Excellent 8.5
Based on 2584 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type

based on 2584 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Frank from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Good Choice
Selecting a hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi is not an easy task because there are so many to choose from. However, I think I will return to the Rising Dragon Palace again because it provides everything a traveler on a budget might want. It has a great location, provides a clean and tidy room, and offers it at an affordable price. More than anything, the staff is very welcoming to its guests. They saw me arriving on foot with my suitcase and several staff members came out onto the street to greet me. I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget who do not want to stay in budget-type accommodations.
Reviewed March 06, 2013

Margaret from United States
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
charming hotel, comfortable and higher end
great hotel for the price. service and rooms were top notch
The rooms were compact but comfortable. The rooms were well laid out and the linens, shower, toiletries make this hotel much more high end than we were expecting. We were surprised how nice the hotel was for the price. It was a great deal and was very centrally located. We loved it and would definitely go back!
Reviewed March 05, 2013

Robert from Canada
Deluxe City View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
A great hotel in the old quarter
This an excellent hotel in a great location with fantastic service. Great value.
From the moment we arrived the hotel manager and staff did everything they could to exceed our expectations. The hotel is extremely well maintained. The facilities and our room were very good. The shower was very hot ... Quite relaxing at the end of a long day. It is situated in the heart of the old quarter, a short walking district from many of the key attractions and activities. This boutique hotel is a very reasonable price and an outstanding value. We highly recommend it to first time and return travellers.
Reviewed March 04, 2013

James from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Nice Medium sized hotel with nice sized rooms
Good breakfasts, good travel service for tours, etc.
The travel service connected me to shorter tours where the guides were excellent. That really made everything much more enjoyable. Rooms were clean and breakfast was very good.
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Cedric from Switzerland
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Really helpful and lovely staff, nice hotel rooms
helpfulness of staff
we had a wonderful stay in hanoi and the staff was super helpful. we tried the food and i must say that it was one of the best experiences i had in asia. i have traveled asia quite extensively. in this hotel you can't go wrong. the only downside is the noise but this is a downside in every hotel we stayed in vietnam.
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Lauren from Canada
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Great location and breakfast
Location, breakfast, nice rooms
We got in very late during the Tet holiday, so everything was closed. The staff were extremely accommodating and welcoming. They helped us organize a tour of Halong Bay as well as our future travel plans. The rooms were modern and the bathroom was clean and really nice. The breakfast was one of the best in Vietnam - the best part? Free coffee in the lobby throughout the day! Yum! The food in their restaurant was quite good, too - especially the mango salad!
Reviewed March 03, 2013

jodeen from Australia
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
great location
location, tour desk lady, concierge very friendly
Clean room Knowledgeable driver for airport pick up - chatted to us rather than ignoring us like other hotels. Walking distance to everything in HCMC District 1. Breakfast is great but very slack on stocking food up if gone when you cone down halfway through sitting.
Reviewed March 02, 2013

Dorothy from United Kingdom
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Wonderful reception by the very friendly staff
roof toip restuarant and excellent local food,very hand location to be in the heart of the old quarters
On arrival welcomed by very friendly reception staff, offered refreshing drink in lobby which was most welcome. Every member of staff went out of their way to help. Very small hotel but clean and the food both in restuarant and on the roof top restuarant was very very good. Would highly recommend for a short stay.
Reviewed March 02, 2013

Christopher from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Hidden splendid hotel
Fantastic service, very nice room with amenities, great location
Staff was always responsive and smiling. (The only negative they tried to charged me double for a taxi to the airport, but I assume it was miscommunication, fast and easily fixed.) Nice breakfast with availability of special orders. Overall, a great experience. They have a nice spa, though a bit too expensive.
Reviewed March 01, 2013

Marcus from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Simply Great
Nice Rooms and Friendly Staff
one of the most friendliest hotels that i have stayed in. the bedding is comfortable, hot water and water pressure is great. i stayed for 4 nights and this hotel has by far the most accomodating and friendly staff. the location for this hotel is also very ideal as you just have to walk for 5 minutes to reach hoan kiem lake and its shopping area. this hotel will definetly be my preffered choice of stay when i am in hanoi.
Reviewed February 28, 2013


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: