Book Now: Salvo Shanghai

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (1459)
Booking.com Reviews (339)

7.6

Filter by guest type:
Very good
based on 1459 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.5
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.9
Very good
based on 547 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.3
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.6
Very good
based on 416 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 8.1
Very good
based on 241 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.5
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.9
Very good
based on 72 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.7
Very good
based on 77 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 8.2
Very good
based on 106 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 2.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • 한국어
  • Deutsch
  • 简体中文
  • Español
  • Français
  • Svenska
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • ภาษาไทย
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Nederlands
  • Русский
  • Italiano
  • Tiếng Việt
  • Ελληνικά
  • العربية
  • Suomi
  • Język polski
  • Dansk
  • Português (PT)
  • Norsk
  • Slovenski jezik
more less

Room type
  • Business Queen
  • Business Suite with Queen Bed
  • Business Suite with Twin Bed
  • Executive Suite
  • Family Room
more less

Sort by
Showing 1445 verified guest comments
  • clear all

6.0
JOHNSON from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
OK location, huge room but a little old”
location, room size, view
Look a little old, but room is huge. Location is good
Reviewed November 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Jeff from United States
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Good value hotel”
Location, price, staff
Good value hotel and great staff service. The hotel is dated and rooms needed a major facelift.
Reviewed November 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
JEE from Malaysia
Business traveler
Family Room
Stayed 8 nights in November 2015
Good Location”
Location
very near to nanjing dong lu. need about 15 minutes walk to nearest mrt. from nanjing dong lu station, take exit 3, turn left, all the way straight along the alley.
Reviewed November 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
FADZLY from Malaysia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Hotel good but wifi problem ”
Good location, walking distance, near muslim food, big room,
Salvo hotel a good hotel but just need to improve on your wifi connection, wifi very importance on business occasion. Room,toilet good n clean.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Vivian from Singapore
Family with teens
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Fantastic and enjoyable ”
location, pricing
i checked with my daughter and we love the room, spacious, location is fantastic as we get access to train station and food at our finger tips. wonderful experience
Reviewed November 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Howard from Netherlands
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
After 8 years time to change”
location, size of the room, total apearance
Stay at this place for the last 8 years, this trip I was very disappointed - construction during all of the day - next door a dogs shop kept in the hotel, supported by the management - internet did not work a whole day - start to look dirty feel its tiem to change
Reviewed October 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.0
Vijay from Singapore
Couple
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
location Par excellence”
Location; View from higher floor, good staff
Tired hotel. Best location for eateries, shopping, sightseeing. Excellent staff. Avoid ConciergeTall fair and heavy, bespectacled. Not interested, cursory and misguided me twice. When i complained he just made a face and walked off. Another lady receptionist apologised for him and took over Concierge Jimmy was the best I have seen every time he made an extra effort. Refused a tip too. All staff excellent. Beautiful location. Eat at eateries around, Best soup and noodles opp the side entrance. Visit the Zoo coffee joint and The Press Cafe. Next to each other about 75 metres to the left straight from Hotel Do not even think of a massage at the hotel Excellent sightseeing around. Do visit YuYuan bazaar. Excellent Vegetarian food near building 23. Very reasonable too. Nice homely staff Exit hotel turn left for eateries and walking Plaza Turn right for Yuyuan bazaar Straight for The Bund Double around for the fake market and the museum Recommend walking and exploring I would go back to the hotel only for the staff and location
Reviewed October 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Louis from United States
Couple
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Salvo Hotel”
location, quaint style, views from room
Note to Agoda - Why do you not permit me to submit my review unless I fill out the rating for food/dining? I did not dine at the hotel, so how can I rate it? You ought to allow a "no response" answer for this question. Really stupid to force a response when one is not able to review the food/dining.
Reviewed October 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
pieter from South Africa
Family with young children
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Faded elegance”
location, size of the room, only stayed for one night
everything seemed to be dirty. From the carpets to the hand basin
Reviewed September 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Daniel from United States
Family with teens
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Salvo Hotel - July 2015”
Location, Staff Helpfulness, Value
We were only there for 2 days, but the hotel was very comfortable and very pleasant. I loved the living room and separate bedroom combination of the room. It's a little run down, but still very comfortable. We never sampled the hotel restaurants as there were many small and local restaurants for breakfast and dining and we preferred to sample the local fare. Overall I would rate the hotel about a 3.5 - 4 Star
Reviewed July 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
TREHEL from French Polynesia
Business traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Hold equipment to hold”
Situations
The Tv was' not clear , only the shower working
Reviewed July 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Pit from Indonesia
Family with teens
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Excellent location ”
Location, helpful travel agent, friendly staff
Good
Reviewed July 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Pit from Indonesia
Family with teens
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Convenient location ”
Location, big room
Good location
Reviewed July 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Pei from Malaysia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Good Value For Money. Good Location”
Location. Location. Location.
Good value for money, good location, friendly & helpful hotel staff. Plenty of good food outlets nearby & short walking distance to subway station. The only downside is hotel a bit old, got old carpet/ moist smell.
Reviewed July 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Ian from New Zealand
Business traveler
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Showing its age and a complacency sneeking in!”
Good location, not overly expansive and a reasonable understanding of English.
We stayed for 2 nights a few days apart. There was a problem with the first booking and the bed type allocation. This was fixed eventually. Rooms are tired looking now. Needs a really good clean and some Reno work. Breakfast on the 31st floor is not what it used to be. Food is often cold, not replenished and selection dwindling. Overpriced at RMB98. This hotel is not as good as it used to be. Handy for location and not overly expensive. I'll look at other options next time rather than just stay here by default.
Reviewed July 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Larry from Singapore
Couple
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Good Location”
Good location, room cleanliness.
Pleasant
Reviewed July 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Ecoid from Singapore
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Good Fanastic”
Clean, Friendly Staff, Accessible
Good, pleasant stay!
Reviewed July 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
DONALD from Philippines
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
GOOD VALUE HOTEL AT THE HEART OF SHANGHAI”
PROXIMITY TO SHOPS AND MAJOR ATTRACTIONS, CLEANLINESS, FRIENDLY STAFF
WE HAVE PLEASANT STAY AT SALVO HOTEL. WE HAD EASE OF MOVEMENT AROUND SHANGHAI BECAUSE IT IS CENTRALLY LOCATED AT ACCESSIBLE TO SUBWAY AND ALL FORMS OF TRANSPORT MEANS. HOTEL STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND ABLE TO CONVEY IN ENGLISH. FOOD IS GOOD AND DOES NOT COST SO MUCH, JUST WITHIN PRACTICAL LEVEL. I WOULD PREFER STAY AT SALVO HOTEL MOST OF THE TIME DURING MY BUSINESS TRIPS.
Reviewed July 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
DONALD from Philippines
Business traveler
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
BEST VALUE HOTEL IN EAST NANJING AREA”
CLEAN PREMISES, FRIENDLY STAFF, PROXIMITY TO SUBWAY STATION
WE HAVE A SATISFYING STAY AT SALVO HOTEL. THE HOTEL STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND CAN CONVEY WELL IN ENGLISH. THE PREMISES AND ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND WITHIN INTERNATIONAL STANDARD. MOVING AROUND IS ALSO EASY FROM THE HOTEL.
Reviewed July 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
DONALD from Philippines
Business traveler
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
GOOD VALUE HOTEL”
PROXIMITY TO EAST NANJING STREET, CLEANLINESS, FRIENDLY STAFF
WE HAVE PLEASANT STAY AT SALVO HOTEL. FURTHER, MOVING AROUND SHANGHAI FROM SALVO HOTEL IS EASY BECAUSE THE HOTEL IS ACCESSIBLE TO ALL FORMS OF TRANSPORT ESPECIALLY TO SUBWAY EAST NANJING STATION. THE ROOMS AR GENERALLY CLEAN AND ORGANIZED, AND WITHIN THE INTERNATIONAL STANDARD. I THINK, THE HOTEL NEEDS TO IMPROVE THE BREAKFAST BUFFET SET UPS. RE-ARRANGEMENT IS NECESSARY AND MORE LIGHT EFFECTS SHOULD BE ADDED.
Reviewed July 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Albert from Singapore
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Average Hotel”
Value for Money Hotel
Ok hotel except room was a little dim and aged.
Reviewed June 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
welly from Indonesia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
good room comfort room”
big room ,easy check in ,easy check out
Im satisfied
Reviewed June 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Howard from Netherlands
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
short stay in a good location in Shanghai”
location, large room, price
stay in the place for over 10 years, know the area, good food in the area, close to the bund . return for 10 years , must be a reason
Reviewed May 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
mizuho from Japan
Business traveler
Business Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Normal. ”
mid-clean, convenient,
I didnt like the atomosphere there. So depressing.
Reviewed May 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Yery from Indonesia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Good location in Bund”
Free wifi, big room, and closer to Bund
The view of my room was very nice in the night. Just walking 10 mins and you will find people square.
Reviewed May 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Stephanie from Hong Kong
Group
Business Queen
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Fair quality”
Tidy room, nice staff, but a bit far from the MTR (though can be reached by foot)
Reviewed May 09, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Alison from Australia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Great hotel in a great location, but... ”
Location; comfortable; room size
Great hotel in a great location, but... the internet didn't work properly, the check in staff were not good as concierge's, and the bathtub leaked. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy my stay here, but there were a few areas that could easily be improved upon.
Reviewed May 04, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.3
Ming from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
Big room with good location”
Good location close to NanJing west road, nice and big room, Internet services are provided
This hotel is located close to the shopping area in NanJing West road. The room is quite nice and big with good city view. Enjoy the stay very much.
Reviewed May 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
John from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 11 nights in April 2015
Salvo 2015-04-11”
Location, freindliness, atmosphere
I feel the rooms are in need of refurbishment if 4 star is to be maintained. The main downside of the room is the bathroom. there is a massive corner bath with a shower but the corner bath takes up 80% of the floor area and leaves a very minimal space to stand under the overhead shower, I am quite small but cannot shower properly without my legs touching the bath, also this time ( not other visits to the Salvo ) the shower was broken, It was fixed within hours of notifying reception but after that I could only have very cold or very hot water through shower, no inbetween. The 3rd floor restaurant was very clean, the food excellent and with prices similar to outside restaurants, so very good value.
Reviewed April 23, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
OI from Malaysia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Good location”
Location, staffs and price
Very comfortable, room was spacious, location is good, near to every interested places. Price was ok.
Reviewed April 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Theodorus from Netherlands
Couple
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Good location, friendly staff, value for money”
Good location, friendly staff, value for money
We used the discount through Agoda, which gave us a real value for money (around 50%). The main distinguisher for this hotel is the location. Subway nearby and most places of interest are on walking distance. The rooms are spacey and clean. The staff is really helpful.
Reviewed April 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
Su from South Africa
Solo traveler
Business Queen
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Location”
central, easy to Nanking road, many small resturant near by
Horrible experience, hotel is too old falling apart
Reviewed April 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
CONGHAN from Singapore
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Location and comfort ”
Spacious, location,cleanliness
Reviewed March 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Abner from United States
Business traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Would not recommend”
i stayed in this hotel 6-7 years ago. They have not cleaned it since then. It is embarrassing how they are keeping this place up. Might as well just tear it down.
Reviewed March 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
moon from Malaysia
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Good location”
This hotel is nicely located in between shopping, Food and also sightseeing places
Reviewed March 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.7
Rachel from Malaysia
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Overrated and under service!”
Near bund and nanjing lu.
Nothing good to share.
Reviewed March 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Gary from Singapore
Solo traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Value for money”
value for money, nice room and super nice view from room
Reviewed March 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Giedrius from Lithuania
Business traveler
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Good hotel at the fair price”
Comfort, cleanliness, location, fair price
At all it was good hotel for the fair price, the only problem I have found that they have a problem with hot water in the bathroom, it always was just a lukewarm water.
Reviewed March 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Bruce from Australia
Family with young children
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Poor condition, not nice facility and noise ac”
Good customer service
Poor condition, and poor facility! Not nice to stay!
Reviewed February 23, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
VICKI from Hong Kong
Couple
Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
CNY ”
Bath tub, location, view
Ok
Reviewed February 23, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Andy from Singapore
Business traveler
Executive Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Second time staying with Salvo Hotel”
Location, Value and cleanliness
Second time staying with Salvo, great location and walking distance to Nanjing road
Reviewed February 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Howard from Netherlands
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
good location in shanghai”
price,location, staff
nice stay for a short period, all went well, nice food, perfect room, only the cleaning lady made me awake while the do not disturb light was on.
Reviewed January 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Cynthia from Indonesia
Family with teens
Business Queen
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Great rooms”
Location, room, clean
Staffs are not so nice. Lcation is very near by Muslim food but a bit far from MRT
Reviewed January 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Vincent from United States
Couple
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Convenient location”
Location, wifi, friendly staff
TV signals are horrible. TV uses old tech(tube). Rooms lights are not bright.
Reviewed December 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Kenneth from Singapore
Business traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Location and Good for Business Traveler ”
Location, its a nice chinese based hotel
Reviewed December 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Anna from Hungary
Family with teens
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
home away from home”
big spacious room, big bath tub, good location
We are regular guests at the hotel and every stay is very pleasant, though this time we had problem with the hot water supply – there was no hot water early in the morning - and the free wifi didn’t really work, just sometimes. Earlier we haven’t met with any of these problems. The location of the hotel is very good within walking distance from People Square. The rooms are clean, spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable with a very comfy bed!. The bathroom is excellent with the huge bathtub and separate shower and with the toiletries provided. The staff is very kind and attentive, so this is still a place where good to stay.
Reviewed December 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Anna from Hungary
Family with teens
Business Suite with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
home away from home”
kindness of staff, large bathtub, comfortable bed
We are regular guests at the hotel and every stay is very pleasant. The location of the hotel is very good within walking distance from People Square. The rooms are clean, spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable with a very comfy bed!. The bathroom is excellent with the huge bathtub and separate shower and with the toiletries provided. The staff is very kind and attentive. We will definitely go back again.
Reviewed December 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
LEE from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great Location, Friendly and attentive Staff”
As above, great location , friendly & attentive staff
Great
Reviewed December 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
robert from Canada
Solo traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
disappointed”
location to bund and market
I was very disappointed with my stay at the Salvo Hotel. The Room itself was nice and clean but bathroom had no hot water and i ended up having a cold shower. I complained and waited for an hour for someone to come up and check it. When i left after an hour and asked at the front desk they said someone had already fixed it. I checked the tap later and it was warm. The next day i went to have a shower again and turned on the water and waited, and waited for the water to get hot. It got warm enough so i did not have to hold my breath under the water but it was never more than barely warm. i would never stay there again.
Reviewed December 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Karen from Canada
Solo traveler
Business Suite with Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Not a 4 star, more like a 3”
The rooms were spacious, like a suite.
The hotel says free wi-fi. What it doesn't say is, that it's only in the lobby. So a little inconvenient. The reception staff were not friendly, but did their jobs well enough. To get a cab at this hotel isn't always the easiest. The bell hop basically tries to flag one down from the street. Don't go to the buffet upstairs. We just went for breakfast. It was not good and not worth what they charged. The location is the best thing about this hotel. Would I stay here again? Only if the price was right,.
Reviewed November 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: