Book Now: Royal Express Inn Sukhumvit

Good
From 938 reviewsSee what guests said
6.5
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (938)Booking.com Reviews (363)
6.5
/
10
Good
From 938 reviews
Cleanliness6.1
Facilities4.8
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality6.3
Service6.6
Value for money6.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (938)
All room types
Showing 762 verified guest comments
3.2
Hans from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Mold everywhere!”
It was pretty disgusting with the mold visible everywhere and the terrible musky air was hurting my nose and lungs. Don't stay here if you value your health even a little bit and if you want to have any decent sleep. I've posted photos on Google Maps so you can see the mold covering entire walls!
Reviewed September 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Rich from Thailand
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Decent experience.. Exceptional staff”
The rooms and facilities were all pretty good value for money. The wifi was good also. Best thing about the hotel was the lady on the check in desk named Gift. Very kind, welcoming, helpful and a ray of sunshine for the place. She was worked off her feet but gave outstanding service in spite of that. Many check in staff in other hotels are indifferent to customers so it was a pleasure to be welcomed in and out by such lovely staff. Location really good on Soi 8. Right next to 1 of the best sports bars in BKK. Excellent
Reviewed September 01, 2018
2.0
James from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Scam hotel. No rooms, tell lies, take your money”
Fed up with these scam little crap Bangkok hotels. Liars, cheats.... You told Agoda I turned up at 8am? Should we get proof from my previous better hotel of what time I checked out that afternoon to make my way to your little dump? How about we check your CCTV? Liars... take your 1,000 Baht! Also note, this little shed hole is located next to the BJ bars in a dirty little soi, has no lift for your luggage, and staff who wouldn't even be able to work in McDonalds back home. Muppets!
Reviewed August 27, 2018
2.8
WENJUN from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Acceptable”
(1)No elevator Luggage transfer by yourself ! (2)Equipment is very old (3)Bad customer Service   Serivice girl say "If you are dissatisfied, go to another hotel" Except location, everything is terrible It was the worst hotel in my life.
Reviewed August 21, 2018
8.4
Excellent
David from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
OK for the price”
For $20 it cost it is fine as I only wanted a room for a few hours. Probably wouldn't want to stay more than day or 2. When I checked in there was a Chinese guy giving the lovely receptionist a hard time over the standard of his room. She moved him 3 times to try and make him happy. What do you expect for $20. Very good location in Soi 8 and very close to Nana BTS
Reviewed August 20, 2018
3.6
Anthony from United States
Solo traveler
Double Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Terrible! Almost scary.”
The room was tiny, with no window. The Hotel has facilties. In the ad it showed a Commerical do it yourself Washer and Dryer, that was a main reason to choose it. They no longer have. I stayed 30 mintues and checked out without a refund.
Reviewed August 18, 2018
6.0
DAVID from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
You get what you pay for!”
On the plus side, the hotel was reasonably priced and very conveniently placed for use of the BTS metro - being about 100m from the station entrance. On the negative side, the room was jaded and in need of repair and repaint. There were black mould stains on the bathroom ceiling and a rotten wood panel near the shower. Also the sink tap was literally flapping around - something which should have been obvious to the maid, but had not been dealt with. I complained about the very poor TV service where every channel had white lines crossing the screen and the picture was jumping all the time. Nothing was done about my complaint. The TV service included only 2 channels in English but no English news channel. I booked breakfast with my room but I had to go to another hotel 1km away to get breakfast. Admittedly, transport was available, but it was quicker to walk rather than wait for the transport to arrive.
Reviewed August 14, 2018
3.6
Wang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Very noisy, cannot sleep at all. There is a constant "hammer" sound for every minute which started ”
at 4 am in the morning. It will disturb your sleep . When I request assistance from reception, they said it is the next door PUB/Kitchen but there is no one there and the PUB/Kitchen only open for Breakfast after 8:30am. I check out immediately
Reviewed August 07, 2018
2.0
RAYMOND from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
i stayed one night poor hotel need 3 nights refund please”
need refund only stayed one night i checked out sunday 5th august raymond zahra id 288651465 4 nights booked stayed 1 night only please refund 3 nights
Reviewed August 05, 2018
6.4
Good
KAI from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Nice location in basic hotel”
The hotel is located next to BTS Nana train stop and close to shopping malls, food, and night life. The room is small and the hotel could use some renovation. Also there are not any windows in the rooms! I have to have a window in my room! Agoda states this hotel has a city view. There is not any view from any of the rooms.
Reviewed July 18, 2018
6.4
Good
WATARU from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Good location”
good location from Nana station.
Reviewed July 13, 2018
3.6
SHOTARO from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Everything was dirty.”
There was cockroach in the bathroom, and there were bed bugs inside of the bed. The room was so dark and seemed not to be cleaned. I can’t believe this price
Reviewed July 04, 2018
3.6
Imtiaz from Germany
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Total Disaster !!”
I have been to many budget hotels and this was the worst of all. Clearly in this area you will hardly find a room with this price(we got an earlybird offer 25% off). But after spending a night I cursed myself to rather spend more money than staying in a shithole. Cleanliness is okay and only bright side is, the hotel is in Sukhumvit area. All our rooms were not finished upon ariival, key cards were not working and you have to call someone from reception everytime to open the rooms for you. Not to mention there is no lift, so if you forget you have to climb down staris from 3rd floor. Football Worldcup was on and the TV in our room doesnt work !!! For every question you ask receptionist had a prewritten answer and seemed like "I dont give a shit, take your room key and go away" And after all this when I asked for an extra pillow they ask for a fee 40 Bht/night for a Pillow !!! Pay a little more and get a better hotel and ofcourse dont be mesmerized with the shiny pictures.
Reviewed June 23, 2018
6.8
Good
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in June 2018
Cheap but Cheap”
Great low price and great location. Poor WIFI Loud noisy hotel. Old building with low budget.
Reviewed June 21, 2018
4.0
Tim from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Left this hotel and paid for another hotel”
I have stayed here a few times over the years. I will never step foot in this hotel again. I paid for a room here and ended up leaving and paying for another hotel the same night. The rooms have no windows and are claustrophobic. The room I was given had a stench of ammonia from all the mould in the room. I asked reception to change rooms but they refused and said they are all the same. I requested a refund they also refused. I couldn't breath in the room from the ammonia smell from the mould and ended up leaving the hotel and found another. I ignored the reviews but this time I wish I had taken note of them. Do yourself a favour and find another hotel.
Reviewed May 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rodney from Australia
Couple
Double Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
A good hotel ”
Royal Express Inn is in a reasonably good position, just off the main road . The hotel is close to a few eateries & a short walk to the main hub & transport. Staff are good, the room is good, & there's a tuk tuk service to the sister hotel for meals. A good hotel.
Reviewed April 30, 2018
5.2
Peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Convenient but seen better days”
This is a budget hotel in need of renovation but it's OK for one night or so if you want somewhere to lay your head.
Reviewed April 05, 2018
4.4
Peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
You can do better”
My room was dirty and unpleasant. Maybe I was unlucky as other guests were happy with their rooms. It is in a difficult location at the far end of Soi 4. There are much better options out there.
Reviewed April 03, 2018
6.0
Michael from New Zealand
Solo traveler
DOUBLE SUPERIOR - BED AND BREAKFAST
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Rooms very small and very old. Basic needs meet.”
Work was being carried out in neighbouring hotel. Very noisy and lots of dust in the air. A/C was working but very loud. Breakfast was down the road in another hotel. Swimming pool was down the road in another hotel. Hotel very basic.
Reviewed March 25, 2018
5.2
Gopinath from India
Solo traveler
Double Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Disappointing ”
I stayed here even before.Location is good,close to nana BTS,,Rooms are clean.But the big minus is this hotel doesn`t have lift and for the online bookings they are offering only 5th storey rooms,because no walkin guest or direct booking guests stays there.so we have to carry the baggages all the way to 5th floor and everytime we have to walk so much to reach our rooms and come back.No staffs in the hotel to help guests.only receptionist who give orders from her cabin.For the complimentary breakfast you have to walk 1.5km to a another hotel and have just bread and coffee as breakfast for which you pay 120Bhat.Overall its a big disappointment and i will never ever stay here.
Reviewed March 18, 2018
3.2
Wai from Myanmar
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Dirty place”
Dirty place Bed sheets were full of bugs
Reviewed March 07, 2018
5.2
Erkki from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
bad experience”
when i arrived to this hotel, the receptionist told me , that they have some problems with the aircon in some of their rooms, and because of this i have to stay in another hotel at the end of same soi. No compensation even i asked for it. Had not much choice, because it was already 10.30 pm, so i kind of agreed. Room was not worth the money, and a very loud aircon. not happy with my stay
Reviewed March 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Shah from Bangladesh
Couple
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
A Trip to Remember to Bangkok”
The hotel receptionist provided us a room in Royal Asia Lodge as there was no lift in Royal Express Inn. But we were happy for getting that room as there was 24 hours TUKTUK service from Royal Asia Lodge to the main Sukhumvit Road. The room was good and also the breakfast. We are satisfied and hope to stay there again.
Reviewed February 22, 2018
5.2
Peter from United States
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
No cockroaches this time”
No cockroaches this time but many ants. The bathroom still smells so bad
Reviewed February 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ahdee from Thailand
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
The owner very friendly ”
The room it clean.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Trevor from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Excellent value”
Excellent value, great staff, good location.
Reviewed February 09, 2018
6.0
Douglas from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Cheap basic and a great location ”
Nice hotel located around some nice restaurants and close to all the good nightlife spots. My room ok I didn’t have a window which meant the room smelled quite bad when the air con wasn’t on.
Reviewed February 05, 2018
5.2
Carlo from Switzerland
Business traveler
Double Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
No window room”
Stayed one night and left early, so the missing window was not really a problem. But it's a very simple and old fashioned room that could use a fresh up...
Reviewed February 05, 2018
7.2
Very good
Kok from Malaysia
Business traveler
Double Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Worth for money”
Acceptable
Reviewed February 02, 2018
6.4
Good
Kok from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
convenient ”
overall acceptable
Reviewed January 26, 2018
6.0
Alex from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Good location only”
The best is the location only, very convenient but the others still need to improve
Reviewed January 26, 2018
4.0
Stephen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Room too hotel, 4 floors but no lift”
The room is on a key card so the room takes at least 1hour to cool down, plus corridors like a sauna. This meant everytime I returned to hotel I had to take a shower to cool down = 4 showers for 1 night stay.
Reviewed January 25, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Lee from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
excellent value for money”
The staff were very friendly and knowledgable, while the location on Sukhumvit Soi 8 is super convenient to bars and restaurants without suffering from late night noise. The room was clean and bug-free, though not modern. Hot water and refrigerator also.
Reviewed January 17, 2018
3.2
Tobin from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Never again”
Stayed here 2 years ago and the lock on the door was broken, 2 years later the lock is still broken.
Reviewed January 16, 2018
6.4
Good
Steve from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
For a short visit ”
Ive stayed here a few times over the years, If you just need a 1 night affordable stay in a decent location close to BTS, food and drink its fine. The rooms are basic and the staff have minimal English but its hassle free. The room walls a bit thin so if you have a noisy neighbor if a pain. Try stay in the rooms at the end of each floor,
Reviewed January 08, 2018
6.8
Good
Tomas from Sweden
Couple
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Basic hotel with good location ”
It's very close to Sukhumvit but still quiet. Just turn first right at soi 8. As some travellers has noted before me there's a smell of mold there, mainly in reception area which is a bit odd. I have stayed in much worse hotel for that money so If you are looking for something cheap and don't have to high expectations it's a good choice...
Reviewed January 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
dennischin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good location”
It's okay
Reviewed December 29, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
bryn from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Fine for a quick stay”
I just needed a quick stop over after arriving on a late flight. This hotel was fine and good value. Located in a party area so keep that in mind -- I had no issues.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
2.0
Mohammed from Oman
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Acceptable”
THe room too small , and the photo which showed different then the reality , also no left . Bad experience
Reviewed December 22, 2017
5.2
GREGORY from Belgium
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Dark and noisy”
No comment
Reviewed December 11, 2017
5.6
Mahendra from India
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Good Location with low cost for solo traveller”
Pros Good location, 2mins walk from nearest metro station, low cost, good for solo traveller, clean bathroom Cons Very small sized rooms. Bed sheets and towels are washed but they had turned yellowish due to long usage. Needed to be replaced. Toiletries provided were very cheap. No lifts. I was on fourth floor and had to take the stairs every time. Overall good for solo travelers looking for cheap accommodation. May not be suitable for families or couples
Reviewed December 09, 2017
8.4
Excellent
oscar from Spain
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Good value for money, excellent location and quiet. Not lift ”
Pros: location, quiet, not noisy at all, good value for money Cons: not lift and normally private rooms are in the top floors, not the newest hotel
Reviewed December 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jays from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Good”
Good
Reviewed December 01, 2017
5.2
tina from Australia
Couple
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Ok”
It's a ok hotel close to nana bts and it's a very busy street at night time with a lot of tourists. The only down fall of the hotel is they don't change your sheets. We stayed 6 days and asked them to change our sheet and blanket they only turn it inside out
Reviewed November 28, 2017
2.0
KEUNTAERNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
worst hotel”
Staff of reception was very bad attitude. I only paid money but I didn't stay this hotel. It was the worst hotel ever.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
5.6
Mehdi from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
OK at best”
The card security system did not work which meant a staff had to go up and down to open the door for me every time I needed to go in or out the room.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
3.2
Ye
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
No security”
The receptionist was rude, and she told us to come back exact at 2am as she has to sleep. We called to Agoda Hotline; only then she told us that we could come back anytime. Moreover, the doors were not able to lock also.
Reviewed November 06, 2017
5.2
April from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Above average”
The room we stayed needs a little maintenance and the pictures posted is very different from the actual room.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
6.4
Good
Mark from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Clacking of high heels”
Budget accommodation. There seemed to be a lot of coming and going, but the location is good, hidden in a small alley off Soi 8, and only fifty odd metres from Sukhumvit Road. The rooms are small and it's impossible to move around the bed without getting a bruised leg, but that said the bed was comfortable and the room reasonably clean. The bathroom was Thai basic. Service seemed nonchalant. Still, it's very much a budget option at under 800baht/night, offers reasonable comfort and certainly doesn't dissuade company from dropping by.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
4.8
Paul from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Acceptable”
Didn’t expect much because of the price. But most prison cells would be more pleasant than this place. Clearly aimed at people sampling the delights of the many nearby bars
Reviewed October 25, 2017