Book Now: Saigon Balo Hotel

Good
From 304 reviewsSee what guests said
6.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (166)Booking.com Reviews (304)
7.1
Very good
From 166 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.6
Facilities5.6
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service7.1
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Bahasa Indonesia
日本語
more
Room type
Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
Standard Double Room
Twin Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 157 verified guest comments
6.0
HH from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Saigon Balo Hostel”
the hotel was overbooked, i was transfer to another nearby hotel...
Reviewed January 10, 2016
3.7
Adrianus from South Africa
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Good location”
location
Good location, bad beds, noisy street. Good for backpackers.
Reviewed January 08, 2016
7.0
Very good
HARWIN from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Good & Horible Experience”
Cleanliness, Location, Value for money
I booked for a 1 night stay for 2 rooms via agoda. And i must say this is the best value for money hotel yet that ive stayed in HCM. It was very good that i booked they same 2 rooms types for my return trip to HCM again. THIS IS WEHRE IT WENT HORIBALLY WRONG!! I checked with the counter if the rooms/dates were available he assured that the exact same rooms were available. So i booked them again. I even asked to i need to pay a deposit they insisted it was not required. Then on teh day to check in we were delayed by bus for about 4 hrs. We called the hotel informing them of this and again they assured the rooms were OK. We arrived there after 8pm starving, tired and then were told that they one of the rooms was sold by the afternoon staff and they cant give us any rooms in the same hotel. They took a few minutes and then offered us 2 rooms at a hotel next door BUT i need to pay more for one of the rooms. I insisted that it was not my mistake and the hotel will need to pay for whatever extra. They said it was not possible and they were sorry(THATS NOT GOOD ENOUGH)In the end i gave in as we were too tired to argue. Upon checking into the rooms. It was smelly, dirty, toilet just been used, towel just used, hair on bed and sink. I blew my top. I called them and they said will clean it. After 20min they said it was ok, i went up the new rooms was as dirty and i do not understand what was cleaned. We then again brought down our luggage and moved into a hotel nearby. They did not apologize, not helped with the bags, nothing was said or done for us as we left. CRAPY CRAPY SERVICE It was my wedding week and this whole ordeal really made my last night in HCM horrible. THANKS FOR THAT BALO SAIGON, THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!
Reviewed December 31, 2015
6.3
Good
ERLIANA from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
small budget hostel with good location”
the staff very helpfull, the location very good (especially near to the sinhtourist travel), has lift
standard, the room a little bit old but clean, bed in room is broken but still can use, very noisy because the room I stayed at the 2nd floor faced to the street
Reviewed December 17, 2015
6.3
Good
adel from Kuwait
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Nice location , good staff”
Big room , nice the location , helpful staff
Stay only one night stop over to go bought tau
Reviewed December 08, 2015
6.7
Good
Ryan from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
good location, ok for short stay ”
location, tourist information, value
the hostel is located right in the tourist centre, making booking tours and onward travel easy to do, there are plenty of restaurants close by which is a good thing and price is good, however the place is really noisy both from outside traffic and in between rooms as the walls are thin, we had no hot water and no water pressure for showering, breakfast was included but there was only 2 selections both of which were eggs, so if you are not a fan of eggs like me just go to the bakery 50metres away which has great food at a great price. I would shop around as there are plenty of other places to stay on this strip.
Reviewed December 06, 2015
7.7
Very good
Barbara from Italy
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Location and staff!”
Location, friendly staff, cheap
Only breakfast was poor, the rest was all really really nice! Super friendly staff!
Reviewed November 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
To from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Nice place”
Central location, helpful staff, clean room
Good experience :)
Reviewed November 13, 2015
8.3
Excellent
CHAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good”
Strategic location
Good hospitality from the staff, worth with breakfast provided.
Reviewed October 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Josette from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good Location”
Good Location and clean room
Great
Reviewed September 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Mercedes from Spain
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Central,cheap,great breakfast but por maintenance”
Location, room rate, staff
Friendly staff.central location great breakfast and quiet room even the plugs are not working and it is a pity because it should be fixed in an very easy way but it is not done...the window doesn't close properly but the a/c work and even the bathroom is a swimming pool,the place is clean and the staff nice.I had a breakfast that I could finished!it was great.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Cyrill from Philippines
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Worth the money”
Friendly staff, good location, good price
We enjoyed our stay. It is near the shopping center just 10-15 mins walk from Ben thanh and saigon square.
Reviewed July 20, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Viki from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Good Location”
Clean, location & nice
This hotel near with Park & night life. You can walk for shop..
Reviewed June 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Stephanie from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Great spot! ”
Location, breakfast, staff
We enjoyed our stay here, we stayed in the 6bed dorm and it was nice. There were not many outlets in the room so we had to fight for plug ins but that was the only downside about the room. The breakfast was great, I was pleasantly surprised by the quantity and quality of the breakfast provided (you can choose from a menu). The staff were very knowledgable and had answers to all of our questions, the downstairs is a travel agency so they know their stuff! Definitely worth the $6 a night we paid! Highly recommend this place as it is also in a great location. Not directly on the tourist street but runs parallel to it so it is a bit quieter.
Reviewed June 19, 2015
6.7
Good
Amy from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
friendly staff, stay only for 1 or 2 nights”
staff, rooftop and breakfast menu
The hotel is in a great location and the staff are really nice and friendly especially if you need to book transport or trips. There's a simple, fairly varied breakfast menu and a rooftop with a great view of the surrounding area. A nice place to stay for a night or 2! However, in total we stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Compared to other hotels in Vietnam and the price we paid we expected a little bit more. Our room was not cleaned, the bins, towels and sheets weren't changed once and the air conditioner didn't cool the room and was often turned off while we were in the room. The last 2 days there was no WiFi, and the staff didn't attempt to fix it, just told us there was something wrong with our phones, which was inconvenient. At the end of our trip we did laundry, instead of it being finished in one day like they offered, it took 3 and when we went to pay they changed the price from 35,000 per kg to 50,000 per kg, completely changing what we'd first been told. We were overcharged and we just felt that due to us spending 6 nights here, charging us the correct price for this service was the least they could do - especially as our room and towels were so used and dirty by the end of the stay!
Reviewed May 17, 2015
6.3
Good
Amy from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Friendly staff, stay only 1 or 2 nights”
staff, rooftop, breakfast menu
The hotel is in a great location and the staff are really nice and friendly especially if you need to book transport or trips. There's a simple, fairly varied breakfast menu and a rooftop with a great view of the surrounding area. A nice place to stay for a night or 2! However, in total we stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Compared to other hotels in Vietnam and the price we paid we expected a little bit more. Our room was not cleaned, the bins, towels and sheets weren't changed once and the air conditioner didn't cool the room and was often turned off while we were in the room. The last 2 days there was no WiFi, and the staff didn't attempt to fix it, just told us there was something wrong with our phones, which was inconvenient. At the end of our trip we did laundry, instead of it being finished in one day like they offered, it took 3 and when we went to pay they changed the price from 35,000 per kg to 50,000 per kg, completely changing what we'd first been told. We were overcharged and we just felt that due to us spending 6 nights here, charging us the correct price for this service was the least they could do - especially as our room and towels were so used and dirty by the end of the stay!
Reviewed May 17, 2015
6.7
Good
Amy from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Friendly staff, stay for 1 or 2 nights only”
friendly staff, rooftop, breakfast
The hotel is in a great location and the staff are really nice and friendly especially if you need to book transport or trips. There's a simple, fairly varied breakfast menu and a rooftop with a great view of the surrounding area. A nice place to stay for a night or 2! However, in total we stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Compared to other hotels in Vietnam and the price we paid we expected a little bit more. Our room was not cleaned, the bins, towels and sheets weren't changed once and the air conditioner didn't cool the room and was often turned off while we were in the room. The last 2 days there was no WiFi, and the staff didn't attempt to fix it, just told us there was something wrong with our phones, which was inconvenient. At the end of our trip we did laundry, instead of it being finished in one day like they offered, it took 3 and when we went to pay they changed the price from 35,000 per kg to 50,000 per kg, completely changing what we'd first been told. We were overcharged and we just felt that due to us spending 6 nights here, charging us the correct price for this service was the least they could do - especially as our room and towels were so used and dirty by the end of the stay!
Reviewed May 17, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Lee from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Great for everything's ”
Great location, value for money, nice staff
I think it really good! Staff are friendly. Hostel have escalator which suitable for old people. Room are clean and nice. Breakfast was nice although the choice are little. Location are really great! Behind is bui vien which really convinence. Night life there is wonderful.
Reviewed April 09, 2015
6.7
Good
Maria from Portugal
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Noisy and not very clean”
Location, staff
Reviewed December 04, 2014
6.0
vibol from Cambodia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Budget Hostel”
location,price,good looking
It was ok.go location easy to find any thing to eat or buy
Reviewed November 11, 2014
7.3
Very good
Wouter from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Budget place”
Great internet
Keep in mind this is a budget hotel, so my expectations where not high. I stayed in room M1, other rooms may be different. Although the room has recently be renovated I would advise you to stay out of this room. It adjacent to the very busy street and has a lot of loud street noises, the windows to the street are taped up (and behind a sign) allowing all the noise but none of the light to come in. The mattress was too hard (vietnamese style) and had a plastic cover which makes sleeping very damp and uncomfortable. The whole room had a bit of a smell due to lack of proper ventilation. There was a very weird smell coming from the cupboards when they where opened? The room had great wifi and good internet speeds. This was not the case in the rest of the hotel though. My room was not cleaned during my 3 night stay (first day probably because the DnD sign I left out). Breakfast is very basic. he whole place is a mess, especially the stuff stored around the staircases (potential fire hazard!) and needs some mayor tidying up. The new(?) upstairs bar area has some potential but because of the messy kitchen / bar I did not really dare to try it (except for breakfast). In general the whole place has some potential if they would take some time to tidy it up.
Reviewed November 07, 2014
5.3
SILVIO from Italy
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Is jyst one star hotel”
location
The terrace in the room is not more there,The breakfast very poor,the bathroom so so.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
6.7
Good
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Good Stay”
clean, value for money, location
Reviewed October 28, 2014
6.3
Good
Dominic from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
good value for your money”
good value for your money, helpful staff, nice location
good value for your money, helpful staff, nice location
Reviewed October 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
mark from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
convenient”
lkocation , staff price
everything was ok but the room size was a lot smaller than quoted in the booking add. I was expecting a bath tub and towels but neither were available. To make up for it the staff were very efficient and friendly.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
muhammad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
just fine”
staff,, location,, internet
Reviewed March 02, 2014
5.3
William from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
horrible staff ”
nothing
the staff doesn't know how to prioritize important stuff. i asked one of the staff that i need a laundry service. he told me that i should add some money in order for me to have them on my expected time. i agree to him since, i need my clothes badly. but when it was the time to claim my clothes, they were not done yet. i was pissed of with them, and asked some suggestion to this issue. at first the staff just told me sorry without some solution to offer. i asked him that i was willing to have my clothes the other day but they have to give me time. he can't give me the time then, told me that i don't trust him. how can i trust him if he can't give me the right time. he just say sorry and didn't do anything for my laundry. the staff are not reliable in this hotel.
Reviewed February 11, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Tom from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Greet hotel with friendly staff”
staff, clean, location
I book this hostel for my break time in Saigon, just 2 days and one night but i through the staff was very friendly, they always with a smile welcome me from beginning until i left. Try to help me as tour guide to show me where i should go, what i should eat and shopping.... The room was little small but clean, value of money. I will be back
Reviewed January 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Dominic from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
friendly and accommodating staff”
good location, value for your money, friendly and accommodating staff
i can say i will go back again and stay there because staff there are extra accommodating.
Reviewed November 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Dominic from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
good value for your money”
location, value for your money, friendly and accommodating staff
my stay in Saigon Balo Hostel or Saigon Backpackers hotel was very nice except for some few problems on my room.... the TV in my room cannot be changed to other channel and the airconditioning unit was sometimes very cold or sometimes not working maybe needs checking.....
Reviewed November 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Dominic from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
very good location!”
location, value for money, friendly and accommodating staff
generally my stay here was just right because its very cheap compared to other and yet nice location
Reviewed November 13, 2013
7.0
Very good
Siva from India
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Value for Money”
Proximity, Value, Staff
The stay was just as expected for a budget backpacker hotel. The room was decent, the area was good, very close to many restaurants. It's really value for money. If you are on a budget trip, don't look beyond this hotel/hostel. The only problem I had was, the staff couldn't speak much English. There was little communication problem.
Reviewed November 08, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Aurimas from Lithuania
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
expected better from the single room”
location, price, breakfast
while the double room was very spacious and had a window to the street, the single was quit small and without a window making the stay less enjoyable. otherwise the hotel was fine, good staff, good regular vietnamese breakfast, great location
Reviewed November 03, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Aurimas from Lithuania
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
very spacious rooms”
location, price, room size
very well located, accessible from the airport by public transport, huge rooms provided a lot of space, regular vietnamese breakfast plus allows unlimited coffee and tea. very pleasant stay and woudl definitely reccomend
Reviewed November 03, 2013
4.0
Lilibeth from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Dirty, unsanitary, unsafe”
Within walking distance of Ho Chi Minh attractions and shopping sites
Barely had any sleep because of smelly bedding. Toilet and bath not in the best condition. No fire exit, small tiny window that opens to a three-storey drop. Airconditioning needs cleaning, stain marks on the floor. Not recommended for more than one night, or just look for a better one of the same price but much sanitary condition
Reviewed October 21, 2013
7.3
Very good
Maddy from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Good for backpackers”
Fast wifi, right in backpacker district, secure lockers
The bad things about this hostel - the shower is way too low down so you have to pick up the head and hold it over you, there is not an electricity plug for every bed. I feel that for this standard, perhaps $7 a night is a little bit much. I only mention those in case they're a deal breaker for someone. I have stayed here twice now, simply because the location is perfect and there's helpful staff, secure lockers and fast wifi.
Reviewed August 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Leandra from Bahrain
Group
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Excellent location. Good value for money”
Location. Fast internet. Best staff
We stayed 2 nights here with my friends. We loved our spacious room (just ignore the flight of stairs hehe) and equally roomy bathroom. Balcony with city/park view. Yummy breakfast with bottomless coffee. Very nice and attentive receptionist Ms. Thran. Fast internet. Laundry service. Excellent location - central. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.
Reviewed August 15, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jessica from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
lots to do! good fun”
great staff, location, clean
I loved this guesthouse, the staff were lovely and spoke fantastic english, telling us what to be weary of when we ventured out on our first night. We were made to feel very welcome. 2 mins walk from loads of great restaurants and bars that are very cheap. The war museum and palace are only 20 mins walk if you follow one of the hotels free maps its very easy to find. Taxi drivers will try their best to rip you off here so we tried tonwalk as many places as possible. The room was large enough and clean. If your looking for a central budget hotel this is a great choice.
Reviewed August 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Inna from Estonia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
friendly staff”
staff, location, affordable
What you would expect off a budget hotel in the city. Good location, friendly staff, basic breakfast. No lift, so a bit of a workout carrying your luggage up
Reviewed July 03, 2013
6.0
Maria from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in June 2013
excellent location, english speakn staff”
great location, big room, english speaking staff
Aside from the superb location, there is really nothing extra ordinary about this hostel. Staff were helpful while I was making arrangements prior to arrival. Arranged for airport transfer and they gladly accommodated During the entire stay of five nights though, they only cleaned the room once. Just dont expect them to go the extra mile for you. What they lacked in customer service, they made up for in terms of location.
Reviewed June 14, 2013
6.0
Teguh from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Value for money”
Location and price
Only 1 night stay. There're no sign of Saigon Balo Hostel, just find Saigon Backpacker's Center sign. It has good location, everything within walking distance. Room and bathroom clean, but no lift. Our room include breakfast that start from 7am. We ask earlier breakfast (6.30am) due to our morning flight, but staff said no.. can't not..
Reviewed May 21, 2013
7.3
Very good
shazia from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Right in the heart of things”
Location, comfortable beds
We stayed in the dorm rooms for a couple of nights, and it was comparable to many other hostels in that area.It is in the heart of a bustling centre for backpackers but its also within walking distance of many attractions and more upmarket bars and restaurants. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean and free breakfast in the morning. The staff are very helpful in planning onward travel arrangements
Reviewed March 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Christopher from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
Affordable”
Location, price, staff
It was really good as the staffs really assisted me to anything that I needed and they even allow me to use this mobile phone to contact my friend. I was able to meet good people as well from different countries.
Reviewed March 22, 2013
5.0
andreas from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
the staf service...”
clean,nightlife,easy acces
Reviewed March 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Pirmin from Austria
Group
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Nice Hostel in the the backpacker district”
Travel Agency, WiFi, Location
The Hostel is actually split in two building and you get booked wherever there is some free space. The rooms are clean, but already seen better days. When being in HCMC just to sightsee and travel around it's more than sufficient. We also booked a Mekong Delta Tour with the Travel Agency in this Hostel and everything worked fine.
Reviewed March 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Chiew from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Great Location & Good services”
Valuable room
This guesthouse is near to bus station & benh then market, is very convenien for backpacker, This hotel consider is cheap with the services provided, include breakfast, wi-fi, & tour arrangement. Along the road side to this hotel is tour agent which the price is reasonable. The hotel condition is abit old but inside the room are very comfortable.
Reviewed March 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Jimmy from Indonesia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Great location with very reasonable price”
Near restaurants, taxi stand, low cost tour operators, and Ben Thanh market
I stayed on third level, unfortunately there is no elevator. But the room itself is reasonably clean and large. Water clogging in the bathtub. Bathroom was rather stinky, perhaps it had not been sufficiently cleaned after the last guest left the room. Breakfast is very basic only bread and egg. On the other hand, the internet connection is good to every guest room. The hotel also operates low cost tours to some destinations both within the city and beyond. We booked two trips to Cuchi tunnel and to Mekong Delta, and we quite happy with the arrangements.
Reviewed February 11, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
yew from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
very good service and cleane room.”
good location
in the very good location, a lot of other hotel , tourist company area, off course nearby the sinh tourist head office at HCM city.
Reviewed January 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Jacqueline from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
great location”
clean, free internet + free breakfast
very nice location ... central location ... clean & helful staff ... near ben than market & bus station ... there's a bus # 152 to airport at 5000 vietnam dong
Reviewed January 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jacqueline from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
central location”
clean hostel, free breakfast + good wifi connection
great location. very near to ben than market & bus station. clean. helful staff.
Reviewed January 10, 2013