"Enjoyed my stay here and liked the staff."
June 10, 2016
810 meters to public transportation
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
|Value for money||8.7|
|Distance to city center||0.8 km|
April 30, 2016
"There is a large roof terrace where I enjoyed sunbathing."
June 10, 2016
Built in 2008, Resort Eco Home is located in Mahankal Hill. This is a great place to start hiking and exploring many interesting points like Nagarkot or Sankhu, Dhulikhel, and the World Heritage site of Changu Narayan.
All of its Nepali-Tibetan rooms are equipped with solar heated hot water and a private balcony with its greenery. The guests can relax with activities on the rooftop terrace such as enjoy the sunrise or sun bath, have drinks, popcorn, and chats around the fire place after sun set. Guests can also watch the preparation of food in the open kitchen which offers seasonal Nepali vegetables and other kinds of food. For the guest`s convenience, free Wi-Fi is available 24 hours a day.
"The owners and staff is very friendly and helpful."
April 28, 2018
Children and extra beds
Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.
Minimum age of guests is: 0 year(s).
|Guest's age||Extra bed|
Infant 0-1 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
Baby cot/crib may be requested directly from the property.
Children 2-3 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 4 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Resort Eco Home
The only guest at the hotel at that time. Mwt the owner and having a friendly conversation. Super friendly and helpful. They cook a nice meal for dinner as well.
Very unaccomodating ”
We are a group of medical students on an international global health elective and had one weekend free in our program. Unfortunately, the day before our stay the monsoon rains caused the road to this area to be completely closed. We waited to see if it would resolve and when it didn’t, notified the eco home that we would be physically unable to make it. There was no word when the road would re-open so naturally, to make the most of our 1 weekend off we had to make other plans to get out of Kathmandu. The staff refused to refund us despite physically not being able to reach the location- very disappointing and not understanding at all.
Dear Erin, We are sorry, that we could not help you and you didn't accept what we offered to you. Yes, there was a flood and the road was blocked for a few hours in the morning, but you would have been able to come in the afternoon, also our manager and some other guests came the same way. You had a booking for 8 people for two nights, so we had to keep your rooms for you and we had to send other people back. We were flexible and even offered you to switch your booking to the next two days, but you preferred not to come. Please understand that we did according to our cancellation policy, which everybody can read before booking. Best regards Anita and Semanta
This is a very special place. First of all we liked the basic, but clean and cosy rooms, each has a balcony! The restaurant is nice with a cosy fireplace and serves excellent food, but you need to know that good food takes its time. The owners and staff is very friendly and helpful. And best thing: part of the money goes to local projects to help people who suffered in the 2015 earthquake or don’t have enough money to send their children to school. Please support this!
They were very sweet and tried, but there were broken toilets, spiders, hard beds and no wifi. ”
Food and drink prices were not competitive and too high. They did give us each our own room, which was nice.
Dear guests, We gave you two rooms for the price of one to make your stay nice and comfortable for you, so we are very surprised to read your review! You didn't mention any of these problems talking to us. If you would have told us when you were here, we could easily solve the problems and change the rooms. Still beautiful life, keep smiling! Semanta, Anita and Eco Home Team
Accomodating nice ”
Nice view of the valley. Kind accomodating staff. Unfortunately I did not have enough time to taste the great food other guests have mentioned in their reviews. Room was clean and had a little balcony. Roof top terrace was nice but the torrential rain meant we couldn't use it.
Good place, nice staff and boss man”
Enjoyed my stay here and liked the staff. They woke me up at sunrise to walk up to the temple (a couple of minutes walk away) where I was lucky enough to see the vast mountain range and Everest off in the distance, was super cool! It was a good 2 day excursion from Kathmandu. There is a large roof terrace where I enjoyed sunbathing.
Good Hotel in Nagarkot”
Good room. a little small but cosy: Food and staff were nice.
This is in appreciation of owners Semanta and Anita and staff Pasang of Eco Home. We stayed at Eco Home when the earthquake hit. Unlike other hotels in Nagarkot that unfortunately were damaged, Resort Eco Home survived and was our safe haven. The hotel is soundly built above the minimum engineering standards. The pillars and beams are above average thickness and the construction materials selected for quality. Semanta recounted that starting Eco Home is something you do only once in your life and make sure that no corners are cut. The hotel is also securely recessed into the hillside and low lying; it does not hang over the edge of the hill or road. Semanta, your foresight and sensibility paid off. That first night we stayed outside and accessible from the rooftop. Pasang went home to check on his family. His own home was destroyed but he came back to check on us the next morning and made us food from whatever he could find in the kitchen despite the danger of aftershocks. Semanta and Anita arrived the next day as they were stuck in Baktapur. They shared any food that they had brought with them, some packets of instant noodles and fruit that they could find along the way. They also shared supplies for Pasang to take home. Semanta said that they would keep us company wherever we wanted to sleep either outside or inside. As it rained the second night we slept in the stairway leading out to the hillside. They let us take the spot closer to outside while they took a space further down. We left for the airport the next day but I dropped my mobile phone in the car. Without hesitation Semanta and Pasang made an effort to find the driver to retrieve the phone later. No compensation was asked for our overstay. Please know that Eco Home is one of the few safe and secure places in Nagarkot that we know of firsthand—a great choice. Anything left out or tone, my apologies because of the space limitation.
perfect stay with great food and warm services”
I can't think of any negatives during our stay. Would highly recommend to any travellers who enjoy meeting new people (the hosts are so easy to get along with)
We like friendly clean hotels with great food this hotel was also fun around the fireplace singing dancing. Hotel owners very committed to helping local communities only fault and this is being picky bed's could be s bit softer otherwise a fantastic, wonderful place from Tassie the land from downunder........Australia
Beautiful, peaceful and friendly”
my stay was lovely and relaxing. I reccomend the sunset and taking a hike in the area. Food service is very slow, be extra cautious your order is right and expect a two hour wait. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would have stayed longer if I had more time.
Lovely location and wonderful staff ”
Fantastic, although the hotel is basic and the view is limited, the actual feel inside of the hotel makes this place worth visiting, great family feel and the staff are lovely
A wonderful experience .”
Just loved everything about this great hotel . Best hotel in Nagarkot for families or romantic gataway .Attentive and friendly staff and owners who supplied us with lots of information about Nepal .Great food in a beautiful dining hall . Lovely decorated bedrooms . Everything just wonderful .
Nice location only there is no hot water to shower”
Great place to stay”
Though the facilities are basic, Semanta and Anita, aided by their wonderful staff, take great pride in ensuring the guests are well looked after. The freshly prepared meals are a bonus. It's a cosy environment at the top of the hill. The views from the nearby temple are excellent on a clear morning. For the price one pays, this is perfect.
Relaxing and cosy”
The rooms were nicely decorated. The food they use in the restaurant is all fresh and from an organic garden (which is part of their social work involving local society to work there and teaching them to grow organic food). After having spent so much time in Nepal already, we suddenly felt we were back to Europe with the western standards. Be careful if you are impatient to get your dinner as it took very long time till it was ready but then again they start cooking from zero (I understood nothing is prepared in advance). So make sure you are not starving (have bigger lunch there, which takes much shorter time), take a book, sit around the fireplace in the restaurant. Curiously, even the local dishes had a taste of Europe as if cooked by non-locals. But it was cooked by local guys, you can see them cooking and even join them in the kitchen if curious about how your food is made. They wake you up in the morning if the sky is clear and you want to go and see the sunrise at the viewtower 1h (on foot) away.
Lovely home-style stay”
Great spot- the room felt cosy and homely, the restaurant was fabulous. It was raining, with no great view to be had, and we still enjoyed it!