Book Now: Rosedale Hotel and Suites Beijing

Very good
From 378 reviewsSee what guests said
7.0
/
10

Reviews of Rosedale Hotel and Suites Beijing Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (377)Booking.com Reviews (191)
7.0
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities6.6
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality6.9
Service6.9
Value for money7.3
All languages
All guests (377)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 270 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
HELEN
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Good hotel in a great location with a great view”

Provided you have a front-facing room, the rooms are spacious and the location is great, just a walk away from the Indigo shopping mall, other smaller shops, and the metro which is really cheap and very efficient. I would not however recommend an "Elite" room which is on a lower floor with no view and very small and dated.

Reviewed April 02, 2019
6.8
Good
Shee from Singapore
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Great pricing”

The hotel was definitely cheap at that rate we have booked. Although it was a good stay you can see the sign of aging in the room. Cleanliness can be improved but it is decent. The staff was helpful. The only thing I feel strongly about is the smell of cigarettes smokes in the hotel room corridor, even though it is non smoking rooms. At time it even filter into the room.

Reviewed March 26, 2019
6.8
Good
Khosbayar from Mongolia
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Reasonable price, nice neighborhood”

Price was very reasonable. Neighborhood is very calm and beautiful. Walking distance to 798. But cleanliness was not satisfactory.

Reviewed May 02, 2019
6.8
Good
Khosbayar from Mongolia
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Reasonable price”

Price was very reasonable. Neighborhood is very calm and beautiful. Walking distance to 798. But cleanliness was not satisfactory.

Reviewed May 02, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Ivy from Malaysia
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

The room is old in decoration and renovation”

There isn't shop around the hotel area. walking is required. There is only 3-4 cafe and restaurants opposite the hotel. Taxi is always available outside the hotel, convenient for you to go anywhere by taxi.

Reviewed April 04, 2017
8.3
Excellent
sven from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 10 nights in November 2013

grand hotel in nice relaxing area”

close to park and local restaurants. clean room

The stay was nice. The hotel is grand - nice lobby area with a few shops. You also have a few restaurants in the hotel complex. The rooms maybe a bit old, but nice and clean. Nice location if you want to stay in a quiet area. A few parks very close by and some very nice eastern and western restaurants next to the hotel. Negative: the gym is pretty useless. If you want to get into the center, you might hit some bad traffic, but I guess this a problem in general for Beijing.

Reviewed December 09, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Felicity from United States
Family with young children
Elite Business Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

Great value”

Great value, great location

Th Rosedale is a typical Chinese four star hotel; it's clean but it's not super impressive by western standards. Yet we always go there because it provides great value: it's walking distance from Beijing United (our hospital of choice) and there are a bunch of great places to eat around there, not to mention a grocery store close by. The staff is courteous and helpful. It helps if you have Chinese but English works fine here. I would recommend getting the breakfast deal since it's a pain to find breakfast if it's not at the hotel. The only thing about the internet access is that you can't get WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby. You can only use ethernet in the rooms.

Reviewed November 28, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Navid from Luxembourg
Family with young children
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011

Quality hotel in a great location.”

Location! Easy access to city center and airport, while situated in rather calm surroundings.

Have stayed at the Rosedale several times, primarily because of its convenient location. The staff is friendly and professional, the rooms are clean and feature everything you'd expect from a four star hotel, even though they could use some renovation, as you can notice the wear from over the years.

Reviewed September 18, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Alvin from United States
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2011

As always, good room, good service, good location”

Price on agoda is great; location is good if you're not a tourist

We stayed here for 5 nights. When we arrived, they did not have a king bed available. We asked, on the second day, if there was a king available and if we could change rooms. The change was quick and simple. Service was great. For the price, this hotel is great - that is, if you're not a tourist trying to get to the big touristy spots. A few central bus lines are only a 5-10 minute walk away. Also nearby are 2 Starbucks, Pete's Tex Mex, Annie's, Jenny Wang's, AmCare Hospital, Beijing Family United Hospital. Only negative about this hotel is that the in-room internet, while free, is wired rather than wireless.

Reviewed June 07, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Alvin from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in June 2010

Extending Our Stay was Hassle Free”

(please see my previous Agoda review for details)
(please see my previous Agoda review for details)

We originally had a reservation to stay from a Friday to Tuesday. But then we had a change of plans which required us to remain in Beijing for a few more days. On Sunday, I made another reservation with Agoda for the Rosedale, this time to check-in on Tuesday and to stay for a few more days. Not too long afterwards, I went to the Rosedale front desk to ask them if they had received my reservation and if I could avoid the hassle of checking out and then checking back in. They checked my name and said that the reservation had already been attached to my previous reservation... nothing else was needed. So smooth!

Reviewed June 20, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Alvin from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010

Great Deal for Non-Tourists”

The hotel staff was always friendly and had good English speaking skills. Location of the hotel, in the Lido Park area of Chaoyang, is excellent if you don't mind being a bit of a distance from city center and are just looking to relax for a few days and get the "expat" experience. Good western restaurants (and a Starbucks) within 10 minutes walking. The hotel rate, especially for the area where we were staying, was very good.
If you're looking to do the touristy things, then this hotel might be a bit out of the way. The rooms, though they are clean and comfortable, may feel slightly worn and in need of updating (bathroom, television). In-room safe was not big enough to fit my notebook computer. Make sure to put the "Do not disturb" sign on your door if you plan to sleep in past 8am and don't want them to knock and enter to do housekeeping until later. Fitness center equipment definitely in need of updating: 3 loud and old treadmills, 2 of which were broken. 2 ellipticals and 2 bikes, but all old and slightly rundown. The weight sets and weight machines were decent. The room had complimentary wired internet and the lobby had wifi. I would have much preferred wifi in the room though.

For what we paid, we felt like staying at this hotel was well worth it. We went with the Deluxe room instead of the Standard or Superior, just to have a little bit of extra space. I did not get to peek inside a Standard room, but other reviews had said they were quite small. The staff was always friendly. We got bottles of water in our room each day. There is a small convenience store right across the street, where you can buy water or other small snacks. About 10 minutes away walking is Starbucks, Peter's Tex-Mex, Annie's Pizza, Jenny Lou's (western imports grocery), and the Beijing United Family hopsital. When deciding on a hotel, was unsure at first because I could not find many reviews for the Rosedale. Turns out that the hotel name has changed a few times over the last 10 years (formerly The Harbour Plaza). Again, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for first-time visitors to Beijing who want to visit all of the touristy hot spots. But if you're just looking to get away, relax for a bit and be nearby to some good food... this hotel is worth it and convenient enough. To get to the airport, a taxi cost about 60 RMB. (From the airport to the hotel, you may find it costing a little bit more).

Reviewed June 06, 2010
7.6
Very good
Robin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Not quite as it appears,...but still can be a very good option”

The hotel looks like a great quality normal four star hotel and prices can seem an absolute bargain. However, once you arrive you realise from the atmosphere that it is not really to that standard. This is further endorsed once you leave the nice reception and find the rooms and corridors are a bit tired and run down. Overall though, it is clean and fine and still a very very good option if you can get big discount deals and if you are lucky to find the little pockets of staff that are new or keen.

Reviewed March 05, 2019
2.8
Kwok from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 8 nights in June 2018

Bad hotel, very very bad experience ”

The service is very bad at the front desk. The room is so small and dirty, they cannot call themselves even three stars. I think they only worth for one star. If you dont believe, you can try it. It is waste of money, we books for ten days but we cannot stand it and only stay for five nights, we rather book another hotel then keep staying in this one.

Reviewed July 03, 2018
8.0
Excellent
zhida from Canada
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018

Very good”

Hotel breakfast very expensive. Facilities are Old. 1 km away from subway. Very nice staff. Change and clean room every day. Rooms are clean and quiet.

Reviewed September 05, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Emily-Rose from China
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Besides one small issue, excellent!”

Was very impressed with this hotel. Good value for money, excellent for business trip, luxurious feel and was overall very satisfied with my one-night stay. I had a LOT of luggage as I was moving apartments in Beijing and hotel staff were very helpful. Was slightly hesitant in booking as I had read other reviews saying that the place was old and run-down. I did not feel this to be the case at all. If anything, some of the decor is slightly antique-style (i.e., the hotel isn't extremely modern/edgy) but the facilities are all well-kept and the hotel still has a luxurious feel. My only complaint was that the water in the bathtub and sink was yellow... Other than this, all was perfect.

Reviewed February 09, 2017
7.3
Very good
Andrea from Italy
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Good location honest value for money”

Nice area, breakfast, nice common areas

The hotel served the purpose of one night stop over in Beijing before I've flown to another city in China. The price was competitive for a 4 star hotel, but the room's interior and its amenities were old and in a quite bad shape. The size of the room was unusually small for Chinese standards. The bed on two sides was on the wall. Breakfast a bit overpriced 20USD but all in all good. Reception was friendly and fast. Lobby, elevators and common areas in general well maintained. Probably the policy of the hotel is to give a "special prices" for some rooms only, perhaps some other room type are in better shape.

Reviewed July 13, 2015
6.7
Good
Jason from Australia
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Just Across the Road From The Park Side Tavern”

Price, Room Service, Close to a Quality. Purveyor of Guinness

The hotel is located in LiDo area and while dated was quite satisfactory for RMB 350 a night. My room looked over the park at the rear of the hotel and while the fittings are a tad yesteryear everything worked and was clean. The bar across the road has good food and cold beer too. The arose dale does the job without too many bells and whistles.

Reviewed September 08, 2014
8.7
Excellent
peter from Australia
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

well located impressive hotel, and great value wit”

room was good, clean and great price

we were a little rushed only 2 nights, but had a good time there. there is a great restaurant and park just across the road called the Parkside bar and grill. We didn't discover it until the second day, but had lunch there (fillet steak medium rare,and green lip mussels cooked In a sauce, all delicious) we were so impressed we went back for a light dinner before catching the plane back home. The hotel is impressive, the second time I have stayed there, and will go there again, close to airport and easy taxi ride to Beijing central. we went to get a visa so it was well located for that. we even ventured to IKEA which is a good walk away, and after buying some products, we needed to have a sit in a corner and cover ourselves with a sheet and drink warm milk to recover, it was so so busy there. like this hotel and location, I am Australian, my partner is Chinese.

Reviewed April 20, 2014
5.0
Boo from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Just a simple and cost effective hotel. ”

Not much to talk about this hotel except a clean and quiet room and near airport.

Just average as the hotel is located far away from shopping and food. The staff are average while the aircon in the room was very poor with warm temp as temp cannot be lowered. Required to walk a distace to the nearest shops.

Reviewed September 03, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Avery from United States
Family with young children
Elite Business Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Great value/location for families”

Breakfast, location, service

Been to this hotel a lot. It's not the cheapest, but it's probably the best value for a 4 star hotel. If you don't have kids and are more flexible about breakfast, I'd recommend getting the cheapest Agoda priced room. The next level up has nicer bedding, nicer bathroom, and more floor space + breakfast included, but if you're just there to stay the night, forget all that stuff. If you're a family I highly recommend getting the next level up. If the check-in staff tell you that there's only one breakfast per room, insist that this is not the case. The room sleeps two adults (i.e. you can get two twin beds or one queen bed) so it's makes no sense that the included breakfast only has one meal ticket. Breakfast has a lot of choices. It's not the best quality, but it's good enough. Great for young families because it's all you can eat and, again, lots of choices. One lame thing is that the internet is lame here. It's either an ethernet cable or wireless but the wireless signal is weak.

Reviewed December 18, 2012
8.7
Excellent
sherry from United States
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

great location/ near a wonderful park”

park side location

easy to get taxis from the hotel. there are great food options nearby. i was attending a conference and i could walk to where buses were available which was great. i had a lake view and that was appreciated. i did have trouble contacting the hotel, the number given didn't work, and i wanted to let them know i'd be checking in late in the day, so luckily when i got there it wasn't a problem. the logo and the big sign makes it easy to find your way back in the evening. people were nice. i'd stay here again.

Reviewed October 17, 2012
7.3
Very good
Tan from Singapore
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Near airport, old & small rooms”

Near the airport - 20mins away

Because this hotel is so near the airport, most taxi drivers will not want to drive you there, unless you pay them extras for it. I've had times when i reached the airport at 2am, and the taxi drivers wanted RMB300 for that short drive. So the tip is, 1. put your luggages into the trunk, 2. get into the back seat, 3. tell the destination to the driver. they will then drive you to the destination, by the metre and hopefully no further roundabouts.

Reviewed September 09, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Yeshaya from Israel
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Great service- rooms a bit outdated.”

The Service- position- near nice park

I have stayed here before- it is convenient for me. Not a great hotel but OK. The price of a stay varies so its hard to comment on value. The rooms- particularly the bathroom are rather old fashioned but I will probably stay there again.

Reviewed August 23, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Larry from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 7 nights in June 2012

Excellent Hotel in a great area.”

I love the Parkside Bar and Grill across the road from the Hotel

the rosedale is my preferred hotel in beijing. everything is good, the rooms are ok, the restaurants are ok the gym is ok, and i have to compliment the much improved english skills of most of the counter staff. overall, a lovely place to stay, with a very beautiful and servicable park opposite the hotel, be it for a simple walk, or a good safe place to run and exersice. i also am a huge fan of the parkside bar and grill just opposite the rosedale hotel, they again have great english speaking staff, an excellent menu, coupled with a fantastic sports bar atmosphere.

Reviewed July 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
WILLIAM from United States
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Good value for the Dollar”

Comfortable beds reasonable price

Older hotel, but clean and comfortable . The staff is god and friendly . Location is ok , but used taxi most of time toet around. There are things witin walking distance, but bettr returants and sightseeing need to take taxi. But safe area to walk and there are enough resturants and shops close to hotel to explore. Sigt seeing thou need to take cab. But value for Bejing is good and hotel is good for the price. Found to be very reasonable.

Reviewed July 07, 2012
8.0
Excellent
WILLIAM from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

older hotel but good value for the dollar”

rooms cean and comfortable. not real large , but ok

ejoyed my stay here in bejing . is good hotel for the value. room a little small but ok. clean comfortable beds. staff good, location ok. have to take taxi to most places for shopping or sight seeing. but good value or the dollar. there are some resturants close by . good coffee shop straight across street. nice place to relax.

Reviewed July 06, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Gerald from United States
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2011

Pleasant English speaking staff”

Mid way between the airport and downtown Beijing

my recent stay at the rosedale was great. i have been staying there when remaining overnight (ron) in beijing for many years. clean, quiet, and convenient to both the airport and downtown beijing. i will stay there again when in beijing.

Reviewed November 25, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Alan from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2011

Nice hotel for the money”

Good value, clean and modern

Good hotel for the money. Located in a pleasant environment. Within a couple of minutes walk to a good western bar/pub which has good food. The coffee shop/pancake house nearby is also excellent. The hotel is located 20 minutes from Beijing's town center but the taxis are cheap and I never had a problem finding one.

Reviewed September 19, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Domenico from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

Convenient location and good service”

Quite location not far from downtown

The hotel is in Chaoyang district just outside the 4th ring and very close to the airport express highway. Convenient for Sanlitun embassy and bar area and Exhibition Center, around 3 USD ride. Good buffet breakfast. Under renovation in some part so some facilities can not be used at the moment.

Reviewed September 09, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Trevor from New Zealand
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

Great Hotel ..Great service”

Good location.

i have stayed at this hotel many times and i keep returning as the rooms are clean and tidy and the service is consistantly of a high standard. the location is also very appropriate for the work i do. also it is surrounded by very nice resturants.

Reviewed April 13, 2011
6.7
Good
Rupert from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2010

Good location for both airport and food”

Close to airport, English speaking staff, close to good choice of restaurants
You get what you pay for.

The hotel was well sited, given the increasingly bad traffic in the centre of town. Close to good dining options - Salt on other side of road, and Wang Jing area nearby. The free internet was also helpful for work. Rooms adequate, but not huge. Staff attentive, and a number speak English.

Reviewed January 01, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Julia from Canada
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 7 nights in November 2010

Excellent service and comfortable rooms”

Helpful staff, great location, nice park view,
room was a little hot

We were very impressed with our stay at the Rosedale. Our traveling companion stayed at the Holiday Inn down the street for much more money and it was not as nice as the Rosedale. The staff were very helpful and assisted us with taxis. They were also very fast in fixing our window when we couldn't open it. The hotel room was very nice with down comforter and feather pillows. Complimentary water is provided every day. The location is in an ex-pat neighbourhood so there are a lot of restaurants and businesses catered to foreigners. The Sunny Market down the road is a small little knock-off market that is fun to visit.

Reviewed November 14, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Nicholas from United States
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2010

Nice Hotel ”

a nice hotel with uncomplicated driving from the airport, close to AmCare and Beijing United

We arrived early to the hotel and they did their best to check us in a little early. When trying to go to a specific restaurant the English speaking doorman was quick to help us and do his best to arrange a taxi. There are 4 or 5 floors that are committed to nonsmoking rooms, we stayed on one of those floors. We were there for a short time but liked how convenient it was to walk from the hotel to AmCare Women's and Children's Hospital & Clinic. Great location given our purpose in Beijing.

Reviewed October 27, 2010
8.3
Excellent
David from Canada
Group
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2010

well managed and organized”

dining facilities were excellent
internet speed needs improvement

I was pleased with the comfort of the room I stayed in, especially the bed. It provide me with an excellent sleep. Within a short walk there was many restaurants and shops. This also was a big plus. Overall very relaxing and a good standard of service. It was a good choice for the value. Highly recommended.

Reviewed July 25, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Timothy from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010

our stay at Rosedale”

beautiful, classy, modern facility, excellent service, very nice room,
Sometimes difficult to communicate in English with various Chinese staff. Some staff were fluent in English, but most were not.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There were nice shops, two nice restaurants, internet connectivity with help from a tech suppport person to help me get connected, a nice lounge area with comfortable and attractive furniture and great service, a gift shop that had nice gifts to purchase and a helpful clerk, the deli that had tasty desserts at a reasonable price. The concierge desk was very helpful in obtaining taxi service and other matters.

Reviewed June 09, 2010
4.0
Richard from United States
Group
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Review score”

Pro: Short walk to Dini’s Restaurant and CHABAD. Cons: No A/C-had to sleep with window open and endure street noise. Wallpaper peeling off of wall. Virtually none of the staff speak English & those that do have minimal ability to speak/understand English. In room safe not working & staff unable/unwilling (?) to repair.

Reviewed October 28, 2018
4.4
Liabo from South Africa
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Review score”

The hotel is located near bus stops which is great! There are some restaurents near buy another good factor. The hotel room we had had very dirty carpets, it was awful, then the bath tub was brownish and i could never have taken a bath in it and felt need to shower with flip flops on. Quite dirty. The wifi was a bit of a problem and we called the hotel staff in to assist a number of times and they were very responsive. I would not stay there again unless it is renovated.

Reviewed October 02, 2018
4.8
M from Bangladesh
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Review score”

At the time of booking we were so happy to see the pictures of the hotel. Its a big hotel with a good view. Even when we reached at the hotel, we impressed by seeing the lobby and reception. But the room and amenities were so disappointing. Wash room, carpet and floor were not so clean and those were not looking so hygienic, there was a bad smell inside the room and corridors. Amenities and furniture were not so modern as we saw in pictures while booking. Overall we are not satisfied.

Reviewed July 14, 2018
6.4
Good
Anna from United States
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Smaller than seems ”

The hotel was 30 min south of the airport and they didn't have a shuttle. Too far to get for an overnight. It wasn't bad, just not a place I would choose again. Breakfast was pretty good. Not a lot of food options around the block. again only stayed the night.

Reviewed July 09, 2018
4.8
Kok from Malaysia
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Average Place”

The hotel is dated and the rooms are small. Location is also a long walk from the subway.

Reviewed April 16, 2019
7.6
Very good
seunghoon from South Korea
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Calm and old”

There is located at Lido and 798 province(north eastern Peking) so very good place for biz trip. (use taxi)

Reviewed March 25, 2019
6.0
Syed from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

dsfs ”

sdf sdf

Reviewed August 25, 2018
5.6
Huajin from Australia
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Above average”

value for money. room and facilities was old. location is OK.

Reviewed May 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
GAMINI from Sri Lanka
Family with teens
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Excellent Hotel”

We really enjoyed staying there.

Reviewed October 23, 2016
8.7
Excellent
jacob from Israel
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Nice hotly great location near to many things in t”

Clean nice comfortable

Enjoy stay there for 2 night close. To place that I need

Reviewed March 20, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
hye from South Korea
Family with teens
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

quite hotel”

good view, reasonable price and kind employees
Reviewed September 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Cesar from Philippines
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Good Hotel”

Clean, good location, good service
Reviewed May 03, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
JUNGGYU from South Korea
Group
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

good location good service”

good service, clean room

Reviewed August 31, 2018
7.6
Very good
Edward from United States
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017

Small rooms but Adequate”

Our room was small and a bit run-down, but still a good value for the money. The hotel has a small exercise room, but no pool. A lot of tour groups seem to come through, and that can make the hallways noisy. The staff was very helpful.

Reviewed July 05, 2017
2.8
Jose from China
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017

Bad Management ”

The hotel was clearly great once. But it's falling apart and they don't do anything about it. The staff is terrible, they don't smile at all and don't try to meet the customer's needs... all they say is "mei ban fa". The hotel room is cleanish but the carpet is dirty. That gym facility they show in the pictures is a big fat lie... there's no "gym" in their hotel, except a little tiny room with 3 or 4 broken treadmills that look as old as my grandma.

Reviewed May 07, 2017
5.7
Khuntsetseg from Mongolia
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Run down room”

Lobby

Hotel is really run down, no proper maintenance. It doesn't look that old, but just about everything is look and feel old. Carpet is dirty, bathroom ceiling is falling apart. Very Chinese feeling from this hotel. I arrived so late in room and looked into my mini bar, but it was empty. For 4 star hotel, nothing in mini bar, just not acceptable in my opinion.

Reviewed October 19, 2015
6.7
Good
Anthony from United States
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Good location.Beautiful facility.Functional staff.”

Location.Location.Location.

Location is very good, convenient and accessible. Stay was un-exceptional. Primary issues revolve around reception staff performance. Repeatedly told no WiFi when internet advertising clearly states WiFi is available and free.. Housekeeping is adequate and timely. Great value. Beautiful facility. Staff training marginally acceptable. No frills, but and excellent value and memorable experience await any guest.

Reviewed January 09, 2015
7.3
Very good
Anthony from United States
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

Rosedale: good value, okay service, fine location!”

Location is very good. Staff is functional. Nearby restaurants exceptional.

Excessive wait for early check-in (waited 6 hours in lieu of paying walk-in rate--double online bDuty manager after check-in was pleasant and helpful. Very pleasant stay. Excellent value through online booking.

Reviewed January 04, 2015
6.0
Inna from Russia
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Good looking from outside but old inside”

pillows, Wi-Fi, location

The hotel is really not bad, I liked my bed and had a good sleep with earplugs though. All the furniture is very old. The staff is wearing old uniform, few speak English. The taxi to the airport is 80 yuan.

Reviewed September 01, 2014
5.7
Viktor from Germany
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014

It's ok”

Breakfast

The room is quite small, but ok. The mentioned WIFI in ALL rooms was not existing in my room and the (so called) fitness center consists of 3 steppers and a dumpbells... The breakfast is intercontinental and very good. If you stay there, you should go to the restaurant next door (opposite) "Bar&Grill", they have great dishes.

Reviewed June 23, 2014
3.7
David from Australia
Couple
Elite Business Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

I Will Not Be Back”

Location only

This was my worst stay and definitely will not return, there are so many better hotels in this area at similar prices. I have previously stayed many times and this time was 'the last straw'. The staff were rude, the service no existent and my wife was even charged for a bottle of water she had bought at Watson . We later found that The East (Squire Group hotel had similar prices for the Executive Elite level at Rosedale. A much better choice and large rooms and a great breakfast.

Reviewed March 24, 2014
4.0
David from Australia
Business traveler
Elite Business Room
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014

Disappointing”

Location

I have been a regular at The Rosedale over many years BUT this will definitely be the very last time. From start to finish it was not only disappointing but very embarrassing to business colleagues who I was entertaining. The staff were incredibly rude. The room was very small despite supposed to be a superior executive room. We were even asked to leave the executive area as it was "out of time". Even though not being used for anything else. So Rosedale you really have to lift your game at those prices, plenty of new hotels and much better to compete.

Reviewed March 24, 2014
7.0
Very good
David from Australia
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

Good Location”

Location, Value for Money and Accessibility

I have stayed here on many occasions in the past and this time took the basic standard room. Staff performance a little lacking as I arrived at 1am. The basic rooms are a little small but most of my stay I was attending meetings. Rosedale is good value for money and certainly well located in the Lidu district. Things will be even better once the subway nearby is completed. Convenient to the airport, even if taxi drivers hate to drive the relatively short distance. Close by are good restaurants and The Irish a Volunteer pub as well as Franks etc. a short drive to Sanlitun too.

Reviewed December 05, 2013
2.0
BRENDAN from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013

terrible”

nothing except leaving

the worst hotel on earth! terrible! no air conditioning. over priced and tiny room. charged me 330 usd for two club sandwiches and two brief phone calls to australia. staff couyld not speak english. i left two days early even though i had pre-paid. this really was the worst hotels i have ever stayed and there have been a few. stay anywhere but here believe me!

Reviewed November 03, 2013
3.3
BRENDAN from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

absolutely horrendous hotel!”

leaving two days early even though i had pre-paid just to be rid of it!

this was a very poor, small, over priced and terrible hotel that would be lucky to give it two stars. i arrived two nights early after paying for an pre-booking through the agoda website. i arrived very tired around midnight and the fat night manager refused to let me pay for two extra nights unless i paid as it was all booked and i refused leaving me to find another hotel in the middle of the night. just obviously trying to rip me off. when i finally checked in the room had no air conditioning and only a small fan that did not really work. the room was tiny. the staff could not speak english except one was rude and abrupt. this place was so bad that i still had two nights pre-paid as just wanted out of there then they charged me about usd $340 for making two brief telephone calls back to melbourne, a few cans of soft drink and two club sandwiches and this is a fact. i paid as again just wanted to leave. so avoid this place. avoid!

Reviewed October 29, 2013
5.7
Gerald from United States
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

In Beijing I always stay at the Rosedale.”

Location, Price, Easy check-in and out.

Great place to stay for people transiting Beijing and who do not want to stay at the airport. I do a little local shopping and I like the Peter's Tex-Mex restaurant down the street. Frank's is good for a drink after dinner. Taxi driver know where the Rosedale is and the airport is only 20 minutes away. My hotel in Beijing.

Reviewed September 13, 2013
7.7
Very good
Lingling from China
Couple
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

Quiet park view stay hotel ”

Close to park; Very quiet;Not crowded

I chose this hotel because it's near to my baby delivery hospital. Some suggestion for improvement: Be cautious of guests' special requeests in booking system (I asked for double beds but the receiption still arranges queen size bed when I checked in)

Reviewed May 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
Leon from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Great location in the Embassy District”

Excellent facilities. Loved the view!

I was looking for a place to stay close to the Embassy District that was comfortable, clean and well located. The Rosedale met my needs. My first time in China, so I don't have anything to compare to except other places in Asia, and the Rosedale stars on this front in terms of value for money. My room had a fabulous view. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed January 23, 2013
5.7
Chor from Malaysia
Business traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

No idea.”

Near to airport, low price

Rooms are rather old - need a renovation. Food at the breakfast cafe was not too exciting - the staff's service and attitude was very poor, food was below than normal - the quality, assortment and also the arrangement. Room key didn't function well - I went to the reception 3 times to rectify the problem - it took me 20 min. in total.

Reviewed October 27, 2012
5.0
Chakrarat from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

good area but very small room and unclean hotel”

None

Old and expensive hotel room and no the room inside picture show and area of the room before payment. For other customers, please check the character and how large of the room from website before booking and think that no cheap price for excellent things. It makes me nervous why the hotel single room is very small. No space for walking inside. I do not know why the hotel got 4 or 3 and half star. It should be 2 star hotel. Please select other hotel for rest with valuable cost in Beijing.

Reviewed October 18, 2012
6.0
Catherine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Hotel Convenient for the Airport”

Near to the airport and within walking distance of shops and restaurants

The hotel is a little old and tired, but the service is usually good and the staff speak good English. The hotel is in the Lido area of Beijing near shops and restaurants so it is a great place to go for an evening stroll and take dinner. There is also a lovely park nearby to escape from the city. I usually stay here when going to the airport early the next day. Taxis are constantly on call and it takes 15 minutes to the airport.

Reviewed September 25, 2012
7.0
Very good
Avery from United States
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012

Great Chinese hotel”

Close to foreign restaurants and stores. Close to Beijing United.

We usually stay at the Rosedale when we are in Beijing because it's close to Beijing United. It's also close to IKEA, Peter's (Mexican food), and Jenny Wang's (a foreign import store). The area is a little pricey but the Rosedale is a pretty good value; it's not the cheapest hotel but it's got pretty decent service (provided you can speak Mandarin) and it's got a great location. Cons: Not close to a subway stop. The standard (i.e. cheapest) rooms are a bit small. I recommend going for the Superior room because it also includes the breakfast buffet which was decent.

Reviewed August 22, 2012
6.3
Good
SHEILA from Uganda
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Room is too small”

Location is really good, hotel is relatively clean.

i wished there was wi-fi. house keeping is good but not very thorough in cleaning the room, epecially the glasses. the attitude of some of the peolpe at the reception leaves a lot to be desired.hotel is generally clean and the location is really good. for that single room without breakfast, the price is a little high.

Reviewed August 17, 2012
6.0
Eileen from United States
Solo traveler
Elite Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Friendly to foreigners, budget hotel”

20 minutes from the airport. Quiet. Close to many western restaurants.

The hotel is used by many tour groups. It is clean and quiet. Room service is really slow but not too expensive. interior is very old and run down (rug stained, furniture chipped and old). There is no wifi but a cable for internet.

Reviewed August 15, 2012
7.3
Very good
WILLIAM from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012

Older Hotel but clean”

Reasonable price for Bejing

Older hotel. Safe area. Clean comfortable rooms althougha little small. Good value for the mnoney in Bejing. Comfortable best way to get around is by tax to get to bigger shopping areas. Safe walking area . Resturants and shops close to hotel walking distance. Plenty of resturants close to hotel to try . All ok . Use taxi most of time to get to where I wanted to go for shopping malls and better resturants , but good hotel to stage out of. Have used this hotel before , alays satisfied !

Reviewed July 07, 2012