Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1047 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 8.0
Sort by

Susan from United States
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
This hotel made our stay in Vientianne wonderful
Beautifully decorated, lovely staff, great breakfast, quiet, clean
Great. Centrally located, quiet rooms, helpful staff, breakfast was yummy, easy to get a jitney or taxi. Beautiful plumbing fixtures, much nicer than in my house.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Rey from Philippines
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Relaxing. Worry-free
Location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
What we loved about the hotel is its location. It is centrally located. The tourist sites were within walking distance. And so were good, rated local restaurants and shops that sold local products. The area was quiet. The room was big, and clean. The bed was big and comfortable.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Steve from United Kingdom
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Very nice hotel
Good location, comfortable rooms, helpful staff
Hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of most of the tourist sites and many restaurants. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is fairly decent. Coffee is great, better than the 'Laos coffee' served in many other places. Staff were really nice and very helpful. Overall found Laos expensive though for what you get.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Pamela from United States
Solo travelers
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Delightful stay
Friendly and attentive staff; attractive room and lobby; good restaurant with nice breakfast
The hotel's spa experience was less than stellar, but overall it is a wonderful hotel and I would definitely stay there again if I travel to Vientiane.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stanley from United States
Solo travelers
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Enjoyable Stay -- Highly Recommended
Breakfast buffet, customer service, hotel attractiveness and comfort
I was totally delighted with this hotel, the Salana Boutique Hotel in Vientiane, Laos. The staff at the Salana are very polite, professional, and frankly quite charming. They are helpful, informative and go the extra mile to answer your questions and ensure you enjoy your stay and see the city while you are there. I was very pleased with the driver that the hotel arranged for me, as I took a half-day city tour, plus went out to the Buddha Park in the afternoon. The hotel staff can speak English in most cases, and certainly the front desk staff with whom you transact business are English-fluent. Booking through Agoda and check-in / check-out went very smoothly. My guest room, while not large, was of adequate size. The room was well-appointed and had everything I needed. The bathroom was clean, modern, and the fixtures were in good shape. There was plenty of hot water for showers. The air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable and clean. I used the laundry service twice and was totally satisfied. I also had the Lao massage at the hotel's spa, and was very pleased with that service. My favorite aspect of this hotel is the breakfast buffet. I loved it. The selections were very good, the food was of high quality, and I liked the fact that you could also order a la carte items off the menu along with your buffet breakfast, and those were included with the breakfast. The fresh fruits, juices, breads, cereals, crepes and other hot items were all good. The large corner window view of the street activity outside the hotel is a nice way to begin your day in Vientiane. I also ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner just one evening, and it was a good meal. The Salana is a very attractive hotel. The housekeeping staff do a great job, and the hotel is nicely decorated and maintained. I highly recommend the Salana Boutique Hotel for your stay in Vientiane, the capital city of the Lao People's Democratic Republic.
Reviewed February 06, 2014

Jose from Philippines
Solo travelers
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Higher Rating Without Tour
location, food quality
I had been prepared to give this hotel a higher rating, probably even 5 stars. For one thing, it has a great location. It was only 10 minutes from the airport, and it is walking distance, not only to the riverside night market, but also to most of the major sightseeing spots in Vientiane. The monks started their alms-giving at 5am in the temple right across the hotel. The room was tastefully designed, and my only complaint would be the pillows (which were a bit hard and lumpy for me). I simply loved the breakfast! Make sure to try the congee with the spices, condiments, Chinese sausage and sesame-encrusted anchovies beside it. They also did a very good omelette and waffle. Having said that, I was very disappointed when I saw the bill upon check-out. I had been quoted a city sightseeing tour for $15, and it seemed reasonable at that price. However, I was shocked to find out I had been charged $45, because apparently it was $15 PER HOUR! It simply wasn't worth it, considering the "tour" had no guide, only a non-English speaking driver who would drop me off at 3 spots and have me wander off on my own with a map. And having said earlier that most of the major sights were within walking distance of the hotel, I would have been better off just taking a cheaper taxi or tuktuk to the Patuxay Monument and Pha That Luang. Another thing, I only found out upon checkout that I would be charged an additional 3% if I used my credit card to pay. Had I known about that earlier, then it would have been cheaper for me to just withdraw money from the ATM.
Reviewed February 04, 2014

mark from United States
Couples
Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Wonderful Hotel
Central location; Friendly staff; Comortable
Enjoyed our short stay. We will stay again. Recommend this hotel to other discerning travelers
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Yong from Malaysia
Couples
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Excellent service
Very nice and comfortable room. Close to the night market and restaurants/cafés. Friendly staff.
We only stated 1 night but we were very impressed with their high standards and exceptionally good service. Will definitely return.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

David from Australia
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Good location great bed
comfortable bed, close to riverfront , close to resteraunts
Most comfortable bed I have slept in in Laos. Did not eat at hotel so cannot comment on resteraunt. Plenty in the immediate vicinity. Staff professional and polite. If you are thinking of a massage etc, Walk out the door turn left cross the road there are 3 massage places within 50 metres All a quarter of the spa price
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Johann from Iceland
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great hotel helpful staff
Staff, Food, Spa
The hotel was great! We had a mishap in town. The staff did everything that could be done to help us, far more than could be expected. Then we were lucky enough to stay at this hotel. Staff highly qualified, friendly and helpful. We give this hotel and the staff full house of points
Reviewed January 16, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: