Book Now: River Kwai Village Hotel

Very good
From 596 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (596)Booking.com Reviews (1)
7.3
Very good
From 596 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.2
Facilities7.1
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.3
Value for money7.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Mountain Wing
River Wing
Thai Raft
Royal Wing
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 458 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Chanakarn from Thailand
Family with teens
Cliff Wing Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Cheap with big room”
The room which I booked was around 3,300 THB. Although, the room is recommended for 2 persons but beds are wide enough for 3 persons to sleep together because there are 2 adjacent queen beds. The size of the room is big too, you have enough area to walk around the room without feeling too cramped. However, the price of adventure activities are too expensive. You need more than 500 THB for riding ATV in the specific area.
Reviewed December 08, 2016
6.4
Good
ALVIN from Singapore
Group
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Breakfast is great!!!”
It was a one day stay and the programs are not availble all at all Times.. inconvenient to find outsode food unless u have cars. Overall experience is okay. Room Is big and good.. pool is nice.. my room Was given very far away but the view is okay.. one of the best breakfast!.)
Reviewed November 30, 2016
4.8
Pit from Malaysia
Couple
Royal Wing
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
For those enjoy natural ”
It was over price and far from the River Kwai bridge. The room was old and need to renovate. The breakfast is poor.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Emi from Japan
Couple
Cliff Wing Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
q”
q
Reviewed August 18, 2016
3.6
kuljira from Thailand
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Terrible!!!”
Old decoration, that was acceptable but there are holes on the ceiling. So, when it was raining, water always dropped on the floor in the toilet. I wasn't able to walk into the restroom while raining. More awful, the door of toilet can't close properly. I had informed the reception in the morning, they just gave me the plain paper and told me to write down my compliant. And they cannot do anything because I had already paid via agoda.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
Gabriel from Thailand
Couple
Mountain Wing
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Beautiful place”
Room was nice but rather look old. Smell like chlorine. But the resort is fantastic.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
7.6
Very good
Subash from Thailand
Couple
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Over all experience was good”
Nice location and spacious resort. Lot of activities available. More food items in the bf.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Kamonchanok from Thailand
Solo traveler
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Nice location and view with the river and mountain ”
If you would like to find the hotel which comfortable and nice location in river and mountain, very nice spa (onsen Thailand), and many activities with adventure for your vacation. I strongly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed August 01, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tamm from Thailand
Group
Royal Wing
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Good”
Great stay... loved the hot spring!!
Reviewed July 22, 2016
4.8
Soonthornpornvatee from Thailand
Couple
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Old building ”
Room quits old and room equipment not good condition.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
6.8
Good
Shi from Singapore
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Took room that is on the river itself. ”
First time staying in a room like this. Room is spacious. Location is abit difficult to find.
Reviewed June 25, 2016
7.2
Very good
rojana from Thailand
Family with young children
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
good”
good
Reviewed June 24, 2016
5.6
Patcharaporn from Thailand
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Cleaning improvement especially breakfast”
Good location
Reviewed June 18, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Monthakan from Thailand
Family with teens
Royal Wing
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Nice hotsping”
Room is spacious and clean. Breakfast was not as bad as what I have read from the review. Good for hotspring.
Reviewed May 03, 2016
8.8
Excellent
James from Australia
Solo traveler
Mountain Wing
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Exquisite surroundings, Good facilities & Friendly Staff”
Approximately 1 hour drive from Kanchanaburi city in mountainous and bamboo jungle area, on the Khwae River. An extensive range of room options - the room I stayed was very comfortable. 3 pools. A range of outdoor activities, didn't ask about cost. Short drive to small village with restaurants and attractions, plus waterfalls and other cultural attractions in the area.
Reviewed April 30, 2016
4.0
Allan from Australia
Solo traveler
River Wing
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Don't go there check it out throughly ”
No real facilities for adults and very negative people and are not organised.My stay i required transport to Anzac Day ceremony which they did provide.Unfortunately the driver was going to return me after and he decided to move the transport and go and have a sleep.Hence I could not find him or the van.I ended up getting a lift back via a local.The hotel was very unresponsive and really couldn't care less.Thats what they do.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Paul from Norway
Solo traveler
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Excellent location, good service, ease of access to Hellfire Pass”
Slightly dated hotel, but excellent location, good service and altogether very enjoyable stay.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Alicesala from Thailand
Solo traveler
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Great”
Location hotspring pool
Reviewed February 18, 2016
7.3
Very good
LUETHIP from Thailand
Group
Cliff Wing Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Group hotel”
Proximity to hot spring and hellfire pass
Hotel for groups. Seems like some parts have never been renovated in 30 years. Not recommended for relaxing. Cliff wing room was new with nice river and mountain view. Big swimming pool. Good A-la-carte dinner but horrible breakfast.
Reviewed February 02, 2016
5.7
Charunant from Thailand
Couple
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Just OK !”
Nature around Hotel,Nice swimming pool
Just OK!
Reviewed January 23, 2016
4.0
STEVEN from United States
Family with teens
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Extremely overrated”
Breakfast
Very poor condition room. Poorly maintained facility. Poorly trained staff. Large group of Russian tourists. I would never return and never recommend.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
3.0
Arachaporn from Thailand
Business traveler
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
terrible staff. old place.”
location
staff were simply rude. the place is old. renovated rooms still smell of paint. had to pay extra for everything. checking in took way way too long. staff were unhelpful. never coming in. definitely not worth the money. dont come.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
3.0
takashi from Japan
Couple
Royal Wing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
poor facility at room and poor service”
hot spring
bad hotel room-can not use electricity until ask engineer to come and maintain. - no facility to boil water no coffee and tea at room bad hotel waitress service- mistake guide us to wrong table - to get check bin,it takes more than 30 minutes-have to ask many times i do not think it is worth to get 4 star.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
6.7
Good
Kakuko from Japan
Family with young children
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
mountain view rooms are too old and dark”
hot spring
As hotel guests, you receive only 100 baht discount on hotspring entrance. Other outdoor activities are overpriced and the service desk gives incorrect information.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
SIGURD from United Kingdom
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Still a good hotel,although it is showing its age ”
Location; style; staff.
Just as we expected, good, but a few issues. Poor TV reception and channel choice, AND VERY POOR Wi-Fi signal.
Reviewed August 13, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
KAMRAN from Pakistan
Family with young children
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Awesome experience”
Location , very friendly Staff , Food Prices and ofource
Reviewed August 05, 2015
6.7
Good
Khanin from Thailand
Group
Royal Wing
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Nice location but not the room ”
I give 4 stars for the location alone. In the room, the light is broken and so is the lamp on the night stand. The milk and pineapple juice taste ridiculous.
Reviewed July 16, 2015
6.7
Good
Chompoonuch from Thailand
Family with teens
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Great for relaxation with family”
Great Hot Spring, Relaxing hotel, Lots of Hotel Activiities
Even I stayed only for 1 night. I have a great time spending with my family on a hot spring vocational resort. There are total 16 types of hot springs and whole day exercise at the resort. The hotel room I stayed is by the river. I experienced a nice cool breeze balcony with a huge bed. I would recommend for those who want to relax and chill.
Reviewed June 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
udhay from India
Family with young children
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Very friendly staff and impressive service. ”
Location, staff service, room comfort for a family with 2 children
I stayed with my family for 2 nights. Stayed in Thai raft. Good size Room was very comfortable. Excellent Location, staff service. Rocky fall spa was very good.
Reviewed June 02, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Mrs. from Thailand
Business traveler
Royal Wing
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Nice surroundings Good value Relax Hotspring water”
Great room size. Great pool. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Our stay was absolutely amazing. We got the Royal Wing rooms and they were gorgeous. The staff was so friendly and helpful and went above and beyond. The hotel was perfect.We intend to go to this hotel because of new very good spa, Rock Valley Hot Spring Fish Spa. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Reviewed May 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
jennifer from United Kingdom
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Amazing views & room”
views, room bar
Stayed here for 2 nights and the room was beautiful, the views are breathtaking and surrounding hotel very nice. There was a little bar which was fun with the locals singing and chatting. Would stay here for views alone. Food good too but breakfast mainly Thai.
Reviewed April 23, 2015
7.0
Very good
Pierre from Germany
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Still one of the better affordable options”
location, raft rooms on the river
We only stayed one night as part of a Kanchanaburi tour, but we stayed previously at this hotel in the river wing, which was bad value in our opinion and this time booked a raft room instead. That was a good decision, although the raft room is pricier, it is also of much better standard and provides a nice memory of staying overnight on the river. Service and staff were good, also the ordered food was okay. The breakfast buffet however, while being plentiful is still as horrible as before, they use the cheapest pastries and bacon they can find, the former taste awful and the latter like cardboard. Overall, the stay was nice in the raft room, avoid the breakfast!
Reviewed March 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Rajveer from Thailand
Couple
River Wing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
nice surroundings good value good staff”
nice surroundings good value good staff
very nice ambience in and around the hotel. Good value for money. location not hard to find. Has a nice spa in the hotel. rooms were rather old and furniture overused. breakfast rather average. Still recommended
Reviewed January 27, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Natchapol from Thailand
Family with teens
River Wing
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Fresh air Good view and Relax Hot spring water”
Hot spring water and location
very Good. I have been there two times.
Reviewed January 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Jessica from United States
Couple
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Natural bliss!”
Service, scenery and food were amazing!
Reviewed January 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Karen from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Mountain Wing
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great family break at River Kwai Village.”
Great room size. Great pool. Very helpful and friendly staff.
I could not fault it. We were actually 2 half families but the room accommodated us all amazingly. Pool is great. The hotel hosted a big international running race, so was particularly busy but the staff were still attentive, helpful and kind. Great hotel.
Reviewed September 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Courtney from United States
Solo traveler
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Great staff and beautiful place”
Staff, rooms on the river, and price
Our stay was absolutely amazing. We got the river raft rooms and they were gorgeous. The staff was so friendly and helpful and went above and beyond. The hotel was perfect. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Reviewed September 12, 2014
6.3
Good
Pornchai from Thailand
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Natural hotel with very good spa”
Good to stay in Raft House and try the new spa.
We intend to go to this hotel because of new very good spa, Rock Valley Hot Spring Fish Spa. The spa was cost Baht550 per person.
Reviewed August 13, 2014
2.7
Iris from Israel
Family with young children
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Old, run down, Dirty rooms, terrible breakfast”
Beautiful view
Hotel room was very old and run down. Bathroom curtain was moldy and dirty. Bed was broken. Bed linen not clean. Toilet chair was yellow and dirty. Bad smell on the rooms. Breakfast was terrible. Set outside with flys and bug in all fruits and vegetables. Hotel far away from everything. The only nice thing about it was the view. Important - the pictures of hotel rooms and facilities is not true. And only one small pool is operational. To sum - don't go there. Terrible.
Reviewed June 28, 2014
6.0
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Old hotel needs renovation, everything worn out”
price location
poor management and lack of investment in maintaining the property. Everything old and worn out. Breakfast buffet limited and food cold - bains-maries are supposed to have fires underneath! Staff cook all the eggs in one go and leave them to go cold instead of cooking them as required by guests, so they can go somewhere else and presumably relax. Poor choice of TV channels and MATV system not working properly. Sink dirty and broken upon check-in. Only saving grace the room was cheap - but not cheap enough.
Reviewed June 18, 2014
5.3
Richard from United Kingdom
Group
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
adequate, but hotel is looking old and run down”
Location on river, price, quiet
nothing special, hotel is old and badly maintained, but quite cheap so you get what you pay for. Breakfast very plain and breakfast staff quite lazy.
Reviewed June 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
Jan from Australia
Couple
Mountain Wing
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
This was our second stay at this hotel and wouldn'”
Close to our tours, excellent staff, great food
Fantastic
Reviewed May 05, 2014
6.0
Kevin from Australia
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Unique and rewarding experience. ”
1. Raft accomodation with balcony. 2. Natural setting with well designed grounds & pools. 3. Close to Rock valley hot springs.
We selected this hotel for the experience of sleeping on a raft in a natural setting. We also wanted to visit Hell Fire Pass and Death railway etc. The hotel and attractions lived up to our expectations, additionally Rock Valley Springs was a lovely experience. However I was disappointed with the reception staff, they were not helpful with arranging tours or transport, if you didn't have a car or driver you were basically stranded in a remote location. One employee suggested we wait on the highway for a bus to take us 70 km to Kanchanaburi and then arrange a taxi, considering HFP was 9 km from the hotel I considered this suggestion impractical, they wouldn't even call a taxi or provide a phone number. Thankfully the restaurant staff were much more helpful and arranged a driver for a full days sight seeing. It seems the hotel mainly caters for tours, not individuals or couples.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Natthinee from Thailand
Couple
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Spa and relaxing”
spa, swimming pool, restaurant
Warm welcome, nice place, relaxing with hot pring & fish spa, great swimming pool, and excellent food.
Reviewed January 04, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Jesada from Thailand
Family with young children
River Wing
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Good environments ”
environments, area, locations
It is very good location and nice view. We can get relaxing to stay in our room. Very excellent pool.
Reviewed October 12, 2013
7.3
Very good
Prakit from Thailand
Group
Mountain Wing
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Very nice”
Good view, nature surrounded, pieceful
Every things is fine, except breakfast that should more international foods.
Reviewed September 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Srisanay from Thailand
Couple
Thai Raft
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Jamais si pres de la nature.”
Nature river cool and calm
Check in very fast. Comfortable. We feel like the river Kwai talk with us. Very quiet and cool stay cut from exterior world. Meal was great, many choice of food. Biggest space resort. Lovely place unforgetable.
Reviewed September 11, 2013
6.7
Good
Reinier from Netherlands
Family with teens
River Wing
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Price Quality was ok!!!”
Quite, price, river view
Reviewed August 18, 2013
7.3
Very good
Xiaonong from China
Group
Thai Raft
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Good scenery but very far from city and everything”
scenery nature clean
we stayed in raft room. The room and scenery is great but we need to walk up and down to the raft room which were very very tired. Would be better if the hotel can offer some more convenience. Moreover it is very inconvenience to stay here if you dont have own car. It is super far from everything. The closet 7-11 is almost 10 km. Nothing to do at the night time.. No free internet too.. Just good only if you really want to disconnect to the whole world.
Reviewed August 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
Sanravee from Thailand
Group
Mountain Wing
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Nice and relaxing stay”
Large room, nice river view, secluded
The place is quite large and nice, the river room was large with nice balcony over looking the river and mountain. The staff was nice and accommodating. The food is just so-so, apparently they have selection of Russian food as well.
Reviewed August 01, 2013