Book Now: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Excellent
From 6513 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 89% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (6513)Booking.com Reviews (1951)
8.7
Excellent
From 6513 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.4
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.9
Value for money8.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
한국어
日本語
more
Room type
Deluxe Room
Premier Suite
Executive Suite
Premier Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 6075 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Wahyu from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Comfort hotel”
The location is close to twin tower, shopping mall pavilion KL, old hotel but comfortable. Maybe need to add more entertaining tv channel such as HBO or cinemaxx
Reviewed May 20, 2018
2.0
Nordiana from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Missing item is not found”
Ive left my necklace, and only realize it after 24hours. The management just mentioned that it cant be found. Very irresponsible for such a big hotel. They only willing to attend us after we made a police report. Hotel internal report has been made,but still no progress.
Reviewed May 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
June from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Luxurious Hotel at affordable price”
Loved being able to stay in this very grand and luxurious hotel. Spacious room with balcony and view of the Petronas Twin Towers; very comfortable bed, enormous bathroom area with separate cubicles for toilet and shower; desk and comfortable sitting chair with leg rest. Staff were very polite and helpful. Huge range of different dishes for breakfast. Lovely outside swimming pool area with good size pool and sun-beds. All for the same price as a very basic bed & breakfast or budget hotel in the UK.
Reviewed May 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Reena from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Up to it’s name”
Everything was great. Check in was one of the fastest & I was greeted with a warm smile. The bed is comfy & perfect if you’re aching & tired. Staff were nice enough to accommodate to my request for a late check out & did not pressure guests to leave. Bathroom is nice & big with plush towels. Will come back for sure!
Reviewed May 08, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Suite level 3”
Very big suite, big bathroom Thanks for the upgrade Many variety of food on the breakfast I love the seafood salad very muchhh Nice and comfortable bed Food room dining quite nice Will come back definitely
Reviewed May 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Nor from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Very good”
Keep it 👍🏻
Reviewed April 13, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Almaskari from Oman
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Requires renovation”
I’ve stayed in this hotel several times. The rooms are clean but requires renovation in all espects, Carpet, television, Bed, Bathroom. In short it’s time for renovation
Reviewed April 10, 2018
6.8
Good
Mohamad from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
average hotel ”
almost everything on average beside the price
Reviewed April 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Wen from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Excellent”
Great deal for the spacious room. The location is near to Bukit Bintang and KLCC. However it would be better if there are more selection for the buffet breakfast.
Reviewed April 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Syarizuan from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Good stay”
The hotel was great
Reviewed March 28, 2018
7.2
Very good
Tony from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Low class breakfast”
A bit distance from bukit bintang
Reviewed March 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
NURZUHARA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Location”
Best location to get around the city and family friendly too!
Reviewed March 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from Canada
Solo traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 14 nights in February 2018
Amazing. Wonderful place...”
There for 2 weeks. Perfect. Everything was Spot on..
Reviewed March 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Chan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
good”
good
Reviewed March 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Chan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
good”
good
Reviewed March 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Huda from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Worth the Money”
The bed is very comfortable, the place is very nice. The bed very comfortable.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
7.2
Very good
Chuck from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Nice hotel - good service”
One advantage for tourists is that a stop on the "hop-on-hop-off" bus is next door at the craft centre.
Reviewed March 14, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Jenies from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Clean but a bit noisy ”
No Matter morning or night, you can hear quite clearly people who walk outside, close door
Reviewed March 13, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ahmad from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Luxurious Regal Hotel”
Well known as luxurious hotel in the City of Kuala Lumpur, perhaps need to look at the signboard at parking lot to basement lift to lobby, its a bit confusing.
Reviewed March 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
MOHAMED from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Nice location, very clean and comfortable room”
Nice location, walking distance to Pavilion Shopping Mall...clean and comfortable room and friendly staff
Reviewed February 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
mohd from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Staff were helpfull”
I just one night and request for one bed on superior room but the room is full The staff help me to get the request and she give me free upgrade from superior to executive suite Thank you and love it
Reviewed February 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
ahmad from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
B est”
B est
Reviewed January 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Churawan from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Beautiful antique hotel ”
They have variety of breakfast but 80% on traditional food wishing they have more international food selection
Reviewed January 24, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
ahmad from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Best”
Best
Reviewed January 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ki from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Highly professional staff ”
Initially i was given a twin bed and I requested a King bed my request was immediately looked into. All the staff are well trained and well mannered! The breakfast was good with lots of variety!
Reviewed January 22, 2018
5.6
Molly from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Grand Old Dame”
RC has always been my top choice whenever I visit KL. The standard of cleanliness had dropped considerably . Room carpet stains were so prevalent that it was quite an eye sore. It is such a pity that Housekeeping couldn't had done a better job. The shower room had dark stains on the tiles. WC had 1 missing toilet holder. Tableside lamp was broken. Fridge was broken. Even though I had highlighted these defects to front office the next day, nothing was done. Do check through the room before settling down for the night or you might be unpleasantly waken by the bedside lamp collapsing on your head like us.
Reviewed January 18, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Alec from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Excellent overall with clean and large size room plus great breakfast and service oriented staff!”
Great place to stay in KL for more upmarket hotel!
Reviewed January 16, 2018
4.4
Robyn from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Not what it used to be”
We had stayed here a few years ago and it was very good but a bit out of our usual budget. As we only had one night in KL we thought we'd shout ourselves a bit of luxury. We were not allowed in the door until our booking had been checked as there was another hotel nearby of the same name. It was handled very badly and left us feeling as though we weren't wanted. Reception desk was businesslike but not welcoming. The carpet in the room was frayed and stained, the bathroom was not well cleaned, the pillowcases were also stained and there was a considerable layer of dust on the bedhead. The pool was out of commission for several days! Breakfast was excellent as we had remembered. The surrounding areas were demolition and building sites. Thankfully work didn't start too early but it made pedestrian access to some places quite difficult. Pretentious without back-up. It looks as though it is being let run down prior to demolition like the rest of the neighbourhood.
Reviewed January 13, 2018
3.2
Irene from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Disappointed”
Hotel room interior looks old, jug kettle and carpet is very dirty, pillow very stinky and i found out they didn't change the pillow case.
Reviewed January 05, 2018
6.4
Good
Siew-Moon from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Good location, old hotel that needs interior renovation”
The hotel was in a great location, as it is only a short 5 min walk to Bukit Bintang and the Pavilion shopping centre, and about a 15 min walk to KLCC. We were given a 2nd floor room, and most of the lifts could actually access this level without a key card, which we thought was not so good for security. The room was adequate - the bed was comfortable, however the bed sheet and pillow covers were stained; the bathroom rainfall shower head worked well, but the smaller side shower head didn't work (either it was blocked or water pressure was extremely low?), the carpets were extremely dirty and stained, the toilet door did not close. The interior of the room needs renovating, as it is looking old and worn, especially the carpets. This place is meant to be 5 star, but thanks to these details, we would definitely rate it as 3 star.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
6.8
Good
YUH from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Breakfast need improvement”
Hotel is old but with big room and comfortable - Shower room was flooding after shower. Breakfast need improvement - meats served are mostly beef, chicken was very limited
Reviewed January 02, 2018
7.2
Very good
Mei from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Basic”
Good location , room is spacious , clean but is a bit old. Some lights not working. Great varieties for breakfast buffet but taste wise was just ok. Staff is friendly.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Roger from Switzerland
Couple
Premier Room Only
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Pretty good”
Great location, great breakfast with nice staff. Comfortable bed. Big balcony in the premier room. Great steak at the L'heritage Steakhouse. Good value for the meal and service. Cleanliness of room not 5 star worthy. Housekeeping didn't provide fresh towels for both of us. Friendliness of Front Office not 5 star standard. At least not compared to european standards.
Reviewed January 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
JIA from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Nice Breakfast Buffet”
Very localized breakfast prepared by the hotel, you may taste all the different flavor at the same place to find out which food you love the most... Spacious room with balcony and comfortable bed, the bathroom is huge. Stay during the Christmas festive season, thanks for the gift inside the christmas socks.... Walking distance to the Pavilion, but is not safe to cross the road, no zebra cross road.... Those bringing the kids have to be extra careful.
Reviewed December 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Joann from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Excellent Hotel & Staff”
Nice & pleasant staff, clean & comfortable room, variaty choice for breakfast.
Reviewed December 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
R from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Very good”
breakfast replenishment was very poor, it was festive season but the management surely could have anticipated the guests.. housekeeping was excellent!!
Reviewed December 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
MOHAMED from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Nice location and friendly staff.”
Clean comfortable and spacious room... nice location, closed by to the malls...BBQ buffet dinner is one of my son's favorite...friendly staff
Reviewed December 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Madzlan from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Tranquility at the Centre of Business Hive”
Nice spacious room with delicious buffet
Reviewed December 19, 2017
7.2
Very good
seongchul from South Korea
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
좋은호텔 ”
overall, it was a good stay, but the bed was quite uncomfortable... and the breakfast buffet was very carb rich.
Reviewed December 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ezuani from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Satisfied”
Few times staying here. Always satisfied with everything. Definitely will come again... Best swimming pool
Reviewed December 18, 2017
6.8
Good
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
A vast barn of a place”
Nothing much wrong here. Just rather old and tired. Room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom decent, didn't check out the gym. Menu in the restaurant was short, and staff were surprised I didn't want the buffet. Fish and chips and char kway teow were perfectly acceptable (not at the same meal, in case you're wondering). I asked my taxi driver on arrival about the hotel - he said "it's a favourite of government people". Depending on your view of that clientele (and you'd probably rather not hear mine), I'd say that summed up this hotel very well. Public areas are just huge, faded grandiose and empty. It is cheap, and convenient for the places I needed to go, but I did prefer the Traders around the corner. KL has so many excellent hotels at very competitive rates, one doesn't need to settle for second best.
Reviewed December 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Dat from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Good location ”
The hotel is old but it is ok for staying. The staff are friendly, helpful. I don’t like breakfast, it’s too bad for me. Location is very good, near pavilion, Petronas Twin Towers, KL Tower, night market... with the price, the hotel should be received 5 stars
Reviewed December 10, 2017
8.8
Excellent
MOHAMAD from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
WILL COME AGAIN. GREAT HOTEL ”
good location. walking distance to bukit bintang.room looks old but well mantain&clean.love the room design.can improved by upgrading the tv size inside e room. helpfull hotel’s staff. but frontliners should improve in term of giving info.hotel is quite big.had a few lifts at different parts of the lobby.receptionist should tells us which lift should we take. we took the lift that makes us tour all around our room floor with all e luggages.then only we reallize theres another lift which is nearer to our room. service&facilities nothing much to say.outdoor pool (quite big),gymnasium&spa. maybe you can treat ur guest with welcoming drinks upon check inn since if im not mistaken ur hotel is a 5star hotel.so service should b able to impress the guest.for breakfast, wide selections. stations for malay, chinesse&indian cuisine,international breakfast,including middle east cuisine.but need to improved so much on taste’s quality. OVERALL, WILL DIFINITELY COME AGAIN. TQ ROYALE CHULAN KL
Reviewed December 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ai from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
near pavillion”
although it is near to pavillion , but still need to walk little path which is dark and quiet. But day time is best to walk there, hotel clean and pretty, will definitely choose here next time
Reviewed December 04, 2017
6.4
Good
AKEEL from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
ًis not worth staying in it”
Every things is old the carpets is felthy and dirty the bathroom is wet alawas the gem is nothing and the equipment is to old
Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Mahes from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good”
Breakfast more verity but no less taste.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
SAEJIN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Good Hotel”
At first, I thought I booked wrong hotel because I booked at the range of 3-star hotel but it apparently was 5-star hotel. However, shower room seems to need some improvement. After I took a shower, I noticed water was leaking. At first, I thought water drowning was blocked or so, but it turned out there was a problem with sealing. The room temperature system is right next to the door, which I did not notice until the day I checked out. Also, descriptions on the phone did not match where it is connected. I dial concierge, but it connects to other department, etc. Staffs were very nice and friendly. Receptionist helped me to consult with my extended stay, and concierge made my trip to KL more easier. Overall, I would rate this hotel cost effective, but it would be better if above mentioned issues get fixed.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
moman from Saudi Arabia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2017
Good”
Nice place
Reviewed November 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Mahes from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
good”
not satisfied. the are so many varieties however the taste dosen't meet satififaction.
Reviewed November 24, 2017
7.6
Very good
Ahmed from Kuwait
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Location, good breakfast ”
Nice hotel close to shopping area close to pavilion
Reviewed November 24, 2017