Book Now: Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai

Very good
From 3025 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (3025)Booking.com Reviews (1345)
7.3
Very good
From 3025 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.3
Facilities6.5
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.4
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
简体中文
日本語
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 2760 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Yatanar from Myanmar
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great Location”
Room should have better facilities. Internet is terrible.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
6.0
Thuy from Vietnam
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Close to the old town. Wifi can hardly be accessed”
Pros: Location, value for money Cons: wifi
Reviewed February 11, 2018
2.4
Yan from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Miserable experience.”
The pictures and info on this hotel on Agoda's website are very misleading. The room I was offered bore little or no resemblance to the photos - very old, very small TV with no English-language news channels, old and badly maintained bathroom, in-room facilities fell far short of the list in the advertisement, etc. I chose the more expensive "breakfast included" option, but no breakfast available in the hotel - they offer a chit for another hotel some distance away. Agoda needs to get its act together and advertise fairly! A hotel to be avoided!
Reviewed February 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Morgan from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Cheap and cheerie ”
Good value for a cheap hotel
Reviewed February 09, 2018
2.0
Mario from Germany
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
DONT SLEEP HERE!!”
This Hotel is a Desaster. Next to the Hotel is a caraoke bar, which is Loud Till 1 am. The walls are extremly Thin, it is really loud when your neibourg puts his charger into the socket. Also the Hotel is Next to a mainroad. The elevator Closes only a few seconds after it opens and looks like ages old. The AC-Outsidepart is On the balcony, Next to the window. So its really loud when its on. We ordered a doublebed and a single bed room but only get 2 Single bed rooms for the First Night. Also we had some cancelation problems with the reservation about agoda. The lady at the receiption told us, we can cancel one night for free with the App. 5 minutes later, she told us we have to pay 1300 baht. Her boss did not want to help us either and wasnt able to the split the cost or something. (We already slept a few Night in the Hotel before this Problem occurred.) You can See some pictures from the bathroom mold in this Rating and a picture about the laundry pricelist. For an example: they want 40 baht for short pants, 20 baht for socks and 100 baht for a towel. Also there were no bathrobes as they promise in the agoda offer. I wouldnt check in this Hotel a Second Time.
Reviewed February 08, 2018
6.0
Wolfram from Austria
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Sadly disappointed. It used to be my favorite. ”
Used to be fancy, the last times we found it very detriorated, the stars of this property are falling literally down. Price is right but if you want to extend your stay and pay at the front desk get ready to pay at least twice as much.
Reviewed February 03, 2018
7.2
Very good
Julio from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Spacious room”
The hotel has great price. It is located just outside old town but you can easily walk to it. The furniture is outdated but the room is spacious and has everything you need.
Reviewed January 26, 2018
4.0
Daniel from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
False Advertising”
The hotel lies about having a swimming pool. The hotel does not have a pool. Instead they say you can walk to a pool 10-15 minutes away and maybe swim there. Don't support a hotel that intentionally lies to customers. Don't stay at this hotel with it dishonest management.
Reviewed January 11, 2018
4.0
Shin-Heng from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
Bad choice, overpriced”
Terrible insulation from noise; smells of cigarettes in non smoking rooms.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Danijel from Croatia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in November 2017
Excellent value for money! Hotel is old but the rooms are very clean and big.”
Best value for the money that you can get. Very clean, big rooms, location very near to old town, staff speaks decent english. Only downsides are that the hotel is old and worn out and not even one machine in the gym worked, they are all broken. Would definitely stay here again!
Reviewed December 04, 2017
5.2
john from Denmark
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Take care Rip off”
Broken water bottle, same as give free 2 a day, they try charges you 50 Bath value 0 to max. 5 Bath, I have to argue og call hotel manneger , he low down to 30bath😂 . I have stay many time and compare to the price (max. 700B) No more , it's ok, but this time they want to Rip me off 50Bath , I just don't understand why not ask me for 50 B to Christmas or something?🤗.
Reviewed December 03, 2017
4.8
Felipe from Chile
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
bad attention”
the receptionist make my life impossible. I stayed in there for almost 1 month and when I get some problem she never gave me a solution. I ask for a change of booking like for 3 weeks and she told me than just agoda could give me the solution cause they, like hotel, didn't manage their reservations and finally when I needed again a solution for a problem with booking I went directly to talk with the manager and she inmediately told me than i first i have to talk with the hotel people cause the app didnt give me any solution, so the receptionist just didnt want to help, really really anoying situation and i stay for almost a month, minimun a few pf help. then I wanted to change a booking name and the same, we can't help you just the app, when I was calling a girl who was passing out gave me an really easy solution with just listen my problem, problem solve In 2 minutes with her and the other receptionist take me in there like 45 minutes with me trying to understand, made me expend 150 baht extra on a phone call and she knows an easiest way... nothing to say, the bad elements doesn't matter the good of the hotel, just wanted to do anything to help the people. the same girl when I was sleeping called me almost 30 min to pay 1 more night and didn't let me rest a lots of times, and I was a good client I think. she is a bad bad element. a shame cause i have to come back some times in to Chiang Mai, I like the hotel cause is good for price, but if you have a bad staff i don't want to come back again in there....
Reviewed November 29, 2017
6.4
Good
Prachai from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
You get what you pay ( Not bad )”
Compare to what I paid at THB 980 net for 2 nights with a spacious room and private bathroom even the room is a bit old but It's fine for me. ( Not too bad ). Cleanliness is quite OK . WIFI is average and works well during day time and after midnight. a convenient store 7-11 is just around the corner.
Reviewed November 09, 2017
6.4
Good
Brendan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Great 10 Years Ago”
Panerai looks like it must’ve been a pretty fancy place ten or twenty years ago. The facilities are decent, but a bit run down and not a clean as other places. There was a musty smell in the room, but it was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was a fantastic price though, so really can’t complain.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
6.8
Good
Kanokwan from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
good parking”
Hot water free next to the elevator
Reviewed November 03, 2017
6.0
Simon from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
A good hotel for the money ( 500 baht) ”
I always stay there when in Chiang Mai. For me it's a convenient well priced hotel.There's a 7/11 just outside, If you turn left there is few Thai eating places 2 to 3 hundred metres up the road.. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to town depending where you're going . Maybe a little noisy sometimes if the Chinese are in. There's covered parking. Reception can order a taxi or just use Uber, Grab as they're far cheaper.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
7.2
Very good
Junho from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Just one night”
deserve to be treated as you pay
Reviewed October 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jason from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
very good”
There is nothing more to wish for.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jason from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
friendly staffs”
friendly and helpful staffs.Reception staffs can speak english very well.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jason from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 30 nights in September 2017
everything nice”
recommend strongly
Reviewed October 22, 2017
3.6
Thanaphat from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Acceptable”
Everything almost broke!! The room is smale bad. But just one thing the staff are very nice.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Julio from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Had a very good stay and would return”
My room was spacious, airy and comfortable. The staff were always very friendly and accommodating of requests. It is close enough for a walk to old town yet quiet to sleep at night. You have 7/11 next door and few restaurants also. I could park my bike underneath the hotel also.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Saifon from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Excellent”
what we missed its that it was not caldor for to make coffee or tea in the room. we had this in other cheaper hotels.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Julio from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in October 2017
Very good place to stay in chiang mai”
The prices are great and you are only a short distance from the old town. There is a 7/11 next door too. The staff is very friendly, the room is spacious and overall i had a great stay at this property. It can be a bit noise on the corridor close to the lift with people talking loud.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Alex from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Great value big rooms just outside the square”
Just out of the square no too far from the main square, slightly old and clearly used to be a very nice hotel however the price reflects that and overall is a very good deal compared to other accommodations at the same price bracket.
Reviewed October 07, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jason from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
cheap but the best”
cheap but the best
Reviewed September 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Morgan from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Good value ”
Good value
Reviewed September 24, 2017
4.4
Diana from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Not a good hotel”
I find that the whole fixture is so old. Mattress so hard, TV does not work, cater only for Thai people, have no English movies and also no breakfast offered. Makes it so inconvenient and the staffs don't know how to recommend where to eat.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
good hotel”
comfort to stay
Reviewed September 10, 2017
7.2
Very good
stefano from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Cheap and easy”
Easy place to stop for few days.
Reviewed September 05, 2017
5.6
BENG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in July 2017
An economical hotel for a no-frill stay”
Negatives: (1) Their booking website said they have a swimming pool - but they DON'T! The swimming pool belongs to their sister hotel, which is about 150 metres down the road. I could use the pool though - just need to show the room key to the sister hotel. But I'll need to dress up, walk and change. I would prefer that their website / Booking.com site list the ACTUAL facility instead of a non-existing one. (2) Rooms are clean and basic. Quite an old hotel with ageing furnishing and an old fashion TV. (3) It's away from the happening areas of Tha Pae Gate; and the morning market. However, after a few walks, it's ok and pleasant to walk actually; for about 10 minutes to the market; and 20 minutes to Tha Pae Gate. (4) No in-house cafe. Positives: 1) Value for money for a no-frill stay. 2) Huge room with good bed. 3) Housekeeping is good. Clean linen and clean towels everyday.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
Ian from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Best value in Chang Mai”
if you don't mind a bit of a walk to the town then this hotel can not be beaten for value. Pool and eating facilities are available almost next door at a sister hotel. It is our second long term stay at this hotel.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Zhen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Good price for a hotel inside the city”
the furniture is old. the water tap is leaky but for the price and location, its worth it
Reviewed July 25, 2017
4.0
Burton from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Falling apart”
TV broken, no water, changed rooms, not much better
Reviewed July 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Saravanan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Very economic stay and cleanlyness hotel”
The staffs are very friendly and good location for family stays.
Reviewed June 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
CHIU from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Clean,big room,staff helpful ”
Clean and bigger room, bed very nice sleep, and also cheap, next visit i am sure stay here again,walking distance to food street,night market.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Robert from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in April 2017
Recommended hotel ”
Staff are very polite and helpful. Attend to requests promptly. The room is large though slightly dated but tolerable. It is clean, quiet, omfortable and has daily housekeeping. The bathroom has no towel rail and the shower curtain is slightly too short causing water to splash over floor. The location is excellent with walking distance to Tesco Lotus (about 15 mins) on the right and to the old city (about 5 mins) on the opposite direction. There is a 7 eleven next door and taxi at the front. There is no kettle for coffee or tea making. Otherwise all standard toiletries provided.We will definitely use this hotel again.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Anthony from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 22 nights in March 2017
Very good all round place to stay at.”
The staff were quite friendly and helpful and the cleaners done a fantastic job every day. The location suited me because it was just only a 20 minute walk to the Old Chiangmai area. Very nice bed to sleep in, but all of the pillows were too big and thick. Trouble with adjusting the air conditioning and only cold water was available in the room I stayed in.
Reviewed April 19, 2017
7.6
Very good
Timothy from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
mediocre but cheap at AUD$20 a night”
Big rooms and comfortable. A bit worn out and soulless. Does the job and cheap. Location pretty good. Staff not very switched on.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tony from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Good hotel”
fantastic value, good pool, good wifi, safe parking, clean rooms
Reviewed April 18, 2017
6.8
Good
joohyun from South Korea
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Spacious room with old furnishings, acceptable location, still value for money”
Staff is always smiling thats nice but not really attentive when i pointed out my fridge is not working at all, but slightly cool in the freezer part. Neither offered the fridge replaced nor changed a room for three nights,... Having stayed with a baby, it was upsetting, needed a fridge but luckily baby food never kept in the fridge as my solution. Shower handle broken and no hair dryer as described, Nothing special but spacious room for baby stroller i can push around. Still value for money!
Reviewed April 04, 2017
7.6
Very good
Gianluca from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
great place for $13/night ”
hotel was supposed to be very nice but now is old with poor maintenance. Personnel are very kind, clean is reasonable but poor linen in the bed. AC, TV, hot water working good and big space in the room. Position is great and you can book excursions directly in the hotel. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget place to stay and if you are not demanding.
Reviewed April 01, 2017
6.0
Daniel from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Peng mak! This should be much less expensive for what you get. No options for longer stay. Staff :)”
Staff great but too hard to keep booking prices change too often
Reviewed March 31, 2017
6.4
Good
Adam from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Restaurant closed”
The restaurant has been closed at this hotel, and all breakfast at dining facilities are now located at another hotel (Royal Peninsula) 5 minute walk away, although the food there was good. We had booked 2 rooms, 1 room had a balcony but the other was overlooking the entrance where all the balconies have been enclosed with glass, including the external aircon unit, so this room became an unbearable 100+ degrees! This also meant the room did not have any form of opening windows! The rooms were fairly spacious for the price, and hairdryers were available from reception with a deposit. There are NO tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms cleaned daily.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
7.2
Very good
ARTHUR from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
my 4 days in Chiang Mai”
I stayed at the Royal Pannerai 3 years ago.i have to say i think standards have slipped since then-i would describe it as tired and in need of renovation. It took 2 days before they got my fridge going.The staff though are very helpful.The location is good and its quiet. It remains good value for money and i will stay there when i return.
Reviewed March 05, 2017
6.4
Good
aad from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Good”
It's quite worn and needs some renovating.
Reviewed March 05, 2017
4.8
declan from Ireland
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Ok but not great ”
Not a lot to say just an ok hotel
Reviewed March 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
thomas from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017
staff are helpful and friendly”
perfect
Reviewed February 22, 2017
2.0
Siti from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Location far from town, difficult to find food”
Room condition no so good. Not well maintain, toilet's door broken not repair, water pressure for bathroom slow, lift also problem, can open but cannot closed. A lots of mosquito...if look for budget. This hotel is so so lah...
Reviewed February 13, 2017
4.4
WEE from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Far away from street food”
Near old city but far away from street food and night street bazaar which is along Chang Lor
Reviewed February 08, 2017