Book Now: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Reviews

Excellent
From 342 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10

Reviews of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (342)Booking.com Reviews (312)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities9.1
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service9.0
Value for money8.2
All languages
All guests (342)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 298 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Pushpendra from India
Couple
Deluxe Sea View, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Twin/Single Bed(s)
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018

Overrated Hotel”

Property is divided into 2 parts separated by public road. Deluxe/Sea view deluxe rooms are other side of the main property. Sea view is also quite obstructed. Garden Villa having private pool have no privacy as the pool is visible from the other Villa. Choice of vegetarian food is limited. Property is beautiful and staff is courteous. Property is accessed by a pot holed service road patch of roughly 3/4 kms. off the the main road. Complimentary shuttle service timings to Lamai &Chewang beachare quite in convenient.

Reviewed January 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Bryan from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Best breakfast buffet ever ”

Everything was amazing , the staff were friendly and very helpful . Also super professional , exactly what one would expect from a 5 star resort . If you want to travel the island , suggest renting a bike or car . The cab or transfer fee's can add up quick . 400b for a cab 500b for their own transport . The one draw back was the toilet had issues . Maybe from the mass amount of rain . It wouldn't flush properly . I'm sure they have fixed the problem . Very responsive to any issue you may have . Enjoy

Reviewed April 07, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Taninrut from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Good stay fell like home and didn't want leave”

Staff. Food complimentary

Such a very good warmly welcome from the staff. Esspecailly chef here. He alwayswalking around in the breakfast room to take care of the guest himself. Staff give me a very good information for staying at samui. Excellent!

Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from Germany
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in May 2015

A smashing hotel with outstanding staff”

pool villa, staff, design

We spent a total of 9 nights at the Marriott Renaissance Samui. Khun Nong, the reservation supervisor, assisted us via email with some questions and queries we had prior to our arrival. She was always quick, efficient and very helpful. Upon check-in we were greeted by the reception staff and very well taken care of. The first impression did not leave any room for doubts, if we had booked the right hotel for our holiday. We spent the first couple of days exploring the premises and meeting the staff, lazing around the pool and beach areas. Housekeeping had done an amazing job secretly decorating our room for my partners bday. They had blown up all balloons (30 in total, I felt somewhat sorry for the housekeeping team) and hung them nicely all over the room, spread all the other decorations throughout the room. That surprise was followed by a smashing birthday dinner at the beach front (it was the beach BBQ evening). A table in the first row had been reserved for us and to our surprise after the meal, the waiters and waitresses gathered and surprised us with a birthday cake and sang happy birthday. Khun Woody is a real character and made us laugh a lot during the dinner. These kind of characters really make a difference and stick in people´s memories. Another outstanding staff member I would like to point out is Ken. He was always around when needed. He is a total pro at what he does and went out of his way to assist us anytime, anywhere in any which way. He was always available, always present and always working hard. Simply a great chap you feel you can approach at any time with any questions or queries. We had had a look at the pool villas just after checking in and then decided, after 4 nights in the deluxe rooms, to upgrade to the aforementioned. We were very impressed we were with the villa. Spacious, private and designed in a lovely contemporary Thai style.

Reviewed October 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Karen from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Great Resort!”

Pool area, shower, and bed comfort

Great stay at the Renaissance. I really enjoyed my stay. Besides the room being nice and clean the bed was really comfortable. Also, the big pool by the beach was really awesome. We ordered a lot of food in-room and by the beach, and the food was always delicious. Would definitely come back if I was at Samui again.

Reviewed September 23, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Douglas from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Brilliant villa escape”

Room quality, staff performance, quiet

Loved my stay at the villa at Renaissance Koh Samui! The villas are amazing, beautiful, spacious, quiet and private, a lovely little pool to cool off in, and many pleasant little features. The location is a bit out of the way off of Lamai beach, but close enough that it's just a couple minutes to get down to other restaurants, etc. It's not the cheapest option, but it's a lovely escape in the villas!

Reviewed September 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Douglas from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Treat yourself to Renaissance Villa life!”

Fantastic villa, peaceful atmosphere, charming staff

Loved my stay in the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa - I booked a villa, which was not inexpensive but was worth every penny - beautiful spacious villa with many amenities, friendly and helpful staff, a private pool for cooling off, and a very peaceful atmosphere, night or day. Strongly recommended!

Reviewed September 01, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Umha from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014

Best Beach Vacation”

“Great value, clean and friendly”

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days The staff are friendly and service is good, especially they initiated a special birthday cake for my husband during breakfast. I cannot complain and I had no problems. The rooms are cleaned everyday! The pool is lovely and was barely anyone else there. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a peaceful break.

Reviewed August 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Harry from Singapore
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Rustic, Character”

Lovely

This hotel is very well maintained compared with many of the others in Sa Mui. I suppose it helps that it belopngs to the bigger Marriot chain. Prices are reasonable compared with other large developments. The pool is a fun place to be and it has the buzz due to the higher take-up amongst tourists. yet, it is not that overcrowded. The breakfast is a treat. What we get is quality - eg. the fruit juices are squeezed on the spot and the variety is plentiful. It is also a fruits galore with local fruits in addition to the usual fare . Its quality

Reviewed December 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
simon from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2010

Oasis in Samui”

Location .... solitude .... lush setting
None

Stayed at the Samui renaissance resort over valentines weekend ... it was the perfect gettaway. Was greated by the friendly staff at the resort whom escorted us to our more than ample room. Found everything there more than satisfactory. We ate at all the restaurants there and enjoyed the breakfast so much 5* all the way

Reviewed April 08, 2010
8.4
Excellent
Barinder from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Garden Terrace Room
Stayed 7 nights in January 2018

Clean,friendly, serene resort”

Comfortable rooms Good food especially breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Excellent service at the Spa Very safe I misplaced my iPad it was found by staff and handed in at the reception desk Con. Location it can be difficult to get to by local transport.

Reviewed January 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
saima from Pakistan
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

FANTASTIC CUSTOMER SERVICE”

It was out first time in Koh Samui and we are very happy that we chose to stay at the Renaissance! It was a fabulous experience. The room was gorgeous and the staff was outstanding! Especially, Max (Banana Leaf Restaurant staff) and Honey (Front desk staff) were exceptionally kind and helpful. Whoever is responsible for the staff training should be acknowledged for the wonderful job and rewarded for such a great job. We will surely be back again and encourage our friends to choose Renaissance as well.

Reviewed October 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Hannah from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017

Fantastic boutique hotel! ”

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon and loved it! We got champagne and treats on arrival (a gorgeous added touch!). The staff was the highlight, so lovely and kind assisting with anything we needed. The breakfast was also fantastic, literally anything and everything you could want or need. It is close to Lamai Beach, definitely a nicer side to the island than busy Chaweng. Loved it here - highlight reccomend.

Reviewed September 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
NUTTAPONG from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Good to stay here for long holiday”

We stayed 2 nights here in Villa with private pool. Everything was so perfect, staffs were so kind, breakfast was so many options, the room was bigger than expected, the pool which is next to the private beach. Would come back again for sure.

Reviewed April 17, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Wong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Amazing Villa Stay”

Stayed in a pool villa with my family (with 2 children) for 3 nights. I am a platinum member of Marriott Rewards, and I was given an additional roll-away bed with no additional cost, welcome ice-creams during check-in, welcome fruits and cookies in the room and complimentary wifi. Hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful. Location of the resort was a little hidden, access from main road could be missed easily if you come from Chaweng direction. We followed a small truck road from main road and passed by some local residential houses before arriving at the resort. They provide free shuttle bus service to Chaweng and Central Festival shopping mall. But for convenience, I rented a car to enable more freedom in time management. The spa pool in the villa was great for bonding moments with my wife and kids in the afternoon. The sofa in the room was good to be converted as another bed for a child, so the villa was simply perfect for 2 adults and 2 children. We were also briefed by a friendly hotel staff about the villa and the resort upon arrival at our villa. Wifi speed was good, but satelite TV channels were limited. Breakfast was good. There were 2 huge pools @ the resort, recommended to use the beach facing pool as the sea view was fantastic. The other pool was the long lap pool with the length of olympic swimming pool but it was located far from villas and quieter. The resort has its private beach. However, the beach did not meet my expectation, the sea water level at that area was too low for a swim. It feels like being always at low tide.

Reviewed September 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Harjinder from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 5 nights in August 2016

Summer holidays”

This place is 'heaven' staff are so attentive, friendly and can't do enough for you. The executive chef was helping out daily, clearing plates, chatting to customers etc Pool staff were the best, they have complimentary suncream out and we're always smiling. Would recommend this gem to everyone. Such a relaxing place with such friendly staff and super pool, beach and food! Worth a visit

Reviewed August 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
May-Anne from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Great service and bfast”

Had a great stay here at renaissance mostly because of the great service provided here by the staff and the sumptuous breakfast which came with your choice of fresh fruit juice every morning. Ginger, orange, apple, whatever you request they have it. And totally free with breakfast. private beach which was clear. clearer then the other hotel I stayed in. Must be due to a different part of samui. Hotel bed was super comfy too! overall, my husband and I were pretty pleased with our stay here!

Reviewed June 20, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Ludovic from France
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Excellent facilities but beach not swimmable”

The Hotel is a good value for money tu beach front view villa. The service and the personnel are very helpfull and kindness. So that We excuse them not to Have prépare the room one night évent if we've sleeped with the afternoon in room Dining! The only thing is that the beach is beutifull to see but not swimmable low or higth tides!

Reviewed May 08, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Vladimir from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

A small gem on the SE coast”

Staff, Private Beach, quaint size of the resort.

It was wonderful and the staff was extremely knowledgeable. Honey and Romee was always available and friendly at the front desk to answer any questions and provide any booking support for car rentals or activities. The restaurant staff was also very helpful and kind. I can't say enough great things about this resort.

Reviewed March 17, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Marion from France
Group
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015

Very relaxing ”

Beach, staff and breakfast

Very good hotel, very nice stay. The beach is clearly the best part of the hotel as it's relaxing. Beautiful hotel. The staff is great. Very friendly, we really enjoyed the service. Although the breakfast is excellent, food at lunch/dinner time is not what you would expect for a Thai restaurant in a 5 star hotel and for this price. We were very disappointed. Another thing, if you are member of Marriott Rewards, tell it upfront when you check in as you will have free wifi in room, otherwise it's 5£/day. We have stayed in 5 hotels during our stay in Thailand and it's the only one which doesn't propose free wifi in room. This is very surprising and not in a good way. So if you are not member of Marriott Reward, subscribe before you stay. It was my second stay there, 1st time was 7 years ago and I would definitely go a 3rd time.

Reviewed January 07, 2016
6.7
Good
D from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Overrated and disappointing”

Proximity to the main Chaweng and Lamai areas

They have a serious mosquito infestation problem. Our patches were useless against the lethal mosquitoes. One would have expected the hotel to take better measures given the rainy season, but no. On the bright side, staff performance was on the whole warm and friendly except for one exceedingly rude and surly chamber maid. And the hot/cold water mixer in the bathroom needs to be fixed/improved.

Reviewed November 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Caleb from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015

A Very Wonderful Experience”

Customer Service, The Amazing Breakfast, Location

Let's start with the breakfast. Really great. Definitely spend a little more and get a room that includes the breakfast! The location of the resort is really nice and quiet. Lamai area is great if you don't want all the commotion of the "bigger" areas. My wife and I enjoyed this a lot. The private beach on the resort is nice and warm with plenty of room to swim around. We also suggest waking up early to walk around during low-tide. We saw some cool critters. The staff is what makes the hotel great. LITERALLY ANYTHING we needed they would get us or arrange for us. Rent a scooter? They arranged it. Snorkel trip? They arranged it. Want to send a post card? Buy some stamps at the local family mart and give them to the front desk. Definitely a good value for the money. Highly suggest.

Reviewed October 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Edward from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Most relaxing stay in Thailand”

Amazing Room, Service and amneties

We loved our stay! The resort was beautiful. Service was top-notch. As much as we wanted to go out on the first day, we were lounging and sleeping in the room because it was so comfortable. The bed was so comfortable- best sleep ever. There is a very quiet 50m pool which we found very relaxing. The only drawback is the location. The beach in front of the resort is not the nicest, so it was at least a 30 min-60 min walk to get to the nicer part of Lamai beach. To walk on the main road to get to the local convenience store or restaurant was busy, so you have to be careful for traffic, especially at night. If you just want to stay on the resort and relax this is an amazing choice.

Reviewed July 22, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
K from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Sapphire”

Their service, restaurant and spa experience

We stay in few different hotel during Thailand trip. They are the most outstanding one. They provide excellent customer service in every little things, also the room is very clean and comfort. Definitely a five star hotel. Recommend if come to Koh Samui!

Reviewed April 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Wen from China
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013

Everything great, nice food, friendly stuffs ”

Villa decorations; food; quiet environment

I stayed there for 4 days in Samui, and overall it's a pleasure stay. We get up late and have buffet breakfast in banana leaf restaurant which includes variety of foods. And we rent a car from the hotel, though a little bit expensive it's really safe and simple. We drive to chaweng everyday cuz the location of Renaissance is poor which is the only bad thing I can memorize. I can still remember that the first day the resort hold a cocktail and BBQ party beachfront and we happily attend it. The last day we order a shuttle to the airport cost 1000B which is not too expensive. The stuff can speak good english and there's even a Chinese intern. Our villa No.123 and No.124 smell great like lemongrass and the stuffs all friendly with bright smile.

Reviewed February 24, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Ali from Oman
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in December 2014

I loved the hotel its nice the staff are amazing”

staff were great. pool was nice beach was nice

We loved it, simply nice, the staff curtiouse… I must admit when people make their booking they should separate families from honeymooners as we were disturbed too early by kids in the room next to us.

Reviewed January 04, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Wai from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Comfort and relax staying in resort the fullday”

Location, not distant from Lamai town, 5 to 10mins by drive; Nice swimming pool plus safe kids pool; Quiet relax area, no disturbance.

Fantastic trip in Samui. My Wife, 2 kids and I stayed in Koh Samui 11days, we stayed in Renaissance Resort the last six days. Very appreciated the best professional service provided by Renaissance, FANTASTIC! Hotel Checkin, welcome ice cream for my kids. We just have to sitting in corner sofa, a young German girl gave a hotel introduction, and arrange everything for us, and leading us to the room. The hotel staffs are thinking quite upfront, provide the best service before I request. Everyone, employees in resort, are very kindness and friendly, we feel comfort and relax. Thank you very much the whole team of Renaissance and General Manager, your performance is complimented. I definitely recommend this hotel to all travelers.. Worth! Quiet! Friendly staffs! My suggestion: this hotel only provides a small room for kids, actually, no one be there, as only several story books offers, and nothing. It may be better, change the location of kids club to another place (inside hotel garden), as right now, this kid room is alongside the main road, not really safe. And hotel may held more kids funny activities, e.g. Painting class, DIY lesson, etc...we are willing to join the kids club, if provided by hotel, more fun for kids, andsetup some playground, seesaw, swing... Regards, LI

Reviewed January 03, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Salman from Pakistan
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Perfect Family Stay”

Perfect location , Very accomodating & friendly staff, Villa size and amenities were great!!

We had a lovely stay and were completely immersed in the beauty of the surrounding greenery beautiful white beach. The best things was the privacy around the beach with not many others able to access. the location is off the beaten track and yet still easy enough so one can go into town for a meal and come back. Only regret - Duration of our stay was too short. Highly recommended and will go there again if given a chance...

Reviewed October 24, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Malcolm from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 18 nights in July 2014

Renaissance Koh Samui. Chill out.”

Renaissance Koh Samui. A place to chill out.

Much more than comfortable. FANTASTIC staff managed by Killian Donoghue. Situated directly on the beach, which enables access to other hotels, beach bars, and local restaurants. Sea bed is somewhat rocky, but hotel have this covered by complimentary rock shoes. What really made a fantastic holiday for my wife, was the interaction between staff and guests. We were treated as family . Chef Tor runs the kitchen to an exemplary standard, and will provide custom meals if required. My wife has a nut allergy. Nothing to worry about at this hotel. Excellent advice given and custom meals cooked. Do not miss the complimentary Bloody Marys at breakfast! Also, Korn, and colleagues opened a bar at 03:00 so guests could watch World Cup games. I can think of no downside to this hotel. It is built on a hill, so persons with walking disabilities may find it a minor chore. In my view, well worth a visit. We hope to return some time.

Reviewed July 28, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Rajinder from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in May 2014

Wonderful Stay in a Clean, Friendly Hotel”

Food, Staff, Room

Absolutely wonderful stay at the Renaissance. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of. Very friendly staff always happy to help and offer recommendations of what's good to see and do around the island. Being vegetarian, Banana Leaf was a goto restaurant for food at the hotel. The Green Curry is absolutely delicious. The Chefs pay special attention to your dietary requirements and will modify pretty much any meal to suit your needs. The villa and pool with garden view was clean, well kept and relaxing to stay in. Be cautious at night as one of the bedroom lights is situated directed on top of the blades of the spinning fan causing an uncomfortable strobe light affect in the main seating area. We would just turn it off and stick with the air con to keep cool. The swimming pool is nice and large and there were always plenty of deck chairs to relax on. The beach is and water area are not the best on the island but then it's only a 15 minute drive to get to Chaweng Beach where the sea and sand are beautiful. All in all an absolutely wonderful stay and we certainly hope to return to the Renaissance soon.

Reviewed June 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
SABARYIYAH from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

Outstanding service level and great ambience.”

Service level, room is great and excellent spa services.

The memorable part of our stay is the customer service levels rendered from the hotel. A big shout out to Deer (from buffet breakfast), Victoria, Mai from Tawann Restaurant. I was very impressed that they remember our name and our room number without mentioning to them.

Reviewed June 04, 2014
7.7
Very good
Fon from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

superb and relaxing holiday for the family”

ambience, private beach and breakfast

We were greeted by the airport shuttle by the attentive staff and given a run down about where and what we can do during our stay there. It was relaxing for the family. We like to hang out at the pool area or take walks along the private beach. The breakfast spread was superb and wide range of food catering to the whole family. The quiet ambiance is good for a relaxing holiday. :)

Reviewed May 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Andrew from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

It was an excellent stay. ”

The best things about this hotel were the pool, the beach, the views and the room.

It is just a great place to stay. I was able to turn my brain off whilst there and really enjoy time with my family. I felt the service was very good and overall a good value for the money. I didn't feel gouged drinking at the bar or eating at the restaurants like I have often felt inside the resort. Happy I stayed there. The staff was genuinely friendly, especially to my 5 year old son who had a great time goofing around in the pool and running about the gardens.

Reviewed April 03, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Anna from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Great hotel for the price”

Clean, Friendly, Spacious

We originally booked a ocean view deluxe and decided to upgraded to a beach front villa for a night because the view is just much better. The staffs are friendly and the price is definitely worth it for the amenities we get. I think the food from the restaurants are just so-so, but the breakfast buffet is awesome, many selections and lots of freshness to it. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors who want some level of luxury of the hotel and witin a budget.

Reviewed March 22, 2014
6.0
Kristian from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Nice Quiet Location”

Large Pool, Nice Room, Good Breakfast

We booked a Deluxe Sea View room and were surprised to be in the back building at least a 250 meter walk from the beach across a small public road (or bridge). We had a thumbnails view of blue which was the sea. Not sure why we paid more for that. The buildings are nice but expect to do a lot of walking to restaurants, breakfast and the beach. Its a classic wide open walk way Asian Hotel with a nice blend of timber and stone. The room was big, comfortable bed and largish bathroom. We had a nice short stay but won't stay there again. There are a lot of other nicer choices in the same or better price range.

Reviewed December 30, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Pleasant stay at pool villa”

friendly staff, tidy and neat

We booked delux room but we've been upgraded to Pool villa, that was nice surprise for us. The room was nice, clean and large with big windows. Water in the pool was a bit dirty first day of our stay, next morning we were surprised again, the water in pool was crystal clear and we didn't even noticed when the staff managed to clean it. Excellent breakfast with wide variety of food, beach is clean but rocky. Hotel is a bit run down, need some renovation to do but overall everything else was superb, if we are coming back, definitely staying here again.

Reviewed September 13, 2013
6.7
Good
Robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

comfortable due to complimentary upgrade”

on beach, attentive staff, relaxed

As they were overbooked with a (very noisy) Chinese tour group, we got a complimentary upgrade to a pool villa. It was large, with high ceilings, and comfortable. The restaurants had limited menus and were quite small for such a large hotel. But, even then, few guests used them. There are lots of other restaurants in the area. Lamai is a sunrise beach with lots of broken coral and not suitable for swimming. We headed for the sunset side of the isand for better beaches each evening.

Reviewed June 16, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jay from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013

Great hotel with friendly service”

Nicely secluded, very private, very friendly service, excellent complimentary breakfast, great sea views, and nice rooms

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. Even though the Renaissance is quite far out from other heavily populated areas, it was easy enough to book a free van to take us to Chaweng or Lamai. The restaurants at the resort were also quite expensive, but we were paying for convenience and very great quality food so we never felt short changed. The rooms were good, although I found the toilet was a bit too small for my liking and I usually had to flush twice...it felt very cramped. The jacuzzi seemed a bit old and tended to spray back debris into the spa. We never ended up using it.

Reviewed January 15, 2013
5.3
Kalaichelvan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Excellent Room but very bad service”

Very Modern Room

We spent 4 days 3 nights and were extremely happy and glad that we picked the Pool Villa, the room was very good and modern. The breakfast was excellent, with friendlly staff. The room service, was very bad, it took them almost two hours to fix our wifi problem. Further problems with power sockets took them almost another two hours and five calls to fix. Also when about to leave they tried to stiff us with 11 mins long distance phone call, that was made at 11.57, five minutes after we left our room! The beach was rocky and mudddy.

Reviewed November 20, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Veera from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012

Clean and lovely hotel with excellent service”

Clean, spacious, friendlly staff

We spent our honeymoon here in 2007 and 5 years on, returned to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. Upon hearing this, the staff arranged or a complimentary bottle of wine. Throughout our stay, staff were friendly and helpful. Everyone from front desk, restaurant and pool staff to our drivers were warm and friendly. Kudos too to the hotel medic that attended to my swollen foot. We will definitely return.

Reviewed September 21, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Ching from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012

Best hotel we have stayed at to date! ”

Service, spacious rooms, great events, lovely pool by the beach!

this has got to be the best hotel we have stayed at! we arrived early and was not able to check in but were greeted with ice-cream and was able to chill by the pool/beach while waiting for the room to be ready. we managed to get a massage by the beach too! staff were excellent who constantly looked after us during our 5 days 4 nights stay. we will definately be recommending this hotel to everyone who heads to koh samui!

Reviewed September 20, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Lai from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012

Friendly and helpful staff”

Rooms and swimming pools

if you are looking for something a bit away from the hustle and bustle of koh samui, this hotel might suit you since the location of renaissance is perfect - not too far away from chaweng & lamai beach but retain the reclusive feel of a quiet holiday place, even though the beach is a bit small and the water is sometimes too shallow to swim. however, the kayaking is perfect in a calm sea and the best thing is two kayaks provided by the hotel are left on the beach for the guests to use free-of-charge anytime they wish!

Reviewed August 27, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Tiffany from Australia
Couple
Stayed 11 nights in May 2012

Fantastic hotel and wonderful service”

Fantastic Pool, Great Breakfast, lovely service and gorgeous spa

The hotel and staff were very friendly and attentive. We had a great room overlooking the lap pool. Bed was comfortable and great pillows. The hotel was extremely clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and catered for absolutely every nationality. The pool was beautiful and private beach lovely to relax and walk to on. It is a more secluded part of the island but we much preferred this to the over run tourist area of Chaweng. There is a fantastic market in Lamai also worth checking out.

Reviewed May 22, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Alexander from Israel
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2012

Very nice and lovely hotel.”

Nice staff, good food, relax atmosphere.

The stay was very nice, very relaxing. The private pool is pretty small but its ok to cool down and relax. The only one concern is that they put hallogen spot neat the pool and small child stepped on it and burn he's leg very badly. Have to change it to LED or something to make it cooler.

Reviewed May 20, 2012
7.3
Very good
Sevara from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012

its nice but not amazing”

breakfast

beautiful resort with a lot of trees, 2 swimming pools, nice decor rooms were very comfortable with a balcony and the bath tub outside but the bed and pillows were not that comfortable service at the breakfast restaurant was very good, and at the check in anf check out desk horrible

Reviewed May 11, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Alistair from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011

Great small resort, fantastic service”

Nice pool, great staff

Stayed in deluxe room in main block, upgraded to sea view due to Marriott Platinum status! Also received selection of snacks and drinks. Room not immediately available due to busy season and delay in housekeeping, so they comped a round of drinks at the pool bar. Room was clean and reasonably well maintained with exception of some damage to wood floor near bathroom area. invited to GM cocktails one night, a very nice touch and good chance to chat with staff and other guests. All round, a top quality 4+ star experience. Location is away from main drag at Chaweng (I consider this a positive), but it does mean you have to rent a motorbike (200b per day) or deal with.

Reviewed January 11, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Keat from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Beautiful beach resort and lovely private villas”

Private villa, beachfront pool

we arrived quite late due to flight delays by bangkok airways. the hotel pickup was there waiting. we were promptly checked in and brought to our villa. it was certainly a very beautiful villa, and more than what we have expected. we spent most of our time during our stay at the beachfront pool, taking occasional dips in the sea or in the pool. our day by the pool/beach would not be complete without visiting quan spa. it is conveniently located next to the beachfront pool. the lowlight of the stay was the romantic dining - beach sala. it was not special nor memorable.

Reviewed January 05, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
kaushik from India
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011

lovely hotel and service”

the hotel has a very nice beach front location. also the layout is quite fantastic.

we arrived quite late in the evening and were greeted with a smile. they also offered us a home made ice cream which was quite fantastic. the rooms were very spacious and well equipped. the breakfast layout is extensive and being vegatarian they prepared special pad thai noodles for us and also veg sandwiches. the pool is right on the beach and has a beautiful view. the hotel is located 5 kms from chaweng beach which is where all the action is. we had rented a car so it was only a 10 minute drive. koh samui is a small island and if you have a car you can cover the entire island in an hour. overall renaissance has a good and relaxing feel to it and very nice place to stay at koh samui

Reviewed January 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Justin from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Best place to stay on Koh Samui”

Service, view, accomodations

we stayed at this hotel for part of our honeymoon and were impressed with everything the hotel had to offer. the service was superior and the room was great! the staff stopped by our room to congratulate us on our honeymoon with a bottle of wine and chocolates...what a great way to start our stay! the hotel is not close to night life but is ideal for a romantic getaway. highly recommended!

Reviewed December 23, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 13 nights in August 2011

Lovely setting”

Foyer, open and airy

We arrived at the hotel and were instantly made to feel welcome. The staff go above and beyond to help in every possible way. The hotel is relaxing and serene. Our bungalow was spacious and surrounded by lush greenery. Giving an tranquil feel. The meals were of a good standard too. There is a free courtesy bus into Lamai and Chaweng. The only downside is that there is not a bus early evening going into these resorts.

Reviewed September 09, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Hywel from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

Perfect Location”

Everything says luxury

We were upgraded to a Villa, the rooms were lovely, so clean and spacious with excellent facilities. I'd highly recommend staying in one of the villas, perfect for a romantic break, the resort offers a great view over Lamai, a relaxed and tranquil resort, excellent food and staff who are extremelly attentive and very very helpful. The villa cane with a private dip pool and courtyard, adding to the luxury and privacy that the rooms offered.

Reviewed August 29, 2011
7.7
Very good
Yves from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

NIce resort with very friendly staff”

The privacy of each room, the trees and tropical atmosphere, the excellent service

we had a great 5 days and four night stay in a private pool villa. ours was classified as a ocean view villa but we could see the ocean at all from the villa so that should be revised. the rooms are nicely decorated and functional except maybe for the living room wher we found the seating to be not very comfortable. this is a place to sit by the pool or on the beach to relax and read but you cannot swim in the ocean as it is too shallow and rocky in front of the resort. the food is great at the tawann restaurant.

Reviewed July 21, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Monti from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011

Very relaxing and good food”

Private, excellent meals, large villa at great rates

Loved the resort. Staff very friendly, good English skills, and helpful. the Beach is not nice here, but we had a pool with our villa. We took the cooking class and had lots of fun, learned new recipes and they catered to the menu we wanted to cook!

Reviewed July 17, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Rawad from France
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2011

Excellent resort with excellent service”

Beautiful resort, great service, great gardens, excellent swimming pools, very good restaurants (there are 3 of them)with reasonable price, excellent breakfast buffet, nice gym, shuttles for free to Lamaii and Chaweng

this is an excellent hotel that i would recommend to anyone seeking romance and relaxation. we mostly liked the swimming pool that is located in the gardens and the decoration of the whole resort, it is picturesque. the service is vey friendly. make sure you try all of the 3 restaurants in the resort as they are quite good. the rooms (eventhough a bit small) are quite adequate (the view to the garden is excellent), no need to get a villa if you have budget constraint. also take the breakfast in the price, it is really worth it. the location of the hotel is not perfect, but shuttle services are available for free. the private beach is not that great (small), but is not bad either. kayakes are available to be used for free. make sure you use them. as we have been in other hotels in the island, the value for money is this hotel seemed for us the best so far...

Reviewed March 09, 2011
8.0
Excellent
kevin from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2010

Marritt Renaissance”

The Marriott Renaissance is overall a fab hotel. We stayed in a villa looking out towards the main swimming pool and the ocean. We had our own plunge pool and private patio/garden . The staff are very helpful and friendly. I recommend the private garden bar-b -q.
As in most marriott hotels there is no complimentary internet, which is a little mean when you are paying the published room rate of 12-13000 baht a night. Also there is no childrens club unlike most marriotts. The tvs in the rooms are not flat screen which means they take up alot of room. But on the whole the rooms are very nice although a little tired.

Renaissance ,previously known as The Buriraya, is now part of the Marriott group of hotels. This means there are very good staff and hotel managers etc..however Marriott have not spent any money updating this hotel since i last stayed here 5 years ago!Overall good value for money but no complimentary Wi-Fi and no Kids club means we probably wont be back. This style of hotel is known as Boutique and all its nearby competitors have Wi-Fi.

Reviewed February 01, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Anna from Russia
Couple
Stayed 9 nights in December 2009

Relaxed vacation”

Very good service, very good food, especially on special occasions like beef night, lobster night. Also a good SPA, very relaxed music on the beach and in restaurants. A good place to be when you want to stay in hotel most of the time and that no one disturbs you.
1.Beach is OK, but when it is low tide you must walk VERY far and there are small rocks on the bottom which don't make it a comfortable walk. 2.Hotel has a service where they make bookings and arrangements for you around the island, but they are quite limited in that. For ex, they couldn't book a table for us in another rest and couldn't book tickets for thai boxing. 3. If you stay in the deluxe room and if your neighbours are loud, you will hear this. Good thing that there are not many loud guests in this hotel.

We chose this hotel specifically knowing that we will stay a lot of time inside hotel, and we did not regret this a bit. We had luck with high tide (between Dec 31 and Jan 8 was high tide almost every day), so swimming was very nice. On the last day it was low tide and I walked and walked and could not find a deep spot, it was a little higher than my knee. Hotel is near Lamai and it is also more pleasant and calm place than Chaweng to walk around, not so many people, not so noisy, but it still has a big variety of - restaruants, souvenirs, massages. We were happy with the service at hotel, rooms are cleaned 2 a day, staff is very friendly. Just know, if you want to get out of the hotel, you better call a taxi first, it is about 5-7 min of not a very comfy walk to the main road. Prices inside of hotel for food and spa are high for what you can find in thailand, they are almost like prices in Moscow (the 3'd most expensive city in the world). If you stay in deluxe room, you must walk over public bridge, but it is very short, over a small road with not so many cars, so this was not a problem. Otherwise you can take a villa.

Reviewed January 17, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Imran from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in November 2008

Perfect Honeymoon Destination”

Amazing restaurants, Villa's are great perfect for a honeymoon couple. Service is excellent at this resort. The spa is 5 star also although a little pricey.
Beach could be improved and music is limited on the beach bar.

I have been to this resort 4 times in total and have never been dissapointed. The service, food, cleanliness and presentation is excellent. The hotel is truly a gem in the area. Situated on Lamai beach but away from the hustle and bustle. The staff will go out of thier way for you. The hotel has an infinity type pool with a happy hour for drink promotion etc. Another value added bonus is round the corner from the hotel you can find car hire, laundry and breakfast facilities so you are not tied on the expensive hotel rates.

Reviewed September 17, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
tracey from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2009

paradise”

a lovely hotel had a fantastic stay would not hasitate to stay again but there was one problem look at cons
got charged twice for the room

a spectacular place to stay the location is not far from the airport so after the the long flight it was very nice to be settled with in an hour of arriving. we had a superb meal in the Tawann restaurant on the second night, and would recommend the house specialitly of scallops and foie gras. would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed September 06, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Ulrike from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 9 nights in October 2008

Oktober 17 until 26”

ruhige Lage, freundliches Personal, schöne Umgebung mit vielseitiger Bepflanzung und gut gepflegt. schöne Teakliegen und grosse Badetücher am Strand und Pool
beim Yogaraum kam bei starkem Regen das gesamte Wasser herunter, hat den Deckel angehoben und den gesamten Strandabschnitt weggespült. Darunter kamen Abfallsäcke und Bauschutt zum Vorschein. Es wurde nur notdürftig wiederhergestellt

freundlicher Empfang - was uns allerdings befremdent vorkam, war, dass man uns direkt 18000.-- Baht (als DÉPOT??)auf der Kreditkarte belastete. (wir bekamen die Differenz zu unseren Konsumationen am Ende zurück) aber soetwas hatten wir noch nie in einem 5 Sterne Hotel erlebt. Das Hotel war sehr sauber, aber die Abmachung: BAdetuch in der Dusche -> neues - Badetuch am Ständer -> kein neues funktioniert dort gar nicht obwohl sich in Thailand allgemein inzwischen das BEwusstsein für die Umwelt zu regen beginnt. Ausserdem ist das Meerwasser in der Bucht nicht sauber. An manchen Tagen bildeten sich braune Schaumbläschen auf dem Wasser und das Wasser fühlte sich sehr seifig an????? was ist das????? Im REstaurant bekamen wir anfangs - trotz gewaschen - Tischsets mit Flecken (Fett, welches beim Waschen nicht rausging) und die Ränder der Sets waren teilweise ganz ausgefranzt. Da ich selbst aus der Hotelbranche komme, achte ich besonders auf solche Dinge und das ist für ei 5 Sterne Hotel nicht besonders vorteilhaft. Ansonsten haben wir den Aufenthalt genossen, vor allem da das Personal äusserst freundlich ist und auch die zwei Pools und deren Umgebung sehr sauber sind. Selbst die frechen Beos, welche am Frühstückstisch Brötchen klauen wollten hatten ein Lächeln auf dem Schnabel und waren auch sehr freundlich

Reviewed November 01, 2008
10.0
Exceptional
Fang from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2008

Best valued hotel on Samui island”

Comfortable, very thoughtful customer service.
none

Free pick-up service from/to the airport, the hotel also provides free shuttle service to Chaweng area and the beach (in the other hotel we stayed, those shuttle services are NOT free). We stayed in 2 different hotels on Samui island and by comparison, Kirikayan is far better than the other hotel we stayed at. The room charge is reasonable, the staffs are very attentive, the apartment style guest room is unexpectedly large, the hotel itself is very new and very beautiful. Though the beach is on the other side of the hotel, it only takes about 3 minutes to the beach by hotel shuttle bus. The beach is amazingly beautiful, on a long stretched of coast line with soft sands and no rocks.

Reviewed October 12, 2008
9.2
Exceptional
Sin from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

lots of activities available, very nice staff, delicious breakfast with lots of choices and freshly made juice.

Reviewed December 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
James from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Perfect Resort”

Had our wedding here, gorgeous!! cannot fault. best staff best amenities! Perfect

Reviewed June 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
James from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Perfect Perfect”

Like I said Perfect! had the best wedding here

Reviewed June 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Excellent service, totally worth it,”

Booked the private villa & totally loving the privacy & tranquility it offers. Location is very convenient as well. Will definitely be back!

Reviewed May 09, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Izuan from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

The stay was great”

Quite private beach

It was pleasant. But quite far from the main town

Reviewed September 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Anukool from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

Perfect”

Room, clean and comfort
Reviewed May 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

excellent resort”

great staff, service ,breakfast & bathroom

lots of choice at breakfast, staff is good, large pool,a pleasure stay at Renaissance, i will visit again.

Reviewed January 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Lee from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Great service and lovely view”

Service was excellent and lovely hotel ambience

Great place for honeymooners and couples. Room is cozy and spacious. Food was great.

Reviewed November 17, 2012
2.8
roy from Israel
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017

Review score”

We arrived to the Renaissance Hotel in Lamai Beach, Koh Samui on August 6, 2017. It was our 9th day in Thailand after touring Koh Phangan, which was an amazing experience but that’s beside the point. First of all, the service was good at the hotel and the hotel is situated in a beautiful location. We booked a deluxe room in advance and when we arrived, we were told there are 2 elevators that take you to the room and that one is not working. Since we were with twin strollers, we asked to switch rooms and they offered to upgrade us 7000thb for three nights. We took it because we had no choice. When we woke up the first morning, we had bites all over our bodies. Our 6th month old baby had marks on his stomach and our two-year old had bites on his legs, arms, face and shoulders. I had bites all over my back. Our kids could not stop their discomfort and complaints. I was sure it was the mosquitos. But on second thought, we did not go outside once. It was nighttime and we kept the doors closed to prevent mosquitos from coming in. We called the reception to request another mosquito net and went to sleep. The next morning, we got up and we were all ridden with painful bites. By the third night, my husband and I felt the bugs on the mattress. We couldn’t sleep at all. Our children weren’t able to sleep either and the two year old was yelling that there was something in his bed. We left the room at 5am. It turned out that we had more than 6,000 bed bug bites all together! We went straight to the manager of the hotel, who claimed that we brought them in from outside. The hotel made sure to bring us a medical staff and the doctor told us that it’s just an allergic reaction. Four people had the same allergic reaction, really? We were told that the room had been cleaned and was closed for a week (a five-star hotel closes a room for a week to clean?) Cleaning takes 24-48 hours at the most. Unless there were bed bugs previously, I presume. My husband returned to the room l

Reviewed August 14, 2017
6.8
Good
Pinaki from India
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Staff needs communication & behavioral training”

We wanted to try the property and stayed for a night. I will be candid and say, did not have a great experience. Positives: great location, clean beach, good food seection and minutes away from market or party world. Opportunities: 1. Inroom service communication has to be improved. We had to call 3 times to get it right with initial response from the resturant that we did not place any order; 2. Staff seems to be very arrogant on the success or hotel rating, please be aware there are other 5+ star properties if we are paying that amount; 3. Staff needs to provide accurate information or simply say they dont know; 4. When you see your guest with infant what you can do at the least is be professional and not show your attitude, we are not staying free; 5. Please make sure electric systems and other equipments in the room is in good condition, no one likes to call for help mins after you checking; 5. Kids pool should be for kids and not for adults and smoking.

Reviewed May 09, 2017