Book Now: Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Very good
From 120 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (120)Booking.com Reviews (359)
7.9
Very good
From 120 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.2
Location7.0
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.2
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
한국어
Français
more
Room type
Deluxe Compact
Deluxe Premier
1 Bedroom Suite
Penthouse Bedroom
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 113 verified guest comments
7.3
Very good
Ajay from India
Family with young children
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Good to Stay!”
Staff was very nice especially Mr Philip, He is a very nice person. Neat and clean, Hotel with peace
It was nice. The only thing wrong happened, By Mistake i selected 5 days stay in hotel. However as per my flight i had to check out on 6th Oct in the morning at 5 AM. But i had selected 2nd Oct to 6th Oct. The actual should have been 2nd Oct to 5th Oct. My One day extra amount went in vein. :( That was painful for me. I had talked to hotel reception but they said the money would not be refunded once online booking is done.
Reviewed October 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Swapnil from India
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
A relaxing stay”
Food ,room comfort , staff
Reviewed September 28, 2015
6.7
Good
satish from India
Family with teens
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Value for money, good food, Ok location”
Food, swimming pool, rooms
Overall good, location was not that good. no good view from the hotel. rooms were clean and well maintained. Staff was good and friendly.
Reviewed April 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Jared from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Great hotel”
Ambience, staff, food
We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and spacious with good views. The grounds are well looked after
Reviewed April 11, 2015
7.3
Very good
Rilwan from Maldives
Couple
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
nice place”
food room location
good
Reviewed February 08, 2015
7.7
Very good
Rilwan from Maldives
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
NICE PLACE”
FOOD, STAFF, LOCATION
GOOD
Reviewed January 18, 2015
7.7
Very good
Mohsin from India
Solo traveler
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Peaceful retreat”
Ambience in the evening , nice rooms, friendly staff
Pleasant experience, much better than expected
Reviewed January 18, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Jolina from United States
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Great staff and a nice place to relax”
Staff, bed, shower
Nice resort with very accommodating staff. Pool is cool to chill by, and a beach area nearby. The mattress was one of the best we found throughout India. Rooms were nicely designed. Restaurant was delish. We spent only a night in Goa, and that night here. It was peaceful and rejuvenating after our treks through Kerala and Karnataka.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Sharat from India
Couple
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Excellent ”
Excellent
Excellent
Reviewed November 14, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
ALEXANDER from Russia
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
A very good place for several days resting”
Hospitality, good quisine and stuff
Our family staying at this hotel was pleasant. Just one thing was bed, they should change the taps in shower, sometime it was difficult to switch the water
Reviewed October 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Gisele from Brazil
Family with young children
Penthouse Bedroom
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
very clean, staffs polite and location good ”
beautiful decoration and furniture , space and very clean
was a lovely time over there , I recommend it
Reviewed August 28, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Lokesh from United States
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 5 nights in July 2014
Fantastic”
Italian food, suits, friendly atmosphere
Reviewed July 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
MSM from Sri Lanka
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 7 nights in April 2014
very good staff friendly manner”
good location , good to stay , friendly staff,
very good staff friendly manner, good location can reccomoned others
Reviewed May 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Arpit from India
Family with teens
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Good 4 star hotel, value for money!”
Quite surroundings, almost all water sports on private beach, big luxurious rooms
Good hotel. Earliest check-in time is 2pm. So book only if you are reaching Goa after 2pm. If rooms are free, they might give at 1pm also, but not before that.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Ekaterina from United States
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Great place on a budget”
staff, spa, price
The hotel is far from the loud and annoying GOA. It is located in a quite area (looks like everything is private - beach, gardens, etc.). The staff is SUPER nice and helpful! The prices are great in comparison to US. The beach has black sand, which freaked us out bit, but the water is nice and clean (for the most part). The beach is cleaned every day by the hotel staff. There are some water activities (speed boat, tour boat, etc.) and they are very affordable. We took a boat tour to the beach and saw dolphins along the way. The beach was clean, so as the water. I highly recommend this activity. The only negative thing is that the bathroom is outdated (we stayed in a 1-bedroom suite) and it has mold (sink and toilet were OK, but the shower was quite unpleasant, so we just put towels on the shower floor), and the floors around the apartment were not super clean (they looked clean though). I washed our floors and didn't require any housekeeping through the length of stay (didn't feel like cleaning again:))) We did asked for extra towels and that's it. The spa is nice and reasonably priced. I had a massage every day:) Which made me very happy:) Overall, I would come back to this hotel and I would recommend staying there.
Reviewed March 21, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Anne from Ireland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 7 nights in December 2013
Very enjoyable. ”
Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room with tea and coffee
We spent 7 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. All the staff were really nice and kind whilst being efficient. Francis (Manchester United fan) kept us up to date on all football scores. He introduced us to Madera Wine, which we enjoyed tooooo much. Water is too expensive. Very quiet and peaceful location.
Reviewed December 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Ashish from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Great stay, satff made all the difference”
Staff, Food and Cleaniness
Really enjoyed our stay. Our every need was taken care of. Would stay again.
Reviewed November 24, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Thapanee from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Nice stay”
good food, big room, clean
Already summarize on the late page. The same hotel but we just have to do double booking.
Reviewed November 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Thapanee from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Nice stay”
good food, big room, clean
Just a short stay for business but it great and enjoyable
Reviewed November 13, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Alok from India
Group
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
pleasant ”
peaceful,beach & big rooms
Sandalwood resort is excellent place for someone looking for peaceful holidays away from nighlife and enjoy private beach.our bedroom suits was spacious,neat & clean. There was problem with aircon twice but house keeping staff fixed it promptly. They have their own private beach five minutes walk from hotel, i won't rate it as extraordinary as they shared with another resort next door still decent for sunbath or relaxing. F&b was good mostly indian meals they should add more international cuisines'in there menu.hotel is located at donapaula which is around 10km from panjim and 30 km from baga/anujuna beach you got rely on hired bikes or rental car (taxi charges very high) ,if you looking for night life this is not place for you,good for honeymooner's or family with children .except location no complaints ,the rates they are giving value of money.
Reviewed October 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
NITIN from India
Couple
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Great”
Cleanliness, Fast internet, food
Reviewed May 31, 2013
5.3
Gregory from United States
Couple
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Good price, but not for us”
Price, large room, fairly clean
Very mixed feelings about this hotel. It’s hard to complain given the price. The room was fairly clean and comfortable and the employees were pleasant enough. Overall, however, the hotel left much to be desired. For example, Both our checkin and checkout seemed very unorganized and took longer than they should have. The food was terrible. I ordered a mixed vegetable dish (that did say it came with cheese), but when I got it it was literally a bowl of cheese with maybe a few tablespoons of diced veggies thrown in. When we checked out we asked for a taxi to take us to the next hotel we were staying in. We waited for ten minutes or so before someone grabbed our bags and asked us to follow him. We walked out to the street where the taxi driver said no he wasn’t available. Ok, we went back inside and then waited for 20 min or so before the original person who had helped us came back and yelled at someone to call us a taxi. We heard him call then and waited another 15min or so (also the taxi was much more expensive than we think it should have been). All in all certainly not disastrous, but a number of these things all added up to it being someplace we wouldn’t choose to stay at again.
Reviewed May 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ravji from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
overall good”
breakfast was very nice. varied food everyday
it was enjoyable.Very quite.Good helpful staff.Location was good
Reviewed May 26, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Robyn from Australia
Group
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Great staff, clean and close to the beach”
Staff, food and pool
Really lovely hotel with amazing staff but it was a little far from the night life of GOA and shopping. They do have a drop off at the market once a day and you just find your own way back to the hotel but its not hard. Food at hotel is fantastic and so was the service.
Reviewed May 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
HARISH from India
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
smiling staff very near to peaceful beach”
resort type hotel peaceful location
best place to stay its calm and peaceful very near to beach approx 200 mtrs smiling staff resort type hotel
Reviewed February 24, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
james from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 8 nights in January 2013
very well presented & prompt service”
very near small beach
A nice hotel with helpful staff.Situated at the bottom of a valley, it is difficult to get out off without taking a taxi,although a shuttle bus can take you out twice a day but not bring you back.Swimmimg pool in sunny position & simple entertainment most nights.Buffet breakfast varie slightly over the days
Reviewed February 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Amod from India
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Excellent for mid-range hotel at Dona Paula”
Big rooms
the hotel is located at dona paula and although there are no beach-view rooms, access to the beach is just a 200 meter walk away. they have a pool and a table-tennis room. check-in was quick. the rooms especially the living-dining room are spacious. rooms have split air-conditioning units (no central ac). living room also has a refrigerator, a counter-top and a kitchen sink. wc has a clean bathroom & toilet with liquid soap dispensers and not-so premium shampoo (use your own). there is free wi-fi available. breakfast is a nice spread of indian, continental and the usual fruits, cereals etc. lunch / dinner is alright if you have to eat at the hotel. bar is adequately stocked. the staff is good and helpful. their concierge desk can arrange for cabs and tours etc. overall, a good experience for a family.
Reviewed January 17, 2013
7.3
Very good
MATAN from Israel
Couple
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
very nice hotel very Poor location”
larg room, wi-fi, nice pool
rent a scooter, The location is very far away from every thing, the beach is nice and close to the hotel. the food and the hotel service is very exepensive ( landauer, room service...)
Reviewed January 13, 2013
7.3
Very good
Sarita from India
Group
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013
Decent Hotel with good service ”
Nice inner courtyard feel with the pool and bar, Looks beautiful at night, beach only 2 minutes away
Good Points: Rooms were big and spacious. Room Service was prompt. Food was very tasty. Staff were pleasant and very friendly. Location had a nice view. Bad Points:Balcony was a bit small. Bedposts were very, very dirty - need to be cleaned! The bathroom flush was broken and didn't work properly. The car service didn't come to pick us up from the airport even though I requested it much earlier on. When I asked them, they lied and told me "the driver had just stepped to get some tea" - but we were waiting for 1/2 an hour before we just ended up taking an airport taxi! Then on our way back from the hotel to the airport, we again setup for a hotel taxi and when the time came to leave, they had forgotten to book the taxi! So we had to wait as they scrambled to find someone to take us.
Reviewed January 12, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Daniel from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good if you are looking for a resort”
clean and good service
nice place if you want a home away from home. If you are coming to india not to see the locals and not to absorb any culture, just sit in you're own home, then go here. Clean, good food, good drinks and perfect room. All in all, nice for a bout 1 night, thats enough after that.
Reviewed January 08, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Hamza from India
Family with teens
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
exact environs to cool down with family”
quiet location, clean closed beach, excellent service, good food
enjoyed a family time-out with this scenic well laid out hotel retreat with superb hospitality of a 4 star facilities (its long since i played billiards n table tennis) and varied evening entertainment programs.. the beach was almost like a private owned well suited for family outing, water sports at easy reach. decent quiet location, free entry to a casino nearby added flavour. would recommend heartily for family get-together.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
6.7
Good
Lisa from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Not Much Around”
Beautiful little beach with soft pink sand.
Nice rooms with lots of light. Comfortable beds, easy to get rest. OK breakfast a bit bland. The rather poor band blasts loud music until 10:15. The water in the shower bounces from scalding hot to cold continuously. For these prices I expect some continuity in water temperature for my shower. Mold on cracks and crevasses of bathroom. I also was a slave to prices quoted at the hotel.because there are no options near by for taxi, laundry or any other services.
Reviewed December 31, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
kuldeep from India
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
superb location and good service”
location, presentation
it was a pleasant and comfortable stay.hotel staff welcomed us in a very well manner explained us each and evrythnh about the facilities provided by hotel.location of the hotel ia well centred in the city all the majour attraction and sites are within 30 kms from the hotel location which can be easily accesable wia hired car or bike and that service too provided by the hotel staff.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Narayana from India
Solo traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Good Hotel with smiling staff ”
Quiet and calm place
I had a pleasant stay for 2 nights at this hotel; friendly staff makes the experience even better!
Reviewed September 26, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Shaikna from India
Family with young children
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Lovely rooms”
Receptionists were very kind and helpful, good hotel, great value for money, rooms were well maintained.
The hotel was excellent, lovely location, breakfast was superb with good choice of foods. Thumbs up for the hotel and would recommend to others too.
Reviewed August 30, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Kim from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Lovely hotel with fantastic service”
Environment and high quality tasty food
being the low season there were few guests in the hotel. the free shuttle to panaji and dona paula circle was very welcome, we love the breakfast and the freshly cooked food- omelette, thosay. we also enjoyed the dinner at reasonable price. desk staff weere very helpful and attentive
Reviewed August 17, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
annamalai from India
Group
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Lovely hotel”
location
best hotel in panjim. breakfast was excellent. rooms were new and clean. reception desk was very helpful. nice stay. clean swimming pool. excellent room service. travel desk was very helpful. rooms were spacious .
Reviewed July 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Nice hotel and friendly staff + a half decent gym”
gym, restaurant, local shuttle bus
Very nice hotel with a pool, gym, table tennis, bar with pool table. Their Italian food in the restaurant is amazing and authentic - no unnecessary Indian spices. The rooms are nice and clean. There are a lot of small things that are annoyances about the hotel eg. the bedroom door alarm triggers randomly sometimes, the gym has a caretaker who likes to watch you work out, the room service menu often isn't available. In all the hotel is very good, we stayed there for 5 days.
Reviewed June 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Avinash from India
Group
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Nice, Cozy & Good Value for Money !!!”
Spacious Rooms, Excellent Staff & Service, Good Value for Money
Me along with 2 friends had stayed during June-12. The check-in and welcome were quick & courteous. The service of the staff were awesome & very friendly. Nice array of variety for a good breakfast. The rooms are very very spacious and very comfortable bed. The pool was a bit shallow and small though. They host a bar and gym which is adequate too. I understand they arrange a shuttle to Panjim daily provided you inform them in advance. Overall i would recommend people going with family or to relax in GOA, this hotel is the best suited for that. Suggestion: A SPA would be a great inclusion for this hotel. Hope the management will add this soon.
Reviewed June 20, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Nicholas from United States
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Amazing Hotel, Staff, and Food!”
Best Service In India, Delicious Food, Pool, Shuttle To Panjim, WiFi, 2 minutes from a beach
I had the honor of being able to stay at the Sandalwood Resort for 6 nights in May of 2012. Let's talk about the rooms first...Fantastic! They were spacious rooms, well appointed with modern amenities, seperate (and clean!) shower, large bed, small balcony, and properly working AC, WiFi, and TV. Everything someone could ask for and for a great price. Now let's discuss what makes this hotel SO much better than most others in India.....the staff is AMAZING! Everyone had a smile on their faces and seemed to thoroughly enjoy their jobs. I've been in a lot of hotels with staff that seem disgruntled (including the one I am in right now while I type this) and it's apparent from their attitude how the hotel is run. The Sandalwood seems to opperate like one large family. I need to give a special shout out to Ranjan (the executive chef) and Prem (the food and beverage manager). When I told them that I teach cooking classes in the States they were MORE than excited to be able to put together a small course in Indian cooking for me and show me how to make a special Goan fish curry, Chicken Makhani (which I ordered almost every day, it was fabulous), and discussed many other dishes with me and presented a demo in fruit carving. Chef Ranjan presents food in such a beautiful manner and has a real appreciation for the ingredients he is working with and the preperation behind them.  Francis in the restaurant gets a mention too. He regaled us with amazing stories of his love for adventure and the stories of his mothers cooking and travels. He is a kind hearted, genuine, and loveable guy and makes the restaurant dining experience so much better. I can go on and on about the hotel, but hopefully you will take a chance and book it for yourself. You will NOT be dissapointed!
Reviewed June 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Ilzam from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Lovely Place to Stay”
Staff, Service, Choice of Meals, Etc...
this place is quite good, its a littleaway from the happening goa but for business and focus of work this place is ideal. i quite enjoyed my stay here around and would recommend.
Reviewed June 09, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Szabolcs from Hungary
Business traveler
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
great hotel with beutiful garden”
deliceous food,cocktail bar,swimming pool
Great Hotel with beutiful Garden. The swimming pool is big. The cocktail bar is very nice,with lot of coctails and international beers,good music. The breakfast was rich,delicious. I recommend for everybody. The service is helpfully.
Reviewed April 16, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Nishant from India
Couple
Deluxe Premier
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012
Great hotel and hospitality”
amazing rooms and a pivate beach
its an amazing hotel and offers all the amenities right from great balconies with pool and courtyard views. the rooms are amzing with formal and private zones.it was an absolute delight to be at this resort.
Reviewed February 27, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Bu from China
Family with young children
Penthouse Bedroom
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Very good hotel”
Nice Room and nice service
The hotel is very nice, 93 sqm is enough for a family. But the location is not good, There are no any shop\bar\market around 5 KM. The beach and sea is very dirty. A lot of sewage through raceway to the sea, make the beach to black. Swiming pool open only till 7pm. Closed too early.
Reviewed January 30, 2012
7.7
Very good
MANOJ from India
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Nice hotel to stay”
Clean, not noisy.
stayed at Delux compact room for 3 days. It is quite clean, room service was good.Hotel staff were always helpful.Good food and surrounding were nice. connectivity to different places is a bit problem,no public transport, you have to hire a Taxi. Still I would be happy to stay there again.
Reviewed January 25, 2012
6.7
Good
Anthony from New Zealand
Couple
1 Bedroom Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011
Comfortable hotel with good sized rooms”
Nice rooms, nice pool area
A comfortable hotel with nice rooms and nice pool area (very much appreciated after a hot day in Goa). Staff generally pretty polite and helpful. Restaurant fine for breakfasts but only average for evening meals - and the one disadvantage here is that there are few other options for meals nearby.
Reviewed January 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Yashesh from India
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Very Good Hotel ”
spacious rooms, very good food, good ambience and friendly staff taking care of minute details
very good hotel in a good location. proximity to a quiet beach ..which was exactly my preference. however, if you like crowded places like b. ga, anjuna, etc...the same are quiet far from the hotel. the travel desk of the hotel was disappointing. the food especially, the breakfast was a excellent...would recommend trying the chilli cheese toast ..you may like it. all in all a great family resturant with good ambience, spacious rooms and hotels, bars and beach.
Reviewed January 04, 2012
4.3
Faiyaz from India
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Average hotel ”
Nothing special
the room was small and was not worth the price the swimming pool is sad with the tiles loosing color and cleanliness was not upto the mark, location is also a minus
Reviewed December 24, 2011
4.3
Christian from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011
Overpriced average hotel”
Isolation
On to other things. The 1st room I was put in was damp smelling and the 2nd smelt like a pet shop, although this went away. The food was good although was terribly slow. I was the only person in there sometimes and yet I still had to ask for the bill 3 times. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and they charge silly amounts for cabs. Use of the shared private beach was nice, although don't even think about sitting on a bed as they belong to the other hotel and their security guard blows a whistle and tells you to get off!
Reviewed December 18, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Piotr from Poland
Couple
Deluxe Compact
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Good hotel in a remote location”
Service, ambience
well, i have a hard time to evaluate this hotel. the hotel itself was very good and we can't find anything to complain about. however, it's location makes the choice not so obvious. the location is very remote, it's hard to get anywhere and you have to spend money on taxis. the nearby beach is very small and nothing is there. if you like such places without crowds then you'll like. but if you want to have some fun at the beach or eat something in a beach shack, then forget it. sunbeds are available only for guests of a bigger, adjacent resort, so you can only take a mat from sandalwood hotel and lye directly on the sand. if you're fine with those inconvenience than you can choose the hotel and you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed December 05, 2011