Book Now: Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Very good
From 190 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (190)Booking.com Reviews (1101)
7.3
Very good
From 190 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities6.7
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.7
Value for money6.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Superior Queen Single
City View Queen
Family
Superior Queen
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 161 verified guest comments
7.2
Very good
Aaron from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
One night”
Was only there for one night but was a good night, great foods
Reviewed June 22, 2016
6.4
Good
Ana from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Rydges stay”
Stayed a few days to visit family in RPA hospital
Reviewed May 22, 2016
7.3
Very good
Allana from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Convenient for us”
location, view from room, ease of booking
We stayed one night- found the location go be good. Thought that the hotel itself in some aspects looked a little tired. Great view from our room on the 5th floor. Comfy beds! It was a bit pricey - but we did leave our booking to last minute.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
5.0
Campbell from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Definitely not a 3 star hotel”
Location, 24 hour reception, comfortable beds
Staff were friendly on arrival but it went downhill from there. The building was in desperate need of refurbishment (hallways and rooms). Our room was clean but cabinetry was missing, very old timber and outdated 70's feel. The hotel advertises FOXTEL but it didn't work. The bathroom was dodgy, spray painted tiles with chips, cracked soap dish etc. Mini bar was well stocked. Doors from other hotel rooms banged loudly early in the morning and late at night. During breakfast on both mornings we had to chase down staff to replenish cereal bowls and plates as there were none available. Staff were friendly and apologetic but still unacceptable. Great location but pushing even 3 star status, especially for the price.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
John from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Great Location, But....”
Location, Staff, Parking
Rydges Camperdown is an ideal location, with friendly staff, and great parking on site. It's a great venue, but is showing its age. The rooms have been painted, but the property feels tired, and isn't the best value.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
6.3
Good
Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Poor air conditioning. ”
Location
Airless
Reviewed December 28, 2015
7.3
Very good
Christina from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Comfortable”
Location
Comfortable , staff were polite , pleasant for what I required thank you
Reviewed December 21, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Marg from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Scan @ RPA”
It was close to RPA. Easy access. Very friendly helpful staff.
Excellent
Reviewed December 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Bev from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Good accessible clean accommodation”
asabove
Very good Television channels not easy to identify
Reviewed November 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Queen Single
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
great location”
Location to Enmore Theatre, Location to King Street, location to RPA
Very convenient location. Comfortable room and comfortable bed.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Michaela from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Good”
Staff and reasonable pric
Reviewed August 11, 2015
7.0
Very good
Linda from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Good Accommodation near RPAH”
Location near RPAH; Reasonable rates; Clean
Chosen because of its proximity to the fracture clinic of RPAH, it was a major disappointment to find the Restaurant doesn't open on Sunday night. I was taking my daughter on crutches to the fracture clinic and specifically chose Rydges because it had a restaurant. A 4 Star Hotel could surely manage a restaurant.
Reviewed July 02, 2015
7.3
Very good
Zhenyu from China
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015
a”
a
a
Reviewed June 14, 2015
6.3
Good
Christine from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Single
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
rpa”
the bed was ok, the location was good for my needs and that is it.
Ordinary. The bathroom needs an urgent upgrade - it didn't look or feel clean.
Reviewed May 29, 2015
7.0
Very good
Gail from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
My 2 night stay at Rydges”
Polite and helpful staff, breakfast, close to venue I attended for conference
My stay at Rydges Camperdown was over rated. The price rose from $195 a night to $558 for 2 nights due to the Mardi Gras. I needed to be close to a convention centre so stay there. There was no pensioner or group discount for the group, though the Convener approached them to ask for one. I found the staff lovely but there were major issues which made me feel the hotel was a 2.5-3 rating and operating under 4 star by error. the Pay TV didn't work either night, there was no blanket so I rang at 1.30am for one as I was too cold to sleep, the toilet seat was loose, the knob on the cupboard fell off, there was and I was bitten by an ant while in my room.
Reviewed March 09, 2015
5.7
Katrina from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
standard stay for older hotel ”
Location parking clean
Happy with most things and would stay again,
Reviewed February 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Victoria from China
Family with young children
Superior Queen Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good ”
Clear
Reviewed January 24, 2015
7.7
Very good
Patricia from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
over night stay, attending conference in Hotel ”
It was where the conference was held
$279.00 for a three and half star old Hotel and $25.00 Parking no breakfast included. Never again.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Martien from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Close to Sydney University”
Close to the university. Close restaurants. Easy access from airport
Basis business or academic traveller accommodation. Friendly staff. Efficient in and out. Easy trip to airport via tollways.
Reviewed November 08, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
R N R”
BED SHOWER TELE
Reviewed November 06, 2014
3.7
david from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
over priced accommodation”
location only
Unsatisfied no teletext available for my partner who is deaf this is the first hotel that did not cater for us for the 199 charged for one nights accommodation. .pitiful and I would not have booked a room here for the night if I knew this before hand
Reviewed October 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
Elizabeth from Australia
Business traveler
City View Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
It's a bit tired looking . . . . ”
The luxurious luxury of the beds & beautifyl towels, staff met my pre-booking requests, staff offered us a late check out
Overall, we had a pleasant overnight stay. Room service was efficient and the food ok. ALL staff were polite and professional. The hotel is convenient to restaurants, pubs, take-aways, & several interesting little shop's. My only negative - being a Rydges Member, I felt the $25 overnight car parking fee was a bit over the top
Reviewed October 13, 2014
5.0
phil from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Single
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Value ”
Location staff
Far too expensive for what you get-I stayed there for convenience
Reviewed October 06, 2014
5.0
mel from Australia
Group
Superior Queen Single
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
okay”
comfy bed, was clean, location ok
It was ok, satified for what we needed if for, would o stay there again prob not. thanks
Reviewed September 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Sally from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Rydges near RPA”
Clean, quiet, suburb location
My stay was fine.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
siti from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Queen
Stayed 5 nights in August 2014
value for money”
good location, friendly staff, good internet access
Pleasant.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
6.0
Thuy from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Short stay ”
Staff friendly.. Bed was big... Good view
Its ok .. The room was old .. All condition were old..
Reviewed August 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Susan from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Stay at Rydges Camperdown.”
Location; parking facilities and price
We had a very pleasant stay at Rydges Camperdown. We have stayed at this hotel on many previous occasions and find to be very convenient to the city, reasonably priced and has parking facilities. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was well situated and quiet. We only had one meal at the Hotel, which was breakfast, which was very satisfying, except for the dreadful coffee. We travel from the country every year to attend medical appointments in the city and will definitely be booking in again next year.
Reviewed July 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
Cassandra from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Convenient, close to hospital for medical”
comfy bed, good size TV and free Wi-Fi.
No complaints. TV was hard to turn on due to batteries being flat. Reported this to reception and staff did not believe the batteries were the cause and had to come and check for themselves. But it was the batteries. A bit of an inconvenience to get something so minor resolved. But otherwise no complaints.
Reviewed July 12, 2014
5.7
Trish from New Zealand
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Adequate only”
Close to University of Sydney and Newtown shops and restaurants. Good bus links via Paramata Rd to CBD.
The room was very cold on my first night, and when I expressed my concern to the reception staff, they said it was being looked into as the system was only that day being changed to heating. I stayed at the hotel at the start of June, which is winter, so I find this surprising. It was only marginally warmer on the second night of my stay. ALso website stated that hotel customers could use nearby University gym. When I asked reception where was the gym, I was told that the hotel had not renewed the contract to be able to use this facility. I expressed my annoyance as use of a gym is one of the deciding features for me when chosing a hotel. Reception staff seemed reasonably indifferent, saying that they would pass on to management that the website still stated about the gym, but did not offer any other suggestion. Finally, the hotel restaurant is not open beyond 12 noon on Saturday and Sunday.
Reviewed June 09, 2014
6.3
Good
Helen from Australia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Overnigher for Enmore Theatre show”
Friendly staff, close to venue,
Value for the money as Sydney is very expensive for a family stay - however our room was quite tired - airco only worked on high and was quite noisy and room telephone didn't work. No drinks available with room service when we ordered our late supper (after 10.30pm). Staff very friendly though.
Reviewed May 25, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Margaret from New Zealand
Couple
City View Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Very comfortable helpful staff”
Close to transport. Very close to RPA hospital and shopping
Very good
Reviewed May 20, 2014
6.3
Good
Eddy from Sweden
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
Standard inner city hotel”
location, affordable, simple
My stay at Rydges was ok. It's a nice enough hotel, however it is an older hotel. The hotel and the rooms are starting to show its age but the staff do a good job keeping the room clean. We only stayed here to use it as a bed to sleep in. We were out most of the day enjoying the nearby suburbs of surry hills and redfern, and the hotel was adequate enough for sleeping at night. My only problem was the narrow labyrinth you have to navigate in the underground carpark. There are about 100 columns that you can possibly hit your car on. Unfortunately I had a hire car and scraped the side of the car on one of the columns.
Reviewed May 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Clare from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
great staff very helpful”
staff,location,cleanliness
very comfortable
Reviewed May 18, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Pauline from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Very comfortable bed”
One of the most comfortable beds I have stayed in for a motel, large size room to walk around however bathrooms are getting a little tired.
Very good
Reviewed May 14, 2014
6.0
Sylvia from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
adequate”
the bed was semi-comfortable and the sheets were clean
The poor plumbing standards in the bathroom ,i.e. the excess use of silicon sealer, resulted in the accumulation of dirt lines around the bath and in on of the soap dishes. The acceptance of this by management appears to show a lack of concern for the high standard you wish to achieve. These dirty marks are off-putting to the traveller. The accumulation of said dirt lines is surely a health and safety matter.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
6.7
Good
Shane from Australia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Family stay”
Close to city
While the adult menu in the hotel restaurant was quite good (my Caesar salad was tasty (but small), the children's menu was not - the kids pizza was a frozen tasteless pizza, burnt on top when cooked, with strange cheese used that two kids tasted and refused to eat (and these are not fussy eaters) - even though this was pointed out to the staff (who were nice) we were still asked to pay for it ($15) - thought that this was poor.
Reviewed April 12, 2014
6.0
Paul from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Disappointing”
It ws close to the hiospital I had to go to for an operation
Severely overpriced for a hotel in need of refurbishment
Reviewed April 04, 2014
6.0
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Not value for money!”
Location
Satisfactory; but, this was not a good hotel, value for money
Reviewed March 27, 2014
5.3
wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
A convenient location, but a bit louisy”
easy accessible, supermarket nearby
The rooms are quite old and easy to hear the sound of the next rooms. Easily accessible, no free wifi and limited parking space.
Reviewed March 19, 2014
7.7
Very good
Catherine from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
comfortable well-priced close to city”
quiet, comfortable, well-priced
generally met all needs for overnight stay in Sydney. had its own parking but the carpark itself was awkward.
Reviewed February 28, 2014
7.7
Very good
Lee from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Very conveniently located”
Locality, Staff, Cleanliness
Very pleasant, great location to RPA, easy to get to the CBD, clean rooms although they need a revamp - thank you
Reviewed February 19, 2014
6.3
Good
barrie from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
An adequate pied a terre”
It was a convenient location close to friends, and provided a no frills service
The hotel is adequately comfortable for the price range, it is looking a little worn and dowdy but for 2or3 nights is fine. The food was OK but again a little lack lustre. In fact the hotel gives nothing to complain about but equally nothing to commend. Parking is expensive and having no wifi in the room is a bind.
Reviewed February 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
Zoe from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Safe, clean and convenient.”
Clean, quiet, good location for my trade show.
I was working hard and late and needed a quiet, clean and safe place to stay. Rydges was conveniently located to my trade show and easily found by cabs. Staff were efficient and helpful if not particularly warm. The room was clean and comfortable. No complaints, I would stay here again.
Reviewed February 13, 2014
4.7
Michael from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Single
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Disappointing”
I can't think of 3 good things
Disappointing. The hotel has a tired decor that urgently needs updating. There was a musty damp smell in the foyer and on my floor. There was very limited television reception.
Reviewed February 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Susan from Australia
Solo traveler
Family
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Friendly and helpful staff”
Staff, Beds, Clean linen
Comfortable and friendly close to Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and transport to Central and City, University etc. Some of the inclusions such as jugs and hairdryers were a little dodgy. The linen on the beds and towels were impeccable and the comfort of the beds were top rate. Overall the stay was comfortable and pleasant.
Reviewed January 25, 2014
7.0
Very good
Christine from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Convenient and comfortable”
Proximity to family, transport and shopping. City view. Comfort
The first room I was allocated was rather dingey, without a view, although a view was part of the booking.
Reviewed January 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Juleen from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Perfect”
Close to transport.friendly staff.great price
Very friendly staff, lovely clean, large rooms with large bathrooms, close to transport...buses,trains , restaurants...car park. Close to city and shopping
Reviewed January 02, 2014
7.0
Very good
Becky from Australia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Quick”
Close to city
I filled it all in and it didn't go! So here are the main points. The bathroom tap dripped all night despite asking for it to be repaired, the curtain was falling off rail and there was old soap still on the soap holder. I think you could provide a few more better quality teas etc eg Twinings. I think Rydges is losing it's class. I have stayed twice and the staff were very helpful last time and my room was in much better state but I had to have the tap fixed then as well. Rydges at Port Mac is lovely and always immaculate.
Reviewed December 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
Urgen from Nepal
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 6 nights in November 2013
very good”
people, location and food
Every things was good except for the first night, the room was cold. The internet service was not good at all. The free internet at the lobby was not good and the connection kept cutting off after 10-15 minutes or it wouldn't connect at all. The internet at the home was also having lots of problem. We had to use the internet at the lobby all the times but the connect was not good.
Reviewed December 04, 2013