintain the heritage of the place, owner Karen was very helpful.

Karen, the owner was very fluent in English and friendly and was a great help. The location is right in the middle of Little India and walking distance to many sightseeing and food places. The signs are not very clear though so you might miss it completely if you don't look close enough. However, that is probably because they strive to maintain the integrity and heritage of the building which we really appreciate. The Family room is very spacious and well equipped. Loved the solid bed and plush pillows. Friends really appreciated the hairdryer.

Reviewed September 17, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
naadiya from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

THE AIRWELL ROOM”

Design, Location & Best Staff

Spent our night in the airwell room on a separate stay,LOVED IT TO BITS. The room is further back from the main road, and on the topmost floor so it was quiet and very private. Steps to the upper floors are steep and creeky but that's just part of the charm and we totally lap it up.Will return!

Reviewed September 12, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
naadiya from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Will Definitely Return!”

Design, Location and Amazing Staff

Our stay in Ren I Tang was a very memorable and enjoyable one. The staff were very friendly and accommodating of our 8 month old baby and entourage of 7 adults. The rooms were beautiful, the location was convenient, the cafe serves good food. Our only grub was for the amount we paid, one would expect some basic amenities like toothbrushes and shavers to be provided as well. But, we'll return definitely!

Reviewed September 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
June from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Satisfied customers”

Location. service comfort

It was our second stay . We stayed there last year through recommendation. We were not disappointed. The inn is small and we received very personalised treatment and hospitality

Reviewed September 11, 2014
4.0
Jeff from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Great service, great location and great hotel”

Friendly staff, good location and clean rooms

The hotel was difficult to find at first because there was no signs outside the hotel. However, the hotel is conveniently located at the heart of little India and walking distance away from the popular Armenian Street and eateries. The stairs were quite steep and you have to be careful not to fall down the stairs. Nonetheless, the rooms were comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewed September 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Leong from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Great Hotel ! See my review ”

Cozy, Relax, Satisfaction

We was totally in love with Ren I Tang ! We spend two nights in different types of room, Room 18 and Room 19, you'll be like 'WOW.... I love this place!' You can have nice sunset view from Room 18, beds are very comfy. You'll find out Ren I Tang emphasize on guest's needs and provide good services! We'll be here again!

Reviewed August 22, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
En from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Highly recommended”

Young, artistic & homey

Everything about this place was great! Highly recommended for young people. Cream caramel was perfect.Staff was very friendly and helpful. Value for money.

Reviewed August 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Mei from Singapore
Group
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Nice heritage place to stay”

Friendly owners, spacious and clean

We had a little hiccup getting there on the first day. You can tell the taxi to turn in from Jalan Masjid Kapitan into Lebuh China. Go straight, you will see Ren I Tang on your right. The location is ok, walkable distance to places like Khoo Kongsi. Shopping malls like 1st avenue mall would be a tad further. I would suggest that you plan your itinerary first. Our room, the airwell room, on the top floor was good! Spacious and clean. Toiletries wise, their homegrown brand of Natural Eco-Friendly Shampoo, Body Wash and hand liquid soap are available. Btw the owners are very friendly :) Just be warned of the steep staircase and poor sound insulation!

Reviewed August 13, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Beautifully restored building with a real heart”

centrally located in George Town, great interior details, amazing front desk

We would definitely go back again - there are so many good points I'm not sure there's enough space to list them here. The bed and pillows were excellent and gave us a good night's sleep - yes, despite the footsteps and occasional creaking floors (as expected in all heritage homes)! We also loved the layout of the room, the walking distance to all major sights in George Town as well as the great job the team did in restoring this building. Kudos also to Karen who represented the front desk (and Penang) very well. This is a genuinely great place to get to know George Town...

Reviewed August 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Kern from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

its a wonderful experience for me and my wife. ”

the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner and staffs that make us feel really at home and must try the breakfast omelet , yummy!

great!

Reviewed July 24, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Hui from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Great stay with comfy bed & nice deco”

Location, Heritage, Comfy

The stay make me fall in love with Penang again. Great location, great ppl and great foods within walking distance. Will be back soon.

Reviewed June 17, 2014
5.7
Wong from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Just ok”

Big rooms

If you are staying at level one, you need to be prepared to bring earplugs because you will hear footsteps from upstairs from night time till morning, includes ppl's conversations. Saw some ants at the washing basin area. Should prepare some basic amenities eg toothbrush, etc. Too expensive to pay this this hotel.

Reviewed June 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
PIT from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Great stay, spacious and clean room and bathroom”

strategic location, cultural design, spacious and clean

Staff is friendly, strategic location,near to most of the travel spot. Design is great. enjoy the stay. The room and bathroom is spacious and clean. The only thing not happy was misunderstand with the staff; I have confirm via call before I book a studio room to fit in 4 persons, however, they need to charge extra for more person stay. Although the charges is eliminate, it still create tension to the trip.

Reviewed May 12, 2014
7.7
Very good
Lambertus from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Good stay, but disappointing breakfast”

Great location, nice rooms, great service

The room was great- well appointed and large. Service was great. Location is great - in the heart of Georgetown However the breakfast was a huge let down- few slices of brown bread (only) some cerials and miniature bananas with instant coffee or tea. When I ordered an Americano I was told that it was chargeable at RM 6.00! The hotel should not advertise that breakfast is provided because it creates expectations. And if they want to include a continental breakfast in their rate, then it should be a proper continental breakfast with a selection of breads, cheese, fruits, jams etc and proper coffee.

Reviewed April 24, 2014
9.2
Exceptional
Yann from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Endroit idéal pour visiter Penang”

Facile d'accès, au coeur du quartier indien, service et propreté impeccables et personnel serviable et souriant. Rien à redire.

Reviewed October 10, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
patrice from France
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Parfait ”

Convivialité et authenticité

Très bien

Reviewed August 15, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
patrice from France
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Parfait !”

Belles prestations, convivialité, qualité et très très bel accueil et très bons conseils

Très bien bien que court

Reviewed August 12, 2015
5.0
odile from France
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Bruyant! mal insonorisé!”

au centre

J'ai demandé à changer de chambre car très bruyant; on entendait que la rue. Le petit-déjeûner est plus que sommaire! Les draps sentent le moisi.

Reviewed May 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Sabine from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Exceptional”

Wir haben hier 2 Nächte im Zimmer 12 verbracht. Das alte Gebäude des "Ren I Tang" ist mit sehr viel Hingabe und liebe zum Detail zu einem Hotel umgebaut worden. Früher war es eine Apotheke mit Lagerräumen sowie Seilzügen, die sehr schön in das Hotel integriert worden sind. Die Lage in Little India ist die beste Voraussetzung die Stadt zu erkunden, fast alle Ziele sind zu Fuß zu erreichen. In unmittelbarer Umgebung gibt es viele kleine Restaurants und ein Markt mit indischem Essen, der aber gegen 19:00 Uhr abbaut! Wir werden sehr freundlich begrüßt und unser Gepäck wird auch gleich per Seilzug ins Zimmer gebracht. Das Frühstück ist mit Toast, Marmelade und Müsli recht übersichtlich, aber es kann auch noch ein Omelette bestellt werden. Das Personal ist super freundlich und hilft in allen Fragen gerne weiter.

Reviewed July 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Stephan from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Top Unterkunft”

Wir hatten leider nur zwei Nächte eingeplant, wären sonst gerne noch länger geblieben. Das Gebäude des "Ren I Tang" ist mit sehr viel Hingabe und liebe zum Detail zu einem Hotel umgebaut worden. Früher war es eine Apotheke mit Lagerräumen sowie seilzügen, die sehr schön in das Hotel integriert worden sind. Die Liebe zum Detail findet sich auch in den Zimmern wieder, hier wurden alte Elemente passend integriert und bieten ein schönes Ambiente. Der Schlafkomfort ist ebenfalls gut durch Bettgröße sowie Matratze, bei einem Zimmer zur Straße raus, kann es aber auch mal lauter werden. Das Frühstück ist überschaubar, bietet jedoch von allem etwas. Es gab täglich eine frische lokale Spezialität. Das Personal und der Service sind hervorragend! Die Lage in Little India ist auch die beste Voraussetzung die Stadt zu erkunden, fast alle Ziele sind zu Fuß erreichen. Der Frühstücksraum ist gleichzeitig auch das spätere Restaurant / Bistro.Die hauptspeisen sind in Ordnung, man sollte jedoch nicht zu viel erwarten. Hier kann man sicherlich bessere Alternative zum Essen in der Umgebung finden, wer aber gemütlich vor Ort essen will, kann dies bedenkenlos tun. Es gibt frischen Kaffee und sehr leckere Nachspeisen. Das Restaurant ist jedoch auch nicht Teil der Bewertung. Wir würden das "Ren I Tang" sorglos weiterempfehlen!

Reviewed July 21, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jani from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016

Super charmant hotelletje”

Vooral de lieve dames in de receptie zorgen voor deze goede beoordeling. Maar ook de perfecte ligging en het mooie historische pand.

Reviewed April 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
tomomi
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

素敵なゲストハウスです!”

スタッフの方が親切で親しみやすく安心して過ごせた。本当に感じ良かった。 朝食はシンプル必要最小限。しかし、選ばせてくれるメインの一品料理が非常においしかった。滞在中、オムレツとパンケーキとチャパティを試した。何気ないものばかりなのに食感から味付けからとにかくおいしい。もう一度食べに行きたいほど。チャパティは息子が注文したが、カレーディップが付いており、「もし辛かったら、これを使って」とメイプルシロップも用意してくれた。気遣いがよい。 朝食の食堂は昼から夜まで一般向けのカフェとなる。こちらもなかなかよい。 お部屋も大変清潔に設えてあった。 外の明かりを入れるために窓を開けねばならないが、建て付けが悪い部屋だったが問題ない。 シャワーも問題なし。 タオルもしっかりしてて清潔でよい。 Wi-fiも困らなかった。 街を散策すると伝えると、ジョージタウンの地図を渡してくれ、ウォールアートのメインストリートを親切に教えてくれた。本当に感じが良い。 豪華ではないが、オシャレで親切で美味しくて清潔で大変気に入った。再訪したい。 ホテルの斜め前のインド料理店は我々日本人には激辛だが非常に美味しかったし親切だった。

Reviewed January 31, 2019
8.0
Excellent
murota from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

ホテル自体が世界遺産(みたいな感じ)”

立地、建物、オーナー

プライベートの一人旅は5つ星が多いのですが、今回は変わったホテルという趣旨でブッキング。歯ブラシもドライヤーもないホテルは久しぶりですが、古い建物を改修したホテルは雰囲気抜群、清潔感もありました。階段が少々、危険、年配の人には厳しいかもしれません、若いカップル向き。 1Fが感じのよいビストロになっています、長期滞在者もここで昼寝とかしています、客の半分は白人だと思います。オーナーと思われる女性は英語、広東語、北京語を話せるようです。土曜日だったので友人を呼んでパーティーをしていましたが、宿泊者も参加できました。立地は最高、観光地のど真ん中という感じ、その建物自体も観光遺産では。看板がない、ホテルかどーか分からないという状況は、たどり着ける者しか泊まれません。

Reviewed March 16, 2015
8.7
Excellent
SAITO from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

とても快適”

ジョージタウンのど真ん中で便利。清潔で広い。スタッフが親切。

ジョージタウンのど真ん中で便利。清潔で広い。スタッフが親切。ただ、WIFIのアクセスに問題があり、ほとんど使えなかった。

Reviewed May 14, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
PONGTORN from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Nice place Nice Location ”

สะอาดโมเดล พนักงานบริการดีมาก

Reviewed January 04, 2019