Book Now: Sala Boutique Hotel

Excellent
From 286 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Sala Boutique Hotel Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.7
Excellent
From 391 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (286)Booking.com Reviews (105)
Rating via Agoda8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.0
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service9.0
Value for money8.1
Rating
9+ Exceptional (114)
8-9 Excellent (78)
7-8 Very Good (46)
6-7 Good (17)
<6 Below Expectation (14)
Time of the year
Mar - May (62)
Jun - Aug (42)
Sep - Nov (67)
Dec - Feb (98)
All guests (286)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 269 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Tsung from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

The experience of the stay and food is really wonderful.”

The hotel owner ,Thomas, is really a hard working guy. His effort makes this hotel a nice place to stay at the small city. If you like Thai food, his restaurant is the best Thai restaurant in Town for no doubt.

Reviewed May 06, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Sue from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

STAFF VERY GOOD”

Staff members collected us, put us on the airport ferry to go to the hotel and then found a taxi to go to the hotel. . The same went for the reverse. The Maldives are expensive and crowded, and what you pay for a hotel here will get you an outstanding room in most other places. The room did not have windows but you can understand that in jam-packed city like Male. Think long and hard before making a booking in this city.

Reviewed May 05, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
jane
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Exceptional”

This hotel really is an oasis in a very busy area, once in the hotel it’s very tranquil. We had a beautiful spacious room with all facilities. The Thai food at dinner was out of this world and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious with really lovely crockery and nice touches. The staff were all really charming and helpful. Thomas the owner is quite right to be so proud of what he has achieved. We also really enjoyed the journey from the airport via ferry boat and taxi, added to the ambiance of the stay. Definitely recommend

Reviewed June 02, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Siwaporn from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Responsive CEO, Staff, Location, Breakfast”

The best impression for me is that this is a little boutique hotel own by Thomas, the CEO. he is very responsive and can make anything happen. All staff are very helpful. We stayed one night for overlay transfer, everything was very smooth. The hotel is right in the middle of Male so you can walk to see city every where from here. Nice atmosphere in the hotel, good breakfast. I didn't have a chance to try Thai food here but heard from many people that it is a great food. The is a new coffee shop (Modus) just opened 2 months ago opposite from this hotel. The best specialty coffee you must try.

Reviewed February 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Bo from Sweden
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Comfortable Hotel”

SBH provided us with a nice room, good food, friendly and efficient staff to make our stay enjoyable. Although, at a slightly higher cost than Male's average. But this hotel is still worth coming back to.

Reviewed December 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Amalina from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Amazing place”

Little hidden gem in Male. The place is unique - reminded me of Thailand, with beautiful hotel design and really really comfortable mattress - felt like sleeping in the cloud. The food - thai dishes was amazing - well priced. They served really good breakfast - the croissant, pan au choclait came fresh every morning from the best bakery in town. Amazing place and amazing service.

Reviewed August 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Karen from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

something different”

service, cuisine and ambiance

let me first say that the restaurant and cuisine is fantastic if you love Thai food... not cheap but then nothing in Male' is. First time we have stayed at the property and Thomas only has four rooms so there is lots of personal attention. Good sleep, great breakfast and very, very attentive and professional staff led by Raj, who has just returned to the property. Thomas is omnipresent and you can feel the warmth and care he very much takes to look after the clients - regardless of nationality.

Reviewed November 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Nice cosy hotel in Malė”

Nice friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms

Sadly I was leaving the Maldives and this hotel was a great overnighter before flying out. Staff very helpful and even walked me to the nearby ferry port. Would recommend. I didn't get a chance to sample the in house Thai restaurant but looked amazing. The breakfast was delicious and fresh.

Reviewed April 09, 2015
8.3
Excellent
LEUNG from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

A delight in Male”

Excellent service, cozy room and delicious breakfast

It was my first visit to Male and picked Sala after having read many nice reviews on it. I contacted the hotel prior to arrival to get some information and arrange for pick up at the airport and transfer to our next destination. I got very quick replies from Thomas, CEO of the hotel and felt very assured that everything would be smooth. We arrived at Male in a busy Sat evening. His staff met us at the airport and took us to take the ferry to Male. Upon arriving at the pier, many tourists and locals were there trying to grab a taxi or trunk. Luckily, his staff managed to get us a taxi. We arrived at the hotel after a short ride. The room was spacious given that Male is indeed a very small island. We had a tasty breakfast before leaving for the seaplane. They offered a nice selection of bread and the omelette was divine! We spent less than 24 hours at the hotel but were quite impressed by the quality of service. We will definitely return for our next Maldives trip.

Reviewed February 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Sheree from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Sala Boutique Hotel very convenient”

Convenience, food, management

We were very well looked after. Ninu the Manager was there to greet us and looked after us very well. The Thai food we had for dinner was excellent, would definitely recommend this hotel for an overnight stay before going to the resort.

Reviewed February 10, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Muhammad from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Great Thai authentic taste but comes with a price.”

The Thai food, The staff, Location

It was awesome, All the staffs are helpful and friendly. Only problems is that we need to pay bed tax even though Agoda had already include the tax in the overall payment. I should have print the Agoda receipt to prove it and my 2 year old boy also needs to pay bed tax.

Reviewed December 01, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Alex from Greece
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Convenient hotel with good food and service ”

The food both at breakfast and dinner is really excellent, convenient for an overnight stay

Sala Boutique Hotel is a charming little hotel for an overnight stay on the way to and from the resorts in the Maldives. The owner is very friendly, the rooms are well appointed and quiet and the food was fantastic. The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had in a hotel and the Thai dinner was really good as well. It was nice to have free wifi (when it was working) and the service with a smile was great, better service than we had on the resorts on the islands in the Maldives! We would go back if we needed somewhere to stay in Male again.

Reviewed February 19, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Alice from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Lovely place if you have a layover in Male”

We loved our stay at the Sala. Someone from staff met us at the airport and arranged transport back to hotel for us and our luggage. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. The Thai restaurant onsite is fantastic.

Reviewed January 19, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Imin from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Exceptional”

Thomas and his staffs are extremely kind and helpful! Thai food is absolutely delicious at the hotel restaurant.

Reviewed April 29, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Bo from Sweden
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Happy to be back”

Second time at Sala, and like the first everything was fine. Specially the excellent service from the manager and his staff.

Reviewed December 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Asad from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

One night layover in Male”

The hotel was nice, clean and decent for a one night stop before heading to our resort the following morning. It is close to the jetty, so transfer doesn't take too long. The staff meet you at the airport and take care of the rest. Unfortunately we had an early morning transfer so we had to leave the hotel early, which meant not having enough time to enjoy any facilities they had to offer or to check out the capital Island. We managed to make a quick visit to the oldest mosque on the island which thankfully was just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Reviewed May 02, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Gilles from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Lovely hotel in the heart of Male”

This hotel is perfect for a short stay (as the room has no window, it would not be comfortable for a long stay). The decoration is refined and modern and the location very convenient. The staff were lovely and the breakfast excellent. Recommended!

Reviewed February 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Darrick from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Excellent Everything”

Due to our flight leaving early in the morning, I did not want to risk missing flight therefore, we opted to stay in Male the last night of our vacation. I could not of chosen a better host and hotel. Staff and service was impeccable. Raj obviously does alot of training with his staff. The room was perfectly clean. Everything was in the right place. The staff even took us on the ferry and directly to our check-in at airport. All this was included in the price of the room. I only wish I had stayed up long enough to eat in their Thai Restaurant. The island can seem a little intimidating at first because of all the traffic but get out and walk around. The people are friendly and helpful. You will not believe the amount of motorcycles. The hotel is quiet, clean and all the rooms and bathrooms are completely remodeled. You will love it. Oh yes! contact Raj about your arrival at airport and he will even make arrangements to meet you and bring you to hotel. We got boat from resort to Male and took a taxi to hotel. It was fun.

Reviewed November 10, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Claudia from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Good overnight”

Good hotel, though there was no Indo to say they would pick us up, and they we're surprised when we arrived sweaty and confused. Friendly staff, good shower and bed, food was good but very expensive. Overall positive.

Reviewed September 11, 2016
5.7
Izumi from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Good but costs more than value of stay”

Male Capital cozy hotel, walking distance from pier, Thai foods

Without detailed survey map, it will be difficult for everybody to get there but unexpectedly a pick up service was arranged by hotel at the airport. However since that service was not expected nor advised, I was not aware of them and myself just took ferry and walked in the hotel. For the lady visitors, it is a bit scare adventure to walk there alone, because many narrow and dark street we need to walk through. Motorcycle traffic are many and need to pay attention against them. From Pier to hotel walking takes 9 min. Good thing is nice Thai food available at restaurant. Overall, a bit expensive but acceptable choice for stay at Male.

Reviewed January 13, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Danqing from China
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

small nice hotel ”

breakfast, cleaness, friendly staff

It was a pleasent stay in Sala boutique hotel. the owner is very nice. The breakfast is one of the best i have every had. It's a Thai style small hotel, and totally different from the Male city's noisy and messy. i will return to this hotel again, if i have a chance to visit this city.

Reviewed January 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Helen from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

A great place to stay for a couple of days”

friendly, helpful staff; location; Thai-themed decor

Excellent two night stay. We were impressed with this small, 6 bedroom hotel, right in the middle of the busy city streets. The best thing about the hotel was the friendliness of the staff. It really made our stay memorable. They couldn't do enough for you. The hotel is small enough for you to have a very personal service. We also loved the food in the Thai restaurant and sat outside in the cosy little courtyard when we had dinner. Surprisingly, there were no flies or other insects bothering us (early Jan) so I don't know if this was because this is not the 'fly season'. Room was tastefully decorated, though a bit on the dark side - only one very small window with mainly a rooftop view. Free wifi, good selection of English TV programmes, and a small fridge. Bathroom is clean with shower - bathrobes provided. We would definitely stay here again if we come the the Maldives - ideal to stay for a couple of nights before going on to a resort.

Reviewed January 09, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Chapman from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Nice hotel, avoid Male if you can”

clean; good food

Sala is a small Boutique hotel located in Male city. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Our stay was pleasant,Thomas is quite friendly. The breakfast is great Sala is a great choice if you have to stopover in very overpriced Male.

Reviewed September 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Rita from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

What a great way to enter Maldives”

Food, Stuff, food

we landed late in Male so we needed a place to stay for the night. We had heared very good things about the Sala Boutique hotel and we decided to stay the night there. It was a great stay, the food was excellent, the room was beautiful, the stuff was helpful and frienly. We highly recomment Hotel Sala Boutique

Reviewed September 02, 2014
8.3
Excellent
David from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Nice hotel, avoid Male if you can”

good food, friendly staff, good foot massage.

Sala is a small friendly hotel located in Male city. The rooms are clean. You don't have much choice in Male- either ridiculous amounts for a very nice hotel or cheap for a cheap place, Sala is not cheap but I'd say it's a clean 3*. The thai food is very nice. Unfortunately, Male is crap, so avoid it if you can. Terrible motorbike traffic (my wife and I got hit by one about 30 minutes into walking around). The local souvenir shops are better value than you'll get at the resorts for sure.

Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Teresa from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Relaxing”

Friendly staff, boutique feel and decor, comfortable amenities

The staff was friendly and courteous from the moment we walked up to the man holding the sign for the hotel at airport arrivals. The facilities were clean, comfortable and aesthetically pleasant. The rooms were nicely air conditioned. The bed was comfortable with fluffy pillows and there was a wide arrange of TV channels available. Having arrived late at night and only staying for a night, this was the perfect hotel to give us the rest we need without having to worry about anything including getting something to eat in the morning as a continental breakfast was included.

Reviewed December 09, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Danny from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Easy and convenient with great Thai Food”

Personal, Clean and great food

First time visiting Maldives, spent a night at Sala before being transferred to our Resort. I picked Sala and did not regret it. Airport transfer to hotel was by boat and taxi. Once arrived, Thomas the owner was waiting for us at the front of the hotel to welcome us. Thomas is super friendly and made our experience very personal and friendly. Checking in was easy followed by a visit to the hotel's Sala Thai Restaurant. Great Thai food and ingredients were freshly flown in from Thailand!! Breakfast was included and transfer back to the airport for onwards transfer to our resort was seamless. I would recommned Sala Boutique Hotel for a stop over at Male whether it's the beginning or end of your Maldives visit.

Reviewed November 15, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Wonderful overnight stay before heading to resort”

Breakfast was awesome and portion was huge. Owner and staff were both helpful and friendly.

There is one fascinating thing about Maldivian hotels - they don't provide you with free toothbrush and toothpaste. Other than that, the stay at Sala boutique was excellent with very very friendly and helpful staff and owner Thomas. The room was very clean and even though we stayed at a room with no windows, it felt perfectly ventilated and nice. The transport jetty from Airport to Male was a bit dodgy and it was public transport and it's rather scary to ride in the dark ocean when you arrived at Maldives on a late flight. We had a late night supper at around 10:30pm because the restaurant operates until 11:30pm. Great and authentic Thai food, coming with price tags of hotels but no complaints to that as we were in maldives, nothing comes cheap. At 4 am we heard a loud broadcast calling for prayer and it did scare me. We discovered another goodie in the next morning at the breakfast table. We had more cheese, ham, sausages and bread than we could finish. Eggs were made to order and they serve really nice coffee and German yoghurt.

Reviewed November 05, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Randall from United States
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Lovely boutique hotel with outstanding service”

Very attentive staff, delicious and abundant food, great location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sala Boutique hotel. The owner and staff couldn't have been more hospitable. Their breakfast is delicious and abundant. We also ate at the hotel's Thai restaurant which was superb! To reiterate, each of the staff members was polite, efficient, and a joy to get to know. They truly care about their guests. They even arranged our transfer back to the airport (on another island) and escorted us there to make sure we got off safely. Now that's service above and beyond!

Reviewed October 07, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Fairunisa from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

Clean, friendly staff, really good breakfast”

really good breakfast

upon arrival, the hotel staff greeted us at the airport and guided us into the ferry to Male city. Eventhough there was a political demonstration in Male city when we arrived, taxis were hard to come by...the hotel staff stayed with us until we are safely inside the hotel. It was a blessing to have the hotel within walking distance from the ferry point. Our luggage were placed onto a small truck (the only vehicle available at the time during closed up due to political demonstration) and together with one staff we walked to the hotel. The hotel staff spoke really good english which helped alot being it was our first time in Male. All in all great one night stay despite the circumstances!

Reviewed October 02, 2013
7.7
Very good
Yuhong from China
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Cozy Boutique Hotel; Thai Dinner Recommended”

1. Superb service; 2. Location by airport ferry; 3. Good Thai food

Owner and staff provide wry attentive service. Rooms are modern an cozy in this boutique hotel. Try the Thai food for dinner. Ask owner to arrange 1-hour walking tour of Male, which is enough to see all the main sights (caution that there are not too many).

Reviewed September 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Mahfuzah from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

Perfect Stay for Transit Travellers”

Warm & Friendly Environment, Comfortable Bed, Wifi Available

We arrived at night and we greeted graciously by Thomas the owner. His cheerfulness made our short stay very pleasant and welcoming. The room was very clean and nice with a very comfortable bed and modern day shower. Equipped with wifi and TV. Sala Hotel had a simple breakfast prepared but they had proper bread for breakfast and my husband was delighted as it reminds him of Europe. The staff are also well trained and very attentive. We did not stay long as we were on transit but we were very happy with the overall experience and Sala Boutique resort. Yes, we will stay with Sala Boutique resort again.

Reviewed August 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Xiaosong from China
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

Sparrow small in size, but of vital organs”

Food, massage and bed

Thai food is exquisite and orthodox; meanwhile, indonesian massageurs renders traditional expertise from thier hometown. Bed in the room make me easily fall asleep. Last but not least important is that the hotel holder is a modest german.

Reviewed June 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
SU from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

great hotel ”

great location, yummy food, nice room and service

very convenient to everywhere, fish market, shopping area, temple, sightseeing places, and they have food massage service as well, room is clean and nice, German owner is a very nice person love here~ only 6 rooms, will recommend to friends

Reviewed February 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Miyeera from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Good Option for Overnight”

Convenient and clean

The owner is very welcoming, made all the arrangements for the airport pick ups, and subsequent boat trip to the resort the following day. The hotel is set amidst busy Male streets, quite a number of shops around, but seeing as i arrived well after 10pm and all shops close at 11pm, there wasn't much chance for walking around. Breakfast next morning was okay, might have been better if they had a menu to choose from. Overall a pleasant stay for one night.

Reviewed February 10, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Todd from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

amazing hotel and best food in mala city/island”

Great Hotel / Only Place with Great Food

my girl and i enjoyed our stay at this hotel. everything about this place is amazing and comparing to other hotels that friends stayed out, this place is by far the only place to really stay when having to be in mala for the night. the food is also great. a bit pricy, but considering how bad the food is around town, this is definitely the place to eat.

Reviewed February 07, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chun from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Nice hotel and owner, excellent service”

Decoration makes you feel comfortable

hotel will send staff to pick up from male airport, this is extremely good for us as its our 1st time to go to maldives, it will be difficult if we have to find the ship to go to another island and find the hotel. owner thomas is extremely nice, we arrived very late and leave very early on the next morning, regret that cannot try the breakfast there. they provide staff again to take us all the way to the seaplane transfer spot near the airport. thomas helped us to book and contact the ressorts before our arrival, everything was prepared for us. will definitely go back to this hotel next time we go maldives and try the meals

Reviewed January 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Rachit from India
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Felt home with Authentic Thai set up”

Food, location

It was a wonderful stay with great food and hospitality. Don't expect star facilities but overall a descent place if you are considering Maldives main city for your stay. Though we had a very comfortable stay but we realise that its better to stay in some star property island by shelling out a little more as there is nothing at all to see in Maldives main city - male. Thomas, the German owner of this motel is a magic man who would willingly help you if any assistance required in your local sightseeing and travel. The rooms are very neat and tidy. Got almost everything basic a standard deluxe room should have. However rooms need more light and a full mirror.

Reviewed January 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Great place and wonderful service”

Small 5* boutique hotel

Sadly we only stayed one night because we were very impressed with the accommodations, breakfast and host. Probably most stay for one night as a stopover to the a resort but I think it is well worth staying a second night to experience what Male has to offer. If you are going to stay in Male this is probably one of the better places to stay.

Reviewed January 06, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Nice butique hotel with a friendly service”

Nice cosy rooms and delicious breakfast

We arrived around midnight to hotel Sala and was meet by hotel owner. We were touched by hospitality and excellent service. Hotel offer Italian and Thai cuisine. We choose Thai and it was awesome. I would recommend Sala hotel to all my friends who arriving to Male evening flight and not able to catch seaplane. As seaplane operate till 4 pm only, I suggest Sala boutique hotel as it located just 8 minutes by ferry.

Reviewed December 18, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
RAJRISHI from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Great hotel with wonderful service”

Perfect for a late night arrival into male!!

It was fantastic to arrive at the airport at 1 am and have somebody there to greet us, they sorted out all the transfers that night to get us from the hotel to male. The next day they had already arranged with the Sheraton full moon (our resort) to pick us up. It was all done in a hassle free and efficient manner. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed December 13, 2012
8.7
Excellent
pinij from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

อาหารอร่อย”

บริการดี

location is good,can walk around the city.the roomis not large but everything is comfortable and very clean.the security is ok.the thai food and the breakfast is very good.the service is beyond average.

Reviewed December 07, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Siptis from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

small, clean boutique hotel..excellent Thai food!”

friendly, hospitable owner, warm service, great restaurant

We stayed one night at the Sala Boutique Hotel at the start of our Maldives holiday. Booking and correspondence with the hotel to arrange airport pick-up was smooth and efficient. One of the hotel staff met us at Male airport and escorted us on the ferry and a short taxi ride to the hotel. Our room was small but well-appointed and spotless. Free wi-fi was also a plus. The highlight of the short stay had to be the hotel restaurant which serves Thai cuisine. My girlfriend and I are both Thai so as you can imagine we have pretty high-standards when it comes to "authentic Thai cuisine" and the owner was pretty confident that his restaurant's Thai food would meet these expectations (he told us that all ingredients are imported from Thailand).I have to say that the Thai food here would match any good and authentic Thai restaurant in Bangkok! Check-out and departure was equally as smooth the next morning (after a nice breakfast) and the hotel staff accompanied us all the way to the check-in counter for our seaplane flight the next day. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone stopping over in Male. If you're not staying here, at least visit the restaurant!

Reviewed November 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Tak from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Clean, calm and comfortable hotel”

Quietness

Me and my wife stayed in Sala on the first night of our Maldives trip. As long as we step out the airport, Sala's staff was already there waiting for us with a welcome sign. He carried our luggages all the way to the hotel. When we arrived the hotel, their staff prepared the documents already, we spent less than 10 mins for check in. We were staying on the second floor, it was really clean and quiet. We didn't have the breakfast the next morning as we needed to take the (very) early seaplane to the resort. But I think it's good, they have a nice restaurant.

Reviewed November 06, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Jie from China
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

lovely hotel ”

clean and cosy room

We only spend a night at the hotel as the next day we were rushing to our resort at constance. However, really appreciate the hotel service crew who fetch us and send us to the airport! feel welcomed on the very first day to Maldives!

Reviewed October 20, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Kanakhuan
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Nice Thai-style boutique hotel with great service”

Great food, excellent service

Staff was ready to welcome us at the Male' international airport and facilitated our transfer to the hotel smoothly. There were only 6 rooms at the hotel so very private. The room is nicely decorated in Thai style. I love Thai food at Sala restaurant.. very authentic! The staff helped checking the seaplane time and managed the smooth transfer for us too. The hotel owner is German. He came to take care of guests by himself so we felt very warm welcome. We had a pleasant stay there.

Reviewed October 18, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
tamyam from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly service & great restaurant”

Easy access for overnight layover in Male

The hotel is small and has a wonderful atmosphere. We chose the hotel for our transit in Male but we were very pleasantly surprised by the nice little touches, very helpful service and the great restaurant.

Reviewed October 14, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Kewei from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Excellent Service and good location”

The staff and the owner are very friendly and helpful

We arrive the airport close to midnight by the Singapore Airlines flight. The staff picked us up at the airport. We first took a ferry to the main island and next by a cab to the hotel. The procedure is painless and smooth. It took about 25-30 minutes (on ferry + cab) for us to get to the hotel. It is close enough for the stopover purpose at Male. I have read a number of positive reviews at Agoda. Everything meets my expectation, especially the friendly service. The hotel itself is smaller than I thought. The room is very clean and cozy. Bath room is a bit small but it is fine. We left the hotel very early in the morning the next day and do not have chance to try their breakfast.

Reviewed October 03, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
guang from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

good feel”

home feeling

we arrived there very late at night and leave for another resort very early next morning. so we did not experience this hotel so much. But generally it is ok for transition.With my feeling it is more suitable to stay there for few days and experience more actual life in mali.

Reviewed September 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
MING from Singapore
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Excellent boutique hotel”

Awesome personal touch!

Our flight arrived at 10pm.Crossed over to Male city, flagged down a taxi and within two mins, we find ourselves at the hotel. staff was all smiles, assisting us with check-in and calling the resort we were scheduled to check in the next day. Unassuming little entrance but was instantly awed by the intrigue and thoughtful Thai decoration. Like what the rest of the reviewers said, it is a real gem in the cluttered small city. Breakfast was awesome with homemade bread and freshly imported cheese and cold cuts . The is the best boutique hotel my wife and I have experience in terms of level of service, cleanliness and comfort.

Reviewed September 16, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Graham from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Boutique hotel with fantastic people & great meals”

Lovely immaculate rooms and fantastic service

This Boutique hotel is a hidden gem. We were greeted on arrival outside the hotel by Thomas, owner & manager. Our room was immaculate, and well appointed - the coffee pod machine was an unexpected treat, the shower was bliss, and the 4 poster bed very comfortable. The European breakfast was very very nice, and more than enough for this hungry couple! We enjoyed chatting to Thomas over a cup of tea. The hotel is unique and offers a wonderful experience, from the ambience and meals to the personal service with a smile.

Reviewed September 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
THIEN from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

It's really a boutique hotel”

nice hotel, good staff

I have one night here in Male & i was very satisfied with my stay in Sala Boutique Hotel Male. It's not far from the ferry station, you can walk. The food in this hotel is very good. Its service is wonderful from the Boss to staffs. They are always helpful & friendly. Room is not big but very clean & comfortable. I love this hotel much.

Reviewed July 21, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Nancy from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Cosy, convenient boutique hotel”

Convenient, friendly staff, clean, nice thai restaurant, free wi-fi

A good find for our one night stay in Male. Seamless pick-up from the airport to the hotel. Thomas was friendly, so were his team of service staff. The room was very clean, simple finishings but still cosy. Be sure to try the Thai restaurant, offering authentic thai cuisine. The hotel was heavily infused with the scent of mint, a little too overpowering for our liking, but this again is very personal. Still we recommend this hotel totally!

Reviewed June 17, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Sen from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012

A hidden gem ”

Great service, comfy rooms, good breakfast

upon arrival at the hotel the owner thomas was there to greet us and escorted us to our room.the boutique hotel has a modern balinese design. rooms were comfy and clean. we had continental breakfast which was good. home made breads, eggs with bacon, cheese platter and yoghurt. a lovely place.

Reviewed May 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

Brilliant!”

Comfortable bed, real service, excellent breakfast and spotlessly clean

As hoped this little Gem was just what we wanted. Our room was not large but then again nothing can be on Male! They managed to fit in everything we needed. Big comfy bed, big TV and big delicious albeit unusual breakfast. Thomas really amazed us! Keeping us under his watchful gaze(courtesy of "Fiki" and his mobile phone)Fiki escorted us to Wharf 7 @11 as arranged. We had quite literally missed the boat. A misunderstanding with the cruise line who had messed up. The wonderful people at Sala contacted the Captain ship to shore and arranged a Sea Plane for us to catch up with our cruise! Not enough yet? Thomas sent another young man to help. Taking charge of us and our luggage. We made an impressive parade up the road to the right Wharf. Our holiday could have been a disaster but not with this lot looking after us. We've never had such service. Your efforts were truly appreciated. Thanks Thomas, Fiki and friends

Reviewed April 30, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Bianca from Netherlands
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

A home away from home with amazing hospitality”

Thomas is an expert at making people feel at home, and his staff is amazing, they will go the extra mile to serve their customers

We had a wonderful time at this amazing place. Thomas made us feel at home from the moment we arriving, came up with excellent suggestions as to things to do and was very sweet to our daughter. His staff really made all efforts to accomodate our requests, we would recommmend this sweet place to anybody, you will enjoy it from the moment you arrive until you leave. And don't forget to try the massages..amazing.

Reviewed April 20, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Joe from Malta
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

Wonderful, attentive service”

Service, clean & good management

Ideal for an overnight stay to catch your flight to a resort the next morning. Picked up from the airport and escorted to the hotel. No hassle at all. Thomas the manager was wonderful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed April 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Anna from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Top hotel”

Friendly personnel, nice room, good meal

Perfect accommodation. Male is not a city to visit, but closed to the Male´s island, another 6 Star-Resort can be visited by boat from Male, which is very recommended by Salaboutique.The 1-day-trip costs dollars per Person, including transport and 50 Dollars for meal.

Reviewed March 24, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Samuel
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

A taste of Thailand”

Lovely rooms, great service, great food.

We were met at airport and escorted to the hotel. Even arriving at midnight we were met at the door by the owner who was really friendly and hospitable. Our room was really nice, very clean, nice artwork, high quality fittings. We ate delicious mango sticky rice before going to bed and were awoken early for an early seaplane transfer. Cannot fault this place..

Reviewed March 05, 2012
8.7
Excellent
VICENTE from Spain
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Great hotel”

Close to the port, kindly staff and beautiful rooms.

We stayed in this hotel only for one night, before taking our seaplane to Hilton Resort. The hotel is great and the director, Mr Thomas, is a really nice person. They have a Thai restaurant that we didn´t try but it seems delicious!! The rooms are very comfortable and the decoration of the hotel and rooms very cool.

Reviewed March 04, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Christoph from Switzerland
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

A little diamond in the bustling street”

The little garden with excellent Thai food is outstanding

We were welcomed at the airport by hotel staff. The transfer to the hotel was well organized. At the hotel, the owner expected and greeted us, gave us some information and showed us room and facilities. We were very well taken care of, and also for our continuation of our journey, the staff advised us when and how to commute. Excellent.

Reviewed February 10, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Luke from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Great boutique hotel with 2 restaurants and a spa”

Clean, Modern and excellent service

this was a transfer stay. staff showed excellent service and iniative by tracking us down in our other hotel and having someone waiting at airport to transfer us to sala hotel. great rooms, big comfy bed and satellite tv. two restaurants - italian and thai, we tried the italian and food was ok but nothing special. if you have to stay in male, this is the place!

Reviewed February 07, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Wendy from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Lovely hotel n service with helpful owner.”

Breakfast is lovely with premium tea n food.

Owner Thomas is really helpful, and he serve us personally.. Best point of the hotel location is together with Sala Thai restaurant. Very authentic Thai food, but the price is consider high end expense. But worth paying. If do have chance we will love to get back again. The room is cosy n comfortable with a queen size bed.

Reviewed February 07, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Yurga from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

fantastic place”

Grand hospitality

this hotel is the best in Male without the doubt.It has a zen feel, great atmosphere, nice furniture,very comfortable bed and everything is spotless. The owner of hotel is extremely professional and goes beyond your needs and makes sure there is no bad surprises.

Reviewed February 05, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Joan from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Wonderful small, clean and eco friendly. Good find”

Small. restaurant on site, breakfast included, airport pickup

thomas is right on top of everything - ground floor rooms can be noisy from street - but big beds, high quality sheets. i would most certain come back and recommed to others. nice breakfast included. free wi fi and can have it in your room.

Reviewed January 31, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Lovely hotel, great service, wonderful stay ”

Excellent Thai restaurant, beautifully appointed new rooms, small, personal attention from owner

We checked in early, no problem as room was available then. Owner provides personal attention and information about Male. Hotel is in oldish building, nicely redone with attractive & inviting courtyard at entrance. Also attractive restaurants. Rooms are new and beautifully appointed. The hotel was a quiet and most enjoyable place to stay in a hot, crowded and noisy city. When we left, we said we didn't need a cab as we wanted to walk to the ferry (about 8 blocks) with our bags. Without asking, two of the staff took our bags and walked us to the ferry. Very comfortable, no chance to get lost. Definitely would stay there again.

Reviewed January 22, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Heather from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Fantastic Hotel, an Oasis in a desert”

Great service, fantastic food, very friendly helpful English-speaking owner on premises

i arrived at the airport and was immediately greeted by a staff member who stayed with me, got me in the taxi and took me to hotel. the hotel is small, only 6 rooms, but the rooms are very large and well-appointed. the bed was fantastic and everything is very new and very clean. the products are all natural and very good as well. thomas the owner prides himself on these things and also the thai restaurant is there. he flies all produce and ingredients in from thailand for not only the quality but also believes and knows that it is not truly thai food if it isn't grown or come from thailand. the staff are very helpful and friendly. male on the other hand is not. arriving to and going back to the hotel after a few hours walking around male was literally like arriving to an oasis in a desert. i will definitely be back if ever i need to stay in male. i looked at 2 other hotels while i was there just to see what they were like (traders, relax inn) and they couldn't come clos. i think thomas is aware of the issues while travelling as a single woman in male and he was very forthcoming and nicely protective. highly recommend this hotel for all travellers going to male.

Reviewed January 07, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Leo from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011

Nice hotel and good food”

Food

The hotel was clean and staff we very helpful. Walking us from the hotel to places we wanted to visit. The food both thai and Italian was excellent. Not to take anything away from the hotel but we did not think the city was a good place as part of our holiday as there wasn't anything to do and the shopping wasn't as good as i orginally thought. If i had to go back for a business trip i would stay at sala botique hotel again. No Alochol was a downside especially on Christmas eve and Day.

Reviewed January 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
William from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Great boutique hotel and start to Maldives trip”

Food and personal service

Collection from the airport was much appreciated, and backed up by a warm welcome on arrival. Talking to the owner was nice, as he's had an interesting life. The hotel is well appointed, with good attention to detail both in terms of form and function i.e. the hotel looks nice, with some good personal touches, but also has the facilities we were looking for. The restaurant is also very, very good for both evening meals and breakfast; attentive service and really excellent food. Definitely good value for money, and very much recommended for anyone looking to layover before travelling out to the islands.

Reviewed December 12, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Suwanna from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011

Nice service and helpfull staff”

Good breakfast and helpfull staff

I stay here for 3 nights and found that it's a peacefull place,clean rooms and good breakfast(especilly toast,German ham and cheese).Staff were helpfull and friendly especially the owner,Thomas.Thai food at resturant is nice and testy.I think it's valued for money.

Reviewed December 10, 2011