Book Now: River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort

2017

River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort Reviews

Very good
From 789 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
Recommended by 82% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (789)Booking.com Reviews (607)
7.5
Very good
From 789 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities6.4
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service7.5
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
Deutsch
Nederlands
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 591 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Sukanya from Thailand
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
AWESOME EXPERIENCE EVEN I'M LOCAL!!”
The lodge is worth for your perfect getaway. Very peaceful
Reviewed November 20, 2017
6.8
Good
Siew from Singapore
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Great experience ”
Hotel is along the river n quite basic so cannot expect too much. Nice river view n great for relaxation. Breakfast lunch n dinner are ok. Had fun floating on the river which is the highlight for this at this hotel
Reviewed November 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Mathieu from Thailand
Solo traveler
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Secluded hideaway ”
Except for the lack of electricity and fans, The place is natural, comfortable, well-maintained and in a beautiful spot. The service is very good, attentive but not intrusive. You are there to enjoy nature, and you do
Reviewed November 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Orathai from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Good”
Good
Reviewed November 03, 2017
6.4
Good
Edwin from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Good location but no electricity ”
You can feel with wildlife, enjoying to jump to the river, it is peaceful place so good for relaxation but the hotel didn't have electricity that is so not convenient and it difficult for shower without light, staffs is not so friendly
Reviewed November 01, 2017
5.6
Yi from Thailand
Business traveler
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Good Resort but be well prepared before your arrival”
The resort is located in an iconic spot well blended into the natural. It is a Eco-Friendly Resort without the provision of electricity power, AC and Hot water. Recommend to bring your own power bank for smartphone.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jade from Australia
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Very good”
Great for 1-2 nights treat. So fun to jump in river (must do!) and peaceful/beautiful in nature to hear and see river & jungle.. day & night time. Glad not many mosquitoes ☺ Arrive by boat (but far from main town). Service and food were fantastic ! May bring your own battery charger, torch and drinking water.
Reviewed October 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Raft
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Excellent eco resort”
Make sure you are aware this is a eco resort, no internet, no power. I really enjoyed this eco resort, kerosene lamps used at night, on the river. You take the boat to get here from the pier. It is a must do in thailand. Jump in the river and flow with the current. Nice meals. Highly recommend
Reviewed October 03, 2017
6.4
Good
Chananun from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
So relaxing to hear the sound of flowing water”
Overall is good! - Nice weather during late September - The room number 97, located in the most upper part of the raft, has great view from window with good airflow - Delicious dinner but Breakfast would be better if they serve more sausages - The river have quite strong current with some waste floats along - Worth to stay here once, it's an experience!
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts and for sharing your experiences to other travelers. The breakfast can be refilled. IF you want more sausages, hams or even omelette, you can. The waste you saw must be the brown foam on the river surface. It is actually from the dirt by the river shore. When there is a rain, the shore collides and when the dirt falls into the river, the foam appears. It is harmful for your health. Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards,
Show more
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
6.8
Good
Jennifer from Australia
Group
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Beautiful location”
Lovely location, great staff, a little isolated and quite warm with no air con or fans - 2 days is enough
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts and for sharing your experiences to other travelers. Choosing not to use electricity here is actually because of the conservation of our unique concept and atmosphere. It is where you are not 'connected' to hassle time during daily work life. It is your time to stay with nature and appreciate it. This is also informed in advance in every booking channel. We really look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards,
Show more
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
2.0
Supewong from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Acceptable”
the resort has no air con not even an electric fan for Thailand climate. Above all it has no electricity!!!!! For almost U$100/night, this awful. We didn't stay. We have to find a new accommodation for a night elsewhere. It was terrible experience.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Jungle Rafts and for sharing your experiences to other travelers. The info about this is written very clearly many places before you book. Choosing not to use electricity here is actually because of the conservation of our unique concept and atmosphere. It is where you are not 'connected' to hassle time during daily work life. we are thankful for your stay and hope you understand. Kindest regards,
Show more
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
6.8
Good
jeanne from Australia
Couple
Raft
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Fabulous location sitting directly over the river”
The river location is great. Situated on the river bank beside the Mon Village and the unspoilt jungle It's fun to 'swim' be swept along the river. Kids love it ad it's a treat to cool off. The food is plentiful and varied at lunch and dinner but the breakfast fried eggs are less than attractive. Sam our appointed guide was informative and helpful. The resort is tired (40 years old) and showing its age.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
7.2
Very good
mun from Malaysia
Couple
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Ok hotel”
If you like nature, you will love this place. Friendly staffs, inconvenient at night due to no electricity and do things in darkness, cold shower, wall very thin...
Reviewed August 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ruangmas from Thailand
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
One of the best stay in Kanchanaburi so far”
The raft is surprisingly comfortable despite being without electricity. We like that it is eco friendly and the Mon village next to the raft is a great plus. Totally quiet at night and it was full of stars. Truly memorable.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lucyna from Poland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
A magical hotel”
Good location, nice people, clean, everythig is here.
Reviewed July 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lucyna from Poland
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Lovely hotel”
Wonderful location! Very good hotel.
Reviewed July 16, 2017
6.8
Good
Natsuda from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Back to basic”
It was a nice stay in the middle of jungle. But when there was a groups tour, it was noisy.
Reviewed June 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lay from Myanmar
Couple
Raft
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Very satisfied with everything.”
Not many things to comment. I can say the hotel and accomadation is very well organized. It is worth it spend two night and get familiar with localised area and enjoy the environment being away from modern city life.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
7.2
Very good
hon from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
I was looking for a environmental friendly hotel”
It is inside the jungle and hire the Mon villagers as staff. The kerosene lamp was great and special but also create many carbon precipitation. The small LED lamp for room is good, but I don't understand why this hotel group cannot use re chargeable battery, I feel guilty to use those lamp and pollute the soil of this beautiful area.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Virot from Thailand
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
80”
Happy
Reviewed May 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Stephane from France
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Relaxing”
Great relaxing location, you can swim around but beware the strong current! The pier is a bit hard to find if you're going there on your own.
Reviewed May 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Nathan from Hong Kong
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Excellent retreat from city life on and beautiful spot on The River Kwai.”
be prepared mentally for no electricity! Also you need to time your arrival with the hotels standard boat transfer services. There is a wharf further downstream where you need to catch a boat to the hotel. If you are driving this is where you park your car.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
5.6
Suttida from Thailand
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
The location of this place look so good. You can close up with the natural.”
No electricity, but able to make you feel good. If you come with out your car it difficult to come here because no car for passing and you have to cross over the river by boat.
Reviewed May 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Chaowarat from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Greatest Vacation”
I love it so much that I plan to go back again soon. I'm a bit lucky that it rain right in the evening so it cools everything down and it got a bit chill at night. No need for Air con. However, for dinner and breakfast , they should serve buffet instead. Food is not enough for me and my bf.
Reviewed May 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Waranya from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Truly amazing experience”
If you love the nature, simplicity or quietness, River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort is a place for you. Be prepared for no electricity, cold shower and small torches. Most importantly, be prepared to have tons of fun jumping in the river and floating then face lovely elephants that would greet you in the morning. Highly recommended !
Reviewed April 21, 2017
7.2
Very good
Janine from United Kingdom
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
A different type of hotel ”
This is a very different type of hotel but it adds to the experience. No electric or hot water so get used to cold showers in the dark. Its quite exhilarating. The staff weren't overly friendly, the bar staff couldn't be bothered serving and the waiting staff were happier when chatting dancing with each other. Day trips to the surrounding area are probably required if staying more than one night.
Reviewed April 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jeffrey from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
A Unique Gem”
This place is amazing and literally in the middle of nowhere. This is one of my favorite places to go in Thailand I live here and go all the time. The staff are wonderful and thoughtful and the food it good. Highly recommended.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chandra from Australia
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Just loved it !”
The place was just stunning. Quiet, in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were super clean, swimming in the river was amazing and fun and all the guests seemed to be enjoying this. Dinner was fine considering they work only by gas light and with gas - absolutely no power at all there. Drinks were reasonable enough. Suggest taking your own something to enjoy by gas light out side your room later. I was mostly worried about mosquitos and other crawlies but literally saw not one and got not one bite. Missed my early morning coffee as breakfast doesn't start till 0700am and I was up at 0500am waiting to watch the sunrise. Breakfast was again fine. Staff are all lovely. I will definitely be taking guests there again. Probably would only go between Dec-March as the rooms would be a little too warm in the hotter seasons.
Reviewed March 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Sithichai from Thailand
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Good location & value for money”
Feel more close to nature and environmental friendly. (No electricity but good experience).
Reviewed February 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
Phorraya from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Very nice accom but not suitable for summer as it has no electricity”
It is my mistakes of overlook the detail of where I stay. I don't know that still have resort or accommodations in Thailand that have no electricity. I and my husband cannot sleep all night. And the total price of one night stay is around aud 130, which is not really reasonable for not having electricity, no aircon, no fan. It might be nice for other seasons but not summer. Other than that all excellent. I take it as my mistake for not read all details and assume that thay have air conditioning. Food is good, staff are very attentive. One more suggestion is explain clearly about how to get there as when we search on Google map, it will bring you to nearest to the resort but you cannot get in. You have to go to pier, which is 6 km backwards to Kanchanaburi city which is easy to be confused if follow google map. Thanks
Reviewed February 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Elizabeth from United States
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Amazing”
One of the best places I've ever stayed in Thailand. Completely relaxing experience, I loved it. I'll be back!
Reviewed February 26, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
NACC from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Exceptional”
A nature touch rafts along the River Kwai, living with no electricity, seeing the stars at night and having fun jumping in the river.. recommend to bring a torch coz those lamps provided by the resort help nothing ;)
Reviewed February 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Sopita from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good”
Nice place
Reviewed January 30, 2017
7.2
Very good
Aphichat from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
It's good.”
Need more lamp in the room. Inside the room is too dark.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
6.8
Good
Tharinee from Thailand
Group
Raft
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Torch provided”
Really disappointed with the torch provided. We need a bigger and professional torch but not a veryyyy small one. We spend quite a lot for the resort with no light provided, so the torch should be more professional and more useful in the night. Though the lamp was provided but those were not really helpful,we could not even see anything when all dark.
Reviewed January 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Awat from United Kingdom
Couple
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Very nice ”
Best hotel
Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Dhanit from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
nice place to stay”
back to very down earth
Reviewed January 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Orathai from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good”
Good
Reviewed January 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Fredrik from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Nice getaway”
Loved the elephant "Wandee" Maybe one or two more lights could have been useful in room. Nice and relaxing. Excellent food.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Pacharawan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Raft
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Clean & simple vibe, love to come back soon !”
Like its simplicity and tree decor A bit dark in the room but we went in the gloomy day. At night is awesome , pitch black with cool breeze and stars full across the sky. Everything else is perfect if you seek a nice quiet spot within tight budget.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
6.0
Penpitcha from Thailand
Couple
Raft
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
The facilities are good but the staff disappointed me”
We enjoyed the serenity and facilities here but after we checked out, the staff were not willing to provide us a nice food even when we told them we are willing to pay.
Reviewed January 05, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Thanmika from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Good Room”
Value for money, good room
Reviewed December 29, 2016
6.8
Good
Saharath from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Okay overall”
Nice place with real nature and electricity-free but not recommend for city lifestyle
Reviewed December 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Hooi from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
An eco-conservative and friendly resort”
Those who choose to stay here must be a nature lover and appreciate the surrounding awesomely.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
7.2
Very good
rungnapa from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
It's all good”
Private and relaxing with nature
Reviewed November 28, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Supasit from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
natural”
super relax, very chill
Reviewed November 13, 2016
7.2
Very good
Alex from Romania
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Very nice place to enjoy nature. ”
Great place to forget the city, forget your phone and just enjoy yhe water and the sound of the river. Two things you need to keep in mind. The place it's a little bit difficult to find they changed the place to go inside and you need to take a boat from a different location to reach thr the place. Second this it's that the place doesn't have any electricity. No electric lights in rooms, no place to charge your phone. No electricity for dinner just oil lamps. Which was a nice experience. I am not complaining just want you to know from the beginning... Because i did not :) also probably they will bring the elephant from the village above for tourists in the morning to feed and make you feel warn and fuzzy inside but the guy ridding the elephant is a scumbag which i would beat with a stick same he was hitting the elephant for no reason. Not in front of the people but after he left in the back little bit. I was in the back at that time and i saw him.
Reviewed November 05, 2016
2.0
Pornwatcharin from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
The worst place I've ever been.”
The worst service. I read the recommendation but feel really disappointed. The staffs were really bad and didn't even say hi. I recommend everyone don't ever try to go there.
Reviewed October 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kaifi from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
good”
Nice worth for money
Reviewed October 25, 2016
7.6
Very good
Richard from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Peaceful and authentic”
Great opportunity to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff was extremely friendly and food was great. The accommodations were basic and rustic, just like going back into time (great hammocks, no electricity, no hot water, but mosquito nets were great). The adjacent Mon village was a real treat because it offered a unique view into how certain cultures still live within Thailand, and the intermix between Myanmar and Thai cultures.
Reviewed October 25, 2016