Show reviews that mention
Nice quiet location”
Nice bar ,pool table and lounge area. Sound bar interesting in room but wouldnt use bcz threat of 7000peso if broken. Very unwelcoming with all signage , warnings no smoking , drugs etc Play pool damage table 70,000 peso. Very off putting. We are adults and dont appreciate such warnings , they are unnecassary
hi richard , thanks for the review they are all very much appreciated good and bad ones together ,as for our signs , we have no choice in putting them up especiaally relating to the drugs and no smoking it is now law here in the philippines for no smoking in a resort within the building and we could be imposed with a fine for not doing so and there is zero tollerance on drugs in the country , this is generally a back packers holiday destination and a surfers paradise and drugs are associated with the sport , we do not want penalties for not posting signs about it and have people arrested for taking them it is easier to let people know , you will be surprised how many people do not know the drugs law here and the smoking policies , as for the other signs , again we have no choice as many things get broken here and no one wants to say they have broken things as they may have to pay and there are only 2 decent pool tables in the north to play on and ours is one of them !
Great location in nice area. Not party central.”
Keeps getting better here, more money has been reinvested making it even better value. Huge bowls of curry, great breakfast. Power shower. Great central location for exploring the island. Bluetooth sound system in the room. Pool table, books, movies. Quicker to list the cons. There were none for me.
We stayed for 3 days and I wish we stayed longer. I love the fact that there are policies posted behind the door. Clean place. Tasty foods. Great rooms. Quiet place. Though, I hope they have a dryer for clothes. The staffs are easy to talk too. Overall, it was a good stay. We'll come back soon!
Located in front of "Malupitos" surf point. ”
It was nice days in Pacifico because of this hotel. Owner and staff are kindness. Wifi is poor connection but that's okay if you want to escape the real. Ah, there has nice balcony, You can sea the beach from there!
very friendly place”
Perfect. Too many positives to list. Highly recommended stay here. Staff are great, building is well maintained, fresh paint everywhere. Room is amazing value, great shower, everything spotless and clean. There is only one place I would stay in Pacifico and this is it. Thank you to Mark, Mia and Shiela. x
Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room nice with sea view balcony and overall was great value for money and 15m from a beach with concrete road access. Travelled the central and northern areas of Siargao while using this as a base, as had already spent time down south.
Would definitely stay here again”
Great value for money and right on the beach front. We booked to stay here for a couple of nights and ended up staying almost a week. Mark the owner is really chilled out and nice to sit and chat with him about the area. It is obvious he has put a lot of work into the hotel and the staff that work there are really friendly. Food was good and portions massive and the beer is cheap. Hot water and AC all working. WiFi a little intermittent but this is the same at all places on the island as the WiFi comes through satellite (dongles). Overall we were really relaxed in our stay and would definitely stay here again / recommend the place. You’ll struggle to find better value for money in the area.
Great facility, Convenient location”
We had an excellent stay. The lodge was clean and well built and located at reasonable distance to the marina, surfing and recreation spots. Guests during our stay were focused on fishing and surfing. The owner is extremely knowledgeable about the local fishery which I would estimate is the best remaining in the Philippines. Siargao Island fronts the Philippine trench with a length of approximately 1,320 km (820 mi) and a width of about 30 km (19 mi) trending southeast at its deepest point, the Galathea Depth, has a depth of 10,540 metres (5,760 fathoms; 34,580 feet), the third deepest in the world. jalias
Homey, Good People & Facilities: fishing, surfing, billiards etc.”
We love the place, big beds, nice view since beach front, staff and owner are friendly and accommodating, there are plenty of things you can do inside the lodge, such as billiards, darts, movie watching, dine and drinks. We also rented a motorbike to roam around the island and tourist areas. Though far from the airport (Php500 - fixed transpo rate) the daily room rate is fairly reasonable and we don't mind staying there because some of the tourist spots are nearby the area. The place is also serene compared to Gen. Luna area, which we also like. Highly recommended.
Highly recommended ”
Low price, clean big room, hot shower, good food, shiny balcony, great ocean view, friendly staff, cool boss. But be careful with the driver of tricycle if you book an airport transfer, he will never stop trying to ask you for extra money(asked me to pay petrol fee and airport parking fee which is not exist, I refused)
Good rooms, mediocre staff. ”
Rooms are clean, spacious and a Bluetooth sound system is a pleasant mid con. Negatives are that guests are not given access to the hotel’s wifi in a town with zero mobile reception, and the staff need improving. One offered to do our laundry, but most of it was returned unwashed or not properly washed and she charged the double the normal rate. The plethora of signs announcing ‘house rules’ also detracts from feeling a welcome paying customer.
hi simon , thanks for the review , we are sorry to read you had problems with the laundry , but at the lodge we do not offer this service , it is all done outside as we have experienced similar problems ourselves , if you asked the staff then we cannot be held resposible for what goes on outside as they do it in there own home and not here , as for our signage , we have no choice due to the new laws being brought iapon us by the goverment ,especially about drugs and smoking ,without the signs you would be surprised by the excuses we listen to about all sorts of things especilally losing room keys and breaking things , we have heard them all from being possessed by the devil to slipping on bananas ! it does put people off especially experienced travellers like yourself , but then most of our clientel are back packers going around the world on a limited budget and breaking something expensive to replace does not come into thier agenda , would you rather know than be told later?
Weird place for stay, but due to low price it has a good value.”
I counted 9 posters in my room informing about things that a guest can not do and penelties for violations. It had a feel of some prisoner camp because of it. Additionally in my $12/night room there was some pricey music equipment wrapped also in a poster informing about penalties for destroying it. That kinda looked out of place. Big plus is the quiet location with perfect view of the beach and ocean sunrises.
hi kacper , thanks for the review , but without signs we would have more problems with breakages and people not wanting to pay for damage , it limits the risk , you will be surprised how many people try to get away with not paying for things they break ,how would you like it if someone puts a glass of water on top of an expensive sound system in your house only to knock it off when drunk and destroy it ,and then say we did not know we would have to pay for repair ? its easier to let people know the rules via signs , then there is no questions if they break it or lose a room key , most of our signs are general information telling you check out , turn off the air con , no smoking ,kitchen times , no drugs , etc and rules about our pool table ,there are only 2 decent tables in the north and one of those is ours , we are protecting our things for other guests to use , in a country that you have to pay for everything , we think it is easier to tell people and signs are the best way !
Very nice room at a cheap price.”
Pros: The room is huge and clean. It has balcony. Bed is big (king size). It has soundbar. (Which made the room very appealing to my partner) It has sunbed inside the room which can be brought in the balcony. The lodge has rooftop. The beach view here is amazing. The staff is very warm and welcoming. Didnt get her name, though. The food here is great. We ordered Sirloin steak and Blue Marlin Steamed Fish. It was a bomb and very cheap. Cons: I dont like the neighborhood. Maybe its just me, but I dont like being looked at and being teased.
Although I made a midtake in booking a room without airconditioning I was very satisfied with the luxury of the 3 story building. It was well maintained and kept clean. Only disappointment was the staff when we arrived. First they had put no soap or towels in room and second we were told kitchen closed at 7pm and that they did not serve breakfast Although the place is far from main attraction [ Gen.Luna beach and cloud 9) rent a motor bike and just explore the island. Is you want to catch a trophy fish just ask for Mark and he will assure you a good adventure
Unless you're a fishing enthusiast, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The whole place has the vibe of a dark, tired English pub, not what most people want in a tropical country. Posters on the walls of half-naked women make the whole place feel like a boy's club (and lets not even talk about the wifi password). The room itself was really big with a lovely balcony facing the ocean, but there were so many things wrong with it: main lights didn't work, bathroom door was hanging off, taps/flush were stiff from lack of cleaning, toilet seat fell off and there were stains on bed linen and towels. Plenty of nicer places to stay in Pacifico!
Amazing room with Air con. Absolutely love everything about this place.... the room, the bathroom, the bed, the balcony, the location! The downstairs lodge and bar is great too... kinda feels like a relative's house. Very comfortable and welcoming!
A fine enough stay in Pacifico”
Pacifico is talked about as what GL was 10-15 years ago. True enough, even the accommodations reflect this, with air conditioning being a luxury not all resorts have, and time moving very slowly from a service standpoint. Sailfish has both ac and fan rooms and is very clean. Their service is sometimes scatterbrained, but that’s to be expected in a location that is off map. Mark, the Brit who heads the Inn, is a treasure trove of fishing knowledge, so definitely look him up and stay at Sailfish if you are interested in big game fishing. For families, Sailfish was a safe, no frills choice, with the added benefit of the best fish and chips on the island. I would stay there again.
Nice, clean and affordable. ”
Centrally located in Pacifico. Can walk to either end of Pacifico (Pacifico Beach Resort to Bamboo Beach Resort). Much less touristy then General Luna but nice and relaxing. We rented a scooter and spend several days in GL. We took our time on the scooter and it was about 1 hour and 15 min trip. Sailfish is near the beach but not on it. We had a view of the ocean and beach from our balacony. If you plan to fish, Book in advance to secure your time.
Lovely place, great host, good staff”
Away from the crowded and busy area of general luna, I had a great time there. Mark the owner is a very nice guy and his home will be yours as well for the time you stay. Apart from the terraces on each floor there is even a rooftop terrace, which I had to myself since now one else came up there. I enjoyed many sunsets and the stars up there. The house is rather new and easily holds up to european standards. The beach is one house away, mitorbike rental two houses, as well as some small shops and restaurants in pacifico. The food at sailfish is good, but rather on the heavy side. The fries where so good, my plan to loose some kilos did not work out ;) bring earplugs if you are going to the phillipines! They seem to love cockfights and there are roosters everywhere, and they do nit wait until sunrise ;) long story short, would go back there anytime !
Absolutely best place in Pacifico, crazy big rooms and huge balconies. The food & fish is amazing. ”
It was the most pleasant accommodation I had so far in this travels, the owner and the workers are very kind and nice. They are great chef's as well, try the different fishes that they serve, sailfish, Mahi Mahi among others, I loved the sailfish in breadcrumbs and fries absolutely amazing and very generous portions. The rooms and facilities are all clean and oversized, very spacious as well as the balcony. Can not say anything bad about this place.
If you want to stay in a relaxing part of Siargao, this is definitely the place for you. It's far from General Luna where the crowd is on hype. This place is beach front where you can also surf. The staffs are very friendly and accommodating. The place is clean, huge rooms, overlooking beach. Sari-sari stores nearby, motor for rent available in the neighborhood.
Off the beaten path”
Good value for money but quite far from General Luna/Cloud 9. Mark (owner) is friendly and staff too. We came during a typhoon and no electricity for up to 2 days(off and on) but hotel did their best. Rooms as you see them in photos, spacious and simple but more than enough. We were in AC double, facing street. Little noisy early in morning because of roosters and lots fo kids, dogs, but calm in the evenings after 8pm. Had breakfast and dinner at Hotel, and overall, good taste and value for money. Beer so cold it froze when opened. Beach had golden heavy sand that was generally very clean, but the water is not young children friendly as the current after the reef was strong all three days. Waves were huge if you are a surfer but I never saw any well formed waves in 3 days. Not much of choice for food anywhere for miles, but a few things the small village and can rent a motorbike easy. To Mark:, teach your cooks not to deep fry hamburgers, and to try and get your pancakes more fluffy.
Great location nearwhite sand beach, not only for fishing.”
This hotel is straight on the beach with white sand. It's great for a relaxed time, if you like swimming, snorkeling or surfing, its all just a few steps away. Not as busy and hyper as General Luna, just in a nice relaxed area you can mix with the locals. It's a clean relaxed place with friendly staff, just ask, and they try to do their best to accommodate your wishes. It's a great location also to see more of Siargao with makapunko, tak tak falls and many other things, rent a motorcycle there, go everywhere in reasonable time...relax to be short!
Owner a pervert”
The owner was rude upon first arrival, the wifi did not work due to having no load on his account, and he kept winking inappropriately and speaking too familiarly with my young wife. She felt very creeped out by his behavior, and so we spent very little time in the hotel, preferring to minimize our time there to only sleeping one night and touring the surrounding areas instead.
FISHING IN PARADISE”
Most enjoyable second stay @ Sailfish Bay Lodge Jesse and Mark Latham, great couple to run the lodge and understand the needs of a variety of travellers to Siargao Island. Marks fishing boat is good value and will put the Angler amongst Sailfish, withe the opportunity for all guests at the lodge to share the cost of the boat.
fantastic facility in an authentic place. ”
Highly recommended! ! Everything about this place is top notch :) clean spacious rooms, fantastic European and local food, staff (literally became like family during my stay) made me feel like home And really local atmosphere with lots of people and kids all over . Pool table ,MASSIVE !!!!! fishing spots within a walking distance. For me it was heaven. make sure you're aware of it's location as it's far from general luna (which was exactly the reasons why i stayed there for nearly 2 weeks and Coming back ) if you want to enjoy quite and peaceful place yet with great facility in a VERY decent price -look no further
Great value accommodation and fishing.”
We went to Siargao to relax, catch some fish and enjoy the island, Sailfish Bay was a great place to do this. Away from the crowds at General Luna it is a clean, quiet place to relax while being close enough to cheaply travel to many interesting beaches and towns. We had great fishing for our stay and caught fish every outing including large Mahi Mahi and a 15.4kg Wahoo (Tanigue) which was awesome fun. The fishing tackle is top notch and the crew go out of their way to provide the best bait and overall fishing experience, and the chef did a great job of preparing our catch for dinner, delicious. Sailfish Bay is very good value for money and we will be back to try for some Sailfish and Marlin once they're in season.
I had a great stay at this resort. You can't beat the experience for the price. I have gotten a lot less, paying more than what I did at Sailfish Bay. If I am to return to Siargao Island, I will be staying at this resort again
Friendly staff, great for relaxation”
I stayed for 6 nights, perfect for those like me who are looking for some peace and quiet, relaxation time away from the hustle and bustle of the big smoke. There was no WIFI and no mobile phone reception (on SMART), but if you go to the street you might pick up a bar or two. Definitely no 3G signal. So its perfect from getting away from it all, no disturbances. It's quite far away from the areas where most of the tourists (and night life) on the island congregate (66km away from Dapa, and a further 14km to Dapa), you'll have to rent a motorbike and it'll take you around 1.5 hours more or less. What I love about this place was the people and the food. You have to try the Chicken Curry or Adobo. Also the beach is right there on your door step.
nice view of the ocean”
I enjoy the break there and the renting bike
good for the price”
nice view of the ocean
Best Place in Pacifico!”
Can only recommend this amazing place. Beautiful, right by the beach, good staff and great friendly owner. Will come back!:)
Great place to relax, away from the crowd”
Nice location, just a stone throw away from the beach, which is quite and relaxing! The frontdesk Ate’s are very accommodating.
Excellent Place ”
I booked this place for my Daughter who was travelling around the Philippines, she had a great time, Surfing right on the doorstep , Mark is an Excellent Host?!
Away from the crowd”
Pros: a quiet place to stay Affordable Friendly staffs and owners Cons: far from the poblacion (General Luna) Not very accessible
The Best Place to stay,”
The room is big the lobby is very clean and not boring to stay in. awesome i want to stay here in the future.. ciao
No one was there to cook for guests.
nice and very interesting ,,nice view over the sea,and quiet...
Want to catch fish or surf go there ”
Mark and his crew know what they are doing we came to catch fish and we did
Clean but not recommend ”
The place is clean and pretty comfortable, yet the ambiance was far from pleasant. The owner was uncomfortable to be around and the general feeling was of a museum with rules and fees we would have to pay plastered all over the hotel and room. The food was pretty good but never came earlier then 50 min from ordering and was only possible for dinner. We stayed for a few nights and the staff never offered to change towels or provide toilet paper. We asked for it and weren't so happy with the owners response.
thank you for your review eliana , as you say we are clean as much as it is possible to be while located near to a beach and tropical location , we find your comment about the owner interesting , as you really never made conversation with him but only small talk , and only to staff upon ordering and asking for things , you are correct there are many rules all over the building , they are there in accordance with local goverment rules to assit guests , without them guests try all sorts of things to get out of paying for say a lost key or broken item within the room , and check out times , we do change all towels if you ask , and we do supply toilet paper on request as we do not enter your room without your permission just in case someone accuses us of stealing or altering there things ,as for waiting time , we are glad you brought that up as all our food is cooked from scratch not frozen so there will be waiting time , we are not a fast food chain ! but thanks good to see you ,,
shabby, poorly facilitated and not clean ”
There are ants everywhere and the shower is small running and the room is poorly facilitated. No blanket is provided so the night is cold. The location is far from cloud 9 and other tourist attractions and very few restaurants are available nearby
thanks for your review so lets get this right shall we , so you stayed in an air con room and you then complain about it being cold , mmm ! did you ever think of turning off the air con ? and we did provide you with extra covers , you did not mention once about ants in the room in all the days you stayed here , in fact we found you very rude , arrogant ,and disobeyed most of our house rules and you were also rude to all the guests , you were by far the worst tourist we have ever had , you knew you were in the wrong location from the moment you arrived and you wanted to transfer down to gl , and from the moment we said no refund, as there was nothing wrong with your room , you decided to make our lives difficult and everyone around you ,next time we suggest you use google maps or use google earth to check the location of your chosen resort , you only booked us for our reasonable price regardless of our location , we were all glad to see you leave , !
Very far from common tourist spots. ”
We decided not to go to the place because it’s very far from the common tourist spots like cloud 9 in general luna, etc. We already paid for it but it’s okay because we did not search it’s location first before booking. We end up looking for a place in General Luna upon arriving because our tour guide recommended to just stay in GL. So not recommended if you plan to go to island hopping in GL and surf in cloud 9. Really can’t comment about their accomodation because we didn’t experience it. I think it’s much closer in sugba lagoon in del carmen.
well this is an extra - ordinary review considering you did not stay even though you were booked in , but anyway , you are correct we are by far closer to the major tourist spots like tac tac falls , the rock pools and sugba , but not close to the island hopping it is 40 km away , but we have plenty of good beaches up in the north and so much surf , did you actually surf the cloud nine break ? as it is now called crowd nine , you would be lucky to get on a wave there thats a certainty ! where as the breaks up north have far less people on them , its a pity you chose to stay dowm south as you missed so much of the beauty in the north ,maybe next time , thanks
Quiet. no city life and away from evertthing, ”
The fishing I can`t say to much about. (just about fished out) But the stay there was a good place just to get away from everyday hassels that won`t cost you a arm and leg. You feel like part of a family and everyone gets along.(Not a fancy place. but a ggod clean place to stay on a retired budget.
Away from the crowd. Near the sea. No gadgets (poor signal and no TV) - great for family bonding.
Not able to check in and utilized our booking. hotel no consideration for our flight cancellation
hi flordan , we do have terms and conditions to which we strongly adhere to , and we like to think you travel with insurance so you can claim if there is a cancelation ,it is not our resposibility and fault that planes and boats are cancelled sometimes , a booking is a booking and we also get punished by the agencies if we try to refund , why should we suffer through no fault of our own , we are very sorry you feel you were mistreated by n ot getting a refund , but it is not us that took your money in the first place , your claim is with the company you booked with ! how many refunds have you ever received when you have bought something that has broken within a week in the philippines or booked a flight and cannot make the date , we think you could count the number on one finger ! but thank you for writing it helps solve problems that arise and we can only improve on what people say , cheers
We didn't expect the room because we only paid 750 per night but the room was huge. The place was really nice but location wise, It was really far from GL and no signal.
Everything is great It is the best hotel in the village
exceeded my expectations totaly”
I will deffinately be returning to Sailfish bay Lodge.
No TV, Bad Internet connection
Great place to come. Awesome fishing and surfing right at your doorstep.
Quiet & comfortable place to stay. Their food is appetizing just like home cooked meal.
Nice place to stay with Ocean steps aways.”
Owner and staff are friendly and helpful
Wonderful staff. Room with a view and good value for money accommodation.
Best value over the island”
Perfect location over the sea. This place offers well furnished clean rooms with a large balcony at a very affordable price. Recommended.
Big 10 outta 10”
Mark top host, cold beers, spins a classic yarn, food is excellent, the place to stay in pacifico
Clean, fun, the center of pacifico Good ownership, great fishing and amazing staff
The place is perfect as beach front and near to surfing area, 25min away to sayak airport and spots.”
Pros: beach front, walking distance from surfing area, spacious, clean and polite staff. Cons: standard room no aircon and no signal. Over all our stay is worth a try, will definitely booked again here. Thank you so much ;)
Best place to get away from the busy city life ”
Beautiful, right by the beach, good staff and great friendly neighborhood. Away from the crowded and busy area of General Luna. You can easily rent motorbikes in the neighborhood. Affordable Bbq's sold at night or you can visit talipapa nearby and have them Aling Dominga cook or grill the fresh seafood for you.
good place for the price”
pros : basically on the beach walk to popular surfing beach not to many turists in this small village super cold beer quiet, clean, big room big comfortable bed fan and accessories great sound system and TV with many DVD movies cons : ac loud salty water in bathroom staff downstairs not easy to find to get food or drinks
Owner is non-receptive”
Place is too far to the travel spots in Siargao. Hate the attitude of the owner (a foreigner). He does not even smile to you nor interact with you. I do not recommend this at all.
nice review ! so you stayed 1 night , mmm not really enough time to become best buddies with the owner is it , maybe he was having a bad day when you arrived , not all owners are around to chat to guests , if you stayed in the hilton hotel would you expect paris hilton to serve you a drink or go partying with you / we doubt it , so please do not make it out that the so called owner was rude to you or did not smile at you , as you do not know what goes on behind the scenes ( the actual owner is pinay !) as for being far away from all the tourist attractions,15mins to the rock pools , 25min to sugba ,25 mins to tac tac falls , but we are 1 hour away from the island hopping , so you are not really correct unless you were walking ! next time you book a hotel please use google maps to help you locate yourself more closer to what you need rather than book on price as it seems this is what you did , but we are glad to see there was nothing wrong with your room , but thanks for writing !
Very basic ”
Room too hot for me which was a fan room but AC rooms may be ok. Away from busy area so juice and peaceful.
Not much soul in the hotel ”
Nice location up north of the island away from the crowds. Peaceful with no passing traffic. Building is very hot. Poor mattress.. Fan room was just too hot. Nice beach just a few yards away.
hi aled , good to read your review , if coming from the uk , it is not advisable to book a fan room anywhere in a tropical location , considering the difference in weather conditions , 18 degrees is a summer in the uk , so next time we do suggest you stick to air con rooms on your travels , a for our mattress being poor , not many complain about that issue , but depending on your standards , good to have you hear and hope you enjoy your travels onwards , thanks
A remote but nice place”
Quiet place, cheaper accommodation, but commuting is quite expensive around 1000 to 1500 one way.
Genial ubicación y tranquilidad”
El hospedaje está ubicado casi enfrente de la playa, en el pueblo de Pacifico. El dueño es un inglés re buena onda, el personal súper amable y la limpieza genial. Nos encantó! Las habitaciones tienen baño privado, agua caliente, balcón con reposeras, montón de lugar para colgar ropa o guardarla. Sinceramente súper bien!! Nosotros elegimos con ventilador pero hay también con aire acondicionado. Súper recomendado si te gusta la tranquilidad y la verdadera cultura Filipina!
Best dawn place ever and very gentel people”
De los mejores lugares que me he quedado hasta ahora, se puede ver el amanecer desde el cuarto y en la mañana las chicas muy lindas te prepararan un desayuno muy rico. Pacifico es un pueblo con gente muy amigable que marcara tu viaje. No dudes en preguntar a Mark (el dueño) algunos tips para tu viaje. Recomendado al 100.
Very clean and confortable place”
Lit dur mais confortable Très propre Eau chaude Refill d'eau Système son Billard Moins : beaucoup de messages affichés avec des interdiction ou warnings mais pas dérangeant pour moi.
TRES BON HOTEL”
Bien placé à quelques mètres de la plage,confortable et propre,Mark et Jesselle sympathique et personnel aimable et efficace. La plage de sable n'est toutefois pas très propice à la baignade à cause d'une barrière rocheuse et peu de fond.