Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2283 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1
Sort by

caroline from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Central location, small rooms
Delicious buffet breakfast
Superb location, but room was small.Decent bathroom, but shower leaked all over the floor. Great to have rooftop bar, lovely views. Swimming pool was dirty, so not very inviting. Staff helpful, but hotel services costly from airport, whereas taxi was $USD7. We did take hotel car and guide to Cu Chi Tunnels. expensive, but well worth it as he was well informed.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

LEE from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011
Very nice Hotel with exellent service
Courteous and friendly staff.
From the start the Hotel staff where friendly and tried to help .The room that they had for me was close to a main road and was a bit noisey but they did ask me before I even went to the room if i would like to change rooms as it was in a noisey part of the Hotel. The food was exellent and there was a good selection of western and eastern foods at breakfast. The hotel is very well situated in District 1 close to shops bars and Restaurants. In the evening when the bed was turned down there was either a chocolate or a flyer with a Vietnamese story left on the pillow. In All it was A very nice hotel and I would stay here again
Reviewed November 08, 2011

Alvin from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2011
Very good hotel with very good location and safe.
The hotel is very classical and make you feel luxurious staying there
Very good service with very attentive hotel staff and the room is great
Reviewed November 08, 2011

pauline from Singapore
Couples
Premium
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Avoid the old wings
Centrally located
The rooms at the old wing were priced very closely to the rooms at the new wing. I had the impression that they could not be very far off from each other and  booked a room at the old wing. We entered into a spanking new and modern lobby but were led to old and musty hallways, which reminded me of a horror movie. When we entered the room, we were very disappointed to find it old and dim. Housekeeping was using air freshener as we entered the room and we soon understood why. The room smelled bad. There was hardly any windows and it faced a small courtyard where one saw only air conditioning condensers. What really took the cake was the mildew carpet with years of grime and dust. I soon became congested by the dust and hardly slept a wink during the night. The next day I contacted Agoda to upgrade me to the new wing and it was really day and night. The rooms in the new wing was new, clean and definitely worth the extra $20. Please note that my rating for this hotel is based on the rooms in the old wing.
Reviewed November 08, 2011

amit from Spain
Business travelers
Rex Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011
average hotel
Good location
stay was not as great as they talk abt this hotel, very classic furniture compared to other hotels ive stayed in hcm. service was ok, gym is average, and the most problematic thing abt this hotel is tht its huge and has many alleys and its very confusing.
Reviewed November 08, 2011

natarajan from Malaysia
Business travelers
Premium
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Better than i expected.
Very comfortable rooms. Free internet! Great service
i would have like the person taking the room service order to be able to speak better english. but generally a great hotel and got it at an amazing price via agoda
Reviewed November 07, 2011

douglas from Australia
Couples
Rex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
old time saigon hotel
location very central
booked hotel several months in advance to stay in old wing suite however on arrival told that was not available upgraded to new wing which was better.but the point of staying in this hotel was to savour the old style i guess i should be thankful for the upgrade .staff on arrival seemed to be off hand and did not seem on the ball for a five star hotel otherwise it was ok.
Reviewed November 07, 2011

robert from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2011
Great location
impression upon entering the building
Very comfortable bedroom though no windows and a bit musky. Bed was fabulous and extremely comfortable. Disapointed with arrival as had attempted to contact the hotel in advance on 3 occasions to pre book transport from airport however no response. Upon arrival we were greeted with a receptionist/hostess and when we mentioned this her immediate resonse was 'was the weekend sir and the marketing dept not working'. I said that this was now Tuesday so why would that be the case? The response was then 'ahh we are experiencing internet problems' so that was probably the reason'. It is now 6 days since I sent the 3 mails and still no response??? Why not just say they woudl look into the matter rather than dream up excuses? Lovely swimming pools on the top floor of the hotel with deck area. Breakfast was excellent and probably the best we have experienced this past 4 weeks in Vietnam with great service.
Reviewed November 05, 2011

Jane from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2011
Classic old hotel
Roof Top
The Rex hotel is a grand old lady of Ho Chi Mien city. It was being renevated when I was there. I stayed in the old wing which was comfortable. Extremely comfortable bed. The facilities are good, inclduing pool and gym. Location is terrific.
Reviewed November 03, 2011

Bee from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011
Good location and Big room
size of room is good and suitable, beds are comfortable
The hotel is located in hub of Ho Chi Min City, so is convenient for traveller to walk around for sight seeing. The services of staff are excellent, rooms are clean and food is nice. But the swimming pool of the hotel is small.
Reviewed November 03, 2011


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: