Retro 39 Hotel
Retro 39 Hotel
See all 61 photos
9.2
Exceptional

"Great location, 2 minutes to MRT, clean room"

JIM

|

April 10, 2018

Superior Room - Guestroom Retro 39 Hotel
Superior Room - Guestroom
See all 61 photos
Lobby Retro 39 Hotel
Lobby
See all 61 photos
Lobby Retro 39 Hotel
Lobby
See all 61 photos
Interior view Retro 39 Hotel
Interior view
See all 61 photos
See map Retro 39 Hotel
See map
Exceptional
Location
9.0
See all 61 photos Retro 39 Hotel
See all 61 photos
Removed from saved list
What guests are saying:
The BTS is very close, plenty of nearby food and good shopping.
Mark from Vietnam
Couple
It's not easy for them to operate this hotel for this price; I don't know how they run it. But It's just fine for me to sleep and go to work.
Daisuke from Japan
Business traveler
location,shoppong,price,staff,quiet l really like it !!
MIURA from Japan
Solo traveler
Staffs are helpful and friendly. Good location which very near to Phrom Phong BTS station. Surrounded with restaurants, convenient stores and massage center.
LIAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
The cleanliness, location and price are hard to beat
wei from Singapore
Solo traveler
Great staff, great location and good Wifi. Can't complain for the cost of the room.
Jason from Chile
Couple
Fine hotel with all the stuff u need.
Peddavan from Laos
Group
Great place with amazing location. Value for money for sure. Rooms have large toilets and beds. Wasn't too impressed by the balcony which was not cleaned.
Muhammad from Singapore
Family with young children
Tv channels could be better but apart from that excellent
Philip from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Great location. Near food, shopping centres and BTS. Convenient ! The facility was really value for money. Please keep up the good work, Retro39. You definitely have found a retuning customer in me :)
Pui from Singapore
Solo traveler
Very good
From 2169 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
/
10
Excellent cleanliness
8.1
Recommended by 87% of guests
Value for money7.9
Distance to city center10.6 km
Location rating9.0
Nearest airportSuvarnabhumi International Airport (BKK)
Distance to airport20.0 km
  • 100 meters to public transportation

  • Airport transfer

  • Located in heart of Bangkok

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

Room choices
7.8
Very good
Room comfort & quality
This property is in high demand!Booked 60 times this week
Retro Suite Twin
Retro Suite Twin
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Street view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Room
Superior Room
...
  • Room size: 22 m²/237 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room
...
  • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Retro Suite
Retro Suite
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room
Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 22 m²/237 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Family Suite With Connected Room
Family Suite With Connected Room
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed & 2 single bed...
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Single
Superior Single
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Single
    Deluxe Single
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Standard Single
      Standard Single
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Basic Suite
        Basic Suite
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Have a question for Retro 39 Hotel?

          What people love about the property

          • 9.6
            Exceptional

            "Good location and value of money."

            YAP

            |

            March 11, 2018

          • 7.6
            Very good

            "Staff are also helpful as well."

            SATOKO

            |

            February 25, 2018

          • 9.2
            Exceptional

            "Location very good, near bts station."

            cheong

            |

            November 23, 2017

          Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

          Prices drop the moment you sign in!

          Sign in now
          More about Retro 39 Hotel

          More about Retro 39 Hotel

          9.6
          Exceptional

          "All the staff are friendly and informative."

          TAY

          |

          March 25, 2018

          An overview

          Show more

          Nearest essentials

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show less

          What to eat nearby

          Thai cuisine
          Thai cuisine
          Season Thai
          340 m Thai
          Oam Thong Restaurant
          400 m Thai
          M & J Restaurant & Bar
          400 m Thai
          American cuisine
          American cuisine
          ChikaLicious Dessert
          90 m American, Japanese
          D'ARK by Phillip Di Bella
          110 m American, Cafe, Contemporary
          The Kiwi Sport Pub & Grill
          120 m American, Bar, British
          Asian cuisine
          Asian cuisine
          Yong Lee
          110 m Asian, Chinese, Thai
          Lan Na Thai
          120 m Asian, Thai
          The Bibimbab
          130 m Asian, Korean

          What they offer

          9.6
          Exceptional

          "I also enjoy the excellent and friendly service tendered."

          FAT C.

          |

          March 26, 2018

          Show less

          What's nearby

          Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
          Show more

          Property's guest policies

          Show less

          Some helpful facts

          Show more

          Real reviews from real guests

          Agoda Reviews (2169)Booking.com Reviews (239)
          7.8
          /
          10
          Cleanliness8.1
          Facilities6.9
          Location9.0
          Room comfort and quality7.8
          Service7.4
          Value for money7.9
          Provided by verified guests of Agoda
          All languages
          All guests (2169)
          All room types
          Showing 1643 verified guest comments
          12345
          9.2
          Exceptional
          Anant from Hong Kong
          Solo traveler
          Deluxe Room
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
          Close to BTS Train station in predominantly Japanese areas”
          This is a very nice hotel, with excellent cleanliness and good size rooms, just about 2 minutes or less walk from the Phrom Phong BTS (Skytrain) station. I stayed in a large double bed room, with french windows opening on to the street. The cleanliness and good quality fittings/ furnishings are highly recommended and great to see. It was a nice bed with hard (not the soft variety) mattresses - which are actually great for good sleep and fantastic for your back! The room had a locker (though it was not fixed / screwed to the wall for some reason - something that the hotel should correct), a mini fridge and excellent large bathroom, a good AC, and spacious. The staff was very helpful at all times. The Soi 39 area is predominantly catering to the Japanese community , with the Restaurants, and even all other shops / health facilities nearby all displaying signs in Japanese (and perhaps a tad more expensive than other areas, for that reason). There is a 7 Eleven store close by.
          Reviewed December 03, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 03, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.4
          Excellent
          Sena from United States
          Family with young children
          Retro Suite
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
          Steps to BTS”
          We required an extra bed and the additional cost was reasonable as the fee ranges between 15-40 US dollars per night in the same room... The breakfast was delivered at 8am by independent supplier(fried egg, sausage, ham, potatoes and sweet milk) and we could not get breakfast for the second morning because we had to leave by 7. The bathroom is large and everything is very new and clean. The street noise was a bit much for my liking but for being in Bangkok it was pretty good. The room on 6th floor was nice and sunny. The staff is very helpful and nice. I would stay there again.
          Reviewed December 05, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your overall pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 06, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.4
          Excellent
          Martin from Canada
          Solo traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 4 nights in November 2018
          Good hotel for the money....”
          The hotel was good for the money... hotel was clean but hot water was warm at best and internet could certainly use an upgrade. Staff were ok but seemed a bit distant and not as warm as many other hotels that I've stayed in... Best thing was the location which was close to BTS and shopping malls.
          Reviewed November 29, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your overall pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 01, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.8
          Excellent
          Becky
          Solo traveler
          Retro Suite
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
          Excellent”
          Excellent location
          Reviewed December 03, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 03, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.8
          Excellent
          KOH from Singapore
          Group
          Superior Room
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
          Excellent”
          Wonderful location. Room is clean and spacious as well. The convinence store is within the hotel itself.. which is such a love.
          Reviewed December 02, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 03, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          2.0
          Yee from Malaysia
          Group
          Retro Suite
          Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
          I would not recommend this hotel! Lousy service!”
          I am booking for my aunt and her friend. We have booked 4 rooms which comes in 9 people. However, we were not given the 4 room in the same level as requested. Instead they provide us 2 rooms which were at level 7 that seems like a staff’s hotel to us. The lifts were only up until level 6 and we need to carry our luggage to level 7. Despite the hotel was packed due to peak season, we were not given any compensation or explanation for this arrangement. Other than that, another ro which we requested to add the additional bed which turn out to be a super tiny bed which onky child can fit in. In addition, the hotel’s bed is super hard and not comfortable. We come with 9 persons in a group which entitled for breakfast. However, once we checked in we were informed that only 8 persons entitled for the breakfast. At the end we didn’t not have the breastfast. This is my 2nd booking in this hotel. And I am truly disappointed with the service they provided. Would not return again!
          Reviewed November 26, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Highly appreciated! We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay. After reading this review I feel that there has been a huge misunderstanding about things. Firstly, you booked Suite Rooms, and our hotel has only 4 of those rooms, 2 on the 6th floor and 2 on the 7th floor, maybe if you emailed us asking for rooms on the same floor we could have suggested you better. Secondly, the lift, it goes up to the 6th floor because there has to be a space for the lift box, unavoidable technical issues for us as well. Thirdly, the breakfast, 4 rooms means 8 breakfast because one room includes only 2 pax of breakfast, which is standard and pre-informed before the booking. And lastly, the extra bed, it is named as an 'extra' bed because it is not the standard size and meant for childrens since only 2 adults can fit in one room, but we overlooked that in your booking. However, we apologize for the inconvenience caused. Yours Sincerely, New
          Show more
          Retro 39 Hotel
          9.6
          Exceptional
          saiful from Australia
          Solo traveler
          Deluxe Room
          Stayed 1 night in October 2018
          good value for money”
          this hotel is a good value for money, bts is 1 min away. room is clean. bathroom is supplied with toothbrush, soap, shampoo and conditioner. bathrobe and slippers also supplied. my rent was 36 USD for one night!!
          Reviewed October 24, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded October 25, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          9.6
          Exceptional
          saiful from Australia
          Solo traveler
          Twin Room
          Stayed 1 night in October 2018
          good value”
          this hotel is a good value for money, bts is 1 min away. room is clean. bathroom is supplied with toothbrush, soap, shampoo and conditioner. bathrobe and slippers also supplied. my rent was 31 USD for one night!!
          Reviewed October 24, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded October 25, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          6.8
          Good
          Gary from United States
          Couple
          Superior Room
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
          Good and bad”
          The location is very good, the reception staff was nice and friendly, the room, though small, was clean. The negative, and it is a big one, is that the bed is terrible, it's a box spring with no mattress on top, extremely uncomfortable, I requested a topper, was told they are subject to availability. A bad bed means a sleepless night and a backache. No excuse to operate a hotel without proper mattresses.
          Reviewed November 22, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your overall pleasant stay. We are sorry about the hard bed and the limited number of toppers, but we will definetly add more toppers to our stocks. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded November 26, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Gia from Vietnam
          Couple
          Deluxe Room
          Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
          Nice hotel with neat room”
          Very nice and comfortable hotel with super clean and neat room in addition to convenient location for exploring Bangkok. More than my expectation indeed.
          Reviewed November 28, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 01, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.0
          Excellent
          Angela from Canada
          Couple
          Superior Room
          Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
          Convenient location near public transportation + Emporium”
          We chose this hotel as it was very close to the Phrom Phong station, which allowed for quick access to the airport (Suvarnabhumi). Rooms varied in size but were clean and staff were kind. Some great street food around the area, and super close to Emporium shopping centre.
          Reviewed August 25, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded August 28, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          5.6
          Po from Hong Kong
          Solo traveler
          Retro Suite
          Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
          No service”
          I. I buy a noodle to room and I want to use a bowl, the hotel said: no|! 2. I request to one more key card for always power supply but the hotel said: nNo!
          Reviewed November 25, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Highly appreciated! We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. The bowl could not be provided because we have never been requested for one, you are the first customer and we will add this on to our stocks. As for the additional key-card, we could not provide you one because few customers leave the lights and aircon on for the entire day which is a wastage of energy and we at Retro 39 believe in going green. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again with a better service. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded November 26, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.8
          Excellent
          Boontarika from Thailand
          Business traveler
          Superior Room
          Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
          location”
          The location is great.It's near bts (prompong). You can walk only 30m from station to hotel.
          Reviewed November 08, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded November 09, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          6.8
          Good
          Tay from Malaysia
          Solo traveler
          Retro Suite Twin
          Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
          Good”
          Breakfast not good.
          Reviewed December 04, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Highly appreciated! We are sorry to hear about your complain about the breakfast, we would however, inform you that the breakfast is supplied by a third party and we will definitely pass on the complaint to them. We apologize on behalf and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded December 06, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Jeremy from Singapore
          Couple
          Superior Room
          Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
          Affordable and Exponentially Convenient”
          This place is as what the subject states. A 5 min walk away from Phrom Phong BTS which is close to key shopping areas in Bangkok. Facilities of the room are well furbished with no mosquitoes. Various food and massage choices next to the hotel. Convenience Mart located directly downstairs. Note that if you come in through the Main road, you will have to enter through this Mart to the inner lane to locate the Entrance. Staff are friendly and courteous as well. Will definitely be my go-to hotel when I'm too lazy to find new hotels to stay if I go back.
          Reviewed November 06, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded November 09, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          7.6
          Very good
          nuraini from Malaysia
          Family with young children
          Superior Room
          Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
          good location”
          everything is ok, but a little deficiency such as your mattress type a bit hard for my back and down light at wardrobe area is not functional, but the rest is good such as good location, near to BTS Prom Pang, near to mini mart, near to massage area, near to mall and the location is very easy to get public transport.
          Reviewed October 23, 2018
          9.2
          Exceptional
          FAT from Hong Kong
          Couple
          Superior Room
          Stayed 1 night in September 2018
          As excellent as usual ”
          Other than the convenient location, the friendly and helpful staff should deserve my eulogy! I can taste a sense of customer service here that even the five-star VIE cannot tender. This time, after knowing my room preference when I drop my bags off, the front desk guy changes a room that I preferred to me when I check in. Thank you very much to the front desk team especially the guy who did the check-in for me. I really did enjoy staying with them. See you soon!
          Reviewed October 02, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded October 02, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          10.0
          Exceptional
          Steve from Thailand
          Solo traveler
          Deluxe Room
          Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
          Value for the money and great location!”
          This fine establishment is value for the money in a great location. The rooms are spare but tastefully decorated, clean and quiet. The beds are firm but comfortable. There’s a small refrigerator and room safe along with an HDTV and free Wi-Fi. There’s a small mini-bar with a hot water heater for tea and ramen. There’s no microwave but with several minimarts and street vendors close by who need one? There’s no swimming pool or gym or sauna or swanky bar with live jazz either but unless you absolutely can’t survive without them be prepared to fork out four times or more for a hotel located in the same neighborhood with those amenities like the Radisson or Westin Grande. It is in a great neighborhood with the Phrom Phong BTS, Hi So malls “Em Quartier” and “Emporium” a mere hundred or so feet away. The “Terminal 21” mall is the next stop up at the Asoke BTS as well as the MRT interchange. Soi 39 is home to many hi-end condos, and a huge variety of restaurants (Japanese, Mexican, Tibetan,
          Reviewed September 16, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded September 17, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          9.2
          Exceptional
          Philip from United Kingdom
          Business traveler
          Deluxe Room
          Stayed 6 nights in May 2018
          Great location very friendly staff”
          I have stayed at Retro39 many times over the past 5 years, it is a great location literally 2 mins walk to Phrom Pong BTS which is on the main Sukhumvit line. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, everything is available nearby (walking distance) Wat Poh massage, Emporium & EM Quarter shopping Malls and an array of restaurants/coffee shops and bars. The price is excellent value for area and my star ratings reflects what you pay and what you get!
          Reviewed May 21, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded May 22, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          8.8
          Excellent
          Jonathan from United States
          Couple
          Deluxe Room
          Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
          Good value hotel”
          Retro 39 located in a nice area of Sukhunvit soi 39. Room was decent for the price and it happened located next to my friend staying hotel. At this area, the traffic was kinda bad. Staff is just ok but could be better for Bangkok standard. Room was very clean. For me, I would come back here to stay on my next trip if the price is still good.
          Reviewed April 12, 2018
          Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for such a positive feedback. Highly appreciated! We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Newin S.
          Responded April 17, 2018
          Retro 39 Hotel
          12345
          This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

          Back to search results

          Back to room choices

          |

          Dismiss

          Retro 39 Hotel
          |Very good 7.8
          ×
          Check in. Step out.
          Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

          • Exceptional location
          • Terminal 21 Shopping Mall
          • Phrom Phong BTS Station is within 0.1 km