Book Now: Royal Tulip Luxury Hotel Carat - Guangzhou

2018

Royal Tulip Luxury Hotel Carat - Guangzhou Reviews

Very good
From 791 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10

Reviews of Royal Tulip Luxury Hotel Carat - Guangzhou Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (791)Booking.com Reviews (299)
7.6
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities6.9
Location6.3
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service7.6
Value for money8.1
All languages
All guests (791)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 613 verified guest comments
3.2
Pankaj
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Review score”

The services and the facilities of the hotel have deteriorated tremendously. The front desk staff neither understands English nor is cordial. House keeping is not upto the standards. The pool remains shut down always even during my earlier visit in April, 2018 it was under the renovation. Since the hotel is not situated in the commercial area thus transport / taxi is a big issue.

Reviewed May 01, 2019
6.8
Good
Julie from South Africa
Solo traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Let down ”

I check in at 5:20 am. Mailed the hotel before to advise when I had not booked a room for the previous day. Said they would try and assist on check in. They did not assist and it cost me a fortune for a room to sleep for 3 hrs. Was exhausted after an international flight so did not put up a fight

Reviewed May 11, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Rushani
Group
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 6 nights in February 2019

Great hotel/ Brealfast options could improve.”

Rooms were great and so was the cleaning staff. They replaced everything and helped with anything we needed. Language was not an issue in this hotel However, would prefer if the English breakfast options were better. And maybe more options in chicken/ seafood.

Reviewed March 07, 2019
8.0
Excellent
hak from South Korea
Family with young children
Superior King
Stayed 18 nights in November 2016

Clean Up to DATE!”

Very Clean and Up to date on all facility, only concern is everyone in China smokes and you cannot avoid this. Unfortunately the ventilation is central so if your neighbor smoke you will smell it in your room. I did ask for Non-Smoking floor but unfortunately Native Chinese do not follow this Standard or Respect of No SMOKING... Other than that everything else was above average compared to others I have seen. Staff is average as they seem to help but not really when it came to smoking, but everything else was average as the Staff needs to learn more about listening to the Customers especially when you have kids that are young and people are smoking on THE SAME FLOOR.

Reviewed November 16, 2017
8.0
Excellent
diego from Italy
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Comfortable room for reasonable price”

Comfortable room, reasonable price, good service

I use to sleep often in this hotel that is comfortable and easy to reach by taxi from the airport. Carat is not close to underground exit and even not well known by taxi drivers so I suggest to show them the address written in Chinese language.

Reviewed December 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
diego from Italy
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

good hotel for any kind of traveller”

comfortable rooms and good facilities

I've already reviewed this hotel before, I confirm I feel good at Royal Tulip. Rooms are comfortable, the lobby staff is polite and helpful, breakfast food is delicious and the most of the facilities like wifi internet in the room, swimming pool, fitness room are free. I would only suggest not to choose the window rooms overlooking the elevated highway, it's not so noisy but I prefer another landscape.

Reviewed January 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Sze from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Great hotel but not all staff is well trained”

Value for money, 24-hour room service that provide nice western food menu

Room is clean and everything is new and lovely, which make me feel like home although I was travelling on my own. I love the design of the separate shower and washroom-creative way of designing the door which is shared by two rooms. Also, they offer tea set of Harrods! This is a little thing that probably make most people feel happy. Some of the front desk staff can speak well English. This is helpful for foreign travellers. I am just unhappy when I dined in their restaurant after I checked-out my room, and they don't accept my debit card payment. I have been using that same card to make all payments during my stays, yet I don't understand why this issue only happened once I checked-out my hotel room.

Reviewed January 18, 2013
8.3
Excellent
diego from Italy
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

good hotel for comfort and price”

comfortable rooms for a honest price

I've already spent some time at Royal Tulip and I can consider it one of the best hotel in Guangzhou regarding the quality/price ratio. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast buffet is generous and the facilities like the spa, swimming pool and fitness room are appreciated. The staff at the lobby is kind and helpful. I must admit that during my last visit I had a bad service from the laundry because I asked a pair of my trousers to be cleaned but I got them back with the same dirty spots they had before. Anyway apart this, I consider my staying at Royal Tulip a good time.

Reviewed January 17, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Beh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Great little hotel”

Refreshing

The hotel is small but comprehensive. Location wise, it is quite strategic. The room are quite nicely decorated although the room size could be rather small. The Chinese restaurant is good and reasonably priced. If you want a good start for your day, try the breakfast which is very nicelly set up, with good spread of choices. Getting a cab from the hotel is not a problem.

Reviewed August 14, 2012
8.7
Excellent
HEE from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

Classy hotel”

Elegant and posh settings. Nice spa and great chinese restaurant.

the hotel is located in guangzhou city but there isn't any metro or subway station nearby though. nevertheless it is very accessible via taxi/self drive. the in-house chinese restaurant serves excellent chinese cuisine. the deluxe room we stayed in was very comfortable and nicely decorated. beautiful bathtub and nice amenities. room service was prompt and staff were very friendly and courteous. overall, a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed August 09, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Beh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Great room with great location”

small boutique hotel

The hotel is situated at strategy location. Although the total number of rooms is small, the hotel surprising provides complete and good service. Coupled with the modern features, the hotel is recommended for business travellers. The morning breakfast restaurant comes with a very modern design and should not be miss. The spread is good enough for a sumptious breakfast. The hotel comes with good features with a reasonable price.

Reviewed July 02, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Mustafa from India
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

beautiful and modern decor

very beautiful new and modern decor , nice ambience, big swimming pool and gym, comfortable rooms with all the facilities, i enjoyed my stay and will definetely stay at the same hotel in my next trip to gz.

Reviewed August 03, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Siau from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011

good hotel except transparent toilet”

nice hotel, good service, modern designed room

we like the hotel very much, but for business traveller, it is very inconvenient especially i was sharing a room with a new colleague. there is no door for the toilet, and there is a huge mirror in front of the 'doorless' toilet, so you can see what your roommate clearly.

Reviewed June 22, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Henny from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

Excellent hotel”

Very new and beautiful

The stay is a very memorable one. The hotel is very new with beautifully decorated rooms. The bathroom is very big and very high class. The lobby and the dining area is very grand. The hotel areas and rooms are very clean. The views are good. I will definately stay there again.

Reviewed April 20, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Maurice
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 7 nights in April 2019

Very nice Hotel!!”

The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious!!

Reviewed April 29, 2019
6.8
Good
Min from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

NICE”

CLEAN AND NICE LOCATION

Reviewed April 06, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Nawaz from India
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Recommended for business trips”

This hotel is very centrally located and suited for business trips.

Reviewed January 23, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Nigel
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Yop drawer”

The Hotel was really well laid out and facilities great. Biggest thing for me was the Staff their could not do enough for us. good English speakers and extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewed April 18, 2019
6.8
Good
Adam from Canada
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

Good”

No metro line near, Taxi hard to get there, not easy to be understand at the front desk, few walls not clean. Rooms are clean and really convenient.

Reviewed January 21, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Min from South Korea
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Very Good!”

Nice hotel,clean and breakfast is good.

Reviewed November 21, 2018
6.4
Good
SHIBU from India
Solo traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Nice hotel - value for money ”

Pro - nice hotel value for money with excellent facilities Con - location is only issue. Below a express way flyover. Nothing much nearby. But taxi is available easily. The room sound proofing isn't that great.

Reviewed March 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
LI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Good to stay but always need taxi”

I like the free swimming pool and the gym very much. But you need to hire a taxi in and out. The nearest subway is 2.5 km away but the taxi fare is relatively cheap (around CNY 25 if you go the the city center).

Reviewed July 04, 2016
7.0
Very good
Swee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Comfortable room”

Free transportation to city, comfortable room, good wifi

Generally is good but personally I don't like the bathroom structure. Just one door sharing for toilet and bath area. Transparent glass which is not convenient for 2 business traveler staying in 1 room.

Reviewed November 06, 2015
6.7
Good
Linda from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Too transparent ”

Include international breakfast, nice bed and quiet environment.

The bathroom is too transparent with only 1 door shared by bathroom and toilet. Feel uneasy even though staying alone. However, the bed is very comfortable and serves reasonable international breakfast. Top Up only rmb30 for another pax. Not sure is it cheap or it should have been complimentary.

Reviewed August 03, 2015
8.0
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Royal Tulip Hotel GuangZhou China”

comfortable beds, decent room, good breakfast

Overall stay was good, location for my needs was ideal, room was clean, breakfast reasonable, room clean, shower decent, beds very comfortable. Only downside was internet was very poor for a 5 star hotel in the room, had to use through phone and 4G to get anything done, which for business travellers is not ideal, worked well in lobby and restaurant, but not where i want to be conducting my business and checking emails and doing work etc.

Reviewed July 23, 2015
5.3
Swee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Staff without ad hoc experience”

free shuttle bus to city and fair, cocktail provided after the fair make us feel warm

This is my second stay and I have a bad experience this round as I lost my personal belonging during the fair due to pick pocket. Hotel staff without ad hoc experience and can't render much help to me. I have requested to talk to Duty Manager, but no one was turn up. They could handle their service well at all time except the emergency case which is lack of training and professionalism in my personal point of view. I will try out another hotel due to this incident.

Reviewed November 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Splendid Hotel for the Money”

The Staff and The Modernity of the Hotel

I was pleasantly surprised by how wonderfully modern this hotel was, particularly for the cost. It is a good value. The hotel staff was excellent from the front desk to the concierge to the cleaning staff. The only drawback is the location. It is a taxi ride (12 RMB) away from Sanyuanli station which is the nearest to the Metro line. Staying here necessitates frequent taxi rides. There are restaurants on the other side of the freeway and some shopping areas and China post about 1 km away.

Reviewed November 09, 2014
3.0
leng from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

no air con”

food ,toilet,price

This is the first 5 star hotel i stay without air con,the room is like heater, when i complaint to front desk,they just ignore me,when i keep complaint, they offer me a fan ,the next day change me to another room but still the same ,no air con too ,omg ,this is summer ,i cant even stay inside the room ,so bad experience, and the staff is rude ,when raining ,they dont even have umbrellas to use so you can catch a taxi,and they dont call taxi for youv,reason is they have taxi company number

Reviewed September 17, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Sarah from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Comfortable Stay and Friendly Staff”

Friendly staff, comfortable bed and nice breakfast

I stayed here for two nights, and overall had a good stay. I booked a "superior room," although on the agoda site there was no option to specify king or twin, so when I arrived, only twin was available. I also received a room without bathtub (which was listed on the room description on agoda and on their hotel website). When I asked the front desk, they switched me to a room with a bathtub. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were tidy and nice. Wifi was available in my room. The breakfast was pretty good, having a range of western and Chinese dishes. I ordered a hamburger for room service, which they said would come in 25 minutes. After an hour I called back and they seemed surprised that I actually wanted them to deliver it to my room! They promptly brought it up. I wasn't displeased with the staff or service, but felt like some things weren't up to a five star standard. It is definitely a China 5 star. Everytime I needed something, however, the staff was quite helpful and friendly.

Reviewed July 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Supatat from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

Clean, Friendly Staff, Good Service”

Cleanliness, Comfortable rooms, Good staff service

I have stayed in this hotel for a few times already. They have free return shuttle bus to Canton Fair. They provide free snacks at the hotel after you returned from Canton Fair. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice and big swimming pool. However, choice of food at the restaurant and room service is limited.

Reviewed May 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
MIA from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

I love staying at the Royal Tulip Carat! ”

(1) room is big, very nice, and love the bathtub. (2) very quiet. (3) great buffet breakfast

I love my stay in Royal Tulip Carat Hotel. I stayed there 3 times total. I love the big rooms, the bathtub and really nice amenities in the room. I love the quiet surroundings all around the hotel. I feel I'm on vacation even when I'm here on business because of the "relaxing" feel of the hotel.

Reviewed May 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Thomas from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

Luxury Hotel”

Clean, Luxury, Large Rooms

It is a very nice and clean hotel with large room. Nice selection on breakfast menus, although the fried rice was tasteless. Internet was very slow, and hard to connect. Long distance to MRT Station, you need a taxi to get around guangzhou. I stayed there during Canton Fair, so the hotel provided shuttle bus to get to canton fair for free. The staff speaks english although not very well, but better than most Chinese standard. Overall, I like this hotel for the cleanliness and the large rooms. Very Comfortable.

Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Kee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Generally good, just wifi reception is poor”

Quiet surroundings, big rooms and clean

I have always choose this hotel for my china stays. It is alright in general, big room, very clean, staff and housekeeping service are very fast. The only disatissfaction for this trip is the free wifi reception in my room is really really poor and this is very inconvenient to us who came here for business trip. I hope they can upgrade this to a better service. I haven't select their breakfast package for some time as the breakfast wasn't that good and variety, so hopefully they will be some changes in future too.

Reviewed April 18, 2014
6.7
Good
diego from Italy
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

Good business hotel”

price, breakfast, airport direct highway

I remember I was not very satisfied of my staying at Royal Tulip Luxury Hotel Carat last summer. The maintenance was poor and internet connection very slow. Therefore my favorite hotel in Guangzhou lost appeal in that period.

Reviewed January 07, 2014
7.7
Very good
diego from Italy
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

good and comfortable service for reasonable price”

comfortable room, reasonable price, smooth service

Last summer I was a little bit not satisfied about Carat, I came back and the cleanliness of the room looks better. My room is wide enough with possibility to open the window, the bed is very comfortable. Internet connection is not very fast.

Reviewed December 10, 2013
6.7
Good
Joris from France
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

Good Hotel If you do not need Internet”

Shuttle Bus to the Guangzhou Fair, Some of the Rooms are Nice

I often go to this hotel (probably 5th time already) but it might be the lats time... The hotel is fine even if there is nothing behind. Main comments: * Some of the rooms have no windows but you should be aware of this when you book * Some of the rooms are extremely noisy (close to the Highway) and I had to change room during my last stay * The Internet is the worst I have seen in years so don't go there if you need a real connection. Might be my last stay there (because of the internet)

Reviewed November 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
OPHELIA from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Great hotel, Modern, Spacious, comfortable rooms”

Good, clean, good service.

the Royal Tulip has been the best hotel I have experienced! The rooms are spacious , comfortable bed , soft bed linen ,beautifully decorated and the surrounding very peace . it located very near baiyun mountain ( about 15min walk ) and Canton fair . beside that it nearer to all the wholesale market ( • Baima Market (the most popular one, located opposite Guangzhou Railway Station) • Tianma (next to Bama and famous for domestic brand clothes) • Xindadi (situated opposite Bama and mainly sales woolen sweaters and cardigans) • Zhanxi (a shopping street of many wholesale markets) • Hongmian Bubugao (located behind Bama and famous for women's clothing ) bad point is where ever u go need to be travel by cab .

Reviewed September 09, 2013
7.7
Very good
RINA from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013

Peaceful and quiet environment”

Comfortable bed, Food, Space

It was my second trip to Royal Tulip Carat. Its located near some hills and gives you a peaceful feelings. It is quiet during day and night, I would recommend this hotel if you want to getaway from noisy and busy traffic.

Reviewed August 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
MIA from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Great hotel. Love the interiors. Room is superb. ”

the bathtub. the room with high ceiling. the location.

very pleasant stay. I love the quietness and peacefulness of the hotel. The ambiance is really luxurious. The room was really nice! Love the bed and high ceiling. I really love the bathroom and the bathtub! The food in the restaurants -- Home Kitchen and the Dragon are a bit pricey but not worth the price, as the food was just ok.. but I will definitely come back and stay in this hotel again!

Reviewed August 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Supatat from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 7 nights in May 2013

Everything is good except the wireless”

Clean, Nice decoration and Modern

Some staffs are quite helpful but some aren't. Everything else is good except the wireless. The signal is very low and unstable. We like the hotel decoration and its not that far from the airport compare to other hotels. However, its very hard for the taxi to get to this hotel because they didn't know this hotel.

Reviewed June 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Supatat from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Everything is good except the internet”

Clean, Modern and Convenient

Everything is good except the internet. The signal is very low and unstable. We like the hotel decoration and its not that far from the airport compare to other hotels. However, its very hard for the taxi to get to this hotel because they didn't know this hotel Some staffs are quite helpful but some aren't.

Reviewed June 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Supatat from Thailand
Couple
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 8 nights in April 2013

Everything is good except the wireless”

Clean, Nice decoration and Modern

Everything is good except the wireless. The signal is very low and unstable. Some staffs are quite helpful but some aren't. We like the hotel decoration and its not that far from the airport compare to other hotels. However, its very hard for the taxi to get to this hotel because they didn't know this hotel.

Reviewed June 03, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Kee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

Comfy and quiet”

Well it is a affordable yet good services hotel in terms of staff efficiency, the cleaniless, the standard and design of the hotel.

I stay in this hotel every time I come for a business trip. It is not a 5 stars rate hotel but it definitely worth staying with the value of money. The staff are usually very helpful and quite efficiency. The rooms are spacious and clean even though sometimes there will be something in the bathroom malfunction but in general I am very happy with the rooms. The chinese restaurant are good so it gives us another option without having to go out to get food after work time. The breakfast have to improve instead as they have limited choices and one thing must improve is the coffee. I never can enjoy a good coffee here so it somehow disappointing me.

Reviewed May 31, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jens from Germany
Business traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Carat hotel is an affordable solution ”

swimming pool, design, breakfast

It was a nice stay, i appreciated the free shuttle to the convention center at this time. I recommend everyone a stay in this hotel due to the nice large rooms, the good buffeets and great service they offered.It was my second stay and for sure the next years i will return to this place.

Reviewed May 08, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Alain from Canada
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013

Ok Budget Hotel For a Conference”

Best things were: breakfast, clean room and shuttle to conference.

The stay at the Carat was fine. Any extras are expensive so if you are looking for dinner or spa treatments, expect to pay the same or more than what you would pay in North America. Including close to 2$ to print one sheet of paper at the business center. Hotel isnt near anything by walking distance so the location isnt perfect. Its right in the middle of multiple highways so its a little odd.

Reviewed April 29, 2013
7.0
Very good
Raymond from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Should Focus on Pricing and being a Business Hotel”

Fast Internet, decent size room, comes with breakfast

Its a very nice hotel with generous corridors to rooms. It has a luxurious feel about the place but on the other hand, it is strange to have a hotel full of paintings of bugs on the corridors to the room. I really think the management should think about this issue. On the other hand, all rooms should have windows!

Reviewed April 23, 2013
6.3
Good
Ritchie from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

The Hotel Staff Can't Speak English”

comfort bed, large rooms, and complete amenities

Comfort And large Room, we enjoyed our stay here. They had great bed rooms. I'll means they really care every aspects details in our bed room. All we need we can find in the bed room. But they had poor english staff. We must used body language if want to order something. and I must to tell you guys, D'ont try the Bar Lounge! It's really bad service there, we need to pay first before they prepare our food. The price for restaurant is a bit overprice and we must waiting more than 1 hours to get our spagetti and burger. I must find the waitress by my self to call them. Because there's no staff inside the lounge.

Reviewed April 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Eng from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013

Good value for a getaway”

value, quiet, unobtrusive

First impressions at night were a bit iffy. At the front of the hotel is a large flyover with heavy traffic. At the bottom in the front street is a bit desolate but a few tiny shops. Further in, a car repair shops and a few suspect food vendors. The view outside our window was a concrete dormitory and electrical wires in every direction. At first light, we looked about the hotel and were impressed with the lobby and noise-deflecting design of the hotel complex. The breakfast buffet was first-rate. Seating is spacious and staff was unobtrusive but quick to serve when asked. The design elements of the rooms and public areas were impressive. Upon closer inspection, you can see maintenance and upon is being skimped. Algae can be found in the children's area of the pool. When disturbed, the water is filled with floating black debris. In the back stairways, paint is already peeling away. Overall, what you get is great value for a true 5-star hotel. We chose it for our 20th anniversary. The front desk sent a small box of chocolates but no other offers. Overall, we'd come again. Quiet, great value and a quick getaway for a romantic fix.

Reviewed April 05, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jens from Germany
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Very nice hotel-good value for money!”

Swimming pool, design, food

In that hotel you can get best value for your money, pool is very nice, nicely decorated, gym is nice. Only little downturn is the high price for the spa, which has almost european prices, could be a bit cheaper. Meanwhile my stay i didnt have any problems with the staff, all are prompt in replying to your concerns .

Reviewed March 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
wing from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Clean and modern design”

Cleanliness, good service, Chinese restaurant

This my 2nd time back to the hotel because its price is really competitive given the service and the facilities offered in this hotel. We came to spend CNY here in GZ. We were wishing that we could have some good dim sum as breakfast but to find that the restaurant will only open after the 5th day of Lunar calendar, so was a bit disappointed as I like their dim sum and the Chinese tea there. As for the room, I realized that i couldn't really adjust the room temperature and it was too hot, plus The blanket was too thick, I really couldn't have a good sleep during those two nights. I was also not too happy that they gave me a room which I needed to up a stair at the corner because my hubby and I had to life my baby's stroller every time we went to or leave the room. Very inconvenient and I think they are not considerate enough to observe that. When I booked at agoda, I deliberately put in written comments that I have a baby and want to see if they have baby crib, but I found out that those comments were not noticed at all, I have to request of he baby crib later at the hotel. All in all. This 2nd time staying wasn't too pleasant.

Reviewed February 23, 2013
6.3
Good
Chit from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

modern designed room”

modern amenities and stylish

the hotel is quite new and rooms are nice and build with modern amenities and stylish, good quality mattresses. the breakfast buffet was nice and overall i am satisfied with this hotel. a plus point is, The hotel has its own building for Spa & Karaoke. i really enjoy the spa. CONS: no subway close to the hotel, so the only choice is by taxi, but u have to speak a tiny bit of chinese for direction. because its new hotel, so the taxi driver sometime don't know where it is.

Reviewed December 31, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Very pleasant stay, staff were nice.”

Gym, room size good, good breakfast catering for westerners and asians.

Very pleasant place to stay, I picked here for a couple of nights when I first got to China for a place for some rest and relaxation at the start of my holiday. The hotel did not disappoint, the staff are friendly and the food was nice. The biggest downside of the hotel is location, you need a cab to get to the nearest MTR station (costs about 12 yuan so not much and only takes a couple of minutes). If you aren't looking for shopping or sight seeing for a couple of days then this place is perfect for relaxing.

Reviewed December 31, 2012
7.3
Very good
diego from Italy
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

nice hotel, large rooms and good business service”

clean rooms, nice swimming pool, spa and fitness centre

I've slept for the first time a Royal Tulip and I have appreciated the large clean rooms with the windows looking inside the hotel court. Rooms with windows looking at the motorway are not too noisy, do avoid rooms without windows. Rooms are clean and comfortable with king size bed, free wifi internet, wide screen television, safety box, hair drier, mini bar beverages. Window walls separate the room from the bathroom where there are shower and bath tub with good equipment of towels and toweling robes. Maybe the rooms should have a stronger illumination for the night time. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and of good quality with western and asian dishes. After or before starting a busy day the swimming pool and fitness room are appreciated places to visit. Other hotels of the same quality and service are more expensive than this that is not so far from the downtown area like Tianhe.

Reviewed December 26, 2012
4.3
Jian from China
Couple
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

disappointed ”

nothing special

the room is smelly, hence the towel is just horrible. i'm not sure if it's my problem or wut, i could quite easily hear what ppl's talking from the corridor. the tv is tiny. and after all, the room is not clean which should be your biggest concern.

Reviewed December 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
monica from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Great hotel,one the best ever.”

The service,the rooms

From the guy opening the door,to the reception,my stay there was with out question one of the best hotel experience's,i have had,it really took me by suprise as i have not had,much luck in China,the rooms have a high ceiling,it was'nt over priced,my Hotel of choice in Guangzhou for sure.

Reviewed November 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Kee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room (No Window)
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

A great hotel to stay in”

Nice but spacious room

This is one of the nicest hotel to stay in if come to GZ, location is not in town but it is convenient to go around the city. We like the hotel in general, the staff are quite friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast choice are not too bad but one thing to comment is they don't have nice coffee at all. The chinese restaurant at the hotel are really good, their food are not oily and quite delicious. Just one thing to be aware that we booked through agoda for RM202 per night last week, and it was actually the price for a room without window but it didn't stated clearly whilst the booking.

Reviewed November 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
wing from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Value for money”

very new, clean, convenient location, 2 big swimming pools

paying this amoutn for a 5-star hotel is a good deal, even though i think it is 4.5 in international standard. the room is quite spacious, very new and clean. the rooms are more suitable for couples because there is no door to the bathroom and you can totally see the bath tub from the bed. the only bad thing about the room is that the temperature is very high and apparently you cannot realy adjust it. so even though we adjusted the temp to the lowest 16C, it is still very hot at 28C, so it's not very comfy to sleep as you can imagine. the buffet breakfast doesn't have much to eat, would highly recommend going for Chinese dim sum at the Chinese restaurant instead which offer a good variety of tasty dim sum (i have been there before and apparently the quality has decreased versus last visit though it is still not bad). My husband did swim there and said that there are two swimming pools of large size, one outdoor and one indoor, which is quite nice.

Reviewed October 17, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Adele from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior King
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012

Clean n good service”

Cleanliness & v outstanding staff

Very impressed by their staff who are almost all very friendly and helpful and although the location is a little hard to locate and difficult to get a taxi, the hotel is able to provide free cab booking service. V modern n neat, with baby cot. Will definitely return

Reviewed September 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
cheung from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Lovely and comfortable hotel”

clean, neat, new, great swimming pools

Some of the rooms don't have windows, so it may cause problems to some people, but we were fine. Tidy and clean rooms and facilities everywhere Unstable/ no wifi in room though Worthy breakfast definitely, can't miss! There is nothing around the hotel, no stores, no night life, no restos, etc.

Reviewed September 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Mian from Singapore
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

fantastic hotel with friendly staff!”

clean quiet spacious and nice!

Loved the room and a nice escape from the busy city. The room is very nice and amenities are very complete. Too bad didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looks very inviting. The hotel staff was very friendly. This conceige person was very patient with us and gave us a lot of tips on where to go to eat and shop. Quite good location and easy to reach sightseeing locations. International breakfast with fairly good range of food

Reviewed August 28, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Powen from United States
Couple
Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012

Very nice hotel”

New amenities

Good service, unlike other hotels in Guangzhou. Some hiccups at the beginning, broken shower, dirtied bed sheets, but they can fix the problems quickly by changing rooms and replaced bed sheets. The breakfast is fairly good, but juice is not fresh juice.

Reviewed July 28, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
ROBERT from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

An incredibly good hotel .”

The 5 star accommodation

Unbeliveable that we paid less than . for what we would rank as a genuine 5 star hotel. The hotel rooms were large modern with great features and furnishings. The included buffet breakfast was excellent and probably was good value for the amount we paid let alone the accommodation. The staff tried hard with their english and we always managed to get our queries dealt with. Location was probably the only criticism as it was a bit away from public transport however taxis are plentiful and cheap.Location away from a busy city meant that there was no traffic noise.

Reviewed July 06, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Yee from Singapore
Group
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012

Very nice room”

Very comfortable room with nice bathtub

A 5-star hotel at 3-star price. The room we stayed in was really lovely. Interior deco was modern and appealing. Nice comfortable thick beds. Hotel provided very unique writing materials for guests. Walk-in concept for bath area with stand-alone sparkling clean bathtub makes the room look like a studio apartment. Breakfast was excellent as well. Only minor issue was some cab drivers do not know the place. You need to tell them the road name and hotel name in Mandarin. On the whole we had a very lovely stay. Will stay there again if revisiting Guangzhou.

Reviewed June 21, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Rose from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Excellent hotel”

Excellent hotel with reasonable price

It is an international chained hotel. The price is reasonable and excellent quality. It is located at the exit of a highway from Shenzhen, which is very convenience if you are self-drive.It is not close to the tube station and not conevenience with public transportation, however it just take you about RMB30 to different places in the city.

Reviewed June 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Lai from Singapore
Group
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

Great team of helpful front-line employees”

Cleanliness, excellent wi-fi connection and good quality furnishing including utensils

as this is the 1st trip to guangzhou with my husband and a group of friends, the hotel front-line staff were helpful with providing useful information on places to vist. the hotel is also generous in providing a very city map in colour indicating the location of the hotel and places of interest. i will recommending my friends to use this hotel if ever they visit guangzhou.

Reviewed May 24, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Jens from Germany
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012

Fantastic hotel”

Nice rooms, nice Swimming pool, great food

Carat hotel is a fantastic hotel, the rooms are spacious, clean, with a nice bathroom. A big pro is the food menu, very exclusive food with a big choice. A big pro is also the hotel owned swimming pool, unfortunately the spa is quite expensive, around Dollars per session, a big money .All in all i can recommend the hotel, big value for a reasonable price.

Reviewed April 28, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Tan from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Romance and relax hotel”

Spa hotel

This hotel reasonable price , best service ,romance and relax suitable for honey moon ,inside the hotel also have Chinese and western food , indoor and out door swimming pool Small room but nice design like boutique hotel , if want to go metro station just take cab around 12 rmb ,fully recommend this hotel .

Reviewed April 10, 2012
8.7
Excellent
LANIA from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012

Its a Fine Hotel”

It's a 5 star hotel with 5 stars accomodation. The food is good, the staff is friendly, many speak english

it was 4 nights stay for me, i love everything bout the room, except we didnt get the one with window. the front office & operator speak english, so its pretty easy to communicate there. the food especially breakfast is good and variety except too many porks on most servings even in veges. but those who eats pork they will enjoy that. everything was fine for me just the location is bit out of happening, it's located at the highway exit. but you can always get a taxi there. i found out that local people call carat hotel as cali hotel, then only taxi will send you to the right place :) if you have time, you can take a walk to nearby park (which i discovered on the last day on my way to airport).

Reviewed March 22, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Ka from China
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Lovely hotel ”

best price

this is a high class typical chinese hotel. the bathrooms are equipted, they even have a tv over the bath tub. shower is great both with hand held and a large rain head shower. the bed and pillows are very comfortable, and a wide selelction of tv channels. minibar under quipted.but no wireless internet. very good value for money.

Reviewed March 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Ka from China
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Carat Hotel”

Good Price and rooms

we were only there for a few nights but on arrival wished we were staying longer. the staff couldn't do enough to help. the hotel is absolutely beautiful and offers a range of food and beverages. we would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to stay again in the future.

Reviewed March 05, 2012