Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

Lot 108, SH-11 Harbour Square Sandakan, Sandakan City Center, Sandakan, Malaysia, 90000
- View on map
Double Room - Air Conditioning - Bed Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Double Room - Air Conditioning - Bed
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    Balcony/terrace Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    Balcony/terrace Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    Double Room - Air Conditioning - Bed Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    See all 26 photos
    Balcony/terrace Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

    Guest reviews

    9.2
    Exceptional
    /10
    (76 reviews)See what guests said
    6.8
    Good

    "There is a great massage place a few doors down (Lynns beaut..."

    Bethany

    -

    February 25, 2018

    9.5
    Exceptional service
    Recommended by 100% of guests

    Property highlights

    • 120 meters to public transportation

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    • Ticket services

    Exceptional
    Location
    9.5
    See map
    Exceptional location
    Value for money9.2
    Location rating9.5
    Nearest airportSandakan Airport (SDK)
    Distance to airport9.1 km
    Select your room
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    ...
    • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
    • Street view
    • 6 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    ...
    • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
    • Street view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    ...
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room with Sea View
    Double Room with Sea View
    ...
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    • Shared bathroom
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    • Shared bathroom
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room with Sea View
    Twin Room with Sea View
    ...
    • 2 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room with Sea View
    Twin Room with Sea View
    ...
    • Room size: 23 m²/248 ft²
    • Shower
    • 2 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Twin Room
    Standard Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    • Shared bathroom
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Sandakan Backpackers Hostel?

    What people love about the property

    • 10.0
      Exceptional

      "Great location that is perfect for exploring Sandakan."

      Casey

      |

      October 9, 2017

    • 8.8
      Excellent

      "Great place to stay!"

      Jessica

      |

      March 29, 2017

    • 8.8
      Excellent

      "Good atmosphere and met some nice people."

      yi

      |

      April 29, 2017

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

    More about Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

    9.6
    Exceptional

    "The staff was amazing, really helpful and nice to talk to."

    Martin

    |

    October 17, 2017

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    10.0
    Exceptional

    "Beautiful view and good facilities."

    Sylvia

    |

    February 10, 2018

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Announcements

    From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

    Real reviews from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (76)Booking.com Reviews (586)
    9.2
    /
    10
    Exceptional
    Cleanliness8.9
    Facilities8.8
    Location9.5
    Service9.5
    Value for money9.2
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (76)
    All room types
    Showing 39 verified guest comments
    12
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Olivia from Canada
    Couple
    Double Room with Sea View
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019
    Very Helpful”
    The lady at reception made us feel right at home. She helped us coordinate transportation to our visits to multiple sanctuaries. The room was very clean, and comfortable. It was quite noisy outside of our room, as we were located over the strip below. Loved that breakfast was included. Lots of delicious fresh fruits and boiled eggs. Would highly recommend staying here.
    Reviewed January 29, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Krastan from Bulgaria
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019
    Great place to stay in Sandakan”
    GREAT rooftop terrace with sea view! Staff were very helpful and nice (esp. Audrey and Nini, real stars!), the location is right in the center of the harbor, close to restaurants, shops, markets etc. Security is very good - magnetic cards, lockers in dorms (small sized but adequate). I loved the place and extended my stay here and I recommend it to all backpackers staying overnight in Sandakan.
    Reviewed January 17, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Sage from United States
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018
    Great location with fantastic rooftop chill area”
    This is a great little hostel right in the heart of downtown. The staff is super helpful. The rooftop space has a great view of the ocean and plenty of options for resting (including hammocks!). Breakfast is simple bread with lots of jam options and peanut butter. Everyday there were 3 fruit options which was really great! It would have been nice to have eggs also but they do have a burner if you wanted to buy/cook your own. I only wish they had a fan only option, the AC girls dorm didn't have a fan so even if we opened the windows on a cool night it stayed warm.
    Reviewed November 30, 2018
    5.6
    Alex from Canada
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
    Above average”
    Don’t know why this place is so highly rated... It’s not bad, but it’s not as great as everyone else says it is either. Pros: good location, clean bed & linen Cons: facilities are quite worn down, mosquitos (couldn’t even nap in our room for a few hours in the afternoon without getting bit at least 5 times, as well as in the shower/toilet) and ants (near breakfast foods, on toilet seat and on floors in toilet) Overall, decent stay if you want something cheaper and don’t mind dealing with the cons, but I wouldn’t stay here again.
    Reviewed November 26, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Kelly from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018
    Exceptional”
    Awesome place to stay. Great rooftop terrace with hammocks and an amazing view of the ocean. Coffee and tea all day. Bed was nice and comfy. And the staff was super friendly. Staying here again in a few days. Loved it!
    Reviewed November 20, 2018
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Oliver from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
    Staff very helpful and booked kinabatangan river trip from here”
    Reviewed November 20, 2018
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Jeremy from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
    Cool place”
    Nice staff and very helpful. Clean, decent room but the rooftop is what makes this place!
    Reviewed November 14, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Ilaria from Italy
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018
    Great staff! ”
    Facilities were good, everything was clean! Nice breakfast and free water refill!.... More important the staff was great! Always available to give all the information needed. And the vibes at this hostel are great!!
    Reviewed October 22, 2018
    8.0
    Excellent
    alex from New Zealand
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
    Good hostel”
    Good location, good breakfast (toast, fruit, eggs, tea, coffee), beds are comfortable. Wifi wasn't great and bathrooms could be a little cleaner/updated.
    Reviewed October 15, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    milly from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in June 2018
    Exceptional”
    such a nice hostel one of my favez wish I could have stayed more than one night !! and right next to river, and staff were really helpful and there is lots of space a rooftop terrace and big space on reception floor to chill out n breakfast was good. wld deffo reccomend
    Reviewed July 05, 2018
    Thank you for your review, we will continue to improve our service.
    Responded July 18, 2018
    Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    SARAH from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    Double Room with Sea View
    Stayed 1 night in April 2018
    Great place for stopovers”
    This place was great. Rooftop is nice to hang out on and the staff is friendly and easy going. Sandakan has little to offer but if stopping through, I would stay here again.
    Reviewed June 16, 2018
    Hi Sarah, Thank you for spending your time to review us. We really appreciate your feedback and also for the amazing score that you gave to us, look forward for your next stay with us. Regards !
    Responded July 18, 2018
    Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Katie from New Zealand
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
    Great spot!”
    Comfy beds, hot showers, yummy breakfast, lovely staff... Nothing to complain about at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel!
    Reviewed May 29, 2018
    Hi Katie Thank you for your review and for the perfect score that you gave us. We really appreciate it and we're really glad that you had a great stay with us.
    Responded August 08, 2018
    Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Paul from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
    Good for a few nights”
    We stayed here for a few nights and had a good time. room clean and big enough but bed not the comfiest. But I think they may be replacing mattresses. Breakfast is hostel standard, toast, boiled eggs, fruit. maybe need a kettle as water out of machine just luke warm.
    Reviewed May 20, 2018
    6.8
    Good
    Bethany from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Double Room with Sea View
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
    OK but the staff seemed rude ”
    We booked an en suite room but the en suite was unusable. There was no toilet and the shower was cold and weak. We had to use the other bathrooms. The WiFi was very hit and miss. The staff seemed quite rude, they made me feel like we were an inconvenience. We told them when we checked in that we would be checking out very early (around 4am) for an early flight to check that this would be OK. When we checked out we asked them to phone us a taxi but they said they wouldn’t be awake so we had to walk to the bus station and try to find one which we didn’t want to do because Sandakan doesn’t feel particularly safe (the night before I was attacked with bottles by a group of young children who were smoking and verbally abusing me). We had to ask her again to phone a taxi which answered straight away and came immediately. The best things about the hostel are the rooftop terrace (which has fans) and the front door is always locked so it feels quite safe. Also there is a great massage place a few doors down (Lynns beauty). We definitely wouldn’t stay in Sandakan again, theres nothing to do and it feels very unsafe. We have travelled a lot in Malaysia and really love it, apart from Sandakan! (Armed military policing the waterfront is pretty intimidating).
    Reviewed February 25, 2018
    Hello Bethany, thank you for writing us a review. You are definitely not an inconvenience to us. To be a home to travelers like you is the reason of the whole existence of our hostel. We are sorry that you did not feel welcomed when you were here and for the miscommunications that happened during your stay. We have been reflecting the matter among our staff to avoid such incidents in the future. The room you have booked is indeed the sea view double room attached with cold shower. We do understand hot showers are more favorable, thus we do not promise hot showers and will brief our guests about it from the beginning. However, we do have plans to upgrade all the showers in our hostel throughout, which has already been mostly done. Being full of wildlife and historical marks, it is a regret to us that Sandakan does not appeal to you as much as we have loved it. Anyhow, if you will end up here again, please do feel free to pay us a visit to see if we have improved from where you saw us.
    Show more
    Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Stefanie from Germany
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
    Really nice place to stay with great view to the sea! ”
    Central location Staff super helpful! The place is overall clean(esp. the rooms), but the bathrooms need to be maintained... Its ok, but old and drain doesnt work everywhere... Rooftop Terrace is amazing! Breakfast is the greatest I have ever got in a hostel 😊
    Reviewed February 23, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Sylvia from Netherlands
    Solo traveler
    Double Room with Sea View
    Stayed 1 night in February 2018
    Exceptional”
    Me and my husband stayed at this hostel and even came back to stay for an extra few nights. We had a sea view room and everything was great. Clean rooms, basic but that also what you pay for. Beautiful view and good facilities. Nice rooftop terrace where you can chill and do some work or just relax. Staff is great, they help you with everything you need. Also the breakfast is exactly what you would want, toast with all sorts of choices, hard boiled eggs and some fruit. Great stay and we would reccomend it!
    Reviewed February 10, 2018
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Martin from Norway
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
    Exceptional”
    The staff was amazing, really helpful and nice to talk to. Clean toilets and rooms. Good breakfast for a hostel.
    Reviewed October 17, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Casey from Australia
    Couple
    Double Room with Sea View
    Stayed 1 night in September 2017
    Perfect stay at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel”
    Lovely, friendly staff. Great location that is perfect for exploring Sandakan. lovely free breakfast and comfy facilities all round!
    Reviewed October 09, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Alexander from United States
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in August 2017
    Exceptional”
    Amazing stay here. Staff so nice. Beer really cheap. They organise a great tour and have a smashing roof terrace. Perfectly placed for everything. Tip: if you're driving here, park in the Harbour Mall car park - it's about 2 mins away. It cost 10MYR overnight. Mad cheap!
    Reviewed August 31, 2017
    Hi Alexander, Thank you for your review and for the perfect score that you gave us. We really appreciate it and we're really glad that you had a great stay with us, we will continue to improve our service.
    Responded August 08, 2018
    Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Jenny from Germany
    Couple
    Double Room - Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in July 2017
    Exceptional”
    Great staff, comfortable bed, clean room, free breakfast, cheap beer. Great backpacker place.
    Reviewed August 12, 2017
    12
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
    |Exceptional 9.2
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Exceptional location
    • Labuk Bus Station is within 0.12 km