Book Now: Samed Cabana Resort

Very good
From 2424 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
/
10
Recommended by 81% of guests

Reviews of Samed Cabana Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (2424)Booking.com Reviews (172)
7.3
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.3
Facilities6.9
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.2
Value for money6.9
All languages
All guests (2424)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 2120 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Anthony from Thailand
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Great spot but avoid the restaurant”

Fantastic location & oh so relaxing. Resort is clean & rooms are very nice. Only 1 negative & that was the staff in the restaurant. Without doubt the worst level of service I’ve encountered in Thailand (& we’ve lived here for 2 years). They seem to serve customers based on how many are in the group rather than when you arrive. Our 1 meal we tried to have there resulted in my meal not even having started cooking over an hour after my wife’s dinner was served. They just kept cooking for groups of 6-8 Chinese customers as their priority. There are loads of better dining options up the beach so don’t let this put u off staying. We would stay here again but wouldn’t eat there

Reviewed May 21, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Andries from South Africa
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Very Cozy rooms on the beach”

The staff is super friendly and helpful. Food is OK, but there are plenty of other options along the beach. They seem to cater more for families. Super place to chill with a cold beer in the sun on the beach. The room is well kept.

Reviewed February 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Nigel from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Beach Front
Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

Excellent stay and thoroughly enjoyed ”

This was our first trip to Samed as a young family and we really enjoyed it. We have stayed previously as a couple and the staff were once again fantastic with us and fussed over our little daughter. The beach was clean and we enjoyed our food from the restaurant where we ate most days. If you’re not looking for a busy night life then is a great place to stay as it’s a very chilled out part of Samed. Only my personal preference but leaving a small tip for services in the restaurant and the maids etc is a nice touch to the hard working staff. They’re probably lucky to see €150 a month and work some serious hours. Anyway will back again soon for another visit :)

Reviewed December 01, 2018
5.6
GREGORIO from Thailand
Family with young children
Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Horrible customer service”

Check-in time started at 2pm yet they didn’t have our room ready until 3pm and we’re unable to accommodate our request for late checkout. The breakfast was average, lacked syrup, and had stray dogs running around. The resort is located right on the beach and near around other hotels and restaurants.

Reviewed February 25, 2019
7.6
Very good
K.B. from New Zealand
Family with young children
Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Everything is good except for the sewage smell”

This hotel was nice but only thing is they have to sort out their sewage problem.. When you step outside the room you can smell sewage as the toilet pits are right next to the room and they are emptied every morning by motors manually and they are not properly sealed. Had to change room as the first room had very bad smell outside.. second room was ok.. staff was very friendly in accommodating my request.

Reviewed January 17, 2019
7.2
Very good
SOMSAK from Thailand
Family with teens
Pool Side
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Good Place for family”

It is a good place for family to stay as it is quite peaceful, not a party place. Swimming pool is proper in size and clean, safe enough for kids. Beach is long with white fine sand but it is quite narrow and most shops and restaurants occupied the beach by their tables and chairs. Breakfast of hotel is fine or even better than some hotels. But restaurants in the area are quite expensive even some simple dishes. As per local travel advisors’ suggestion, we should have visited other beaches for foods. If you would prefer clearer water, you maylike to visit Ao Pai or Sai Kaew Beach.

Reviewed December 31, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Apirat from Thailand
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Nice room, next to the beach. Good staff and service. ”

I stayed at a cottage next to the front of the beach, the most expensive room of this hotel. The room is not that in front of beach, but it's the nearest room to the beach in the area. However, it's a nice room and nice beach seeing. I read so many complaints about staff in the reviews, but I found myself had a good experience on staff and service. I went there around 11am where the front asked house keeping to clean my room for priority and I could early check-in. I stayed for 2 night and the house keeping asked me to clean up room every morning right after I woke up. I will consider to stay here again next time when I go to Samet.

Reviewed April 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Warinthip from Thailand
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Nice place Nice Service”

this place is nice location just right on the beach. The staffs are all friendly, welcoming. But the entrance which is not from the beach quite difficult and not looks good. Maybe it would be really good if they can clean and make it better.

Reviewed March 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
kapil from India
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Best location for koh samet.”

I have started at many beaches of koh samet , but I found this beach to be the most beautiful. About the hotel, the cottages were quite big in size and very clean. I like the porch where you can enjoy the partial sea view. These cottages are just behind the beach view cottages but sea is visible from the porch. pros: 1. Breakfast buffet was very nice. 2. The location was beautiful. 3. Kayaks and snorkeling gear is available for minimum fees. 4. Staff was helpful. 5. Drinks were at a normal price, not expensive. 6. Mosquito repellent were provided in the cottage but there were none. cons: 1. Little costly for the a night stay 2. The road to the resort from the main road was little bumpy. I stayed here for 2 nights, will be staying here only, if I come again.

Reviewed November 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
William from United States
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

A beach bungalow right on the sand. You have to love it”

You can't really ask for a better location if you're in one of the front bungalows on the very nice white sand. Just feels great... like you're in your own beach house at a very pretty location on the beach. Highly recommend.

Reviewed June 30, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Room that looks out to sea...”

We have stayed here before and will do so again. It is one of the few places you can have a room which is actually on the beach front. Air-con works well, rooms cleaned daily, tea and coffee facilities and a reasonable shower. Towels are also provided for both room use and beach. There is a pool, though we have never used it.

Reviewed June 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Neil from Australia
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Brilliant location right at the end of Wonduan beach.”

Our third trip to Samet Cabana Resort. Everytime fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms, small but well appointed. Restaurant has a good menu with good cooks preparing the food. Beach area is kept nice and clean and there are plenty of sun beds. My only criticism would be that in the 6 years we have gone there, not a lot of renovation has taken place. Would benefit from a bit of maintenance. Will surely go again.

Reviewed August 22, 2016
8.4
Excellent
david from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Good place!”

There was no workable wifi, so assume there is none, but I could still use my DTAC plan on my phone. In general, a good experience. The price is normal for Samet. The atmosphere is nice and the food is reasonably priced. I probably wouldn't choose anything less than this at Samet, because I went before to a cheaper place and regretted it as the pictures were misleading. This place looks like the photos and is actually better in real life. Go for it!

Reviewed May 24, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Thannithi from Thailand
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

Peaceful Location”

Location, Food, Peaceful

This is always our first choice for staying in Samed Island. The beach is peaceful and quiet. Highly recommend for family travelers or those who like peaceful beach. You could find a lot of restaurants but I recommend the restaurant of Samed Cabana itself. The test is good but the price is a bit higher than others. Hotel staffs are always helpful. Hope you enjoy!

Reviewed August 19, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Enid from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Pool Side
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015

Good standard room”

location close to beach

The rooms aren't fancy, but are of a good standard. The main attraction of the hotel is that it's on the beach and in a bay which has a boat connection to the mainland, running three times a day. Also having a pool was useful as a place to go to wash off the sand after the beach. The restaurant had good food, but closed quite early in the evening. So it was also good to be on a beach where there were several other cafes and restaurants which were open later.

Reviewed June 07, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Carol from Chile
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Not so good for the price”

Location, food and staff

It was good but the price too overrated for the quality of the room. We asked for a beachview and we got a second line cabana without a view. The bathroom needs urgently to be fixed, there was a hole on the roof and all mosquitos getting in during the night, no mosquito off given by hotel but you can buy in the market next to it. I never saw the pool, no idea where it was.

Reviewed November 23, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Brian from United States
Couple
Pool Side
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Nice hotel near the beach”

Location - near the beach; nice pool; friendly and accomodating staff

Very nice stay. Enjoyed both the pool and proximity to the beach. Room was clean and everything worked well (A/C, TV, shower hot water heater, etc.) Except the Wireless Internet connection. Tried multiple times to get on it - with the receptionist resetting the router too - but with no success. Breakfast was good - mixture of Thai and western food. Would stay there again.

Reviewed October 28, 2014
8.7
Excellent
ladislav from Slovakia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013

Nice, but not perfect. ”

Location, garden, beach

The best years are over. First impression I came - older lady at the reception desk which "welcomes" tourists with the bored face. It seems she is in the bad mood all the time. The biggest minus is - if you get villas no.30 - 34 or 35 (i dont remember exactly) - basically the ones bordering the resort from back side, you will have to listen to the disturbing wood manufactory shop, which is in the close distance. We had some flushing problems in the Villa 33. The breakfast are ok. The stuff told us they prepare more food when they got more than 30 guests in the resort. Strange policy... Taxi mafia on this island is bad - Wongduan Bay is calm and relaxed in evening - going outside means using local taxi or hire a motorcycle. The roads are not good and if you dont have advanced motorcycle skills.. Taxi is EXPENSIVE. To Sai Kaew beach, where all the nightlife is situated, it costs 500 baht there&back. Restaurants on the beach offer variety of seafood&barbecue. Average plate with the seafood (crab, squid, 4 bigger prawns and couple of mussels) would cost you 500 baht. The drinks are expensive. Big beer 120 baht. If you are active - I advice you to walk to the next beach to the south, which is Wai Beach and try hard to rent a kayak for 400/4 hours... They will start at 200/hour - if it is not high season, go and bargain... With kayak you can go more to the south around a cliff, where very beautiful beach is located - the sand and the water more clearer than Wongduan Beach...

Reviewed August 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Maria from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

A blissfull beachy getaway.”

Location..our bungalow was on the beach, the sea view and the staff

From the moment we arrived from our 5 minute speedboat ride from the mainland and the resort staff came and picked up our bags to the moment we left and they took our bags to the speed boat it was fantastic. Our bungalow stepped onto the beach, lots of activities for our 10 year old son to do from bananaboat,swimming, playing in the sand and just floating on an inflatable in the sea. Lots of restaurants to choose from and Koh Samet people are kind and friendly. Breakfast is very chilled, fresh fruit coffee, eggs etc overlooking the ocean, what more could you want.

Reviewed June 05, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Somchat from Thailand
Family with young children
Pool Side
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

Chill-Laxing under the sun”

location, swimming pool, and friendly staff

My stay at this resort was wonderful. The location is right on the beach, not too crowed, and clear water. It was a vacation that I was long waiting for. I will be back here again, and do recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed April 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Graham from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

Beautiful peaceful location”

Location, clean beach nice simple room

Hotel is situated at one end of the beach with a wide beach front, bungalows are comfortable with a small balcony and are right on the beach. The beach in front of the hotel was swept at least twice a day to collect any rubbish washed up by the sea. Most of the hotels served sea food BBQ every night, food was generally good quality.

Reviewed March 09, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Erlend from Norway
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Relaxing stay near the sea”

Centrally located, but still private. Of beach houses, the standard was better than most. Deck chairs was provided for free.

The stay was nice. Of course the breakfast sucked at the hotel, but this is to be expected. The quality of the food to be obtained at nearby restaurants were OK. The main attraction is of course the beach, sun and sand. For the more adventurous, paragliding and jetski riding can be recommended.

Reviewed February 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
jeongwon from South Korea
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Quiet and romantic place for couple of days.”

view, nature

I stayed with my friend and had a great time. It was really beautiful and quiet place just as we imagined. There are many bigger resorts or budget guest house, but if you want to spend 3~4 days quietly on the beach with your close friends, this is the perfect place. The beach was appropriately isolated so it was not crowded at all. The restaurants on the beach was good and the staff were freindly but food was kinda expensive compared to other places in Thai, not that it really matters. I saw some family enjoying, too. They seemed satisfied too ;)

Reviewed January 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Phollapat from Thailand
Family with teens
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Nearby the beach.”

Nearby the beach, have swimming pool, not quiet but more activity.

Beach front room type is nearby the beach, Pool front room have medium swimming pool with 100 meters sea view. Beach is not quiet but more activity to do such as sea activities, boat tour center, many restaurants.

Reviewed September 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United States
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 10 nights in November 2012

nice and relaxing”

Location on secluded small crescent shaped beach with powdery sand.

Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was only average for evening dinner, with better choices along the beach within minutes walk. After rain, there is much debris (plastic bottles, food wrappers, fishing lines, etc) that washes up on the beach. Several guest organized a cleanup and within minutes the staff of the Samed Cabana joined in to clean the beach. No wifi in rooms, and the wifi in the lobby is weak.

Reviewed December 30, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
robert from United States
Solo traveler
Pool Side
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Great Resort”

Really comfortable rooms. Great staff.

I booked this last minute, and was very pleased with staying there. The price is a little high but its worth it. Samed has become quite expensive so it wasn't too pricey. But you get what you pay for. My room was outstanding. Big bed, clean, comfortable, clean. Pool was nice. Beach was excellent. Recommend this resort highly. Next time I'm back to Samed this will be my first choice. Good choice for families...

Reviewed December 21, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Alison from United Kingdom
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in February 2012

Tranquil break”

Location, quiet spot, friendly staff

we enjoyed our 6 night stay at this resort. the beach itself is quiet and scenic with a peaceful atmosphere. there was no noise disturbing our sleep during the night. the sea was mostly calm in this area, which made it good for toddlers to paddle. the bungalows were very small but modern and contained everything you needed for a comfortable stay. this particular beach probably suits families and older couples best as the night life consists of restaurants / bars on the beach rather than discos. we ate at the seahorse restaurant most nights and it was excellent every time. the hotel staff were pleasant and friendly. breakfast lacked variety but there was a good egg station, fruit, juice and toast.

Reviewed February 16, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Peter from Austria
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012

Nice accomodation in a good location”

clean swimming pool, free chairs on the beach, direct boats from ban phe to vongduan beach

good location at the northern end of vongduan beach, close to various seafood restaurants along the beach, but quiet in the night. hotel guests are very mixed: thai, chinese, western european, russian, american, but somehow the hotel seems to satisfy the needs of all the different groups. most of the hotel staff are either cambodian or burmese migrant workers and speak very little english, but they are all very friendly. when a boy cut himself seriously, it turned out that the resort does not have any first aid equipment whatsoever.

Reviewed February 02, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
pierre-olivier from France
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012

Nice resort”

On the beach, far enough from the noisy bars

Went with a close friend for 3nights, and those bungalows are really nice for a short relaxing stay on the beach. Away from the party beaches, but close enough to get there in 5-10min with a motorbike or by foot.

Reviewed January 27, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Eric from United States
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Excellent-value, comfortable beachfront bungalows”

Good beachfront location, beautiful pool, nice breakfast, plenty of sunbeds/chairs

On an island notorious for poor value, Samed Cabana Resort was a real find. Its location is literally right in front of where the Ao Wong Duean ferry drops you off, making it possibly the easiest resort on Ko Samet to reach. The bungalow we had was very comfortable and well-designed with a TV, fridge, and nice, modern looking bathroom. It was clean and the bed was soft (by Thai standards). The pool was a welcome bonus too. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with plenty of choices, including an egg station, potatoes, waffles and plenty of delicious Thai dishes. The only negative was that wi-fi can only be accessed in the lobby/restaurant area and that has a tendency to make the seating area over-crowded with internet-surfing people, especially in the morning and evening hours. The resort would be well served to expand wifi usage throughout the property.

Reviewed December 16, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
PRABAL from India
Solo traveler
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Loved the hotel”

Beach front

I had a beach front room and the beach started from my room door. The room was nice and the washroom to eco friendly. The plastic roofing in the bath gave a closer nature feel. The room can easily accomodate 3 persons. There was a room safe too. There should be an intercom for any emergency, which surprisingly missing for a hotel of this category . Breakfast was ok and too my liking.

Reviewed October 15, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
sawet from Thailand
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

Great location and service with a smile”

great location, friendly staffs and good breakfast

we stayed at samed cabana resort for 2 nights.the resort is located at the center of ao vongduen,very close to restaurants and everything.the staffs are friendly, nice food, clean room and worth every penny for us.only con is that wifi only available at the lobby.

Reviewed October 05, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in January 2011

Great Hotel with Great Food”

Right on the beach and with good service

After reading reviews about the hotel people were complaining about the staff. After the first day we struggled with them but I think was because we were a group of 12. After this though they were fantastic and served us great food and drinks throughout the week. Great location with nice beach and great loungers.

Reviewed February 09, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Ariyani from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2011

Lovely hotel, weird but great location”

Very near shopping centres esp. Platinum

strategic location, 15 min walk from ratchaprapop airport link station. 5 min walk to platinum fashion mall. a bit hard to find at first, it's between baiyoke sky and baiyoke suite. there is great tom yum soup seller nearby and a lot street food vendors. room quite big, clean and nice. service is good. breakfast is quite nice too, especially the boiled rice with meat balls is very nice!

Reviewed February 04, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kong from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011

Relaxing resort with excellent beach nearby”

Beach

it takes only less than 5 minutes to walk to the beach with white sand and crystal blue water. the breakfast buffet and bbq dinner at the beachside are very romantic. the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed January 25, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Weilin from Taiwan
Group
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010

superb experience”

nice location, with a perfect private beach
not really

I had a very pleasant stay in Samed Cabana Resort. It lies in the left corner of the Wu-Duan beach. Can enjoy the privacy while it has easy access to the clubs and restaurants in the right corner of the beach. The room is clean and tidy. Great hospitality. I'll def. come back again.

Reviewed January 02, 2011
8.3
Excellent
gianluigi from Italy
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010

lovely boungalows right on the beach”

location,food
none

great place right on a beautiful beach. boungalows are quite big and very..very clean. we stay for 4 nights and really enjoied,we were before in koh samed in other accomodation,but this is surely the best. we dine every night at the hotel's restaurant,good quality and in the evening great bbq. staff in great and attentive and speak good english. will go back for sure

Reviewed January 01, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010

total relaxation”

seaview
nil

A wonderful stay,the hotel is ideally situated in a beautiful bay.The staff are very helpful and all speak good english.The food in the restaurant is superb.Go for a seaview bungalow because it is wonderful to wake up and open the curtains and look at the sea and the activity that is going on on the beach.

Reviewed October 06, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Son from United States
Solo traveler
Sea View
Stayed 7 nights in June 2010

Good enough”

Location
Very limited TV channels

Everything at the resort was pretty good. The price was pretty good (it's the off season and tourism is very very low). The location was good (it's a small beach at Samet). The place was well maintained and clean. I wish it had at least as many channels on the TV as the cheaper resorts on the beach. Yes, I like to watch TV sometimes even at the beach. But the sand here is nice. The breakfast was reasonable. The staff was reasonable and attentive. There is a ferry that comes straight to this beach but only comes 3 times a day. If you miss the ferry, you have to take the regular ferry to the north end of the beach and pay extra (200baht for farang) to get to this part of the beach.

Reviewed July 10, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Yong from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2010

Nice Wekkend”

Location, service, environment and the beach.
The 'taxis'.

The resort is right up to the beach front, the staff are friendly and the room is in good condition. The beach is nice, not so crowded. The ambient for dinner at beach front is the best... better than what I have in phuket, samui, krabi etc!!! Must try! Down side is the 'taxi' hanging behind the resort. You have no choice but pay high fees for them, if you can rent a bike, it will save you a bomb, however, the dirt track condition is bad....

Reviewed January 31, 2010
3.6
Parinyaporn from Thailand
Group
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Unfunctioned facility and poor services”

- Bad manner of the hotel staffs - Several miscommunications & communications error i.e. transportation management, uninform of the service maintenance (electricity cut without prior notice), staffs forget the food order, etc. - Broken wifi connection

Reviewed October 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ilya from Uzbekistan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 10 nights in February 2018

VERY good hotel”

I spent my holidays in this hotel 7 times. It's WONDERFUL! Very nice and friendly staff. The best location I ever met. Breakfast a bit poor but kitchen works all day long. I am planning to visit this hotel for the 8th time!

Reviewed September 24, 2018
6.0
Timothy from Thailand
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

unusual stay”

lovely location on beach, staff very disappointing and noticeably passive aggressive to a number of other customers within earshot of us. Was clear that the staff were not content to deal with others queries.

Reviewed July 31, 2018
6.4
Good
Suwimon from Thailand
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

good location”

great place to relax , the staffs was great and friendly

Reviewed March 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Kim from Thailand
Group
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

great location”

loved this place! Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Right on the beach. Clean room. Nice pool. It was just right for a small group!

Reviewed March 27, 2019
5.6
Woratot from Thailand
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Not Reasonable”

Small room small bathroom. but nice view

Reviewed February 12, 2019
8.0
Excellent
siew from Malaysia
Couple
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Very good”

Breakfast not nice taste

Reviewed August 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kittikun from Thailand
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Good stay”

Good stay , near beach, nice view , value for money

Reviewed August 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Daniel from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Good place at the beach”

Had a Good stay here, clean and helpfull staff. Water not so Nice but i guess it is bc the season here.

Reviewed June 26, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kristi from United States
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Great resort and location”

Great resort, great rooms. Nice location just along the beach (Ao Vongduan has proven to be a favorite beach in my many visits to Koh Samet). Staff were not very helpful and friendly. Seemed like we were an annoyance rather than pleased to serve. But overall, a great place to stay, lovely pool, great beachside area. And breakfast buffet was delicious. I would stay again, but would love if staff could be encouraged to be a bit more friendly.

Reviewed March 20, 2018
4.4
Alexia from Laos
Family with young children
Pool Side
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Discriminating staff”

While enjoying your breakfast on the beach, wearing your swimsuit, Cabana staff will only ask Asian customers to wear a "proper" top and pants! I'm here with my two kids, enjoying the very last bit of my vacation, which I paid bye not so cheap, and this staff just ruined everything! Thank you Cabana ashamed but you just lost the whole family line!!

Reviewed February 20, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Andrew from Australia
Group
Pool Side
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Excellent”

I stayed in Koh Samet 30 years ago, too many tourists now in the main beach area, luckily I noticed the Samed Cabana a couple of beaches south on Agoda, much cleaner beach and less congested , big bonus was I could book online as I was inspecting the facilities on the resorts WiFi

Reviewed January 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Kornchanok from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

GREAT PLACE ”

the location is great right on the beach. The cottages are very cute and clean. The room is comfortable. The bathroom is quite small but clean. The only thing that I could complain is that the room has no phone so it was hard to communicate with the front desk.

Reviewed December 29, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lisbeth from Norway
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

very good location, good and kindly staff. good aircon, ”

We took a speedboat, its better. Its good check in very fast. No problem. But we come early so we must wait for room so we get towel to go to beach. They hava good breakfast . Cleaning is very good, and it was nice they have made swan of towel, very beautiful.

Reviewed November 01, 2017
6.0
Thanchanok from Thailand
Family with teens
Pool Side
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

good location but...”

a good location right next to the beach I would love to give 4-5 star but the entrance to the hotel should be improved BIG TIME. It was the smelly dark alley that put me off. The villagers were outright staring at the guests walking toward to hotel lobby in that dark alley and it made all of us questioned hotel security. โรงแรมอยู่ติดหาดเลยค่ะแต่ปัญหาคือทางเข้าโรงแรมแย่มาก ติดกับบ้านพักของพนักงานหรือชาวบ้านทั่วไปซึ่งเวลาเดินผ่านเค้าก็จ้องมองแล้วรู้สึกไม่ปลอดภัยมากๆ ทางเข้าโรงแรมมีกลิ่นขยะแย่มากๆและที่สำคัญไม่มีไฟระหว่างทางเดินเข้าโรงแรม

Reviewed October 31, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Anna from Russia
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Very nice hotel”

It's reasonable and convenient hotel, located just on the beach with nice, simple, but clean rooms. Staff is helpful and friendly. The only small disappointment we had is that they did not have much choices for sea food BBQ at night. But other hotels nearby have more options, so you can just walk around and choose any place you want to have dinner.

Reviewed October 30, 2017
4.0
Svante from Sweden
Family with teens
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Not again, location is good, the rest is below expectation. ”

We order 3 Beach front rooms. We got 3 hill front rooms. They claimed that there is a mismatch with agoda, I said we paid for beach front, that is what we want. After 30 minutes 2 rooms at beach the last room up the hill. Some of the staff were very nice but must of them was not polite, did not smile and did not seem to care. The restaurant tried to overcharge the bill with 750 bath. They forgot one of the dishes at the dinner to one person in our group. The Internet did not work well. The air-con was very noisy. Water in bathroom was working at times. I have stayed about 8 times on Koh Samed, last time at this hotel.

Reviewed June 21, 2017
7.2
Very good
Andrew from United States
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

Breakfast and timely service could use some help”

We really enjoy the rooms at Samed Cabana, but the staff is extremely slow to wait on you when dining. The breakfast is ok, but you feel rushed to eat your breakfast and sometimes they would run out of food. Great location on the beach and clean rooms.

Reviewed June 12, 2017
4.8
Pamela from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Room not very clean and short changed for breakfast ”

Seconds walk to beach. Room cleanliness could be better. Housekeeping kept my curtains opened after packing room, exposing all my stuff to anyone who might walk past. The 2nd day's breakfast was bad and limited. Reason given by staff was the Low occupancy rate. Our party had 10 people. Regardless of occupancy rate, guests should not feel short changed

Reviewed June 12, 2017
5.6
STEPHEN from United Kingdom
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017

Poor value, nothing really worked”

Stayed at one of the beachfront Cabana's. It was expensive just for a simple hut on the beach. Nothing really worked properly, the owners clearly not investing to update a very tired resort. The room key lock was hard work, the toilet got blocked when it rained, if you need Wi-Fi forget this place it was awful . The staff were very nice though but there are much better places to stay at these prices

Reviewed May 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Nicola from United Kingdom
Group
Pool Side
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Excellent”

Stayed at this resort on a number of occasions with family. This trip we went with a group of friends. We were put in rooms away from each other which was disappointing as kids wanted to be close with their friends. However, had a great time at the pool and at the beach. Great location.

Reviewed April 15, 2017
5.6
Siew from Singapore
Solo traveler
Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Beachfront resort”

Been here 7-8 years ago. 2nd time now. Resort is still the same, old but room is clean and tidy. A few mosquito in room. Cannot expect mosquito free cos it is surrounded by greenery. And many flies during breakfast.

Reviewed February 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Paola from Italy
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Open the door and find the sea!”

The beachfront bungalows are directly on the beach, you can walk off your room without shoes and go everywhere, directly. Is a good position to see the sunrise, the beach is pretty clean and quiet, and the staff and the service are very reliable and professional. Best accomodation in Kho Samet!

Reviewed December 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
TAN from Singapore
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Love the beach!”

We rented a motorbike to explore the island and go to the resort ourselves. Having hard time searching for the resort as there isnt any sign at all but in a fun and relax way. We laughed thru our journey searching for our "mysterious" resort. We went in and out almost all of the small lane that we can see on the road. But luckily the local are very friendly and helpful. They helped us to get to the hotel. The beach is awesome with white sandy beach. I booked the beach front cottage and the beach is right there at your doorstep. Overall we had a wonderful stay there. We will definitely go back again!

Reviewed November 09, 2016
6.8
Good
William from United States
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Can't deny the beach...”

Our worst experience arriving to a hotel ever.... we arrived by motorbike... no signs, couldn't find it, took wrong turns, the only road leading to the hotel had a 1 meter deep 'pond' (not puddle) we had to cross and we fell in. Then staff was unfriendly and didn't care about our ordeal. I promised to give them the worst review EVER. But when we finally checked in, the reality is, the beach is one of the best on the island, the sand is powdery white, and there was a good choice of nice restaurants and bars to enjoy. Despite the very unpleasant arrival circumstances, we fell in love with the beach AND the snorkeling in that bay. And the cool bars nearby. And we had an amazing dinner down the beach. In the end, I'd go back. We learned where to cross the puddle where it wasn't 1 meter deep (still pretty scary getting there on the muddy road). We noticed many, many hotel areas have no acceptable access paths to the hotel... instead of spending a little money paving roads, they spend all the money building more bungalows. Several areas access down hills were worse than ours.... terrible in rainy season. Gotta love a bungalow right on the sandy beach though. I wasn't too happy to be sharing thin walls with others (I thought we had our own bungalow but I think they're all 2 room bungalows), but fortunately, our neighbors were quiet and went to bed early like us. This is really a great beach and it's also good because of beach activities and public boats land here and it's just the perfect size and horseshoe shaped which makes it comfortable and romantic... sort of invites you to walk to the end of the beach and back several times a day. I will return to this beach for sure.

Reviewed November 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jane from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Pool Side
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Great location and room choices. Shame about the restaurant staff.”

My family has stayed at Samet Cabana a few time now. My opinion of the services there has been consistent each time so I feel I have given it a fair chance and not written about any incidences which may have been a ‘one off’. In summary, the resort is great apart from one major area, the restaurant service. Firstly, when you arrive from the boat there are porters who will carry your bags to the reception area, a nice touch on Samet as not many of the other resorts do this. The reception staff are also friendly and efficient. The resort is located at the end of Vongduern bay where there is plenty of beach area (some of the resorts in the middle of the bay do not have any sand area).There are many sun loungers in the sun and shade and they are all clean and working. There are different types of room to choose from including beach front and pool side and they are all clean and fairly spacious. We are a family of 4 and there’s plenty of room. The pool is great for all ages as it has a shallow pool section for smaller children. So, the only downside, the restaurant staff. From breakfast to dinner, there are no smiles from these guys. They are hard to track down as usually stood near the bar area trying not to make eye contact. However even this I could let go, if the food service wasn’t so bad. Firstly, all food takes a looong time to come. If you’re in a big group, it’s chaos. Secondly, it’s highly likely they will get your order wrong. We ate there twice and the order was wrong twice. The first time we didn’t say anything as it was for adults and we had waited 40 minutes from ordering so we just ate it. The second time a spicy dish was brought out for my young daughter instead of plain fried rice so we had to send it back. No apology from the waiter. He actually asked if she could just eat what had come out! A friend ordered shrimp cakes which smelled bad when they came so she sent them back. Again the waiter did not offer any apology or an alternative so just remov

Reviewed October 26, 2016
6.8
Good
Niki from Netherlands
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Right on the beach, nice hotel”

The hotel is right on the beach, so was the room that we booked. That is a big plus. However, it is quite a busy hotel and we found the room itself quite basic and small. So if you're looking for an affordable room, right on the beach with nice service and staff then this is a great place for you, but if you're looking for a quiet getaway, this hotel might not be the best option (perhaps it is different in low season).

Reviewed September 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Anthony from United Kingdom
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 6 nights in September 2016

Perfect location for a relaxing stay.”

Very good all round standard. Beachfront accommodation is a must for best views. Bungalows are clean and adequate. Not the lap of luxury but just enough for most people to be happy. First class food and not expensive. Thai food much better than the European menu. Staff are warm and friendly. Arrive and depart using Malibu 5 ferry or speedboat is better than by taxi from the port as all but one resort on the island are only accessible by dirt track and cases are hard to drag over sand from the taxi drop off point. The poolside accommodation is new and more modern but there is a water settling pond to the rear of the pool and it can be smelly on a hot day, not awful but slightly off putting. For the price I paid I think this is one of the best resorts and locations on the island.

Reviewed September 11, 2016
5.2
Anirut from Thailand
Family with young children
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Disappointed!”

We have been to Samet island many times. Overall this resort was the worst, least impressed although the location was actually good. Thing that trouble us a lot was that we have booked the beach-front room which was supposed to be the best room in the resort. However, the one we got was actually the beach front room but at least 60% of the view in front of our room was block by a big tree. I called their resort office in Bangkok to complaint. They said they will do something about it but they never called back. For us, this was a bit of rip off. Cleaning service was also not good enough in my view. Overall, we are disappointed and would not come back to this resort again.

Reviewed August 01, 2016
4.8
Paul from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Sea View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Don't stay here”

I have to see this place is definitely not worth the money. The sea view can only be described that way because you can see the sea.... Just, the rooms are now run down and no care is taken of the outside of the facilities. I have to say I've stayed many much better places all over Thailand for a lot less money and of a much higher standard.

Reviewed August 01, 2016