Excellent 8.5
Based on 192 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 192 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Pamela from Australia
Solo travelers
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Rydges from the viewpoint of an older traveller
Location: close to railway and bus station. Helpful staff, though not always as knowledgeable as expected. Comfortable bed.
My stay was spoilt because I had to negotiate a shower over the bath; not only that, but there was no handle of any kind to hold for safely getting into or out of the bath.This is a very dangerous situation for older people, or younger ones with less mobility. I have arthritis in my hips, not serious, but enough to make me curse when a hotel room lacks a separate shower recess. Another annoyance, not confined to Rydges, is the use of duvets [doonas] on beds when the weather is warm. Each night i discarded the doona, used 1 or 2 towels from the bathroom as a light blanket. A third annoyance was the poor quality of the lighting, and no armchair in which to sit for a quiet read.
Reviewed December 08, 2015

Anthony from Australia
Business travelers
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Better than most in this city
Condition, quiet, wifi
Excellent.
Reviewed November 15, 2015

Jo from Nigeria
Families with older children
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
wow
view, space, location
Reviewed October 07, 2015

Treena from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
A Great Weekend.
Very friendly, helpful staff, excellent selection and quality of meals in the restaurant and a well set out, equipped room.
Very happy with the whole stay, faultless in every way, and probably the best value for money hotel I have stayed in for many years, and with a daughter at Uni in Wellington we now know exactly where we will be staying during all future visits.
Reviewed August 11, 2015

Louise from Australia
Couples
Deluxe King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Great stay!
Good clean room, handy location and friendly staff
Perfectly happy with our stay. Lovely view of the harbour, and the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

Brendan from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in April 2015
Escape from the Wellington rain while camping
Lovely rooms, great location close to shops and cafe strip and most of all was dry!
loved it!
Reviewed July 16, 2015

Sarah from United States
Families with older children
Superior Twin
Stayed one night in June 2015
wellington stay
location, atmosphere, comfort
Reviewed June 12, 2015

Denita from New Zealand
Groups
Superior Twin
Stayed one night in June 2015
amazing staff were just amazing and loved the stay
amazing staff. comfy beds and just over all had a nice time
Amazing
Reviewed June 08, 2015

zaharah from Malaysia
Business travelers
Deluxe King Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
goo hotel
location, cleanliness, safety
great
Reviewed June 08, 2015

dean from New Zealand
Couples
Superior King
Stayed one night in May 2015
Easy nights stay
Clean, great helpful staff, good size rooms
Very easy there is a restaurant onsite which was good the staff were helpful and the room were good size
Reviewed May 31, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: