"Aside, every other aspect staying at Safestay was cool."
December 21, 2018
620 meters to public transportation
Safety deposit boxes
|Value for money||8.3|
|Nearest airport||London City Airport (LCY)|
|Distance to airport||10.3 km|
"Will definitely stay there again."
January 20, 2018
"Metro super close, super good connection to all the city and airport too."
December 19, 2018
"Cleanliness is paramount here."
December 8, 2018
"Overall all enjoyed my stay, staff were really friendly and..."
February 6, 2018
Whether on business or holiday, each of the 74 rooms at this 0-star property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Shared bathroom, non smoking rooms are among the amenities guests will find in every room. Other features at the hotel include Wi-Fi in public areas, safety deposit boxes, bar/pub. This charming property has long been a favorite in London for both business and leisure travelers. To make your reservation at Safestay Hostel London, just enter your travel dates on our secure online booking form and submit.
"Loved the location- all you need down the street and even a..."
December 19, 2018
Children and extra beds
Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.
Minimum age of guests is: 0 year(s).
|Guest's age||Extra bed|
Infant 0-1 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
Baby cot/crib available upon request
Children 2-16 year(s)
Must use an extra bed
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 17 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Show reviews that mention
Great for families ”
Loved the location- all you need down the street and even a little organic food shop a minute away. Metro super close, super good connection to all the city and airport too. Hostel was nice, great staff and clean space. Lounge upstairs and downstairs was a great place to hang out with your luggage in storage. We traveled with our little girl and was no problem at all. Not a super loud party place. Stayed in triple room on top floor and it was ideal.
Dear Angela, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to know your stay was great in our Hostel. We work hard to make happy our guests. We hope to see you soon. Best regards Carmelo
Great Place. Cleanliness is paramount here. A place you feel like home.Friendly staff. Staff is always very willing to assist guests in any way they could. Always well-coming guests in a cheerful manner.
Brilliant review Felicia. Glad you liked it and our staff. Please come back and see us again Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle
This time, I just stayed for one night. Although stuffs seems to changed, but still ok. Front stuffs prepaid for 6 bed mix room, it was nice and quite. I could sleep well. Thank you! But as student group were side by our room, it was very noisy..... It is very disappointed. Also when I stayed before, rockets are there, but this time, no rocker, So I felt little bit inconvenience this system. If rockets has I can stay more lot.
Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I apologise for the noise of the groups. We do have regular security checks to reduce the noise level. We know have lockers in all the rooms. I hope the next time will be better. Kind regards, Sam
Misleading photograph of the bedrooms!!”
The room photos are misleading!!! When I checked in and got into the room, the room was half smaller than the photo posted on the website, for 3 bunk beds - 6 people! I went back to reception and complained that the room was not in line with my expectations in the photo on the website. It so much smaller for 6 people in the room. It's really disappointing to give the wrong information to the customer. And the reception lady was not friendly, the way she spoke to me in high tone when I made complaint! Made me more disappointed!! Sorry I have got to say, this place and service did not meet what I expected!!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the size our rooms, they may vary in the disposition but they are similar in size. Unfortunately we couldn't provide you with a female dorm you requested because we were full in that type of room. Sincerely, Sam
The feel of this place is very professional and comfortable. The rooms are good and clean. Privacy curtains helps to maintain your space and feel secluded when you need it. The lounge bar is great for spending time though the ambient music can be irritating when played a little loud. Sometimes i feel it is for the staff’s benefit. The amenities are good and the street affords all budgets especially with the market and supermarkets. The buses are frequent and fast. Access to parts of london is also great from here. The only reservation here is the breakfast. At £5, you would expect better than the very unsurprising “continental” breakfast. No stars for that. The staff are very nice except for one that I can name. If you should be reading this review, I’m sure you will know who you are. I feel this one person brought down the professionalism to Safestay. Being obnoxious to your paying “guests” are not an endearing quality to be proud off. Managers, you need to remind them and retrain them or this will drop your exceptional rating. Guests are your bread and butter, so be mindful of that ! Otherwise, a nice place. Recommended.
Hello Robert Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. Glad you liked your stay, but also I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. I would like to know in more details the reason, and especially the staff member you did not contribute to you having a better guest experience. Only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Again, please accept my apology and i hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay with us again. Kind Regards Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle
Great Location but limited facilites”
Awesome location, accessible to anywhere, generally clean from outside to the rooms and bathrooms as well, staff could be more friendly and I hope they become more welcoming, would have been perfect if there’s a pantry area for eating as the common area in front is not really spacious, wifi is also very slow in rooms though you have to pay extra if want a faster internet connection. laundry is quite expensive at 3£ per load. Been to US and AU and the laubdry at hostels is only at 1-2$.
Hello Jay Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. We want the guest to get that great guest experience and it starts from my staff when you check-in. I will be speaking with the relevant staff members to ensure that everyone's welcome expectations are met. Rest assured that I will share all of your feedback with the team and hopefully make it more enjoyable for your next visit to Safestay. Best Wishes Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle
Excellent value and gets most things right.”
There’s no cooking facilities per se but many options are available in the seemingly uninviting street nearby that’s not far from everything. Special shout out to Sam and reception staff for being so helpful.
Thanks William. Love your review and will send your big shout out to Sam and the team See you again soon. Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle
Attending A Wedding”
Cons: No kitchen access, no refrigerator, people can’t bring food purchased from restaurants and eat your meal in the dining room/bar-lame rule! Aside, every other aspect staying at Safestay was cool.
Dear Shirley, Thank you very much for taking the time to review. Happy you liked it, but sorry if your Safestay experience was not all great. Hope to see you soon Regards Carmelo
Clean well, Near bus station ”
Cons : the room and the bed sheet is clean. Near bus station. Reasonable price. Pros : There is a few toilet and shower room per floor. Sometimes need to wait the room is available. The hostel is quite far from underground.
Hello Angwara Thank you for your review. Glad you liked it and look forward to see you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle
Friendly staff and good location”
I had a great stay with Safestay London Elephant and Castle. I met people from different places and had a nice chat with them, the people in the community are nice too. Staffs are willing to help when I need to deposit my luggage for few hours, I really appreciate this. For the location, it is not so difficult to find. I asked a staff from a stall and he gave me a right direction. After that, I could remember the way to go back to the hostel as there is many iconic building that help me to remember the way.
Hello Jia Glad my staff was helpful with your requests and also you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle
It was fine ”
Clean room and shower. Not that bad location.
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback! We are so glad to know you had such an amazing stay with us and we would love to see you again soon! Patryk
the area is a little rough and ready but the same can't be said for the hostel which is in very good condition and often very good value Thanks also to the reception staff (and hi to Rose too) No kitchen facilities. Lots of space to hang about in though (including games machines!)
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Safestay Elephant Castle
it was very scary as there’s a roommate trying to lure others into having a drink with him and this person came back with another more intimidating guy trying to rob his money... there’s no way to find a staff to be involved in it. but other than that, very clean room, cleaning bedding lots of privacy. can’t find a microwave tho.
Hello Dorothy, Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. We offer a 24 hour reception for you to report any issues so we can resolve whilst you are here to make your stay more comfortable yet nothing was reported. However, rest assured that I will share all of your feedback with the team so we can investigate the issues that you have raised. Best Wishes, Safestay Elephant Castle
A great place for a London escape, the staff are very helpful and they're going out of their way to deal with any requests. Overall a good experience, just make sure you book in advance, especially during the weekend is fully booked most of the time.
Dear Bogdan, thank you for your time to sharing your review of Safestay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. See you soon Regards Carmelo
vefry nice, clean, newish looking hostel”
No cooking facilities whatsoever, however! Not even a microwave. It reminds me more of a boutique hotel style of premises (albeit one with rooms you still have to share with strangers), than an honest to God 'above a pub' hostel. It has more flair overall and lots of spaces to hang pout in . Excellent new laundry room..
Dear William, thank you for your time to sharing your review of Safestay. We really appreciate any observation by our guests. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. We hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay in our Hostel again. Regards Carmelo
excellent value (esp on Agoda!)”
A great place. very new and comfortable with added privacy with bed area curtains Nice utilities and areas to sit in/around Not like many hostels however with regards to cooking facilities as there is not even a microwave for use but overall (and nevertheless) a great experience
Dear William, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are really happy to know you enjoyed our stay with us! Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Carmelo
Good choice in Elephant & Castle”
Convenient to take bus & tube to city center. Good choice for a dorm bed. The electric plug only located near the lower bed is a bad thing. It would be nicer if the shower room is larger or the shower button pressing system can be changed..
Dear Lai, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. Thank you and Kind regards Carmelo
super hostel very modern clean space rooms with privacy ,excellent ”
excellent clean in all areas , very spacious rooms and wide beds , great breakfast , good wifi , 20 meters away from bus station which is great but about 7-10 minutes walking to nearest tube which is no problem ,great staff , only bad side that there is hot drinks vending machine inside while there is one vending machine for cold items /water . in general it is great .
Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and the staff. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in London. We also have other Safestays in different locations around Europe! Best wishes, Pablo.
A wonderful and safe stay”
It was wonderful! Even though I a in the room of 8 people, the room is much bigger and I had space to move about and unpack my bag. There is also a personal container under the bed to put your stuffs. However you have to bring your own lock to lock the container. Breakfast was simple but considered really well, giving the price that I pay. I was also given a complimentary drink at the bar, which amazed me. There's free Wifi which only works at the bar/lounge area. I would recommend to others who would want a budget yet wonderful place to stay in London. Visited Feb 2015
Go for room for 8”
Pleasant. The room for 8 is cheaper but comes with in-room bath. There was no other people for my 1st night and I have the entire room to myself! Hotel staff at reception is helpful. The breakfast is simple. ideal for students. The lounge is great place to hang around and connect with people. Cool fun & clean hostel!
Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Waterloo and Southwark
Waterloo and Southwark
Kings Cross St. Pancras