Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, Waterloo and Southwark, London, United Kingdom, SE17 1JL
- View on map
4 Bedded Standard Dormitory - Bed Safestay London Elephant & Castle
4 Bedded Standard Dormitory - Bed
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    Interior view Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    Interior view Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    4 Bedded Standard Dormitory - Bed Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    See all 35 photos
     Safestay London Elephant & Castle

    Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

    8.0
    Excellent
    /10
    (458 reviews)See what guests said
    9.6
    Exceptional

    "Aside, every other aspect staying at Safestay was cool."

    Shirley M.

    -

    December 21, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent cleanliness
    Recommended by 85% of guests

    Things you’ll love about Safestay London Elephant & Castle

    Things you'll love

    • 620 meters to public transportation

    • Bar

    • Laundry service

    • Safety deposit boxes

    Very good
    Location
    7.9
    See map
    Very good location - 320 meters from city center
    Popular
    Nearby
  • London Eye2.09 km
  • Big Ben2.17 km
  • Houses of Parliament2.19 km
  • Tower Bridge2.24 km
  • Westminster Abbey2.31 km
  • Tower of London2.42 km
  • St. James's Park2.88 km
  • Buckingham Palace3.28 km
  • British Museum3.73 km
  • Camden Market6.78 km
  • Value for money8.3
    Location rating7.9
    Nearest airportLondon City Airport (LCY)
    Distance to airport10.3 km

    Rooms available at Safestay London Elephant & Castle

    7.9
    Very good
    Room comfort & quality
    4 Bedded Standard Dormitory
    4 Bedded Standard Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    4 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    4 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    6 Bedded Standard Dormitory
    6 Bedded Standard Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    8-Bedroom Unit
    8-Bedroom Unit
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room Ensuite
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room Ensuite
    ...
    • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Quadruple Room
    Quadruple Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 4 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Mixed Dormitory Room
    Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
    • Shower
    • 8 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Safestay London Elephant & Castle?

    What people love about Safestay London Elephant & Castle

    • 8.0
      Very good

      "Will definitely stay there again."

      Sheik L.

      |

      January 20, 2018

    • 10.0
      Exceptional

      "Metro super close, super good connection to all the city and airport too."

      Angela

      |

      December 19, 2018

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Cleanliness is paramount here."

      Felicia

      |

      December 8, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Safestay London Elephant & Castle

    More about Safestay London Elephant & Castle

    7.2
    Very good

    "Overall all enjoyed my stay, staff were really friendly and..."

    Sirajul

    |

    February 6, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    10.0
    Exceptional

    "Loved the location- all you need down the street and even a..."

    Angela

    |

    December 19, 2018

    Read more reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What to eat nearby

    British cuisine
    British cuisine
    Cafe House
    130 m British, Cafe
    The Electric Elephant Cafe
    170 m British, Cafe, Healthy
    Albert Arms
    860 m British
    American cuisine
    American cuisine
    Horse Bar & Restaurant
    1.3 km American, British
    Belushi's - London Bridge
    1.4 km American, Bar, British
    The Breakfast Club
    1.6 km American, British, Gluten Free
    European cuisine
    European cuisine
    Three O Two at H10 London Waterloo
    1.1 km European, Gluten Free, Mediterranean
    Antico Restaurant & Bar
    1.4 km European, Gluten Free, Italian
    Casse-Croute
    1.5 km European, French

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Safestay London Elephant & Castle from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (458)Booking.com Reviews (3678)
    8.0
    /
    10
    Cleanliness8.3
    Facilities7.6
    Location7.9
    Room comfort and quality7.9
    Service8.1
    Value for money8.3
    All languages
    All guests (458)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 300 verified guest comments
    12345
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Angela from Spain
    Family with young children
    Triple Room
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Great for families ”

    Loved the location- all you need down the street and even a little organic food shop a minute away. Metro super close, super good connection to all the city and airport too. Hostel was nice, great staff and clean space. Lounge upstairs and downstairs was a great place to hang out with your luggage in storage. We traveled with our little girl and was no problem at all. Not a super loud party place. Stayed in triple room on top floor and it was ideal.

    Reviewed December 19, 2018

    Dear Angela, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to know your stay was great in our Hostel. We work hard to make happy our guests. We hope to see you soon. Best regards Carmelo

    Responded January 10, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Felicia from United Kingdom
    Business traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Exceptional”

    Great Place. Cleanliness is paramount here. A place you feel like home.Friendly staff. Staff is always very willing to assist guests in any way they could. Always well-coming guests in a cheerful manner.

    Reviewed December 08, 2018

    Brilliant review Felicia. Glad you liked it and our staff. Please come back and see us again Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

    Responded December 11, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    6.8
    Good
    Yoko from United Kingdom
    Business traveler
    6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    About stay”

    This time, I just stayed for one night. Although stuffs seems to changed, but still ok. Front stuffs prepaid for 6 bed mix room, it was nice and quite. I could sleep well. Thank you! But as student group were side by our room, it was very noisy..... It is very disappointed. Also when I stayed before, rockets are there, but this time, no rocker, So I felt little bit inconvenience this system. If rockets has I can stay more lot.

    Reviewed April 11, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I apologise for the noise of the groups. We do have regular security checks to reduce the noise level. We know have lockers in all the rooms. I hope the next time will be better. Kind regards, Sam

    Responded April 13, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    2.8
    Novi from Indonesia
    Solo traveler
    6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

    Misleading photograph of the bedrooms!!”

    The room photos are misleading!!! When I checked in and got into the room, the room was half smaller than the photo posted on the website, for 3 bunk beds - 6 people! I went back to reception and complained that the room was not in line with my expectations in the photo on the website. It so much smaller for 6 people in the room. It's really disappointing to give the wrong information to the customer. And the reception lady was not friendly, the way she spoke to me in high tone when I made complaint! Made me more disappointed!! Sorry I have got to say, this place and service did not meet what I expected!!

    Reviewed February 24, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the size our rooms, they may vary in the disposition but they are similar in size. Unfortunately we couldn't provide you with a female dorm you requested because we were full in that type of room. Sincerely, Sam

    Responded February 26, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Robert from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    6 Bedded Standard Dormitory
    Stayed 7 nights in August 2018

    Outstanding”

    The feel of this place is very professional and comfortable. The rooms are good and clean. Privacy curtains helps to maintain your space and feel secluded when you need it. The lounge bar is great for spending time though the ambient music can be irritating when played a little loud. Sometimes i feel it is for the staff’s benefit. The amenities are good and the street affords all budgets especially with the market and supermarkets. The buses are frequent and fast. Access to parts of london is also great from here. The only reservation here is the breakfast. At £5, you would expect better than the very unsurprising “continental” breakfast. No stars for that. The staff are very nice except for one that I can name. If you should be reading this review, I’m sure you will know who you are. I feel this one person brought down the professionalism to Safestay. Being obnoxious to your paying “guests” are not an endearing quality to be proud off. Managers, you need to remind them and retrain them or this will drop your exceptional rating. Guests are your bread and butter, so be mindful of that ! Otherwise, a nice place. Recommended.

    Reviewed September 15, 2018

    Hello Robert Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. Glad you liked your stay, but also I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. I would like to know in more details the reason, and especially the staff member you did not contribute to you having a better guest experience. Only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Again, please accept my apology and i hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay with us again. Kind Regards Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

    Responded September 17, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    8.0
    Excellent
    Jay from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

    Great Location but limited facilites”

    Awesome location, accessible to anywhere, generally clean from outside to the rooms and bathrooms as well, staff could be more friendly and I hope they become more welcoming, would have been perfect if there’s a pantry area for eating as the common area in front is not really spacious, wifi is also very slow in rooms though you have to pay extra if want a faster internet connection. laundry is quite expensive at 3£ per load. Been to US and AU and the laubdry at hostels is only at 1-2$.

    Reviewed August 28, 2018

    Hello Jay Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. We want the guest to get that great guest experience and it starts from my staff when you check-in. I will be speaking with the relevant staff members to ensure that everyone's welcome expectations are met. Rest assured that I will share all of your feedback with the team and hopefully make it more enjoyable for your next visit to Safestay. Best Wishes Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

    Responded August 31, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    8.8
    Excellent
    william from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in July 2018

    Excellent value and gets most things right.”

    There’s no cooking facilities per se but many options are available in the seemingly uninviting street nearby that’s not far from everything. Special shout out to Sam and reception staff for being so helpful.

    Reviewed July 08, 2018

    Thanks William. Love your review and will send your big shout out to Sam and the team See you again soon. Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

    Responded July 15, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Shirley from United States
    Solo traveler
    4 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 14 nights in December 2018

    Attending A Wedding”

    Cons: No kitchen access, no refrigerator, people can’t bring food purchased from restaurants and eat your meal in the dining room/bar-lame rule! Aside, every other aspect staying at Safestay was cool.

    Reviewed December 21, 2018

    Dear Shirley, Thank you very much for taking the time to review. Happy you liked it, but sorry if your Safestay experience was not all great. Hope to see you soon Regards Carmelo

    Responded January 10, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    7.6
    Very good
    ANGWARA from Thailand
    Group
    6 Bedded Standard Dormitory
    Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

    Clean well, Near bus station ”

    Cons : the room and the bed sheet is clean. Near bus station. Reasonable price. Pros : There is a few toilet and shower room per floor. Sometimes need to wait the room is available. The hostel is quite far from underground.

    Reviewed December 09, 2018

    Hello Angwara Thank you for your review. Glad you liked it and look forward to see you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

    Responded December 11, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    10.0
    Exceptional
    jia from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
    Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

    Friendly staff and good location”

    I had a great stay with Safestay London Elephant and Castle. I met people from different places and had a nice chat with them, the people in the community are nice too. Staffs are willing to help when I need to deposit my luggage for few hours, I really appreciate this. For the location, it is not so difficult to find. I asked a staff from a stall and he gave me a right direction. After that, I could remember the way to go back to the hostel as there is many iconic building that help me to remember the way.

    Reviewed December 08, 2018

    Hello Jia Glad my staff was helpful with your requests and also you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

    Responded December 11, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    8.4
    Excellent
    Jae from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

    It was fine ”

    Clean room and shower. Not that bad location.

    Reviewed April 22, 2019

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback! We are so glad to know you had such an amazing stay with us and we would love to see you again soon! Patryk

    Responded April 23, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    8.8
    Excellent
    william from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in March 2018

    amnazing value”

    the area is a little rough and ready but the same can't be said for the hostel which is in very good condition and often very good value Thanks also to the reception staff (and hi to Rose too) No kitchen facilities. Lots of space to hang about in though (including games machines!)

    Reviewed March 13, 2018

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Safestay Elephant Castle

    Responded March 21, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Dorothy from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in March 2018

    Exceptional”

    it was very scary as there’s a roommate trying to lure others into having a drink with him and this person came back with another more intimidating guy trying to rob his money... there’s no way to find a staff to be involved in it. but other than that, very clean room, cleaning bedding lots of privacy. can’t find a microwave tho.

    Reviewed March 13, 2018

    Hello Dorothy, Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. We offer a 24 hour reception for you to report any issues so we can resolve whilst you are here to make your stay more comfortable yet nothing was reported. However, rest assured that I will share all of your feedback with the team so we can investigate the issues that you have raised. Best Wishes, Safestay Elephant Castle

    Responded March 21, 2018
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.6
    Exceptional
    BOGDAN from Romania
    Solo traveler
    4 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in December 2017

    Exceptional”

    A great place for a London escape, the staff are very helpful and they're going out of their way to deal with any requests. Overall a good experience, just make sure you book in advance, especially during the weekend is fully booked most of the time.

    Reviewed December 12, 2017

    Dear Bogdan, thank you for your time to sharing your review of Safestay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. See you soon Regards Carmelo

    Responded January 10, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    8.8
    Excellent
    william from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in November 2017

    vefry nice, clean, newish looking hostel”

    No cooking facilities whatsoever, however! Not even a microwave. It reminds me more of a boutique hotel style of premises (albeit one with rooms you still have to share with strangers), than an honest to God 'above a pub' hostel. It has more flair overall and lots of spaces to hang pout in . Excellent new laundry room..

    Reviewed December 10, 2017

    Dear William, thank you for your time to sharing your review of Safestay. We really appreciate any observation by our guests. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. We hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay in our Hostel again. Regards Carmelo

    Responded January 09, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.6
    Exceptional
    william from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in November 2017

    excellent value (esp on Agoda!)”

    A great place. very new and comfortable with added privacy with bed area curtains Nice utilities and areas to sit in/around Not like many hostels however with regards to cooking facilities as there is not even a microwave for use but overall (and nevertheless) a great experience

    Reviewed December 03, 2017

    Dear William, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are really happy to know you enjoyed our stay with us! Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Carmelo

    Responded January 09, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    8.0
    Excellent
    LAI from China
    Solo traveler
    4 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

    Good choice in Elephant & Castle”

    Convenient to take bus & tube to city center. Good choice for a dorm bed. The electric plug only located near the lower bed is a bad thing. It would be nicer if the shower room is larger or the shower button pressing system can be changed..

    Reviewed December 01, 2017

    Dear Lai, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. Thank you and Kind regards Carmelo

    Responded January 09, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.2
    Exceptional
    hassan from Egypt
    Business traveler
    6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in November 2016

    super hostel very modern clean space rooms with privacy ,excellent ”

    excellent clean in all areas , very spacious rooms and wide beds , great breakfast , good wifi , 20 meters away from bus station which is great but about 7-10 minutes walking to nearest tube which is no problem ,great staff , only bad side that there is hot drinks vending machine inside while there is one vending machine for cold items /water . in general it is great .

    Reviewed November 23, 2016

    Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and the staff. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in London. We also have other Safestays in different locations around Europe! Best wishes, Pablo.

    Responded June 04, 2019
    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    9.0
    Exceptional
    Andrew from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in March 2015

    A wonderful and safe stay”

    Customer service, worth its value, privacy in your own bed

    It was wonderful! Even though I a in the room of 8 people, the room is much bigger and I had space to move about and unpack my bag. There is also a personal container under the bed to put your stuffs. However you have to bring your own lock to lock the container. Breakfast was simple but considered really well, giving the price that I pay. I was also given a complimentary drink at the bar, which amazed me. There's free Wifi which only works at the bar/lounge area. I would recommend to others who would want a budget yet wonderful place to stay in London. Visited Feb 2015

    Reviewed March 03, 2015
    8.7
    Excellent
    Mei from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    8 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

    Go for room for 8”

    Attached bath for room for 8, BIG lounge, Free WIFI, pool and activities

    Pleasant. The room for 8 is cheaper but comes with in-room bath. There was no other people for my 1st night and I have the entire room to myself! Hotel staff at reception is helpful. The breakfast is simple. ideal for students. The lounge is great place to hang around and connect with people. Cool fun & clean hostel!

    Reviewed November 25, 2014
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Safestay London Elephant & Castle
    |Excellent 8.0
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Very good location
    • London Eye
    • Elephant & Castle Tube Station is within 0.62 km