Royale Chulan Penang
Free Wi-Fi

Royale Chulan Penang

1 & 2, Pengkalan Weld, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, 10300
- View on map
Superior - View Royale Chulan Penang
Superior - View
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Royale Chulan Penang
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Royale Chulan Penang
    Fitness center Royale Chulan Penang
    Superior - View Royale Chulan Penang
    See all 41 photos
     Royale Chulan Penang

    Royale Chulan Penang Reviews

    8.4
    Excellent
    /10
    (3898 reviews)See what guests said
    8.8
    Excellent

    "Good location as its near Peranakan Mansion, Blue Mansion, C..."

    FREDERICK C.

    -

    December 18, 2018

    8.7
    Excellent cleanliness
    Recommended by 94% of guests

    Things you’ll love about Royale Chulan Penang

    Things you'll love

    • 350 meters to public transportation

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Sauna

    • Steamroom

    Excellent
    Location
    8.6
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Penang Peranakan Mansion490 m
  • Khoo Kongsi790 m
  • The Camera Museum970 m
  • Gurney Drive3.45 km
  • Gurney Plaza4.45 km
  • Penang Hill6.46 km
  • Penang Bridge7 km
  • Kek Lok Si Temple8.07 km
  • Penang National Park14.02 km
  • Escape Adventureplay Theme Park14.71 km
  • This property is in high demand!

    Booked 16 times since yesterday | 18 travelers are looking at this property right now

    Value for money8.5
    Distance to city center1km
    Location rating8.6
    Nearest airportPenang International Airport (PEN)
    Distance to airport16.3 km

    Rooms available at Royale Chulan Penang

    8.7
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    Junior Suite
    Junior Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 52 m²/560 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Suite
    Deluxe Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 68 m²/732 ft²
    • Pool view
    • 1 queen bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Executive Suite
    Executive Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 68 m²/732 ft²
    • Harbor view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Family Suite
    Family Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 56 m²/603 ft²
    • Pool view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Corner Suite
    Corner Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 44 m²/474 ft²
    • Harbor view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior
    Superior
    ...
    • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
    • City view
    • 2 single beds or 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Penang Suite
    Penang Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 57 m²/614 ft²
    • Harbor view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Studio Suite
    Studio Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 50 m²/538 ft²
    • Harbor view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Royal Suite
    Royal Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 129 m²/1389 ft²
    • Harbor view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Deluxe Room
    Deluxe Room
    ...
    • Room size: 37 m²/398 ft²
    • Pool view
    • 1 king bed or 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Royale Chulan Penang?

    What people love about Royale Chulan Penang

    • 6.0
      Review score

      "OVERALL HOTEL IS VERY GOOD."

      DATO F.

      |

      January 10, 2019

    • 9.2
      Exceptional
      Location

      "Great location."

      Graham

      |

      January 10, 2019

    • 10.0
      Exceptional

      "Nicely decorated rooms with wainscotting."

      Ahmad W.

      |

      December 6, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Royale Chulan Penang

    More about Royale Chulan Penang

    9.6
    Exceptional

    "Clean room."

    Sherlin

    |

    January 7, 2019

    Read more reviews

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    8.0
    Very good

    "Enjoyed my stay here."

    Ville

    |

    January 7, 2019

    Read more reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Announcements

    From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

    Reviews of Royale Chulan Penang from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (3898)Booking.com Reviews (816)
    8.4
    /
    10
    Cleanliness8.7
    Facilities8.2
    Location8.6
    Room comfort and quality8.7
    Service8.4
    Value for money8.5
    All languages
    All guests (3898)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 2374 verified guest comments
    12345
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Quynh from Vietnam
    Couple
    Suite Standard
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

    One of my favourite hotels”

    The room is huge and so beautiful, comfortable and relaxing. I love the room's decoration and convenience. There is a tea room for guests staying on Suite floor where you can enjoy your snack, tea & coffee until 8pm. However, the breakfast was not a good experience. Breakfast closed at 10.30am but it almost ran out of food when I reached at 9.30am.

    Reviewed May 22, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the problems that you have encountered during your last stay and we will continue to improve our facilities and services. We assure you that we will be looking into each point that you have made. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better stay experience at Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 24, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.6
    Exceptional
    theebenraj from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

    Exceptional”

    Definitely a good value for money hotel. The facilities are good. The location are great. It's a four star hotel with a pretty well rooms with the great accessories. Cleanliness can be improved. Overall great stay.

    Reviewed May 22, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 24, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Andrew from Australia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

    Beautiful hotel in Georgetown”

    Lovely colonial hotel close the clan jetties and only 10min drive from Gurney Dr Large comfortable beds and great bathrooms. As always with humid climates and older hotels there was a little bit of mould in the grouting but this was the only issue.

    Reviewed May 21, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 24, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Nor from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Overall sgt berpuas hati...”

    Sgt berpuas hati...sy ada request utk pihak hotel prepare utk celebrate my honeymoon. Surprisingly pihak hotel mmg prepare for that...i luv it and thanx to royal chulan hotel penang for that...thanx a lot⚘⚘⚘

    Reviewed May 06, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 09, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Siti from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Deluxe Room
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

    Traveling with elder citizen - my Mom”

    The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and respectful to the elderly ❤️. We we upgraded to Jr Suite upon check in and the front desk staff was very polite and quick in handling the process. The room was cleaned with hot fresh towels. Bathroom and toilet were also clean and well lit.

    Reviewed May 01, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 04, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Nicholas from Australia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

    Loved our stay”

    This was our first time in Penang and we were pleased to find ourselves so well located for exploring George Town on foot. For trips further afield we were able to use local buses as the hotel is close to both the Jetty Bus Station and the free Hop-On Hop-Off Bus stops. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. We also made good use of the lovely pool and sunbeds. The daily breakfast buffet was generous and offered many choices. Staff were friendly and attentive and made our stay very enjoyable.

    Reviewed April 25, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded April 29, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Noor from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Deluxe Room
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    Great stay”

    Overall great stay there. Big rooms, strategic location, clean rooms. Only negative points, we have to wait until 3pm to check in. Although the staff great enough to provide us with complimentary drinks due to the delay, i think hotel should try to ensure check in at 2pm especially customer with senior citizen and young children.

    Reviewed April 24, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded April 29, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Graham from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

    Lovely room overlooking fantastic swimming pool”

    We had a great stay in a lovely quiet and comfortable room overlooking fantastic swimming pool. Staff were very friendly and helpful; breakfast was good and varied; facilities of swim pool and gym superb.

    Reviewed May 16, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 24, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Elizabeth from Oman
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

    Excellent hotel”

    We were really halo with the room size and cleanliness. The location was great for the port and for walking into town. Large and varied breakfast to set us up for the day. Excellent stay, would use again and recommend to all!

    Reviewed April 21, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded April 22, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Rozana from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Deluxe Room
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Nice and clean hotel”

    Comfortable, nice and clean hotel. But the room is slightly smaller than average deluxe room. Breakfast buffet options a bit limited but overall I had a pleasant stay. The staff are very welcoming and helpful.

    Reviewed March 18, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded March 19, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Gerard from Australia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

    Bucket list Trip”

    This was a memory lane trip for me and first for my wife. Selected the Royale Chilean Hotel as best place to stay in Georgetown. I don't regret my choice, staff are the best, they are friendly, helpfully and efficient. The room was big enough for us, with large bed and we'll set out bathroom. Chose Breakfast on booking for each day and was not disappointed with the food available, this covered varieties for and culture or religion. I fully recommend this hotel to any traveller to Penang.

    Reviewed March 16, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded March 18, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    8.8
    Excellent
    WAN from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

    an okay stay”

    stayed here for 2 nights. everything is ok except that the parking is quite a distant from the hotel lobby. so i did not appreciate the long walk. the breakfast buffet is just okay. nothing wonderful about the food. just a normal buffet. the taste of food is also just ok. and also, if you order egg during the breakfast buffet, you have to remind the staff because the forgot my order on both days of my stay. that was not pleasant. i already finish eating when i get the order. the room design is nice but seems but maybe can polish it a little bit. theres old furniture vibe when i enter the room. one thing that separates this hotel from others is the attentiveness of the staff. especially the bell boy. he suggest some of the place that we can go, where to eat good food, etc

    Reviewed March 06, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded March 08, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    8.4
    Excellent
    Intan from Malaysia
    Group
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

    Strategically located hotel in town”

    +ve: 1. friendly staff 2. nice ambiance 3. strategic location 4. breakfast spread was ok 5. TV - channel choices was ok 6. pool is nice room for improvement: 1. towel with a hole was placed in our room, but was replaced immediately upon request 2. shower area was clogged Would i stay here again? Yes.

    Reviewed May 06, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the problems that you have encountered during your last stay and we will continue to improve our facilities and services. We assure you that we will be looking into each point that you have made. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better stay experience at Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 09, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    4.4
    glenn from Australia
    Business traveler
    Superior
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    Tired Hotel”

    This Hotel could be superb if well run by proper people who understand service - quality - and proper management. The product offered is sub-standard and needs to start again. It is like staying in Sleepy Hollow, and poorly run. Sadly it is terrible. The Food offered and presentation was unacceptable..

    Reviewed April 29, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the problems that you have encountered during your last stay and we will continue to improve our facilities and services. We assure you that we will be looking into each point that you have made. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better stay experience at Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 04, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Mohd from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

    Nice Hotel near to the Pier”

    Friendly staff, good location and nice room.

    Reviewed May 15, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded May 16, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    8.8
    Excellent
    NORAZANI from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Superior
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    I was on business trip. The facilities is perfect. I was worry free.”

    Breakfast was good, parking was designated for hotel guests. Facilities made me comfortable to invite clients for discussion and tea. Room was designed to be friendly for those who needs clean and calming effect, almost like home.

    Reviewed February 13, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded February 14, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    HANA from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Superior
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

    Parking area”

    I'm traveling with daughter, thus luggage!It is very inconvenient to have a separate parking....but the parking is actually linked to the hotel?Basically we took an elevator to the lobby, crossed a street to get to our car(with small kid, it is not convenient at all especially with all those rojak takeouts in my hand), and then took another elevator to our parked car. Such hassle. But we do love the hospitality A+

    Reviewed January 26, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded January 27, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Gregg from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Superior
    Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

    Awesome staff, location, amazing history”

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Incredible staff, perfect location, amazing history. Can highly recommend to anyone who wants to stay in Georgetown, Penang. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Great food, the rooms are modern, clean, and well maintained. Best of all, directly outside is the number 1 stop for the CAT buses, that are free for tourists to get around Georgetown, although the historic area is not that large, and can just be walked.

    Reviewed January 22, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded January 22, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    8.4
    Excellent
    Rahman from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019

    Great staff and good value for what you pay. ”

    Decided for this instead of the usual heritage / hipster hotels we've been to in Penang. Free parking was very much appreciated and the staff were very attentive the few times we approached them for things. Good experience overall.

    Reviewed January 16, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded January 17, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Vina from Singapore
    Family with teens
    Superior
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

    Cosy and Spacious Room”

    We booked 2 rooms for the 4 of us. It was Clean and convenient except for the parking where we had to revalidate our tickets each time we wanted to exit. Perhaps , the hotel can look into a season parking option and a refundable deposit, to be given upon checkout.

    Reviewed January 06, 2019

    Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Penang. Best Regards, Nazrin , Front Office Manager

    Responded January 09, 2019
    Royale Chulan Penang
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Royale Chulan Penang
    |Excellent 8.4
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Penang Peranakan Mansion
    • Pengkalan Raja Tun Uda Bus Terminal is within 0.35 km