Book Now: River Kwai Resotel Resort

Very good
From 1059 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
Recommended by 83% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1059)Booking.com Reviews (446)
7.5
Very good
From 1059 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.1
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.4
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
Français
Nederlands
more
Room type
Jungle Chalet
Superior Room
Deluxe
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 865 verified guest comments
4.0
vijay from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Acceptable”
NO Wifi - NO phone signal. Mosquitoes in room. Location very far from main road and dark roads.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
4.4
Michele from Thailand
Family with young children
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Prepare for Jungle Camping with a Roof”
Very remote location. Definitely need a car. Nothing close by except Lawa Cave & River Kwai. Accommodations are rustic, like camping almost with air-con. Breakfast is satisfactory, includes several Western options like cereal, french toast, eggs. Very beautiful grounds because of jungle environment. Good place to stay if looking for outside nature adventures, secluded from any town/conveniences, and want to be right on the River Kwai too. Free mountain bikes and river kayaks available. Many older Westerners were staying here.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jeroen from Thailand
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Amazing place”
We were here for 2 nights, and the place is just amazig in the middle of the jungle. We were brought in by boat...and found ourselves amidst the junlge in a resort with very nice cottages and a really nice pool. Despite te fact we got bad luck with the weater, we really enjoyed our stay a lot. The staff is among the friendliest and most helpfull staff I have met already on my travels. I asked my (now fiancée) to marry me overthere and even though not included, the staff went all out to make it a perfect night, with a specially set table. They even asked the guy who provides the music entertainment in the evening to start singing a romantic song as soon as our pates were cleared from the table. An amazing night it became. One thing though: it's a calm and restfull place and after 10 PM it's nearly dead, so if you're a party animal, this might not be for you.
Reviewed October 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Nice resort”
More locals here than tourists. Weekends rather busy, weekdays are very quiet. Google does not recognize the road this resort is on - it will take you to a street after or before- watch out for the sign. Nice place to feel connected to nature.
Reviewed October 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
natcha from Thailand
Family with young children
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Great place”
Good view, nice staff
Reviewed September 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Poyu from Thailand
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
the environment is awesome. ”
everything is good as expected. Atmosphères good, roms are clean, surrounded by beautiful nature. Staff is friendly. The only problem is mattresses in one of our rooms are too old and umcomfortable to sleep on. I suggest hôtels replacé them with new one.
Reviewed September 08, 2017
4.0
ELENI from Greece
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
A seriously overpriced trap”
A great disappointment,we came to relax far away from everything,from the high price we thought it would be something special only to find out that it is an outdated overpriced trap,it is so far away from everything that you do not have a choice but to eat food 3 times more expensive than you should usually pay for this quality,stuff exists in a chaotic kind of way,everyone does everything and nothing,the pool area was seriously outdated,pillows and chairs filthy,the pool bar closed,above all there were construction works right at the pool that were making extreme noise every day,so long tranquility,no one apologized about this to the guests,the excursions and all activities were 3 timed the price other places offered so people told me they took a boat and went elsewhere to hire canoes!!!! I cannot say enough bad things,the most important that it is unethical to overcharge everything just because your guests are isolated.if you charge them that hard,at least try to achieve some goals
Reviewed August 24, 2017
6.8
Good
Kazuhiro from Japan
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
A nice place to stay away from the city life! ”
There should be not be a a big overseas group tour. It would damage future business.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
6.4
Good
stephen from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Good”
chalets could do with a bit of a decorating refresh
Reviewed August 15, 2017
2.4
Soe from Singapore
Group
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Not value for tye amount I paid”
One of the worse resort i even been. Will nv go back again.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
5.2
Charlaine from Canada
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Mostly tour groups on weekdays”
Over crowded and quite terrible food. Maybe the buffet prepared for the tour groups was more carefully made? With a capacity of 250 people, 12 beds at the pool were of course always full. When we arrived, the spa was sold out, the bikes were sold out and we were given rooms next to the restaurant. (loud music until 10pm) Positives- the beds by the river are very cool overlooking the cliffs. But no drink service seemed to be available there. You can walk to Lawa caves which are amazing. The rooms are comfortable. This place would be good for families with teenage children. (that seemed to be who was there)
Reviewed August 10, 2017
6.8
Good
Patcharaphan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Beautiful scenery”
Beautiful and serene location where we can be in touch with nature.
Reviewed July 05, 2017
6.8
Good
Thomas from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Nice getaway, a little more rustic than anticipated”
Cool location right on the river. Only reachable by boat, so it's like its own little commune. Nice pool, pretty grounds, and easy day trip to Erawan Falls. Unfortunately, our room had a lot of lizards in it. One of them kept dropping poops all over the room, and they were loud at night. Didn't feel any of them crawling on us at least.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Mike from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Beautiful location but drop the cheesy entertainment!”
Loved the location, it's an exciting journey to get there taking the boat a short ride up the river. The facilities and rooms were all lovely but personally I wasn't a fan of the evening entertainment. Covers of YMCA in the jungle weren't really my cup of tea :D
Reviewed May 17, 2017
6.4
Good
Reto from Switzerland
Group
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Beautifully located in the forest”
This place is to get away from the hustle and bustle of a city. Very big compound and gardens. Staff is not so helpful and the maybe due to it's size maintenance is a bit on the weaker side. Disappointing Breakfast with very little selection.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
4.4
patcharin from Thailand
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Far”
Far from city. No internet. Good for adventure not relax time
Reviewed May 10, 2017
7.2
Very good
Katarina from Slovenia
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
gorgeous surroundings ”
The resort is located on a fantastic spot just by the river with an amazing view of the river valley. There are so many animals - butterflies and all sorts of squirells and small lizzards not to mention the frogs that stat to sing at night. There is a pool that is leaking as the whole structure has tilted. Rooms are ok and clean. The mattress was reasonably used. The food in the restaurant comes in generous portions. The staff is a bit wierd. They are all workers from Myanmar and speak very good English. But there is no hospitality sense from them or rather there is no manager around to oversee what is happening. The staff are all very nice and helpful if you ask for help. But if you don't you become invisible. The resort next door has a much better cutomer servise even though the manu at the restaurant was identical and the owner is the same. This is a very nice resort-a bit worn down but a lovely place to relax.
Reviewed May 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tipsukon from Thailand
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Peaceful and relaxed ”
The room was very nice and Location very relaxing but abit deep but its ok totally worth trips. Staffs friendly
Reviewed May 06, 2017
4.8
J.A. from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Nice place ”
We have stayed in 2 others rafts nearby . Our point of view may be from the comparison with other places. They should make the best out of the location. The location is by the river. But the hotel and facilities and the rooms are way above the river. Our private bungalow is on the front row by the bank of the river but we can't see the river at all. The service is very slow. They can improve here a lot. The food is OK, not spectacular. We expect nice relaxing place but the day we stayed was very crowded with many children to our surprise. So it was a bit noisy.
Reviewed May 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
nancy from United States
Family with teens
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Exceptional”
Cons: hotel charges excessive prices for the tours. Customers are subject to the high prices because the hotel is remotely located. Besides that I had a fantastic time there, loved to be surrounded by nature.
Reviewed April 30, 2017
8.8
Excellent
sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
it is on the river Kwai ”
great place if you have a car, you might find it too remote if you haven't. in house tours are relatively expensive. a very quite and peaceful place. food was delicious, beer too expensive. but saying that we would stay again, if we had a car.
Reviewed April 26, 2017
5.6
Derek from United Kingdom
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Above average”
The staff were very friendly. My partner booked this. We ddi not take the boat in so do not know about that. In all fairness to the hotel it was ok just not for me. i like a bit more life if you want to relax its perfect.. The pool was small and crowded. The room was ok to many bugs for me and very hot in the daytime.again it was very hot outside too in the night the aircon cooled the room.. The food was not very nice in the daytime. But in the evening it was very nice. As i said in all fairness to the hotel it was good just not for me i like to be able to go out to 7/11 or an outside restaurant.. I thin just the wrong choice for us
Reviewed April 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Varisa from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Best hide and away place”
Everything is wonderful here if you l
Reviewed March 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Soren from Denmark
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Søren F”
Superb value for money. We had a double house (to get 4 beds) with shared terrace with river view. Nice pool area with places both with sun and shadow at noon time. Good food selection with a-la-carte and buffet. Free parking for the car. A bit far from the main road (no. 323), but that is the price for staying directly at the river on the western bank.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Soren from Denmark
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Søren F”
Superb value for money. We had a double house (to get 4 beds) with shared terrace with river view. Nice pool area with places both with sun and shadow at noon time. Good food selection with a-la-carte and buffet. Free parking for the car. A bit far from the main road (no. 323), but that is the price for staying directly at the river on the western bank.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Syed from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
What a lovely place”
The location with the pristine river flowing below the hotel, the uspoled Gordy made it s perfect retreat away from it all. I love the place and its grounds!
Reviewed February 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
SARUNYA from Thailand
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good place”
Good place
Reviewed January 23, 2017
7.6
Very good
juthathip from Thailand
Family with young children
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
great hotel”
nice hotel with money valuable. weak signal. difficult to finding the hotel but the hotel decoration is good with nice view would make you forget about the lost.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
7.2
Very good
chanida from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good service !”
Staffs have a good service and help a lots.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Johana from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Beautiful resort ”
The resort is beautiful, you feel like in the jungle. Bungalows are very nice and big. Breakfast was good and food in restaurant was very good, the prices are around 130 bht. The problem is location, they tell you that the only way to get there is boat from pier and when you get there late you have to pay 1000 bht for transport. But thats lie... You can get there also by car. They also provide expensive trips to watrefalls etc, but you can get to the waterfall by taxi. We got taxi from Bam Tok train to the pier and the driver gave us his telephone number, so we called him when we wanted to go to sai yok waterfall and he gave us ride there and back for 1500 bht. So i recommend you to get the number for the driver so you are free to plan your trips on your own. At the reception they won't get you the taxi because they pretend that the only way is to take the expensive boat. That's not very nice....
Reviewed January 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
wipawan from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Beautiful ”
Everything just perfect as I expected!
Reviewed December 18, 2016
7.2
Very good
Aleena from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Nice view and good place to relax. I had a good vacation there.”
If there are wifi spots in the room, it will be more pleasure.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
6.0
suthep from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
it's a great view”
There is the room not clean and include the air conditioner dirty, musty odor, but a great view..
Reviewed November 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
MOHAMAD from Malaysia
Family with teens
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Great place for a nature retreat. You won't be disappointed. ”
Pros: 1. Great facilities 2. Exceptional location. 3. Accommodation of two types -one with a jungle based theme with great chalets. Another river based floating chalets 750 meters from the jungle chalets. 4. Great food at very affordable rates - both Western and Asian. 5. Lots of things to occupy time - elephant bathing and riding at th e Elephant Sanctury, white water rafting and canoeing, jungle trekking, A traditional dance, caving, etc. Cons: 1. Mosquitoes. But what does one expect in a natural place in a tropical country? But you can get effective repellent at the premises. 2. Getting there. Quite a distance from Bangkok. About 3 hours by road.
Reviewed November 02, 2016
8.8
Excellent
carlos from Brazil
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Very good hotel exotic”
Very good experience, good pool, exotic and relax
Reviewed October 31, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Amazing setting on the river ”
We had a lovely stay here. It really is away from it all - including having to get the hotel boat up the river for the final stretch. The staff were lovely, food was great and all sorts of things to see and do around the site including a massive bat filled cave nearby! Finally for those interested the hotel pier is a short drive from the Hellfire pass memorial and museum (if you go get the excellent audio tour)
Reviewed October 03, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Holger from Germany
Family with teens
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Schöne Lage”
Nice Location. Food at a fair rate, over all a nice place to stay if not too long
Reviewed September 27, 2016
7.6
Very good
Wichit from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Wonderful location and friendly staff”
The resort itself located in very isolated area and also has a beautiful scenery so you can enjoy privacy and wilderness during your stay.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Varisa from Thailand
Group
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Nature scenery and great location”
Friendly and helpful staffs, beautiful scenery, but too many tourists group and not much activities unless you pay extras.
Reviewed September 22, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Peeranat from Thailand
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
A little bit inconvenience but i enjoyed my stay”
there should be area for swimming in the river
Reviewed September 16, 2016
4.0
Katesaphong from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Quite old and have only one outlet left for one mobile charging. Not only no mobile network and wifi in room, but no telephone as well.”
Not impressive at all.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
7.6
Very good
Mark from Netherlands
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Beautiful nature setting”
If you have your own car, you can reach the resort by car too. No need to take the boat service, which is 1000thb per trip outside their few scheduled river crossings.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Teera from Thailand
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Lots of activities”
Super friendly staff. Peaceful yet full of activities.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Helene from Netherlands
Family with teens
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Exceptional”
Great place! Friendly staff that solves problems right away with a smile. They were helpfull with the boattrip to the upstream River Kwai Jungle Resort from which you can float back to the Resotel in your lifejacket in an hour or so. The kids enjoyed it as well! Ghe pool is beautiful, breakfast/lunch/dinner had a good variety and was all very tasty. The cottages are well designed, decorated and clean!
Reviewed August 10, 2016
4.8
Chuthamas from Thailand
Couple
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Staff”
Staff not very helpful. Food was ok.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Piyaporn from Thailand
Group
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Nice Place to Stay”
Feel the nature! Love it!
Reviewed June 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
SEOK from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Relaxed holiday”
Back to the nature environment.
Reviewed May 28, 2016
8.0
Excellent
shimi from Thailand
Family with young children
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Nice experience!”
Nice cabana-style accommodation. Great location. Food was ok. River Safari and activities were super!
Reviewed May 27, 2016
7.6
Very good
Matthew from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Great location on river ”
Great location on the river, buffet breakfast was average.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
6.8
Good
Nattaya from Thailand
Group
Jungle Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Good”
No
Reviewed April 26, 2016