Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
See all 6 photos
7.6
Very good

"The place is clean, huge rooms, overlooking beach."

Kristina C.

|

February 24, 2018

Family - Bed Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
Family - Bed
See all 6 photos
Lobby Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
Lobby
See all 6 photos
Lobby Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
Lobby
See all 6 photos
Interior view Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
Interior view
See all 6 photos
See map Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
See map
Very good
Location
7.9
See all 6 photos Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
See all 6 photos
Removed from saved list
What guests are saying:
Great place to come. Awesome fishing and surfing right at your doorstep.
Matthew from Australia
Couple
The room is big the lobby is very clean and not boring to stay in. awesome i want to stay here in the future.. ciao
Elaine from Philippines
Couple
No one was there to cook for guests.
Bretzy from Philippines
Business traveler
I had a great stay at this resort. You can't beat the experience for the price. I have gotten a lot less, paying more than what I did at Sailfish Bay. If I am to return to Siargao Island, I will be staying at this resort again
Thomas from United States
Solo traveler
Great Fun
Rolf from Philippines
Group
Mark and his crew know what they are doing we came to catch fish and we did
david from Australia
Group

Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge

Very good location
Excellent
From 86 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Excellent room comfort and quality
8.9
Value for money8.6
Distance to city center66.0 Km
Location rating7.9
  • Airport transfer

  • Balcony/terrace

  • Room service [24-hour]

  • Bar

Select your room
8.9
Excellent
Room comfort & quality
Superior Double
Superior Double
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Partial ocean view
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Double
Standard Double
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Ocean view
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Family
Family
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Partial ocean view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 futon
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Twin
Standard Twin
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Ocean view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge

More about Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge

8.0
Very good

"Nice and very interesting ,,nice view over the sea,and quiet..."

Stefan

|

February 9, 2016

An overview

Show less

What they offer

8.0
Very good

"Quiet & comfortable place to stay."

Anna M.

|

July 25, 2017

Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (86)Booking.com Reviews (7)
8.1
/
10
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.4
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service7.9
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (86)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 61 verified guest comments
1234
10.0
Exceptional
Justine from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
Exceptional”
We stayed for 3 days and I wish we stayed longer. I love the fact that there are policies posted behind the door. Clean place. Tasty foods. Great rooms. Quiet place. Though, I hope they have a dryer for clothes. The staffs are easy to talk too. Overall, it was a good stay. We'll come back soon!
Reviewed January 08, 2019
6.0
Simon from Australia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Good rooms, mediocre staff. ”
Rooms are clean, spacious and a Bluetooth sound system is a pleasant mid con. Negatives are that guests are not given access to the hotel’s wifi in a town with zero mobile reception, and the staff need improving. One offered to do our laundry, but most of it was returned unwashed or not properly washed and she charged the double the normal rate. The plethora of signs announcing ‘house rules’ also detracts from feeling a welcome paying customer.
Reviewed September 23, 2018
2.0
FLORDAN from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Acceptable”
Not able to check in and utilized our booking. hotel no consideration for our flight cancellation
Reviewed September 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jorge from Spain
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Best Place in Pacifico!”
Can only recommend this amazing place. Beautiful, right by the beach, good staff and great friendly owner. Will come back!:)
Reviewed September 12, 2018
5.6
Kacper from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Weird place for stay, but due to low price it has a good value.”
I counted 9 posters in my room informing about things that a guest can not do and penelties for violations. It had a feel of some prisoner camp because of it. Additionally in my $12/night room there was some pricey music equipment wrapped also in a poster informing about penalties for destroying it. That kinda looked out of place. Big plus is the quiet location with perfect view of the beach and ocean sunrises.
Reviewed August 26, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Erica from Philippines
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Very nice room at a cheap price.”
Pros: The room is huge and clean. It has balcony. Bed is big (king size). It has soundbar. (Which made the room very appealing to my partner) It has sunbed inside the room which can be brought in the balcony. The lodge has rooftop. The beach view here is amazing. The staff is very warm and welcoming. Didnt get her name, though. The food here is great. We ordered Sirloin steak and Blue Marlin Steamed Fish. It was a bomb and very cheap. Cons: I dont like the neighborhood. Maybe its just me, but I dont like being looked at and being teased.
Reviewed August 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
Richard from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
exceptional”
Although I made a midtake in booking a room without airconditioning I was very satisfied with the luxury of the 3 story building. It was well maintained and kept clean. Only disappointment was the staff when we arrived. First they had put no soap or towels in room and second we were told kitchen closed at 7pm and that they did not serve breakfast Although the place is far from main attraction [ Gen.Luna beach and cloud 9) rent a motor bike and just explore the island. Is you want to catch a trophy fish just ask for Mark and he will assure you a good adventure
Reviewed August 11, 2018
6.4
Good
Eliana
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
Clean but not recommend ”
The place is clean and pretty comfortable, yet the ambiance was far from pleasant. The owner was uncomfortable to be around and the general feeling was of a museum with rules and fees we would have to pay plastered all over the hotel and room. The food was pretty good but never came earlier then 50 min from ordering and was only possible for dinner. We stayed for a few nights and the staff never offered to change towels or provide toilet paper. We asked for it and weren't so happy with the owners response.
Reviewed August 11, 2018
thank you for your review eliana , as you say we are clean as much as it is possible to be while located near to a beach and tropical location , we find your comment about the owner interesting , as you really never made conversation with him but only small talk , and only to staff upon ordering and asking for things , you are correct there are many rules all over the building , they are there in accordance with local goverment rules to assit guests , without them guests try all sorts of things to get out of paying for say a lost key or broken item within the room , and check out times , we do change all towels if you ask , and we do supply toilet paper on request as we do not enter your room without your permission just in case someone accuses us of stealing or altering there things ,as for waiting time , we are glad you brought that up as all our food is cooked from scratch not frozen so there will be waiting time , we are not a fast food chain ! but thanks good to see you ,,
Responded August 17, 2018
Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
2.0
Weiheng from China
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 8 nights in July 2018
shabby, poorly facilitated and not clean ”
There are ants everywhere and the shower is small running and the room is poorly facilitated. No blanket is provided so the night is cold. The location is far from cloud 9 and other tourist attractions and very few restaurants are available nearby
Reviewed August 04, 2018
thanks for your review so lets get this right shall we , so you stayed in an air con room and you then complain about it being cold , mmm ! did you ever think of turning off the air con ? and we did provide you with extra covers , you did not mention once about ants in the room in all the days you stayed here , in fact we found you very rude , arrogant ,and disobeyed most of our house rules and you were also rude to all the guests , you were by far the worst tourist we have ever had , you knew you were in the wrong location from the moment you arrived and you wanted to transfer down to gl , and from the moment we said no refund, as there was nothing wrong with your room , you decided to make our lives difficult and everyone around you ,next time we suggest you use google maps or use google earth to check the location of your chosen resort , you only booked us for our reasonable price regardless of our location , we were all glad to see you leave , !
Responded August 17, 2018
Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
10.0
Exceptional
Edgar from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Great place to relax, away from the crowd”
Nice location, just a stone throw away from the beach, which is quite and relaxing! The frontdesk Ate’s are very accommodating.
Reviewed June 24, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ria from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Nice place”
We didn't expect the room because we only paid 750 per night but the room was huge. The place was really nice but location wise, It was really far from GL and no signal.
Reviewed June 21, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mei from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Located in front of "Malupitos" surf point. ”
It was nice days in Pacifico because of this hotel. Owner and staff are kindness. Wifi is poor connection but that's okay if you want to escape the real. Ah, there has nice balcony, You can sea the beach from there!
Reviewed June 19, 2018
3.6
Loriegene from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Very far from common tourist spots. ”
We decided not to go to the place because it’s very far from the common tourist spots like cloud 9 in general luna, etc. We already paid for it but it’s okay because we did not search it’s location first before booking. We end up looking for a place in General Luna upon arriving because our tour guide recommended to just stay in GL. So not recommended if you plan to go to island hopping in GL and surf in cloud 9. Really can’t comment about their accomodation because we didn’t experience it. I think it’s much closer in sugba lagoon in del carmen.
Reviewed June 16, 2018
well this is an extra - ordinary review considering you did not stay even though you were booked in , but anyway , you are correct we are by far closer to the major tourist spots like tac tac falls , the rock pools and sugba , but not close to the island hopping it is 40 km away , but we have plenty of good beaches up in the north and so much surf , did you actually surf the cloud nine break ? as it is now called crowd nine , you would be lucky to get on a wave there thats a certainty ! where as the breaks up north have far less people on them , its a pity you chose to stay dowm south as you missed so much of the beauty in the north ,maybe next time , thanks
Responded August 17, 2018
Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
10.0
Exceptional
tianpeng from China
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 5 nights in June 2018
Exceptional”
Everything is great It is the best hotel in the village
Reviewed June 12, 2018
4.4
Nestor from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Owner is non-receptive”
Place is too far to the travel spots in Siargao. Hate the attitude of the owner (a foreigner). He does not even smile to you nor interact with you. I do not recommend this at all.
Reviewed June 02, 2018
nice review ! so you stayed 1 night , mmm not really enough time to become best buddies with the owner is it , maybe he was having a bad day when you arrived , not all owners are around to chat to guests , if you stayed in the hilton hotel would you expect paris hilton to serve you a drink or go partying with you / we doubt it , so please do not make it out that the so called owner was rude to you or did not smile at you , as you do not know what goes on behind the scenes ( the actual owner is pinay !) as for being far away from all the tourist attractions,15mins to the rock pools , 25min to sugba ,25 mins to tac tac falls , but we are 1 hour away from the island hopping , so you are not really correct unless you were walking ! next time you book a hotel please use google maps to help you locate yourself more closer to what you need rather than book on price as it seems this is what you did , but we are glad to see there was nothing wrong with your room , but thanks for writing !
Responded August 17, 2018
Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
4.0
Lydia from Canada
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 7 nights in May 2018
Acceptable”
Unless you're a fishing enthusiast, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The whole place has the vibe of a dark, tired English pub, not what most people want in a tropical country. Posters on the walls of half-naked women make the whole place feel like a boy's club (and lets not even talk about the wifi password). The room itself was really big with a lovely balcony facing the ocean, but there were so many things wrong with it: main lights didn't work, bathroom door was hanging off, taps/flush were stiff from lack of cleaning, toilet seat fell off and there were stains on bed linen and towels. Plenty of nicer places to stay in Pacifico!
Reviewed June 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from United States
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
VERY Comfortable!”
Amazing room with Air con. Absolutely love everything about this place.... the room, the bathroom, the bed, the balcony, the location! The downstairs lodge and bar is great too... kinda feels like a relative's house. Very comfortable and welcoming!
Reviewed May 26, 2018
7.6
Very good
Christine from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Relaxing!”
Away from the crowd. Near the sea. No gadgets (poor signal and no TV) - great for family bonding.
Reviewed May 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
kevin from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Excellent Place ”
I booked this place for my Daughter who was travelling around the Philippines, she had a great time, Surfing right on the doorstep , Mark is an Excellent Host?!
Reviewed April 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Brian from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
A fine enough stay in Pacifico”
Pacifico is talked about as what GL was 10-15 years ago. True enough, even the accommodations reflect this, with air conditioning being a luxury not all resorts have, and time moving very slowly from a service standpoint. Sailfish has both ac and fan rooms and is very clean. Their service is sometimes scatterbrained, but that’s to be expected in a location that is off map. Mark, the Brit who heads the Inn, is a treasure trove of fishing knowledge, so definitely look him up and stay at Sailfish if you are interested in big game fishing. For families, Sailfish was a safe, no frills choice, with the added benefit of the best fish and chips on the island. I would stay there again.
Reviewed April 17, 2018
1234
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

Sailfish Bay Surf & Big Game Fishing Lodge
|Excellent 8.1
×
Check in. Step out.
Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

  • Very good location